View Full Version : Headland
stemline
10 Apr 2002, 15:21
Hi there Brisbane Board,
Just wondering what the status is of Des Headland?
Is he close or nowhere near playing senior footy, given the strength of your current side?
How many games do you anticipate he will play this year, and what is his current form like in the team he's playing for now?
Thanks!
stemline
10 Apr 2002, 17:59
Thanks guys that's great.
cjwalkley
10 Apr 2002, 18:27
Patience Little Chickadee.
I believe Headland would have played Rd 1 ahead of Copeland if he didn't get injured, and believe that they are fighting for that medium sized utility role in the team. I can see Desy playing in a few weeks time, and how many he plays is up to him. Travis Johnstone has shown that it does take longer for some players to adjust to AFL and I reckon Desy is ready to explode.
No need to get upset just yet.
Headland is probably unlucky, in my opinion, not to be in the senior side at the moment. He was unlucky to miss out on finals last season, after showing some good signs towards then end of the 'Home and Away' Series.
Likewise, Headland also looked pretty good in the pre-season comp. I am a bit surprised that he hasn't received a run so far, however, you also have to consider that the Lions have a fairly good degree of depth, with many other young players all making claims for selection (eg: Cupido, Bolton, Martin, McLaren, McGrath, Charman, etc. etc.). Then you also have to factor in fitting Johnson back into the side in round 2 (a priority inclusion by all means), as well as the improved form of McRae, and keeping in mind the importance of team balance.
I reckon, if S.Hart hadn't have had a brilliant finals campaign in 2001, and won the Norm Smith Medal, he might be on the verge of being dropped at this stage, as his performances have been lower than the standard we've normally come to expect from him. Leigh has dropped him on one or two occasions over the past few seasons, and he has been on the borderline of selection at times. At the moment, you'd have to say his form is at that point, which would make way for Headland to come into the side.
(Although, whenever Hart looks set to be dropped, he almost certainly comes out with a blinder - this happens almost every time).
With this in mind, unless Matthews drops a senior player who isn't quite at their best (and there aren't too many players in this category at the moment), then Headland will be left to fight it out with the younger players, all vying for senior selection.
At the moment, McGrath has done enough to easily hold his spot for the time being. Unless Headland can put in a few absolute blinders in the 2's, I reckon he might be waiting a few more weeks before someone drops off.
Yeah, actually, you're right, CJ, I have noticed Copeland's performances have been a bit average (although, he was ok last week when he was involved).
Maverick
10 Apr 2002, 18:51
Des had a huge pre season.
He has been injurred, but once fit, he will be a permanent fixture in the senior team.
SpecialBruce
10 Apr 2002, 23:41
He will hopefully be back soon. I expect big things from him this year.
Beausgirl43
11 Apr 2002, 08:19
Onya Dessie ... he's gonna give them heaps this year. ;) :D
cheers ... Kaz :)