View Full Version : Honestly - Do we care?
Interesting reading the thread on the main AFL page about some of the Essendon fans worried about what others are gonna say if we say too much now.
Does anyone really care what they say?
They are gonna say it anyway.
Remember, Liverpool, Man U, AC Milan, Juventus, Chicago Bulls, 49ers, Hawthorn, West Coast etc etc were all despised by opposition fans in their time.
Do all these teams just happen to have "arrogant and aloof" supporters? Are all their fans "just kids"? Are all their fans "bandwagoners"?
Its laughable, but the same rounds go around ever time a successful teams goes thru a dominant era.
Its not hatred - its envy.
Lets lap it up - because they will when they get they chance!
After the last few years - I now have a "*** em" attitude.
So they call us bandawgoners, kids, arrogant pr!cks and know nothing about footy - Im gonna go have a cry now!:rolleyes:
Football is tribal. They will hate us no matter what, and we will hate them no matter what.
Why try and be the nice guys? Or have we forgotten years like 99 already?
I havnt.
BomberBoy
7 Apr 2002, 18:28
Well said mate
STICK IT UP 'EM
Yeah smokin', I agree.
I chided Dan last year for going ott (IMO) but on reflection it's pretty obvious (particularly after last years GF) that we'll cop heaps when we lose regardless of how much we dish out when we win.
Yeah, I guess we're gonna cop **** no matter what.
Fukem all I say!
In my opinion, we should take advanatage of the fact that we are a good team, and good naturedly dish it out IF we feel compelled to do so. Not like Joffa, who just does it needlessly and boringly. We will cop it whe we lose no matter what, so just enjoy the good times while we can and take advantage of it.
I couldn't give a rats what people say about us if we lose. You know why? It's because I've heard it all before. Generally speaking I show respect for all clubs, anyway. I have labellled Carlton as the AFL's greatest club many times on bigfooty (big call coming froma Bomber fan), but that won't stop me getting stuck into them.
I'd hope that the Blues fans would want to get stuck into us too, as long as it's not in a stupid way.
I don't mind dishing it out and making bold predictions. Who cares what they say? Not me.
Hey Dan - just curious, why do you rate the filth the greatest club?
Im not necessarily saying I dont agree, just interested in your argument.
Stegelator
7 Apr 2002, 23:06
Originally posted by Smokin
Interesting reading the thread on the main AFL page about some of the Essendon fans worried about what others are gonna say if we say too much now.
Does anyone really care what they say?
They are gonna say it anyway.
Remember, Liverpool, Man U, AC Milan, Juventus, Chicago Bulls, 49ers, Hawthorn, West Coast etc etc were all despised by opposition fans in their time.
Do all these teams just happen to have "arrogant and aloof" supporters? Are all their fans "just kids"? Are all their fans "bandwagoners"?
Its laughable, but the same rounds go around ever time a successful teams goes thru a dominant era.
Its not hatred - its envy.
Lets lap it up - because they will when they get they chance!
After the last few years - I now have a "*** em" attitude.
So they call us bandawgoners, kids, arrogant pr!cks and know nothing about footy - Im gonna go have a cry now!:rolleyes:
Football is tribal. They will hate us no matter what, and we will hate them no matter what.
Why try and be the nice guys? Or have we forgotten years like 99 already?
I havnt. AMEN!!! Agree with everything you say here.!!! Well Done!!!! GO DONSS!!!
I don't have a care in the world. Let them think what they want to think. I'm not losing any sleep over it! :)
I do. They can get ****ed.
Adge, big night this week at the social club. It's gonna be large. ;)
Hey Dan - just curious, why do you rate the filth the greatest club?
TEAM.................played........wins......losses.......dr aws......%wins
Carlton...........2113..........1297.........786.........30. .......62.09
Essendon.......2074..........1209.........835.........30.... ....59.02
Wooden spoons - Carlton -0, Essendon 4
Years in the finals - Carlton 63, Essendon 57
I'm prepared to give respect when it is due.
We have been premiers or runners-up more often (30 to 29) and we also have a better premiership strike rate. Our 16 flags have come in 103 years while their 16 have come in 105.
So, we have the edge in a few areas. Overall though, I'm prepared to concede the Baggers have been the best. If I am totally objective about it.
There are some who say that our superior premiership strike rate is the definitive fact that puts us on top. These people say premierships are the only thing that matters and 16 out of 103 is better than 16 out of 105, so we are the best. I don't agree. Consistency from year to year is also important. Only a fool would think Essendon and Fremantle were the same in 2001 just because neither won the flag and I am not a fool.
a 17th flag for the mighty Bombers this year will tip the scales well and truly in our favour however!
Hehe...1 premiership in the last 3 years isnt dominant.
Eagle_Fan
8 Apr 2002, 02:40
But win this year and their record's the same as our 'dominant' era....
For what it's worth Dons, go for it! At least you've got something to actually be excited about :) It's the f*ckwits who boast and predict back to back flags with absolutely nothing to base it on who need to stop and think before posting... You lot are harmless really ;)
Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
But win this year
That the interesting part of the thread......But...nothing is certain. Its only round 2...if Essendon wasnt to win they have a long way to go. I cant go past Brsbane though, 100 point demolition of a top 4 side. Thats scary.
mongrelpunt
8 Apr 2002, 11:07
Originally posted by jod23
100 point demolition of a top 4 side. Thats scary.
Did anyone else see Hawthorn play? Brisbane could have played their 4th string side and beaten that rabble.
I agree with everyone - lets all stick it up em. If i'm called arrogant, then so be it. As Dean Wallis said:
"Were not arrogant, they're just jealous!"
Carlton_Rocks!
8 Apr 2002, 11:21
Originally posted by Dan26
We have been premiers or runners-up more often (30 to 29) and we also have a better premiership strike rate. Our 16 flags have come in 103 years while their 16 have come in 105.
So, we have the edge in a few areas. Overall though, I'm prepared to concede the Baggers have been the best. If I am totally objective about it.
There are some who say that our superior premiership strike rate is the definitive fact that puts us on top. These people say premierships are the only thing that matters and 16 out of 103 is better than 16 out of 105, so we are the best. I don't agree. Consistency from year to year is also important. Only a fool would think Essendon and Fremantle were the same in 2001 just because neither won the flag and I am not a fool.
a 17th flag for the mighty Bombers this year will tip the scales well and truly in our favour however!
there impressive dan, but the only way carlton will truly be the best is when they go one up in the premiships
Stealth bomber
8 Apr 2002, 15:24
I fully expect us to cop it when we lose, but it doesn't mean we have to like it or take it. And I don't believe in giving people more of a reason to do so, that's all.
You guys do what's right for you, after all, you've been around this sport a lot longer than I have.
Originally posted by Dan26
Add to that they did **** all in the VFA, two flags to our FOUR. And we did that in a row while asleep. :)
Originally posted by M29
Adge, big night this week at the social club. It's gonna be large. ;)
Mate ... i'm looking forward to it! Will be up in the usual spot! :D
GO YOU MIGHTY DONS!!!!!
Originally posted by topdon
Mate ... i'm looking forward to it! Will be up in the usual spot! :D
GO YOU MIGHTY DONS!!!!!
Bring your walllet. We're gonna get ****ing loaded mate.
Originally posted by M29
Bring your walllet. We're gonna get ****ing loaded mate.
No doubts about that!
choppy28
10 Apr 2002, 01:00
arrogance and smugness go with bomber fans but why look at my example of facts
premiers 1995....Carlton
premiers 1996... the roos
premiers 1997... adelaide
premiers 1998... adelaide again
premiers 1999.. the roos again
premrs ,,, 2000 essendon
premiers ... 2001 brisbane
you call that dominance :rolleyes:
Originally posted by choppy28
premiers 1995....Carlton
premrs ,,, 2000 essendon
Are you going to wait for Dan's 'Dominance' reply?
Something about finishing on top a few times.
Of course, I can see why your upset. Being our bit¢hes and all...
Originally posted by choppy28
premiers 1995....Carlton
premrs ,,, 2000 essendon
The domiance has realy been over the last 3 years, mate. Not since 1995.
Last three years we have gone 3rd, 1st, 2nd with a 6-2 finals record
That's pretty dominant.
mighty mick
11 Apr 2002, 00:44
we both have one flag each in the last 3 yrs so i dont see your point.:p :p :p
go choppy
Yer all a bunch of egotistical bastards. You can see past the end of your nose, but consider it suck up Sheedy's a**e it is a bit hard. One priemership in three years doesn't equal dominance of a competition remember everyone remembers the winners not the losers.
Since the Brisbane lions were incorporated into the competition Flags read like this
Adelaide 2
Brisbane, Essendon, North 1 each.
makes a thin arguement.
19 straight five to go.
Your never champions until you win the big games regularly (eg. Grand Finals). Come back if you do as well as Hawthorn from 1983-91
mighty mick
14 Apr 2002, 10:49
what happened to you in the merger you get relocated or something its your greedy fault all the other clubs are going broke who gives a rats arse about rugby territory anyway
SydneyBomber
14 Apr 2002, 11:32
In case you can't read the name of the topic - we couldn't give a flying *** what you think.
If you want to snipe at us, feel free to do it on the main board.
This is OUR board, and if you come here with the intention of being a prick, you can expect to be told in no uncertain terms to *** off.
So, *** OFF!
:p
windyhill
14 Apr 2002, 18:50
Originally posted by Slax
Your never champions until you win the big games regularly (eg. Grand Finals). Come back if you do as well as Hawthorn from 1983-91
Just don`t mention 1984 or 1985 smackhead.
Originally posted by Slax
Come back if you do as well as Hawthorn from 1983-91
And by the end of 85 what sorta return had they got from 3 good years?
:o
Long way to go.