10 May 2007, 18:37
Just ins and outs so far, but it bodes well for us:D
Out: Cox
In: Chad Fletcher, Mitch Brown, Mitch Morton, Eric Mackenzie
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Toshowyouwhy
10 May 2007, 18:38
What about embley. saw this morning he was 50-50. Any news
Won't only 1 of those IN's actually play though?
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 18:40
What about embley. saw this morning he was 50-50. Any news
Nothing yet, but the squad should be up soon, we'll know more then...
bzparkes
10 May 2007, 18:41
I would think Brown will be the likely one to coome in so he can cover for whomever will go in the ruck with Seabs.
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 18:42
Won't only 1 of those IN's actually play though?
Yeah, but the fact that Cox is out means we realistically have either a first gamer in MacKenzie or McKinley coming in, or bringing back Mitch Brown.
Either way, I'm excited:D
Toshowyouwhy
10 May 2007, 18:42
I would think Brown will be the likely one to coome in so he can cover for whomever will go in the ruck with Seabs.
Give fletch a go. Id like to see what he can do. Worse comes to worse give the big Q a crack in ruck
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 18:44
Give fletch a go. Id like to see what he can do. Worse comes to worse give the big Q a crack in ruck
Nah, I think we need another defensive tall against Geelong's forward line. Too bad Graham's injured...
That'd be McKenzie then ?
http://westcoasteagles.com.au/TheClub/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/7302/playerId/15320/teamId/35/typeId/2/Default.aspx
Toshowyouwhy
10 May 2007, 18:46
That'd be McKenzie then ?
Due to living in Qld u dont hear much on second teir eagles. Whats this bloke like
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 18:49
Due to living in Qld u dont hear much on second teir eagles. Whats this bloke like
Doing great in the WAFL, but playing mainly as a defensive wingman. Tall, agile with a great footy brain. Never panics and has great disposal:thumbsu:
Although, Brown's been doing well defensively in the WAFL lately too, so it might be him playing instead...
Toshowyouwhy
10 May 2007, 18:51
Doing great in the WAFL, but playing mainly as a defensive wingman. Tall, agile with a great footy brain. Never panics and has great disposal:thumbsu:
Although, Brown's been doing well defensively in the WAFL lately too, so it might be him playing instead...
sounds good. At least give him a crack. Who knows, could be the next big thing
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 18:53
sounds good. At least give him a crack. Who knows, could be the next big thing
Yeah, was gonna be our first round pick in most people's opinion from last year's draft. Can't believe he lasted until pick 29, will be a gun:thumbsu:
Toshowyouwhy
10 May 2007, 18:59
See thats why i joined this thing. To learn lol
my opinion is with cox out ottens will dominate the ruck and that will seriously sway the influence of judd and kerr and raise our midfield up to your level
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 19:12
my opinion is with cox out ottens will dominate the ruck and that will seriously sway the influence of judd and kerr and raise our midfield up to your level
Seaby is up to the task:thumbsu:
midorigreenwood
10 May 2007, 19:16
its good to see morton back in the mix again....encouraging signs for mackenzie too.
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 19:23
GEELONG
B: Mackie, Scarlett, Enright
HB: D.Johnson, Egan, Milburn
C: Wojcinski, Bartel, Kelly
HF: Hawkins, N.Ablett, S.Johnson
F: G.Ablett, Mooney, Varcoe
FOLL: Ottens, Corey, Ling
I/C from: Blake, Tenace, Selwood, Prismall, Playfair, Byrnes, Stokes
IN: Prismall, Playfair, Byrnes, Stokes
OUT: Chapman (hamstring)
WEST COAST
B: Wirrpanda, Glass, Staker
HB: Waters, Hunter, Selwood
C: Hurn, Priddis, Braun
HF: Stenglein, Hansen, Chick
F: Armstrong, Lynch, R.Jones
FOLL: Seaby, Judd, Kerr
I/C from: Rosa, B.Jones, LeCras, Fletcher, Morton, Mackenzie, Brown
IN: Fletcher, Morton, Mackenzie, Brown
OUT: Cox (back)
nibbles
10 May 2007, 19:23
those ins look very exciting - our future stars look ready to rock, but i think fletcher would be a 99% shoo-in considering the toughness of the assignment, especially at skilled - i have been wrong before though...
brown could be a good inclusion given his versatility forward, back and in the ruck - while a mackenzie / hawkins duel is a tantalising (read: drool-worthy) prospect - if morton were to be included ahead of fletcher, you'd think it would be a pretty big slap in the face for him - though i wouldn't be opposed to it
hmmmm... the waiting begins
West Coast 06
10 May 2007, 19:41
my opinion is with cox out ottens will dominate the ruck and that will seriously sway the influence of judd and kerr and raise our midfield up to your levelSeaby steps up when Cox is out. Remember we didn't have Cox against Sydney or Collingwood either and we won those games.
Judd and Kerr will shark Ottens taps anyway, it will take more than Cox out to stop those two!:D
tin can sam
10 May 2007, 19:53
Seaby is up to the task:thumbsu:
no, he's not.
But I still think West Coast will dominate the clearances.
im just hoping woosha under estimates the ottens/blake ruck combination as much as the supporters do
Would love to see one of the younger guys get a run.
Particularly Morts
larrikin
10 May 2007, 20:02
The way they trained (doing their special clearance training yesterday) Fletcher will definitely play. He was in a group with Seaby, Judd, Kerr, Stenglein, and R. Jones working on set plays from boundary throw ups and ball ins.
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 20:03
im just hoping woosha under estimates the ottens/blake ruck combination as much as the supporters do
I'm not underestimating Ottens or Blake.
How many times have you seen Seaby in action when Cox is out? Because he's beaten every 1st class ruckman he's faced in those situations:thumbsu:
Stereophonic
10 May 2007, 20:03
I live in QLD too. McKenzie should be good to watch, so to Morton. Hes debuting too if Im right, his only other games were practice games I thought, but I could be wrong.
How come we never replace Cox with another ruckmen. How fit must Seaby be to ruck all game in Cox's absence, or does he sit behind the play? Anyone???
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 20:06
I live in QLD too. McKenzie should be good to watch, so to Morton. Hes debuting too if Im right, his only other games were practice games I thought, but I could be wrong.
How come we never replace Cox with another ruckmen. How fit must Seaby be to ruck all game in Cox's absence, or does he sit behind the play? Anyone???
We don't have another ruckman on our list(Spaanderman is Rookie listed).
However, Seaby is very fit, while Staker and Lynch can pinch hit in the ruck when needed.
The way they trained (doing their special clearance training yesterday) Fletcher will definitely play. He was in a group with Seaby, Judd, Kerr, Stenglein, and R. Jones working on set plays from boundary throw ups and ball ins.
They're stupid if they bring Fletcher in. We're too short as it is, especially down back compared to Geelong, and our midfield is running well, so why would they bring Fletch in?:confused:
FiveStrings
10 May 2007, 20:08
Morton's played a handful of games. It would be McKenzie's first game but I think he'll miss out.
We don't pick another ruckman because we haven't got one. Spaanderman is the only one, but he's on the rookie list and he isn't even the #1 ruckman at his WAFL club (and he's being beaten by Zach Beeck of all people)
RhEF JC
10 May 2007, 20:09
our only back up ruckman is spaanderman and he's
a) on the rookie list; and
b) not up to AFL standard
dont get me wrong i rate seaby as a very good ruckman, but ottens and blake are in great form at the moment and i think cox would be a far greater option to stop their confidence from growing through out the game
RhEF JC
10 May 2007, 20:11
Morton's played a handful of games. It would be McKenzie's first game but I think he'll miss out.
We don't pick another ruckman because we haven't got one. Spaanderman is the only one, but he's on the rookie list and he isn't even the #1 ruckman at his WAFL club (and he's being beaten by Zach Beeck of all people)
Oh well, so much for me. Beat me to it. Touche :thumbsu:
larrikin
They're stupid if they bring Fletcher in. We're too short as it is, especially down back compared to Geelong, and our midfield is running well, so why would they bring Fletch in?:confused:
I think there will be more than 1 change...
EagleMan87
dont get me wrong i rate seaby as a very good ruckman, but ottens and blake are in great form at the moment and i think cox would be a far greater option to stop their confidence from growing through out the game
No doubt, but I have confidence that Seaby can at least break even with Ottens/Blake:thumbsu:
Well, if Cox was fit, he would be picked. We can't play an injured bloke.
FiveStrings
10 May 2007, 20:12
I can see him coming in for LeCras.
Down back, I'm confident Glass, Hunter, Staker, Bones and Waters can match up well on Mooney, Hawkins, Nablett, Johnson and Varcoe. Bunnings will get Gablett and Wirra will play forward. Brown (or possibly MacKenzie) can help out if needed.
FiveStrings
10 May 2007, 20:13
Oh well, so much for me. Beat me to it. Touche :thumbsu:
And Eagleman87 beat me to it :o
EagleMan87
10 May 2007, 20:13
Maybe Embley coming in?:confused:
RhEF JC
10 May 2007, 20:15
good point, lecras is a real possibility to come out as well...possibly even Rosa
FiveStrings
10 May 2007, 20:15
Yes, our All Australian ruckman would be a great option.
But Seaby on his own, with a bit of pinch hitting from Lynch or Staker, can at least break even. He did bloody well against Jolly and Everitt in round 1.
RhEF JC
10 May 2007, 20:18
GEELONG
B: Mackie, Scarlett, Enright
HB: D.Johnson, Egan, Milburn
C: Wojcinski, Bartel, Kelly
HF: Hawkins, N.Ablett, S.Johnson
F: G.Ablett, Mooney, Varcoe
FOLL: Ottens, Corey, Ling
I/C from: Blake, Tenace, Selwood, Prismall, Playfair, Byrnes, Stokes
IN: Prismall, Playfair, Byrnes, Stokes
OUT: Chapman (hamstring)
WEST COAST
B: Wirrpanda, Glass, Staker
HB: Waters, Hunter, Selwood
C: Hurn, Priddis, Braun
HF: Stenglein, Hansen, Chick
F: Armstrong, Lynch, R.Jones
FOLL: Seaby, Judd, Kerr
I/C from: Rosa, B.Jones, LeCras, Fletcher, Morton, Mackenzie, Brown
IN: Fletcher, Morton, Mackenzie, Brown
OUT: Cox (back)
It may not count for much, but seeing Hurn named on the wing is exciting!
hank_Bulger99
10 May 2007, 20:20
Priddis forward?
good move not playing guys that arent 100% fit
even if it means we drop a game keep the squad fit for the whole season is far more important....
Genesis67
10 May 2007, 23:26
It may not count for much, but seeing Hurn named on the wing is exciting!
Aye.
Seaby taps, Judd sharks, Kerr clears to the wing, Hurn shoots on goal.
Footy can be a simple game sometimes... :thumbsu:
PS Bring McKenzie in Woosh! We're all dying to see him in the blue and gold!
no, he's not.
But I still think West Coast will dominate the clearances.
Yes, he is.
Underestimate him at yoour own peril, Seaby is a very good ruckmen when left to do the rucking on his own.
Why he doesnt when Cox is playing will forever be a mystery but Ottens and Blake will have big day in front of them.
Cant wait.
larrikin
10 May 2007, 23:51
Priddis forward?
Priddis was with a group of forwards and backs, but so were guys like Rosa....
larrikin
10 May 2007, 23:57
Seaby taps, Judd sharks, Kerr clears to the wing, Hurn shoots on goal.
It was funny, after one of the drills the players were jogging in from all over the ground to the half forward flank. One of the coaches chucked Hurn the ball and he wallopped a torp at goal from at least 75 out on the angle off about a step and a half. It sailed through the goals and hit the fence on the full.
I honestly wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it with my own eyes. The funniest part was his reaction, along with the other players. It was so casual it was rediculous. I think Kerry gave him a bit of a hand slap and that was about it. Just like it was the norm...
My guess is that Brown will play with Hansen and/or Brown taking the full-forward spot when Lynch goes into the ruck. Staker will play back and take the ruck work in the backlinewhen Seaby is rested.
Does anyone else share my suspicion that Fletcher is on the outer re Las Vegas?
Yes.
If he is, what does he have to do to get back in? or is it a time based thing ie not playing till week 10 or something like that.
Cant guess.
The Eagles will decide soon enough.
He might even play this weekend yet, we dont know.
larrikin
11 May 2007, 00:31
My guess is that Brown will play with Hansen and/or Brown taking the full-forward spot when Lynch goes into the ruck. Staker will play back and take the ruck work in the backlinewhen Seaby is rested.
Nope
I think he isn't as essential to the team as Judd/Kerr, and others have been very good. The timing of his injury meant he was always going to work his way back in.
You would've thought Kerr would've burnt more bridges than Fletch.
Lynch takes a mark
11 May 2007, 02:23
It was funny, after one of the drills the players were jogging in from all over the ground to the half forward flank. One of the coaches chucked Hurn the ball and he wallopped a torp at goal from at least 75 out on the angle off about a step and a half. It sailed through the goals and hit the fence on the full.
I honestly wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it with my own eyes. The funniest part was his reaction, along with the other players. It was so casual it was rediculous. I think Kerry gave him a bit of a hand slap and that was about it. Just like it was the norm...
Dead set Freak
seen him launch drop punts after the coach breaks them up in the middle of ground that split the middle every time like it's nothing
If any player on our list bar Kerr is a future brownlow medallist it's going to be Hurn.
50 Games experience and 3 full pre seasons and he will be talked about with Kerr Judd and Cousins.
daddy_4_eyes
11 May 2007, 09:40
If any player on our list bar Kerr is a future brownlow medallist it's going to be Hurn.
Because he can kick long?
Lynch takes a mark
11 May 2007, 10:17
Because he can kick long?
don't give me that shit
His impact on the game even for a 10 gamer is very very good. Increased fitness and routinely getting into that high gear will see his impact increase again.
Breaking tackles, Those Runs through the middle of the ground and kicking goals from 70, Strength in the packs, endlessly setting up team mates all over the ground with the kicking.
For what he has shown at 19 has me convinced of his upside, which is HUGE.
Buckley is ripped
11 May 2007, 10:22
what are the chances of brown fying over with the team ???
news here is that he has been very unlucky to not be playing! had a great preseason !!
sydney eagle
11 May 2007, 11:01
don't give me that shit
His impact on the game even for a 10 gamer is very very good. Increased fitness and routinely getting into that high gear will see his impact increase again.
Breaking tackles, Those Runs through the middle of the ground and kicking goals from 70, Strength in the packs, endlessly setting up team mates all over the ground with the kicking.
For what he has shown at 19 has me convinced of his upside, which is HUGE. He has certainly shown something in the games that he has played but I think the club is doing the right thing by bringing him (and other young players) along a bit slowly. Matt Rosa and Mark LeCras, taken the year before Hurn are only just starting to have an impact this season.
Shame about Cox. Im guessing this is more a caution then anything. If the Grand Final was on Sunday you could bet ya bottom dollar he would be playing. As far as changes go. Fletcher and Brown should be the 2 ins I think with LeCras and Cox out.
RhEF JC
11 May 2007, 12:28
don't give me that shit
For what he has shown at 19 has me convinced of his upside, which is HUGE.
I have nothing to add, but I thought I'd register my agreement to the above sentiments so that d4e would realise you're not alone in your faith. He is going to be a super talent.
...and when will people recognise that the greatness of his kicking isn't limited to distance? He's a super kick over 30 metres too.
Hurns ability to break tackles is what impresses me the most. Moreso than his kicking
rusty14
11 May 2007, 12:38
To be honest im not sure the Chad is as good as a young bloke by the name of Matt Priddis, id rather priddis in my team any day over fletcher, i think Priddis has the right head on his shoulders to play for the eagles. He doesnt want to do anything but play footy.
I tend to go along with that.
While there may be some undisclosed reasons for not giving Fletch a game, I'm not so sure Fletch is actually as good as many think. Fletch has enjoyed the freedom given to him by opposing teams tagging and even double tagging Judd, Kerr, Cousins.
That's not knocking him, just an opinion.
Scotland
11 May 2007, 13:59
All conspiracy theories aside, Fletcher's value to the team is directly dependent on fitness. He is a small midfielder not noted for aggressive in and under work or lightning pace. When he was in our top few, he was running all day picking up 30 plus possessions on a regular basis. He was often running back to provide a loose player in defence, often picking up uncontested touches etc. but that was his role, and he did it well.
Last year after an interrupted pre-season, he struggled to have an influence until he regained full match fitness. While a 70-80% fit Judd or Cousins might get the nod over a Rosa or Priddis, Fletcher needs to be much closer to 100% fit to warrant selection.
This weeks changes will probably just be Out: Cox, In: Brown. Priddis will play. LeCras then Rosa are on the block first for a smalls change.
SIR SAINT HOTDOG
11 May 2007, 15:41
Who would Ling take.. Judd or Kerr?
pistol17
11 May 2007, 15:44
Who would Ling take.. Judd or Kerr?
I would put him on Kerr and put Bartel head to head on Judd
Too risky.
Bunnings or Stenglein will pick him up.
Good luck v Buddy this week P17. :thumbsu:
pistol17
11 May 2007, 15:58
Too risky.
Bunnings or Stenglein will pick him up.
Good luck v Buddy this week P17. :thumbsu:
Will need it!!
Both Fletcher and Brown will fly out with the squad. Morton and McKenzie will be left here.
Official changes
IN: Brown
OUT: Cox
Expect Fletcher to be a late inclusion though.
Lion El'Johnson
11 May 2007, 19:50
Official changes
Hell yes! Please rip them to shreds Browny.
For who?
Isnt needed if Brown comes in for Cox I would have thought.
For who?
Isnt needed if Brown comes in for Cox I would have thought.
LeCras is my guess.
EagleMan87
11 May 2007, 20:19
LeCras is my guess.
I wouldn't get rid of a forward if we're missing Embley and Cousins, who are goalkicking mids.
Fletcher is a midfielder only, he might get a spot for Rosa at some point.
LOL, this is said every game that cox is injured, and every time Seaby steps up his game and covers for Cox brilliantly.
He's only second ruck because Beeck is a total gumby anywhere else but in the ruck, while Spaanderman picks up 20 possies and a goal or two when not in the ruck, so they use him as the number 2. When Beeck was out they used him as first ruck and he dominated.
Beeck is not 'beating' him, Spaanders is just so much more value up forward then Beeck that they use him there instead.
EagleMan87
12 May 2007, 02:54
He's only second ruck because Beeck is a total gumby anywhere else but in the ruck, while Spaanderman picks up 20 possies and a goal or two when not in the ruck, so they use him as the number 2. When Beeck was out they used him as first ruck and he dominated.
Beeck is not 'beating' him, Spaanders is just so much more value up forward then Beeck that they use him there instead.
I don't think we should have picked up Spaanderman in any case. His well documented troubles make us look even worse, and he has never been a top class ruckman.
Poor play by us:thumbsd:
larrikin
12 May 2007, 03:04
I don't think we should have picked up Spaanderman in any case. His well documented troubles make us look even worse, and he has never been a top class ruckman.
Poor play by us:thumbsd:
Let's see how he goes. Our recruiting staff have obviously seen something they like.
Remember Embley was a dick as a young man too.
EagleMan87
12 May 2007, 03:13
Let's see how he goes. Our recruiting staff have obviously seen something they like.
Remember Embley was a dick as a young man too.
I'd love to accept that, but our recruiting staff isn't the be-all and end-all. We've made plenty of mistakes in recruiting and letting go of players.
I'm just getting tired of this 'culture' shit going around about us being reinforced by decisions like this(to outsiders of course, I don't think his past matters at all)
larrikin
12 May 2007, 03:33
Umm, I think you contradicted yourself, or else I missed the point
beatlesmith
12 May 2007, 03:34
although somewhat irrelevant, does anyone know what the internet radio adress is for tomorrows clash and the starting time for this broadcast. I need this info badly as i am in Hong Kong and cannot find a decent aussie sports bar.
larrikin
12 May 2007, 03:37
although somewhat irrelevant, does anyone know what the internet radio adress is for tomorrows clash and the starting time for this broadcast. I need this info badly as i am in Hong Kong and cannot find a decent aussie sports bar.
try
mytalk.com.au (http://mytalk.com.au)
beatlesmith
12 May 2007, 22:35
try
mytalk.com.au (http://mytalk.com.au)
cheers for the help but it doesn't matter now, coz the intercontinental hotel has the australia network channel which is showing the game live!
SWEEEEET
Fletchers Girl
13 May 2007, 02:21
Official changes
I'm 99% sure he ain't playing.
West Coast 06
13 May 2007, 02:42
I'm 99% sure he ain't playing.
All right Fletchers Girl, what have you done with him??;)
Fletchers Girl
13 May 2007, 02:48
All right Fletchers Girl, what have you done with him??;)
:eek: me? I wouldn't hurt fletch.....:p but i am very sure he wont be playing tomorrow.
West Coast 06
13 May 2007, 02:56
:eek: me? I wouldn't hurt fletch.....:p but i am very sure he wont be playing tomorrow.I didn't think you had hurt him. Unless he's been a very bad boy.
Lion El'Johnson
13 May 2007, 11:57
In AFL live it lists Brett Jones and Rosa out, while Fletcher and Mckenzie is in.
Is this true?
In AFL live it lists Brett Jones and Rosa out, while Fletcher and Mckenzie is in.
Is this true?
Not unless McKenzie is playing 2 games in 2 days and caught a plane to Geelong this morning. I think they dont have Brown on the list.
Lion El'Johnson
13 May 2007, 12:00
Thats right, he played in the wafl didn't he. Stupid AFL, what are they trying to pull :D
Fletchers Girl
13 May 2007, 12:16
Is this true?
Fletch isn't playing.
BadSeed
13 May 2007, 13:40
Where can we see confirmation of who is playing and who isnt?
I thought cousins would be a late inclusion ;) jk
BadSeed
13 May 2007, 15:39
For the game watching right now.. it should of been priddis out, fletcher in
Honestly how many times does priddis want to try bomb it long to a geelong player to have them rebound instantly, or just handpass poorly making poor decisions... hes having a shocker.
Juddism
13 May 2007, 15:42
Honestly how many times does priddis want to try bomb it long to a geelong player to have them rebound instantly, or just handpass poorly making poor decisions... hes having a shocker.
the entire team is playing shit house..perhaps we drop the entire 22? :eek:
Lion El'Johnson
13 May 2007, 15:46
Seaby is having a shocker. Dominated in clearances.
LOL, this is said every game that cox is injured, and every time Seaby steps up his game and covers for Cox brilliantly.
sorry was i was wrong, oh wait a minute..
EagleMan87
13 May 2007, 19:03
sorry was i was wrong, oh wait a minute..
Just be happy with the win mate, no need to rub it in...:rolleyes:
hehe, sorry i didnt mean to rub it in. but that comment he made towards me was a cheap shot, just thought id get one back :)
hank_Bulger99
13 May 2007, 23:23
exactly. if fletcher were to do the same everyone would be calling for his head. priddis had no influence on the game