View Full Version : New Coach
essendonflag07
9 May 2007, 11:53
Ok their is about a 50 % chance Sheedy wont be back next year.
Im just wondering (if he does go) who would the best man to take his job?
thoughts please.:)
Big Scottknowsall
9 May 2007, 12:19
Ok their is about a 50 % chance Sheedy wont be back next year.
Im just wondering (if he does go) who would the best man to take his job?
thoughts please.:)
Mark Harvey / Gary O'Odenell
But, Sheedy will coach next year - and for another 3
There are many contenders, but i would prefer an non Essendon person
I would assume Longmire would be high on most peoples lists and more from left field i would think Bond or McKenna would be in with some chance
Strike Swiftly
9 May 2007, 12:32
I would assume Longmire would be high on most peoples lists and more from left field i would think Bond or McKenna would be in with some chance
I agree. Non essendon would be best. i think it brings a fresh approach to the club. mckenna has done a fair apprenticeship and so has longmire. My left field would be michael voss. i reckon he would make a ripper of a coach.
I think a lot of people are getting sucked in to Voss.
He was a champion player (not always the best coaches) and although he is impressive as a commentator and knows his stuff, it is an entirely different situation being the head coach of an AFL team.
I would love to have him as an assistant coach, but not as the main man, until he has done an apprenticeship
nesski47
9 May 2007, 12:57
how bout harvs. didn't he leave to get a more rounded coaching experience?
http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/1227/sheedsfuturead4.jpg
Don't forget Hardwick- current assistant at Hawthorn, dual premiership player. :thumbsu:
bring it on
9 May 2007, 14:11
i hate to say it but i recon gary aryes will... since he is assistant now
Don't forget Hardwick- current assistant at Hawthorn, dual premiership player. :thumbsu:
The sky must be falling becasue we finally agree on something :p
essendonflag07
9 May 2007, 14:13
i honestly doubt it he has had to many chances
essendonflag07
9 May 2007, 14:14
The sky must be falling becasue we finally agree on something :p
hay ant are you the same feller i speak to on bomber blitz??
Originally Posted by Merv Neagle
Refer my quote
Merv Neagle
Way to early atm to speculate on Sheedy's future. I'll wait till about rd 15 and see what sort of shape we're in as a team.
But when I do think of replacements,I now lean way over to the Gary O'Donnell possibility. The way he controls the training sessions and the commanding voice he booms out across Windy Hill is very impressive.
He looks and sounds just like a senior coach already imo and don't be surprised if other clubs come knocking on his door torwards the end of the season, tempting him will an offer.
The EFC board might well find themselves in a sticky situation come years end,when they will probably have to choose between Sheedy and Gazza as the coach to take us into the future with all these young new players.
If we bottom out,it will be more likely that Sheeds will go. If we finish the year strong and make 8th 0r 7th,the board might be tempted to risk another 3 years because they will have loads of confidence in KS.
O'Donnell is an ex-champion Premiership player,an ex-captain of the club and has been involved with one of the all time best teams in history at Brisbane.
He's gotta be the one....if Sheedy goes.
Mark Harvey's destiny is to coach Freo. All the Fremantle supporters I talk to over here are screaming for Halvs to take over from CC. I predict a mighty fall for the Dockers in the next 6 weeks. This will destroy their finals push and spell the end for Chris Connolly. It will pave the way for Harvey's appointment and end any thoughts of the great Bomber coming back to Windy Hill to coach.
But who knows,I could be wrong.....if I was betting on it,I'd have my money on Sheedy staying.
Mighty Reds
9 May 2007, 16:14
Dean Rioli. :thumbsu: :D
BigBoPBope
9 May 2007, 17:19
Hopefully not neale daniher or gary ayers, prefer someone non- essendon like guy mckenna(collingwood), or someone who has been an assistant coach at another club for a 2-3 years, maybe a John Longmire even?
donsman4eva
9 May 2007, 19:02
OK, Longmire seems to be the 'obvious' choice, but i think Guy McKenna or Chris Bond would be better. McKenna would hopefully bring some toughness to the club and get the guys motivated.
if mckenna wants the job better keep out of my pokie venue :D:D
donsman4eva
9 May 2007, 21:35
Also just thinkin of another candidate, but it will never eventuate. Mark Bickley. I wouldnt think he would give up his role in the media, but he might be the guy we r looking 4. He is knowledgable, was a great leader as a player and I think he would be an excellent coach. Just need to prise him away from channel 9!
BurnleyBomber
9 May 2007, 22:06
You guys have got to be kidding. Gary O'Donnell was an assistant coach at Brisbane between 1999 and 2004. He was an intregral part of that Premiership winning coaching team. He's also been assistant coach at Essendon since '05, so if anyone is qualified to be Sheedy's successor it's O'Donnell. He's been an assistnat coach for 9 years now, is that not long enough?
Also just thinkin of another candidate, but it will never eventuate. Mark Bickley. I wouldnt think he would give up his role in the media, but he might be the guy we r looking 4. He is knowledgable, was a great leader as a player and I think he would be an excellent coach. Just need to prise him away from channel 9!
Very left on center, but i have to say i always rated him as a player and leader.
Could do a hell of a lot worse........
You guys have got to be kidding. Gary O'Donnell was an assistant coach at Brisbane between 1999 and 2004. He was an intregral part of that Premiership winning coaching team. He's also been assistant coach at Essendon since '05, so if anyone is qualified to be Sheedy's successor it's O'Donnell. He's beena an assistnat coach for 9 years now, is that not long enough?
Some of us would prefer a non Essendon person.
BurnleyBomber
9 May 2007, 22:13
Some of us would prefer a non Essendon person.
He was at Brisbane for 6 years. Just because he played at Essendon shouldn't make a difference. He learned from the most successful and probably still the best coach today in Matthews. Please explain to me why this is a bad idea?
Because he has spent the majority of his career at Essendon.
I doub't anyone would question his credentials, but i, and many others, would like a fresh new non Essendon POV
donsman4eva
9 May 2007, 22:38
GO'D would be a better option for Essendon than Mark Harvey, but we should steer clear of both IMO.
Longy413
9 May 2007, 22:40
Dean Rioli. :thumbsu: :D
He's doing a cracking job at Keilor Park
You guys have got to be kidding. Gary O'Donnell was an assistant coach at Brisbane between 1999 and 2004. He was an intregral part of that Premiership winning coaching team. He's also been assistant coach at Essendon since '05, so if anyone is qualified to be Sheedy's successor it's O'Donnell. He's been an assistnat coach for 9 years now, is that not long enough?
It isn't if he doesn't want the gig...
bOmBeR_BoY1
9 May 2007, 23:44
One thing is for sure, it's going to be the most hotly contested coaching positions in many years... forgetting the current question marks over the state of our list, it would be a mouth watering job for most to coach one of the AFL powerhouses, especially considering the position hasn't been open for discussion in the past 26 years.
Gary O'Donnell, Mark Harvey, Neale Daniher, Mark Thompson, Gary Ayres are the five obvious candidates that stand out to me. Dosn't mean anything though - they could be totally abstract and pick someone from left field.
If you are looking for someone from left field ...Perhaps Chris Connolly ! If he does get the boot from Freo, he can demonstrate experience, can sell the club a la Sheedy and lives, eats and breathes footy.
Just a thought !
stander
10 May 2007, 14:26
If you are looking for someone from left field ...Perhaps Chris Connolly ! If he does get the boot from Freo, he can demonstrate experience, can sell the club a la Sheedy and lives, eats and breathes footy.
Just a thought !
The dons have tried quite a few reject players over the years which we have regretted, we don't need a reject coach at the helm, after Sheedy.
Harvey would be a better option than Conolly, but not the best.
Eagles 4 Mine
10 May 2007, 15:06
Gee wiz I feel sorry for you guys if Ayres gets the possie if Sheeds vacates.:eek:
Personally, I hope Sheeds stays on for another term as he has been amazing for the fortunes of our great club, not to mention football in general. However, should he not coach us next year another name that should be thrown into the mix is that of Michael Voss. Tough, like Sheedy, tenacious, like Sheedy, young, like Sheedy was when he took us over etc. I just think he's a strong chance.
GoldenboyHird_5
10 May 2007, 16:13
You guys are all joking!!!!
SHeeds has to stay. He's got guys like Monfries and Stanton who will be great players.
The guy to get rid of is Adrian Dodoro. He's drafted blokes like Bolton, Bradley and Laycock, all first round picks.
Only Ryder has been alright.
We should be picking midfielders like J. Selwood. Nothing against Gumby but we need skillful midders who wont turn the damn thing over.
You guys are all joking!!!!
SHeeds has to stay. He's got guys like Monfries and Stanton who will be great players.
The guy to get rid of is Adrian Dodoro. He's drafted blokes like Bolton, Bradley and Laycock, all first round picks.
Only Ryder has been alright.
We should be picking midfielders like J. Selwood. Nothing against Gumby but we need skillful midders who wont turn the damn thing over.
Facts!!! He wasnt around to draft Bolton ;) and why is it Sheedy got Monfries and Stanton but Dodoro is responible for everyone else. Dodoro was in charge of recruiting for Monfries and Stanton.
Selwood07
10 May 2007, 16:50
Bomber Thompson?
He's done all that he can do at Kardinia Park.
Philzsay
10 May 2007, 17:07
Philzsay is more than willing to put his hand up for the job :D
Somehow I think I will be overlooked...:eek:
Bomber Thompson?
He's done all that he can do at Kardinia Park.
and it ain't much
don4eva
10 May 2007, 17:59
We've got Houli, Lonergan, Hislop, Jetta and Davey from the past couple of years.
If we went for Selwood, who would kick most of our goals in the future?
Not to mention that Gumbleton was our only KPP selection last year. The rest, you should know, were midfielders.
I don't want Sheedy to go and I hope he hangs around for a while yet but if he was to go, I would want Neale Daniher.
Daniher's efforts at Melbourne haven't really been recognised for what they are by the media and the football public. To get that side to the finals as many times as he has is an achievment in itself considering the list he's had to deal with over there.
Daniher is everything an Essendon coach should be; supremely confident, a bit strange and an innovator. Daniher's innovation with tactics has got something out of nothing with Melbourne and was the core reason for the 1993 Grand Final victory.
Other candidates don't seem quite right to me. Gary O'Donnell is a good communicator but from what I've seen he's not the best with tactics. Mark Harvey seems solid but he seems to lack a bit of jazz, that being a risk taking mentality and innovative approach. Others like Longmire, Bond, McKenna et al just don't seem right, they're not Essendon.
I don't want Sheedy to go and I hope he hangs around for a while yet but if he was to go, I would want Neale Daniher.
Daniher's efforts at Melbourne haven't really been recognised for what they are by the media and the football public. To get that side to the finals as many times as he has is an achievment in itself considering the list he's had to deal with over there.
Daniher is everything an Essendon coach should be; supremely confident, a bit strange and an innovator. Daniher's innovation with tactics has got something out of nothing with Melbourne and was the core reason for the 1993 Grand Final victory.
Other candidates don't seem quite right to me. Gary O'Donnell is a good communicator but from what I've seen he's not the best with tactics. Mark Harvey seems solid but he seems to lack a bit of jazz, that being a risk taking mentality and innovative approach. Others like Longmire, Bond, McKenna et al just don't seem right, they're not Essendon.
Daniher's innovation with tactics has got something out of nothing with Melbourne and was the core reason for the 1993 Grand Final victory.
WTF?
Others like Longmire, Bond, McKenna et al just don't seem right, they're not Essendon.
Exactly why they should be considered
WTF?
It was Daniher that plotted the demise of Carlton's midfield, the main reason why we won that game.
Exactly why they should be considered
It seems to me that that's the only reason you won't them. Sure, they bring somethign from anotyher club's point of view but each of them seem to be missing the criteria of an Essendon coach, a criteria that's been pretty effective.
Longmire, Bond, McKenna seem to lack the charisma, the voice and genral influence. I don't feel they would be bringing anything revolutionary like I feel Daniher has the potential of doing.
There's no point getting a coach on the simple basis that they haven't been associated with Essendon. There's no reason why someone associated with the club wouldn't work.
It's about selecting the best man for the job and for me that's Daniher.
However, I don't wnat Sheedy to go becuase I feel he' the best man for the job.
Longy413
10 May 2007, 21:55
It was Daniher that plotted the demise of Carlton's midfield, the main reason why we won that game.
I thought Dave Wheadon was credited for that...
My sources tell me otherwise
Longy413
10 May 2007, 22:50
My sources tell me otherwise
Fair enough...
The demise of Carlton's midfield came when they put Mark Athorn on Michael Long.
That was enough, nothing we did mattered from then.
Fair enough...
The demise of Carlton's midfield came when they put Mark Athorn on Michael Long.
That was enough, nothing we did mattered from then.
Athorn on Long was a disaster, but the way Longy played that day I find it hard to think of anyone that could have stopped him. Great memories. His second half in the Prelim wasn't half bad either.
Thinking of that makes it hard to swallow Longy missing '94, it's hard to imagine just how good he would've been.
Daniher was apparently credited with discovering the secrets to Carlton's centre clearances, when they were dominant at it, at least according to Tim Watson's book on Kevin Sheedy.
People seem to be overlooking the obvious: Matthew Knights.
Said it as soon as he joined Bendigo as the coach that he will be the next Essendon coach and I still believe it today...
rusty14
11 May 2007, 12:13
I cant see Sheedy getting sacked after all his years of service towards the club and the game itself, he should be giving the pleasure of leaving on his own stead.
Because we are having a rough trott it is very easy to jump on the "SACK THE COACH" bandwagon but realistically i still think he has the smarts, and i also still think he is still the best coach in the league with a young list that is just starting to show its true potential.
It seems to me that that's the only reason you won't them. Sure, they bring somethign from anotyher club's point of view but each of them seem to be missing the criteria of an Essendon coach, a criteria that's been pretty effective.
Longmire, Bond, McKenna seem to lack the charisma, the voice and genral influence. I don't feel they would be bringing anything revolutionary like I feel Daniher has the potential of doing.
There's no point getting a coach on the simple basis that they haven't been associated with Essendon. There's no reason why someone associated with the club wouldn't work.
It's about selecting the best man for the job and for me that's Daniher.
However, I don't wnat Sheedy to go becuase I feel he' the best man for the job.
Daniher was one of many cogs in the machine that won the 93 GF.
The biggest cog being the players.
I Don't want those coaches(and i actually don't know who i want yet) just because they are NON Essendon.
They each have their own very good reasons why they should be considered,
We also have Essendon people that also have very good credentials, but at the end of the day i would prefer a NON Essendon person as i want a new approach, and a new voice......
I cant see Sheedy getting sacked after all his years of service towards the club and the game itself, he should be giving the pleasure of leaving on his own stead.
Because we are having a rough trott it is very easy to jump on the "SACK THE COACH" bandwagon but realistically i still think he has the smarts, and i also still think he is still the best coach in the league with a young list that is just starting to show its true potential.
The list is not that young, but it MAY be at the end of the season
BigBoPBope
12 May 2007, 03:58
Sheedy's time is up, Personally I hope he not coaching essendon in 2008, we need some fresh blood, new ideas and someone who has been an assiatant coach at another club, possibly been out of the game for a few years and hasn't been connected to the essendon football club previously.
stompie
12 May 2007, 10:06
I'd say time has really caught up with Sheeds. One of the problems is that like most old people, he tends to put ideology before new ways of doing things. His rantings against flooding were the classic "In my day things were better…I wont be changing…" I actually remember that when he first came on the scene he introduced a lot of tagging, and people criticised him for it. He didn't care. He just wanted to win games.
Another problem is that he hasn't really adapted to the modern game. He is still trying to throw forwards back, and backs forward as he did 20 years ago. Although that worked brilliantly in the semi-professional era, I think player skills are now so refined that it is no longer possible for players to keep being shifted around, and the team remaining in balance.
I also think the marketing department, in conjunction with Sheedy, need to take some responsibility to selling the brand at the expense of developing the players. They keep trying to build up the profile of the players, and generate excitement. Although that is very good for getting Essendon exposure, and new members, it also glosses over player deficiencies so that they don't get remedied. So for years we've had Sheedy saying that Essendon is going to have the best ruck stocks in the league, when clearly the likes of Laycock still have much work to do, but just doesn't seem to be doing it. A similar problem is emerging with Ryder. He looks good, but he has a long way to go, and it would be better for him to build his reputation by his actions on the field, not by what the marketing department or Sheedy says he will do one day.