View Full Version : essendon v st kilda
dan warna
20 Apr 2007, 16:54
questions for the st kilda selection panel and coaching...who do we man up on the 3 L. lloyd, lucas and L.hird. probably together and in form uninjured for the first time in a long time, a most formidable forward line. A geniune 100 goal FF, and possibly the last truly great forward of the modern era who will kick 1000 goals, Lucas, a CHF/CHB who can kick monsters on beast of a left foot although mostly a confidence player...his confidence must be sky high coming into the game after dominating this postition, and Hird, no matter how many times you throw the word champion around, it probably applies to only 1 in 10 and hird is one of them.
down the back they have spiderman and the gorilla guarding the goals.
Questions for the Essendon panel and coaching is how to contain st kilda's midfield, which starts at the HB line and finishes at the HF line.
with harvey, ball, dal santo, gram, x clarke, goddard, baker and hayes. with the exception of some minor queries on fitness and endurance, while st kilda's KPP list has been decimated its pretty close to our 'a' midfield, which should question most sides except sydney and WCE.
I think Essendon probably believe they can cover kosi, reiwoldt and milne, however would be worried about the quantity of feed from st kilda's fairly talented midfield.
if essendon can get 45% of the midfield, it would be enough to strain st kilda 'b' squad defence in the absence of maguire, hudgeton, voss and the retirement of Penny.
questions for the st kilda selection panel and coaching...who do we man up on the 3 L. lloyd, lucas and L.hird. probably together and in form uninjured for the first time in a long time, a most formidable forward line. A geniune 100 goal FF, and possibly the last truly great forward of the modern era who will kick 1000 goals, Lucas, a CHF/CHB who can kick monsters on beast of a left foot although mostly a confidence player...his confidence must be sky high coming into the game after dominating this postition, and Hird, no matter how many times you throw the word champion around, it probably applies to only 1 in 10 and hird is one of them.
Questions for the Essendon panel and coaching is how to contain st kilda's midfield, which starts at the HB line and finishes at the HF line.
with harvey, ball, dal santo, gram, x clarke, goddard, baker and hayes. with the exception of some minor queries on fitness and endurance, while st kilda's KPP list has been decimated its pretty close to our 'a' midfield, which should question most sides except sydney and WCE.
I think Essendon probably believe they can cover kosi, reiwoldt and milne, however would be worried about the quantity of feed from st kilda's fairly talented midfield.
if essendon can get 45% of the midfield, it would be enough to strain st kilda 'b' squad defence in the absence of maguire, hudgeton, voss and the retirement of Penny.
Getting the excuses ready early I see Dan. :p
I have actually tipped the Sainters, after last week, I'm not going to risk my tip on the Bombers. :o
The Tinman
20 Apr 2007, 17:47
mmmm...you are not blessed with pace...then again neither are we...keep a player loose across the back line, and bring the tackling intensity from the first two rounds and first half against carlton and it should be interesting...
loose man....
Walls - "how many marks to marks to Mcphee now is it Tony"
Shaw - "13 uncontested marks...and we are not even at half time...he is carving them up...the bombers are getting just enough pressure on through the middle and he is mopping up anything coming down"
Walls - "any way back for the saints?"
ok...the last bit was "tell 'im he's dreamin"
possibly...
the two teams match up pretty well and most games between them have been good contests...
looking forward to another...
nonchalance
20 Apr 2007, 17:57
Seems like a decent summation. We've got the edge forward and back, and you've got a better midfield, and, bar McPhee, better flankers too.
If we can put enough pressure on the midfield that you're not getting uncontested ball into your forward line, and the inside 50's are reasonably similar, we'll win.
Jacko05
20 Apr 2007, 18:00
essendon by 19 points
jasrocks
20 Apr 2007, 18:07
essendon by 19 points
Disagree there. Will be closer than that and the other way around. St Kilda by less than two goals, St Kilda's midfield and forward lines to carve you up :cool:
Oh and don't say any crap like oh we beat you by 31 or whatever it was. I don't give a s#@!
Bring-Back-Powell
20 Apr 2007, 18:09
As long as all 44 players enjoy themselves and try their very very best, then football is the winner.
SIR SAINT HOTDOG
20 Apr 2007, 18:11
Seems like a decent summation. We've got the edge forward and back, and you've got a better midfield, and, bar McPhee, better flankers too.
If we can put enough pressure on the midfield that you're not getting uncontested ball into your forward line, and the inside 50's are reasonably similar, we'll win.
Don't think you match up with our run off the half back line
Gram,Montagna,S.Fisher, X.Clarke
Raskolnikov
20 Apr 2007, 18:12
I have actually tipped the Sainters, after last week, I'm not going to risk my tip on the Bombers. :o
I usually tip against the Bombers if I don't feel confident. Then if they win, then I'm happy anyway. If they lose, oh well, I least I tipped the other team.
These are normally good games...both attacking but with a new coach the saints arent the same style unit they were.
If Koschitzke was as fit as he was for a period in 05 i'd give the dons 0 chance...they are nursing him a bit up forward knowing he is an absolute matchwinner later in the season if he can hang in there. Whenever fit enough to roam the ground as a tall (but not competing in the ruck) he simply demolishes teams....but he hasnt got the miles in his legs to sustain that YET so i'd say he'll stay fwd with Gehrig out.
Dal Santo is your worry....i watched him last week and it was simply sublime...every disposal hit its mark and every possession meant a scoring opportunity....get someone to ride his arse or lose the game coz he's just warming up for the season...Hayes not at Hayes level yet.
Saints just in hopefully a great game.
m.diddy
20 Apr 2007, 18:16
Lloyd - S. Fisher
Lucas - Blake
L. Hird?
;)
L.Hird = not the most of our worries.
nonchalance
20 Apr 2007, 18:20
As I said, bar McPhee, you have better flankers.
I'd be surprised if Fisher ran off Lloyd much, assuming he gets him, and hopefully we can put pressure on the runners through blokes like Jetta and Davey.
If the guys you mentioned are allowed to run and set up play from half back, you'll be getting that perfect uncontested ball in to Riewoldt and Koschitske, and you'll win.
mad-saint-guy
20 Apr 2007, 18:30
Lloyd - S.Fisher. Lloyd will no doubt kick at least 3-4 but like in previous weeks, Sammy will set up as many goals with his run from defence.
Lucas - Blake/L.Fisher. I think we'll see a genuine double-tag here. Blake is not good enough to stop Lucas, but if he can keep pressure on him then Fisher would be able do a pretty good job of mopping up any crumbs and also blocking space/cutting of the leads of Lucas.
Hird - Attard or Goddard. Attard could keep him to less than 10 disposals, or Goddard could expose him on the rebound. This really depends on different match ups around the ground (Goddard may be needed to play CHF or as a tall back).
The Majestic
20 Apr 2007, 18:33
Lloyd - S. Fisher
Lucas - Blake
L. Hird?
;)
L.Hird = not the most of our worries.
True I would be more worried about Jimmy Hird then evil twin I have heard his evil twin is playing at Bendigo this weekend.
McVeigh would probably go head to head with gram providing both offensive and defensive pressure.
And if Lovett, Davey and Jetta provide the tackling pressure they did in the 1st 2 weeks we should be fine in that regard.
Regarding the Blake-Lucas matchup is Blake able to hold his own in 1 on 1 contests? He is 3cm shorter and about 10kg lighter. Does he have the speed or the endurance to cover Lucas on the lead? How much experiance has he in defence.
At the other end of the ground Kosi-Ryder is a possible matchup. The main advantage I see Kosi having is in his strength but is he likely to wretsle?
nonchalance
20 Apr 2007, 18:43
Kosi is too strong for Ryder, think he's Michael's matchup. Ryder to play on whoever they use as a third tall, or maybe to double team Riewoldt - follow him up the ground and leave Fletcher behind - otherwise Riewoldt will run Fletch around and exhaust him.
Ben the Gooner
20 Apr 2007, 19:04
If Fisher is going to provide run up the ground, then Essendon wiil win. Any turnovers to Lovett, Davey, Jetta, Winderlich if he plays, and Lloyd is either loose, or against someone he will beat.
My feeling is Winderlich out (hamstring) and Johns in. This puts a lot, A LOT of pressure on an undermanned St Kilda back line. Especially if Hille/Laycock goes forward. If we can get a few clearances and a lot of rebound through Lovett et al., we will win.
Essendon by a couple in a real shootout. It's going to be very high scoring, as you have the midfield, and Riewoldt without a good match-up, and we have the forward line.
Lovett, Davey and Jetta are comin to getcha!
As long as all 44 players enjoy themselves and try their very very best, then football is the winner.
OMG, I think i'm gonna be sick
Lloyd - S.Fisher. Lloyd will no doubt kick at least 3-4 but like in previous weeks, Sammy will set up as many goals with his run from defence.
Lucas - Blake/L.Fisher. I think we'll see a genuine double-tag here. Blake is not good enough to stop Lucas, but if he can keep pressure on him then Fisher would be able do a pretty good job of mopping up any crumbs and also blocking space/cutting of the leads of Lucas.
Hird - Attard or Goddard. Attard could keep him to less than 10 disposals, or Goddard could expose him on the rebound. This really depends on different match ups around the ground (Goddard may be needed to play CHF or as a tall back).
Surely you jest?
dan warna
20 Apr 2007, 19:38
I think the essendon small forwards, while exciting and full of htat dirty word potential, really haven't shown consistency, but yes, there is the chance they get on top and rain goals on us.
one thing that does help I think we have a fairly good defencive flood. If essendon do get on top early, I suspect we will do a heavy flood to absorb the damage.
in defence?
Lloyd, lucas and hird are a class above our defenders, probably only fisher is a class defender.
but if the rest of the team can flood back should be able to provide competition for the dons.
although giving height away, baker or lenny or thomo to take hird, he deserves one of our best, if we can keep hird to less than 20 possessions (esp if he plays midfield) then the it stacks in our favour.
I would hope though we play to our strengths, I think we will pretty much own the centre corridor, essendon to kick long IMO, give hird and lucas a chance in the half forward line.
if essendon trys skills footy, and keepings off through the midfield we should cut them to pieces, but sheedy is too smart for that IMO.
m.diddy
20 Apr 2007, 20:22
McVeigh would probably go head to head with gram providing both offensive and defensive pressure.
And if Lovett, Davey and Jetta provide the tackling pressure they did in the 1st 2 weeks we should be fine in that regard.
Regarding the Blake-Lucas matchup is Blake able to hold his own in 1 on 1 contests? He is 3cm shorter and about 10kg lighter. Does he have the speed or the endurance to cover Lucas on the lead? How much experiance has he in defence.
At the other end of the ground Kosi-Ryder is a possible matchup. The main advantage I see Kosi having is in his strength but is he likely to wretsle?
Would match him in endurance, maybe not speed.
Saints by 10 points - but it could easily be the other way around.
The AFL should have scheduled this match at the 'G because I can forsee an obvious sell-out @ the dome
Jacko05
20 Apr 2007, 20:52
Disagree there. Will be closer than that and the other way around. St Kilda by less than two goals, St Kilda's midfield and forward lines to carve you up :cool:
Oh and don't say any crap like oh we beat you by 31 or whatever it was. I don't give a s#@!
........31 points
dan warna
21 Apr 2007, 10:18
with the glassy surfaces and pristine conditions you can have a close game with a win margin in excess of 4 goals.
I would say our victory last week over the doggies looked worse for the dogs than it was with a bit of a run on in the dead zone.
I would say after the first quarter the game was pretty much even except for the last 15 minutes.
but thats all it takes, not prepared mentally in the first few minutes and you could find yourself facing a 5 or 6 goal deficit to overcome.
alternatively you have a 5 or 6 lead and you start liairising and not doing the 1%ers and you could find your lead whittled away in minutes.
mcphee_is_a_gun
21 Apr 2007, 14:32
Johns in for Winderlich.
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 14:53
My tip is Essendon by 11 points.
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 15:00
1/4 time
Ess 5.4 34 2 lloyd 1 lucas monfries CJ
Stk 3.2 20 1 roo milne harvey
i can see the future :)
Could someone please tell Tony Shaw that there's an "n' in the middle of Essendon ?
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 15:37
saints 2.4 16
ess 1.2 8
sounds like a shit game on 3aw
The game at the G despite the pouring rain is higher scoring than this borefest.
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 15:41
saints 2.4 16
ess 1.2 8
sounds like a shit game on 3aw
Just about every game these days is shit according to 3aw
Audacious
21 Apr 2007, 15:49
is the roof closed at telstra?
cbreban
21 Apr 2007, 15:53
is the roof closed at telstra?
yes, davey goals - essendon in front.
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 15:54
ess 3.2 20
stk 2.6 18
saints dominating general play yet essendon are winning
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 15:54
goal to milne
ess 3.2 20
stk 3.6 24
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 15:58
goal to lucas he has 2
ess 4.2 26
stk 3.6 24
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:01
Lloyd!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ess 5.2 32
stk 3.6 24
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:03
the big laycock on the score board
ess
6.2 38
stk
3.6 24
SorryIHammerChicken
21 Apr 2007, 16:07
What a comeback from the Dons - that poor kicking really stuffed the Sainters.
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:08
wow dons have just gone bang bang bang bang bang bang
ess 7.2 44
stk 3.6 24
Bourky23
21 Apr 2007, 16:08
slattery puts one through bombers by even more
SorryIHammerChicken
21 Apr 2007, 16:10
Riewoldt finally gets one back, desperately needed goal. Dons still lead by 14. They need another one before half-time.
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:13
half time
ess 7.3 45
stk 4.6 30
if essendon lose again after being in front at half time i will be pissed
dan warna
21 Apr 2007, 16:31
same number of shots on goal, if anythign st kilda had easier shots than the dons ><
RL outcoached...again...or should that be roos junior outcoached
GT>RL
Same here Jacko. There were so many times last year that we were in front at half time and lost.
Smokin_Joe
21 Apr 2007, 16:33
same number of shots on goal, if anythign st kilda had easier shots than the dons ><
GT>RL
Cosidering your players out you are doing well. And Fisher going down is a major negative.
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:35
goal to lovett
ess 8.3 51
stk 4.6 30
dan warna
21 Apr 2007, 16:35
Cosidering your players out you are doing well. And Fisher going down is a major negative.
You have a good defence and good offense, but how are you winning in the midfield? i'll tell you, RL has a champaign midfield and doesn't know how to use it.
Sheedy is dictating terms.
Ryder takes a hanger. Third hanger by a Bomber in a row.
Round 2 - McPhee
Round 3 - McVeigh
Round 4 - Ryder.
SorryIHammerChicken
21 Apr 2007, 16:40
21 points now, hard to see the Saints coming back from here.
Free kick to Lloyd.
He kicks his second.
Essendon - 57
Saints - 36
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 16:40
Lloyd gets another soft free kick :(
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:41
ess 9.3 57
stk 5.6 36
SorryIHammerChicken
21 Apr 2007, 16:42
GT>RL
GT's coaching was very poor at times last year, but I think people just loved thinking "anyone can do well with this St Kilda list". RL is a new coach though, so give him time.
JeffDunne
21 Apr 2007, 16:42
Ron Evans might be dead but his spirit lives on.
Another BOG performance by the maggots for the Bombers.
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 16:44
Ron Evans might be dead but his spirit lives on.
Another BOG performance by the maggots for the Bombers.
St.Kilda are leading the free kick count, so how is that so?
Milney. Goal.
Bombers - 57
Saints - 42
Touched. Behind to Saints.
Monfries misses. Behind to dons.
TheBrownDog
21 Apr 2007, 16:48
Fletcher didn't touch that.
Pathetic umpiring.
Luke Ball robbed.
what the **** is wrong with essendon. last week i tipped them to beat carlton and i missed out on getting perfect tipping. this week i tip the saints and the dons are in the lead. bloody hell! lol
Another behind. Bombers by 17 points.
TheBrownDog
21 Apr 2007, 16:49
St.Kilda are leading the free kick count, so how is that so?
Not all free kicks are created equal. Wouldn't expect an supporter of the AFL's darlings to understand.
what the **** is wrong with essendon. last week i tipped them to beat carlton and i missed out on getting perfect tipping. this week i tip the saints and the dons are in the lead. bloody hell! lol
I missed out on perfect tipping aswell! Just because of the Dons V Blues game.
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 16:50
Not all free kicks are created equal. Wouldn't expect an supporter of the AFL's darlings to understand.
You bitch about the umpires week in, week out! And as if we get looked after, tool!
Goal! Milne gets it.
Bombers - 60
Saints - 49
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 16:52
And enjoy watching the battle of the borefest tonight! :thumbsu:
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:52
ess 9.6 60
stk 7.7 49
I'm watching it on sports selector on foxtel.
I dont have fox sports but if Ikeep presssing the directional buttons, Ican watch it. :)
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 16:54
Fletcher with a bomb of a goal!!!! Brilliant goal!
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:55
Fletcher You Ripper!!!!!!!!
:)
GOAL! Fletch kicks a goal from 60!
TheBrownDog
21 Apr 2007, 16:55
What the hell did Lloyd get that free kick for?
Seriously, someone tell me now!
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 16:56
What the hell did Lloyd get that free kick for?
Seriously, someone tell me now!
Can you stop bitching about the Umps, it's getting old!
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 16:56
essendon are now missing goals
is kosi injured? im looking at his dreamteam stats on fanfooty and they havent changed since the 2nd qtr.
essendon are now missing goals
It was 1 behind!
TheBrownDog
21 Apr 2007, 16:57
Nah I'm off to Carrara mate. I'll miss the Nil-All draw at AAMI.
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 16:57
Nah I'm off to Carrara mate. I'll miss the Nil-All draw at AAMI.
I was talking about the Roos/Lions game:rolleyes:
Montagna misses for the Sts.
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 17:00
*** me lovett 1.3
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 17:01
omg pev has kicked a goal i dont belive it
SorryIHammerChicken
21 Apr 2007, 17:01
Game over - I think the Saints needed to get within 2 goals by the break to be any chance.
Well played Bombers.
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 17:02
Goal to Peverill, that will make it tough for the Saints.
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 17:03
ess 74
stk 51
3/4 time they should hang on, you would think
Ball from 50m......
Out on the full! 3 quarter time
Bombers by 21
ess 74
stk 51
3/4 time they should hang on, you would think
We hope. I hope. Then i can bag my mum's bf! He bagged me after the Dons lost to Carlton.
Corrosion
21 Apr 2007, 17:06
Score please?
Footylover1
21 Apr 2007, 17:08
Score please?
Essendon: 11.8.74
St.Kilda: 7.9.51
SorryIHammerChicken
21 Apr 2007, 17:10
The Saints need the first 3 to be ANY chance.
Bourky23
21 Apr 2007, 17:11
The Saints need the first 3 to be ANY chance.
agreed
Rushed behind.
75-52
Attendance: 47,705
Good crowd.
Lloyd gets his 3rd.
Essendon - 81
Saints - 58
Jacko05
21 Apr 2007, 17:16
llyod lucas goals its all over, listen to the fans!!!!!!!!!!
LUCAAAAAS! Runs in and kicks the goal.
Lucas gets his 3rd.
Essendon - 87
Saints - 58
Is that the first nail in the coffin?
black_hart
21 Apr 2007, 17:17
Yeah I'll enjoy the lions ripping the roos a new one.
The borefest will be the two teams of battlers seeing who can shut each other down the most:p