View Full Version : OUR supporters degrading OUR club!! WTF??

GmeUP
5 May 2007, 19:53
It amazes me all the negativity you guys can throw out after a couple of losses. Our 3 losses have come against clubs with which we hold a great history of rivalry in Hawthorn, Collingwood and Carlton. We are constantly putting big scores on the board and have not found ourselfs out of any game until late in the 4th. We are still missing key players and others that are lineing up are underdone. We convincingly beat Adelaide (top 4 team) away, and had Freo and the Saints covered from early on in the game.

Despite others complaining we have only 10 legitimate stars I would back our best 22 against any other team and expect to win alot more than we lose. Our only deficiency is depth of teams like West Coast when our best 22 arent available.

Strike Swiftly
5 May 2007, 20:34
It amazes me all the negativity you guys can throw out after a couple of losses. Our 3 losses have come against clubs with which we hold a great history of rivalry in Hawthorn, Collingwood and Carlton. We are constantly putting big scores on the board and have not found ourselfs out of any game until late in the 4th. We are still missing key players and others that are lineing up are underdone. We convincingly beat Adelaide (top 4 team) away, and had Freo and the Saints covered from early on in the game.

Despite others complaining we have only 10 legitimate stars I would back our best 22 against any other team and expect to win alot more than we lose. Our only deficiency is depth of teams like West Coast when our best 22 arent available.

our club has a rich history of success, with a only a few low periods. we are in a low period. morale amongst supporters is lower than usual, due to the clubs recent lack of success. most EFC BF fans would not have experienced a real essendon lull, when was the last true one, the 70's?. they are now and dont like it. thats why they are canning the team.

the club needs to have a proper clean out IMO. We will continue in this fashion unless some fundamental changes are made, which includes the coach. we are suffering from a bit of the same old same olds.

our depth is a problem. WCE, Brissie etc have shown that with smart recruiting, you dont need to flounder at the bottom season after season whilst rebuilding. look at their depth. how low did they go? they didnt tank it for draft picks, they recruited well. we need to do the same. i think our recruiting staff and footy dept needs an overhaul. if we continue down this current path, we will not improve remarkable and are at risk of creating a losing mentality. It will take a lot more than a handful of wins to save sheeds job, so he better start making some changes to the team/club to save his behind.

Merv
5 May 2007, 20:59

Thats an unrealistic view imo.

We have not found ourselves out of any game until in the 4th a lot of the time has been more to do with ineptitiude of the opposing team to hurt us on the scoreboard, more than anything we have done.
Collingwood should have beaten us by 10 goals, same as Hawthorn today, Freo by about 4.

You talk about our players out , yet you don't apply the same logic to the teams we have beaten or even teams that have beaten us.

Adelaide had heaps out injured, Freo injured and suspended, carlton beat us from 48 points down, StKilda had half their team out, colingwood had a couple out and although not on the scorebaord absolutley smashed us and the hawks have quite a few out and we kicked quite accurately.

I don't agree with supporters slagging off, especially if they have been praising us in the first few weeks, but you also need to be realistic.

I wouldnt back our best 22 against many others, if any at all tbh

ManWithNoName
5 May 2007, 21:08
So we should accept mediocritcy? On TFS on Thursday Night Matt Maguire said "Thommo and Rod (Butters) have transformed the club over the last few years into a succesful club". This highlights the difference between us and between everyone else. St Kilda calls 2 Prelims "success". We accept a premiership and NOTHING else.

Sam the RAMA fan
5 May 2007, 21:16
Thats an unrealistic view imo.

We have not found ourselves out of any game until in the 4th a lot of the time has been more to do with ineptitude of the opposing team to hurt us on the scoreboard, more than anything we have done.
Collingwood should have beaten us by 10 goals, same as Hawthorn today, Freo by about 4.

You talk about our players out , yet you don't apply the same logic to the teams we have beaten or even teams that have beaten us.

Adelaide had heaps out injured, Freo injured and suspended, Carlton beat us from 48 points down, St.Kilda had half their team out, Collingwood had a couple out and although not on the scoreboard absolutely smashed us and the hawks have quite a few out and we kicked quite accurately.

I don't agree with supporters slagging off, especially if they have been praising us in the first few weeks, but you also need to be realistic.

I wouldn't back our best 22 against many others, if any at all tbh

Very well said.
I agree.

I'm frustrated because I know that they are capable of playing better.
They need to stop pussy-footing around and get a move on.
I honestly thought today could of and would of been a win..
9 day break,J.J,Welsh and Winderlich back would of given them some momentum.
Came out firing,then slowly lost it..then it was over..no coming back.
I love this club..but yes they need to rebuild.
I think this Friday night will be a tough one..Kangaroos are looking good now..

J.Hetfield
5 May 2007, 21:18
Some crucial draft mistakes and lack of opportunity for younger players has cost us..See Lonergan for a great kid getting screwed..

Strike Swiftly
5 May 2007, 22:46
lonergan would have got a run at nearly all the other clubs if he was there. why not sheeds?

kelvin_sheedy
5 May 2007, 23:46
We have a legitimate right to ask questions when things are not going well.

We will not accept mediocrity and we don't want to accept the crap that has been dished out by the club lately.

We have been carried by the superstars of the game for the past few years and some of the holes may be bigger than we think.

adamcf
5 May 2007, 23:51

We will not accept mediocrity and we don't want to accept the crap that has been dished out by the club lately.

We have been carried by the superstars of the game for the past few years and some of the holes may be bigger than we think.

If we accept any of the above as being fine, then we may as well be Richmond supporters. 'Cause if our coach had came out and said that our years will be from 2009-11 then it's a cop out.

We do not accept that sh*t. It's as simple as that.

ant555
6 May 2007, 00:27

"we " is a rather collective term. Some of the "we" have had a bit of an idea how big the holes where for a while now ;)

kelvin_sheedy
6 May 2007, 00:33
"we " is a rather collective term. Some of the "we" have had a bit of an idea how big the holes where for a while now ;)

Holes both on and off the field is what I was referring to... not just playing ability.

ant555
6 May 2007, 00:41
Holes both on and off the field is what I was referring to... not just playing ability.

Yes so , i think most people have been saying there may be a need of change in the coach's box. Given i didnt think we where any chance for the 8 i was prepared to sit back and see what unfolded in the first 12 to 14 weeks before making any final judgments on our coaching staff , that is apart from our ruck coaching which i think is very poor and in need of imediate change.
Just out of interest apart from reading the training reports we produce on Bomber Blitz how much of the off field situation do you know about?
Very easy to make general statements about it without knowing what goes on and how much of it has been restructured in the last 9 months.

Dr Moose
6 May 2007, 00:53
Yes so , i think most people have been saying there may be a need of change in the coach's box. Given i didnt think we where any chance for the 8 i was prepared to sit back and see what unfolded in the first 12 to 14 weeks before making any final judgments on our coaching staff , that is apart from our ruck coaching which i think is very poor and in need of imediate change.
Just out of interest apart from reading the training reports we produce on Bomber Blitz how much of the off field situation do you know about?
Very easy to make general statements about it without knowing what goes on and how much of it has been restructured in the last 9 months.

Ant, I'm the first to admit that's as far as I get.

So what am I missing out on? Are there different training drills being used, or is there a new sports psychologist coming in to the team meetings to liven the boys up? From where I see the game I'd agree that we're a very predictable team to play against, and that pound for pound our boys should be just as talented as any other clubs going around. The speed and spark of Jetta, Davey and Lovett is the only difference I've seen for 2007, so I'd honestly love to get some more insight into the remedies being tossed around off-field.

kelvin_sheedy
6 May 2007, 00:53

Not much.

Know a few players from other clubs and just what I hear around the traps.

Miss_Hawk_Fan
6 May 2007, 01:08
[quote=ant555;7442423]Yes so , i think most people have been saying there may be a need of change in the coach's box. quote]

Look Kevin Sheedy is to football, what Maddona & Micheal jackson is to the music world. They just keep reinventing them selfs. Don't lose faith Sheedy is a man of years of experience and has many tricks up his sleeves. Has proven before he can adapt to changes in modern footy and im sure he will do it again very soon for the bomber.

Sheedy will develope and has an uncanny knack of pulling unknown footballer in to the afl and they seem to go on to have good careers. Keep the faith beside there not many excellent coachs out of contract or new clarko types knocking on a afl clubs door. (yes clarko has yet to tottally prove him self, but the signs are pointing to him getting it right and devloping into a premiership coach if he keeps it up).

ant555
6 May 2007, 01:13
Ant, I'm the first to admit that's as far as I get.

So what am I missing out on? Are there different training drills being used, or is there a new sports psychologist coming in to the team meetings to liven the boys up? From where I see the game I'd agree that we're a very predictable team to play against, and that pound for pound our boys should be just as talented as any other clubs going around. The speed and spark of Jetta, Davey and Lovett is the only difference I've seen for 2007, so I'd honestly love to get some more insight into the remedies being tossed around off-field.

Very different pre season this year. A lot more fitness work and more skilled based work. There have been improvements in both areas but it is a work in progress and we still need more work to be done. The fitness department was expanded at the end of last year with extra people being hired. I have personally heard good reports about one of the guys hired even if others have questioned if we could hire anyone decent. Given the new systems have only been in for 8 months there hasnt been a huge amount of time to see huge returns from it.
The recruiting department has been expanded with more money being spent in that area and Dodoro being moved away from the football department matters and soley into recruiting manager.
Matty Knights and Joe Misiti being used in the development of the 0 to 4 year players. Misiti spends one day a week with the young midfielders while Knights spends a number of sessions during the week with all the young blokes.
The only area left for review is the coaching staff which will be done. We will see what results we get and action will be taken one way or another.Personally i have always leant to going in a new direction coaching wise (since the end of 2005) but have been prepared to see what Sheeds has to offer and let him finish his contract with some sort of respect.
People tend to have Quinn in their sights a fair bit but i know he does always look for new ways to improve the system. Is he the best available well i dont know the answer to that. There is probably just as good or better out there but i dont by into the complaints that he is stuck doing things the same as he was in 2000. Those of us who are in a postion to see the pre season and training over a number of years see the changes in what goes on.
Steps where made by the club at the end of last year to trun things around but the results wont be instant. They will have to be fine tuned and developed over time. We are really only at the start of the road.

Dr Moose
6 May 2007, 01:22
Very different pre season this year. A lot more fitness work and more skilled based work......away from the football department matters and soley into recruiting manager.
Matty Knights and Joe Misiti being used in the development of the 0 to 4 year players. Misiti spends one day a week with the young midfielders while Knights spends a number of sessions during the week with all the young blokes.
The only area left for review is the coaching staff which will be done. We will see what results we get and action will be taken one way or another.Personally i have always leant to going in a new direction coaching wise (since the end of 2005) but have been prepared to see what Sheeds has to offer and let him finish his contract with some sort of respect.
Steps where made by the club at the end of last year to trun things around but the results wont be instant. They will have to be fine tuned and developed over time. We are really only at the start of the road.

Ant, thanks a lot for that. Hope you haven't been compromised:cool:

Really interested to hear about Smokin Joe and Knights. I'd imagine they're trying to emphasise the basics to the lads, but I wouldn't have thought they were the best rovers around. Still, I always reminisce over fellas like Bewick with that thought. Our centre breaks are getting more aggressive, albeit from weak rucking, so I'm hopeful that these systems will deliver results.

phantazy03
6 May 2007, 03:42
ill be the first to admit that there was abit of excitement when we were 3-1 for the season and the last 2 heart breakin weeks have been a big reality check but i have to admit that apart from some form/injury issues and a few problems wit the list i don't understand why everyone still cant see the improvement in the team. i concede that we've lost a few we thought we cood win, but apart from the dropping off around 2/3rd quarter, theres so much to be optimistic about. with jj having an exquiste return, i have seen a difference in the team. our midfield, although not the most formidable in the afl have been having pretty decent games, (except maybe watson), our backline has a new component which has allowed fletch to show us another talent and ryder showing some maturity, our foward line well i dont think much needs to be said there.(Johns---> New Lloyd) i love this team as much as everyone else and know its been a bad few years but i think theres a very long road to finals terrority, but from the looks of davey,jetta and lovett, at least it'll be a very entertaining one!

Keep up the good work at Windy Hill! :D :thumbsu:

Crave
6 May 2007, 11:00
ill be the first to admit that there was abit of excitement when we were 3-1 for the season and the last 2 heart breakin weeks have been a big reality check but i have to admit that apart from some form/injury issues and a few problems wit the list i don't understand why everyone still cant see the improvement in the team. i concede that we've lost a few we thought we cood win, but apart from the dropping off around 2/3rd quarter, theres so much to be optimistic about. with jj having an exquiste return, i have seen a difference in the team. our midfield, although not the most formidable in the afl have been having pretty decent games, (except maybe watson), our backline has a new component which has allowed fletch to show us another talent and ryder showing some maturity, our foward line well i dont think much needs to be said there.(Johns---> New Lloyd) i love this team as much as everyone else and know its been a bad few years but i think theres a very long road to finals terrority, but from the looks of davey,jetta and lovett, at least it'll be a very entertaining one!

Keep up the good work at Windy Hill! :D :thumbsu:

We're still making the same mistakes with our disposal, decision making when choosing options and our deficiencies are still quite obvious...namely the ruck and the same culprits who drift in and out of games within the same quarter.

GmeUP
6 May 2007, 11:09
I still don't undertsand the ridicule, the majority are happy with the cattle we have despite agreeing with others we just arent good enough. We have games vs. Kangaroos, Brisbane and Richmond coming up, the first 2 at the dome and Tigers at the G. If we drop any of those 3 games i'll agree we have a long way to go, but in reality we are a solid chance at going 6-3 after the next 3 games. Even if we do this we will still have members on here that come in and say how shit we are here or there.

kelvin_sheedy
6 May 2007, 11:22
Look Kevin Sheedy is to football, what Maddona & Micheal jackson is to the music world. They just keep reinventing them selfs.

Will Michael Jackson hasn't done anything good since the 80's and Madonna has dished up crap the past few years. :D

adamcf
6 May 2007, 12:59
Sheedy will develope and has an uncanny knack of pulling unknown footballer in to the afl and they seem to go on to have good careers. Keep the faith beside there not many excellent coachs out of contract or new clarko types knocking on a afl clubs door. (yes clarko has yet to tottally prove him self, but the signs are pointing to him getting it right and devloping into a premiership coach if he keeps it up).

What are u smoking? Clarko will never coach your team to a premiership! Your brand of footy will never win one.. as will the way the 'dons currently play.

Miss_Hawk_Fan
6 May 2007, 13:05
What are u smoking? Clarko will never coach your team to a premiership! Your brand of footy will never win one.. as will the way the 'dons currently play.

Last night was a good display, i wasn't a fan of the defensive style, but i can see the attacking side to his game. Very much like Port Powers style of play and theyve won a premiership! Clarko seems to be heading in the right direction and if we had of nailed our shot at goals we wouldn't of beat you, we would of flogged you!

ManWithNoName
6 May 2007, 13:07
Do everyone here a favour and stop posting.

Miss_Hawk_Fan
6 May 2007, 13:15
Will Michael Jackson hasn't done anything good since the 80's and Madonna has dished up crap the past few years. :D

Well actually Micheal Jackson last release was in 2004

Cheater" (Promo)from the album The Ultimate Collection (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Jackson:_The_Ultimate_Collection)http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/a/a6/Cheater_%28Michael_Jackson%29.jpg/100px-Cheater_%28Michael_Jackson%29.jpg (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Cheater_%28Michael_Jackson%29.jpg)Released2004LabelEpi c Records

and you may think Maddonas music is crap, but if you could make money by selling crap, i don't think you pass up the oppertunity now would you!

lol..... What are you trying to say about sheedy? That his best error was in the 80's and since then he has dished up nothing but crap? :p

:D its all good, im just stiring!

Jimmy Gwilt
6 May 2007, 14:18

FKN DITTO