View Full Version : IN and OUTS Vs. Dee's

Pages : [1] 2

*PAFC*13
30 Apr 2007, 10:05
There has been some good form in the SANFL with Thomas, Thomson and Deluca all playing good games. I think Thomson is definitely due to come in.

We know Wilson is injured and in most peoples opinion Krakouer will be dropped. But Pearce will also be likely to come back in...

IMO

Wilson, Krakouer and Bentley out for...

Pearce, Thomas and Brogan..

I would be interested to know what other peoples thoughts are...

C4[2]Yo`DooR
30 Apr 2007, 10:10
Id tip this game to be a walk in the park, with the likes of Pearce, the Burgoyne's and Krakour on your list.

Mr Magoo
30 Apr 2007, 10:25
There has been some good form in the SANFL with Thomas, Thomson and Deluca all playing good games. I think Thomson is definitely due to come in.

We know Wilson is injured and in most peoples opinion Krakouer will be dropped. But Pearce will also be likely to come back in...

IMO

Wilson, Krakouer and Bentley out for...

Pearce, Thomas and Brogan..

I would be interested to know what other peoples thoughts are...

I'm expecting minimum changes from chocco ... & i don't think that Krakouer will be out of the team this week either.

Pearce, Brogan, Thomas (in)
Wilson (out)

But if it was me selecting the side then
my ins to the squad of 25 ~ Thomson(chocco we got beaten in the clearances on the weekend) Thomas (in for Wilson), Pearce & possibly Brogan

out Wilson (inj)

Arsene Wenger
30 Apr 2007, 10:47
I think there will be some changes.

In - Thomas Pearce Brogan
Out - Wilson Krak Thurstans

eathb
30 Apr 2007, 10:56
OUT: Wilson (inj.)
IN: Thomas

IF Pearce is fit then he comes in for Bentley
IF Motlop is fit then he comes in for Krakouer
IF Brogan is fit then he comes in for Thurstans

Thomson to be a travelling emergency

oooze
30 Apr 2007, 11:09
Shaun Burgoyne will miss for sure though. Probably 3 weeks suspension for intentional, negligent high contact.

Pinepower
30 Apr 2007, 11:40
Yo`DooR;7385672']Id tip this game to be a walk in the park, with the likes of Pearce, the Burgoyne's and Krakour on your list.

Port have never beaten Melbourne at the MCG

This game has danger written all over it

Porthos
30 Apr 2007, 11:51
If Brogan is in, he's in for Thurstans

If Pearce is in, he's in for Bentley

Thomas for Wilson

Boak for Lonie would be nice but probably not. Fair chance Boak to be travelling emergency though, considering the game is in Melbourne.

Ford Fairlane
30 Apr 2007, 12:23
I'd hate to see Boak miss a game of SANFL to be a travelling emergency just as he's made the Bay league side and performed so well on debut.

Sturt have the bye next week, so take Thomson as TE (chances are he won't make the 22 anyway).

Coobk001
30 Apr 2007, 13:55
IN: Motlop, Pearce, Brogan
OUT: Wilson, Krakouer, Thurstans

Cant believe with Motlops form since just before his injury last year more people haven't picked him??????

I want to know if you people saw his last few games last year which were great, not to mention his incredible pre-season form where he turned multiple defenders inside out before a blistering 1st quarter against Freo.

He's definately in our best 22 and should be straight back in this week.

Krakouer has to go back to the SANFL, I dont know how many weeks we can carry him through the season and quite frankly this week WINNING is more important than playing the kids for experience. Yeah he's showed plenty but 5-6 possessions a game isn't worthy of holding your position

raman
30 Apr 2007, 15:01
Yo`DooR;7385672']Id tip this game to be a walk in the park, with the likes of Pearce, the Burgoyne's and Krakour on your list.

What's the deal with your avatar? I don't get it.

Mr Magoo
30 Apr 2007, 15:28
What's the deal with your avatar? I don't get it.

He's thanking our club for letting Carlton pick up Bryce Gibbs

C4[2]Yo`DooR
30 Apr 2007, 16:01
thanks again for clearing that up lol

Rory
30 Apr 2007, 16:08
Shouldnt it be a pic of Rucci :p

raman
30 Apr 2007, 16:16

What did we have to do with that? Apart from beating Carlton last year of course. :D

Troy Wingate
30 Apr 2007, 16:19
Shaun Burgoyne will miss for sure though. Probably 3 weeks suspension for intentional, negligent high contact.

intentional? negligent? That's wishful thinking on your behalf.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
30 Apr 2007, 16:37
What did we have to do with that? Apart from beating Carlton last year of course. :D
goodnight mate.

Ford Fairlane
30 Apr 2007, 16:41
intentional? negligent? That's wishful thinking on your behalf.

It can't be both. Those are two levels on the same scale.

Troy Wingate
30 Apr 2007, 16:44
It can't be both. Those are two levels on the same scale.

If they suspend Shaun for that incident, they may as well suspend Peter for the rest of the season with his kick to the head of Riewoldt.

Ford Fairlane
30 Apr 2007, 16:53
If they suspend Shaun for that incident, they may as well suspend Peter for the rest of the season with his kick to the head of Riewoldt.

Ssshhhh. Don't give them ideas ... :o

Eago77
30 Apr 2007, 17:06
Brogan will come in for (one of Wakes, Thrust or Symes) without Neitz will Wakes have a match up?

Pearce for Bentley (maybe the Krak, although i wouldn't drop him).

Maybe Thomas for Wilson, or i'd keep Bentley and make a Pearce for Wilson swap.

Motlop, unfortunately 1 quarter isn't enough to be a straight up reselection in my book. Might as well leave the Krak in.

PJ Power
30 Apr 2007, 17:24
Really tough to make changes IMO unless they are forced.

As I believe Shaun will be suspended, I expect Pearce to be a direct replacement for him.

Thomas is the natural replacement for Wilson and should come in for him.

Brogan to come in for one of Chaplin, Thurstans or Wakelin - my money would be on Wakes, if Neitz doesn't play.

That'll be it IMO for this week.

If Motlop is to come in, it would have to be for Krakouer, likewise if JB doesn't miss matches, Pearce to replace the Krak.

Krak showed some wonderful skills on Friday night, but he probably isn't influencing our results as much as his teammates.

Power21
30 Apr 2007, 17:28
When do the monkies hand down thier verdicts? Tuesday?

He shouldn't go but if he does we have Pearce hopefully fit adding frsh legs to a squad that must be a little tired.

I think there might be a few changes this week.

Motlop
Perace
Brogan

All in if fit, Thomas would be a show.

Sandola
30 Apr 2007, 17:37
Brogan will come in for (one of Wakes, Thrust or Symes) without Neitz will Wakes have a match up?

Pearce for Bentley (maybe the Krak, although i wouldn't drop him).

Maybe Thomas for Wilson, or i'd keep Bentley and make a Pearce for Wilson swap.

Motlop, unfortunately 1 quarter isn't enough to be a straight up reselection in my book. Might as well leave the Krak in.

I did hear that Neitz is a chance for Sunday. But that may just be wishful thinking on Melbourne's part. Certainly Wakelin earned a rest if he wants one (and isn't there something about a baby on the way?)

Hairy Cat Mooney
30 Apr 2007, 18:25
Who do you think will come in to replace S. Burgoyne now that he has been offered a two week suspension?

Sandola
30 Apr 2007, 19:25
Who do you think will come in to replace S. Burgoyne now that he has been offered a two week suspension?

I think we'll take it to the tribunal, and the players on the tribunal, who will know what it's like to play in the wet, will have a gentle chuckle and throw the thing out.

(I just put in "gentle" because you're clearly from Geelong.)

Troy Wingate
30 Apr 2007, 19:40

If Shaun takes the two weeks, I think it;s time for Thomson to come in.

morell
30 Apr 2007, 19:45
OUT - S.Burgoyne (susp), Wilson (inj), Thurstans, Krakouer
IN - Pearce, Thomas, Brogan, Motlop

*PAF
30 Apr 2007, 19:51
Out: Wilson -- In: Thomas

In (if fit): Brogan, Pearce -- Out: Bentley, Krakouer (or one of Wakelin/Chaplin for Brogan)

freddie51
30 Apr 2007, 20:22
Pearce is a definate in according to Choco and if fit brogs should be in.

oooze
1 May 2007, 00:17
i told you he would get suspended. such a stupid thing to do.

Porthos
1 May 2007, 00:30
He hasn't been suspended.

Russian
1 May 2007, 02:16
Pearce for Wilson - he's been playing midfield anyway
Brogan for Burgoyne - they've got enough talls to keep the 4 defenders and Chad who probably plays more on ball with JB and Wilbur out, and gets followed by Bruce wherever he plays

No need for any other changes, Thomas to travel.

*PAFC*13
1 May 2007, 10:28
For Wilsons replacement I was thinking more along the lines of Thomson rather than Thomas.. Because Wilson had mainly been playing in the midfield this year so why not replace him with a true midfielder.

*PAFC*13
1 May 2007, 10:44
We will certainly miss Wilsons Bun's out there on Sunday ;)

Here's this from the Tiser...

Port will lose on-ball hardbut Michael Wilson with a chest injury but should regain ruckman Dean Brogan (ankle) and AFL Rising Star winner Danyle Pearce (hamstring). Livewire forward Daniel Motlop (ankle) also should be available.

sabby
1 May 2007, 11:56
I dont think that williams will want to change a winning team too much but there are some players that just have to come in.

OUT: Krakouer, Wilson (inj), S Burgoyne (susp)
IN: Motlop, Pearce, Brogan

Krakouer is a star in the making but his still young and since Motlop has been injured his fit in perfecly but now that his fit again he should take Krakouer's place.

S Burgoyne if suspended will be replaced with Pearce he is the best option

Wilson will be replaced in the midfield with C.Cornes with Brogan in the side Thurstans wont have to worry about being back up ruck anymore and will stay in the backlines. Chaplin will play CHB but wont be named in that position in the team.

Toots Hibbert
1 May 2007, 11:58
David Nietz is back for the Dees this week. That makes it a little harder for us. Wet or dry I hope we have Brogan in the side to drop back in front of him.

Andre
1 May 2007, 14:22
Outs : S. Burgoyne, Thurstans, Krakouer, Wilson
Ins : Thomson, Pearce, Brogan, Thomas

Melbourne have a good ruckman. We've been lucky Brogan's absence has coincided with playing two of the worst ruck divisions in the league. If Brogan isn't fit then Deluca in, in his place.

Krakouer is improving each game, but needs a couple of weeks of full game time in the SANFL.
Thomson in as with Junior gone (or likely to be) I'd like another in and under player (Pearce is more of an outside type player - though not a soft one!).

Thomas in for Wilbur. Tough nut for tough nut.

Mr Magoo
1 May 2007, 16:04
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/6038/Default.aspx?newsId=42324

this is taken from chocco uncut

Ey Choco... Just wondering how you chose 22 players each week? Is it going to be harder now that Motlop, Pearce and Brogan are back in the side? Congrats on all the wins... xoxo
Naomi

MARK WILLIAMS: Actually right at this moment I have three players lined up in my front lawn cutting the lawn, doing the edges and cleaning my pool to try to get in! Seriously though it’s a difficult task, training certainly comes into it as does what the opposition’s strengths are. Our players who are playing well get the best chance and those that have played well in the past that are coming back from injury and are training well, they’ve got a chance to get picked as well. In the end there’s a lot of discussion among our selection committee and normally it comes down to the last one or two spots and we spend something like three quarters of an hour on those trying to decide which way we go.

:D

pafc4life
2 May 2007, 17:52
I think that Pearce should come in for Krakouer, Motlop to the SANFL. Not sure who should come out for Brogan.

Andre
2 May 2007, 18:03
With Junior not being suspended I'm revising my in's and out's.

Outs : Thurstans, Krakouer, Wilson
Ins : Thomson, Pearce, Brogan

Brogan for Thurstans
Krakouer to get a full game in the SANFL.

Add Thomson and Pearce to our midfield mix - with those not in the guts at any time, up forward and the ball will barely go in the Dees forward line :D

Asgardian
3 May 2007, 07:06
Assuming Pearce, Motlop & Brogan are all fit, I'd make the following changes

ins - Pearce, Brogan, Motlop, Thomas

outs - Wilson (inj), Thurstans, Krakouer, Bentley

Remember just how good Motlop looked in that 1st quarter against the Dockers

Mr Magoo
3 May 2007, 11:13
Isn't Salopek in doubt due to general soreness?

If he is then why bother risking him at this stage of the season, especially when you have fit players who are also in pretty good form at the moment in Thomas, Thomson & Boak.

Forzaport
3 May 2007, 16:46
Sal will play i think

Ins: Brogan, Pearce, Motlop, Thomas
Outs: Wilson (inj)

Then on friday:

emg: Thomas, Krakouer, Bentley

Bartram_Class
3 May 2007, 17:21
Some good in's for you fellas, should run over the top of us pretty comfortably.

How is Tredrea travelling? Has only recently returned, has he hit his straps yet?

Sandola
3 May 2007, 17:23
Some good in's for you fellas, should run over the top of us pretty comfortably.

How is Tredrea travelling? Has only recently returned, has he hit his straps yet?

He's better with every game, and last week he was showing signs... Will be breaking out anytime now.:)

Hodges 153!
3 May 2007, 17:54
INS are: Deluca, Motlop, Pearce, Thomas & Westhoff

OUTS are: Salopek (hamstring) & Wilson (Pectoral)

Bartram_Class
3 May 2007, 17:55
He's better with every game, and last week he was showing signs... Will be breaking out anytime now.:)
No worries, we have been good at playing teams into form of late.

Its like a game on Zac Dawson, you're guaranteed a bag as a KP forward.

gbear
3 May 2007, 18:03
INS are: Deluca, Motlop, Pearce, Thomas & Westhoff

OUTS are: Salopek (hamstring) & Wilson (Pectoral)

So, obviously Brogan hasn't come up again this week? Should Deluca play?

Ford Fairlane
3 May 2007, 18:11
Thomas straight into the 18. Westhoff must be impressing someone at training - he hasn't played for 3 weeks.

http://portadelaidefc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/6038/Default.aspx?newsId=42516

The Power’s 25-man squad named on Thursday is as follows...

B: Troy Chaplin, Darryl Wakelin, Michael Pettigrew
HB: Jacob Surjan, Chad Cornes, Matthew Thomas
C: Nathan Lonie, Kane Cornes, Dom Cassisi
HF: Peter Burgoyne, Warren Tredrea, Josh Mahoney
F: Greg Bentley, Damon White, Brett Ebert
Foll: Brendon Lade, Shaun Burgoyne, David Rodan
Interchange from: Fabian Deluca, Nathan Krakouer, Daniel Motlop, Danyle Pearce, Toby Thurstans, Brad Symes, Justin Westhoff

IN: Deluca, Motlop, Pearce, Thomas, Westhoff
OUT: Salopek (hamstring), Wilson (pectoral)

dyertribe
3 May 2007, 18:13
OUT: Salopek (hamstring)

:( :(

Toots Hibbert
3 May 2007, 18:18

What a good job Junior's available this week.

Mr Magoo
3 May 2007, 18:21
Thomas straight into the 18. Westhoff must be impressing someone at training - he hasn't played for 3 weeks.

http://portadelaidefc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/6038/Default.aspx?newsId=42516

The Power’s 25-man squad named on Thursday is as follows...

B: Troy Chaplin, Darryl Wakelin, Michael Pettigrew
HB: Jacob Surjan, Chad Cornes, Matthew Thomas
C: Nathan Lonie, Kane Cornes, Dom Cassisi
HF: Peter Burgoyne, Warren Tredrea, Josh Mahoney
F: Greg Bentley, Damon White, Brett Ebert
Foll: Brendon Lade, Shaun Burgoyne, David Rodan
Interchange from: Fabian Deluca, Nathan Krakouer, Daniel Motlop, Danyle Pearce, Toby Thurstans, Brad Symes, Justin Westhoff

It might be just me but Westhoff's selection in the 25 might mean that one of our tall forwards could be under an injury cloud. Other than that it's a pretty balanced side of youth & experience.

Spadge
3 May 2007, 18:23
looking at that list i am expecting the final squad to be...

In: Thomas, Pearce, Motlop
Out: Salopek, Wilson, Krakouer

i think its time the Krak played some 4 quarter footy at the maggies

Bring-Back-Powell
3 May 2007, 18:25
Is Salopek out a blow?

Spadge
3 May 2007, 18:28
of course its a blow
he has become one of our premier midfielders
luckily we have danyle pearce coming in to replace him

PJ Power
3 May 2007, 18:28
Salopek out is a considerable blow.

What worries me is that Pearce's 3-week lay-off crept up on us, much the way that sal's general soreness has.

If he has a sore hamstring, he may well miss the next 3 weeks.

Also disappointing that Broges hasn't come up and that yet again Thomson is not good enough to get into an extended 25man squad.

dyertribe
3 May 2007, 18:29
Is Salopek out a blow?

From my perspective he is - a wonderful talent who is showing sure signs he is capable of becoming elite - although given his recent wingman role and the return of Danyle structurally he is replaceable.

Macca19
3 May 2007, 18:38
Good to see Thomas playing!!

As Ford said, Westhoff must be doing something right! Doubt he will play but it is an odd selection. A tall definately must be 50/50.

Id say it will probably be Motlop, Pearce and Thomas in.

shaz63
3 May 2007, 18:41
Surprised to see that Brogan hasnt been selected. Glad to see that Matt Thomas is in the lineup.

Im sure that Thomas, Pearce and Motlop will be out there Sunday at the G.

Toots Hibbert
3 May 2007, 18:42
I'm wondering whether Westhoff is being rewarded for good work and Port are doing what they've sometimes done by taking a young player on an interstate trip to get him used to travelling?

Sandola
3 May 2007, 18:56
This is a funny old year. Unexpectedly, we seem to be rebuilding and contending at the same time. So this sort of move (Westhoff in) is to be applauded. I hope we bring one or two youngsters into a relatively stable side each week for the rest of the year.

P.A.F.C
3 May 2007, 19:08
I wouldn't mind Motlop and Westhoff in for Krakouer and Thurstans but it's probably won't happen. Though you have to wonder how we'll use all our talls if none are dropped.

Redline
3 May 2007, 19:50
I'm happy to see Thomas in for you guys. I think you should pick Deluca, it's to much to ask of Lade and Thurstans isn't a ruckman. Plus with Lade and Brogan only having a few years left in them it seems a good time to give Deluca a run again to see if he is up to it.

Ported
3 May 2007, 20:19
I think the club's being ultra-conservative with players in doubt, considering we have so many available. Pearce could have played last week and last year he probably would have. Good stance, i don't think Sal will play if there is any doubt.

Williams raved about Westhoff just prior to him getting suspended at centrals. Great to see Thomas in, love to see Deluca get a shot soon.

Rory
3 May 2007, 21:47
What the hell does Adam Thomson have to do to get selected. I'm starting to worry that there may be some bad blood between A-Rod and Choco or something because he should be playing especially now Sala is out with a hammy.

PJ Power
3 May 2007, 21:54
Thomson seems to be sliding down a gradual spiral into anonymity at the club. Just wonder if there is not now a remote chance he will be delisted at the end of 2007:eek: .
Reading Trevena's comments after last week, the coaches obviously don't think his form has been up to scratch.

It would be an enormous waste if he doesn't become a very good player for us, all the more because he was the first-round pick when we lost Carr, in a draft that has already seen us get rid of Eckers and Ezard.

Troy Wingate
3 May 2007, 21:55
What the hell does Adam Thomson have to do to get selected. I'm starting to worry that there may be some bad blood between A-Rod and Choco or something because he should be playing especially now Sala is out with a hammy.

I think what has kept Thomson out this week is the fact that Pearce and Motlop are back.

Troy Wingate
3 May 2007, 21:57
Thomson seems to be sliding down a gradual spiral into anonymity at the club. Just wonder if there is not now a remote chance he will be delisted at the end of 2007:eek: .
Reading Trevena's comments after last week, the coaches obviously don't think his form has been up to scratch.

It would be an enormous waste if he doesn't become a very good player for us, all the more because he was the first-round pick when we lost Carr, in a draft that has already seen us get rid of Eckers and Ezard.

I think what it's been is that, while he is playing good footy, he's not dominating like our other players (Thomas, DeLuca for example) have been.

*PAF
3 May 2007, 22:20
I wouldn't mind Motlop and Westhoff in for Krakouer and Thurstans but it's probably won't happen. Though you have to wonder how we'll use all our talls if none are dropped.
No way known Thurstans should be dropped.
Not only because he is becoming one of our premier backmen but also because he is needed to back up Brogan.

Ported
3 May 2007, 22:23
I sent in a Chocco uncut message about Thomson earlier today. Hopefully Chocco will tell us something we don't already know.

Russian
3 May 2007, 23:10
SANFL Teams...

No help at all - Sturt have the bye and the other 4 are named (Westhoff only on the bench)

Batsanis in for the Eagles, Cockshell for the Legs

sabby
4 May 2007, 00:25
Why is Pearce named on the bench? i think there might still be some doubt over him maybe?

I think its between deluca and thurstans for a spot, krakouer and motlop for a spot.

i think if they choose deluca and drop thurstans they will need symes for the backline so westhoff would get dropped instead of symes for a place on the bench.

I have faith in choco that he will choose a winning side for the weekend

RoosterLad
4 May 2007, 00:33
I think what has kept Thomson out this week is the fact that Pearce and Motlop are back.

Motlop has been named for North though?

Russian
4 May 2007, 01:28
Motlop has been named for North though?Like I said, they've named 4 of them in the SANFL and the other 3 bench players are Sturt's

Thomson doesn't play because our gameplan is now about pace and foot skills, and he struggles in both of those areas

Mr Magoo
4 May 2007, 05:30
I'm wondering whether Westhoff is being rewarded for good work and Port are doing what they've sometimes done by taking a young player on an interstate trip to get him used to travelling?

Just looking on the weather channel on foxtel & they predict rain/light showers for Sunday's game so you could be on the money as it would be a good experience for Westhoff to make the trip. Even if he just goes out onto the ground & warms up with the team it would be very good experience for him. If he gets a gig in the forward line even better :thumbsu:

Or maybe they (chocco & the selectors) want Thommo to work a bit harder on certain areas of his game? By that i mean maybe the selectors want him to bust his gut to get into the side & not just think that he can motor along & i'm not taking a shot at Thommo's work ethic as i like the lad but i'm just bemused/concerned why he can't get into the squad at the moment. Perhaps one of the guys here who go & watch training could be of some assistance? Does Thommo go at half pace at training, does he train with the main midfield group for ruck drills?

I sent in a Chocco uncut message about Thomson earlier today. Hopefully Chocco will tell us something we don't already know.

Don't worry every week i have sent several questions to chocco uncut & i've always asked how Adam Thomson is progressing & what he needs to do to get a gig. But i guess while Rodan & company are performing quite well it makes it harder for him to get in the side but with Salopek out you would've thought a straight swap with Thommo was the obvious choice to replace him.

Troy Wingate
4 May 2007, 05:55
According to a story in the Advertiser today, Nathan Krakouer will be making his Magpies debut. Daniel Hargraves will also be making his Magpies debut.

Jeremy Clayton and Troy Butcher, as well as Daniel Elstone are injured, Harry Miller was dropped to the reserves.

Hodges 153!
4 May 2007, 09:47
According to a story in the Advertiser today, Nathan Krakouer will be making his Magpies debut. Daniel Hargraves will also be making his Magpies debut.

Jeremy Clayton and Troy Butcher, as well as Daniel Elstone are injured, Harry Miller was dropped to the reserves.

OT, but this may or may not be the case......

I believe it was reported on radio last night he has been sacked from the club for off-field reasons.

We'll see.....

Malibu#27
4 May 2007, 10:07
OT, but this may or may not be the case......

I believe it was reported on radio last night he has been sacked from the club for off-field reasons.

We'll see.....

Symes is named an an "IN" for Centrals, as has Westhoff, Motlop as an "IN" for Centrals, Karakour as an "IN" for the magpies.

To me that leaves only 3 on the bench... which doesnt seem right.

Macca19
4 May 2007, 10:09
Levi Greenwood named in the squad as well. Look for him this year. Hope the Power pick him up at the end of the year.

Interesting about Butcher. Will see what I can find out.

Macca19
4 May 2007, 10:28
Definately was said on RPH that he has been axed due to discipline problems and missing a training session. Then again Robertson last night said he was missing due to a leg injury and is unsure if he will be sacked or not. Would be a bit of a pity, hes a good utility.

PJ Power
4 May 2007, 11:00
Symes is named an an "IN" for Centrals, as has Westhoff, Motlop as an "IN" for Centrals, Karakour as an "IN" for the magpies.

To me that leaves only 3 on the bench... which doesnt seem right.

I hope Symesy isn't dropped. I don't think his form has been super at AFL, but he is certainly performing well enough to keep his spot and is developing his defensive game nicely to go along with his ball-getting.

Malibu#27
4 May 2007, 11:14
I hope Symesy isn't dropped. I don't think his form has been super at AFL, but he is certainly performing well enough to keep his spot and is developing his defensive game nicely to go along with his ball-getting.

Me either ... maybe its a typeo ... or another symes ?

shaz63
4 May 2007, 12:00
Im guessing that all the players that are named on the interchange must all so be considered by their SANFL teams.

We all know that the team wont be finallised until tonight. So lets just all wait and see who exactly does get to play Sunday.

Im hoping that Symes does get to play in Melbourne as he has done nothing wrong in the last few games but remember, we have Pearcy and Motlop that are ready to lineup as well.

Ford Fairlane
4 May 2007, 12:11
Levi Greenwood named in the squad as well. Look for him this year. Hope the Power pick him up at the end of the year.

Interesting about Butcher. Will see what I can find out.

Macca, what's the deal with Harry Miller being dropped? I thought he was in the best players just a couple of weeks ago.

*PAFC*13
4 May 2007, 12:19

Calm down PJ. He probably hasn't been doing enough in the SANFL. Wouldn't worry just yet.

RoosterLad
4 May 2007, 12:54
Definately was said on RPH that he has been axed due to discipline problems and missing a training session. Then again Robertson last night said he was missing due to a leg injury and is unsure if he will be sacked or not. Would be a bit of a pity, hes a good utility.

why did he leave Glenelg? was that discipline problems as well or did he just want out? he will be a big loss if the rumours are true...

anyway I expect Motlop to play alongside his brother tonight at the Parade and should kick at least 5

Macca19
4 May 2007, 13:04
From memory, not 100% certain, apparently he pulled a couple of younger players up at a pre season training session who he saw were taking short cuts. Then apparently he got torn to shreds by the coach in front of the whole group about it and told that he wasnt the coach so to keep his mouth shut next time. Apparently he walked out because of that.

RoosterLad
4 May 2007, 13:09
I don't see anything wrong with having a chat to younger blokes if they aren't working hard enough, he had every reason to walk out in that case... says a bit about the Bays I guess.

Hodges 153!
4 May 2007, 13:13
Supposedly paid a portion of his transfer fee himself to get away too...

Macca19
4 May 2007, 13:16
Macca, what's the deal with Harry Miller being dropped? I thought he was in the best players just a couple of weeks ago.

Last two weeks hes been poor, especially last week in conditions which he should have thrived in. Had like 3 kicks. Probably fair enough. No passengers it seems this year which is good to see.

Ford Fairlane
4 May 2007, 13:22
Last two weeks hes been poor, especially last week in conditions which he should have thrived in. Had like 3 kicks. Probably fair enough. No passengers it seems this year which is good to see.

Fair call then. Let's hope he responds - heaven knows the 2s could use some help!

PJ Power
4 May 2007, 14:02
Calm down PJ. He probably hasn't been doing enough in the SANFL. Wouldn't worry just yet.

Feeling pretty calm here mate.

No doubt his SANFL form hasn't been good enough.

Just concerned that some young kids don't respond well to missing out consistently - it may result in his form suffering and if he struggles enough, the club may need to act accordingly at the end of the year.

At this stage I would have thought that his SANFL form isn't too much of a concern - but he has now seen Bentley, Krakouer, Symes, Logan and Thomas move ahead of him (even if they aren't all the same type of player).
It pretty much leaves he and Lower out of the non-tall players on our list who were drafted before last year, who still haven't seen game action this year.
I doubt anyone would have thought that would be the case when this year started.

Toots Hibbert
4 May 2007, 14:55
When Thommo next resurfaces in our AFL strip he will begin his climb to the upper echelon of players in the league. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Porthos
4 May 2007, 15:12
Its a bit disconcerting that not a single player from our 2004 national draft can make the side right now.

Ford Fairlane
4 May 2007, 15:28
If Matty Primus is to be believed, Fabian Deluca will be righting that situation this weekend.

Redline
4 May 2007, 15:59
Feeling pretty calm here mate.

No doubt his SANFL form hasn't been good enough.

Just concerned that some young kids don't respond well to missing out consistently - it may result in his form suffering and if he struggles enough, the club may need to act accordingly at the end of the year.

At this stage I would have thought that his SANFL form isn't too much of a concern - but he has now seen Bentley, Krakouer, Symes, Logan and Thomas move ahead of him (even if they aren't all the same type of player).
It pretty much leaves he and Lower out of the non-tall players on our list who were drafted before last year, who still haven't seen game action this year.
I doubt anyone would have thought that would be the case when this year started.

I am a little concerned about Nick Lower. Don't get me wrong he is a great player and I think he can make it at AFL level but I just don't see where he can fit into your team long term. He doesn't have the pace to go with the real quick forwards and at SANFL level he is playing on the strong marking forwards which he couldn't do at AFL level becuase of his size.

I am not for one minute bagging the guy and I would love to see him get a go at the Power just not really sure where he fits in at AFL level long term. Any thoughts?

Toots Hibbert
4 May 2007, 16:10
Half back flank a la Montgomery?

Macgonagle
4 May 2007, 16:13
Yo`DooR;7388986']goodnight mate.

Odd.

Instead of supporting the development of a young player, you're hailing him like a god and saviour of your (talent depleted) club. I suppose you're pleased with your club for finishing so low on the table?

He almost ended up in the carlton leadership group!!

You wouldn't want to put any more pressure on him, would you. Maybe Carlton could look to teams like PAFC to see how you SUPPORT, NURTURE and PROTECT your youth so that they can develop in their own time and away from the intrusive media spotlight.

Then again, that would mean looking to an interstate team and they couldn't possibly know anything about footy, could they .... ?

Redline
4 May 2007, 17:23
Half back flank a la Montgomery?

That will end up having to be it but I worry that he might not have the pace. Time will tell, he is a great talent and works hard so he deserves a spot down the track. I guess once he gets more game time at AFL level we will now a bit more.