http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l39/shaz63/historyheritagejumper.jpg
Banner copywrite www.portadelaideproud.com 01-01-07
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 15:35
How cool, are they for sale?
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 15:38
How cool, are they for sale?
Well, I only have one. If enough people wanted them, I could get more made up and sell them but because they are professionaly done, they wouldnt be cheap.
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 15:41
Yeah something like that with 1870 on it :thumbsu:
Sandola
23 Apr 2007, 15:44
Troy, I was just a few rows behind you at the game. Your banner (along with the other two from the Outer Army (?) ) was brilliant! So, that was you in the prison bars. You certainly kept us loud and busy right through the entire game! You must have got soaked! It was great fun to sing along to the true Magpies' song after the game. I even knew most of the words!:)
Well done to everyone who came over from SA. Made a mighty presence and some proper noise, even among a vastly larger Collingwood mob. Looking forward to the Melbourne game. We'll probably outnumber them.
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 15:45
Yeah something like that with 1870 on it :thumbsu:
Hmm, now you got me thinking. The banner exactly the same, with a large faded 1870 in the background.
Thoughts?
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 15:47
Troy, I was just a few rows behind you at the game. Your banner (along with the other two from the Outer Army (?) ) was brilliant! So, that was you in the prison bars. You certainly kept us loud and busy right through the entire game! You must have got soaked! It was great fun to sing along to the true Magpies' song after the game. I even knew most of the words!:)
Well done to everyone who came over from SA. Made a mighty presence and some proper noise, even among a vastly larger Collingwood mob. Looking forward to the Melbourne game. We'll probably outnumber them.
Yep, that was me in the prison bar jumper holding the PORT ADELAIDE PROUD banner. :D Glad I kept ya's loud and busy. And yes, I did get soaked.
It looked great on tele Troy, would love to see it in heritage round.
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 15:49
Thankyou! I'm actually considering taking it to all games from now on.
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 15:51
Hmm, now you got me thinking. The banner exactly the same, with a large faded 1870 in the background.
Thoughts?
Maybe we could all chip in and get one done, with Port board Big Footy down the bottom :p
Thankyou! I'm actually considering taking it to all games from now on.
It would have more of an effect to to use it when we play Collingwood, Adelaide and in Heritage round.
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 15:54
Maybe we could all chip in and get one done, with Port board Big Footy down the bottom :p
I was thinking more along the lines of www.portadelaideproud.com instead :D:D
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 16:03
I was thinking more along the lines of www.portadelaideproud.com (http://www.portadelaideproud.com) instead :D:D
We won't chip in then :p
RoosterLad
23 Apr 2007, 16:08
You should have some teal in the banner though as black and white aren't your colours :p
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 16:08
We won't chip in then :p
:p ;)
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 16:11
You should have some teal in the banner though as black and white aren't your colours :p
We could have some Red and White in it, as north are our feeder club :)
dreamkillers
23 Apr 2007, 16:23
It would have more of an effect to to use it when we play Collingwood, Adelaide and in Heritage round.
Anytime it gets seen/mentioned in the media it has an effect............
wharfie_1870
23 Apr 2007, 16:28
I'm glad everyone enjoyed my banner at the Collingwood game :DWell done Troy :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Anytime it gets seen/mentioned in the media it has an effect............Agreed, the more exposure the better.
Count Zero
23 Apr 2007, 16:40
Well done Troy. :thumbsu:
The banner got a few reactions on the way out of the G but nothing like he copped when we played them here last year.
Chad loved it and let us know.
All the way back to the bus we were singing the Power song and the Port Magpies song, plus every now and then the "Eddies a w&nker" chant was included.
The banner will be at the Demons game and the Heritage Round game. Not sure if he is taking it to Sydney with him yet. Troy just might be feeling a bit wary that day as he celebrates his 21st the day before.
goneloco62
23 Apr 2007, 16:53
Hi Troy maybe for the heritage round game the run through could read
Our History - Our Heritage - Our Jumper
And today we are going to thump yer!
Macca19
23 Apr 2007, 17:13
Well done to everyone who came over from SA. Made a mighty presence and some proper noise, even among a vastly larger Collingwood mob.
Amen to that. We made a lot of noise.
RoosterLad
23 Apr 2007, 17:19
The banner got a few reactions on the way out of the G but nothing like he copped when we played them here last year.
Chad loved it and let us know.
All the way back to the bus we were singing the Power song and the Port Magpies song, plus every now and then the "Eddies a w&nker" chant was included.
The banner will be at the Demons game and the Heritage Round game. Not sure if he is taking it to Sydney with him yet. Troy just might be feeling a bit wary that day as he celebrates his 21st the day before.
Why would you sing a Port Magpies song at a Power game?
I also have a serious question, it is not a troll.
Most of you complain when you are called "Port Power" but do you not have a problem with "Port Magpies"?
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 17:22
Why would you sing a Port Magpies song at a Power game?
Most of you complain when you are called "Port Power" but do you not have a problem with "Port Magpies"?
Is not the SANFL website portmagpies.com.au ?
If the club itself call themselfs Port Magpies why can't the supporters?
RoosterLad
23 Apr 2007, 17:24
I don't care what the supporters call themselves I was just wondering what the difference between Port Power and Port Magpies is.
captain ebert
23 Apr 2007, 17:26
i dont have a problem with it.
port
port adelaide
port adelaide power
port power
power!!!!
by the way, i saw the heritage banners at the 'g on saturday - they looked great, but dont put 1870 on it, like the club says, dates are for remembering the dead.
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 17:28
I don't care what the supporters call themselves I was just wondering what the difference between Port Power and Port Magpies is.
The PAFC started in 1870 and the PAMFC started in 1996
I hope this helps
RoosterLad
23 Apr 2007, 17:31
I hope this helps
that was not my question at all as I know about the history of both clubs. I was asking why 90% of people on here get pissed off when you are called "Port Power" but you don't seem to mind that the SANFL side is called "Port Magpies".
wharfie_1870
23 Apr 2007, 17:33
Why would you sing a Port Magpies song at a Power game?.....Because the song used by the PAMFC is the same song that the PAFC used before we entered the AFL and they were making a point about our history and our heritage ..... but then I guess you'd be too young to remember that :p
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 17:34
that was not my question at all as I know about the history of both clubs. I was asking why 90% of people on here get pissed off when you are called "Port Power" but you don't seem to mind that the SANFL side is called "Port Magpies".
you asked the question.
wharfie_1870
23 Apr 2007, 17:37
I hope this helpsLooks to me RoosterLad as if SuperPower clearly answered your question, and you call him an idiot :rolleyes:
SuperPower
23 Apr 2007, 17:40
I'm about to order one more heritage banner. Gonna cost me $66 to get it made.
I'll put in some money towards it, just send me your details.
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 17:41
Bloody mother, was still logged in as her.
As I mentioned in the post, I've just ordered 1 more banner.
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 17:43
I'll put in some money towards it, just send me your details.
If you live in Adelaide, I'll be at the game Friday night down at the Southern End behind the goals. I'll be the one with the heritage banner and the Port Adelaide Proud banner :D
If not, I'll send you the details.
RoosterLad
23 Apr 2007, 17:57
Looks to me RoosterLad as if SuperPower clearly answered your question, and you call him an idiot :rolleyes:
No because quite clearly I wasn't asking for clarification on the different clubs, but I was questioning why it's ok to drop the "Adelaide" in the Magpies but it must be left in for the Power.
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 17:59
No because quite clearly I wasn't asking for clarification on the different clubs, but I was questioning why it's ok to drop the "Adelaide" in the Magpies but it must be left in for the Power.
Majority of us dont care if we're called Port Power. We know who we are.
wharfie_1870
23 Apr 2007, 18:10
Bloody mother, was still logged in as her.....Things could get quite interesting in those chat rooms Troy, err Sharon .... err Troy :D :D
Pinepower
23 Apr 2007, 18:16
Roosterlad the question about Port Power came from some commentators insisting that it was the Port Power Football Club.
The club issued a statement saying that we were to be called
Port Adelaide Football Club
or
Port Adelaide Power
Many people do not have an issue with Port Power but we are not Port Power Football Club.
The same commentators always got the name right for other football clubs for example it is the Adelaide Football Club not The Crows Football club, Essendon Football Club not Bombers Football Club.
In other words they were using the nickname and the PAFC objected rightly so.
birdmanptr
23 Apr 2007, 19:38
Well, I only have one. If enough people wanted them, I could get more made up and sell them but because they are professionaly done, they wouldnt be cheap.
Just out of interest how much does it cost and how much extra for a pic thanks in advance oh and where do you get them done
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 19:57
Just out of interest how much does it cost and how much extra for a pic thanks in advance oh and where do you get them done
Each banner for the same size will be $66.00 as Ive already paid the $50.00 set up fee for the printing. Unsure about on cost for pic added. They are made at Sports Centre.
Oh, poles are extra - had to buy them from a hardware store.
I like to call our AFL side Port Adelaide rather than Port Power or Port Adelaide Power because it reinforces that its the same club that played in the SANFL prior to 1997. Saying Port Power gives those with little knowledge of our history the impression that we are a new club.
I use Port Maggies or Maggies to differentiate between our two teams.
I'll never use Magpies though, as far as I'm concerned that Collingwood.
Unfortunately there is still a lot of confusion both locally and nationally.
This is just how I interpret it and how I like to hear it.
MightyPWR
23 Apr 2007, 21:47
I'm glad everyone enjoyed my banner at the Collingwood game :D
Onya Troy great looking banner :thumbsu: top effort!
Joined your website just then mate, need more members.
Everyone here should join I say :p get on it!
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 21:56
Onya Troy great looking banner :thumbsu: top effort!
Joined your website just then mate, need more members.
Everyone here should join I say :p get on it!
Thankyou very much!
Thanks for joining! Looking forward to your contributions to the site! And yes, I reckon everyone here should join up too! :D
S.Patrol.G
23 Apr 2007, 22:00
I would love to see a few hundred of them dotted around the outer and a big one that the players run through on Heritage Round!
ABSOLUTELY ******* BRILLIANT:D
And should as expected the AFL not allow us to wear the guernsey for heritage round the club should pay for the banners to be made and distributed to the crowd as a protest. What a statement that would be!
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 22:06
I would love to see a few hundred of them dotted around the outer and a big one that the players run through on Heritage Round!
ABSOLUTELY ******* BRILLIANT:D
And should as expected the AFL not allow us to wear the guernsey for heritage round the club should pay for the banners to be made and distributed to the crowd as a protest. What a statement that would be!
Well, as I mentioned earlier, I've put in an order to get 1 more of the banner made, and if alot of people start wanting them, I'll put in more orders, but be warned, because they are professionaly done, they won't be cheap.
S.Patrol.G
23 Apr 2007, 22:13
Well, as I mentioned earlier, I've put in an order to get 1 more of the banner made, and if alot of people start wanting them, I'll put in more orders, but be warned, because they are professionaly done, they won't be cheap.
I didn't say I'd foot the bill! But I reckon it would be a good way of the club making an obvious but as far as I could think...totally above board protest!;)
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 22:15
I didn't say I'd foot the bill! But I reckon it would be a good way of the club making an obvious but as far as I could think...totally above board protest!;)
Well, as well as more banners, I'm even going to look into having cards made up (like the NAB GOAL and SUPER GOAL ones given out at games) with the OUR HISTORY OUR HERITAGE OUR JUMPER on them.
S.Patrol.G
23 Apr 2007, 22:22
On the heritage issue, would there be anything stopping the club making "warm-up" shirts in the prison bar design that the players could run out on the ground in? Do such shirts need to be approved by the AFL?
Just trying to think of different ways to protest the decision that my gut tells me will come from the AFL!!
RoosterLad
23 Apr 2007, 22:25
I speak the truth and you know it, banners and stuff = good, cards = weak. I hate when people try and hand me cards, it's disrespectful. The Eagles do it in the SANFL as well and it's very cheap and amateurish.
Troy Wingate
23 Apr 2007, 22:27
I speak the truth and you know it, banners and stuff = good, cards = weak. I hate when people try and hand me cards, it's disrespectful. The Eagles do it in the SANFL as well and it's very cheap and amateurish.
All I'm doing is trying to come up with idea's to get this thing around. I can't afford to make 100's of banner coz it's would cost me 1000's.
S.Patrol.G
23 Apr 2007, 22:28
Please go away...you spend so much time on this board I feel you secretly wish to be a port person. If I'm wrong, re-read the first 3 words of this post.:)
S.Patrol.G
23 Apr 2007, 22:29
Please go away...you spend so much time on this board I feel you secretly wish to be a port person. If I'm wrong, re-read the first 3 words of this post.:)
Yes Roosterboy, you!
dreamkillers
23 Apr 2007, 22:37
If he keeps up with the Bay 13 dribble he's been posting here lately he'll be having another complimentary break from BigFooty.......
S.Patrol.G
23 Apr 2007, 22:39
If he keeps up with the Bay 13 dribble he's been posting here lately he'll be having another complimentary break from BigFooty.......
Thankyou! Every time I read a port thread, he chips and chips and chips!:mad:
relapse
24 Apr 2007, 10:07
I am not trolling, but I have a serious question. What is the club's actual stance on the heritage issue ??
Are they pushing the issue hard enough or are they just making it seem that way ??? I have often wondered whether they are playing both sides as in they are trying to appease the traditional Port supporters while also not trying to alienate the new supporters and any potential new ones that have/want to come on board, so they dont put any pressure on the AFL with the issue and then can say well we tried, and then not wearing the black and white is then moving slightly away from its SANFL history making it seem more independant for potential new supporters.
The Port Adelaide market is already tapped, but its the other market they are still obviously focussing on. Does the club say well this is who we are accept it either support us or not, or take the other approach in an effort to try and grow your supporter base ??? I know most Port supporters would never sacrifice tradition and history in order to build the supporter base, but does John James etc also have the same philosphy ??
Power Supremacy
24 Apr 2007, 16:17
I haven't been following this issue as close as I possibly could have. But is the AFL denying us our prison bar top because of the similarities to the Collingwood top?
If so, why did the AFL approve the 2004 heritage Guernsey? The one with the blue, yellow and magenta? It was VERY crows-like (which would explain the loss whilst wearing it.)
And then the 2005 one...blue and white...that looked like Geelong.
captain ebert
24 Apr 2007, 17:22
yeh, interesting points there.
wharfie_1870
24 Apr 2007, 17:51
I haven't been following this issue as close as I possibly could have. But is the AFL denying us our prison bar top because of the similarities to the Collingwood top?
If so, why did the AFL approve the 2004 heritage Guernsey? The one with the blue, yellow and magenta? It was VERY crows-like (which would explain the loss whilst wearing it.)
And then the 2005 one...blue and white...that looked like Geelong.Why, because Adelaide is not Collingwood. Hell, they're not even a Victorian club so why would the AFL give a rats about what they have to say. Many Cow supporters at the time thought that the blue and magenta guernsey with the yellow "leather" lace up strip was too close to a cow blanket.
As for Geelong, well they may be Victorian but they aren't they're not even in Melbourne and certainly not Collingwood. Collingwood and Eddie have the AFL wrapped around their little finger.
We wore a black and white prison bar guernsey for Heritage Round 2003 and the sky didn't fall in and as far as I'm aware there wasn't any mass exodus of confused Collingwood supporters from the CFC to join the PAFC because they were confused by the colours. The precedence has been set. This should be a non-issue. The fact that this goes on year after year and last year the club decided to totally ignore heritage round shows what a bunch of clowns are running the AFL. Head clown Dimitriou thinks the AFL is still the VFL.
birdmanptr
24 Apr 2007, 18:22
Each banner for the same size will be $66.00 as Ive already paid the $50.00 set up fee for the printing. Unsure about on cost for pic added. They are made at Sports Centre.
Oh, poles are extra - had to buy them from a hardware store.
If the place that does them was able to add their name on them some where for advertising i wonder if they would set up a 2 3 or 4 monthly payment thing by credit card so they are certain of getting their money.If all were done on a pre order basses i cant see why they would not churne them out.
Worth asking i think cause with their name on them they are going to get air time no question about that.
Troy Wingate
24 Apr 2007, 18:28
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l39/shaz63/home011.jpg
I have just been given two of these as a free sample, due to the popularity of the banner. If anyone would like to purchase any, I can get them put on order, and they will be better quality.
$20 each. I would prefer the money up front, so I don't get stuck with them.
Troy Wingate
24 Apr 2007, 23:28
Any interest in the caps anyone?
the prison bar on the hat looks like a pickett fence
Troy Wingate
24 Apr 2007, 23:37
the prison bar on the hat looks like a pickett fence
Like I mentioned, it's only a free sample cap. The proper ones will look alot better. The writing and bars will look almost exactly like the banner
Troy Wingate
3 May 2007, 16:34
I thought that I had better let you all know that my "our history our heritage our jumper" banner has a copywrite attached to it.
I'm glad everyone enjoyed my banner at the Collingwood game :D
Banner copywrite www.portadelaideproud.com (http://www.portadelaideproud.com) 01-01-07I thought it was great... looked like you were barracking for Collingwood
I thought it was great... looked like you were barracking for Collingwood
Yeah right.. as if. The banner was with the Power Cheersquad at the Collingwood game. The guy holding it just happened to be wearing Power gear and was singing the Power song whilst holding it up at the end of the game that we just happened to win.
Run away back to your own board if you even know which one it is that you belong to.
dyertribe
3 May 2007, 18:39
I thought it was great... looked like you were barracking for Collingwood
At a glance maybe, but the fact there are no spelling errors and the bearer wasn't a gaptoothed old virgin in a gold jacket clarified the situation rather quickly.
Yeh and the fact that it didn't dissapear right after the game :p
Troy Wingate
3 May 2007, 21:08
Yeh and the fact that it didn't dissapear right after the game :p
Correct. It was displayed proudly all the way back to the bus!
bomberclifford
3 May 2007, 22:11
I thought that I had better let you all know that my "our history our heritage our jumper" banner has a copywrite attached to it.
While copyright is automatically ascribed to the creator of unique works, unless you trademark the statement and the graphic layout, there is no real protection of the intellectual property contained within it.
Based on the fact that the design references someone else's intellectual property, namely the prison bars, you would find it difficult to get any trademark registration accepted.
Unless, of course, you created the banner as an employee of the owner of the prison bar design, (either PAFC or PAMFC by my understanding), in which case the copyright would belong to the employer.
Hope that helps you out.
FWIW, I'd recommend letting it go and enjoying seeing it replicate.
Troy Wingate
3 May 2007, 22:18
While copyright is automatically ascribed to the creator of unique works, unless you trademark the statement and the graphic layout, there is no real protection of the intellectual property contained within it.
Based on the fact that the design references someone else's intellectual property, namely the prison bars, you would find it difficult to get any trademark registration accepted.
Unless, of course, you created the banner as an employee of the owner of the prison bar design, (either PAFC or PAMFC by my understanding), in which case the copyright would belong to the employer.
Hope that helps you out.
FWIW, I'd recommend letting it go and enjoying seeing it replicate.
While I would like to see it all over the place, there is every chance other people will take the credit for it.
Also, I realise that I won't be able to get the prison bars trademarked, I should be able to get the statement trademarked.
power_army
4 May 2007, 12:02
Good work with those heritage banners!
Here is the Outer Army's Heritage banner you may have seen around the place. I have been taking it to every game since the Heritage round last year where we played the Saints in Tassie. This pic was taken on top of Mt Wellington, overlooking Hobart.
http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f252/powerchick8/IMG_6036.jpg
Rest assured it will be at the G this week!
wharfie_1870
4 May 2007, 12:23
....Here is the Outer Army's Heritage banner you may have seen around the place. I have been taking it to every game since the Heritage round last year where we played the Saints in Tassie. This pic was taken on top of Mt Wellington, overlooking Hobart......Nice pic but that could be misconstrued to suggest that we are all inbreds :o
power_army
4 May 2007, 13:17
Nice pic but that could be misconstrued to suggest that we are all inbreds :o
lol if ya mind thinks that way that is:p
Nice pic but that could be misconstrued to suggest that we are all inbreds :oI'm afraid I'm not allowed to comment on that
Toots Hibbert
4 May 2007, 15:59
At a glance maybe, but the fact there are no spelling errors and the bearer wasn't a gaptoothed old virgin in a gold jacket clarified the situation rather quickly.
Funny. :thumbsu: