View Full Version : Protest to the AFL - What should we do?
Paralowiepower
25 Apr 2007, 14:10
I think this topic needs it own thread instead of bits here and there.
Put your ideas here, the most effective way our voices can he heard to the PAFC and more importantly the AFL.
SuperPower
25 Apr 2007, 14:38
This might sound a bit extreme but the only way the afl will take notice is by having an onfield protest heritage day and supporters delaying the start of the game. But I would say this should be the last resort.
This might sound a bit extreme but the only way the afl will take notice is by having an onfield protest heritage day and supporters delaying the start of the game. But I would say this should be the last resort.Nice, but would anyone have the cajones?
I think we should do anything we have the energy to do, both individually and collectively. Anything and everything. Sometimes wars are not won immediately, there is such a thing as a battle of attrition.
If we all make as much noise, in our own way, as possible, we will win eventually, as our cause is right.
Jeez, I've almost got myself worked up enough to stride into battle like King Leonides.
This might sound a bit extreme but the only way the afl will take notice is by having an onfield protest heritage day and supporters delaying the start of the game. But I would say this should be the last resort.
Exactly.
Nice, but would anyone have the cajones?
Moot point.
--- Enough is enough. Enough already with all the talk and politiking. Let me rephrase something...."you can do it all in another way, but always remember violence pays". In this sense, replace 'violence' with 'action'. Time for all SA fans to attend Power games in black-white prison-bar and banners, all venting the opinion on the Heritage issue....all in the build up to heritage round. Trying to force the AFL's hand here, force the issue into the public forum. Instead of it being isolated here in BF, or as a poll in some Adelaide newspaper, or as some private petition sent to the AFL and/or PAFC. None of those things do too much.
It's time to actually DO. Just put the gear on, create your banners, and ram the point home at every home and away game in the build-up to Heritage Round. Forced onto television screens everywhere, commentators forced to comment, debates brought out on the Footy shows, force the PAFC itself to address the whole matter, maybe even force them to also grab their balls and become renegades.
As for this cojones issue. Should anyone be even asking? Grab your balls FFS. What good is anyone without their 'balls'? Life is about passion and fighting spirit. Nothing's given for nothing. Things have to be earnt. Points have to be made. Stands have to be taken. Lines have to be drawn.
Here's an idea....
I can imagine if I rang some of my Port supporter friends in Adelaide and said "hey, you should wear the prison bars to the game this week", they might wonder what the hell I was on about, not being people that come to BF and thus haven't been as exposed to the issue as ourselves, recently.
So how about we start exposing as many Port supporters as possible to the issue by starting a chain-letter.
You know - we write something which raises the issue of the jumper debate, and encourages people to get passionate about it, start wearing their old jumper, and send the email to all the Port supporter friends they know.
Starts with 5 or 6 emails being sent out, then 25 or 36, then 100 or 200, and before you know it, thousands and thousands of Port fans are on the same wavelength.
Someone who's good with words wanna draft a letter?
How about you go Midnight Oil 2000 closing ceremony style? Come onto the field wearing whatever gurnsey the AFL approves then in the final huddle everyone strips down a layer and you all have the prison bars underneath? You'd cop a whopper of a fine but the publicity for the cause would be huge. It'd be on every news show and paper in the country:thumbsu:
Carnport
25 Apr 2007, 15:19
Hit Big Heady where it really hurts: boycott Channel 9.
People still watch channel 9?
How about having your banner exclusively made up of Prison Bars for heritage round?
Banner with prison bars, and just come out there in the Prison bars...
If we delay the start we'll likely be penalised points or something... last year should have been the time we did the protest, as we weren't in contention for finals...this year we quite possibly are.
Grave Danger
25 Apr 2007, 16:47
Kochie, our joint number one ticket holder, has the ideal platform to give this issue very wide coverage and have a dig at the opposition channel at the same time. Seven loves to take potshots at Nine, so maybe Kochie's bosses would be agreeable to run an Eddie-as-the-villain angle on this. I've sent Sunrise the following email:
Hi, this message is for Kochie. Congratulations Kochie on your appointment as Port Adelaide Football Club's joint number one ticket holder. I saw Tredders make the presentation to you and I could tell how honoured you felt. Your words about Bob Quinn showed that you appreciate Port Adelaide's magnificent history, so I'm sure you'd be as appalled as all Port fans at the likelihood that once again Port will not be allowed to wear the 'prison bars' guernsey in this year's heritage round. There is no logical reason for the AFL refusing this request other than they are doing what Eddie McGuire tells them. We Port fans would love for you expose this scandal on Sunrise. There's been plenty of heated discussion on fan sites and bulletin boards and the Advertiser web site has a poll showing 98% support for Port to be able to wear the prison bars for heritage round, but exposure on Sunrise would have much wider exposure. You would be doing the club a great favour and at the same time embarrasing the AFL and Eddie McGuire! If you can get hold of a prison bar jumper (Tredders should be able to arrange!) you could hang it in a strategic position in the backdrop of the Sunrise set - make the message visual as well as verbal!
You'll be in the Number one ticket holders hall of fame if you can pull this one off Kochie - please give it a go!
Regards
Tim
Paralowiepower
25 Apr 2007, 16:50
Kochie, our joint number one ticket holder, has the ideal platform to give this issue very wide coverage and have a dig at the opposition channel at the same time. Seven loves to take potshots at Nine, so maybe Kochie's bosses would be agreeable to run an Eddie-as-the-villain angle on this. I'll email him/Sunrise and suggest he do an editorial piece (sooner rather than later) and hang a prison bars guernsey in the background at regular intervals.
Exactly the type of stuff we need :thumbsu:
Sandola
25 Apr 2007, 18:32
I suppose one thing we can all easily do is send the club emails asking them to publicly (loudly, even) support the demand that we wear the PB guernsey this year.
As many of us have noted, despite brave words in front of some supporter groups, the club leaders have been worryingly quiet on this issue. It's way past the time for delicate negotiations and a hush-hush approach. Ask the club to tell the AFL, and tell us, that we're going to be wearing the PB this year.
(Should Peter Burgoyne be leading the charge for us?)
Tell the club to tell the AFL, and tell us, that we're going to be wearing the PB this year.
Corrected wordage.
Sandola
25 Apr 2007, 19:05
Corrected wordage.
Indeed! Cheers.
Wishinman
25 Apr 2007, 23:48
I think all supporters should boycott the games played in Melbourne until we are allowed to wear our Heritage Guernsey in Heritage round. Hit the AFL and Victoria where it counts most. It’s not just the $ spent at the game, but also accommodation, meals, etc. Over a season it would add up. Say 1000 supporters head across from SA for each game and spend $100 whilst in Melbourne - that’s $100,000 per game and if we play 7 games, that’s $700,000. Not a big amount in the scheme of things, but is a start and if publicised the right way, could make the AFL look a little sillier.
Instead, all SA based supporters should head to the club, have a meal and a few drinks and watch the game there. Im sure the Club would welcome our stance and enjoy our company. Sorry to the Vic based supporters.
Peninsula Boy
26 Apr 2007, 00:14
Kochie, our joint number one ticket holder, has the ideal platform to give this issue very wide coverage and have a dig at the opposition channel at the same time. Seven loves to take potshots at Nine, so maybe Kochie's bosses would be agreeable to run an Eddie-as-the-villain angle on this. I've sent Sunrise the following email:
Hi, this message is for Kochie. Congratulations Kochie on your appointment as Port Adelaide Football Club's joint number one ticket holder. I saw Tredders make the presentation to you and I could tell how honoured you felt. Your words about Bob Quinn showed that you appreciate Port Adelaide's magnificent history, so I'm sure you'd be as appalled as all Port fans at the likelihood that once again Port will not be allowed to wear the 'prison bars' guernsey in this year's heritage round. There is no logical reason for the AFL refusing this request other than they are doing what Eddie McGuire tells them. We Port fans would love for you expose this scandal on Sunrise. There's been plenty of heated discussion on fan sites and bulletin boards and the Advertiser web site has a poll showing 98% support for Port to be able to wear the prison bars for heritage round, but exposure on Sunrise would have much wider exposure. You would be doing the club a great favour and at the same time embarrasing the AFL and Eddie McGuire! If you can get hold of a prison bar jumper (Tredders should be able to arrange!) you could hang it in a strategic position in the backdrop of the Sunrise set - make the message visual as well as verbal!
You'll be in the Number one ticket holders hall of fame if you can pull this one off Kochie - please give it a go!
Regards
Tim
Great email. Kochie is a perfect vehicle because it would also be a 7 versus 9 thing.
All good fiery renegade suggestions. Outlaw is the word for us to be.
But, I think ultimately the best and easiest way is just to ensure that ALL home and away fans don PB guernseys, banners, no teal, just black/white. Fill the stands with it. Because...a) we can't expect the PAFC to do things like snub its nose at the AFL and just get RBK to go ahead making a PB heritage round guersney, they'll avoid the fines and controversy, b) we can't expect the PAFC to make demands on the AFL, because they'll avoid the bad blood, c) instead, by us the fans doing that, the AFL cant fine the club, cant punish the club, the club can even publically make 'sincere' pleas to the fans to desist from their behavior to keep the AFL off their backs while the fans continue to don the PB and black/white to every game in the lead up to heritage round.
That alone, vox populi, will force the issue big time into the media. Commentators, journo's, tv shows, they'll all be talking about it. It will cause a large stir and the AFL will be FORCED to address the matter openly and publically - something they desperately try to avoid doing at all costs.
I think this topic needs it own thread instead of bits here and there.
Put your ideas here, the most effective way our voices can he heard to the PAFC and more importantly the AFL.
WHy doesn't the club just wear the prison bar gurnsey anyway, let the players run out on the ground with them on and start the game. The umpires won't care. You will just have to accept the consequences afterwards (a fine most likely). This will be the strongest message that can be sent to the AFL. The AFL has to realise that it is no longer the VFL.
wharfie_1870
26 Apr 2007, 11:14
Hit Big Heady where it really hurts: boycott Channel 9.We, the supporters/members, and the club should ignore Eddie in this whole issue. Eddie has no say in this. The PAFC is one of the 16 clubs that make up the AFL and the AFL should treat all of its member clubs equally. One club should not be able to dictate what another club should do. By pleading to Eddie or taking action against Channel 9, of which he is the CEO, all as we are doing is confirming to Eddie that he is a decision maker in this issue.
WHy doesn't the club just wear the prison bar gurnsey anyway, let the players run out on the ground with them on and start the game. The umpires won't care. You will just have to accept the consequences afterwards (a fine most likely). This will be the strongest message that can be sent to the AFL. The AFL has to realise that it is no longer the VFL.A fine would be the lightest we would get off. If an individual player wears the wrong socks (as happened a few years back) the club will be fined. If the entire team wears the "wrong" guernsey we will cop a fine plus loose premiership points.
I would like to see the club put a full page open letter to the AFL in all of the Australian daily newspapers. This letter should point out that the PAFC wore a black and white prison bar guernsey in the 1970's (complete with picture of the 1977 premiership team) and ask the AFL to "please explain" why the PAFC is not allowed to wear this guernsey in Heritage Round which has as its theme the 1970's.
Put the onus on Dimwitriou to come out and say that Eddie tells him what to do and that Heritage Round is really about the VFL not the AFL.
Personally I think we are getting ahead of ourselves a bit. Whilst I am 100% behind our RIGHT to wear the PB guernsey during this year's heritage round, many of the calls for us to protest to/via the AFL, media, Eddie, CH9 etc etc are pretty much baseless until we get an official stance from the club. And I dont mean a statement madeonly to supporters/members from the President or CEO. It MUST be an official press statement outlining our (the club's) stance on the whole issue - and what we are prepared to do - OFFICIALLY!!!!!!!!
Come on guys, how can we possibly expect outside organisations to fight for us (media, Kochie etc) when we can't even get a statement from our own club out to the mass population.
The first shot in the war is to get the CLUB to officially 'declare war' so to speak. Until then no matter what our actions we dont have a leg to stand on!
Paralowiepower
26 Apr 2007, 12:32
The AFL should tell Collingwood, do you want exclusive rights to black and white stripes or the Anzac Day fixture. Pick one!
Signs should be made up and handed out at all Port Games to be held up by supporters simply saying
DIMITRIOU - EDDIE'S BITCH.
wharfie_1870
26 Apr 2007, 13:43
The AFL should tell Collingwood, do you want exclusive rights to black and white stripes or the Anzac Day fixture. Pick one!No, the AFL should ignore Collingwood's whingeing about us wearing black and white for Heritage Round and all clubs should be given the opportunity to play on ANZAC day, not just Collingwood and Essendon.
Signs should be made up and handed out at all Port Games to be held up by supporters simply saying
DIMITRIOU - EDDIE'S BITCH.:D :D
PortProudWA
26 Apr 2007, 18:01
Read this weekend Inside Football Magazine - our VP Jeaks really gives it to the ****ers!! On ya Jeaks, excellent bloody Feral :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Handyandy
27 Apr 2007, 18:43
I beleive eddie is the ceo (or president) of channel nine so we should just boycott his station. Rather then sending protest letters to the afl (who will simply ignore us) just start blogging channel nine. If channel nine's adeladie ratings were hurt then that would excert alot of pressure on eddie. Hit him where it hurts, in the hip pocket.
wharfie_1870
27 Apr 2007, 18:56
I beleive eddie is the ceo (or president) of channel nine so we should just boycott his station. Rather then sending protest letters to the afl (who will simply ignore us) just start blogging channel nine. If channel nine's adeladie ratings were hurt then that would excert alot of pressure on eddie. Hit him where it hurts, in the hip pocket.As I said above (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7346246&postcount=21) this has nothing to do with Eddie and even less to do with Channel 9.
It is the AFL that approve guernseys for Heritage Round not Eddie. If Dimwitriou is indeed Eddie's bitch then he needs to come clean and admit it.
I support Port's right to wear black and white for heritage, or for your permenent jumper for all I care, I mean 3 clubs already share blue and white and Adelaide shared Blue, Red and Yellow with Fitzroy till 1997. It isn't going to happen though because the AFL is still looked at as the VFL by those in charge. What we need is to
- Form a coalition of the 6 non victorian clubs.
- Break away from the AFL and form a new league.
- Ask for submissions for licences for 4 teams to be based in victoria
- Seek submissions for 2 more teams around the country
- Run the new league with 10-12 teams playing each team TWICE to be fair once home, once away. Teams that earn home finals will get them.
- Form no long term contracts with venues. i.e. A new 70,000+ capacity stadium could host a Port vs Crows Grand Final.
- Abolish the salary cap and draft.
- Sit back and watch Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton etc beg to be allowed to compete in the new league.
I support Port's right to wear black and white for heritage, or for your permenent jumper for all I care, I mean 3 clubs already share blue and white and Adelaide shared Blue, Red and Yellow with Fitzroy till 1997. It isn't going to happen though because the AFL is still looked at as the VFL by those in charge. What we need is to
- Form a coalition of the 6 non victorian clubs.
- Break away from the AFL and form a new league.
- Ask for submissions for licences for 4 teams to be based in victoria
- Seek submissions for 2 more teams around the country
- Run the new league with 10-12 teams playing each team TWICE to be fair once home, once away. Teams that earn home finals will get them.
- Form no long term contracts with venues. i.e. A new 70,000+ capacity stadium could host a Port vs Crows Grand Final.
- Abolish the salary cap and draft.
- Sit back and watch Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton etc beg to be allowed to compete in the new league.
This is more like it! Way to go. Top notch idea. I think the AFL would be fcked if that happened, forced to make compensatory 'merger' or compromizes. Even if the 6 clubs don't actually break away, but threaten to, the AFL would scamper to solve the mutiny.
Something else tho...Swans are owned by the AFL. So I don't know what you'd do about them.
ummmm, why are you protesting?
Something else tho...Swans are owned by the AFL. So I don't know what you'd do about them.
Form a new club the NSW Swans or whatever you want to call them as i'm sure only Sydney Swans is trade marked. Then pay out all the player contracts and sign them to the new club. The AFL can't stop them playing as the new league would be their employer.
I'm assuming this is about the guernsey, just wear it. Seriously, what are they gonna do, fine you? Who cares! I say come out onto the ground wearing the prison bar guernsey, stuff em.
PAFC2004
28 Apr 2007, 01:39
ummmm, why are you protesting?
Ummm, because the AFL invited us (and all clubs) to participate in heritage round by wearing what we wore in the 70's. We wore the prison bars in the 70's. But they won't let us....
Confusing much?
Handyandy
1 May 2007, 14:59
As I said above (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7346246&postcount=21) this has nothing to do with Eddie and even less to do with Channel 9.
It is the AFL that approve guernseys for Heritage Round not Eddie. If Dimwitriou is indeed Eddie's bitch then he needs to come clean and admit it.
Well eddie has come out and given us permission to wear it only once, so he appears to think that it it his decision.
wharfie_1870
1 May 2007, 15:13
Well eddie has come out and given us permission to wear it only once, so he appears to think that it it his decision.Just because Eddie believes he has the power (no pun intended) to say yey or ney to what we wear in Heritage Round doesn't mean he has any say in it. The fact that he believes the decision is his is just another sign of the tool's incredible ego.
It is the AFL that approve guernseys for Heritage Round not Eddie. As the club has said "We are currently waiting to receive official clarification from the AFL. (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/6038/Default.aspx?newsId=42338)"
There is no mention of Eddie in the club's statement and the only mention of Collingwood is to acknowledge that they wore black and white when we entered the AFL and is the reason we added teal and silver.
CarnCrows
1 May 2007, 15:24
As a simple statement I would have the coach and assistants dress up in the 1970 Port Magpie jumper. The coach is always on TV and would have a significant impact when asked by stupid jurno's "Why are you wearing that jumper etc"
Just because Eddie believes he has the power (no pun intended) to say yey or ney to what we wear in Heritage Round doesn't mean he has any say in it. The fact that he believes the decision is his is just another sign of the tool's incredible ego.
And the power of his media skills to give gullible people the impression that he's directly involved with a decision which has absolutely nothing to do with him.
wharfie_1870
1 May 2007, 15:39
And the power of his media skills to give gullible people the impression that he's directly involved with a decision which has absolutely nothing to do with him.Agreed.
He has really put out the challenge to Dimwitriou now though. Dimwitriou's reason for not letting us wear our 1980's guernsey in the 1980's themed Heritage Round last season was the existence of some mystical agreement between the AFL and Collingwood. Eddie's statement has now scotched the fact that such a agreement ever existed.
If Dimwitriou tells us we can not wear our 1970's guernseys because of this same mystical agreement he has egg on his face and looks even more like an arseclown.
If Dimwitriou tells us we can wear our 1970's guernsey in the 1970's themed Heritage Round this season but never again can we wear one of our pre-1997 black and white guernseys then it confirms that he is Eddie's bitch.
Bulldog Banana
2 May 2007, 01:04
Having heard Eddie on the news, I couldnt believe the stuff that was coming out his mouth.
A once a year 'heritage' round is fine, although I reckon Port should be able to wear their traditional guernsey every week, except when away to Collingwood. Collingwood should have to wear some cheesy clash strip when it plays Port in Adelaide.
Port has more tradition than Collingwood and has won more premierships in the old State competitions. In my mind, it is a national competition, not a Victorian one, so Port should have the opportunity to wear their traditional strip.
No wonder everyone hates Collingwood......a superiority complex that has no basis.
catters05
2 May 2007, 08:55
You want to protest?
There are three ways.
1st,
A friday night game where you have all the TV coverage at AAMI stadium......... opportunity missed for 2007 and amazingly no Collingwood game at AAMI?
All supporters wear the prison bars to the ground, with all sorts of banners abusing AFL and Collingwood etc... (Purchase from SANFL club)
The Banner, really rip into AFL. Fans put money together (A collection) so Power can pay the fines that the AFL will give them.
And really put a hatred message across IMO.
2nd,
A Saturday Arvo or Saturday night game at Telstra Dome, try get as many supporters as possible to travel to melbourne and do a protest in front of AFL Headquarters with all the media attention etc....
3rd
Power just design and wear the jumper on the day and cop a fine from AFL. Club does collection from fans to pay the fine, but stands up against AFL and Collingwood. Even if AFL deduct points, just really get stuck into them and embarass the afl.
I would love to see the third done, could you imagine fat eddie and the two evil one's at afl headquarters. :D
All supporters wear the prison bars to the ground, with all sorts of banners abusing AFL and Collingwood etc... (Purchase from SANFL club)
I am not sure why all Port fans don't do this anyway? The teal is a pathetic attempt to appease Collingwood and the AFL so boycott it!!!!!:thumbsu:
Port should be allowed to wear the prison bar jumper in any game except against Collingwood!
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 14:23
..... The teal is a pathetic attempt to appease Collingwood and the AFL so boycott it......No. The club accepted that we would not be able to have black and white as our only colours when we entered the AFL. This is not an issue. We adopted new colours, as we have done before in our long history, and moved on.
We were also one of the first clubs to adopt a clash guernsey. The AFL has since ruled that all cubs with the exception of Colingwood must have a clash guernsey. 15 AFL clubs have now adopted clash guernseys without any whingeing and moaning.
Themed Heritage Rounds are a different matter though. If the AFL decides that a Heritage Round will be themed the 1980's or the 1970's then the only guernsey we can wear in those rounds is the black and white ones we wore during those periods.
No. The club accepted that we would not be able to have black and white as our only colours when we entered the AFL. This is not an issue. We adopted new colours, as we have done before in our long history, and moved on.
We were also one of the first clubs to adopt a clash guernsey. The AFL has since ruled that all cubs with the exception of Colingwood must have a clash guernsey. 15 AFL clubs have now adopted clash guernseys without any whingeing and moaning.
Themed Heritage Rounds are a different matter though. If the AFL decides that a Heritage Round will be themed the 1980's or the 1970's then the only guernsey we can wear in those rounds is the black and white ones we wore during those periods.
Collingwood seem to have a lot going for themselves when it comes to standing over Port Adelaide!!!
The teal jumper is a piece of sh1t designed to appease Collingwood who think that they own the colours (or shades as they are). The prison bar jumper is a fantastic design and symbolizes the club. If i supported Port, there is no way i would go near the teal jumper! Its a constant reminder of Port Adelaide FC bending over for bullyboy Eddie!
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 14:34
...The teal jumper is a piece of sh1t.....That's pretty rich coming from a Hawthorn supporter :p
That's pretty rich coming from a Hawthorn supporter :p
While the Hawks jumper is not the trendiest item going around, it is ours and not what Collingwood told us we could wear:p
Seriously, when the Bears and Eagles came into the comp, Hawthorn had a fair case for clashing gold colours (which both jumpers were at the time)........but we don't have a superiority complex!
Everytime i see the prison bar jumper i look at it with envy! Everytime i see the teal jumper, it reminds me of a team that rolled over for Collingwood!
Two teams with Magpies as their mascot was not possible but to believe that you own colours like Collingwood do is a joke.
Ted Ed Fred
2 May 2007, 14:47
Do Port Adelaide in the SANFL still where the prison bars? If so do they sell the jumpers as merchandise? Every Port fan should where one to the game as protest :thumbsu:
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 14:54
While the Hawks jumper is not the trendiest item going around, it is ours and not what Collingwood told us we could wear:p
Seriously, when the Bears and Eagles came into the comp, Hawthorn had a fair case for clashing gold colours (which both jumpers were at the time)........Sydney don't whinge about Freemantle wearing red and white for Heritage Round either. It is only Collingwood that have an issue with another club wearing the same colours for one game a year. What makes it even more ludicrous is that the prison bar guernsey looks nothing like Collingwoods.
Everytime i see the prison bar jumper i look at it with envy! Everytime i see the teal jumper, it reminds me of a team that rolled over for Collingwood!No we didn't "roll over to Collingwood". It was a condition of the AFL license that any club from the SANFL entering the AFL would have to have different colours. If Norwood had won the license they would have to change their colours so as not to clash with Melbourne. That is not "rolling over".
Two teams with Magpies as their mascot was not possible but to believe that you own colours like Collingwood do is a joke.As I've posted before we are not that precious about our colours. We have changed our colours and moved on. We are moving forward not living in the past like Collingwood.
Do Port Adelaide in the SANFL still where the prison bars? If so do they sell the jumpers as merchandise? Every Port fan should where one to the game as protest :thumbsu:
yes they do sell the lace up prison bar guernsey worn in the SANFL
http://www.portmagpies.com.au/merchandise.php?merch_id=19
theres no picture on it but its $70 and you can download an order form, or just get one from the club
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 14:57
Do Port Adelaide in the SANFL still where the prison bars? If so do they sell the jumpers as merchandise? Every Port fan should where one to the game as protest :thumbsu:Port Adelaide don't play in the SANFL any more ;).
The Port Adelaide Magpies FC (http://www.portmagpies.com.au/) (PAMFC) wear the old PAFC guernsey so they are readily available.
Seriously, when the Bears and Eagles came into the comp, Hawthorn had a fair case for clashing gold colours (which both jumpers were at the time)........but we don't have a superiority complex!
Everytime i see the prison bar jumper i look at it with envy! Everytime i see the teal jumper, it reminds me of a team that rolled over for Collingwood!
Two teams with Magpies as their mascot was not possible but to believe that you own colours like Collingwood do is a joke.
I'm with you on this. Sure, when they first entered, they bite their tongues. Don't agree, but oh well. We're here. And winning. Still, I think it should be on the priority list at some stage, maybe more bargaining power first, to push hard for prison-bar fulltime, take Afl/cwood to court if need be, or, maybe just wear black-silver prison-bar. So close to white but realistically cant be challenged.
But yeah, I dont entirely agree with the PAFC's push for teal and marketing. We are who we are and should emphasize that AS a marketing strategy. People love heritage and history far more than pretty colors. Young kids do especially when it comes to choosing a team to support.
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 16:47
..... take Afl/cwood to court if need be ....On what basis?
It was a condition of the second SA based AFL license that the successful tenderer use colours that were not the same as any existing AFL club. We accepted that condition and won the license.
I am all for promoting our heritage (take a look at my user name) and am proud of our heritage but this idea that we must go back to wearing our old SANFL jumper full time makes no sense to me. We won our first AFL flag in black, white and teal.
Our colours have changed, accept it and move on or risk becoming backward looking like Collingwood.
I'm with you on this. Sure, when they first entered, they bite their tongues. Don't agree, but oh well. We're here. And winning. Still, I think it should be on the priority list at some stage, maybe more bargaining power first, to push hard for prison-bar fulltime, take Afl/cwood to court if need be, or, maybe just wear black-silver prison-bar. So close to white but realistically cant be challenged.
But yeah, I dont entirely agree with the PAFC's push for teal and marketing. We are who we are and should emphasize that AS a marketing strategy. People love heritage and history far more than pretty colors. Young kids do especially when it comes to choosing a team to support.
Well said g.g.!!!!:thumbsu: Do whatever it takes, bite your tongue etc to enter the AFL but stick up for your rights now you are in! Don't let Collingwood dictate what Port can and can't wear and then when and where it can be worn FFS!
On what basis?
It was a condition of the second SA based AFL license that the successful tenderer use colours that were not the same as any existing AFL club. We accepted that condition and won the license.
I am all for promoting our heritage (take a look at my user name) and am proud of our heritage but this idea that we must go back to wearing our old SANFL jumper full time makes no sense to me. We won our first AFL flag in black, white and teal.
Our colours have changed, accept it and move on or risk becoming backward looking like Collingwood.
I think you quite like the colour Teal don't you wharfie_1870;)
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 17:01
..... Do whatever it takes, bite your tongue etc to enter the AFL but stick up for your rights now you are in .......You can't sign away your "rights" and then expect to have them reinstated unilaterally because you've changed your mind. That is the type of unprofessional behaviour we'd expect from Collingwood :p
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 17:05
I think you quite like the colour Teal don't you wharfie_1870;)I didn't like it at first but I've got used to it. I wore a black, white and teal guernsey to the 2004 GF and our boys wore black, white and teal guernseys in that game so now I'm rather attached to the colour :o
On what basis?
On what basis? Cohersive black-mailing forces to 'sign' a guilty statement. But seriously. Colors cant be legislated against. The AFL knows it too.
But probably most reasonably....the AFL needs us. A second SA team. We're not as big as Crows, but we're up there. Once we get more bargaining power, another license, stipulations to return to prison-bar.
Don't agree with the notion of "backward looking"....the everyday life of a Port supporter is in reflecting on the pride in our history of success etc. Not dwelling on it. But it's part of the fabric of us moving forward - the reason WHY we win flags. Lessons of the past. Can't scream blue murder ramming it down everyone's throats on BF how we won 34 sanfl flags etc etc and then turn the cheek and say "lets not be backward looking".
Prison-bar, black-white, fos creed, est 1870, close ties to past - all these things SHOULD be the key marketing tactics of the PAFC in the AFL. That's what sells! Not teal and downplaying history. I know because newcomers to NFL for instance, kids especially, they always gravitate towards the most historical and storied teams....wowing as they read about characters from the 1930's, wowing seeing grainy black-white pictures of players etc. They wow at stuff like that. But you give kids fickle things like toy-like colors such as teal and they'll be like "cool colors" then tomorrow meh it off.
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 17:42
On what basis? Cohersive black-mailing forces to 'sign' a guilty statement. But seriously. Colors cant be legislated against....I'm glad you put the "but seriously" in there. :eek:
The colours aren't "legislated against". The AFL license is a contract. We agreed to the terms of the license. End of story.
Given the choice of staying in the SANFL and seeing a club like Norwood enter the AFL or adding a third colour to our black and white I was very happy with the adding of an extra colour, or two.
I'm glad you put the "but seriously" in there. :eek:
The colours aren't "legislated against". The AFL license is a contract. We agreed to the terms of the license. End of story.
Given the choice of staying in the SANFL and seeing a club like Norwood enter the AFL or adding a third colour to our black and white I was very happy with the adding of an extra colour, or two.
The issue can still be taken to court. Don't ask me exactly on what grounds because I'd have to see the contracts. But I'm confident that loopholes and other extenuating circumstances exist that are challengable. Winning, that's another matter.
As for licenses, always more bargaining power later.
I honestly have zero attachment to the teal and SBS. It's Port and I love 'em, but it's just not ideal. it's a compromize. Taking one for the team. We grow extra arms and legs when wearing prison-bars. Never forget that day against Carlton how it made us supermen. That's what it does. Sure, it's not about the colors etc etc, but it's not really true. So much history and blood etc was forged over 9 decades in prison-bar. It has far more mythical power than SBS-teal ever will. To abandon it is the ultimate shame. That guernsey is the coolest design ever.
The issue can still be taken to court. Don't ask me exactly on what grounds because I'd have to see the contracts. But I'm confident that loopholes and other extenuating circumstances exist that are challengable.
Yeah good luck going up against Eddie and Packer's lawyers
Clubs don't usually win against the leagues. There have been many tho. Paupers even like Western Suburbs Magpies RL team contesting the league booting them out. Or Souths getting back in. Or other US ones. But generally clubs lose. However, even players win, like Greg Williams or Andrew Dunkley contesting the AFL and tribunal.
It wouldn't be Port vs Cwood/Packer anyway. Got nothing to do with Cwood in a legal battle. Them probably just providing statements about the failed 1990 entry. It would be AFL v Port. You never know tho what concessions the AFL would make because Port are needed, and if we have more bargaining power, it would be in the best interests of the AFL to find a new compromize given the situation of one of its clubs potentially losing millions in court which the AFL would not want.
wharfie_1870
2 May 2007, 18:24
Yeah good luck going up against Eddie and Packer's lawyersI know as a Collingwood supporter this is going to shock you but the AFL license agreements are between each AFL club and the AFL. Collingwood are no more an interested party in the PAFC AFL License Agreement than we are in Collingwood's.
I know as a Collingwood supporter this is going to shock you but the AFL license agreements are between each AFL club and the AFL. Collingwood are no more an interested party in the PAFC AFL License Agreement than we are in Collingwood's.
Very funny opening line.
Might add you never know what lengths nosey bullying presidents might get up to regarding other clubs' licenses. Wouldn't put it past the big guy. Just because he THINKS he can he'd try.
portentous
2 May 2007, 20:33
Rooch is doing it on our behalf. Onya Rooch. Keep it up.
I honestly have zero attachment to the teal and SBS. It's Port and I love 'em, but it's just not ideal. it's a compromize. Taking one for the team. We grow extra arms and legs when wearing prison-bars. Never forget that day against Carlton how it made us supermen. That's what it does. Sure, it's not about the colors etc etc, but it's not really true. So much history and blood etc was forged over 9 decades in prison-bar. It has far more mythical power than SBS-teal ever will. To abandon it is the ultimate shame. That guernsey is the coolest design ever.
:thumbsu: And that is what it is all about!!!!! Any Teal lovers out there can't be real supporters IMHO!