View Full Version : Are The Kangers a danger game
Running hot, two in a row, one in QLD.
They fell off late today but still held on and should come out of it fitter and better for the expearance.
As our injury list grows I think this game could be a battle.
TheMase
29 Apr 2007, 19:50
Being a Sydney support I feel every game is a danger game.
Been through too many times where the team does not 'show up' to take any game for granted.
SouthSwans
29 Apr 2007, 21:10
Being a Sydney support I feel every game is a danger game.
Been through too many times where the team does not 'show up' to take any game for granted.
yeah seems to be exclusively a Sydney thing, has been going on since about 1996 when I started supporting them....
sammy_18
29 Apr 2007, 21:50
should be a very good game
TheMase
29 Apr 2007, 21:57
yeah seems to be exclusively a Sydney thing, has been going on since about 1996 when I started supporting them....
We are obviously are lot more consistent these days, but the thoughts are still in the back of your mind. I think it has taken a while to develop a winning culture around the club since relocating to Sydney and in particular the early 90s.
Am really looking forward to this game, should be a cracker, Jesse Smiths return game by the looks of it too :thumbsu:
McIntosh vs Jolly/Everitt is going to be unreal.
Sticks Mckonky
29 Apr 2007, 22:31
I think P Roos and Laidley will employ the double flood and the roos will win in a low scorer
7 goals to 6
Benevolent Ert
29 Apr 2007, 22:35
7 goals to 6 is a low scorer?
When you follow Sydney, that's a shootout!
Am really looking forward to this game, should be a cracker, Jesse Smiths return game by the looks of it too :thumbsu:
McIntosh vs Jolly/Everitt is going to be unreal.
I'm pretty excited to see McIntosh myself. Haven't exactly seen every Kangas game this year. But very impressed with what I've seen of him so far.
Syd vs Roos games have a habit of being nailbiters regardless of where we are on the ladder.
7 goals to 6 is a low scorer?
When you follow Sydney, that's a shootout!
Hang on! But we scored a hundred points on Sat night. Eveeeeeeentually. :D
'Danger game' suggests it is one we should win but won't if we're off our guard.
I think that description is a bit presumptious - it is a real 50/50 game on form and location.
I think the Swans have improved just a tad each week so far but they'll need to lift another level again next week if they're a chance of beating the Roos -who looked very impressive today.
SWANNIES RULE
29 Apr 2007, 23:45
Every game is a danger game.
RoyalBlue
30 Apr 2007, 00:15
Not trolling guys and gals, but I'm pretty sure neither Brissy or Geelong took us as a danger game, and we handled both well.
Should be a good game, and great to be able to see Sydney play us down here for once.
I think the match will come down to what most Roos/Swans matches have come down to in the P.Roos/Laidley era and that will be who manages not to drop off the pace the quickest will win. Bar one blow out, the matches have always been close. In early 2005 the Swans got a nice buffer on us and then went to sleep and we ran over them. Last year the same happened in reverse. Not sure what to make of the location factor, we haven't played the Swans in Melbourne since 1998, but I'm confident of a win. Not saying I think we will win, but from what I've seen so far I'm quite satisfied with our hardness and allround pace around the clearances and in setting up scoring opportunities, and our ball use yesterday against the Cats was pretty good. TBH we're a bit unlucky not to be 4-1, but having said that the Swans have been ultra impressive the last few rounds and we'll have to improve even again on last week if we're to be any chance of knocking them off. That I do know.
Mickdog
30 Apr 2007, 10:21
Sydney Swans over the Gold Coast Kangaroos by 5 goals
Not trolling guys and gals, but I'm pretty sure neither Brissy or Geelong took us as a danger game, and we handled both well.
Should be a good game, and great to be able to see Sydney play us down here for once.
Don't worry about posting RoyalBlue, our board is usually a pretty safe place to talk about upcoming games. And yes, it is a danger game in the sense that it would be dangerous to discount the committment thatthe Roos have shown over the last fortnight.
And yes it's been a while since we played you guys in Victoria. Last time we met in Melbourne was in 1998!!! Should give our Southern Members something different to look at for once. Saved me a 3 hour drive down the road this year, anyway. :p
Will be a good test for our boys (and am quietly confident of a win).
New & improved game plan (direct and more collision footy - & none of this chip/pass sideways crap from last year).
Have some real pace about us this year and the kids have been very good.
Plus multiple avenues to goal will make us harder than previous years for Sydney to shut us down.
Only West Coast have won more quarters of footy than us this year. Ditto, with West Coast being the only club to shade us with 'time in front' during the season.
The 2:3 record isn't a very accurate indicator on how we've been going this year (apart from a shocking second half vs Hawthorn)
I reckon swannies/roos games are always tough, no matter how good/bad either team is playing or located on the ladder. I still have nightmares about that game in 05. I was paying out on this lone roo's supporter for most of the game and my god, did he give it back to me in spades when the hooter went. Then to get home and find out what had happened to poor Wally on the side was shocking. It was my worst footy nightmare until the 06 GF. (I wasn't a fan in 96)
grimlock
30 Apr 2007, 16:10
Some battles I'm looking forward to:
Crouch v Harvey
Kirk v Simpson
BBBBH v The Anvil
Micky O v Gibson
ROK v Green
Barry v Edwards
Carnthe
30 Apr 2007, 16:12
Some battles I'm looking forward to:
Crouch v Harvey
Kirk v Simpson
BBBBH v The Anvil
Micky O v Gibson
ROK v Green
Barry v Edwards
i think the days of the anvil playing in the backline are over. its probably more likely that it will be petrie or firrito playing on hall, with brown up forward for us. it should be a good contest though with plenty of good one on one battles.
I reckon swannies/roos games are always tough, no matter how good/bad either team is playing or located on the ladder. I still have nightmares about that game in 05. I was paying out on this lone roo's supporter for most of the game and my god, did he give it back to me in spades when the hooter went. Then to get home and find out what had happened to poor Wally on the side was shocking. It was my worst footy nightmare until the 06 GF. (I wasn't a fan in 96)
The game you're thinking of was actually the game in 2004 at the SCG. I was referring to the one at Manuka in round 2, 2005.
music_2000
30 Apr 2007, 18:09
I think we can get the job done without Tadhg Kenelly
smasher
30 Apr 2007, 18:10
I watched the Kangaroos on TV against Geelong and I think we will have to be playing really good footy to beat them.They have some good players right across the board and from what I saw yesterday they are tough,good in the air and they have a few very quick players.Harvey was very fast and elusive and I don't know that Crouch's form so far is good enough for him .Should be a good match.The ruck duels should be good and if our forwards do as well as on Saturday night we should kick enough goals to beat them.Midfield battle will be tough and our backs will have to be on their best without Tadgh.
grimlock
30 Apr 2007, 18:25
i think the days of the anvil playing in the backline are over. its probably more likely that it will be petrie or firrito playing on hall, with brown up forward for us. it should be a good contest though with plenty of good one on one battles.
Will Hale be back, cos Petrie playing against Hall and doing the backup ruck duties is a big ask!!
Firrito would be severely undersized.
I watched the Kangaroos on TV against Geelong and I think we will have to be playing really good footy to beat them.They have some good players right across the board and from what I saw yesterday they are tough,good in the air and they have a few very quick players.Harvey was very fast and elusive and I don't know that Crouch's form so far is good enough for him .Should be a good match.The ruck duels should be good and if our forwards do as well as on Saturday night we should kick enough goals to beat them.Midfield battle will be tough and our backs will have to be on their best without Tadgh.
It really depends on the return they get from their talls. The kangas have relied on Campbell, McIntosh and Petrie having stints up forward. None of them are particularly quick. And we're pretty good at rebounding from tallish forwards. Not sure if the Kangas will be able to spare Firrito or Petrie much with Hall, Mol and possibly Goodes to contend with. McIntosh has bobbed up for them in the forward line and really provided some spark, but I feel he'll have a much harder task breaking free against our ruckmen. Should be interesting.
I think Crouch on Harvey will be great to watch. Crouch is actually playing a pretty good defensive game at the moment, it's just that his disposal when he breaks free is a little rusty - something I won't expect to change much for at least a couple more rounds.
Tadhg will be missed. But I think Mal will fill the breech for us there. And luckily Schmidt and Moore seem to be playing their roles well, so the depth issue won't come into play.
Will be won and lost in the midfield.
We have you covered for pace, but your footskills are better than ours.
Our goals will come from our smalls and mediums. Yesterday 12 goal kickers & 14 of our 18 goals came from general play (as on the run). That's pretty much been the pattern in 2007 for us.
Goodes has always hurt us. Fingers crossed his 1 week ban sticks. That will make our job a whole lot easier, as he's a bastard to match up on.
Will be won and lost in the midfield.
We have you covered for pace, but your footskills are better than ours.
Our goals will come from our smalls and mediums. Yesterday 12 goal kickers & 14 of our 18 goals came from general play (as on the run). That's pretty much been the pattern in 2007 for us.
Goodes has always hurt us. Fingers crossed his 1 week ban sticks. That will make our job a whole lot easier, as he's a bastard to match up on.
It'll be interesting to see what happens with Goodes's at the tribunal. It was a silly bit of play, but not even the match review panel would argue that it was reckless or dangerous, and he didn't even make contact in an area likely to cause even the slightest injury. You see harder bumps before ever bounce, but the fact that Godfrey wasn't looking made it look worse than it was. If he goes, he could use the break anyway, so I won't be too fussed.
Running goals are hard against the Swans, which is why I thought it was essential that the Kangas take some quality marks inside the forward 50 to have a chance. I certainly wouldn't want to be relying on too many goals from general play as you say. We don't usually give players too much room to move. But it's good to see Welles finding some form. He's great to watch when he's up and about.
RoyalBlue
30 Apr 2007, 21:50
Sydney Swans over the Gold Coast Kangaroos by 5 goals
Yeah fab.
Benevolent Ert
30 Apr 2007, 21:55
Will Hale be back, cos Petrie playing against Hall and doing the backup ruck duties is a big ask!!
Firrito would be severely undersized.
I'd expect Watt to get first crack at Hall, and if that doesn't work, Leigh Brown might be pulled back from the forward line as plan B
Firrito is more likely to get someone like O'Keefe
I'd expect Watt to get first crack at Hall, and if that doesn't work, Leigh Brown might be pulled back from the forward line as plan B
Firrito is more likely to get someone like O'Keefe
You don't watch North much do you? :eek: :p
Petrie will more than likely get Hall. Petrie has made the defence his own this year and is yet to have a goal kicked on him. Has gone forward of late but will go back to play on Hall. Green will probably get O'Keefe with maybe a chop out from Watt occasionally with Firrito to take O'Loughlin. That would probably be the jist of our taller defensive match ups.
grimlock
30 Apr 2007, 22:47
Watt will be one of the last to get Hall.
No one's answered my Hale/Petrie backup ruckman question. Perhaps The Anvil could get a go there as well?
'Danger game' suggests it is one we should win but won't if we're off our guard.
I think that description is a bit presumptious - it is a real 50/50 game on form and location.
I think the Swans have improved just a tad each week so far but they'll need to lift another level again next week if they're a chance of beating the Roos -who looked very impressive today.
slightly diffrent definiation of Danger game for me, means one I think we should win but the team lower on the ladder has some armoury to beat us, and being off guard comes in to it, but I never considerd Melbourne A Danger game, obviously I consider the roos to be so
In fact I had a look over at their board and they said stop our forward line and they will smash us, there getting very cocky.
War Nerve
30 Apr 2007, 23:11
lol amazing what a couple of weeks can do for opposition supporters, they beat lions and cats and all of a sudden they have a great team.
Sad really.:D
Cheer Red Blood
30 Apr 2007, 23:34
lol amazing what a couple of weeks can do for opposition supporters, they beat lions and cats and all of a sudden they have a great team.
Sad really.:D
We've only beaten the Lions, Dees and Tigers.
North are playing well currently, and it's the sort of game Sydney have dropped before.
War Nerve
1 May 2007, 17:31
We've only beaten the Lions, Dees and Tigers.
North are playing well currently, and it's the sort of game Sydney have dropped before.
The difference is we've played in the last 2 gf's and proven contenders, where they have basically done nothing to warrant such hype i mean have you been to the kangas board lately?
You'd think they just won the flag the way their carrying on!
CarnaKangas
1 May 2007, 20:18
You have been in the last 2 gf's thats why you are the favourites to win on saturday night. but in my opinion it is a danger game because hey you are the playing the best team in the afl.
maybe not the best, but i think it will be a great game, the roos always seem to lift when they are playing the swans, last year was a close one, and ill never forget that come back a couple years ago at the scg in glenn archers 250th.
The difference is we've played in the last 2 gf's and proven contenders, where they have basically done nothing to warrant such hype i mean have you been to the kangas board lately?
You'd think they just won the flag the way their carrying on!
We've been playing better footy than most sides. Won more quarters this season than anyone, bar West Coast. Leading 72% of the time this season. If Shannon Grant hadn't hit the post we'd be well and truly in the 8. Also should've beaten Port Adelaide (except for a 10 minute brain fade where we sprayed everything in front of the goals)
Haven't beaten much though. And neither have you. This week will give a reasonable indication of where our respective teams are.
theduckfan
2 May 2007, 15:54
Should be a goog game.
Best of Luck to Sydney, May the best team(kangaroos) win
Contra Mundum
2 May 2007, 16:12
I think P Roos and Laidley will employ the double flood and the roos will win in a low scorer
7 goals to 6
Please don't wish that on either set of supporters. If I wanted that I would go and watch the bum sniffers!
We've been playing better footy than most sides. Won more quarters this season than anyone, bar West Coast. Leading 72% of the time this season. If Shannon Grant hadn't hit the post we'd be well and truly in the 8. Also should've beaten Port Adelaide (except for a 10 minute brain fade where we sprayed everything in front of the goals)
Haven't beaten much though. And neither have you. This week will give a reasonable indication of where our respective teams are.
Agree. This will either be a great boost for the Kangas or a reality check for the Swans. Not sure a loss to Sydney would reflect too poorly on the Kangas, but a loss by Sydney might bring out a few snipers.
I think we've only won 11 of 20 qtrs played so far, pretty standard start to our year. But we've rarely been more than a handful of goals down in any game we've played so far, and never really been out of any of them.
Interesting to see if the Kangas can maintain the intensity they've discovered of late and produce it for a full game against Sydney. Their tackling has been pretty much the catalyst for the last 2 wins, but they'll need to repeat that or even improve on it against the Swans.
The kangas have relied on Campbell, McIntosh and Petrie having stints up forward. None of them are particularly quick.
Campbell would be one of the quickest if not the quickest player in the AFL.:rolleyes:
Roos by 5 goals
Campbell would be one of the quickest if not the quickest player in the AFL.:rolleyes:
Roos by 5 goals
Good point. I actually meant Brown, not Campbell - hence "stints up forward". Best guess for the error would be that in my mind I must have been thinking of Campbell Brown, thus confusing Leigh Brown, with Matt Campbell. A disturbing thought. Oh well. :o
But if the Roos win by 5 goals I'll do a nudie run around my block. ;)
I think we've only won 11 of 20 qtrs played so far, pretty standard start to our year. But we've rarely been more than a handful of goals down in any game we've played so far, and never really been out of any of them.
I am not too sure that the "quarters" won stat is particularly useful unless you look behind it a little.
The Swans - when they are going well - typically lose (or win) two or three quarters by very small margins but do most of their damage in one or two quarters. So a comfortable win can easily come out as a 50% or even 25% measure in terms of winning quarters.
I reckon that any quarter won by less than a goal - arguably less than a couple of goals - is effectively a break-even in terms of analysing teams' pattern of dominance within games.
Contra Mundum
2 May 2007, 17:19
I am not too sure that the "quarters" won stat is particularly useful unless you look behind it a little.
The Swans - when they are going well - typically lose (or win) two or three quarters by very small margins but do most of their damage in one or two quarters. So a comfortable win can easily come out as a 50% or even 25% measure in terms of winning quarters.
I reckon that any quarter won by less than a goal - arguably less than a couple of goals - is effectively a break-even in terms of analysing teams' pattern of dominance within games.
Agreed but all our games this year have been pretty close so we are looking forward to this one. Should be a great game
Couldn't agree more. But I guess that was kinda my point. I'm not going to slam a guy for being happy that his side has won "more quarters than almost anyone". It's definitely something to build on. But I thought I did point out in a polite way that just because we'd only won 11 of 20 that didn't necessarily mean much.
Personally I don't think the quarters won stat has much meaning at all. Over time it can sometimes reveal fitness problems. I know when we came out against Melb a couple of years back and kicked 10 in the 4th, I remember that the players were aware Melb had shown a propensity for last qtr fade-outs. And the coaches used this stat to rev up the Swans at 3 qtr time despite the game still being very close at that stage (in fact we'd been down by 27 at one point in the 3rd, if I remember correctly).
Good point. I actually meant Brown, not Campbell - hence "stints up forward". Best guess for the error would be that in my mind I must have been thinking of Campbell Brown, thus confusing Leigh Brown, with Matt Campbell. A disturbing thought. Oh well. :o
But if the Roos win by 5 goals I'll do a nudie run around my block. ;)
I hope you dont live in Perth.:D
Nah. But I hate the neighbours, so it'll be a win win. :p
Benevolent Ert
2 May 2007, 19:40
You don't watch North much do you? :eek: :p
Nope. I don't have Foxtel
Is there a team in the league that gets less games on FTA TV than North?
RoyalBlue
3 May 2007, 02:06
Geelong and at aleast one other I think.
Thanks for asking.
Probably not but lets not ruin the thread with the TV issue. We'll have the doomsdayers flooding in from every corner.
NorthBhoy
3 May 2007, 16:21
I expect to win this week. Why?
I have no idea.
grimlock
3 May 2007, 17:23
Are you Dean Laidley in disguise?
2 huge questions for Laidley;
- Who follows Goodes?
- Who starts on Hall?
Jeez I wish we could clone Spud Firrito right now.
giantsully
4 May 2007, 15:02
I reckon this game has some claims to match of the round - which is partly a reflection of an ordinary round but mostly the fact that North have probably only played a handful of bad qrs this year & could easily be 4-1 instead of 2-3.
I'm expecting a cracking contest between two of the toughest teams at the footy in the competition. Much prefer to see that than a shoot out.
Twinkletoes
4 May 2007, 15:16
I reckon this game has some claims to match of the round - which is partly a reflection of an ordinary round but mostly the fact that North have probably only played a handful of bad qrs this year & could easily be 4-1 instead of 2-3.
I'm expecting a cracking contest between two of the toughest teams at the footy in the competition. Much prefer to see that than a shoot out.
Agree mate, well said, although I hope it's tough and rugged AND higher scoring.................well, higher than your dour game in Adelaide anyway. It'll be a battle for both teams and should be fascinating, especially in the midfield clearances. We've been fairly free scoring this year so it'll be a battle of contrasting styles.
The Cats v Tigers game could be game of the round too, but for a very different reason. I reckon our game will be the best for the purests.
All the best to the Swans but of course I hope we can be triumphant.............expecting a very close one with ebbs and flows, as our two teams often provide when playing each other.
T'toes
I have a bad feeling about this game. We'll end up kicking some sad inaccurate score like 8.17 and lose it.
Agree mate, well said, although I hope it's tough and rugged AND higher scoring.................well, higher than your dour game in Adelaide anyway. It'll be a battle for both teams and should be fascinating, especially in the midfield clearances. We've been fairly free scoring this year so it'll be a battle of contrasting styles.
The Cats v Tigers game could be game of the round too, but for a very different reason. I reckon our game will be the best for the purests.
All the best to the Swans but of course I hope we can be triumphant.............expecting a very close one with ebbs and flows, as our two teams often provide when playing each other.
T'toes
I'm sure it will be a tight contest, but positive it won't have the feel of an Adel game. Adel have their own defensive style which is unlike any other team. It's almost an uber flood where everyone just camps out on the defensive 50, they encourage opposition sides to attempt to use a loose man and are actually happy to give up half the field safe in the knowlede that their defensive team will catch the run in a halfback choke. Then they sweep forward with dash from players like McLeod on the rebound in a line of sometimes 3 or 4 players.
The Kangas and Swans play more of a one-on-one style. But there isn't that same flooding factor that keeps so many Adel games scores at sub 120pts combined.
This is my hope for how our weekend's game will turn out at any rate. :o
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 19:14
Less than an hour to go!
I'm very nervous about this match. I watched the game last week where the Kangas versed the Cats. How good were they? Or should I say, how poorly did the cats play? Either way, the title pretty sums things up.
A tight contest, but I suspect the Swans to fly away in the final quarter. It has happened. The last time we versed them was back in the earlier rounds. I thought we were dead and buried. :thumbsu:
With the inclusion of Jack and Amon(?) and the omitting Tadhg and Moore. Not surprised, but I think Moore played a good game last week against the Demons.
Hopefully Eski could handle the pressure, without Tadhg with him.
Swans by 30 points (somewhere around there!) :D
Damn... Amon not playing! Moore in
SWANNIES RULE
5 May 2007, 20:28
3 goals down atm.
DeadlyAkkuret
5 May 2007, 20:31
4 now, geez:(
SWANNIES RULE
5 May 2007, 20:33
WTF is this?
DeadlyAkkuret
5 May 2007, 20:34
Ok i know it's early, but i can't see us winning this. We're pathetic so far, it's depressing me.
DeadlyAkkuret
5 May 2007, 20:34
WTF is this?
37-3:( I wanna cry....
DeadlyAkkuret
5 May 2007, 20:45
45-10
A former Kanga commentating on Triple M aswell, i think i might go out early tonight....
SWANNIES RULE
5 May 2007, 20:45
I can't believe how badly we're playing.
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 20:47
Dude, this is pathetic. PLAY BETTER SYDNEY!
SWANNIES RULE
5 May 2007, 20:50
Our goal kicking woes are back.
1.5 at qtr time.
DeadlyAkkuret
5 May 2007, 20:50
Get ready for the invasion of the smug Roos supporters after this one.
I have a bad feeling about this game. We'll end up kicking some sad inaccurate score like 8.17 and lose it.
Looks like we are on target :o
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 21:24
This is awful. They are actually making me feel sick.. i feel so hot right now. I need to pour like a bucket of cold water over my head.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 21:32
I'm so ****en pissed off.
This is like the game we played against Adelaide. What happened??? :mad:
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 21:33
Looks like we are on target :o
You jinxed it!!! :p
SWANNIES RULE
5 May 2007, 21:34
Not over yet.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 21:37
We are missing Tadhg. Malceski has disappeared in the 2nd Quarter.
Luke Ablett is playing pretty well, even though his right knee is heavily strapped.
We are down by 5 goals, our goal kicking yips are coming back. We raked more posession in the 2Q but we are failing to capitalise. Poor decisions again!
C'mon Swans. Don't make me angry! (I hated the feeling when we played against Adelaide).
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 21:38
We can come back.. we have to come back. They are probably in the rooms right now talking about how we have to do it for Nick Davis. We owe him!
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 21:39
Everytime Luke goes down on his knees i cringe.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 21:40
People are saying the Swans will fight back.. i hope they do.
Swans are known to fight back and play their guts out until the final seconds. I hope we come home and hosed. :(:(
3rd Q is about to start...kill me.
SWANNIES RULE
5 May 2007, 21:42
If we can get within 3 goals at three quarter time then we're a huge chance.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 22:13
well...? we are trailing by 5 goals!!!
**** me dead!
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 22:15
ARGH. Gosh, we really needed a goal and then the Kangaroos friggen get one.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 22:15
If the Kangas kick the first two goals. It hurts to say that the Swans are dead and buried. :thumbsd:
NOT HAPPY!!! :mad:
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 22:16
ARGH. Gosh, we really needed a goal and then the Kangaroos friggen get one.
There was one time where NOG should've just kicked for goal. He kicks it to a stationary Hall, who slips and then the ball is turned over! Pathetic once AGAIN!
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 22:17
This game is so god damn annoying. Everyone is crap. Nick Davis hasn't touched the ball since like the first quarter. ****! I feel so angry tonight.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 22:17
No one kicked it to Nick Davis! He's been screaming for the ball!!! ARGH...
legitimatic
5 May 2007, 22:18
If the Kangas kick the first two goals. It hurts to say that the Swans are dead and buried. :thumbsd:
NOT HAPPY!!! :mad:
What if they get the first goal, you're confident about coming back from 5 goals down yet alone 6 goals? You believe they need to have a 42 point advantage to be home and hosed?
I knew we;d lose, i should have put money on it.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 22:56
A good come back from the Swans. Wasn't enough. I'm full of mixed emotions here... :mad: :(
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 22:58
What if they get the first goal, you're confident about coming back from 5 goals down yet alone 6 goals? You believe they need to have a 42 point advantage to be home and hosed?
Kicking two goals in the 4th Q would toally put the nail in the coffin. Swans would've been dead and buried by then.
If the Kangas did kick one goal, yes. I would be confident Swans will climb their way back.
Unfortunatley they didn't. :thumbsd:
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 22:59
I'm pissed off.
How the hell did they get themselves in a position like that?
SWANNIES RULE
5 May 2007, 23:01
Terrible performance in the first quarter, we lost the game then and there.
We really need to address this problem. We can't afford to start so slowly on so many occasions.
Jack was impressive, he's a real terrier but he needs to work on his hand passing.
We missed Kennelly's run off half back and we also missed Amon.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 23:01
I pissed off too.
My face is all red from screaming in the last Q. I was soo pumped... but silly free kicks were given.
However, Kieren Jack really stepped on the pedal in the last Q. Good on him.
MOL took a ****en good specky! The stupid 'fun police' had to ruin it! **** me dead! I'm so pissed off!
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 23:02
We really need to address this problem. We can't afford to start so slowly on so many occasions.
Jack was impressive, he's a real terrier but he needs to work on his hand passing.
Totally agree.
Our slow starts in the first Q really cost us. The Kangas turned on since the bounce off. The Swans probably switched on early in the 3Q. Too late! :(
Heck yes. We miss Tadhg, sorry to the Eski, but he isn't as good as Tadhg. We'd probably have to get used to that by 2009.
Amon, we really needed him. We lack in pacey midfielders.
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 23:03
Exactly, we can't afford these terrible starts. We lost it in the first quarter.
I was really impressed with Jack in the last quarter, was really trying hard and got some good possessions.
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 23:04
I pissed off too.
My face is all red from screaming in the last Q. I was soo pumped... but silly free kicks were given.
However, Kieren Jack really stepped on the pedal in the last Q. Good on him.
MOL took a ****en good specky! The stupid 'fun police' had to ruin it! **** me dead! I'm so pissed off!
Haha, my face is so red aswell. I feel so hot and sick too. All my eyes feel really red aswell. ARGH
Im goingas far to say that overall the Swans played worse today than they did against Adelaide. Also dispite the fact Hall scored 4 goals he really did have a shocker of a game.
SWANNIES RULE
5 May 2007, 23:05
IIRC they kicked the first 6 goals of the game.
Not good enough :thumbsd:
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 23:07
Not many players impressed me tonight.
Goodes, time and time again, his disposals are PATHETIC! He got a free kick and passed it to the opponent. Wasted oppotunities.
The most surprising thing was in the majority of the game, the Swans would usuaully be the second people to handle the ball. The Kangas took risks and always seemed to be infront of the ball, whereas the Swans just had to chase after them. :thumbsd:
I can't even remember who played well tonight.
is2SWaNz
5 May 2007, 23:08
Im goingas far to say that overall the Swans played worse today than they did against Adelaide. Also dispite the fact Hall scored 4 goals he really did have a shocker of a game.
I think they were both equally shocking.
This is like dejavu. I'm just waiting for the others to pour in their thoughts about the game.
I can't even remember who played well tonight.
Ablett, Schneider, Fosdike and considering he was on debut Jack.
natlovestheswans
5 May 2007, 23:09
I thought Ablett was probably our best.. although he didn't do much in the last quarter and should have been right on Grant when the ball went into the forward 50.
Um, who else? Fosdike was alright. Jack had a good last quarter. Kirk worked hard.