View Full Version : Cordiner Eggleston (injuries, news and others)

rickybobby
23 Apr 2007, 22:31
with scotch beating caulfield by 50-70 points in 2 qtrs and melbourne being beaten by them where are these teams at.

rumoured injuries;
T.Mclardy- Ankle- 50/50 chance of playing
C.Rioli (junior) - ankle- 15% chance of playing
T.Clune- hamstring- in Doubt
C. Cumbre-stewart- dick-headedness - still playing
D.Parisi- to big for own body- will play

any other injuries???

what are the most likely outcomes to this match?
scotch win?
melbourne grammer win?
draw?

we shall see

Stranger Danger
23 Apr 2007, 22:40
Scotch still isnt playing to its total cpabilities so i think it will be a good match but with the melbourne grammar cptain sustaining an injury that has really set them back when it comes to winning. i think scotch will prevail in the rivarly battle by 26 points.

Footy010
23 Apr 2007, 22:46
yeah well rumours have it that mclarty will play, these rumours have nothing behind it but lets see where it goes, haha. playing mindgames we think.

Injuries it seems that junior has a fitness test thursday lunchtime and will have to pass a tough obsticle course. this is usually strenuous and really pushes the injury. i had one last year and it was hard to pass even reasonably fit. i think he may struggle and because scotch dont really mind about playing this game as it is a walk over i think he might have a rest. ????????

rickybobby
23 Apr 2007, 22:51
yes these are all ideas. MclarDy may play or he may not we wil have to see what happens wont we. i rekon tehy will play junior if they can although he didnt seem to be moving at all today let alone very well.
stranger danger, who are you?
well i rekon scotch by 100 or around that. if junior plays maybe in the 200's
haha

montesquieu
23 Apr 2007, 22:58
well boys, monty's neutral on the matter. although i do agree the loss of junior will certainly hamper the scotch team. i'll be on the mic doing the call so i look forward to a great match

rickybobby
23 Apr 2007, 23:04
thanks monte's love the commments. there always so good. we dont know yet junior may play well thats what every football fan hopes. well i rekon its the biggest day on the APS calender but haileybury are jelous and are trying to stuff it up to make them selves fill good. always seems to come back to haileybury. haha. cant wait to see afew blokes out there tho. cumbrae for 1.

montesquieu
23 Apr 2007, 23:10
in other breaking news, strauchnie will also be out for scotch. Devestating loss for the cardinals with his ever fresh legs and goal sense, he's a real dampner on the scotch lay out.

rickybobby
23 Apr 2007, 23:13
really is that the latest, he didnt seem to be great at training. that is going to be a real blow to the structure of scotch'sforward line. this could send the scotchh forward line into dsmay, but could annoy the grammer backline as they may not know where else the avenue to goal is!

fluro_puma
24 Apr 2007, 13:09
Cumbrae will play, but i think all scotch first 18 are in doubt due to aids

rickybobby
24 Apr 2007, 18:51
yeah thanks we found that out when we read about cumbrae u idiot. and no one is coming down with aids but the grammer boys or girls either was will be the ones bending each other after the big loss they will conceed

rickybobby
24 Apr 2007, 18:52
And its official Mclardy is playing. the rumour is bullsh**. he will play according to a reliable source that didnt know that they were making it all up.

miguelsanchez
24 Apr 2007, 20:47
Rickybobby your a fool, Mclardy is injured he rolled his ankle on the weekend and looks like ligament damage. Speak to your captain or anyone who is mates with Mclardy at homo school. Still only 50/50

bronson
24 Apr 2007, 20:50
That is confirmed mate, Mclardy is actually injured

diflucan1
25 Apr 2007, 14:49
With regards to the Cordner, it should be an interesting game..

The likes of Andrew 'Caro' Earle who has been smashing young box's for some time now should look to dominate the 'younger' yr 11's getting a game..
Lachie 'cans' Hill should be your man to look out for, I just feel so much sympathy for the poor gimp who has to tag that motor boating son of a bitch..

Straunie was unable to make the cut with 'injuries' which was a heavy blow to the team and will be replaced by Mark 'ratty rat dogs' Rattray who ive been told will be wearing high heals instead of football boots.. interesting..

But all seriousness.. scotch has some big shoes to fill after last years performances, but with feet sizes like john 'holy shit' Syme and Daniel 'kaitlin' Parisi, scotch should have another top season with an even better start smashing those 'dry your eyes' grammars!

Stop Virginal Thrush with Diflucan1! (hint hint Danger)

Aquaman
25 Apr 2007, 16:48
when and where is the game?

Footy010
25 Apr 2007, 17:09
The game will take place at scotch college on the 27th at 2.30pm.

The big names that will also be seen on the day will be Ash "just taking a break with liv" Lim who may be tagged with by the kid that kissed his Gf while they were going out in Al "not so strong" Armstrong.

Another Great in Will "Mill Levy" Davis, who will be wearing the (C) besides his name, could be a match up with Pat "im having a go at my sis aswell" levy.

Also i think Will "tuckshop" Strange may be manned (or womened) up by Anna "the tuckshoplady", this could be disastrous because she could be feeding him all day which would take his pace out of the game.

I also have a feeling that Jonno "whipped, but not even going out" Lindsay could be copping abuse from all the spectators and even his women if he lets anything through.

Jack "annabelle sizeland" Bull will also impress infront of a home crowd as he has been working out on the triceps and even jogging (could be with a soft J) past the house of his former fiance.

James "small" long wil be tagging someone from the opposition, but know one knows if melbourne grammer have anyone to tag.

Charles "flaming" Shaw will be working out his arms trying to carry the lack lustering grammer team but will fall over by a tackle from the biggest man out there, Stu "maddogg" Rioli

And to cap of with Cyril "cant touch this" Rioli will be singing Mc Hammers song while he kicks 12 goals infront of a much adoring crowd then going home to find the one and only " I love Junior" bubb in his bed naked

Davo#5
25 Apr 2007, 19:32
Scotch on Friday at 2pm

footy09
25 Apr 2007, 19:54
Good to see that rickybobby can spell! (look at the name of the thread)

However, massive news that the both sides will be missing their best players, including T.McClardy for MGS and C.Rioli for Scotch.

Any further developments?

P.S. who is diflucan1, really inappropriate comments about Andrew Earle. You gotta feel for the guy, not to mention Hill, Parisi and Rats

montesquieu
25 Apr 2007, 22:44
Personally i think diflucan1 'dubs'. Should forget his old name from 'itsaworld' and get onto the footy.

without a doubt, this weekends clash will come down to one thing - determination. It's all very well to say scotch look better on paper and they do. But as it is with every football match you will ever see, it's about how you perform on the day. The cordner is always a great spectacle and never decided till the final siren.

Couple of key players for Scotch out there will certainly be newly reinstated Lachie Hill, who'll prbs have the job on Rowan Barraclough. No offence to barra, but really lach shoulds swallow him up. Being in the best at Oakleigh recently, he'll be tough to take on not only in aerial contests but also hard running ground work.
Lindsay, as a backman is also crucial. With those telescopic arms he's an unstoppable force and should keep the grammar forwards quiet. Something this poster knows from experience is that he can defend.
Certainly the loss of Junior from the Scotch side is a massive blow, but is tempered with the loss of Mclardy from the grammar line up.
In all, i think it's fairly level pegging. THe stage is set, it should be a good match

Footy010
25 Apr 2007, 23:29
The Stage is set and should be a good game, whats the crowd expected? around 5,000 or so. seems the weather might not do the day its deed but should be a great spectacle. montesque is already owning the threads and should be putting more time into work and into Ali wilson rather than jumping on here and posting such balanced arguments and let the dog have his bone. i think it will be a walk over even if scotch are missing there best player (best in the APS aswell).

love.for.the.sherrin
26 Apr 2007, 00:04
Scotch without a full strength side should walkover Melbourne comfortably!

Scotch by 35

montesquieu
26 Apr 2007, 18:51
This post goes out to Davo#5. Now, who are you my friend? Research has shown that you used to be a fringe Xavier firsts player under a particular name (no names). However, from my sources, i further discovered that there was no such fringe player under that name. You claimed to be a scouts stats man, and i could believe this due to your extensive knowledge of APS events and players. Your analyses is always fairly precise and you certainly know your stuff. Are you a scout's man or are you simply a very interested APS fan? Come forward, you have earnt enough respect amongst these posts to have your name honoured.

montesquieu
26 Apr 2007, 18:52
P.S. bring back pezza

gormanisahack
26 Apr 2007, 21:09
This post goes out to Davo#5. Now, who are you my friend? Research has shown that you used to be a fringe Xavier firsts player under a particular name (no names). However, from my sources, i further discovered that there was no such fringe player under that name. You claimed to be a scouts stats man, and i could believe this due to your extensive knowledge of APS events and players. Your analyses is always fairly precise and you certainly know your stuff. Are you a scout's man or are you simply a very interested APS fan? Come forward, you have earnt enough respect amongst these posts to have your name honoured.

If you picked up on an earlier post I think Davo#5 also let slip his dad was a scout for an AFL club.

Darc21
26 Apr 2007, 21:29
If you picked up on an earlier post I think Davo#5 also let slip his dad was a scout for an AFL club.

And that he went to Scotch. Wasn't aware that Scotch boys could be on the Xavier 1sts fringe......:confused:

Davo#5
26 Apr 2007, 21:40
Please don't offend me with garbage that I went to Xavier.

I'm allergic to Wheelie bins and I prefer a scotch and coke rather than just straight coke.

footy09
26 Apr 2007, 21:51
Davo#5,

Really enjoying your comments. Keep up the good work.
You coming to the game tomorrow?

bronson
26 Apr 2007, 22:00
Just from his name, you would assume Davo means either davis or David.
Now i dont know but i dont know many David's that play footy at scotch
but i do know one Will Davis

gormanisahack
26 Apr 2007, 22:02
Mate hes an ex-scotch. Goes to Uni if you paid any attention

montesquieu
26 Apr 2007, 22:20
so, x-scotchy, why not come forward. I'm genuinely intrigued mate. Who are you? by the way, you're obviously not will davis. and on that note, what do you think about the scotch captain Davo#5?

Davo#5
26 Apr 2007, 23:03
Sensational - will captain the APS team big Will!!!

Come forward, are you serious and blow my cover.
I'll be at the game with a few mates.
Look for the esky filled with beam and cokes.
Great day, wouldn't miss it for the world!!!

gormanisahack
27 Apr 2007, 20:06
Who Won?

almostfootylegend
27 Apr 2007, 20:24
if melb grammar put ollie wurm into there side, they wouldv won

nickydal26
27 Apr 2007, 20:28
I heard James Ulbrick was at the game taking stats. Ulbrick what was the score, who played well?

gormanisahack
27 Apr 2007, 20:31
Ahhhhhhhhhhh No.

THE BRICKMAN
27 Apr 2007, 20:42
results??

fluro_puma
27 Apr 2007, 21:05
ollie wurm doesnt even play footy anymore?

fluro_puma
27 Apr 2007, 21:12
scotch defeated mgs by a good 20 points

in the first 10 minutes it was scotch 27-0, and most mgs fans felt like going home. they fought back and were winning late in the 3rd quarter, but scotch was just a little to strong.
best for mgs:armstrong and marangon

Number 8
27 Apr 2007, 21:23
I'd agree with who ever said that if oly wurm had played mgs woulda won. ZThe run and carry he could have creted out the backline would have been a massive advantage. He would have been really hard to match up on being a tall who can mark over head but also being a gun runner (Will win the APS 400m title this year. you heard it hear first) would have been very difficult to manage.

almostfootylegend
27 Apr 2007, 21:45
wurmy out of the middle or full charge out of the backline would be an emense/unstoppable force. he would be the key to a melb grammar priemiership in 2007. i do not understand why he hasnt chosen footy over cross-country. He has got all the qualities to become a top footballer

Get Up
28 Apr 2007, 00:09
This Wurmy character sounds like a dud. If he cant even get a game for MGS ones he must be average. Any bloke who choses cross-country over footy, obviously is battin for the other team....

Get Up
28 Apr 2007, 00:13
Scotch left the barriers briliantly, with Junior Rioli STARING, his shoulder injure in the second quarter however was a major setback. Grammar came out firing after half time, however scotch hadnt spent a penny, and With the Scotch coaching staff doing some reshuffling to the team, coming into the straight scotch just pulled away. Credit to the fitness staff.

And please, for your schools sake, do a proper pre-season next year grammar, people cramping at the start of the third quarter is terrible. It is not a good look for the school.

smoking
28 Apr 2007, 11:52
Plenty of guys in red lying on the ground in the 2nd half. How is Strauss . Clearly BOG in my opinion before puttiing body on line and being taken off.

bronson
28 Apr 2007, 19:20
bit of a silly comment "get up" both teams cramped up all over the place and it had nothing to do with fitness.

Both teams were up for the contest and would of used a lot of energy pre match with all the hype and adrenalin.

Fitness would of had very little to do with it. Everybody cramped mate

Davo#5
28 Apr 2007, 22:48
Junior Rioli out for 2 months!
Shocking news.
Could this be the most open premiership for a decade since St Kevins won it in 1997?

Unbelievable results.
Surprised to see Grammar do so well on Friday.
They look good and would still be in contention.
Charles Shaw - impressive.
Strauss - Good
Parisi - Key to the flag defence now with Rioli out

almostfootylegend
28 Apr 2007, 23:31
This Wurmy character sounds like a dud. If he cant even get a game for MGS ones he must be average. Any bloke who choses cross-country over footy, obviously is battin for the other team....

Hasnt tried out for ones, doesnt want to play, his mates should get stuck into him and make him change.

kangaroo pill
29 Apr 2007, 21:26
Are we saying that a seconds player could of made the difference between the Melbourne Grammer - Scotch College game ? doesnt matter which two schools are playing if thats the scenario its plain stupid.
On to the game which from my perspective was a great game and looked like a fast pace, thats why there might of been cramping?
Is it true what happened to Rioli??? because i didnt see him feature in the 2nd half? This will damage scotch badly if true.
For Grammer: Shaw was very good, got alot of the ball, and runs straight lines
For Scotch: Parisi was also exceptional... but didnt kick too straight 3.4 or something however he turns it on, draftee chance if he plays well for the rest of the year.
Strauss: got alot of skill, and had precise kicking. Draftee 2008?? hes year 11
Was anyone missing from the two sides that played on the friday?

bronson
29 Apr 2007, 21:43
No one missing, although round 1 so teams can't have been perfect

Aquaman
29 Apr 2007, 22:24
how did the crowd look? big turnout?

miguelsanchez
29 Apr 2007, 23:21
Yeah heaps of people from both schools and other spectators. Scotch probably out numbered MGS but only because it was their home game

tr44
29 Apr 2007, 23:31
Why Wurm didn't try out for footy is a joke, with his pace coming out of the backline, he would cut teams in half, another exceptional player is Nathen Carr who also can run with the ball as well, both run 50 secs 400m. Both could of pushed 1s footy but chose to go for the cross country premiership.

fluro_puma
29 Apr 2007, 23:58
Wurm hasnt played football since year 10.
He has speed and fitness, but not sure if he skills would have made the difference against scotch.

College Boy
30 Apr 2007, 00:41
Watched the Cordner Eggleston on Friday and was pleased to see a good contest, with the past two being whitewashes by Scotch. The third quarter got a bit exciting with a 3 point lead to Grammar, but they couldn't maintain it. It was clear that both schools lost big guns at the end of last year, and it was a game largely without big stand-out performers. It was a good hard slog by both schools. Scotch was probably the more capable of the two, and should have won by a bigger margin, but for the fact that Grammar played above itself, with great spirit. There were no real highlights in the game. Notwithstanding the game being at Scotch, it looked like there were more MGS boys there, and there was a very large contingent of Old Melburnians there too. Good to see Tom Hawkins and Xavier Ellis there to support MGS. Although it's only Round 1, if $$HC$$ still has the cheque book out this year, I don't think either Scotch or Grammar is likely to be able to beat $$HC$$ with the teams I saw play on Friday, although I hope for the sake of fair play that I am wrong.

tr44
30 Apr 2007, 18:37
well thought out post college boy

mcvh13
30 Apr 2007, 18:46
good to see not all scotch boys viewed the game in the biased manner of some others on this forum.