View Full Version : Prismall Shafted
IMO Prismall has been shafted being named as an emergency... burn Byrnes and Charlie Greenthumb and bring in Stokes and Prismall.... (obviously Selwood needs a rest)
opinions?
Tonycam*
19 Apr 2007, 22:00
IMO Prismall has been shafted being named as an emergency... burn Byrnes and Charlie Greenthumb and bring in Stokes and Prismall.... (obviously Selwood needs a rest)
opinions?
Pris will be in the side , But it is a real kick in the butt being named there.
Love having stokes in the side but if he doesnt make the side I can understand that. but Prismal , unbelievable
Big Nasty
19 Apr 2007, 22:01
hed wanna be bloody named tommorow:mad:
catzfan
19 Apr 2007, 22:01
i think from the ex interchange tenace, king, Djohnson and prismall will play with gardiner being emergency for Nablett, Selwood being rested emergency forr midfielder and stokes having a run in the 2's to get some match form
(if tenace is in he needs a long run regrdless of form to truly see where he is at and if he needs to be moved on or needs to play a permanent role)
Rustybugles
19 Apr 2007, 22:18
On Thursday, Sunday seems a long way off - we have so many Sunday games and it leaves us speculating. I'd hope that Prismall would play - I'd be furious if Charlie Chaplin got a game and Prismall didn't - but then I've been furious many times when this dope stuffs up and a promising kid like 32 has been sidelined. He earned widespread respect after his performance in the last two games. Surely Bomber wouldn't ......
Tonycam*
19 Apr 2007, 22:20
Bomber loves Charlie though
catattack
19 Apr 2007, 22:21
Speaking of who will get the cut, here's a preview to this weekend's VFL match between Geelong and Frankston. Tom Couch to debut.
Battle of the Bay story link (http://www.gfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/3933/Default.aspx?newsId=41493)
Catsace
19 Apr 2007, 22:33
Certainly hope he plays, the 7 man bench for these Sunday games must be like being in purgatory. Prismall was even talked about on K-Rock as a possible NAB rising star, as i think he has played no more than 10-11 games...to leave him out sends the wrong messages to the young blokes in the team.
C'mon Bomber, play him, we'll need someone with his skills and nous to handle Hawthorn's each-way footy style, where they seem to mill around the contest putting pressure on the ball carrier, yet Western Bulldogs style, they have a heap of soft out-riders who dance away with the ball once it's flipped out of a pack. Was infuriating seeing that work last year twice against us.
BigBadCam
19 Apr 2007, 22:37
Just shows our depth that we can drop players like Prismall, Blake, Varcoe etc and easilly fill the gaps.
Keithy George
19 Apr 2007, 22:39
FWIW I thought he was fantastic last week. I had him in the votes for the BF medal and stiff not to be rising star. Looks a very promising player, never heard of him before last week though, where's he from?
Glassjaw
19 Apr 2007, 23:00
He'll play.
Copernicus
19 Apr 2007, 23:01
I must be seeing a different team but I don't see him on the emergency list - just part of the expanded bench. It would be bloody outrageous if he were dropped or named an emergency, especially if Charlie is his replacement!
crosby123
19 Apr 2007, 23:05
He's just part of the extended interchange. He'll play for sure, don't worry. Should be named on the HFF instead of Byrnes though, to show which player is more valuable to the team.
I must be seeing a different team but I don't see him on the emergency list - just part of the expanded bench. It would be bloody outrageous if he were dropped or named an emergency, especially if Charlie is his replacement!
Sorry getting ahead of myself... but the main point is Byrnes doesn't deserve to be put in the 18 ahead of Prismall...
Reg Hickey
19 Apr 2007, 23:35
Sorry getting ahead of myself... but the main point is Byrnes doesn't deserve to be put in the 18 ahead of Prismall...
It doesn't matter where they're named in the paper, all that matters is who's in the 22.
There's no way he'll be dropped.
Pickle1364
20 Apr 2007, 00:16
yeah prismall is still eligable for the rising star and after a peformance like last week its only a matter of time.
Rockford
20 Apr 2007, 02:00
He's just part of the extended interchange. He'll play for sure, don't worry. Should be named on the HFF instead of Byrnes though, to show which player is more valuable to the team.
Right, so lets not worry about positions or anything :rolleyes:. Prismall was great around the stoppages and playing through the middle last week, very different to what he'd be doing at HFF. I agree he needs to play though.
YourCall
20 Apr 2007, 08:58
FWIW I thought he was fantastic last week. I had him in the votes for the BF medal and stiff not to be rising star. Looks a very promising player, never heard of him before last week though, where's he from?
Werribee boy that went through the U/18 comp with the Western Jets.
crosby123
20 Apr 2007, 10:28
Right, so lets not worry about positions or anything :rolleyes:. Prismall was great around the stoppages and playing through the middle last week, very different to what he'd be doing at HFF. I agree he needs to play though.
I meant more to show Byrnes that his place in the side is under threat, rather than any intention of actually playing Prismall there. Besides, HFFs are midfielders these days anyway.
Larakin15
20 Apr 2007, 10:51
Not shafted at all, 7 man interchange bench, of course he will play. Starting on the bench these days is no big deal at all, given he will be on in minutes.
He is a gun, i cant wait to see him with 100 games under his belt
Rockford
20 Apr 2007, 12:22
I meant more to show Byrnes that his place in the side is under threat, rather than any intention of actually playing Prismall there. Besides, HFFs are midfielders these days anyway.
In that case replace Byrnes with Stokes and leave Varcoe in the side, that'll give him more of a wake up call. Part of the pre-season hype was talking about Stokes and Byrnes being very competitive with eachother as they knew they were vying for the same position. Problem is, we don't know what Stokes' form has been like these past few weeks.
cats2rise
20 Apr 2007, 15:40
Interesting actually, anyone know what pick we got him with?
Rockford
20 Apr 2007, 15:43
Was our first pick in the 2004 draft (which was pick 32 in round 2 because we traded for Ottens). I think I've mentioned this before but he reminded me of a young Ben Cousins last week with his running and goal kicking.
Bronx Bomber
20 Apr 2007, 15:44
Pick #32 - 2nd Round 2005
cats2rise
20 Apr 2007, 15:47
Very handy indeed. I'd like to see the rest of the picks before and around him in that draft. I guess you can see why he slipped so low (not overly fast, obviously not KPP) but his kicking would have been an attractive feature, and you'd reckon he would have dominated junior leagues with his poise and decision making.
cats2rise
20 Apr 2007, 15:49
1. Richmond: Brett Deledio (Murray Bushrangers)
2. Hawthorn: Jarryd Roughead (Gippsland Power)
3. Western Bulldogs: Ryan Griffen (South Adelaide)
4. Richmond: Richard Tambling (Southern Districts)
5. Hawthorn: Lance Franklin (Perth)
6. Western Bulldogs: Tom Williams (Morningside)
7. Hawthorn: Jordan Lewis (Geelong Falcons) Local boy so 50/50
8. Adelaide: John Meesen (Geelong Falcons)
9. Carlton: Jordan Russell (West Adelaide)
10. Collingwood: Christopher Egan (Murray Bushrangers)
11. Port Adelaide: Adam Thomson (Sturt)
12. Richmond: Danny Meyer (Glenelg)
13. Melbourne: Matthew Bate (Eastern Ranges)
14. Essendon: Angus Monfries (Sturt)
15. Melbourne: Lynden Dunn (Calder Cannons)
16. Richmond: Adam Pattison (Northern Knights)
17. St Kilda: Andrew McQualter (Gippsland Power)
18. Brisbane Lions: Cameron Wood (West Adelaide)
19.Port Adelaide: Ryan Willits (Northern Knights)
20. Richmond: Dean Polo (Gippsland Power)
21. Hawthorn: Thomas Murphy (Sandringham Dragons)
22. Western Bulldogs: Jesse Wells (Tassie Mariners)
23. Collingwood: Sean Rusling (West Adelaide) (maybe)
24. Adelaide: Nathan Van Berlo (West Perth)
25. Carlton: Adam Hartlett: (West Adelaide)
26. Hawthorn: Matthew Little (Calder Cannons)
27. Brisbane Lions: Patrick Garner (Western Magpies)
28. Adelaide: Chad Gibson (Norwood)
29. West Coast: Matthew Rosa (North Ballarat Rebels)
30. Essendon: Andrew Lee (Tassie Mariners)
31. Sydney: Jarred Moore (Dandenong Stingrays)
32. Geelong: Brent Prismall (Western Jets)
33. St Kilda: Cain Ackland (Port Adelaide)
34. Port Adelaide: James Ezard (Calder Cannons)
35. Port Adelaide: Fabian Deluca (Eastern Ranges)
36. Richmond: Luke McGuane (Broadbeach)
37. West Coast: Mark LeCras (West Perth)
38. Western Bulldogs: Damian McCormack (Dandenong Stingrays)
39. Collingwood: Travis Cloke (Eastern Ranges)
40. Adelaide: Ivan Maric (Calder Cannons)
I think I've mentioned this before but he reminded me of a young Ben Cousins last week with his running and goal kicking.
As long as that's all that they have in common
cats2rise
20 Apr 2007, 15:52
Hmm, yeah he is certainly ahead of a few there. Probably top 15. I'll highlight the ones you'd take ahead of him if you were Geelong.
EDIT: Haha well thats leaves him about pick 6/7. Bit of bias probably.
Rockford
20 Apr 2007, 15:54
Hmm, yeah he is certainly ahead of a few there. Probably top 15. I'll highlight the ones you'd take ahead of him if you were Geelong.
Adelaide and us did really well out of that draft IMO. The Crows got Knights as a 4th round pick and we picked up Egan as a 4th round pick.
cats2rise
20 Apr 2007, 15:56
56. Adelaide: Chris Knights (Eastern Ranges)
62. Geelong: Matthew Egan (Geelong, VFL)
STEALS!
EDIT: Hahah, whoa thats kinda scary!
thegerman
20 Apr 2007, 19:18
He is on the extended bench, not the emergency list. There is a difference.
With the game being played on the Sunday, we can name a full 7 man bench and select the full side out of those players on the Saturday morning.
I hightly doubt that Prismall will miss out. Charlie is only there to save face if Nathan Ablett doesn't come up to scratch. Surely Stokes will only play in the two's after 4 weeks off, Tenace may get a run as supposidly he had a goodish game last week (as per inside footy).
So don't worry, Pris will get the nod for sure.
There's a story on Prismall in todays Hun
Exciting Prismall delivers for the Cats (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21592529%255E19742,00.html)
thejester
21 Apr 2007, 10:42
There's a story on Prismall in todays Hun
Exciting Prismall delivers for the Cats (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21592529%255E19742,00.html)
Lol, Geelongs 'much vaunted midfield rotation'?
BigBadCam
21 Apr 2007, 16:29
We will win the flag.
skankfest
22 Apr 2007, 10:15
Great. First we rort the father-son rule, now we're taking advantage of the lack of restrictions on interchanges.
Will we ever cease our cheating ways? :D