Foll: Sandilands, M. Carr, J. Carr
I/C (from): Hasleby, Cook, Walker, Parker, Gilmore, Warnock, Duffield
In: Campbell, Walker, Gilmore, Duffield
Out: Solomon (susp.)
So M Carr definitely playing, no Collard :(
Atleast Campbell is definitely playing.
acooldude_au
10 May 2007, 19:17
Why is Hasleby on the extended interchange? Chance of being a late withdrawal?
shibz_1989
10 May 2007, 19:18
Geez, how the hell do they expect to win games if they're keeping it players who are passengers, and not letting the young kids have a go.
Kenny_01
10 May 2007, 19:19
Why is Hasleby on the extended interchange? Chance of being a late withdrawal?
Nah, he will play, with (I hope) Duffield, Warnock and Walker.
ImperialPurple
10 May 2007, 19:24
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Such big changes.... :rolleyes:
Collard obviously failed his fitness assessment yesterday.
I/C from: Hasleby, Cook, Walker, Parker, Gilmore, Warnock, Duffield
Hase must be injured again... otherwise no way he would be named on the bench - obviously giving him every chance to get up.
So, Hase will play if he's right to go. They've already said Parker will play (:rolleyes: ), that leaves 2 from the other 5...
Which 3 of Cook, Gilmore, Warnock, Duffield and Walker will miss?
I reckon Walker and Gilmore will play - they'll be brought in for their "speed", with Kiwi and Happy playing back-ups to Sandi.
Cook, Duffield and Warnock to miss - poor Warners if that's the case... he's done nothing wrong - had a solid debut, and probably deserves another run (of course I am just guessing).
David_Brent
10 May 2007, 19:27
Collard wasnt deemed fit.
Kenny_01
10 May 2007, 19:28
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Such big changes.... :rolleyes:
Collard obviously failed his fitness assessment yesterday.
I/C from: Hasleby, Cook, Walker, Parker, Gilmore, Warnock, Duffield
Hase must be injured again... otherwise no way he would be named on the bench - obviously giving him every chance to get up.
So, Hase will play if he's right to go. They've already said Parker will play (:rolleyes: ), that leaves 2 from the other 5...
Which 3 of Cook, Gilmore, Warnock, Duffield and Walker will miss?
I reckon Walker and Gilmore will play - they'll be brought in for their "speed", with Kiwi and Happy playing back-ups to Sandi.
Cook, Duffield and Warnock to miss - poor Warners if that's the case... he's done nothing wrong - had a solid debut, and probably deserves another run (of course I am just guessing).
Who said Parker is going to play? and more importantly, why?
pistol17
10 May 2007, 19:28
so much for CC and his "we need a change of personnell". Lets keep on playing the passengers as usual FFS
dominguez
10 May 2007, 19:29
Soft selections, it would have been brave to play Collard and he should certainly be in the 25. Walker and Gilmore won't both play so why select them both? Hase, Parker and Warnie will definately play, it will be interesting to see who gets the 22nd spot. I reckon they'll go with Gilmore, but I'd like to see Duffman.
Carr and Parker are certain starters for atleast the next 2 games, even though most of us agree they shouldn't be playing this week.
Hasleby pulled up sore but should be right.
dominguez
10 May 2007, 19:31
Mark Harvey. Because he has played the most games for the club and has the runs on the board.
If Parker has a shocker on Sunday he'll play against Geelong. If he struggles again he'll retire and play his last game at home against the saints.
ImperialPurple
10 May 2007, 19:33
Mark Harvey on the news the other night. He said: "Parker will play because he has played more games than anyone else for this footy club, and he deserves the right to play as many games as he can".
Reporter: "So he'll be picked on reputation not form?"
Harvey: "No. Form will warrant his selection."
Yeah right.
theGav56
10 May 2007, 19:37
I'm not so sure re Warnock IP. Sandi was ordinary last week. We start to look a bit "big" with Campbell coming in for Solomon, but that's what I'd do.
ImperialPurple
10 May 2007, 19:42
Soft selections, it would have been brave to play Collard and he should certainly be in the 25. Walker and Gilmore won't both play so why select them both? Hase, Parker and Warnie will definately play, it will be interesting to see who gets the 22nd spot. I reckon they'll go with Gilmore, but I'd like to see Duffman.
Carr and Parker are certain starters for atleast the next 2 games, even though most of us agree they shouldn't be playing this week.
Hasleby pulled up sore but should be right.
Season on the line, there's no place for sentimentality. :mad:
Hope you're right Gav - would like to see Warners have a run at Subi. Weather will be fine, so there'll be no prob with rain...
It's Mothers Day. I've asked nothing more than a Freo win... :o
The Joker
10 May 2007, 19:46
Mark Harvey on the news the other night. He said: "Parker will play because he has played more games than anyone else for this footy club, and he deserves the right to play as many games as he can".
Reporter: "So he'll be picked on reputation not form?"
Harvey: "No. Form will warrant his selection."
Yeah right.
I just cannot believe he said that. Everyone knows its true but for a senior Coach to come out and say it is shocking.
I will be having a word to him when he visits the Gosnells Football club on Friday night.
wizard_9
10 May 2007, 19:52
Will Collard play for SF this weekend or is he injured?
PArker better not play, club legend or not he isnt up to it.
Hasleby being name don the bench doesnt mean a thing. Just cos he had 1 bad game doesnt mean we ring the alarm bells about him be injured again.
Roundhouse
10 May 2007, 19:53
so much for CC and his "we need a change of personnell". Lets keep on playing the passengers as usual FFS
When did Connolly say that? Have you got a link? I'd love to see that quote in context.
Roundhouse
10 May 2007, 19:59
Will Collard play for SF this weekend or is he injured?
PArker better not play, club legend or not he isnt up to it.
Hasleby being name don the bench doesnt mean a thing. Just cos he had 1 bad game doesnt mean we ring the alarm bells about him be injured again.
I'd like to share your optimism about Hase, but Hase just doesn't play as badly as he did against the Lions if fully fit. The fact that he is named on the bench is a worrying sign.
Wheres Murphy? Whats going on with him? Possible trade bait at seasons end?
10 May 2007, 20:04
When did Connolly say that? Have you got a link? I'd love to see that quote in context.
He said it after the game against brisbane in the press conference. I will try find an online link but it was in "the game" liftout in the West Australian on Monday.
pinkus maximus
10 May 2007, 20:19
what is wrong with collard?
mick ryan
10 May 2007, 20:27
I have no doubt that Warnock will play.
killermk
10 May 2007, 20:37
Re: Dean Solomon.
He had 4 handballs and no kicks. Is he under the pump?
What, for his position next week? I thought he had an outstanding game last week, but who's next? You'll just bring up another player, but that's your job and looking at the game there's going to be a change of personnel considered, considering that poor performance. Who goes out or in is well worth discussing on your behalf.'
Big changes, eh Chris?
malpaso
10 May 2007, 20:37
Yep said it after the Brisbane game.
malpaso
10 May 2007, 20:39
Gutless selections.
I hope Campbell makes it in. Hard mutha. Goes with aggro.
Get him to run in to that pencil-d**k Franklin.
Docker_Brat
10 May 2007, 20:43
Isn't Hase one of the blokes with the gut probs?
ImperialPurple
10 May 2007, 20:54
Collard had OP and a limited pre-season. He is being "managed" up to full fitness apparently. They obviously decided that throwing in an 18 year old for his first game when he is not fully fit was a bad idea. I agree. If he's not quite ready, then he's not quite ready. Thing is, he has kicked 4 goals in each of his last 3 games, but that hasn't necessarily been from a 4 quarter consistent game, rather flashes of brilliance. It certainly won't harm him playing a couple of games alongside Jeffrey to see how to go about things!
ImperialPurple
10 May 2007, 20:55
Isn't Hase one of the blokes with the gut probs?
Nah - McPharlin, Mundy, Black.
ImperialPurple
10 May 2007, 20:56
Gutless selections.
I hope Campbell makes it in. Hard mutha. Goes with aggro.
Get him to run in to that pencil-d**k Franklin.
I would have that "pencil-d**k" at Freo in less than a heartbeat!!
raffrox
10 May 2007, 20:58
CC is making the safe decisions.
I'm not happy.
dominguez
10 May 2007, 21:03
CC is making the safe decisions.
I'm not happy.
Definately.
dominguez
10 May 2007, 21:05
In the match committees opinion his fitness isn't at AFL standard yet. If his next fortnight is good he'll debut Friday night against the Saints.
No word on Murphy?
10 May 2007, 21:08
No word on Murphy?
10 May 2007, 21:08
Channel Ten suggested that Warnie will miss out. :mad: Warnie gets dropped to bring in pace while we carry Matt Carr and Colonel Parker. :(
Duffman>>>>>Happy and Walker
In the match committees opinion his fitness isn't at AFL standard yet. If his next fortnight is good he'll debut Friday night against the Saints.
Yep I listened to Teds footy show on ABC regional radio and Tony Carr was at the session they put him thorough which lasted about 20 minutes.
He is pushing for a spot though , just needs a bit more fitness.
Good to see that the Duke has cemented a spot being named in the team proper.
Going by that logic the Bug K1W1 will definately play as well.
dominguez
10 May 2007, 21:39
If Collard's not ready then fair enough. Hopefully he''ll kick a few this week and keep pressing for selection. I reckon they'll debut him at home if his form warrants it, so it's a big fortnight for him. South Freo plan to play Farmer up the ground to improve his fitness after a couple of months out of the game.
Do you agree Ripper that Warnie should be in the side?
I have a bad feeling that Parker will keep his place because of a misplaced perception that he can go with Franklin in the air and when the ball hits the deck...
Oh boy...
inferno66
10 May 2007, 22:55
I have a bad feeling that Parker will keep his place because of a misplaced perception that he can go with Franklin in the air and when the ball hits the deck...
Oh boy...
ahhh! :eek: that sure would be a nightmare..
Parker should take on Dixon I reckon. Mcpharlin to get first crack at Franklin.
If Collard's not ready then fair enough. Hopefully he''ll kick a few this week and keep pressing for selection. I reckon they'll debut him at home if his form warrants it, so it's a big fortnight for him. South Freo plan to play Farmer up the ground to improve his fitness after a couple of months out of the game.
Preferably , unless it rains heavily.
The way I read the bench is;
I/C (from): (Hasleby,/ Cook),( Walker,/ Parker), Warnock, ( Duffield / Gilmore )
Anyone hear Robert Shaw on Radio Eagle?
He was saying the Parks (and Belly) had an easy Preseason to get him through the year, and they are tossing up whether to rest him and give him more work on the track or play him.
I will be surprised if he lines up , the only thing that may save him is that Dixon has been his bitch.
Admitted that picking Solly wasn't a good idea as He was sore from the week before ( which is understandable ) but he has polled votes in the Doig in three rounds so far and People should cut him a bit of slack for one bad game.
No Rain forecast for Sunday now
inferno66
10 May 2007, 23:21
Warnock should play down deep in the foward line and then swap with Sandilainds when he needs a rest from the ruck. In the Brisbane game Warnock did not seem to get much game time.
killermk
11 May 2007, 02:23
Franklin into my dream team. Should have had him in last week.
pinkus maximus
11 May 2007, 03:31
Anyone hear Robert Shaw on Radio Eagle?
i heard him. he also said that the match committee are not "afraid" to pick young guys and named collard, foster and ibbotson as guys who would be given an opportunity throughout the year
Black Ball
11 May 2007, 09:46
i heard him. he also said that the match committee are not "afraid" to pick young guys and named collard, foster and ibbotson as guys who would be given an opportunity throughout the year
Does that mean the Drum wont be given an opportunity?
pistol17
11 May 2007, 11:24
Just a suggestion but if Collards form was to continue for south fremantle and made his debut for freo and looked good. Once Farmer is ready to come back would it be the worst idea to inject farmer into the midfield seeing as we are lacking a little pace. That is if Jeff goes alright in the midfield for south freo. Just a thought....
pistol17
11 May 2007, 11:27
So would that mean Foster is the one to be elevated??
kp junior
11 May 2007, 11:33
He'll only get elevated if he's going to get a game that week. Basically right now all the rookie list guys are avaialable for selection if they warrant it, but none will be elvated if they're not deserving of a game.
So would that mean Foster is the one to be elevated??
It appears so, bit of a slip of the tongue by Robert there. It depends on Justin though as He is apparently seeing the knee specialist in Melbourne this week and they have not written Him off for the year yet.
I just watched the Hawks game from last year and Justin was very good that game as were Farmer , Schammer , Cook , Murpy & Peake.
Our field skills were fantastic that game that game , able to hit targets at will. We did however shank a heap of shots on goal kicking 14 20.
dominguez
11 May 2007, 21:12
Once Farmer is ready to come back would it be the worst idea to inject farmer into the midfield seeing as we are lacking a little pace. That is if Jeff goes alright in the midfield for south freo. Just a thought....
Tried it in 2002 and failed.
dominguez
11 May 2007, 21:14
I will be surprised if he lines up , the only thing that may save him is that Dixon has been his bitch.
Admitted that picking Solly wasn't a good idea as He was sore from the week before ( which is understandable ) but he has polled votes in the Doig in three rounds so far and People should cut him a bit of slack for one bad game.
Great call. :thumbsu:
Agree.