View Full Version : Hawks v Bombers - team
RustyHawk
3 May 2007, 18:41
In Croad & Vandenburg
Out: Ellis and Thurgood
Essendon have made 3 changes. In Welsh, Winderlich & Jason Johnson.
Out: Watson, Slattery & Bradley
kimbopen
3 May 2007, 19:08
In Croad & Vandenburg
Out: Ellis and Thurgood
Essendon have made 3 changes. In Welsh, Winderlich & Jason Johnson.
Out: Watson, Slattery & Bradley
The Bummers Animated Root Vegetable (Bradley = Spud) will not be missed. Watson might, but he hasn't had a good last couple of weeks.
Don't know about Slattery. Don't really care!
matsta1975
3 May 2007, 19:21
surely young deserves to be in the team and not an emergency
DonMania#5
3 May 2007, 19:29
Good ins for the Bombers :)
RustyHawk
3 May 2007, 19:42
The teams
ESSENDON v HAWTHORN
Saturday, 2:10pm AEST, MCG
ESSENDON
B: McVeigh, Michael, Heffernan
HB: McPhee, Fletcher, Hird
C: Dyson, Peverill, Monfries
HF: Lovett, Lucas, Davey
F: M.Johnson, Lloyd, Laycock
FOLL: Ryder, Winderlich, Stanton
I/C: Welsh, Bolton, Johns, J.Johnson
EM: Houli, Watson, Lonergan
IN: J.Johnson, Welsh, Winderlich
OUT: Bradley, Slattery (hamstring), Watson
HAWTHORN
B: Guerra, Gilham, Brown
HB: Ladson, Croad, Birchall
C: Sewell, Mitchell, Lewis
HF: McGlynn, Boyle, Bateman
F: Franklin, Roughead, Dixon
FOLL: Campbell, Hodge, Crawford
I/C: Vandenberg, Taylor, Murphy, Osborne
EM: Ellis, Moss, Young
IN: Croad, Vandenberg
OUT: Thurgood, Ellis
Wow, Moss makes emergency with Young!!
Mervyn Beasley
3 May 2007, 20:05
Not a bad looking team, but cant believe Young cant get back in to it.
Would have thought he was a better option than Ossie or McGlynn.
Maybe AC is expecting some rough stuff. That said though I feel that Youngy has toughened up considerably this year.
His ability to deliver and or kick the 'Lonie' type goal might be sorely missed.
Birchall01
3 May 2007, 20:09
Croad in defence really gets our structure sittin nicely. Great initiative there by hawks throwing moss a hint that if he keeps up the good form hes not far away from playing. Could provide that small forward/midfielder presence required to stop the ball easily leaving our forward line. While he would only be a stop gap solution, it could prove to be handy for his development in the meantime until he develops into a mid. From all reports is going to be a gun. Smith not getting a game and osborne pushed to the cusp of the bench shows the increased depth in our list. As soon as a key backmen, and crumber are picked up in the next draft, our list will almost be complete. Without a genuine weakness. Lookin forward to this weekends game. Good luck hawkies
bring it on
3 May 2007, 20:10
UP THE DONS!!!!
good ins for uhawks....but still wont be a match for the mighty dons
I'm guessing Young didn't get up from his injury as he would be in our best 22 imo. Smith getting a week in the BHH after being out so long :thumbsu:
Good ins! be good for ellis to run out a full game aswel and interested to see how he performs.
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 May 2007, 20:43
He was in great form and is a fantastic player. Can't understand why he's not playing.
bigbol069
3 May 2007, 21:13
I'm guessing Young didn't get up from his injury as he would be in our best 22 imo. Smith getting a week in the BHH after being out so long :thumbsu:
Good ins! be good for ellis to run out a full game aswel and interested to see how he performs.
Smith has been training really solidly over the last couple of weeks and looked fine, if he needs a week for BHH then why doesn't Vanders? I don't care if he's our skipper, if he's not match fit, how can he get in straight away? He's a bloke with poor skills for a midfielder and no match practice AT ALL in '07 yet he's getting a go straight up at this level of footy, amazing.
He better not suck on Saturday, nor spend half the game on the bench when we have fit ready guys playing at BH!
Once more we hope Clarko knows what he's doing. Captain or not captain he should get a run at BH in my opinion.
Interesting Thurgood out and not listed as an emergency. Has he had his last go?
Mervyn Beasley
3 May 2007, 21:18
If he is not up from his injury why is he an emergency?
Collins-Langford-Ayres
3 May 2007, 21:37
Boy our centre line and on-ballers look good on paper. If the ball is to be won in close, we'll murder them !!
donsman4eva
3 May 2007, 21:42
So glad to see Jacobs isnt back. That would have severely hurt us.
Gary Shadforth
3 May 2007, 22:23
Don't be surprised if the naming of Clint as an emergency is a decoy to dumbbum Sheedyhttp://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/151.gif .
The real team could see Youngie in the 22, maybe in the starting 18.
lethalselbow
3 May 2007, 22:25
So glad to see Jacobs isnt back. That would have severely hurt us.
lol
He rack up nearly as many uncontested marks as Fletcher. :)
I hope so, Gaz - I'm a big fan.
RustyHawk
3 May 2007, 23:03
Joel Smith will add to our depth next week with Youngy able to return. Its all good.
bak2bak8889
3 May 2007, 23:12
seriously .... to say the skipper doesn't deserve to be there is unHAWTHORNlike.... anyway I am of the opinion that either vanders or ozzie will sit this one out , making way for young. just hope its not skipper cos he puts abit of fear into some of the bombers along with Browny. I thank the man upstairs for the 8second rule that cost the dons their 23rd player GOLD$PINK$. Will be a really good fight this one. CAN we bring up 4 in a row against the enemy.........mmmmmmmmmm ofcourse. Dixon really needs to nail his set shots... Gilham to keep diver lloyd down, croad on lucath....sewell on peverill...franklin on ex-docker.... roughie on ex-lion...... boyle on fletch.........hodge should take morefries and make a meal of him......................................... Hawthorn supporters should take an old hanky to throw at sheedy. the sook, Go the Hawkers!!!!!!!!!
Number 24
3 May 2007, 23:12
I agree with you and I reckon we will get our wish...just a little feelig in my water :eek:
RustyHawk
3 May 2007, 23:49
My money and info's on Youngy back next week and Ellis 1st emergency this week.
philhawk
4 May 2007, 00:03
Dammit, Hawks are already down a player with Bradley not playing for the Bombers.
Pessimistic
4 May 2007, 00:24
Everyone tipping the bombers - I was leaning that way but not now - if hawthorn lose it will be their own fault like last week.
Does anyone else really want to see Moss in the team. I would love to see him get a couple of games soon. He seems perfect for what we currently lack - a good crumbing forward.
Would much prefer to see Young in the side than Ozzie, but if his shoulder isnt 100%, no point risking further injury by rushing him back.
RustyHawk
4 May 2007, 00:55
Would much prefer to see Young in the side than Ozzie, but if his shoulder isnt 100%, no point risking further injury by rushing him back.
Exactly Hodges. Croady was very close last week but they have been very good at managing injury at Hawthorn. Im sure Youngy will be up for next week.
RustyHawk
4 May 2007, 01:22
The Age newspaper is claiming that Essendums Matthew Lloyd has pulled or tweaked his hamstring and out for 2 weeks.
Courtney Johns to play FF and 1 of the three emergencies to come in.
Its all good.
Oh hells yes.
Thats fantastic news for us. :thumbsu:
The Age newspaper is claiming that Essendums Matthew Lloyd has pulled or tweaked his hamstring and out for 2 weeks.
Courtney Johns to play FF and 1 of the three emergencies to come in.
Its all good.
maybe this might give us a chance to get croad up forward for a little while???
bomberstomake8
4 May 2007, 10:33
maybe this might give us a chance to get croad up forward for a little while???
be careful not to underestimate courtney johns/
FatBoy's Wombats
4 May 2007, 11:29
I doubt they will underestimate anyone. Hodge or Croad to shutdown Lucas and Gillam on Johns. They said lastnight on the footyshow that essendons midfield would be to strong for us. What a load of crap, I reckon we will smash them there and if Lloyd doesn't play we will win comfortably.
thommo16
4 May 2007, 12:03
be careful not to underestimate courtney johns/
I have been waiting for this boy to tear a game apart.........lets hope its not this weekend
Pessimistic
4 May 2007, 12:05
The only danger is if they punish our mistakes as ruthlessly as the doggies did. Otherwise Hawks easily.
remember we defeated them in a half of footabll last year - 16 goals - could be a percentage booster
The only danger is if they punish our mistakes as ruthlessly as the doggies did. Otherwise Hawks easily.
If McPhee plays on Franklin it'll be like Russian roulette.
lethalselbow
5 May 2007, 21:00
Well... would have been an 80 point thrashing aside from Hawthorn skill errors.
Go Hawks!