View Full Version : Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum
Pages :
[
2]
agree with ya there spy. not sure how its run or if they just throw it together but they should allocate someone to do it and jazz it up to make it a bit more appealing.
localfootyguru
15 Aug 2007, 21:47
Have to agree the state of the YVMDFL site is a disgrace. When Lori Woodcock was working at the league she was tireless in updating the site and compiling the footy record. All her hard work was rewarded with a major award from the VCFL but this is certainly faded into the distance in recent times since her departure.
Surely the league can fire up and update the site more regularly and provide some more footy related news.
How about some of the results in Division 1 last week - the points system cannot come in quickly enough going by the results. There is a huge gulf between the top and bottom sides at the moment and this is completely the opposite in Division 2 where things are so even and all the interest is.
How about Gembrook reserves forfeiting - whats going on there??
Valley Spy
15 Aug 2007, 23:04
Read that Olinda had to forfiet their 2's as well. You'd think for these 2 clubs the end of season trip couldnt come fast enough.
frankie.dettori
22 Aug 2007, 16:33
just wondering how lucas gneil goes for seville? hear he goes alright in the backline..
footyplayers
23 Aug 2007, 12:18
We are looking for players for 2008. PM me if interested.
David_02
23 Aug 2007, 15:22
2007 Team of Year
BACKS Luke Barclay (HV) Rhett Newell (SV) Dallas Spencer (WY)
HALF BACKS Danny Ryan (WY) Michael Hughson (MB) Danny Hyndman (WY)
CENTRES David Van Hoorn (UT) Ryan Creed (MB) Brendon Murphy (HV)
HALF FORWARDS Chris Haworth (MV) Aaron Henneman (SV) Chris Goodlet (SV)
FORWARDS Gary Moorcroft (SV) Jye Conrau (HV) Tom Hedge (UT)
RUCKS Craig Clarke (GC Vin Dunstan (MB) Matt Stolarczyk (WY)
INTERCHANGE Jason Fraser (MB), Daniel King (WD),
Dean Selkrig (YG), Scott Tregoning (OFC)
Captain: Danny Ryan
Vice Captain: Craig Clarke
Coach: Damian Monkhorst (WY)
This is a joke!
Wayde Petersen
23 Aug 2007, 21:09
What do you think about Yea coming back into your league next season ?.
Yea have been in our league (the Kyabram DFL) for two seasons after their other competition (the Central Goulburn) folded, and it hasn't been a happy stay for the Tigers in the KDFL since then, and seeing that both Alexandra & Thornton/Eildon have done pretty well in their new league, I think that they have made the right decision in going back to their old comp.
I know that both Alexandra & Thornton/Eildon used to play in your league years ago, with moderate to good success, I was wondering if there is anybody here that's involved in Division Two that has any opinions about having Yea (and potentially, Kinglake if the rumours are true) back next season.
P.S
My dad and I used to be involved with Panton Hill several years ago, when they were still in the YVMDFL, so I have a bit of an interest there.
Derby103
24 Aug 2007, 12:22
Yes, hello Wayde
I feel that in some ways, the addition of Yea would be positive. Their ground is as good as any in the YVMDFL, and their proximity to Alexandra and Thornton would obviously be an advantage to all concerned. Kinglake may find it more comfortable in our league – not necessarily regarding the standard of play, but more particularly the culture of the league, which is very different from that of the Northern FL. I do recall watching Kinglake play Seville in the 1995 YVMDFL Div 2 Grand Final, which may have been their last game with us.
On the other hand, the League’s drift northwards will inevitably cause major difficulties for Emerald and Belgrave, while South Belgrave have already indicated their desire to leave. One solution to the travel problem could be to draw up the division 2 fixture on geographical lines. Another could be for the affected southern clubs to gain promotion to first division and to stay there. Most likely, though, is that the EFL will gain a couple of clubs at our expense.
localfootyguru
24 Aug 2007, 18:07
Have to agree the addition of Yea is a positive and to be honest some of the Southern based teams (namely South Belgrave) should realistically accept it - the southern based clubs only will travel 3 times per year where as the Northern counterparts do it every second week.
Like you said Derby, South will probably leave the league but in all honesty is it really a major loss. The club is struggling to have an impact onfield and i think we as a league pick up a better club in Yea with a far better ground too.
The addition of Yea will certainly benefit clubs like Alexandra and Thornton and will further improve the standard of football in division 2 which in my opinion has come ahead in leaps and bounds this year. Hopefully Powelltown will survive and improve too in 2008.
Its not that long ago that division 2 was somewhat struggling due to lack of clubs so credit must go to the league executive in rebuilding the league and making it one of the few country leagues that is expanding and not reducing in member clubs.
localfootyguru
24 Aug 2007, 18:43
One of the best players in the Yarra Valley has decided to call it a day. Congratulations to Andy Greenall - a tough opponent to say the least and certainly "talked the talk and walked the walk". Olinda FC will certainly miss your on field presence.
From the Olinda FC website;
One of the best players to represent the OFCFC in the modern era has today decided to hang up his boots and retire from Senior Football.After 150 plus games for the bloods and over 350 firsts games of Footy Andy Greenall has conceded that time has caught up with his body.
Andy was a product of our junior club and was a member of both the 1988 and 2005 senior premiership teams.He has also played at Carlton in the under 19s and at Port Melbourne. He was captain coach of both Coolangatta and Upper Ferntree Gully and has played with Port Colts and Beaufort.
Andy said he may have the occassional run in the reserves if required next season. Unfortunately Andy tore his calf muscle in round 11 and won't get the chance for a fairwell game.The Club would like to congratulate Andy on his Football career and service to the club and wish him all the best for the future.
Valley Spy
25 Aug 2007, 20:23
2007 Team of Year
This is a joke!
From what I saw today Ben Haynes is one of the most skillfull footballers ive seen in this league in the last 20 years. I think he'd make this team and possibly win the league B&F.
Valley Spy
25 Aug 2007, 20:42
Have to agree the addition of Yea is a positive and to be honest some of the Southern based teams (namely South Belgrave) should realistically accept it - the southern based clubs only will travel 3 times per year where as the Northern counterparts do it every second week.
Like you said Derby, South will probably leave the league but in all honesty is it really a major loss. The club is struggling to have an impact onfield and i think we as a league pick up a better club in Yea with a far better ground too.
The addition of Yea will certainly benefit clubs like Alexandra and Thornton and will further improve the standard of football in division 2 which in my opinion has come ahead in leaps and bounds this year. Hopefully Powelltown will survive and improve too in 2008.
Its not that long ago that division 2 was somewhat struggling due to lack of clubs so credit must go to the league executive in rebuilding the league and making it one of the few country leagues that is expanding and not reducing in member clubs.
EFL voted on their inclusion at the end of last season. Yea coming in has nothing to do with it. For most clubs its a battle to get 18s and reserves players to make a 4 hour round trip and when the league schedules them to play away to the northern clubs 2 weeks in a row, which happened last season, you can understand the stance they've taken. To say that they aren't a loss to the league is ridiculous. They've been one of the more powerful clubs in 2nd division for a long time now and are still competitve with the top sides each week. Club rivalries are what makes the league and i will be disappointed to see them leave because they were always top blokes on and off the field.
[quote=David_02;8498003]2007 Team of Year
This is a joke only one div 2 player in it what about ryan hall from thornton kicked 100 last year another 70 this year in the div 2's best side and you put selkrig in instead obviously havent seen any div 2 games because even though the standard isn't as good as 1st their are some players that would stand out up there.
Master of Cooks
3 Sep 2007, 17:24
[quote=David_02;8498003]2007 Team of Year
This is a joke only one div 2 player in it what about ryan hall from thornton kicked 100 last year another 70 this year in the div 2's best side and you put selkrig in instead obviously havent seen any div 2 games because even though the standard isn't as good as 1st their are some players that would stand out up there.
Hey Pupsta, just curious to how Luke Sharps been going this year?
Valley Spy
3 Sep 2007, 20:54
Pupsta, thats actually the team picked by the radio commentating guys. Probably makes it less worse coz when you listen to them its clear they have no idea about football. Their actually presenting awards to these players in this team on league B&F night. Some of these guys must be embarrased with some of the names that have missed.
MOC, Sharpy did a good pre season and played the first five games very well but then has only played 3 since because of work.
But he is now right for finals and after a sub par performance in the 2nd semi he is primed and pumped for the GF.
VS, i was there and what a joke it was. Good mates with Leo and Foo but it was pretty much saying that 2nd div doesn't matter or doesn't exist. Like i said in the other one there are a few in div 2 that could hold their own with them and like you said about ben haynes too they need to do it properly if they want people to take it seriously.
localfootyguru
5 Sep 2007, 21:15
I thought this was an interesting article from the Free Press. Isn't this typical of Belgrave - always blaming someone else. Lets face it they werent good enough and hopefully Alexandra knocks them out this weekend.
Late decisions costly
Eliza Sewell
04Sep07
BELGRAVE coach Gary Connolly believes the standard of umpiring in Sunday's YVMDFL Division 2 second semi-final cost his Magpies' a Grand Final berth.
Connolly was still seething after the Magpies' 14.6 (90) to 11.13 (79) loss to Thornton Eildon.
The result means the Magpies play Alexandra in a cut-throat preliminary final this weekend.
``The thing is I don't normally talk about umpires but it was disappointing,'' Connolly said.
``The crowd was getting frustrated, it was just one of those games, it was tough.''
Connolly said two 50m penalties awarded to Thornton Eildon in the final quarter resulted in game-breaking goals.
``It hurt us,'' he said.
``There was no doubt we should have won that game. And that's why, at five o'clock on Monday, we're still angry and disappointed. Anything can happen this week.''
The Magpies defeated Alexandra in Round 18, by nine points, and Connolly said his side would implement the same strategy to try to combat it on Sunday.
``I think it's just a case of getting the match-ups right,'' he said.
``Footy's a game of match-ups and making sure, on the day, things fall into place.''
He said his side was desperate to play Thornton Eildon again in the premiership-decider on September 15 after Saturday's results, and two other close matches during the season.
``I'm dying to have another crack at them,'' he said.
``I just want to get there, I'm confident.
``I just feel other things have influenced the results (in the past).
``It's not that they're better than us, I just feel there's still a little bit left in us and, if we can win this weekend, I'm pretty confident they fear us.''
localfootyguru
5 Sep 2007, 21:20
I cant believe the so called team of the year. Why werent guys like Senior, Hall, Oakley and Hin considered as well as a number of other players from the Division 2 competition. There are some top players in the division and to be honest the team selected by the Radio guys was based on the games they saw throughout the year.
Also, have to agree on why was Ben Haynes not selected, one of the best players I have seen in this league in a long time.
localfootyguru
5 Sep 2007, 21:26
Congratulations to all the league best and fairest winners. All winners are very deserving especially Oakley from Alexandra who has now one two Division 2 best and fairests in successive years - he is a gun. Well done to Bob Allen from the Yarra Ranges Umpires on his award, a better guy you would not meet.
Have to say a good night was held and enjoyed by all. Lets just hope the league can start updating their website more regularly and return to the state when Lori Woodcock was running it - the league certainly misses her.
Top Three Claim Ramage Medal
The 2007 Ramage Medal Night was an historic occasion, with three joint winners of the first division football award. Entering the final round, Vin Dunstan (Monbulk) and Paddy Sharp (Woori) were locked on 17 votes, with three other players three or less votes behind. In Rd 18, neither Dunstan nor Sharp could manage a vote, while Upwey's Tom Hedge claimed the three votes against Olinda to join them on 17 votes to create the 3-way tie.
The Jim Wandin Medal was won, for the second consecutive year, by Alexandra's Neil Oakley, who polled 27 votes to win by six votes from Seville�s Shane Senior. The Jodi Chandler Medal for Div 1 A-Grade netball was won by Woori Yallock's Ashleigh Hardy (24 votes), three votes clear of her teammate, Kristy Maloney, while A-grade in Second Division was won by Thornton-Eildon's Kath Brown (26 votes).
The night also saw counts simulcast on 3MDR 97.1 FM and the presentation of B&Fs in reserve and U18 grades, along with the team of the year and club championship honours. It was hosted by Sandy Roberts, who put in a polished performance behind the microphone, but was upstaged by an hilarious Andrew Startin, whose invited guests including Sam Newman, Gary Ayres, Ian Thorpe, Richie Benaud, Tony Greig and the always clever Bruce McAvaney, made for a highly entertaining evening.
Harold Ramage Medal
Vin Dunstan (Monbulk) � 17 votes
Paddy Sharp (Woori) � 17 votes
Tom Hedge (Upwey) � 17 votes
Jim Wandin Medal
Neil Oakley (Alexandra) - 27 votes
Jodi Chandler Medal
Ashleigh Hardy (Woori) � 24 votes
Div 2 A-Grade Medal
Kath Brown (T/Eildon) � 26 votes
Ron Hunter Medal (Div 1 U18s)
Chris Tones-Erickson (Healesville) � 32 votes
Arthur Cowley Medal (Div 2 U18s)
Nat Fage (Belgrave) � 27 votes
Div 1 B-Grade
Beth Stubbs (Monbulk) � 23 votes
Emma Paternoster (Mt Evelyn) � 23 votes
Div 2 B-Grade
Camille Ridd (Y/Junction) � 15 votes
Mark Darcy Medal (Vets)
Justin McLean (Warb-Mill) - 11 votes
John Edwards Medal (Umpires)
Bob Allen
Valley Spy
5 Sep 2007, 23:56
I thought this was an interesting article from the Free Press. Isn't this typical of Belgrave - always blaming someone else. Lets face it they werent good enough and hopefully Alexandra knocks them out this weekend.
Late decisions costly
Eliza Sewell
04Sep07
BELGRAVE coach Gary Connolly believes the standard of umpiring in Sunday's YVMDFL Division 2 second semi-final cost his Magpies' a Grand Final berth.
Connolly was still seething after the Magpies' 14.6 (90) to 11.13 (79) loss to Thornton Eildon.
The result means the Magpies play Alexandra in a cut-throat preliminary final this weekend.
``The thing is I don't normally talk about umpires but it was disappointing,'' Connolly said.
``The crowd was getting frustrated, it was just one of those games, it was tough.''
Connolly said two 50m penalties awarded to Thornton Eildon in the final quarter resulted in game-breaking goals.
``It hurt us,'' he said.
``There was no doubt we should have won that game. And that's why, at five o'clock on Monday, we're still angry and disappointed. Anything can happen this week.''
The Magpies defeated Alexandra in Round 18, by nine points, and Connolly said his side would implement the same strategy to try to combat it on Sunday.
``Footy's a game of match-ups and making sure, on the day, things fall into place.''
He said his side was desperate to play Thornton Eildon again in the premiership-decider on September 15 after Saturday's results, and two other close matches during the season.
``It's not that they're better than us, I just feel there's still a little bit left in us and, if we can win this weekend, I'm pretty confident they fear us.''
Oh dear. He's forgotten to mention the 50m penalty that resulted in a goal for Belgrave in the last qtr. As a neutral spectator the umpiring was equally as bad for both sides. Poor excuse. He should be teaching some of his forwards how to kick for goal.
What a load of it for Gary Connolly to say the Boners fear them. :D
Instead of having a go at the umpires and the quality of the opposition he should be concerned at his players abuse of the umpires. A very undisclipined side. It was a close game with a few dodgy decisions both ways, ie the incorrect out of bounds on the full decision against Thornton on the wing, but both teams had their chance to win and it's very ungratious to blame the umpiring for the fitting end result. The Boners stood up when it counted...end of story.
I suspect a lot of neutral supporters will get behind Thornton in the granny if Belgrave make it and I reckon Thornton will do them proud. Go Boners.
Late decisions costly
Eliza Sewell
04Sep07
``It hurt us,'' he said.
What the :confused:
Fair dinkum why not put the heat on ya players. Surely a defender went to ground at a critical time, allowed an uncontested mark inside 50m or flew to spoil and the ball ended up over the back. Was his forwards defensive pressure at their maximum - 2,3,4 efforts every time the ball turned over. Did they dominate clearances, clear after every kick-in, have the zone work 100% after every opposition kick-in???
A lot of things can happen over 100 odd minutes of footy to determine an outcome, to put the blame onto the umps and not your charges seems a bit iffy to me. Find an area that was costly and say if we improve on that next time we're a show . . . . . so the umps may have a couple of blue's thats footy, Im sure over the course of the match the players at times may have 30- 40 errors that could swung momentum, created a goal etc etc.
Anyways to an old rival coach I say good luck to Brad and the club in general. Was at Yea for 3-4 years and that 2005 season in the CGFL one could really sense they weren't far away and I truly hope ya's get the reward . . . . . and if ya's don't well I just hope its the other old CGFL club in Alexandra for a couple of lads like Corey and Hilly (not Belgrave).
Good Luck :thumbsu:
localfootyguru
6 Sep 2007, 23:14
Think that Alex will get over belgrabe this weekend. Can understand other comments about Belgrave and their lack of discipline, considering a number of their players come from Parkmore which was not well know for discipline it doesnt surprise me at all. Guys like Millane and co. certainly are not angels and hopefully will be playing their last game on Sunday.
Pretty pathetic stuff by Connolly looking for a scapegoat instead of looking in his own backyard. Umpires always make a few errors and teams need to just get on with things and worry about their own performances, discipline, maintaining focus and concentration are three things that win premierships and Belgrave has none of them.
They are a bunch of sooks and have always been the same.
Go Rebels.
Pretty pathetic stuff by Connolly looking for a scapegoat instead of looking in his own backyard. .
He probably blames the umpires for his CHF only getting one kick for the game too.:confused:
localfootyguru
13 Sep 2007, 23:22
Not much talk about the Silvan loss last week to Woori. Will they rebound this week over Upwey Tecoma? My thoughts are they may smash them!!
Disappointing to see Monbulk drop out last week - looks like the end of a successful era came to an end. Would be fairly confident that the Hawks will be back again in 2008 though with a number of new recruits in tow.
Do readers think Woori can win the flag? Or can Silvan rebound and go all the way? Would be some egg on faces if the Cats didn't even make the Grand Final considering their pre season recruiting spree - champion teams will always beat a team of champions to adage goes!!
My tip for this weekend - Silvan easily.
Thornton Eildon to win the flag in Division 2.
localfootyguru
26 Oct 2007, 00:18
Time to get this forum going again - been pretty quiet here!!!
Some rumors around the traps;
Simon Rourke to coach Lilydale in the EFL and leave Silvan with Moorcroft taking over the reins and the Essendon connection continuing in 2008 despite all the rumors.
Paul Grayling is the new coach of Wandin - great pick up and great player!!! Will be one of the premier players in the competition in 2008.
Jason De Graaf coaching Chirnside Park and Brendan Murphy his assistant with a couple of other guys including Iacono and Hamill (Warb/Mill) heading that way.
Some quality recruits heading in to the competition at a number of clubs including Monbulk and Yarra Glen. There is certainly some off field activity happening at both Yea and Kinglake too. Thornton Eildon will be playing in Division 2 in 2008 too and keen to renew rivalries with Yea and Alexandra again.
Time to get this forum going again - been pretty quiet here!!!
Some rumors around the traps;
Simon Rourke to coach Lilydale in the EFL and leave Silvan with Moorcroft taking over the reins and the Essendon connection continuing in 2008 despite all the rumors.
Paul Grayling is the new coach of Wandin - great pick up and great player!!! Will be one of the premier players in the competition in 2008.
Jason De Graaf coaching Chirnside Park and Brendan Murphy his assistant with a couple of other guys including Iacono and Hamill (Warb/Mill) heading that way.
Some quality recruits heading in to the competition at a number of clubs including Monbulk and Yarra Glen. There is certainly some off field activity happening at both Yea and Kinglake too. Thornton Eildon will be playing in Division 2 in 2008 too and keen to renew rivalries with Yea and Alexandra again.
No surprises with Thornton staying in Divi 2, what will happen with Olinda and Belgrave. Do Olinda get first option to stay up or drop back or do Belgrave get the option of coming up to first Divi.
Molly80
26 Oct 2007, 11:15
Does anyone know when Upwey Tecoma is due to start preseason and anyone give a run down on what the club is like?
cakehole
28 Oct 2007, 22:19
Iacano is definately leaving
craig clarke will probably leave gembrook and head to beaconsfield. another big loss for yvmdfl. apparently a few others are gettin out of there too.
we arent loosing anyone from our prem. team and we are gettin closer to signing jimmy herridge back from mansfield.(would be a massive pick up)
also talking to a few others that are interested.
localfootyguru
29 Oct 2007, 11:13
Great stuff if you pick up Herridge from Mansfield Pup - his couple of years in the GV has really made him into a top line player. Has he been travelling from Thornton to Mansfield to play? Fair effort to do that for two years considering some of the distances they have to travel to play as well.
Hear Clarke was on the move and my sources tell me he will be at Beaconsfield in 08 and Shipp may be as well - heard all is not well at Gembrook. What has happened there? Bad choice of playing coach for this year may have been a start.
Olinda will more than likely be in Division 1 in 2008 - apparently have been very active in recruting a new coach and players as well. Hopefully they can turn it around as they lost momentum in the last couple of years after winning the flag.
goodgolly24
29 Oct 2007, 21:49
Iacano is definately leaving
Is this the same Iacano that used to play at Coldstream??
nah mate jimmy got a job over there and is still livin over there somewhere but peter tossol was the main reason he was there and he has resigned so thats why hes interested in comin back.
dont think shippy would leave his old man is pretty tied up there.
pretty sure iacono played at coldstream, also healsville.
GG Rides Again
30 Oct 2007, 15:45
Any annoucments on who is coaching in Div 1?
Monkey still going at Woori, Whats about Mt Evelyn? Farmer coached last year, going again? Who else?
Valley Spy
30 Oct 2007, 19:54
Ben Haynes has been confirmed as the coach of Silvan with Moorcroft director (or something) of coaching.
Iacono played juniors at Coldstream before going to Powelltown a few years back.
Russell Warburton may be the coach of Seville, not 100% sure. Was assistant last year.
cakehole
5 Nov 2007, 09:14
Iacano was at healsville in u18's. Easier to get spotted for Rangers. was with with him there 2000
goodgolly24
5 Nov 2007, 21:17
Iacano was at healsville in u18's. Easier to get spotted for Rangers. was with with him there 2000
I was with him at coldstream, maybe the year before. hows he traveling these days? still havin a go?
localfootyguru
11 Nov 2007, 10:51
Well its all confirmed as seen on the YVMDFL Internet site with the transfer of Yea and Kinglake into Division 2 in 2008. It wasn't that long ago that people were considering a one division league due to the struggling nature of many clubs in Division 2. Congratulations to all involved in resurrecting the Division which certainly ensures a bright future for the league as a whole. The derbies between the new teams and Alexandra, Thornton Eildon and Yarra Glen will be eagerly anticipated.
From the league ste;
For the second time in two years, the clubs making up the YVMDFL will change in Season 2008.
YVMDFL clubs this week approved the transfer of Sth Belgrave FC to the Eastern Football League, and accepted the transfers of Yea and Kinglake FCs into the YVMDFL next season, in a move that will see both divisions in the ideal situation of having ten teams.
League CEO Ben O'Brien said that the YVMDFL Board accepted the right of clubs to decide on where their future needs would be best served, and accepted that clubs could both enter and leave the league under this principle. "Sth Belgrave made it clear that, when their proposal that the league shift to geographic divisions was rejected by the other clubs, they felt their club's best interests lay in the EFL. We might disagree with that view, but we (and the other clubs) respect it and have approved their transfer accordingly."
"A major factor behind Kinglake's transfer was our netball competition, which they don't have in the Northern Football League, while Yea saw advantages in regaining former players who had moved to Melbourne and couldn't travel the extra distances required in the Kyabram league."
With Thornton-Eildon remaining in second division, local derbies in the north of the league should be a feature of the 2008 season.
localfootyguru
11 Nov 2007, 11:03
Any annoucments on who is coaching in Div 1?
Monkey still going at Woori, Whats about Mt Evelyn? Farmer coached last year, going again? Who else?
Coaches for 2008;
Division 1
Silvan - Gary Moorcroft
Woori Yallock - Damien Monkhorst
Upwey Tecoma - Greg Hannon
Monbulk - Chris Hughson
Healesville - Sean Ellis
Wandin - Paul Grayling
Mount Evelyn
Warburton Millgrove - Peter Johnson
Gembrook Cockatoo
Olinda Ferny Creek - Steve Longham
Division 2
Thornton Eildon - Brad Coller
Belgrave
Alexandra
Yarra Junction
Yarra Glen - Shayne Kaal
Emerald - Peter Ferrari
Seville
Powelltown
Kinglake
Yea
Perhaps other readers can fill in the gaps.
Michael Bretho (dunno how to spell it) is coaching Alex again.
localfootyguru
11 Nov 2007, 14:02
Coaches for 2008;
Division 1
Silvan - Gary Moorcroft
Monbulk - Chris Hughson
Healesville - Sean Ellis
Wandin - Paul Grayling
Mount Evelyn
Gembrook Cockatoo - Geoff Shipp (thank you Pupsta)
Olinda Ferny Creek - Steve Longham
Division 2
Belgrave
Alexandra - Michael Bretherton
Yarra Junction
Yarra Glen - Shayne Kaal
Emerald - Peter Ferrari
Seville
Powelltown
Kinglake - Mick Nott - (Thank you Lakers 12/11/2007 - 17:41) RH
Yea
Perhaps other readers can fill in the gaps.
Mick Nott is coaching Kinglake in 2008
GG Rides Again
12 Nov 2007, 18:55
Mick Nott is coaching Kinglake in 2008
Give us some info on Kinglake. Better players and anyone with VFL/AFL experience?Well known metro players?
Is the coach new this year or did the job last year as well?
Blue Tongue
13 Nov 2007, 10:12
Well its all confirmed as seen on the YVMDFL Internet site with the transfer of Yea and Kinglake into Division 2 in 2008. It wasn't that long ago that people were considering a one division league due to the struggling nature of many clubs in Division 2. Congratulations to all involved in resurrecting the Division which certainly ensures a bright future for the league as a whole. The derbies between the new teams and Alexandra, Thornton Eildon and Yarra Glen will be eagerly anticipated.
From the league ste;
For the second time in two years, the clubs making up the YVMDFL will change in Season 2008.
YVMDFL clubs this week approved the transfer of Sth Belgrave FC to the Eastern Football League, and accepted the transfers of Yea and Kinglake FCs into the YVMDFL next season, in a move that will see both divisions in the ideal situation of having ten teams.
League CEO Ben O'Brien said that the YVMDFL Board accepted the right of clubs to decide on where their future needs would be best served, and accepted that clubs could both enter and leave the league under this principle. "Sth Belgrave made it clear that, when their proposal that the league shift to geographic divisions was rejected by the other clubs, they felt their club's best interests lay in the EFL. We might disagree with that view, but we (and the other clubs) respect it and have approved their transfer accordingly."
"A major factor behind Kinglake's transfer was our netball competition, which they don't have in the Northern Football League, while Yea saw advantages in regaining former players who had moved to Melbourne and couldn't travel the extra distances required in the Kyabram league."
With Thornton-Eildon remaining in second division, local derbies in the north of the league should be a feature of the 2008 season.
Any truth to the rumour Belgrave are looking to leave YVMDFL after season 2008 & follow South Belgrave to EFL?
If so, do you think that this might open the flood gates for some other clubs to move over particularly those positioned nearer the EFL boundary?
Give us some info on Kinglake. Better players and anyone with VFL/AFL experience?Well known metro players?
Is the coach new this year or did the job last year as well?
I can't give away too many morsels of information before you guys have even seen us. You will find out who the good players are when they start getting best ons next season.
Mick Nott is new to the club for 2008 and may well be bringing a few players with him from Diamond Creek (Div 1 NFL) and this should be a bonus.
If anyone is interested Kinglake has meet the coach day this Sunday the 18th of November and starts training on Monday the 26th of November. All are welcome.
geoff shipp to coach gembrook
I was talking to someone involved at Yea yesterday and apparently they haven't selected a coach yet. They've got a couple of hopefuls. One applicant's surname is Finch and the person was amazed the job wasn't automatically given to him. Apparently he's coached them to a couple of flags around 2003-2004?
chaddles
14 Nov 2007, 09:40
Any truth to the rumour Belgrave are looking to leave YVMDFL after season 2008 & follow South Belgrave to EFL?
If so, do you think that this might open the flood gates for some other clubs to move over particularly those positioned nearer the EFL boundary?
Belgrave are definitely looking to go to EFL next season. They believe that it will allow for the ability to gain sponsorship and recruit players as the travelling will be reduced.
GG Rides Again
14 Nov 2007, 16:26
I was talking to someone involved at Yea yesterday and apparently they haven't selected a coach yet. They've got a couple of hopefuls. One applicant's surname is Finch and the person was amazed the job wasn't automatically given to him. Apparently he's coached them to a couple of flags around 2003-2004?
That would be Matt Finch. Excellent player and would be a very good pickup. I think Doona coaching Broadford may have played there at the same time.
They believe that it will allow for the ability to gain sponsorship and recruit players as the travelling will be reduced.
Winning the premiership this year could have done that for them too. Maybe that's why their coach was so aggro in the box during the game? :p
That would be Matt Finch. Excellent player and would be a very good pickup. I think Doona coaching Broadford may have played there at the same time.
Played the occasional game when the two's were short, basically went over to work alongside a great friend in Finchy which in turn presented me with my own opportunity to experience coaching at senior level first at Yea (2005) before heading home to Broady this past season.
If Matt was to return to help em out it would be great for the club :thumbsu:
Monkey23
18 Nov 2007, 00:08
I watched few Div 2 games this season and thought Thornton-Eildon were too good, but l feel that they are taking the soft option by staying in Div 2.
Why don't they challenge themselves and move up to Div 1?
cakehole
18 Nov 2007, 16:54
ill let pup answer that one
I'm certainly not privy to the reasons for staying in Div 2 Monkey but I reckon "Soft" is a bit of a harsh description.
Thornton/Eildon is a small rural community that has struggled to field teams and raise money at times. Thankfully things have turned around, largely due to Pup's efforts among others, but a lot more work needs to be done to be financially ready to join Div 1. It's not just a matter of going up but also remaining competitive which could cost a lot more $$$. If, make that when hopefully, The Boners win the premiership next season they'll be better prepared to go up and won't have any choice about it.
There's also the aspect of travel to consider. A few years ago Thornton, Alex and Yea were all in the same comp but were separated when the CGFL disbanded. I'm sure all involved at the club would much prefer to have "local" games against Alex, Yea, Yarra Glen and Kinglake instead of heading to Melbourne every second week. That amount of travel would put them at a distinct disadvantage both player and supporter wise.
Thornton/Eildon have plenty of challenges next season and retaining the flag and being promoted to Divvie one would be top of the tree.
The Falcon
19 Nov 2007, 14:46
Is Silvan looking at buying another flag in 2008 ?
Monkey23
19 Nov 2007, 20:07
I'm certainly not privy to the reasons for staying in Div 2 Monkey but I reckon "Soft" is a bit of a harsh description.
Thornton/Eildon is a small rural community that has struggled to field teams and raise money at times. Thankfully things have turned around, largely due to Pup's efforts among others, but a lot more work needs to be done to be financially ready to join Div 1. It's not just a matter of going up but also remaining competitive which could cost a lot more $$$. If, make that when hopefully, The Boners win the premiership next season they'll be better prepared to go up and won't have any choice about it.
There's also the aspect of travel to consider. A few years ago Thornton, Alex and Yea were all in the same comp but were separated when the CGFL disbanded. I'm sure all involved at the club would much prefer to have "local" games against Alex, Yea, Yarra Glen and Kinglake instead of heading to Melbourne every second week. That amount of travel would put them at a distinct disadvantage both player and supporter wise.
Thornton/Eildon have plenty of challenges next season and retaining the flag and being promoted to Divvie one would be top of the tree.
Fair enough Rosy, but the money and recruiting is a just another part of the challenges of moving up to the next division.
l think the club would get a lot more respect from YVMDFL followers of both divisions if they move up, but l can understand their 'local derby' situation that they have now.
The league should have 2 divisions based on the geographics, as it's just a matter of time before Emerald and Belgrave follow the path of South Belgrave.
Molly80
26 Nov 2007, 13:10
Winning the premiership this year could have done that for them too. Maybe that's why their coach was so aggro in the box during the game? :p
Mate of mine wanted to get into the Yarra Valley for a coaching job and pulled out of the because he was told straight up that they were looking at moving into the EFL in 2009.
chaddles
26 Nov 2007, 13:16
Fair enough Rosy, but the money and recruiting is a just another part of the challenges of moving up to the next division.
l think the club would get a lot more respect from YVMDFL followers of both divisions if they move up, but l can understand their 'local derby' situation that they have now.
The league should have 2 divisions based on the geographics, as it's just a matter of time before Emerald and Belgrave follow the path of South Belgrave.
How would you divide the cometition up, and then wouldn't it still be a few teams dominating both competitions anyway? For the immediate future anyway until the PPS has been in operation for a few seasons.
Monkey23
27 Nov 2007, 08:32
How would you divide the cometition up, and then wouldn't it still be a few teams dominating both competitions anyway? For the immediate future anyway until the PPS has been in operation for a few seasons.
You would definitely have a few teams dominating for the first few years, but it will sort it self out over time and will eventually even up.
Wasn't Silvan crap a few years ago?
All you need is good recruiting and good club management and you could be successful.
Rome wasn't built in a day!
The Enemy Within
27 Nov 2007, 10:29
What's the story at Belgrave why did they sack Connelly as coach any one care to answer could be a few on the move.That Is All
Am not privvy to the official word, but all was not well on the hill this year. Lots of in fighting and bickering, especially after the grand final. Wasnt overly impressed with Connelly as a coach either. I would imagine the only ones moving on would be the guys that came with him last year. Marcus Stow has also given it away, will leave a small hole to fill :). Was as gutsy and hard a player as you will ever see.
The Enemy Within
27 Nov 2007, 12:43
Am not privvy to the official word, but all was not well on the hill this year. Lots of in fighting and bickering, especially after the grand final. Wasnt overly impressed with Connelly as a coach either. I would imagine the only ones moving on would be the guys that came with him last year. Marcus Stow has also given it away, will leave a small hole to fill :). Was as gutsy and hard a player as you will ever see.Fair enough, i just bumped into some of the players he brought down and they couldn't understand it,you never know what happens behind closed doors.All clubs seem to have Club stalwarts who seem to have an opinion wether that be right or wrong and in the end influence decisions be it right or wrong,most cases wrong.In saying that i don't have the facts.That Is All
Monkey23
27 Nov 2007, 16:21
Am not privvy to the official word, but all was not well on the hill this year. Lots of in fighting and bickering, especially after the grand final. Wasnt overly impressed with Connelly as a coach either. I would imagine the only ones moving on would be the guys that came with him last year. Marcus Stow has also given it away, will leave a small hole to fill :). Was as gutsy and hard a player as you will ever see.
I heard totally opposite. Apparently Belgrave wanted to keep him but he wanted to move on.
GG Rides Again
27 Nov 2007, 20:34
You would definitely have a few teams dominating for the first few years, but it will sort it self out over time and will eventually even up.
Wasn't Silvan crap a few years ago?
All you need is good recruiting and good club management and you could be successful.
Rome wasn't built in a day!
Doesnt hurt when you get a seriuos wad of cash each year from the local businessman to chase marquee players either. Not many clubs would have half the budget Silvan have at present. I can tell you the ex AFL players are not playing for peanuts.
Monkey23
28 Nov 2007, 07:06
Sounds like a typical Belgrave thing!
I follow another team in this comp and watched Belgrave on 2 occasions, plus finals this year.
You are correct in saying there is a lot of in fighting, including one 5 minutes after the Grand Final. A Committee member and a supporter.
Over the years they have always been a club like this and nothing would surprise me.
I have played against and known their President for years now and he is one of the biggest ********s you would ever meet.
I can't believe he is a President, as l wouldn't have thought he would have known how to spell his own name!
Most people at our club can't stand him!
He used to try and go around belting our players when we played them, as he couldn't get a kick.
As for Connelly, l resourced some info of guys that l know at Belgrave and they tell me that he is the best Coach they have ever had, so where do you get your info Big O?
I also went into Belgrave's huddle for a listen at those games and he was very cool, calm and collective. Also spoke very well.
I will be ringing my Belgrave mate for more info on this, as we could get him down at our club if he's not snapped up yet.
Sounds like a typical Belgrave thing!
I follow another team in this comp and watched Belgrave on 2 occasions, plus finals this year.
You are correct in saying there is a lot of in fighting, including one 5 minutes after the Grand Final. A Committee member and a supporter.
Over the years they have always been a club like this and nothing would surprise me.
I have played against and known their President for years now and he is one of the biggest ********s you would ever meet.
I can't believe he is a President, as l wouldn't have thought he would have known how to spell his own name!
Most people at our club can't stand him!
He used to try and go around belting our players when we played them, as he couldn't get a kick.
As for Connelly, l resourced some info of guys that l know at Belgrave and they tell me that he is the best Coach they have ever had, so where do you get your info Big O?
I also went into Belgrave's huddle for a listen at those games and he was very cool, calm and collective. Also spoke very well.
I will be ringing my Belgrave mate for more info on this, as we could get him down at our club if he's not snapped up yet.
Only my opinion, spoke ok and was very articulate but not the kind of coach to rev you up with a spine tingling talk. I reckon he would be better calling the shots behind the scenes rather than being the main man. Obviously his knowledge of the game is very good and thats what the boys enjoyed.
Monkey23
28 Nov 2007, 22:50
Only my opinion, spoke ok and was very articulate but not the kind of coach to rev you up with a spine tingling talk. I reckon he would be better calling the shots behind the scenes rather than being the main man. Obviously his knowledge of the game is very good and thats what the boys enjoyed.
Which club are you from Big O?
EFL at the minute, i know a fair few Belgrave and Upwey boys. My best mate played there a couple of years ago as well, might head up to Powelly to have a kick with him if they improve a fair bit on last year.
Why wouldn't you go and help them improve rather than waiting to jump on a bandwagon?
GG Rides Again
30 Nov 2007, 20:15
Mt Evelyn recruiting going well and looks likely they will get between 6-8. 4 already signed including the big fella Bucko. Will be great to get him back in the maroon and white.
Have also picked up a couple of Div 1 EFL footballers from East Burwood and a couple from Mitcham, and Scoresby.
Needed to improve alot from last year but always helps with good recruits and may help to get a finals berth this year.
Any other news of recruits?
Why wouldn't you go and help them improve rather than waiting to jump on a bandwagon?
Hasn't got anything to do with jumping on a bandwagon. Watched my mate play a few games up there this year and unfortunately the standard was very ordinary, only really Thornton from what i saw in the finals series played a decent brand of footy. Just want to get the body right and play a good standard of footy for as long as i can, if the standard was a bit better in the comp i would be happy to head to Powelly to help out.
You miss my point Big O. How will the standard improve if 'good' players like yourself won't join the league unless the standard improves? You're putting the cart before the horse.
Monkey23
4 Dec 2007, 12:24
Spoke to a mate of a mate that plays at Belgrave and he said the club is very keen to bring 2008 on!
They believe that they will pump the new clubs and can't wait to meet (and beat) Thornton. Apparently they beat Thornton once, but every game they won (except the GF) was down to kick.
Sounds like they are getting a bit cocky, but only time will tell.
How have the other teams recruited?
Any big losses to clubs?
WALKERTOBETTS
5 Dec 2007, 06:40
FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!
All is welcome - please PM me for futher info
The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;
When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007
Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury
Time:
5.30pm Onwards
Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.
If you only saw a few games, and if those few involved Powelltown, you might be judging the league a tad harshly. There are some very handy footballers at each club and overall the standard of play throughout the season was great. Admittedly I watched from Thornton perspective and although they were the standout team they were certainly kept honest by the calibre of the other teams.
It would be great if Powelltown got more support this year. I admire the way they fronted up with a full team each week despite knowing a flogging was imminent. Recruiting a few good players could bring them right back to the pack next season.
gazzabell
6 Dec 2007, 09:13
The lakers could be the surprise packets. Think they might just be up the right end of the ladder this year.
Monkey23
9 Dec 2007, 01:26
Can anyone else share their opinion on the odds for the 2008 Premiership in Div 2?
I will have a shot at it!
Eq - Thornton-Eildon
3/1 - Yea
5/1 - Alexandra, Yarra Glen
10/1 - Yarra Junction
12/1 - Belgrave, Emerald
25/1 - Seville
50/1 - Kinglake
1000/1 - Powelltown
Thornton will add to their already strong list to make it back to back!
Yea could be the surprise packet with a lot of old heads returning to the club to play against rival clubs Alex and Thornton.
Alex were unlucky to miss out on a Grand Final last season and will be up there again.
Yarra Glen suffered several injuries at the wrong end of the year last season and if all goes well will be there abouts in 2008. They need to recruit a couple more key players.
Junction have some good kids coming through and will probably just scrape into the finals next year.
Belgrave and Emerald are in similar positions with good young talent, but a lack of good, experienced leaders. Both could sneak into the top 5 with a bit of luck.
Seville need to recruit a few more quality players to be any chance and Kinglake will battle in its 1st year back.
What can l say about Powelly?
It would be nice to see them recruit well and at least be competitive next season. :thumbsu:
localfootyguru
9 Dec 2007, 10:01
Updated Coaches List for 2008;
Coaches for 2008;
Division 1
Silvan - Gary Moorcroft
Monbulk - Chris Hughson
Healesville - Sean Ellis
Wandin - Paul Grayling
Mount Evelyn - Geoff Wighton
Gembrook Cockatoo - Geoff Shipp
Olinda Ferny Creek - Michael Scott - Olinda's favorite son has returned!!!
Division 2
Belgrave - Darren Sidebottom
Yarra Junction
Yarra Glen - Shayne Kaal
Emerald - Peter Ferrari
Seville
Powelltown - Wayne Dalton
Kinglake - Mick Nott
Yea - (still advertising!)
Standby for some more good quaility players making an influx into the league - and no they are not playing for Silvan but a neighbouring rival!!!
By the way, what is going to happen at Belgrave? Will the Parkmore connection all move on?? Where has Connolly headed? He has had more clubs than I have had hot dinners!!!
localfootyguru
9 Dec 2007, 10:05
Can anyone else share their opinion on the odds for the 2008 Premiership in Div 2?
I will have a shot at it!
Eq - Thornton-Eildon
3/1 - Yea
5/1 - Alexandra, Yarra Glen
10/1 - Yarra Junction
12/1 - Belgrave, Emerald
25/1 - Seville
50/1 - Kinglake
1000/1 - Powelltown
Thornton will add to their already strong list to make it back to back!
Yea could be the surprise packet with a lot of old heads returning to the club to play against rival clubs Alex and Thornton.
Alex were unlucky to miss out on a Grand Final last season and will be up there again.
Yarra Glen suffered several injuries at the wrong end of the year last season and if all goes well will be there abouts in 2008. They need to recruit a couple more key players.
Junction have some good kids coming through and will probably just scrape into the finals next year.
Belgrave and Emerald are in similar positions with good young talent, but a lack of good, experienced leaders. Both could sneak into the top 5 with a bit of luck.
Seville need to recruit a few more quality players to be any chance and Kinglake will battle in its 1st year back.
What can l say about Powelly?
It would be nice to see them recruit well and at least be competitive next season. :thumbsu:
Not a bad summary Monkey, but not sure about Yea - have struggled badly in 2007 and will certainly need to improve to challenge the top teams. Yarra Glen will be the team to watch and have recruited well to complement their very good young team who played some great footy in 2007.
Also, Powelltown will improve with an influx of new players, always difficult to restart a club and credit too all involved there to get the club up and running again - it doesn't happen too often. The first years are always the hardest.
banana breath
9 Dec 2007, 20:05
By the way, what is going to happen at Belgrave? Will the Parkmore connection all move on?? Where has Connolly headed? He has had more clubs than I have had hot dinners
Heard that Connolly accepted a role at Port Melbourne. Assistant to Gary Ayres. Guess he moved on to bigger and better things. Belgraves loss. Parkmore people will all leave....Up hill battle to recruit from now on.
GG Rides Again
17 Dec 2007, 13:20
Have heard that Mt Evelyn have picked up FF, CHB and onballer from East Burwood. CHB is assistant coach and 2 others are his mates. Starting to look a lot stronger than the last few years with Buckland and a couple of others already returning as well.
footylink
19 Dec 2007, 08:58
I am interested to see how emerald football club are going,Having kept an eye on them during the 2007 season they did have a very good side and ran sides for at least 3 to 4 quarters however with the young list they have and would not surprise me that some of the u/18s venture down to yarra junction, i do know that a lot of the players did not like there coach and from what i heard he was re appointed in july.
Who won the medal this year?
what coach are ya talkin bout footylink. u18 or senior. heard they picked up hayden robbins from beaconsfield. know that alex and belgrave are both gonna loose a few should really even up the comp if kinglake and yea pull there weight and powelly improve. they were the only team last year we relaxed against every other team was capable on their day. Pretty quiet up at thornton not startin trainin til after xmas havent lost anyone and only one pick up so far, a brother of one of the boys. but working on a couple others.
Will Robbins be coaching or playing, he would have to be getting on a bit now. Was on Melbournes list in the very early nineties.
banana breath
20 Dec 2007, 18:45
Belly is not a good place to be at the moment.
Spoke to one of their players today and he said that they only had 20 players (from 3 teams) were on the track last night.
Mentioned that several players were leaving due to Rob Morris (Mr Personality / people skills) being President again.
He also said that Ben Hughes has gone to Coralyn, Dave Bilston is going overseas and Marcus Stow has had enough. Others who have had enough of Belgrave and their President are Andrew McArthur, Sean Millane, Damien Armansin, Ben Duperouzel, Peter Knott and of course last year's Senior Coach, Gary Connelly.
Also said that their ground is so bad that the league might make them play their home games away.
Reckons the club used to be great place when Jamie O'Donohue was President.
Change the President before the club destructs!!!
localfootyguru
23 Dec 2007, 10:27
Updated Coaches List for 2008;
Coaches for 2008;
Division 1
Silvan - Gary Moorcroft
Monbulk - Chris Hughson
Healesville - Sean Ellis
Wandin - Paul Grayling
Mount Evelyn - Geoff Wighton
Gembrook Cockatoo - Geoff Shipp
Olinda Ferny Creek - Michael Scott
Division 2
Belgrave - Darren Sidebottom
Yarra Junction
Yarra Glen - Shayne Kaal
Emerald - Peter Ferrari
Seville
Powelltown - Wayne Dalton
Kinglake - Mick Nott
Yea - Bruce Elliott
In Other happenings;
Still the Junction and Seville to appoint a coach - perhaps someone knows what is happening there?
Have heard good things from both Wandin and Yarra Glen so far with good numbers at pre season and some good recruits confirmed.
Mount Evelyn has recruited well with Buckland returning which is a surprise considering his great year at Croydon last season. A number of players from E.Burwood and Lilydale will also be there in 2008.
Ben Farrugia from Lilydale will be returning to Warburton next season - great pick up for the club.
Haydn Robbins will be playing at Emerald next year along with a number of Beaconsfield players as well. I think Robbins is around 35 years old if my memory is correct. Will be a good addition for some of the younger players that Emerald has.
Gembrook has commenced a very solid and organised pre season - god knows they need it!!!!
banana breath
23 Dec 2007, 12:11
A few Belgrave boys were seen having a serious chat with some Powelltown officials on friday afternoon.
They were talking good money to play there in 2008.
Can anyone else shed some light on this, as l was told by another source?
A few Belgrave boys were seen having a serious chat with some Powelltown officials on friday afternoon.
Got any names there BB?
bourkey_jp
23 Dec 2007, 14:45
BB, clearly u have 3/5ths of no idea, there was never any falling out what-so-ever with the president, and gary connolly wasnt commited to be at Belgrave Football Club in 2008, and of course the players that he brought with him will not stay as it would be too far for them to go. Stowy is a massive loss to our club, but our new senior playing coach is an on baller and will take his position, also a few new recruits at the club, so if you guys want to right us off now then watch out, because we will still be up there this year. Any chance u could shed some light on who u r, BB.
goodgolly24
23 Dec 2007, 16:40
any ideas who's coaching Seville yet??
GG Rides Again
23 Dec 2007, 18:55
Ben Farrugia from Lilydale will be returning to Warburton next season - great pick up for the club.
Bens a good player to pick up but his missus calls all the shots. She must have wanted to go back to Warby, or did Lilydale run out of cash?
Valley Spy
23 Dec 2007, 20:03
any ideas who's coaching Seville yet??
Ive heard Russell Warburton is but I may be wrong. Scott Hunter, last years coach is coaching in the EFL. A coach has definitely been appointed.
localfootyguru
23 Dec 2007, 22:34
Who won the medal this year?
The Ramage Medal (Division 1) was a three way tie between;
Tom Hedge (Upwey Tecoma), Patrick Sharp (W/Yallock) and Vin Dunstan (Monbulk) all on 17 votes.
The Jim Wandin Medal (Division 2) was won, for the second consecutive year, by Alexandra's Neil Oakley, who polled 27 votes to win by six votes from Seville's Shane Senior.
Go to the YVMDFL site for all vote details.
www.yvmdfl.com.au
localfootyguru
23 Dec 2007, 22:37
Ive heard Russell Warburton is but I may be wrong. Scott Hunter, last years coach is coaching in the EFL. A coach has definitely been appointed.
Think you may be right Spy. As for Hunter, he didn't last long and will be coaching Bayswater in the EFL in 2008 - average coach in my opinion and is supported by average results at 3 clubs - Warrandyte, Knox and Seville.
localfootyguru
23 Dec 2007, 22:47
That probably sums up the Parkmore connection if true and involved - Mercenaries!!!
My source tells me this is far from true and definite bulls..t!!
banana breath
23 Dec 2007, 23:10
BB, clearly u have 3/5ths of no idea, there was never any falling out what-so-ever with the president, and gary connolly wasnt commited to be at Belgrave Football Club in 2008, and of course the players that he brought with him will not stay as it would be too far for them to go. Stowy is a massive loss to our club, but our new senior playing coach is an on baller and will take his position, also a few new recruits at the club, so if you guys want to right us off now then watch out, because we will still be up there this year. Any chance u could shed some light on who u r, BB.
Bourkey, lets just say l played a few games for Belgrave this year and only got my info through a mate who is supposed to be in the know.
I can guarantee you that all the guys that l know who have left reckon the President's a shifty di#*head and l do too!
The new coach might be able to play the game, but can he coach?
Not from what l've heard from some FTG boys. Took them to a wooden spoon a couple years ago, l believe.
Then again, you don't always have to be a good coach to win a flag, as long as you have a gun list.
Good luck to Belgrave, but l think they will struggle.
banana breath
23 Dec 2007, 23:11
That probably sums up the Parkmore connection if true and involved - Mercenaries!!!
My source tells me this is far from true and definite bulls..t!!
Which club are you from local?
Valley Spy
26 Dec 2007, 13:59
Yarra Junction will be coached by Ange Lammana. Former Silvan (way back) and Ferntree Gully coach and probably a few more. Last coached Wandin reserves 2-3 seasons ago.