View Full Version : ROUND 5: ESSENDON vs COLLINGWOOD, ANZAC DAY, MCG
stmookeyj
20 Apr 2007, 15:39
http://pics.greatestjournal.com/userpic/28773064/1437957 VS http://pics.greatestjournal.com/userpic/36739748/1437957
You might be wondering why I'd put up a thread for a Round 5 clash when Rd 4 hasn't even started. But ANZAC Day is 5 days away and apart from dawn service at Gallipolli and 2-up at the local RSL, this means another chapter in the storied history between Collingwood and Essendon.
A lot will depend on how the sides back up after Saturday's clashes, and I suspect some players may even be kept from playing for Willi and Bendigo respectively to keep fresh legs in case of injuries.
TIP: Collingwood by 14 pts.
Big Bryza
20 Apr 2007, 17:55
Go pies!!! Smash those overrated bombers.
DeeKayLillee
20 Apr 2007, 17:56
Go pies!!! Smash those overrated bombers.
overrated ?
I reckon most experts picked collingwood to finish higher than essendon ????
Pie Fight
20 Apr 2007, 18:48
These Essendon supporters are carrying on like they are going to win the flag because they picked up Mal Michael. Well, hate to break the news to you but it would be different if he was a 19 yr old. Imagining having him then. Only an idiot would get rid of him. Oh wait a minute
Typical pie supporters...As if you wouldnt of got him if you had a chance.
Raskolnikov
21 Apr 2007, 11:14
Let's hope Jimmy Hird has a sensational last ANZAC match. Would be fantastic to see him get the medal.:thumbsu:
de_LICA_ish18
21 Apr 2007, 12:30
Typical pie supporters...As if you wouldnt of got him if you had a chance.
We've had him before, I doubt they'd have him back.
Stakerz
21 Apr 2007, 12:38
Collingwood will finish higher than Essendon on the ladder but it will be a challenge with Lucas and Lloyd firing.
DeeKayLillee
22 Apr 2007, 18:20
Collingwood will finish higher than Essendon on the ladder but it will be a challenge with Lucas and Lloyd firing.
do you wanna reassess that statement ????
You beat the saints who you have had the wood on for years...
Dont get ahead fo yourself mate... Still to be no-one really...
DeeKayLillee
23 Apr 2007, 14:58
just ahead of collingwood HeLMie by the length of the flemington straight
EssendonBombersFC
24 Apr 2007, 21:28
What about Fremantle and Adelaide, Have they been the wood for years?
legitimatic
24 Apr 2007, 21:33
What about Fremantle and Adelaide, Have they been the wood for years?
Yes, certainly Fremantle.
These Essendon supporters are carrying on like they are going to win the flag because they picked up Mal Michael. Well, hate to break the news to you but it would be different if he was a 19 yr old. Imagining having him then. Only an idiot would get rid of him. Oh wait a minute
Okay. Now provide evidence.
So who did you tip? Bet it wasn't Essendon.
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 11:24
Essendon by 32 points.
black_hart
25 Apr 2007, 12:49
Often in these games the underdog gets up.
I'm going for the underdog collingwood to win by 15 points.
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 12:51
Often in these games the underdog gets up.
I'm going for the underdog collingwood to win by 15 points.
Collingwood is never the underdog:D
blues4flag
25 Apr 2007, 15:17
Any late withdrawals?
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 15:17
Any late withdrawals?
Nope, no changes :)
DonMania#5
25 Apr 2007, 15:21
Essendon by a few goals for me.
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 15:23
I always get emotional when I hear Waltzing Matilda play on Anzac Day ;)
stmookeyj
25 Apr 2007, 15:43
I got chills from the observance ceremony, so let's bring it on. No late changes, Lloyd won the toss.
Jimmy_the_Gent
25 Apr 2007, 15:45
McVeigh likes it hard.
stmookeyj
25 Apr 2007, 15:46
1st goal to Matthew Lloyd
ESS 1.0.6
COLL Trips
Harry O'Brien on Lucas?!
stmookeyj
25 Apr 2007, 15:47
Alwyn Davey slams on another. Bombers settled the quickest
ESS 2.0.12
COLL Egg
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 15:48
Essendon on fire here! I hope a blow out early doesn't happen, but we all know what happened against Carlton.
RoosterLad
25 Apr 2007, 15:48
Superb by Davey
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 15:49
Whoever says Barry Hall is an umpires pet are a disgrace. They should look at Matthew Lloyd.
Jimmy_the_Gent
25 Apr 2007, 15:49
Superb by Davey
I wish West Coast could've picked him up, we really need a player like him.
I'd rather have MacKenzie though, so it would've taken another draft pick before 36.
Geez those umpires love Matty Lloyd.
midorigreenwood
25 Apr 2007, 15:50
Umpires hate collingwood
Karma hates Matthew Lloyd
Smokin_Joe
That was NOT a free kick
Footylover1
That was NOT a free kick
Barry Hall wouldn't have got it;)
midorigreenwood
25 Apr 2007, 15:52
yay for the Davey genes
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 15:52
Alwyn Davey is a superstar already.
RoosterLad
25 Apr 2007, 15:53
Davey is on fire.
stmookeyj
Davey runs down B.Johnson. Free kick results in Lloyd's 2nd.
ESS 3.2.20
COLL 0.1.1
Footylover1
It's the Davey and Lloyd show!
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 15:58
Is it just me or did Pendlebury just get a free kick for tripping a player?
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 15:59
i didn't see it:confused:
Jimmy_the_Gent
25 Apr 2007, 16:00
The trip wasn't called but holding the ball was once we takled the guy he tripped.
Smokin_Joe
25 Apr 2007, 16:01
I thought lovett might have been legged.
EssendonPride
That's how i saw it =/
stmookeyj
Lockyer gets a steadier for the pies
ESS 3.2.20
COLL 1.3.9
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 16:02
Lockyer with the first goal for Collingwood
midorigreenwood
25 Apr 2007, 16:04
I just got a hard on.....
too bad davey didn't finish it off >,>
Haha Dale Thomas you knob.
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:05
Dale Thomas choked like an amateur porn starlet.
Doctorb
25 Apr 2007, 16:05
Cracking game so far.
Jimmy_the_Gent
25 Apr 2007, 16:06
Haha Dale Thomas you knob.
The AFL should fine him for bringing the game into disripute.
johnnyhoward
25 Apr 2007, 16:06
Go Dons!
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:07
Haha Clement.
Comedy act!
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:09
Essendon look composed and in control.
Collingwood look shaky across the park.
stmookeyj
25 Apr 2007, 16:10
QUARTER TIME
ESSENDON 3.4.22
COLLINGWOOD 1.5.11
ESS: Lloyd 2, Davey
COLL: Lockyer
RoosterLad
25 Apr 2007, 16:11
I'd love to see Davey get the medal.
warney7
25 Apr 2007, 16:12
Essendon haven't put the scoreboard pressure on!
Lloyd and McVeigh missing regulation shots at goal! :thumbsd:
Bradley was woeful, all he does is turn it over!
Hopefully the umpires remember that not only Essendon can recieve free kicks.
Pies good job to still be in it with some very poor kicking and the umpires against them.
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:15
Pies good job to still be in it with some very poor kicking and the umpires against them.
You kidding?
Pendlebury tripped a guy then grabbed him when he hit the ground and gets a free. That cancels out the silly free against Clement.
Apart from that, the umpiring has been good.
EssendonPride
25 Apr 2007, 16:15
Umpires against them? We've got a couple of flakey decisions.... But it's not like you guys have been robbed.
Free kick for tripping someone???
warney7
25 Apr 2007, 16:16
The holding the ball rule is shithouse.
Bad luck to Clement, but everyone knew it was coming!
Ryder's tackle on Thomas......GOLD!
You kidding?
Pendlebury tripped a guy then grabbed him when he hit the ground and gets a free.
Apart from that, the umpiring has been good.
Your trolling of Collingwood means you don't get an opinion.
The bomber dud tripped over pendlebury, he didn't even touch him till he put the tackle on.
betterthanu
25 Apr 2007, 16:18
It looks like Davey is twice as quick as any other player on the ground. He has more of an effect at AFL level than i ever saw with him at South Adelaide.
EssendonPride
Worst start to a quarter i've seen skillwise.
Footylover1
Collingwood waisting opportunities now.
Bombers 3.4.22
Magpies 1.6.12
johnnyhoward
25 Apr 2007, 16:19
Essendon haven't put the scoreboard pressure on!
Lloyd and McVeigh missing regulation shots at goal! :thumbsd:
Bradley was woeful, all he does is turn it over!
Bradley's in trouble, he was given a couple of years in the side and shown alot of faith by Sheedy, but hasn't returned the favour. Will be trade bait you'd think.
RoosterLad
Is Anthony Rocca even playing?
EssendonPride
Your trolling of Collingwood means you don't get an opinion.
The bomber dud tripped over pendlebury, he didn't even touch him till he put the tackle on.
Safe to say you didn't even see it?
Clearly Legged.
TheBrownDog
Watch the game next time.
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 16:20
Is Anthony Rocca even playing?
Does he ever play against quality full backs?
Jimmy_the_Gent
Bradley's in trouble, he was given a couple of years in the side and shown alot of faith by Sheedy, but hasn't returned the favour. Will be trade bait you'd think.
The Dons do have a heap of KPP.
RoosterLad
Does he ever play against quality full backs?
I haven't seen him for a few years actually.
Didak goals due to a joke of a free kick.
stmookeyj
25 Apr 2007, 16:21
Didak nails a free for the 1st of the term.
ESS 3.4.22
COLL 2.6.18
Footylover1
Collingwood gets first goal of the 2nd quarter through Alan Didak
Bombers: 3.4.22
Magpies: 2.6.18
TheBrownDog
How many Bunnings commercials would the average football fan see each year?
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 16:22
I haven't seen him for a few years actually.
He's so overrated it's not funny!
EssendonPride
25 Apr 2007, 16:23
Apparently pushing someone into the ground with 2 hands clearly in the back is a fair tackle.. Interesting
TheBrownDog
Davey may be human afterall.
Footylover1
Alwyn Davey is a ****ing star!!!
EssendonPride
Davey makes up for his error a minute ago... Magic?
TheBrownDog
Nope, I was wrong. He's a freak. Spoke too soon.
midorigreenwood
lmao..... davey nearly did a dale thomas twice in a row....but the tackle didn't stick
great stuff =)
RoosterLad
holy ****
straight from a terrible Cloke drop.. Davey kicks a stunner
stmookeyj
Davey runs down Scott Burns, and kicks his 2nd.
ESS 4.4.28
COLL 2.6.18
Nup!!
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:25
So pissed off. I tried to sub Davey into my starting Supercoach team before the match but the website was busy!
Damn Herald Sun.
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:26
If Fevola got off, Lovett has nothing to worry about.
Footylover1
So pissed off. I tried to sub Davey into my starting Supercoach team before the match but the website was busy!
Damn Herald Sun.
*Sigh* you cannot change your team while a game is on! It has always been like that!
midorigreenwood
lol nice comment quartermaine "is that his best?"
midorigreenwood
25 Apr 2007, 16:29
That what yoiu get for having such big hair..... a punch to the head >,>
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:30
*Sigh* you cannot change your team while a game is on! It has always been like that!
Did you read what I posted?
BEFORE the match you gimbit. BEFORE.
*sigh*
The bombers defense is doing a great job.
Jimmy_the_Gent
25 Apr 2007, 16:31
Rocca is worth his weight in testicle hairs.
black_hart
25 Apr 2007, 16:31
Collingwood seem to be getting on top in general play.
Just need to put the score on the board.
stmookeyj
25 Apr 2007, 16:32
Pies dominating everywhere except on the board.
Footylover1
25 Apr 2007, 16:32
Did you read what I posted?
BEFORE the match you gimbit. BEFORE.
*sigh*
Why should i listen to a troll? You should have done it this morning tool
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:33
Is there anything Kepler Bradley does well?
TheBrownDog
25 Apr 2007, 16:33
Why should i listen to a troll? You should have done it this morning tool
A troll? Don't start throwing accusations around just because you just made yourself look like an idiot.
Bloody nooblets.