View Full Version : Who will crack the ton? (EDFL)

goal sneak
25 Apr 2007, 10:47
Which of these players will kick 100 in the EDFL this season?

goal sneak
29 Apr 2007, 18:32
After round 3

Sheen - 25
Whelan - 24
McCarthy - 23
Donaldson - 22
Fitzpatrik - 20
Osler - 17
Ablett - 14
Entwistle - 14
Anthony - 11
Johnson - 8

Pluggeroo
1 May 2007, 22:39
After round 3

Sheen - 25
Whelan - 24
McCarthy - 23
Donaldson - 22
Fitzpatrik - 20
Osler - 17
Ablett - 14
Entwistle - 14
Anthony - 11
Johnson - 8

Cripes, 3 of them are almost a 1/4 of the way there after 3 rounds. Whelan and Sheen have both kicked 11 against us. Hopefully they dont kick as many in the return games...lol

goodie
2 May 2007, 21:35
Leigh Jose will kick a 100 in the thirds, having notched up 23 already. we should keep him updated weekley.

goal sneak
7 May 2007, 17:08
After round 4 - Goals last round in brackets. What they will kick at this rate in bold.

Donaldson - 33 (11) 149
Sheen - 32 (7) 144
Whelan - 28 (4) 126
Fitzpatrick -26 (6) 117
McCarthy - 25 (2) 113
Ablett - 23 (9) 104
Osler - 18 (1) 81
Entwistle - 16 (2) 72
Anthony - 15 (4) 68
Johnson - 12 (4) 54

:eek: Amazing 6 on track for 100 and you count discount Osler!!!:eek:

Hoggwash
7 May 2007, 22:18
I reckon osler will still get there, Nyora has played 3 sides that should make finals, wait and see how many he kicks against the lower sides. Once the weather gets a bit wetter the top few will slow down but i reckon we could get 5 kick a ton this year.

goodie
8 May 2007, 10:13
leigh jose moves to 29!!!!

goal sneak
8 May 2007, 15:43
leigh jose moves to 29!!!!

Hopefully he kicks a hundred. He is a good player and it is unfortunate that this will be his last season. I suspect he would be playing a lot of senior football for Catani this season if it were not for his condition.

goal sneak
14 May 2007, 17:47
AFTER ROUND 5

Donaldson - 43 (10)
Sheen - 36 (4)
Fitzpatrick - 34 (8)
McCarthy - 32 (7)
Ablett - 30 (7)
Whelan - 29 (1)
Osler - 27 (9)
Entwistle - 22 (6)

These are the only guys who can break the ton now i reckon.

goal sneak
14 May 2007, 18:04
Just for Goodie Jose moves to 37 in the U/18's.

Also interesting one with Lang lang U/18's who had 2 guys boot 10 each in the one match against Nyora. (McCurdy and A.Brown)

goodie
16 May 2007, 18:49
what an abseloute gun, the kid is a star.

goodie
21 May 2007, 16:01
1. DONALDSON, 46
2. FITZPATRICK, 43
3. SHEEN, 43
4. MCCARTHY, 36
5. OSLER, N 32
6. ABLETT, 31
7. WHELAN, 31
8. ENTWISLE 22

and leigh jose kicks another 8 and moves to 45, what a star is there anyone in the thirds this year who can stop this kid?

Hoggwash
21 May 2007, 16:06
Osler might struggle now if he misses a few, would have expected to kick some big bags in the next few weeks. Look at countryfootyscores.com, top 3 form edfl.
Leigh jose is a gun, not many good enough to stop him in the thirds, look like a huge chance for a ton, would be a great effort.

goal sneak
21 May 2007, 16:48
Donaldson was held to 3 goals against us on the weekend. We played a quicker half-back flanker on him instead of the usual full back and got the rest of the back line to try and float back and help him out as much as possible. I think all teams need to do this or double team him.

Hoggwash
21 May 2007, 17:01
Who played on him? Would not have been a good day for a forward, wet and windy. I think longwarry are still very one dimensional, donaldson instead of browney, and with serong out injured they dont have many goal kickers. Cora Lynn go to sheen a lot, if ya stop him ya have a good chance to beat them.

goal sneak
21 May 2007, 17:15
Jason Kelly played on him but had a lot of support from the rest of the back 6.

hayesy_27
29 May 2007, 21:22
hope wheelo gets there, was lucky to get coached by him 2 years ago. Good bloke and great player good to see him injury free and i hope he gets the ton.
Go Neerim

goal sneak
30 May 2007, 11:06
» Top 10 Players by Goals:
1.DONALDSON, RyanLongwarry 55
2.SHEEN, DarrenCora Lynn 48
3.FITZPATRICK, OWENCatani 45
4.MCCARTHY, DanielPoowong 40
5.WHELAN, PaulNeerim Neerim South 38
6.ABLETT, RyanBunyip 32
7.OSLER, NathanNyora 32
8.JAGOE, JeremyBuln Buln 27
9.ENTWISLE, JOHNCatani 26
10.WILSON, CoryNyora 23

bigpapagman
30 May 2007, 11:35
you would expect the top 4 would probably get there assuming the form of their sides continue.

Barring Injuries -

Should - sheen/donaldson.

Probable - mccarthy/fitzpatrick.

outsiders - whelan/osler/ablett.

Remember Longwarry, Nyora, Bunyip & Catani all still have to play dusties.

cheers.

EDFL follower
30 May 2007, 13:08
you would expect the top 4 would probably get there assuming the form of their sides continue.

Barring Injuries -

Should - sheen/donaldson.

Probable - mccarthy/fitzpatrick.

outsiders - whelan/osler/ablett.

Remember Longwarry, Nyora, Bunyip & Catani all still have to play dusties.

cheers.

Its great to see so many blokes kicking heaps of goals and they are all great players but do we have a serious shortage of good backmen in our league?

15 years ago no one had ever kicked 100 goals in an EDFL season yet we may have 4 or 5 do it this year.

Where are all the good backmen?

bigpapagman
30 May 2007, 14:55
Its great to see so many blokes kicking heaps of goals and they are all great players but do we have a serious shortage of good backmen in our league?

15 years ago no one had ever kicked 100 goals in an EDFL season yet we may have 4 or 5 do it this year.

Where are all the good backmen?

the good backmen in this league are there..... they just cant compete with the amount of bought forward lines in this league. If you buy a decent full back, then they tend to play up the ground.

goodie
30 May 2007, 19:04
the good backmen in this league are there..... they just cant compete with the amount of bought forward lines in this league. If you buy a decent full back, then they tend to play up the ground.
ala Jason Anthony, won a league medal or something at fullback and now plays forward, effectivly in this league to.

bigpapagman
4 Jun 2007, 13:38
donaldson is a monty now!!! has 71 from 8 games, could kick 150!!!

1.DONALDSON, Ryan Longwarry 71
2.SERONG, LUKE Longwarry 18
3.WILLIAMS, PAUL Longwarry 12
4.CAMPBELL, Matthew Longwarry 8
5.MCDONALD, LEIGH Longwarry 6
6.WELLS, DANNY Longwarry 6
7.HOLLAND, TYE Longwarry 4
8.MIZZI, Chris Longwarry 3
9.RIDGWAY, BEAU Longwarry 3
10.SERONG, AARON Longwarry 3

does carry the attack though!!!!

goal sneak
4 Jun 2007, 14:58
donaldson is a monty now!!! has 71 from 8 games, could kick 150!!!

1.DONALDSON, Ryan Longwarry 71
2.SERONG, LUKE Longwarry 18
3.WILLIAMS, PAUL Longwarry 12
4.CAMPBELL, Matthew Longwarry 8
5.MCDONALD, LEIGH Longwarry 6
6.WELLS, DANNY Longwarry 6
7.HOLLAND, TYE Longwarry 4
8.MIZZI, Chris Longwarry 3
9.RIDGWAY, BEAU Longwarry 3
10.SERONG, AARON Longwarry 3

does carry the attack though!!!!

Haha good spread of goal-kickers there. Keep Donaldson down and you have a good chance of winning.

bigpapagman
18 Jun 2007, 11:30
82 in 9 games. machine. too good for this league.

goodie
18 Jun 2007, 19:30
and leigh jose kicks another 8 and moves to 45, what a star is there anyone in the thirds this year who can stop this kid?
well, we held him to 4 this week. we had young scott taylor play on him for a half, he should be playing seniors by the end of the year and then thirds league B and F winner from last year chris weller played on him. we went down to them by only 19 points which we thought was quite a galent effort considering we are fourth last..

bigpapagman
20 Jun 2007, 12:48
Barring Injuries....

Will - Donaldson

Should - Sheen/Fitzpatrick

Outsiders - McCarthy/Ablett/Whelan

cheers,

goal sneak
21 Jun 2007, 14:38
Is Donaldson a chance for his 100th this week? Is playing the Dusties and needs only 18?

goodie
21 Jun 2007, 15:11
yeah for sure this could be the week, if not next for sure.

bigpapagman
21 Jun 2007, 15:59
i like how you put it. only needs 18.....

cheers.

goodie
21 Jun 2007, 16:24
who's going to play on him from tarwin street, i cannot think of any capable.

goal sneak
22 Jun 2007, 14:32
I think they should send the bigpapagman back, or maybe santo!

goodie
22 Jun 2007, 14:57
bigpapa is far to slow to play on donaldson, physicly yes highet, yes, speed no. santo is again not playing.

bigpapagman
22 Jun 2007, 15:32
I think they should send the bigpapagman back, or maybe santo!

picked up a couple of touches playing loose in defence against nyora on saturday..............no accountability though. would have to be the attacking part of a double teaming.

bigpapagman
22 Jun 2007, 15:34
bigpapa is far to slow to play on donaldson, physicly yes highet, yes, speed no. santo is again not playing.

i'm faster than you.

would you like me to fix you thum thanwiches?

cheers,

bigpapagman.

Hoggwash
22 Jun 2007, 16:24
On loose men, why would dusties 2's start with 1 loose when there no wind. I reckon they got it out of the middle as much as us but kicked it straight to our guy who took uncontested marks all day. At least have a crack for the first quarter and see how ya go. Its accepting defeat a bit too early i reckon and making it bloody hard for ya forwards to kick a goal.

bigpapagman
22 Jun 2007, 16:45
mate, it is the dusties twos we are talking about here. cant expect too much.

Hoggwash
26 Jun 2007, 09:09
You played one lose in the ones as well, as a full forward how do ya like that when ya got a bloke 20m in front of ya all day, makes it hard to lead to space. It doesnt work for bad teams because ya leave a gun player like francis or miles loose who does a lot more damage.

bigpapagman
26 Jun 2007, 17:51
You played one lose in the ones as well, as a full forward how do ya like that when ya got a bloke 20m in front of ya all day, makes it hard to lead to space. It doesnt work for bad teams because ya leave a gun player like francis or miles loose who does a lot more damage.

the idea behind it is to minimise your oppurtunities up forward when the ball gets there. not to stop it getting there. and the theory works if the majority of your goals are kicked by the midfield. as they were in our game. but my advice is not to try it against longwarry. doesnt work. you would have to play 3 or 4 loose men and hope their oppenents chase them; thus leaving "donno" no space to lead in to........

cheers.

bigpapagman
26 Jun 2007, 17:52

yeah i dont like it as much the next full forward; but it is becoming more & more part of the game. flooding started it & this is like a watered down version of flooding; as it is normally only one or two players.

Hoggwash
26 Jun 2007, 22:34
I dont think nyora has played a lose man in the last 5 years, always just played attacking footy. Longwarry normally do against us, last year i think they did in the first quarter of the second semi and everyone saw what happened then. Nyora v Longwarry in 2 weeks should be a good game, could become a shoot out.

bigpapagman
9 Aug 2007, 12:55
donno, ablett, fitzy & sheeny are my tip now.

goodie
9 Aug 2007, 12:57
and leigh jose ;) fair effort by the youngsta.

bigpapagman
9 Aug 2007, 16:49
not a bad effort by l-jo

Budda 230
27 Aug 2007, 15:59
Donaldson.

bigpapagman
27 Aug 2007, 16:00
you idiot.