View Full Version : CArlton should play at MCG

subs
6 May 2007, 11:46
Gday,

just an observation.

with fevola a very important player in the carlton outfit.

the Telstra dome is doing him no favours. It appears that Teams are able to flood back and get in his space.

Whether its the size of the ground i dont know.

But i reckon if carlton were playing more at the MCG it would suit carltons set up.

theres more space at the MCG and i think suits cartlons style of play more than telstra dome. Last 2 games there, cartlon has tried to play hi tempo football, and it brings more mistakes into there game.

MCG more space, more fev..

any thoughts?

a1118374
6 May 2007, 12:22
sounds about right but weve lost so much its hard to analyse. of our few wins it seems most are at mcg or rather not telstra

funhouse
6 May 2007, 12:37
I completely agree.
Not only is the MCG a better ground than Telstra Dome (as in the surface and its much better from the fans perspective), but Fevola does play much better there then he does at the Dome.
There is a reason why we keep losing at the Dome and its because the only player that we rely on to win a game doesnt get enough space.

AndyWalkersGirl
6 May 2007, 13:40
Disagree. We should be able to play at any ground.

We're pathetic if we start blaming the ground for our performances.

A good team can adapt to any situation, and we are not capable of doing this yet. Our game plan, or lack of it, the way our team is structure, the inexperience of our players, the lack of confidence, the lack of team work... all these things will improve and we will be able to play well at any ground.

We are just a year off that at the moment.

16 Premierships
6 May 2007, 14:35
Gday,

just an observation.

the Telstra dome is doing him no favours. It appears that Teams are able to flood back and get in his space.

But i reckon if carlton were playing more at the MCG it would suit carltons set up.

theres more space at the MCG and i think suits cartlons style of play more than telstra dome. Last 2 games there, cartlon has tried to play hi tempo football, and it brings more mistakes into there game.

any thoughts?
You have nailed it , Flood is killing us need to play more man on man stuff .and MCG suits carltons style.:thumbsu:

bakerboy
6 May 2007, 14:38
Very good call in the sterile enviroment at the dome if your skills are no good you get hurt.The young blues turn it over far too easy,they need more patience on some occasions.

Enso
6 May 2007, 15:58
Carlton have played best at the MCG than any other ground over the last few years.

Unfortunately, the team that dominates the midfield wins the game at telstra dome, and that hasnt been us since the stadium opened.

truebluenavyblues
6 May 2007, 22:54
Gday,

just an observation.

any thoughts?

yeah i agree and it will also give alot more room for our runners like murphy and simpson and those kind of guys so i agree definitely

Blues_Man
7 May 2007, 13:56
Absolutely !! The MCG is a ground we play very well ..Telstra dome is a crap venue with a crap playing field .

Chodders
7 May 2007, 14:01
A lot of good points made in this Thread. Once we become more skillful we will play the dome better.

The 'g' has a lot more open spaces and is more condusive to one on one footy which we have been playing well. We are a good chance against the pies this week.

audas
7 May 2007, 14:02
Disagree. We should be able to play at any ground.

We're pathetic if we start blaming the ground for our performances.

A good team can adapt to any situation, and we are not capable of doing this yet. Our game plan, or lack of it, the way our team is structure, the inexperience of our players, the lack of confidence, the lack of team work... all these things will improve and we will be able to play well at any ground.

We are just a year off that at the moment.

What does one say. Confidence is all.

Don't quite agree that there isnt a factor in what is being said as this is a coaching issue whish needs to be addressed, however, dam straight, we can do, and shoul,do what we can.

Stay the course.

NWTYRX
7 May 2007, 14:30
TD Record (since Rd 10 2005): 3-15
MCG Record (since Rd 10 2005): 4-9-1