View Full Version : Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum
Pages :
[
10]
drago from ussr
28 Aug 2008, 13:26
interested onlooker, You seem to find alot of information about the to sides from over the hill .... what match ups would you like to see coming into the weekends games .... Oakley is keen goin into a game with a tight hammy not an injury you can push through it s either right or not and he will probably no in the first 5 mins....
RANGEMAN
28 Aug 2008, 19:51
hang on, when we played them earlier in the year we had to go outside to the publictoliets if we needed a dump. the surface was boggy and not what it was talked up to be. maybe we played yea on a bad week but it was nothing like its been talked up here.
has the ground improved since round 13 if it has i take everything ive said back but it wouldve needed too
still nowhere as good as Alex's ground. best ground in 2nd div by a length of the black spur
We travelled to yea late in the season and the ground looked pretty good. The players thought it was the best ground they had played on and the umpires that have come to our ground say that yea has the best ground in the league, both div 1 and 2. Can't comment on the crappers, perhaps you should have one before you leave home next season!
has anyone heard how mullins from alex and goodwin from y/g went at the tribunal tuesday night??
It has been postponed till Thursday next week
We travelled to yea late in the season and the ground looked pretty good. The players thought it was the best ground they had played on and the umpires that have come to our ground say that yea has the best ground in the league, both div 1 and 2. Can't comment on the crappers, perhaps you should have one before you leave home next season!
I agree, Looking at the big picture we should also take in to consideration Netball as they are a major part of club culture (Country Football have joined with netball for years and has created great success in broad base membership) Facilities for spectators and ample car parking where spectators can at least have a decent view, Yea have one advantage that no other club has a Real Grand Stand
Flying Higher37
29 Aug 2008, 00:40
If the surface had improved greatly fair enough, definetly wasn't the best surface in div2 when we played them. the way that the lot on here talked about it we thought we'd be getting facilites that were afl like andwith a lot of hype came a little bit of disapointment. best ground in the league i think is a bit of a stretch
it was a long season for us, and some of the only joys we had were taking a crap after/before the game;), but we couldn't even enjoy that in the away rooms.
it'd easily be in the top half of grounds definitly a possible finals venue for the future
hang on, when we played them earlier in the year we had to go outside to the publictoliets if we needed a dump. the surface was boggy and not what it was talked up to be. maybe we played yea on a bad week but it was nothing like its been talked up here.
has the ground improved since round 13 if it has i take everything ive said back but it wouldve needed too
still nowhere as good as Alex's ground. best ground in 2nd div by a length of the black spur
I have not played at Alex this year but i would agree with you that it would be the best surface..Yea's ground came good late in season and now (bit to late) has a fairly good cover. There are toilets in both clubrooms and a set in the social area, plus over near the netball courts (dodgy however). Your opinion is very fair though
in2restedonlooker
29 Aug 2008, 08:26
interested onlooker, You seem to find alot of information about the to sides from over the hill .... what match ups would you like to see coming into the weekends games .... Oakley is keen goin into a game with a tight hammy not an injury you can push through it s either right or not and he will probably no in the first 5 mins....
As Ive said before I was a keen follower of the cgfl some years ago and alot of the players running around up there were playing then as well (especially thornton). I have a couple of good mates who are big supporters of Alex and I often call to see how it's all going. So alot of information right or wrong I get through him and he tells me that oakley is a likely starter and he thinks coller will miss, correct I don't know we'll wait and see. And I have seen both sides 4 times this year. As for the match ups I think Creed or Hardy on Hill and I'm starting to think a bit your way Drago just go head to head with the rest.
Your a Thornton person Drago can you say that Coller is a certain starter ???? If you say he is I would have to believe it.
in2restedonlooker
29 Aug 2008, 08:31
What is it with teams putting up no or the wrong teams on the league website? No teams from Emerald or Yea and just last games one's put up by Thornton and Alex. I know it's finals but it's not like any sides are hiding gun players we haven't seen before. I think they should have to put up a squad of 25 or something at least.
Upwey Fan
29 Aug 2008, 09:04
The teams shown on the website are put on automatically by the VCFL Database when teamsheets are submitted online-they are not put on by the Clubs.Clubs have until Saturday to submit these teamsheets.They are the updated later to reflect any changes that may have occurred ie late withdrawals and ommissions.
LukeClarke
29 Aug 2008, 11:19
If the surface had improved greatly fair enough, definetly wasn't the best surface in div2 when we played them. the way that the lot on here talked about it we thought we'd be getting facilites that were afl like andwith a lot of hype came a little bit of disapointment. best ground in the league i think is a bit of a stretch
it was a long season for us, and some of the only joys we had were taking a crap after/before the game;), but we couldn't even enjoy that in the away rooms.
it'd easily be in the top half of grounds definitly a possible finals venue for the future
Yea have a good setup.
We played there second last round and the ground wasnt that flash. It would be a good ground when its dry but there were was a fair bit of mud. Away rooms are good as gold, plenty of room in there, they have a real old school charm about them. Showers were rippers. Grand stand is impressive as well. Dental Hygene and intelligence of the crowd wasn't a strong point.
I have crapped in most dunnies in the valley and was disapointed that Yea didnt even have one. Kinglake prolly has the best dunny in there away rooms. Nice and new. There are a few out there that dont even have seats on them. Olinda from memory... Bout time we started discussing some real topics on this forum :D
They have a good set up (minus a crapper) and would be prime for TE v Alex but im sure the 2s and unders wouldnt be keen to go up there...
sid snot
29 Aug 2008, 13:36
hey luke ours got seats this year.... now thats progress:eek:.....btw for those doubters the olinda oval finished the season in perfect condition after having new drains put in :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Sid Snot will Olinda be off to Div 2 next year or look to some how stay up again as they did this year? And will your young Kids hang around ?
I agree, Looking at the big picture we should also take in to consideration Netball as they are a major part of club culture (Country Football have joined with netball for years and has created great success in broad base membership) Facilities for spectators and ample car parking where spectators can at least have a decent view, Yea have one advantage that no other club has a Real Grand Stand
Would be an ideal set-up for a grand final, a big crowd gathered down front as the medallions and premiership cup are presented up in the grandstand :thumbsu:
Hang on, reckon Ive seen it done once before and it was a perfect finale to a season ;)
Big Wheel
29 Aug 2008, 15:29
Would be an ideal set-up for a grand final, a big crowd gathered down front as the medallions and premiership cup are presented up in the grandstand :thumbsu:
Hang on, reckon Ive seen it done once before and it was a perfect finale to a season ;)
Yep in the GVFL.
in2restedonlooker
29 Aug 2008, 15:36
Yep in the GVFL.
I think doona may have been referring to the 2005 (i think) grand final which yea won at yea in the cgfl when he was part of the coaching team there.
Perhaps Doona may want to coach Yea again? Seriously Doona is right When Yea hosted the CGFLgrand Final Yea Vs Rumbalara Graet gate great atmosphere
sid snot
29 Aug 2008, 17:01
Sid Snot will Olinda be off to Div 2 next year or look to some how stay up again as they did this year? And will your young Kids hang around ?
not sure i suppose it will like last year we will have to wait and see what happens but i think the league were pushing to have this seasons Division 2 winners go up
Bounty Hunter
29 Aug 2008, 17:34
Perhaps Doona may want to coach Yea again? Seriously Doona is right When Yea hosted the CGFLgrand Final Yea Vs Rumbalara Graet gate great atmosphere
Why such an interest in the Yea Football Club peoples....if its not the toilets, its the grand stand. Plenty of other teams in the comp.
As if any prospective coaches are going to lay their cards on the table this early, or Wtfa do you have something to share ?;)
NOCHANCE
31 Aug 2008, 09:16
Every post written about the Gembrook final came true. Left home in still warm day only to get there and it was freezing and the standard wind blowing up the middle. All up I guess there would of been 30 actuall spectaters there. The netballers were nearly blown off the face of the earth. I heard the Warby final was packed and that was without 4 netball games being played to boost the gate. Gembrook will be spewing as the netballers were never going to stick arond and they still would have to pay the league a percentage of the gate for them with no return.
Upwey Fan
31 Aug 2008, 10:16
Every post written about the Gembrook final came true. Left home in still warm day only to get there and it was freezing and the standard wind blowing up the middle. All up I guess there would of been 30 actuall spectaters there. The netballers were nearly blown off the face of the earth. I heard the Warby final was packed and that was without 4 netball games being played to boost the gate. Gembrook will be spewing as the netballers were never going to stick arond and they still would have to pay the league a percentage of the gate for them with no return.
It seems you don't like Gembrook at all as a venue it's a Winter game and we have to play in the conditions of the day which we did well.There were certainly a lot more spectators there than you indicated perhaps you can't count.As far as the Netballers go the Upwey and Monbulk girls certainly stayed on to support their Footballers you only had to look in the stand to see that.Gembrook don't pay the League a percentage of the gate rather it's the other way around.
Upwey Fan
31 Aug 2008, 10:25
This was taken from a post on the EFL Forum re the Vermont vs Noble Park Game played at Bayswater yesterday-so it seems Gembrook wasn't on its own
but the wind played havoc with plenty of disposal skills.
NOCHANCE
31 Aug 2008, 11:57
It seems you don't like Gembrook at all as a venue it's a Winter game and we have to play in the conditions of the day which we did well.There were certainly a lot more spectators there than you indicated perhaps you can't count.As far as the Netballers go the Upwey and Monbulk girls certainly stayed on to support their Footballers you only had to look in the stand to see that.Gembrook don't pay the League a percentage of the gate rather it's the other way around.
Clubs hosting finals pay the league depending on the amount of people there. League gets the whole gate plus this extra add on. Clubs make money through food and drink sales. So if you get fifty parents there for the unders and they get in there car and go straight away without spending a cent the club loses money. Your point about not liking Gembrook is true though it is not in the best 3 grounds so why have the grand final there?
RANGEMAN
1 Sep 2008, 14:09
Clubs hosting finals pay the league depending on the amount of people there. League gets the whole gate plus this extra add on. Clubs make money through food and drink sales. So if you get fifty parents there for the unders and they get in there car and go straight away without spending a cent the club loses money. Your point about not liking Gembrook is true though it is not in the best 3 grounds so why have the grand final there?
NOCHANCE is right. The league gets all the gate takings for finals and Clubs who host finals pay the league 10% (15% for grandfinal) of the gate taking. So if the gate takes $5,000, the league gets this and the club who hosts has to write a cheque out to the league for $500. There are also many other requirements of clubs hosting finals, such as, official car park attendents, scoreboard attendents, match ball retrievers, cleaning of rooms between games, cleaning and security of umpires rooms etc. All of these roles would be presumably be done by volunteers around the club, WHO HAVE TO PAY to get into the ground. That's right, there's no free entry to any finals games, even for volunteers around the club! So all in all, clubs are required to give out a lot to commit to finals, with the league benefitting financially, and hosting clubs only gaining what profit they make selling food and drinks. There needs to be more incentive to clubs to host finals, such as the hosting club getting a percentage of the gate rather than paying the league!:thumbsd:
YGTHUNDER
1 Sep 2008, 14:13
Well NOCHANCE you and every1 else will be happy to know that the 2nd semi for 1st Div will now be hosted at GEMBROOK not Yarra Glen.
Looks like 2nd Div got the pick of the grounds to me. Gembrook is not the place for mine to showcase the leagues most important game of the season. Like everyone else has stated it is to reliant on very still weather or else it blows a gail and can ruin any game let alone the Grand Final.
I agree that preference should be given for the Grand Final to grounds that can house Netball at the same venue as the netball is the future for growth in the League and makes for a better atmosphere, l suspect that could be the main reason Y/Junction got 2 finals, as the ground wouldnt be!
If clubs do not put in for finals then it doesnt matter if they have the best ground conditions or the best facilities the finals will not be held there. On the point that 1st Div & 2nd Div should play on grounds in their Div for finals might be a little hard to cop in an Elimination final if your team is playing the opposition at their home ground and you lose by less than a goal or two.
It is obvious that the YVMDFL needs to revsist finals allocations formulas? i for one believe that all clubs should be encourage to host in their respective division on arotational basis one of the finals subject to certain standards then all clubs can share the rewards and hard effort required to ensure sucess
in2restedonlooker
1 Sep 2008, 16:26
Not sure if Thornton will make it to Healsville next Sunday for their qualifying final. Rumour has it the team bus is stranded at the club minus its wheels.
A big call a couple of weeks ago there sirviv it looks as though those wheels got put back on pretty quickly and the bus seems to be going better than ever
Upwey Fan
1 Sep 2008, 18:06
Well NOCHANCE you and every1 else will be happy to know that the 2nd semi for 1st Div will now be hosted at GEMBROOK not Yarra Glen.
When did this change occur?we as a participating club have not been notified.
Ha ha correct :thumbsu: I know I'm the first to say "those who live in the past can at times be afraid of the future" but there was such a small window to bring it up that I couldn't resist.
Seems a few mighta spoke too soon re: the Boners, I hope Alex get over their opponent (Emerald??) this week to set up a re-match of arch rivals and old CGFL combatants :thumbsu:
Also can anyone give us a Grand Final venue and day (Sat or Sun) for Div 2, might be worth a drive?
When did this change occur?we as a participating club have not been notified.
Not sure when or why, but it's definitely so according to this site: http://www.silvanfc.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=5946&OrgID=88
NOCHANCE
1 Sep 2008, 21:00
Joke absolute joke Gembrook is a disgrace. I hope the forcast is for 30 degrees that way it may reach double figures at Gembrook. Why do clubs tolerate such incompetance from the YVNDFL were there is clearly a hidden agenda behind the use of such a outdated venue.
NOCHANCE
1 Sep 2008, 21:03
How much pull does BILLY HEPPELL have at the league. Suely hes the only person who thinks a final should be at Gembrook. Lets hope its going to be 30 plus degrees on Saturday that way it may reach 10 at Gembrook. Someone tell the farmers to keep there cattle off that paddock again for this week.
Also can anyone give us a Grand Final venue and day (Sat or Sun) for Div 2, might be worth a drive?
Sat 13th..and at this stage its Woori.
Upwey Fan
1 Sep 2008, 23:42
Not sure when or why, but it's definitely so according to this site: http://www.silvanfc.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=5946&OrgID=88
What a bloody shambles-I am Secretary of UTFNC and have not been notified of any change of venue-then again Webby might have told the league not to tell us-we go to Yarra Glen they get a walkover.
in2restedonlooker
2 Sep 2008, 11:22
Any news on last nights winners at the league vote counts????
sid snot
2 Sep 2008, 11:39
the only one i know of was Scott Tregoning of the Ofcfc won the 1st Division B+F by around 5 votes.
div 2
seniors
russell cowan powelly 29
shane senior seville 24
under18's
brandon kapakoulakis thornton 20
a grade
emma thomas alex
b grade
megan creighton thornton
great night for us with kappa and megs takin out their b&f's.
congrats to rusty on his and bad luck to shaneo for another runner up.
nothin against tregoning but what a joke the voting system is
08 moorcroft 153 goals 9 votes
selkrig 107 goals 4 votes
07 moorcroft 100+ bugger all
06 muccitelli 170+ 5 votes
hall 104 goals 7 votes
THEY MUST HATE FORWARDS
in all pretty good night, league gets more proffessional every year.
Fair effort by Rusty Cowan, congrats on a well deserved win. Big effort for a young bloke in his first season out of the 18's to win a league B+F, now all we have to be able to do is to teach him to give to the first option and to kick on both feet (just like Camma does).
bigbiceps
2 Sep 2008, 17:50
healsville 2nds will win flag by 10 goals
What a bloody shambles-I am Secretary of UTFNC and have not been notified of any change of venue-then again Webby might have told the league not to tell us-we go to Yarra Glen they get a walkover.
Have you confirmed that the website is correct? Surely they must notify all concerned if a change is made. I would have headed to YG if I hadn't read this thread. :confused:
Upwey Fan
3 Sep 2008, 00:07
Have you confirmed that the website is correct? Surely they must notify all concerned if a change is made. I would have headed to YG if I hadn't read this thread. :confused:
Charlie from Silvan rang me early this afternoon to see if we had been notified because they like us hadn't been,but late this afternoon we where told of the changes-the only thing still to clarify is the starting time for the Unders at Woori as both Healesville and ourselves are also in the Ressies at Gembrook.
YGTHUNDER
3 Sep 2008, 14:21
Yarra Glen didnt know until after lunch on Monday when i recieved a txt from the club to say we didnt have the final...to bad about all the planning that was done and supplies that were purchased...2nd Div clubs such as Kinglake and Powly Netballers had to play on two seperate days at two different venues and had to wear it...2 div 2 sets of rules? All finals should be held at the best venue for ground condition and facilities not because a few dont like the venue choice or have to be split up on the day, not ideal l know but clubs cant be told they are hosting a final one minute and have the rug pulled from under them the next...makes the league look very ordinary. No wonder most clubs dont want to host finals with all the conditions set by the league, wearing all the costs and then having to fork out 10% on top for the "Privelidge" of hosting a final!
I know i have said it before YVMDFL finals venue allocation at best resembles a shamble. In my opinion the League should have encourage all clubs to host finals on rotation. I also find it incredable that teams were not advised of changes to venues.
The League must also start seriously looking football and netball especially in finals to be in the vicinity of the ground at least.
footysnumberone
3 Sep 2008, 19:11
i think you'll find that Gembrook were always having a final and the league changed the final from yarra glen to woori yallock to cut travel times for those with teams playing at different locations.
And i also have it on good authority that yarra glen hadn't ordered anything for the final they were hosting and they were told monday morning they weren't having the final at their ground anymore.
I'm too new to the area to enter into the "who should host finals" debate, but clearly any changes to the fixture should be advised as soon as they are made.
IF the info is on the league website, and the participating clubs haven't been notified, then that is a disgrace.:eek:
RANGEMAN
3 Sep 2008, 23:26
i think you'll find that Gembrook were always having a final and the league changed the final from yarra glen to woori yallock to cut travel times for those with teams playing at different locations.
And i also have it on good authority that yarra glen hadn't ordered anything for the final they were hosting and they were told monday morning they weren't having the final at their ground anymore.
I agree, Yarra Glen would have been the first team in the league to be informed of any changes, given their club secretary sits in the YVMDFL head office! :rolleyes:
Bundoorian
4 Sep 2008, 08:18
Played alot of footy with Kevin Brown who currently plays for Thornton. Was a legend in the old Diamond Valley, and I have recently heard he will be coaching a club up there called Alexandra. Would make a very good choice as he has a couple of mates who will follow and has been in talks with some very good division one players down here. Also heard a former Bundoora teammate (Wayne Haggis) would happily put his hand up as an assistant. About time Kevin put some of his knowledge to good use.
ive heard similar rumours from some reliable sources but i dont really want to think about it now. i think its unfair to both teams with a possible grand final to play off in especially for bretho if alex have already organised something.
browny and i dont always see eye to eye but i would rather him playin for us than against us. but if he has made a decision good luck to him and i hope it wont upset our team chemistry in the next few weeks. i will be adressing the situation.
Bundoorian
4 Sep 2008, 13:50
ive heard similar rumours from some reliable sources but i dont really want to think about it now. i think its unfair to both teams with a possible grand final to play off in especially for bretho if alex have already organised something.
browny and i dont always see eye to eye but i would rather him playin for us than against us. but if he has made a decision good luck to him and i hope it wont upset our team chemistry in the next few weeks. i will be adressing the situation.
Must admit Pupsta you aren't the first to not always see eye to eye with Browny. He is great value though and a team like Alexandra could really kick on if they get right behind KB. I visit quite frequently up your way, and know the locals expect far more from there side than they have achieved.
drago from ussr
4 Sep 2008, 15:19
yeah i no a lot of the locals up that way and i heard that alot of guys would come bac to alex if bretho wasnt the coach ..... dunno how much truth is in this though.....
browny would be missed at thornton ... especially if he took bern hourigan and fisher with him club might struggle but i havent herad to many whispers yet
Now that shreek and his gang have been banished from the kingdom by the mighty H bloods the jam tin boys are next.
Bring on Monbulk on Saturday!
PS - Sean A - if you play son - gutsiest man alive, my hat goes off to you. And you know who this oracle is.
Got a bad knee
5 Sep 2008, 20:46
Toxic?????????????your a star, hope you wake up tomorrow
what is the world on coller for saturdays grand final
do people think he will play
100% he is right to go
drago from ussr
8 Sep 2008, 09:08
coller will play in fact boners are at full strength the question is who will alex play with heard , mkeon and oakley all not playing on the weekend...... also one of the replacements jez heyes getting in the best might make for an interesting thursday night
Toxic?????????????your a star, hope you wake up tomorrow
Woke up and the results were still the same - Monbulk gone, now for Upwey.
Amazing how alive you feel after a win!!!!
Hey Toxic,
Valley Bloods surprising most in this finals campaign. Brilliant performances so far.
Can you do me a favour ?
I need a moby number for Daniel Collins, can you email me privately with that if you can get it ?
Cheers mate
Tim Scott
OFCFNC
dishlickers
8 Sep 2008, 20:47
your a tool footysnumberone
and who do you play for/support?
yeh mate all good was close 90% last week and nearly played but with the boys doin the damage i was able to get it 100%. would have played prelim if we lost
really lookin forward to the granny should be a tough one and also our a and b grade girls both play alex in their grannies so hopefully we can bring home more than one cup this year.
footysnumberone
9 Sep 2008, 00:27
yeh mate all good was close 90% last week and nearly played but with the boys doin the damage i was able to get it 100%. would have played prelim if we lost
really lookin forward to the granny should be a tough one and also our a and b grade girls both play alex in their grannies so hopefully we can bring home more than one cup this year.
Good luck to all your teams pupsta.
footysnumberone
9 Sep 2008, 00:27
and who do you play for/support?
Emerald mate.
YGTHUNDER
9 Sep 2008, 13:50
no i think you're the stroker. once a riverpig, always a riverpig.
I think by giving yourself the title of FOOTYSNUMBERONE gives you the edge in the stroker stakes! You are the type of person who stops the best people putting their hands up for the key jobs at the league as they have to put up with the crap that you and your kind spout off with.
footysnumberone
9 Sep 2008, 23:39
I think by giving yourself the title of FOOTYSNUMBERONE gives you the edge in the stroker stakes! You are the type of person who stops the best people putting their hands up for the key jobs at the league as they have to put up with the crap that you and your kind spout off with.
i'll remember this post when your bagging them because a decision doesn't go your way..;)
Got a bad knee
13 Sep 2008, 20:33
Glad to hear that alex want to come up and well done.
localisbest
16 Sep 2008, 22:27
Alex will do well in Div 1 - they have great depth
What is your definition of doing well?
Avoiding relegation on the last day by losing by less then the team below them?
I don't think they will go down, but they won't be anywhere near the top 5.
cakehole
17 Sep 2008, 15:04
Alex will do well in Div 1 - they have great depth
Agree with XIV. Warby had the goods to go up, and they have hardly been super competitive. I dont know a lot about the league, but there is hardly much incentive for any of the teams over the hill to go up
localisbest
17 Sep 2008, 22:25
Warby have had an outstanding year as a club, pretty much locals great grp of u18s in gf this week & strong in netball. For over the hill teams, the incentive is huge, be the best you can be in the highest division in your league, should be every clubs goal, to be the best continually in the lowest division is not what competitive sport is about.
BenBal Plugger
18 Sep 2008, 11:34
Moving to Bendigo in 2009?
Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.
Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, good social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.
Send any queries to my mailbox.
Congratulations to Silvan FC , Premiers again in 2008.
126 to 88, Marc Bullen BOG
Monniehawk
21 Sep 2008, 22:42
Might have to kick a few more than 2 tho.
Upwey Fan
22 Sep 2008, 14:28
Tiger Topics
G'Day Footy Fans,
Well, Grand Final day at Gembrook started out reasonably fine but then deteriorated badly to the extent that a severe rainstorm with strong winds hit the area during the Under 18s Grand Final between Warburton and Silvan (thankfully won by Warburton. Hooray for them!) but then began to improve steadily after that so that, although there was still a bit of a breeze blowing all day - what else at Gembrook - conditions were not too bad for the two matches that mostly interested us, namely the Reserves' and Senior's Grand Finals. At the end of the day we had only achieved a 50% return for our endeavours with the Reserves taking out the premiership while the Senior team went down to Silvan following a terrific struggle.
The Seniors match was tight and tense at the opening, as was only to be expected in such a vital match, and although each team scored a couple of behinds early, it was not until almost ten minutes had passed that the opening goal of the match was posted - by Silvan. Upwey soon replied with a goal of their own and were playing great footy against the favourites as the team was continually streaming into attack with the result that Upwey had scored five goals to Silvan's three by quarter's end.
The second quarter saw something of a reversal of fortunes in the match as Silvan had added four goals by the midway point of the quarter before Upwey managed to stem the flow somewhat with two goals but still, Silvan lead at the half-time break by five points and it was still a match up for grabs.
Upwey scored the opening goal of the third quarter inside the first minute of play but Silvan replied just as quickly and from then it was pretty much goal for goal as each team strove mightily to achieve a significant breakthrough. There was nothing in the match until, with just a few minutes
of the term left, Silvan managed to score two goals in quick succession to end the third quarter with a most vital three goal break. As the final quarter got underway, it soon became apparent that Upwey's hard finals campaign was beginning to have its effect as the previously hard-running
players were finding it more and more difficult to cope. Silvan added three unanswered goals before Upwey finally responded with a couple of goals but by then the match was pretty much
decided and the final siren of the season sounded with the scoreline reading Upwey-Tecoma
13.10.88 - Silvan 19.12.126.
Although beaten, the team lost no friends by their performance in the Grand Final, nor indeed throughout what was a very tough four week finals campaign, often played under very difficult conditions. On Saturday at Gembrook no player left anything behind as they all did everything
possible in their endeavours to win the match and really, I thought, played as well as they have at any time this season. Losing a Grand Final is not much fun but at least when there is the knowledge that one's all has been given, there is surely some consolation - but maybe not until
the next day. I am reminded of the words of former Hawthorn coach John Kennedy when he spoke to his team at half-time of what turned out to be a losing grand final for his team. He urged his players to do something for the team, be it a shepherd, a block or some such so that, at the end of the match each player could at least say, "I did something." I reckon that each and every member of our terrific Senior team can say just that. Well done to you all and we, your loyal Footy Fans, are tremendously proud of you all.
Now I have just one final word of comment (certainly not a criticism) for the year on officialdom's
decisions. Surely, with the virtue of hindsight, it can be seen as an error to have scheduled the First Division Preliminary Final on the Sunday and instead play the Second Division Grand Final on the Saturday. This meant that the winner of the Preliminary Final would have only six days recovery time before the Grand Final. It would surely not have mattered one jot to the Second Division combatants if their Grand Final was played on Sunday while a Saturday First Division
Preliminary Final would have at least given the winner there a full seven days off. It may well be seen as a minor thing and I don't for a minute suggest that this was the reason for Upwey losing the Grand Final match but it is one of the small things which, combined with other factors,
eventually add up. It's a bit like that missed shot for goal in the opening five minutes of the match or perhaps the odd fumbled take or the dropped marking attempt in the second quarter. Each one of these incidents, taken in isolation, means very little but when they all combine to make the
whole, their combined effect can so often have a distinct deleterious effect on the total outcome,particularly if, like the scheduling, they are easily avoidable. Saturday matches mean Sunday recovery sessions while Sunday matches means off to work or school or such on Monday and thus no adequate recovery session at all and when you are up against a very good team that has
had 14 days between matches, such a thing can make a difference. And it showed as the final quarter of the Grand Final progressed. Witness also the second half of the Reserves match. Still, with all that, I don't have any real argument with the eventual result of the match and perhaps I could conclude by quietly stressing that I am so proud to be an Upwey person.
The Reserves team has had a somewhat topsy-turvy season. They displayed terrific form for the first half of the season, winning every one of the first nine matches with an average winning margin of 53 points but then the injury plague hit the Club and the main sufferer as a consequence was the Reserves team. Some in the Club even had doubts that the team would be
able to remain in the finals hunt. It was here that Reserves' Coach Greg Spence really showed us his mettle. Suddenly, leading his team on Saturday afternoons became the easy part of his job because the real work was carried out during the period between Thursday and the Saturday game-time when he worked the phones tirelessly to get a full, injury free team onto the ground.
Willing souls from the Vets and Under 18 teams readily helped out whenever called upon but even so Greg was often reduced to figuratively searching the highways and byways to make up
player numbers as he pleaded with recently retired Upwey players to help out. It was a tribute to the Clubness of everyone asked that none refused to help where they could. As a result, more than 70 players donned the jumper for the Reserves team during the year and had it not been for all who helped out, the consequences could well have been dire as far as the team's finals hopes were concerned. All of those 70 plus guys who answered the call can rightly claim ownership of a least a part of the premiership pennant and maybe deserved to be able to get a sip from the cup.
The team possibly hit rock-bottom in their Round 11 match against Monbulk when, with both the Senior and Reserves teams really struggling to field a full complement of team members, the Reserves failed to score at all in the first half of the match and finished up with a score of just
2-1-13, the team's lowest score for some 20 years. Things were still tough from then of course but slowly more and more players became available and the team's loss to the ladder-leaders
Healesville in Round 16 would be their last defeat for the season. Upwey had defeated Healesville, our opponent in the Grand Final, in the second Semi-Final by twenty points and so confidence of a repeat performance in this match were high, however that
confidence was obviously not shared by the tipping experts who were almost unanimous in naming Healesville as the winners. It would have been
interesting to learn on what information
those views were based. Healesville had first use of a somewhat fickle wind in the first quarter and the ball spent a fair bit of time in their half of the ground as Upwey seemed to be struggling a bit to really get into the match and the team had to be content with just one solitary behind for the quarter. Fortunately, Upwey's
defence was playing with great determination at the other end of the ground and restricted Healesville to just the one goal so that at the first break Healesville's score had been restricted to just 1-4 so that the margin was only eight points.
Upwey's play did not really improve as the second term got underway and the play in general was very scrappy indeed as the team's forward complement struggled to score anything at all as the quarter advanced and they had managed to score just one behind to double their score.
Fortunately the Upwey defence was still holding firm and then, with just four minutes of the quarter left, Upwey finally managed to kick their first goal of the match and followed up with a second just before the siren sounded to end the first half of the match. But importantly, Upwey had gained a lead of five points in a very low scoring match.
It was a much more turned-on Upwey team that took the field for the second half and, with the wind in their faces, began to show much more confidence. After a strong start Upwey scored a goal before the quarter was very old and soon enough followed that with another. Meanwhile,
Healesville's forwards were being starved out of the action by the miserly Upwey defence and could only score three behinds for the third quarter so that by the time that the quarter ended, Upwey had gained a lead of 16 points. Not a very big lead certainly, but in such a low scoring
match it could well be significant.
The final quarter was a repeat of its predecessor as Upwey continued to outplay their opponents and by midway through the final quarter had added a further two goals to gain a definite winning break. Healesville managed to score a goal, their first for the second half, just as the match-ending siren sounded with Upwey in front by four goals and deserved Premiers. This was the team's 14th premiership and surely no team had worked harder to gain that ultimate success.
The final scores were Upwey-Tecoma 6.7.43 - Healesville 2.7.19.
See Ya in 2009
sid snot
22 Sep 2008, 15:35
Very well written.I did notice that Upwey were going to have a 6 day break although i think Alex may have been the same but not sure.Sounds like a great effort from both Silvan and Upwey on the weekend.
Now for everyones in formation..........
Last night at the clubs annual Presentation night Tim Scott received a life membership of the Olinda Ferny Creek Football Club.Tim played 192 senior games for the club and has won 6 Best and Fairests as well as numerous games for the Yvmdfl including 1 as captain.Tim has also been involved in many years as a coach including roles with both the seniors and juniors.In recent years Tim has undertaken the role as Life Members coordinator and also has spent many hours planning last years fabulous 1965 66 67 78 88 and 2005 premiership reunion night and this years 1978 and 1988 premiership day at the club.Tim was very pleased with his award and was also very proud to join his brothers as life Members of the Ofcfc.Older brother Mick is also a life Member of the Yvmdfl and his other brother Steve almost is.On behalf of everyone involved with our club we would like to congratulate Tim on his wonderful achievement.
WELL DONE
RustyHawk
22 Sep 2008, 21:19
Last night at the clubs annual Presentation night Tim Scott received a life membership of the Olinda Ferny Creek Football Club.Tim played 192 senior games for the club and has won 6 Best and Fairests as well as numerous games for the Yvmdfl including 1 as captain.Tim has also been involved in many years as a coach including roles with both the seniors and juniors.In recent years Tim has undertaken the role as Life Members coordinator and also has spent many hours planning last years fabulous 1965 66 67 78 88 and 2005 premiership reunion night and this years 1978 and 1988 premiership day at the club.Tim was very pleased with his award and was also very proud to join his brothers as life Members of the Ofcfc.Older brother Mick is also a life Member of the Yvmdfl and his other brother Steve almost is.On behalf of everyone involved with our club we would like to congratulate Tim on his wonderful achievement.
WELL DONE
Concur, well done Tim :thumbsu: and thanks Sid for this write up.
i know its a bit early for next year, but i have heard by a good source that Pupsta is lookin to coach at gembrook and Brett Andrews is applying for thorntons job, Also heard that If Brett gets the job Craig Clarke fom gembrook will definatly be playing for thornton next year!! Could be very interesting!!
McCavity
23 Sep 2008, 08:29
i know its a bit early for next year, but i have heard by a good source that Pupsta is lookin to coach at gembrook and Brett Andrews is applying for thorntons job, Also heard that If Brett gets the job Craig Clarke fom gembrook will definatly be playing for thornton next year!! Could be very interesting!!
Craig is contracted to Gembrook for 2009.
Firstly Well Done Tim - super effort
Upwey Fan, forget bout the 6 day break. Reckon means a pinch of shit at our level. Did it makes a difference in your scoobies? Dont think so you guys were playing better footy all way through, a better team than healesville.
Lets look at last year - Silvan come off 6days & won v Woori (maybe in 04 as well v Upwey). In the reserves Warby gave us a mighty touch up off 6days & they were supposed to old, fat & slow...
Spanna super effort to your boys, you guys are the yardstick, always love coaching against you hope to see you going around next year,
Also well done all the premiers for this year, especially our hawkettes.
Cheers
Cagga
localfootyguru
23 Sep 2008, 23:57
Well done Tim on your Olinda FC life membership - couldn't have been awarded to a more deserving clubman.
Congrats to Silvan on a stellar season too - to go through unbeaten is a terrific effort.
Looks like Monbulk have acted swiftly continuing the East Ringwood connection with the signing of the new coach. Great pick up for the club who certainly have the ability to attract quality players and people.
From the Monbulk website - www.monbulkfc.vcfl.com.au
Monbulk Looks to Luke!
Monbulk moved swiftly to try to cover the loss of coach Chris Hughson who has retired after a stellar career. The Hawks have long enjoyed outstanding leadership at the top and a succession of brilliant coaches has seen them develop squads that have been the envy of many clubs. This is set to continue with the appointment of another outstanding candidate to lead the club into the next era.
Luke McCormick comes to the club with a string of achievements that boggles the mind! Originally hailing from the national capital, Luke's outstanding skills saw him enlisted at age 15 into the Teal Cup in 1994, representing NSW/ACT. He excelled for three years, eventually captaining the side in 1996 - along the way, gaining All Australian honours in the U16 Australian side.
Luke was drafted to North Melbourne in 1996, played 35 games in the Reserves then did pre-season with the Swans in '99, but moved to Port Melbourne in the VFL for 2 years. He finished 2nd Best and Fairest in 1999 and won selection in the VFL State side.
Richmond showed interest the following year, but Luke settled for EFL duties with East Ringwood where he took out the Best and Fairest in their Premiership year of 2002. His great skill and natural leadership saw him appointed Assistant Coach for the last two years.
Renowned as a dynamic on-baller, Luke represented the EFL many times, with a B.O.G. performance in 2004 highlighting his immense ability as a player.
At about this time, Luke turned his attention to coaching, completed his Level 1 and was quickly identified as an outstanding coach. He was selected from a huge field to lead the Victorian Schoolboys side in their assault on the National Championships. His credentials as a coach are impeccable, yet his commitment to professionalism and improvement is set to be enhanced when he completes his Level 2 ACC course in November. He will indeed be among the phalanx of highly qualified coaches at any level!
Luke turned 30 in August, so he has even more to offer on the field - to the delight of Monbulk and the consternation of rivals!
He lives in The Basin with his wife Bec and their two little girls, Alice and Chloe. Luke teaches at Melbourne Grammar after moving from Lysterfield Primary School as a P.E. teacher.
Luke's appointment builds on the rich experience of our coaching list of the past two decades. He comes with outstanding credentials as a player, leader and club member.
We welcome the McCormick family into our fold and wish them all the best in their stay with the Monbulk community.
Luke couldn't have chosen a better environment for his family to enjoy their sporting interests!!
localfootyguru
24 Sep 2008, 00:03
Belgrave FC Best and Fairest Results for 2008.
From www.belgravefc.vcfl.com.au
B & F RESULTS
2008 BEST & FAIREST WINNERS
SENIORS
1ST - NICK STOW
1ST - TIM BEARE
2ND - JACOB MEYER
3RD - KYLE CHANDLER
3RD - DARREN SIDEBOTTOM
RESERVES
1ST - MARK CLACY
2ND - CRAIG POXON
3RD - GREG ISON
UNDER 18'S
1ST - PETER GOUGH
2ND - BEN FITZGERALD
3RD - DEAN LUNN-WILSON
localfootyguru
24 Sep 2008, 00:09
Olinda FC results from 2008 announced at presentation night last week. Congrats to Scott Tregoning on a fantastic year winning both the league and club Best and Fairest.
Here are all the award winners at the Presentation Night on Friday night.
Seniors
Scott Tregoning Best and Fairest
David Noorda Runner Up Best and Fairest
Garratt McDonald Most Consistent
Ryan Davis Rising Star
Reserves
Steve Gannell Best and Fairest
Shaun Weiring Runner Up Best and Fairest
Ben Zammitt Coaches Award
Gavin Nautili Most Improved
Under 18s
Dylan Troutman Best and Fairest
Pat Rosier Runner Up Best and Fairest
Luke Van Lierop Best Team Player
Owen Masters Best Utility Player
Kristian Groen Coaches Award
Dylan Troutman Best In Final
Netball A
Erin Williams Best and Fairest
Stacee Riddiford Runner Up Best and Fairest
Rebecca Gray Coaches Award
Netball B
Kelli Riddiford Best and Fairest
Eloise Rose Runner Up Best and Fairest
Georgia Taylor Coaches Award
localfootyguru
24 Sep 2008, 00:18
Gembrook Cockatoo FC Best and Fairest results are as follows;
The 2008 Best & Fairest vote count was held in the clubrooms on Saturday night at the end of the home and away season. The club would like to congratulate the following winners across all grades, each of the top 3 players for all sides had fantastic seasons, well done.
Seniors:
1st - Andrew Shipp
2nd - Craig Clarke
3rd - Eric Pope
Reserves:
1st - Ian Litterbach
2nd - Sam Martin
3rd - James Hampton
U18's:
1st - Liam Henzen
2nd - John Robinson
3rd - Simon Heathcote
Netball:
1st - Kye Stephenson
2nd - Hayley Clarke
3rd - Charlotte Moore
from www.gcfc.vcfl.com.au
Thanks to Sid, Caggs and the Guru, last Friday night was a very humbling experience and I'll be forever greatful for the club bestowing this honour to me.
Also a real buzz to now be a Lifey with my brothers (Sid and the Mirrorman).
Also a buzz to be a Lifey as I am in charge of the OFCFCFCFCFCFCFCNC Life Members arm, might have to send myself a letter next year at seasons start and also for the Life Members day :D
Congrats to Silvan, undefeated Premiers is an awesome achievement, sounds like Upwey had a fair crack, no doubt in my mind that the best team got the choccies.
Upwey Fan
24 Sep 2008, 11:11
Upwey Tecoma Best and Fairest Winners 2008
Football
Seniors
First Chris Hayes,
Second Steve Brotja
Third Tom Hedge
Reserves
First Ryan Ellis
Second Kane Townsend Finlay
Third David Grant
Under 18's
First Isaac Krijt
Second Tom O'Brien
Third Daniel Waters
Netball
A Grade
First Rylie McLoughlin
Second Kate Rhook
Third Emma Hedge
B Grade
First Kate Jeffs
Second Rebecca Smith
Third Penny Oliver
well done to butch heyes b&f Upwey!! Good bloke he deserves to win it!!
Bounty Hunter
24 Sep 2008, 21:37
Is there any expectation (formally via the League or otherwise) that Alexandra will go up to Div 1 next season ?:confused:
RANGEMAN
24 Sep 2008, 21:45
Is there any expectation (formally via the League or otherwise) that Alexandra will go up to Div 1 next season ?:confused:
If they do go up, who would go down to Div 2?
McCavity
25 Sep 2008, 09:03
If they do go up, who would go down to Div 2?
Olinda finished bottom of Div 1, so the expectation would be that they would be relegated and Alex promoted.
Bounty Hunter
25 Sep 2008, 13:47
Olinda finished bottom of Div 1, so the expectation would be that they would be relegated and Alex promoted.
Is a move up to Div 1 optional or a League standard?:confused:
McCavity
25 Sep 2008, 14:00
Is a move up to Div 1 optional or a League standard?:confused:
That's the $64,000 question. Up until last year, I think most people assumed it wasn't negotiable, but Thornton-Eildon were given the option to either move up or stay in Div 2. Obviously they chose the latter.
There were noises earlier in the year that the League would move to remove the option for clubs to refuse promotion, but I can't say with any certainty whether that is indeed the case.
footysnumberone
25 Sep 2008, 18:02
teams have to prove why they CANT go up to div 1. Alex will go up, olinda will go down. Unless alex prove they can't (money, venue etc)
McCavity
25 Sep 2008, 20:05
teams have to prove why they CANT go up to div 1. Alex will go up, olinda will go down. Unless alex prove they can't (money, venue etc)
That clears that up. Thanks.
although it has to be "proved" why a club cannot go up and i believe alexandra have the requirements eg cash, facilities and a crop of high performing teams i dont think their promotion is a surety...will be interesting to see what they do over the next few months.
footysnumberone
25 Sep 2008, 23:23
although it has to be "proved" why a club cannot go up and i believe alexandra have the requirements eg cash, facilities and a crop of high performing teams i dont think their promotion is a surety...will be interesting to see what they do over the next few months.
4 out of their 5 teams finished top of the ladder... they have great facilities... and i'm presuming, they have money. Surely the league can't be dumb enough to let them stay in div 2
sid snot
26 Sep 2008, 09:12
I am pretty sure earlier in the year the league said that the winner of second division would have to come up.I also believe the winning club has around thrity days to except promotion.Last season Thorton advised the league that they would be staying in Division 2 hence the Ofcfc stayed up.While i cant speak for Alex i would imagine they would take this opportunity to see how they go as a CLUB in division 1.While not involved with Olinda at this stage i think all they would be doing is planning for next year as normal.If Alex do go up then all the best to them
aaron_barrett1980
30 Sep 2008, 03:24
Gladstone Mudcrabs AFC are looking for players, check out our website!!!!
www.mudcrabs.aflq.com.au
dishlickers
30 Sep 2008, 06:18
have been told that alex will definitely be going upto divi 1 next year. good luck to them
:eek:
cha0012
30 Sep 2008, 18:34
heard silvan is getting mark johnson and damian peverill any truth to that
heard silvan is getting mark johnson and damian peverill any truth to thatDear lord.
The ''salary cap'' system is an epic fail isn't it?
Upwey Fan
2 Oct 2008, 08:33
Dear lord.
The ''salary cap'' system is an epic fail isn't it?
We don't have a Salary Cap-we have the Player Point System.
We don't have a Salary Cap-we have the Player Point System.Does it work?