View Full Version : laycock the lumbering dinosaur
Strike Swiftly
25 Apr 2007, 18:45
how slow is laycock. he is a disaster in the ruck. he would have to come close to whitnall as the slowest and most unfit bloke in the league. he has lost any potential that he had. :(
eastaugh36
25 Apr 2007, 18:51
I reckon he is extremely valuable up forward. I like him up forward moreso than Johns. If it wasn't for Hille being out we wouldn't be bagging him and could have been complimenting him after kicking a few up forward in a win. We all know that Hille dominates Fraser.
warney7
25 Apr 2007, 18:54
There's enough players who I'm hating right now.
I'm not taking Laycock's head off just yet!
wazzabp
25 Apr 2007, 18:59
I would have given Houli a game before Johns, as I reckon a running player would have had more effect than a player who's lucky to have taken 5 marks in a good game.
I would of agreed with you prior to the start of the season but i've been impressed with Laycock this year. He had a shocker today but for a big fella to come off a 4 day break and be asked to carry the majority of the ruckwork it looked grim from the start. Fraser is regarded as one of the fittest rucks in the league and even he was far from influential today given his inablity to fully recover!
Wahooti Fandango
25 Apr 2007, 19:07
He was not that good today, but should be left in the side for a couple of weeks to get some match fitness. I think he will get better.
Strike Swiftly
25 Apr 2007, 19:07
I would of agreed with you prior to the start of the season but i've been impressed with Laycock this year. He had a shocker today but for a big fella to come off a 4 day break and be asked to carry the majority of the ruckwork it looked grim from the start. Fraser is regarded as one of the fittest rucks in the league and even he was far from influential today given his inablity to fully recover!
I hear ya but show me evidence that backs up your claims. i have seen every game, and the only time he has shown something was standing in the goal square. we have enough decent forwards as it is. he was recruited for the ruck, he cannot play there in his current physical state.
also what was sheeds thinking putting lucas down back. ridiculous.
He has had too many injuries for him to have any sort of fitness base over the last 3 years. Just needs to get through this year relatively injury free get and get a few games. Way too early to be giving up on him yet.
also what was sheeds thinking putting lucas down back. ridiculous.
Don't even get me started on Sheeds, he stuffed up at the selection table and his gameplan today was woeful!
Ok who should have played then. There was only one other possible selection choice and that was Houli in for someone.
Hislop,JJ,Campo and Lonergan couldnt be left out of sundays game for today as they where short of match fitness.
Winderlich,NLM,Welsh and Dempsey injured.
Gumbleton isnt physically developed enough to have played back up ruck.
Not many more options left for todays game. Next week is a different story.
kelvin_sheedy
25 Apr 2007, 19:13
Need to give him more time to build up the motor to play a full game.
What i'm worried about was his tap work in the middle.
Sheedy went with a tall lineup at the selection table which was totally out of left field given we were tall enough without either bolton or bradley, Houli should of definitely been picked ahead of either and I would of rathered give lonergan a hitout as well. Collingwood didnt replace Buckley with Richards so why would we anticipate doing it?
To top this off despite us playing our best footy with running players to man their smaller running defenders we went with a 4 tall forward line and a lone crumber half the game. Shaw was given no respect at all. He was left to cut-off our forward thrusts all day instead of being sent a man to stand him and make him play accountable. Lucas spent about 1/4 in his best position and spent the rest of the day way up the ground. Monfries was underused and the decision to move Ryder to ruck came way to late!
Although I wouldnt call Laycock a dinosaur, I just dont rate him. The hype around him is all wishful thinking as far as Im concerned.
kelvin_sheedy
25 Apr 2007, 19:52
Sheedy went with a tall lineup at the selection table which was totally out of left field given we were tall enough without either bolton or bradley, Houli should of definitely been picked ahead of either and I would of rathered give lonergan a hitout as well. Collingwood didnt replace Buckley with Richards so why would we anticipate doing it?
To top this off despite us playing our best footy with running players to man their smaller running defenders we went with a 4 tall forward line and a lone crumber half the game. Shaw was given no respect at all. He was left to cut-off our forward thrusts all day instead of being sent a man to stand him and make him play accountable. Lucas spent about 1/4 in his best position and spent the rest of the day way up the ground. Monfries was underused and the decision to move Ryder to ruck came way to late!
My thoughts exactly. :thumbsu:
Tony Delaney
25 Apr 2007, 23:47
I reckon he is extremely valuable up forward. I like him up forward moreso than Johns. If it wasn't for Hille being out we wouldn't be bagging him and could have been complimenting him after kicking a few up forward in a win. We all know that Hille dominates Fraser.
You would be a fan with your name Eastaugh.
Love the heading of the thread. He is slow and gives nothing wherever he is. Killed in the ruck, too casual when shooting for goal. Looks like he believed the raps Sheedy gave him early on. If he wasn't tall he would be in the VFL.
Johns was ok. He kicked 2 goals at important stages and led and attacked the ball hard.
Astute Observer
26 Apr 2007, 14:11
Agree with all of your points - although unfortunately Bolton and Bradley were named in lieu of the smaller Houli as the selectors/fitness group expected both Fletch and M.L not to come up for the game....
kelvin_sheedy
26 Apr 2007, 18:56
I think he should spend a few weeks in the VFL to get his body and motor up.
It's quite obvious he doesn't have the engine yet. I think we will get more value from him that way instead of him doing cameos in the forward line. I think Johns can be the 3rd tall for the next few games.
We should ruck with Hille for %80 and give Ryder the other 20. Ryder was fantastic in the ruck yesterday and Hille seems to play when when he has more time on ball.
That will allow us to bring in one more running player in NLM or Welsh back or blood a young mid.
Mcphee can take the bigger body when Hille is resting and Ryder in the ruck.
Laycock spent more time in the ruck then ryder, yet the stats read
Laycock - 7 hitouts, 1 to advatage
Ryder - 10 hitouts, 5 to advatage,
Ryder is 18, and a 2nd year player, and yet he did a far better job then laycock.
So far i am very unimpressed with laycock, whats worse is a lot of the time he was rucking against a 1st gamer in bryant.
Laycock spent more time in the ruck then ryder, yet the stats read
Laycock - 7 hitouts, 1 to advatage
Ryder - 10 hitouts, 5 to advatage,
Ryder is 18, and a 2nd year player, and yet he did a far better job then laycock.
So far i am very unimpressed with laycock, whats worse is a lot of the time he was rucking against a 1st gamer in bryant.
Bryan is not a first gamer.
He was just playing his first game for Collingwood
Speaking of Bryan I was actually rather impressed with his game yesterday whilst holding Collingwoods #1 ruck spot. Had a Magpie fan who was furious he was playing yet i would of had him in their top 5 players for yesterdays game.
wazzabp
26 Apr 2007, 19:59
This is definately a make or break year for Laycock, he really needs to dominate some games not only for Essendon to lift, but to give himself some confidence. Hes been around and injuries have plagued him, but he needs to lift his work rate.
stander
26 Apr 2007, 20:18
This is definately a make or break year for Laycock, he really needs to dominate some games not only for Essendon to lift, but to give himself some confidence. Hes been around and injuries have plagued him, but he needs to lift his work rate.
Well, there is another two years of lumbering ahead of the Dons, going by his latest contract.
donsman4eva
26 Apr 2007, 20:26
He should not be in the ruck, but Ryder is not ready either. He should be a forward, but unfortunately (or fortunately, depends how you see it) Lloyd, Lucas and CJ are all ahead of him. There will be no spot for him next year if Ryder becomes fit and big enough to ruck for 40% of the game. But be prepared to put up with him for the rest of the year, unless McKinnon is elevated, which is HIGHLY unlikely.
Astute Observer
26 Apr 2007, 20:33
He should not be in the ruck, but Ryder is not ready either. He should be a forward, but unfortunately (or fortunately, depends how you see it) Lloyd, Lucas and CJ are all ahead of him. There will be no spot for him next year if Ryder becomes fit and big enough to ruck for 40% of the game. But be prepared to put up with him for the rest of the year, unless McKinnon is elevated, which is HIGHLY unlikely.
Dont underestimate Mc Kinnon - at 206cm he has been set as a "project task" for John Quinn and the high performance group. I doubt they'd waste resources on developing the kid and giving him a shoulder op in his first season if they didnt think he could step up. He was rated as one of the best tap ruckmen of his age seen in the VFL. Nowhere near it yet, but Salmon was also a Barry Crocker in the reserves....!!!
eastaugh36
26 Apr 2007, 20:54
You would be a fan with your name Eastaugh.
Love the heading of the thread. He is slow and gives nothing wherever he is. Killed in the ruck, too casual when shooting for goal. Looks like he believed the raps Sheedy gave him early on. If he wasn't tall he would be in the VFL.
Johns was ok. He kicked 2 goals at important stages and led and attacked the ball hard.
Gee, you shouldn't be one to talk. My namesake was at least of some value to our club at one stage. As for yours....... :D
donsman4eva
26 Apr 2007, 20:54
If you were at the VFL on Sunday, you would have noticed he handballed it straight to the man on the mark. Hardly half time little league quality, let alone AFL. I think he will make it, but not this year. And yes, he is a VERY good tap ruckman. His skills are woeful though. Would make a good basketballer.
Im going to pull you up here. His skills are not woefull . Poor skils do not make yo hanball to the opposition. Poor decision making and inexperience does. His skills are good for a big bloke but he is prone to a couple of brain fades at the moment.
Although I wouldnt call Laycock a dinosaur, I just dont rate him. The hype around him is all wishful thinking as far as Im concerned.
Hamish McIntosh, same draft as Laycock, looked a major spud...currently one of the in form ruckman in the league. Lets not give up on the big Chook just yet.
donsman4eva
27 Apr 2007, 16:01
Im going to pull you up here. His skills are not woefull . Poor skils do not make yo hanball to the opposition. Poor decision making and inexperience does. His skills are good for a big bloke but he is prone to a couple of brain fades at the moment.
Same goes with Bradley too, and I dont want him in the team either!
Well who said anything about him being in the side. Just out of interest is it just the one game you have seen McKinnon play?
donsman4eva
27 Apr 2007, 17:18
Ive been to 2 VFL games this year and he hasnt impressed me so far in either of them. Obviously you get to see a fair bit more of him than I do, so you're a better judge. But all I'm saying is from what i've seen, he is a good ruckman with very limited around the ground skills. Would love to be proved wrong though. I seriously think IF he can improve his skills, him and Ryder will be a fantastic ruck combination. That is a big IF though.
BurnleyBomber
27 Apr 2007, 18:37
Laycock isn't as bad as what everyone makes him out to be. He's had chronic leg injuries and he's put on muscle since last season so he's probably a little top heavy. His confidence is really low at the moment, so everyone just needs to wait for one good game from him. It won't be too far away.
Soon enough he'll be taking contested pack marks and everyone will be singing his praises.
In regards to his engine, well his engine is actually pretty good. He can run all day. His speed is an obvious problem but that can't be changed.
Strike Swiftly
27 Apr 2007, 20:37
Laycock isn't as bad as what everyone makes him out to be. He's had chronic leg injuries and he's put on muscle since last season so he's probably a little top heavy. His confidence is really low at the moment, so everyone just needs to wait for one good game from him. It won't be too far away.
Soon enough he'll be taking contested pack marks and everyone will be singing his praises.
In regards to his engine, well his engine is actually pretty good. He can run all day. His speed is an obvious problem but that can't be changed.
Have you watched any games this year? Laycock cannot run 100 metres without pulling up and putting his hands on his hips. He has no motor. I would hate to have to put money on him in a footrace against Lance Whitnall, sprint or distance. Both are extremely unfit.
Ive been to 2 VFL games this year and he hasnt impressed me so far in either of them. Obviously you get to see a fair bit more of him than I do, so you're a better judge. But all I'm saying is from what i've seen, he is a good ruckman with very limited around the ground skills. Would love to be proved wrong though. I seriously think IF he can improve his skills, him and Ryder will be a fantastic ruck combination. That is a big IF though.
You keep saying his skills are bad but is it poor skill you are trying to describe or poor decision making ? The guy can kick and mark ok , he has just made some poor choices a few times during games. Has been playing with an ankle problem which hasnt helped his cause either.
donsman4eva
27 Apr 2007, 22:18
Maybe that is what is happening, but it makes his skills look bad. Even if he kicks the most perfect drop punt to the opposition, it is still a turnover.
Strike Swiftly
5 May 2007, 17:47
still shyte. slowcock really needs to improve. no excuses.
I believe he hasn't got it. Ask Paddy.
I call him Lazycock these days.
kelvin_sheedy
5 May 2007, 18:27
First time he has got his body right so needs games ................. AT VFL LEVEL!
Strike Swiftly
5 May 2007, 18:29
maybe we dont see his work coz he is too fast. the flash
Strike Swiftly
5 May 2007, 18:29
who would win in a race between him and harry madden? even harry madden the MP?