View Full Version : Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum
Pages :
[
3]
localfootyguru
28 Dec 2007, 12:12
Ange has been to more clubs than I have had hot dinners!!!
Can't say his success rate is too flattering either - nice bloke but not sure of him as a coach.
What happened to Jason Long?
localfootyguru
28 Dec 2007, 12:15
Which club are you from local?
Banana,
Am affliated with no particular club but do go and watch a large amount of footy all over the place, including the YVMDFL. Have some very good contacts that filter through a lot of information of which I only post the stuff that is of importance and true.
Have you made you mind up where you are heading in 2008? My sources tell me a club in the SFL will be the new home for you and some of your mates?
localfootyguru
28 Dec 2007, 12:16
Updated Coaches List for 2008;
Coaches for 2008;
Division 1
Silvan - Gary Moorcroft
Woori Yallock - Damien Monkhorst
Upwey Tecoma - Greg Hannon
Monbulk - Chris Hughson
Healesville - Sean Ellis
Wandin - Paul Grayling
Mount Evelyn - Geoff Wighton
Warburton Millgrove - Peter Johnson
Gembrook Cockatoo - Geoff Shipp
Olinda Ferny Creek - Michael Scott
Division 2
Thornton Eildon - Brad Coller
Belgrave - Darren Sidebottom
Alexandra - Michael Bretherton
Yarra Junction - Ange Lamanna
Yarra Glen - Shayne Kaal
Emerald - Peter Ferrari
Seville
Powelltown - Wayne Dalton
Kinglake - Mick Nott
Yea - Bruce Elliott
Only SEVILLE to now be confirmed which is apparently Russell Warburton.
does that mean longy is movin on. will be a big loss. have missed seeing him play the last few years with bad injuries was an absolute gun. kicked 7 in a loosing grand final against us (gembrook) in 2000. nothin has changed much there in the last few years apart from a few good young blokes comin up, does anyone know if any are goin with longy?
in other news ive heard daisy williams will be leaving seville for silvan and Gembrook have picked up wandins ruckman and are workin hard on others
banana breath
28 Dec 2007, 18:14
Banana,
Am affliated with no particular club but do go and watch a large amount of footy all over the place, including the YVMDFL. Have some very good contacts that filter through a lot of information of which I only post the stuff that is of importance and true.
Have you made you mind up where you are heading in 2008? My sources tell me a club in the SFL will be the new home for you and some of your mates?
Still not sure, as we are all on holidays at the moment and not thinking footy.
We usually go with our 'Super Coach' but he has moved on to a level that we can't play.
Have spoken and had a run with Mt Waverley and Clayton, but am still to decide where to go.
Valley Spy
29 Dec 2007, 09:13
does that mean longy is movin on. will be a big loss. have missed seeing him play the last few years with bad injuries was an absolute gun. kicked 7 in a loosing grand final against us (gembrook) in 2000. nothin has changed much there in the last few years apart from a few good young blokes comin up, does anyone know if any are goin with longy?
He disappeared to W.A last year during pre-season and returned about round 1 so he may not have been seen a coaching prospect for a young list. Tyson Wheeler is already training at Silvan so he may end up there.
Division 2 YVMDFL with the inclussion of two returning clubs although they have never played competively against each other, will create a lot of interest and the YVMDFL have put them against each other in Round One where Kinglake take on Yea. Both clubs had dismal 2007 season and no doubt will be out to impress.
Both clubs have good coaches a lot will depend on recruiting
14th Tiger
30 Dec 2007, 19:08
Massive positive for Yea this year with Bruce Elliott being appointed as the new Senior Coach. He is a very experienced coach and player. Who has brought his 23 y.o son with 5 mates who have all played 1's for Scotch College. Bruce has assured us all that if nothing else, we will get very fit! Which is only a good thing, compared to last years effort. Yea will no doubt be a competitive outfit season '08.
Fantastic news for those who follow the fortunes at Tigerland, is Frankie gunna do the two's mate?
Looks very promising for Yea with the inclussion of extra players. I have heard that Frankie will be coaching the Reserves, looks like the Kinglake v Yea game will no doubt rival the Yea v Thornton games of the past. Also great news for the YVMDFL with the inclussion of Yea is another great ground and facilities
Great fella Frankie rapt to hear he is staying involved, yeah let's hope the mighty Tiges take a few by surprise :thumbsu:
localfootyguru
1 Jan 2008, 20:53
Looks like things are on the up at Yea with the clubs Internet site now being updated for the first time in ages. In regards to coaches, this article is on their Internet site - www.yeafnc.vcfl.com.au
2008 SENIOR COACHES ANNOUNCED
Adrian Evans, Club President is proud to announce the appointment of the Senior Coaching positions on behalf of the Yea Football Netball Club Committee. Bruce Elliott has been appointed the Seniors Coach for 2008 with James Frankcombe being appointed as the Reserves Coach for the new season. Bruce comes from a strong football playing family having played for the Melbourne Football Club himself. Bruce is also well known to the local community and highly respected by the the Yea Football Netball club having played with and coached many of the junior teams in the past.
James Frankcombe returns to the club in the new year to coach, bringing with him his enthusiasm, passion and commitment to fitness that will ensure that the season gets of to a strong start.
here is a bit of a run down on comings and goings from the rumour mill so far.
THORNTON: Out~ None as yet In~ Brett Andrews (Gem)Possibly Heath Fisher (NFL) James Herridge (Mansfield),Scott Currie (QFL), None definate yet
BELGRAVE: Out~ Ben Hughes (Coralyn), Andrew McArthur (??), Marcus Stow (Ret), Dave Bilston (Travel), Damien Arminson (MWav), Ben Duperouzel (MWav), Sean Millane (MWav), Peter Knott (MWav), Banana Breath (MWav. In~ Darren Sidebottom(Cran)
ALEXANDRA: Out~ Adam Macdonald (FTG), Luke Heard (Box Hill), George Steiner (Ret), Steve Nichol (Ret), Jeremy Heyes (??) Neil Oakley (heals) Kane Davis (Heals) Ross Cavill (myrtleford.) In~ Robert Grech (Yea) grant Sceney (broadbeach QLD)
YARRA JUNCTION: Out~ Jason Long (??), Tyson Wheeler (Silv). In~ ?
YARRA GLEN: Out~ Andy Goodwin (Ret) In~ ?
SEVILLE: Out~ Daisy Williams (Silv), Paul Lister (Silv), Ben Costigan (Mitcham), Paddy Spendlove (Mitch) Scott Hunter (Bays) In~ ?
EMERALD: Out~ Shaun Dishington (H.Park) In~Haydn Robbiins (Beacy)
POWELLTOWN: Out~ ? In~ ?
YEA: Out~ ? In~ ?
KINGLAKE: Out~ ? In~ Mick Knott (DCreek)
Maybe everyone else can add to it as we roll towards the start of the 2008 season.
banana breath
3 Jan 2008, 09:41
THORNTON: Out~ None as yet In~ Possibly Heath Fisher (NFL) James Herridge (Mansfield),Scott Currie (QFL), None definate yet
BELGRAVE: Out~ Ben Hughes (Coralyn), Andrew McArthur (??), Marcus Stow (Ret), Dave Bilston (Travel), Damien Arminson (MWav), Ben Duperouzel (MWav), Sean Millane (MWav), Peter Knott (MWav), Banana Breath (MWav. In~ Darren Sidebottom
ALEXANDRA: Out~ Adam Macdonald (FTG), Luke Heard (Box Hill), Joe Mount (Ret), George Steiner (Ret), Steve Nichol (Ret), Jeremy Heyes (??) and possibly Ross Cavill (moved to myrtleford. In~ ?
SEVILLE: Out~ Daisy Williams (Silv), Scott Hunter (Bays) In~ ?
EMERALD: Out~ ? In~Haydn Robbiins (Beacy)
Maybe everyone else can add to it as we roll towards the start of the 2008 season.
Saw a few Belgrave boys at a local yesterday and this is the latest :
Ben Hughes (Coralyn - DLP)
Andrew McArthur (Ret - DLP)
Marcus Stow (Ret)
Dave Bilston (Travel)
Ben Duperouzel (poss Dingley / Work - DLP)
Lee O'Donohue (Perth ???)
Peter Knott (Mt Wav - DLP)
Banana Breath (Mt Wav - DLP)
Sean Millane (Ret - DLP)
Damien Armansin (Training at Port Melb / Mt Wav - DLP)
Mick Bilston (Ret)
Ray Dobby (Ret - DLP)
Jacob Meyer (Looking for a club)
Football Ground (Not up to scratch!)
I don't think l've missed anyone.
None of these are definate and if your club is interested in any of them, let us know on this forum.
By the way, DLP = Doesn't like President!
localfootyguru
6 Jan 2008, 13:17
Interesting to see how many guys are supposedly leaving Belgrave - there are a couple of guys that will be hard to replace especially Stow, Bilston and O'Donohue.
Not sure how much loss some of the other faces will be though as guys like Millane and McCarthur best footy was behind them and if the club was going to return to 1st Division they would not have been able to "cut the mustard" due to the step up in standard.
Sidebotoom is a good coach in my opinion and he certainly didnt have any cattle to work with at FTG which has been a problem there for many years!!! With the introduction of a Colts team there now things may be looking a bit more promising as the future of any club is based on juniors, not imports!
localfootyguru
6 Jan 2008, 13:23
[ALEXANDRA: Out~ Adam Macdonald (FTG), Luke Heard (Box Hill), Joe Mount (Ret), George Steiner (Ret), Steve Nichol (Ret), Jeremy Heyes (??) and possibly Ross Cavill (moved to myrtleford. In~ ?
Would have thought there were some significant losses at Alexandra for the 2008 season, especially Heard, Cavill and Steiner (the heart and soul of the club). Have they got any confirmed recruits yet?
Havent lost key players like Oakley though who is a gun.
banana breath
6 Jan 2008, 18:49
Interesting to see how many guys are supposedly leaving Belgrave - there are a couple of guys that will be hard to replace especially Stow, Bilston and O'Donohue.
Not sure how much loss some of the other faces will be though as guys like Millane and McCarthur best footy was behind them and if the club was going to return to 1st Division they would not have been able to "cut the mustard" due to the step up in standard.
Sidebotoom is a good coach in my opinion and he certainly didnt have any cattle to work with at FTG which has been a problem there for many years!!! With the introduction of a Colts team there now things may be looking a bit more promising as the future of any club is based on juniors, not imports!
Are you related to Sidebottom lfc?
Why didn't Belgrave appoint him last season when he applied for the job?
Also, why did they only offer him the job for 2008 after Connolly rejected their offer?
Belgrave also had him waiting until mid Nov.
A bit strange don't you think?
You can bag Millane and McArthur, but both players won games for Belgrave off their own boot last season.
To say they wouldn't cut the mustard in Div 1 is just hogwash, as it is more important to have a couple of good experienced players, than some stage fright kid!
McArthur was easily Belgrave's most consistent and skilled player in 2007, with injury being his only downfall.
Pretty sad that he gets bagged now.
He kicked 8 goals against Thornton at Thornton and nearly won that game off his own boot(Belgrave only lost by 6 pts)!
although i think millane wasnt quite up to it i agree with you on super BB. was your best player against us both times in the home and away season inc. his display at boner park with our full back out that game we had no answer for him.
dont think oakley will ever leave there too comfortable and yes he is a gun but he never gets a touch against us, must know how to play him. Cavill isnt confirmed that he is going yet, has moved but tossing up wether to play. probably there best player in my mind.
bourkey_jp
7 Jan 2008, 12:00
BB the only reason sidebottom was left to be appointed in november was because the club was still waiting on gary to confirm he was not coming back, we wanted him to coach but he wasnt 100% committed to the job at our club as he was still waiting on a job elsewhere. and for once i actually agree with u on super, easily the best player all year. unlucky to be injured at the wrong times.
banana breath
8 Jan 2008, 00:38
Fair enough Bourkey.
I spoke to Gaz a few weeks ago and he was a bit disappointed at the way Belgrave (The Prez) had treated him and others (Super, Molly, etc).
He was also disappointed that no one from Belgrave had spoken to him since he's moved on. A bit strange considering they loved and wanted him to stay so badly.
He's the sort of guy who really backs his players and mates.
A champion bloke!
I rate him as the best Coach l've ever had and l've been playing footy for over 15 years now.
He always had respect for the opposition and told me he spoke to Coller after the GF pumping. He was clearly upset that day, but told me in the rooms that he had a duty to forfil and went to Thornton's rooms to congratulate him and have a chat.
He also said that he rated Coller as a bloke and sportsman and hoped to catch up with him for a beer one day, as they had some mighty battles in 2007.
I was supposed to catch up with him for New Years but was away.
Could they have convinced him to stay?
bourkey_jp
8 Jan 2008, 10:55
totally agree with you there, champion bloke and awesome coach, but, he wanted a bit in his contract that said if he was to get the job at port melbourne or where ever it is, that we would let him go, and as a commitee i dont think any club could afford to try and find a coach so late. As a club i think we would have loved him to stay and try and go one step further in 2008.
GG Rides Again
9 Jan 2008, 19:16
Matty Boyd ex Mt Evelyn and playing at Donvale for the last 4-5 years has signed back at Mt Evelyn. Starting to get a few back through the door of ex locals. A couple of ex coaches from Eastern Footy living locally also rumoured to be playing.
showy#1
12 Jan 2008, 09:47
just wondering if any one knows how warby milgrove are going and if brett rattray is playing there
drago from ussr
14 Jan 2008, 11:08
dunno showy but i think icano and degraf are goin to chirnside
apparently Healsville are talking to neil oakley and hes listening
localfootyguru
18 Jan 2008, 06:09
YVMDFL Appoint new CEO
The President of the YVMDFL, Mr. Tony Mitchell is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Stephen Walter to the position of Chief Executive Officer for the 2008 season. Stephen has an extensive background in banking, finance & accounting and with over 20 years of sport administration within the local community, is well placed to lead the YVMDFL to even greater heights.
The YVMDFL is the second largest league in Country Victoria boasting 2 Divisions with 10 clubs in each division. YVMDFL is one of the few leagues that are expanding and with the introduction of Yea & Kinglake; season 2008 is shaping as an exciting year.
Stephen replaces Ben O�Brien who has been CEO for the past 5 years. Ben is moving to a role within the VCFL and will still have regular contact with the YVMDFL. Ben has been the major driver behind the successful netball competition which is now vying for top billing each Saturday of the season. We wish Ben every success in his new role.
Mr. Walter says he is most excited about the opportunity and looks forward to partnering all clubs, sponsors & supporters in making season 2008 exceed expectations. A resident of the Yarra Ranges Shire for over 25 years, Mr. Walter is keen to further promote netball and ensure that every opportunity is available for our junior footballers to effectively transition into senior ranks.
localfootyguru
18 Jan 2008, 06:12
apparently Healsville are talking to neil oakley and hes listening
Wouldn't have thought he would consider moving - always thought he would be an Alex boy for all his football career.
apparently healsville offered 300 and alex counteracted with 350 so he is staying. also alex has supposedly picked up a ruckman too.
Geez dunno what the money is like/club budgets etc over there but that is good coin to pay a local, or across the board are there blokes on better at most clubs. Just read on the Colac DFL thread that Appollo Bay reckon they are getting more Yea blokes in 2008, lets bloody hope not.
yeh its a fair bit. apart from myself the coach we only pay 4 others more than the base per win and they all travel from melbourne.
Thats more like it, at Yea in 2005 we spent 19k all up. The committe shoulda been just as proud with their effort as I was with the players and mine when we on it :thumbsu: Has been a real wake up call heading back to the HDFL and some of the figures on rival clubs expenditure you hear for district footy
localfootyguru
20 Jan 2008, 14:18
$350 a game for Oakley is a pretty sizeable sum - I also heard a couple of clubs in both the GV and O&M had a nibble at him as well. Heard Alex got a ruckman as well with fairly good credentials.
Pup, is Herridge returning from Mansfield? Would be a great pick up if that comes to fruition. My mail tells me he is on his way....
localfootyguru
20 Jan 2008, 14:21
Geez dunno what the money is like/club budgets etc over there but that is good coin to pay a local, or across the board are there blokes on better at most clubs. Just read on the Colac DFL thread that Appollo Bay reckon they are getting more Yea blokes in 2008, lets bloody hope not.
Fair bit of coin floating around the league at the moment with some high profile players currently running around and a few more saddling up in 2008.
Heard Upwey was very busy on the recruiting front, with 3 quality signings - lets hope the Tigers once again go down in a screaming heap in 2008!!!
drago from ussr
21 Jan 2008, 08:30
its interesting to hear about ppls thoughts on paying locals... i think one of the reasons thornton is still around and finally getting some results is that the locals have stuck by the club even after they have moved on... eg i think all but 4 of last years winning senior side all played juniors there..
would be good to hear if any of the other clubs are in similar positions
localfootyguru
21 Jan 2008, 12:41
Think you will find one of the keys to success at Monbulk has been the focus on local players. The club has been the benchmark for the past 10 years and it has always had a strong focus on local players and match payments have certainly been kept to a minimum.
Players want to play at Monbulk as they feel part of the place and valued! This sort of atmosphere has encouraged a number of recruits to play as well for minimum match payments.
350 i think is alot for him considering the bloke that beats him everytime for us is on a base per win. we were paying lucas smith close to that but he drives from hastings to train one night a week and i think is a lot more valuable than him. but then again there has been other years where we have had to overpay to keep someone or get them from another club.
Jimmy herridge hasnt decided yet but has had lots of talks with us and is coming to training next week. hasnt talked to mansfield at all yet. fingers crossed. would be a massive pick up for us.
350 i think is alot for him considering the bloke that beats him everytime for us is on a base per win. we were paying lucas smith close to that but he drives from hastings to train one night a week and i think is a lot more valuable than him. but then again there has been other years where we have had to overpay to keep someone or get them from another club.
Jimmy herridge hasnt decided yet but has had lots of talks with us and is coming to training next week. hasnt talked to mansfield at all yet. fingers crossed. would be a massive pick up for us.
Not too often you see the name Jimmy Herridge & the word massive together :D . . . . .sorry Jimmy
Some of us were attending meetings at that time on Sunday morning. :D
Sounds like massive money for Oaks and I wonder if it will cause any resentment in the club. I've heard a few niggles indicating that things aren't that smooth there anyway. Still who knows what's fact and what's just personal grievances.
I've only seen Neil play against Thornton and he certainly hasn't starred. I wonder if he stands out at Alex cos he's a bit of a one of a kind but Thornton have a few similar players to share the load. (Not that I mean to take anything away from Neil. He must have had an outstanding season overall)
It would be awesome for Jimmy to come back home where he belongs.:thumbsu:
yeh sorry rosy went up for training fri night came back sat morning minded the little man then had one of mates weddings sat night and didnt feel like 31/2 hrs of driving on sunday.
will send an email soon with latest info on sponsorship etc.
14th Tiger
23 Jan 2008, 20:32
Just read on the Colac DFL thread that Appollo Bay reckon they are getting more Yea blokes in 2008, lets bloody hope not.
I asked Cozza 2night if they had contacted him, and it was easy to tell it was a yes, but he wouldnt let on. It would be a huge blow 4 Yea to lose Tom Butterworth and Cozza in 2 seasons to that mob.
Far king oath, the biggest blow of all but is little Coz considering it? I guess if you want them to ring ya next year make sure you get the captaincy, aint Tom Tom and Coz been the past 2 skippers?
Must admit though they do seem to have more coin to throw around in one season than I reckon Id get allocated in 3-4 which makes it very hard to compete, plus throw in the lifestyle.
14th Tiger
24 Jan 2008, 10:16
Far king oath, the biggest blow of all but is little Coz considering it? I guess if you want them to ring ya next year make sure you get the captaincy, aint Tom Tom and Coz been the past 2 skippers?
Must admit though they do seem to have more coin to throw around in one season than I reckon Id get allocated in 3-4 which makes it very hard to compete, plus throw in the lifestyle.
Not sure if Tom was the skip the year before, Lordy was coach but i cant remember who the captain was. Coz wouldnt let on so i couldnt say whether he is considering it or not. Hope not! I'm sure he could have gone elsewhere years ago for money if that was the problem. :confused:
Yeah Broady offered him $50 a game last year, couldnt believe he said no :D
The commitee up there still being tight with the cash Doona, had a couple of mates who were made a similar massive offer at Broady a couple of years ago.
Call it what you will Big O, would I know the guys your talking of perhaps? Geez sounds like they were stiff as some just players got handy coin at BFNC going back a few years whilst some good one's were very generous in what they played for. Was actually just geeing up me little mate Cozza a bit there. In saying that it used to be $30 a win and $10 a loss when I last played :D
cakehole
26 Jan 2008, 20:42
all is not wel at alex. Been talking to marbo and he's a doubtful starter. Looking to play down town. Travel and bretho the main reason for staying away. Macca is a non starter to
yeh mate heard that too with rowsa wantin to play twos, nichol, steiner retiring, jez heys playing elsewhere, heardy trainin down town and rossco maybe not wanting to travel from myrtleford. sounds good to me.
Call it what you will Big O, would I know the guys your talking of perhaps? Geez sounds like they were stiff as some just players got handy coin at BFNC going back a few years whilst some good one's were very generous in what they played for. Was actually just geeing up me little mate Cozza a bit there. In saying that it used to be $30 a win and $10 a loss when I last played :D
In all fairness Doona Macca was offered considerabily more as he had played decent footy in the VFL, O+M and GVFL. They wanted to see what the other boys had before bumping up their offer which was fair enough, did bruise a couple of egos though.
Always does, you just gotta laugh sometimes in the recruiting stakes. Can't say I recall the guys you're referring to, musta been whilst I was at Yea.
Over the past two years we have spoken to many a young bloke, some with just a handful of senior games at a better level, in the thought of getting them a full season against senior footballers, yet some put prices of between 150-200 (and upward) on their heads.
As soon as I say "how much senior footy you played" the conversations wind up pretty quick . . . . . this is what ya up against these days, even the spuds or those with limited senior footy under their belts want coin ;)
Always does, you just gotta laugh sometimes in the recruiting stakes. Can't say I recall the guys you're referring to, musta been whilst I was at Yea.
Over the past two years we have spoken to many a young bloke, some with just a handful of senior games at a better level, in the thought of getting them a full season against senior footballers, yet some put prices of between 150-200 (and upward) on their heads.
As soon as I say "how much senior footy you played" the conversations wind up pretty quick . . . . . this is what ya up against these days, even the spuds or those with limited senior footy under their belts want coin ;)
Was about 4 years ago from memory, around the time the club had a few dramas which put the boys off.
Was talking to a mates little bro last week, he hasnt played a senior game of footy yet but because he was in the Eastern Rangers squad he is getting offers of up to $250 a game. Makes you wonder where a lot of the smaller clubs in the Yarra Valley get their coin from.
just reading the clearances on yvmdfl.com and three big losses for three teams that really needed to improve this year. Ross Cavill from alex to myrtleford as i predicted, ben hughes from belgrave to coralyn as BB predicted and shaun dishington from emerald to hampton park. all three probably in the top five at their clubs.
also we made a big signing last night yet to be registered and are close to another one that was at training last night. very happy with the adjustments we have made to our team with our only loss Luke Sharp at this stage and thats still not set in concrete.
gazzabell
6 Feb 2008, 11:38
only couple months till the season starts which team is going to be the side to look out for in div 2? lakers are flying at training at moment and cant wait to get amongst it come round 1
also we made a big signing last night yet to be registered and are close to another one that was at training last night.
That info is a tease Pup. We need a meeting so I can find out all the goss.:D
I've seen Mr E out training a bit lately and wondered if he's planning a comeback to take on his bruvva. :eek:
dont think old rob would squeeze in to our line up. Can confirm now that we signed a mate of mine from gembrook Brett Andrews who will be great for our onball unit and half back line. was runner up at gembrook last year. Still workin on Jimmy. also having timmy phelps fit and committed is like a new recruit. still a possibility scottie currie will be back too. looking good at the moment.
Still dont know who the ruckman is that alex say they have got and does anyone know if oakley, davis and heard are going to healsville.
I sussed out a bit of info this arvo from someone who works with the Alex players. He wasn't aware of a new ruckman, although he hasn't attended training himself this year yet to know for sure, and he said Oakley has definitely gone to Healesville due to work committments.
Apparently Alex have been training since November, had a break over Christmas and are in to it 3 times a week now. It will be interesting to see how that kind of schedule benefits them come seasons end.
THORNTON: Out~ None as yet In~ Brett Andrews (Gem)Possibly Heath Fisher (NFL) James Herridge (Mansfield),Scott Currie (QFL), None definate yet
BELGRAVE: Out~ Ben Hughes (Coralyn), Andrew McArthur (??), Marcus Stow (Ret), Dave Bilston (Travel), Damien Arminson (MWav), Ben Duperouzel (MWav), Sean Millane (MWav), Peter Knott (MWav), Banana Breath (MWav. In~ Darren Sidebottom(Cran)
ALEXANDRA: Out~ Adam Macdonald (FTG), Luke Heard (Box Hill), George Steiner (Ret), Steve Nichol (Ret), Jeremy Heyes (??) Neil Oakley (heals) Kane Davis (Heals) Ross Cavill (myrtleford.) In~ Robert Grech (Yea) grant Sceney (broadbeach QLD)
SEVILLE: Out~ Daisy Williams (Silv), Paul Lister (Silv), Ben Costigan (Mitcham), Paddy Spendlove (Mitch) Scott Hunter (Bays) In~ ?
EMERALD: Out~ Shaun Dishington (H.Park) In~Haydn Robbiins (Beacy)
a few new additions
The Enemy Within
21 Feb 2008, 16:55
None of those hacks from Belgrave would get a game at Mount Waverley all over rated and played at Parkmore when a dislexic moonger could of got a kick.That Is All
So your good mates with Belly boys...
Also does anyone know what is happenin at Seville. Always thought they had some good players but just needed a little something to be decent.
So far by the clearances they have picked up Beau Hawkins from Junction but lost John Eldridge FF, Jarred Loughman 2's Coach C, Paul Lister BP, Daniel Williams W and i know that their coach from last year Scott Hunter CHF gone to Bayswater and Ben Costigan RR and Paddy Spendlove FB have gone to Mitcham. Doesnt look good this year.
Has anyone heard any goss about a couple of players from the LaTrobe Uni footy team being paid to play for Alex?
Yeh ads told me at trainin friday that there is three of them. 2 are probably borderline seniors and one is aparently about 6'5" and pretty handy. might be the ruckman they were talking about. word is they are being given a job at elders.
Also oakley and kane davis are stayin at alex after flirting with healsville to get more $$$. If oakley gets his usual stats against us he will be gettin paid $100 a kick. Choco owns him.
Have heard yea are struggling.
Apparently contacted kinglake to warn them for round 1 that they have under 18's but only have scraped together a senior side and dont have reserves.
Anyone else know any details??
Apparently contacted kinglake to warn them for round 1 that they have under 18's but only have scraped together a senior side and dont have reserves.
Anyone else know any details??
If numbers on the track are anything to go by they will be in strife. Called through there with work last week and only saw about 8 young guys running around.
Where do you think your competition will come from this year Pup? Seems like most sides are on the slide in Div 2 this year at this stage. Yarra Glen or Alex might be the only ones to get close.
Early days yet, i'm confident Yea will regroup especially once cricket is out of the way. Yea will have a lot more to play for now with all the Murrindindi Shire Teams in one competition hopefully it might resemble the old Waranga North East Football League of previous years.
i think the statement about cricket may be true cos our numbers are down a bit too but not that bad.
i think the main opposition will be alex have lost a few but rumoured to have picked up a few too. probably glen, junction, emerald and belgrave a fair way back after that.
Aaron Fiora
26 Feb 2008, 11:08
Well i'm in the Know at LaTrobe being a seniour player there for 10 years and we have lost 10 of our senior side mostly ALEX (names av.) Their going to be one hell of a force!
This is 5 of the better players
Wombat- nugget at 6ft soild
Chissel- Handy back pocket but very unfit
Cone Head- A midfielder with pace and size
Silver Back- Just Solid
Hendry- Massive unit 7ft and 120kg (elders rep)
From the Sunshine F.C & wondering whether anyone is after a Practice match on the 29th of March. PM me to organise details.
gazzabell
28 Feb 2008, 11:46
Lakers on fire!!!!!!!!!!! Plenty of numbers at training last night. Great skills on show. Could go really well this year
Moin Khan
2 Mar 2008, 12:18
i think the statement about cricket may be true cos our numbers are down a bit too but not that bad.
i think the main opposition will be alex have lost a few but rumoured to have picked up a few too. probably glen, junction, emerald and belgrave a fair way back after that.
Wouldn't get that excited about either Belgrave or Emerald. Reports are they are leaving Belly in droves and Emerald are putting ads in local papers as they are desperate and might struggle to even get a 2's side.
Early days yet, i'm confident Yea will regroup especially once cricket is out of the way. Yea will have a lot more to play for now with all the Murrindindi Shire Teams in one competition hopefully it might resemble the old Waranga North East Football League of previous years.
I have been so looking forward to taking my young kids (B'ford) over to Yea on March 29 for a hitout, some great friends and fond memories of my time at Tigerland - so I hope this talk of numbers is just rumour
14th Tiger
3 Mar 2008, 16:16
I have been so looking forward to taking my young kids (B'ford) over to Yea on March 29 for a hitout, some great friends and fond memories of my time at Tigerland - so I hope this talk of numbers is just rumour
We are too looking forward to the hitout, we will have enough numbers for the game, whether its 1 or 2 sides I couldnt say. Will be good fun and i personally cant wait to play some football again!
localfootyguru
3 Mar 2008, 22:34
Interesting to hear the current struggle of Yea and their lack of numbers. Considering ther poor performance and struggles last year I guess they were starting off at a poor base - hopefully things will improve.
Have heard really good things about both Yarra Glen and Kinglake with things looking good for both. I think the Glen may be there abouts this season.
In 1st Division news standby for a number of quality recruits to pop up in the clearances soon, especially at Wandin and Mount Evelyn.
THEBLOODS85
4 Mar 2008, 17:12
Can anyone tell me about a David Lewis who has just been granted a clearance to play with Tatyoon in the Mininera & DFL from Upwey-Tecoma in this league.
Wouldn't get that excited about either Belgrave or Emerald. Reports are they are leaving Belly in droves and Emerald are putting ads in local papers as they are desperate and might struggle to even get a 2's side.
Who else is leaving Belly Moin. All of last years recruits have cleared out as well as stowie retiring and Dave Bilston being O/S, have you heard of any more???
Any chance you might find the time for one of your amusing pre season prediction posts. Has been a while since we have heard much from you.
Valley Spy
10 Mar 2008, 17:11
Interesting to hear the current struggle of Yea and their lack of numbers. Considering ther poor performance and struggles last year I guess they were starting off at a poor base - hopefully things will improve.
Have heard really good things about both Yarra Glen and Kinglake with things looking good for both. I think the Glen may be there abouts this season.
In 1st Division news standby for a number of quality recruits to pop up in the clearances soon, especially at Wandin and Mount Evelyn.
They're gonna need a few, Top 5 of last seasons B&F all gone. Word is morale is pretty low, disappointing for the new coach.
GG Rides Again
10 Mar 2008, 22:14
They're gonna need a few, Top 5 of last seasons B&F all gone. Word is morale is pretty low, disappointing for the new coach.
Mt Evelyn has Buckland back from Croydon, Boyd(Pumpkin Head - have a look at it) back from Donvale and a few locals back from Chirnside and Colstream I believe. Who else you heard for either Mts or Dogs?
drago from ussr
13 Mar 2008, 08:52
ok ill have a stab at were i think the div 2 ladder will finish next year
thornton
alexandra
yarra glen
belgrave
kinglake
yarra junction
yea
emerald
seville
powell town
have heard from someone at the club that emerald may not field a 2's side this year. a bit of conflict with the coach and unwillingness to travel up to our area has put a lot of them off this year. Not coming through on the clearances yet but a few have gone to gembrook and a couple not playing at all.
I think drago has the bottom four and top 3 right but dunno about the rest. a bit of an unknown. i think that powelly, seville, emerald and yea will all be about the same and will struggle.
We should stay about the same with loosing phil fisher and gainnig brett andrews, alex have picked up a few and i think yarra glen are doin alright so it will be pretty close at the top too.
Div 2
Alex
thornton
yarra glen
yarra junction
kinglake
belgrave
emerald
yea
seville
powelltown
Div 1
silvan
upwey
woori yallock
mt evelyn
monbulk
healsville
wandin
warburton
gembrook
olinda
have heard from someone at the club that emerald may not field a 2's side this year. a bit of conflict with the coach and unwillingness to travel up to our area has put a lot of them off this year. Not coming through on the clearances yet but a few have gone to gembrook and a couple not playing at all.
I think drago has the bottom four and top 3 right but dunno about the rest. a bit of an unknown. i think that powelly, seville, emerald and yea will all be about the same and will struggle.
We should stay about the same with loosing phil fisher and gainnig brett andrews, alex have picked up a few and i think yarra glen are doin alright so it will be pretty close at the top too.
Not really sure what the problem is with having to travel for an hour or so a maximum of 3 times a year is. For the couple of southern clubs left in Div 2 the only long hauls would be Alex, Thornton and now Yea. Powelly and Kinglake in the scheme of things arent all that far when compared to the travel in other country comps. There are also rumblings from Belgrave about following Souths lead and heading for the EFL.
its not that bad 3 times a year your right. i live in berwick and travel up and back thurs night and home games. i know the seville boys usually do and warby the other year, got a bus and some stayed up and went fishing so you can make a weekend of it. i think eventually they will have to change the divisions like some people are saying, to keep everyone happy and maybe lure a couple of other teams in.
could be something like this.
Southern
Thornton
Alex
Yea
Kinglake
Yarra Glen
Healsville
Coldstream
Yarra Junction
Powelltown
Warburton
Woori Yallock
Northern
Belgrave
Sth Belgrave
Emerald
Gembrook
Olinda
Monbulk
Wandin
Seville
Ferntree Gully
Silvan
Mt Evelyn
I think in the long run some teams will have to merge to survive with 3 or 4 div 2 teams strugglin to field 2's or 3rds now its only gonna get harder.
Gembrook/Emerald
Belgrave/Sth Belgrave
Powelly/Junction
and hate to say it Thornton/Alex
If the league did look at the North v South option though it would probably spell the end for a couple of struggling Div 2 clubs. Imagine watching Woori/Healesville v Powelly and Silvan v Emerald/Seville.
Things would no doubt take a couple of years to settle down and even out but some clubs might not last that long. Either way though something will need to be done, reading on the Benalla forum that if that league folds then Bonnie Doons option would be to come to the YVMDFL.
banana breath
13 Mar 2008, 23:24
Can anyone confirm whether Gary Connolly caught up with Brad Coller for a drink?
Last time l spoke to him he said he was keen to catch up for a drink and a yarn (not about the GF of course).
They had some great tussles last season and a both top blokes from what l can see.
nah he hasnt caught up with me yet banana man
banana breath
14 Mar 2008, 12:27
nah he hasnt caught up with me yet banana man
What a shame, as l know he was planning on it last time l saw him (which was a while ago) and he rates you as a bloke. Gaz is a top guy too.
I guess it will be tough now that he is at Port.
yeh we had a good chat after the granny and he showed a lot of sportsmanship. Apart from the granny all the other games were nail biters so we did have some good battles.
its not that bad 3 times a year your right. i live in berwick and travel up and back thurs night and home games. i know the seville boys usually do and warby the other year, got a bus and some stayed up and went fishing so you can make a weekend of it. i think eventually they will have to change the divisions like some people are saying, to keep everyone happy and maybe lure a couple of other teams in.
could be something like this.
Southern
Thornton
Alex
Yea
Kinglake
Yarra Glen
Healsville
Coldstream
Yarra Junction
Powelltown
Warburton
Woori Yallock
Northern
Belgrave
Sth Belgrave
Emerald
Gembrook
Olinda
Monbulk
Wandin
Seville
Ferntree Gully
Silvan
Mt Evelyn
I think in the long run some teams will have to merge to survive with 3 or 4 div 2 teams strugglin to field 2's or 3rds now its only gonna get harder.
Gembrook/Emerald
Belgrave/Sth Belgrave
Powelly/Junction
and hate to say it Thornton/Alex
Here we go again lets look at changing leagues Division 3 and 4 in EFL is not really setting the world on fire, and whilst these clubs have the desire and committment but some clubs just lack some of the "country atmosphere where the community is part of the club,
Whilst i appreciate that things are tuff travelling from south to north and vice versa could be used to advantage ie social functions etc
What probanly needs to be explored in the long term is combining or closer relationships between YVMDFL and Eastern Hypothectically EFL Div One would be Eastern FL Premier with Division Div Two teams that have sound financial systems and availability of players and Resources
Division One YVMDFL would be similair but given the fact of demographics etc be restricted to Rural /Country Based teams
Division Two YVMDFL and Division3 and 4 EFL be combined and divided up geographically.
As stated this "proposal" is not a short term fix but looking long term, football is changing clubs have come and gone and will continue to do so
GG Rides Again
16 Mar 2008, 21:45
nothing changes in travel with you system. Promotion/relegation will change the landscape as the teams improve. And there is a huge difference between EFL Div 1, 2 teams as opposed to most of the YV teams possibly excluding Silvan at present.
In most country leagues you have to travel and that is it. Heathcote has Lockington to Broadford, GV has Rochester to Mansfield, and they all take time. Travel is just a part of a country league and although alot of the clubs are the fringe areas of the city its still a country league at present.
Valley Spy
17 Mar 2008, 16:51
I think the biggest problem is that affiliated clubs havent been able to vote on the issue of new clubs entering into this league. The EFL for example only admits clubs after all clubs vote on the inclusion but Im led to believe that is not the case with YVMDFL. For 30 or so regular senior footballers at each club the travel wouldn't be an issue but for the rest who play coz a mate does or someone has talked them into it, they could easy be turned off by the travel factor and if their team is getting beat each week theres not much incentive to play. The new teams entering have chosen to travel otherwise they would be extinct, the original clubs havent been given a choice.
cha0012
17 Mar 2008, 19:13
Lakers play a practice match on the weekend against watsoina we play pretty good thinks r start 2 look on the up
in english please...
For 30 or so regular senior footballers at each club the travel wouldn't be an issue but for the rest who play coz a mate does or someone has talked them into it, they could easy be turned off by the travel factor and if their team is getting beat each week theres not much incentive to play.
I have decided to take my services to the EFL this season for that very reason. I am an ordinary 2's footballer that just wants to play with my mates. About 5 years ago a group of us 'filled in' for a game in seville's 2's, and have been playing since, but now in div 2 there are 5 away games that are over an hour travel (from croydon) and its just not worth it for us 2's footballers. No one wants to travel that far to play with 15 players, get flogged and come home feeling sore and beaten and feel like you have done the work of 10 men. I think seville will struggle with fielding 2's this year because i know im not the only one who has pulled the pin for this reason.
Tigersman
25 Mar 2008, 14:29
South Belgrave now have around 70 odd blokes training regularly in the lead up to their first season in EFL. A lot of them new to the club or returned after some time away.
The numbers wouldnt have been that high if they were still in Div 2 YVMDFL.
I know I stopped playing 2 years ago due to travel but have come back now. As have several others.
Its hard to get new players to come to your club when they see how far away games are in YVMDFL. More so when you dont have big bucks to throw around as most second div clubs dont.
I loved the atmosphere and feel of YVMDFL but when you compare the two options South were faced with, the efl move was far more workable and an easier situation to attract players. Its early days but the move appears to be working for us.
I cant help but feel the days of Emerald, Belgrave and some others are numbered in YVMDFL unless the comp is restructured.
This Saturday
Yea FC vs Broadford @ Yea
1pm kick off - 6 x 20 min terms
maybe 1-2 netballs games also
BBQ/drinks etc. available :thumbsu:
South Belgrave now have around 70 odd blokes training regularly in the lead up to their first season in EFL. A lot of them new to the club or returned after some time away.
The numbers wouldnt have been that high if they were still in Div 2 YVMDFL.
I know I stopped playing 2 years ago due to travel but have come back now. As have several others.
Its hard to get new players to come to your club when they see how far away games are in YVMDFL. More so when you dont have big bucks to throw around as most second div clubs dont.
I loved the atmosphere and feel of YVMDFL but when you compare the two options South were faced with, the efl move was far more workable and an easier situation to attract players. Its early days but the move appears to be working for us.
I cant help but feel the days of Emerald, Belgrave and some others are numbered in YVMDFL unless the comp is restructured.
I hope South Belgrave have a good season and several years ago South Belgrave left for greener pastures in the SWGFL.
I note you you love the atmosphere of the YVMDFL as i have said whilst not wishing to be politically correct, country footy does have that extra atmosphere which metro clubs just carnt match.
Spare a thought for the "Bush"clubs that travel over the mountain every second week, not much complaints from them. Yea Alex and Thornton have been travelling this way and that way for years. Yes i do believe that these clubs are/will be of benifit to the YVMDFL. Remember Marysville had a side however they have gone but who knows. Travel to Yea Alex and Thornton even Kinglake could be used to the social advantage of visiting clubs etc. Bear in mind EDFL div 3 and 4 involves travel albeit in the outer to inner metro, Perhapsa joint YVMDFL / EDFL could look at football in the Inner/Outer east plus adjoining Rural areas.
The thought of continuing jumping from one league to the other only harms football clubs by increasing burdons on all Bigger is not necessarily best.It is interesting to note that several EDFL clubs commenced in the YVMDFL and also vice versa?
Tigersman
26 Mar 2008, 20:31
I hope South Belgrave have a good season and several years ago South Belgrave left for greener pastures in the SWGFL.
I note you you love the atmosphere of the YVMDFL as i have said whilst not wishing to be politically correct, country footy does have that extra atmosphere which metro clubs just carnt match.
Spare a thought for the "Bush"clubs that travel over the mountain every second week, not much complaints from them. Yea Alex and Thornton have been travelling this way and that way for years. Yes i do believe that these clubs are/will be of benifit to the YVMDFL. Remember Marysville had a side however they have gone but who knows. Travel to Yea Alex and Thornton even Kinglake could be used to the social advantage of visiting clubs etc. Bear in mind EDFL div 3 and 4 involves travel albeit in the outer to inner metro, Perhapsa joint YVMDFL / EDFL could look at football in the Inner/Outer east plus adjoining Rural areas.
The thought of continuing jumping from one league to the other only harms football clubs by increasing burdons on all Bigger is not necessarily best.It is interesting to note that several EDFL clubs commenced in the YVMDFL and also vice versa?
I am not all that familiar with the old days at South but the move to SWGFL was not completely their own decision from what Ive been told.
All games in div 4 efl are within 15 km or so of Souths home ground. This is a deciding factor for a lot of guys that are unsure on playing or not.
I hear that the EFL are interested in starting a div 5 in the next year or two.
This could be something that reshapes the YVMDFL as clubs like Belgrave and Emerald would have to look at it. Is a one Division YVMDFL comp in the near future?
It would have its advantages. Player numbers up at a lot of clubs and a stronger financial situation potentially.
GG Rides Again
27 Mar 2008, 12:45
I am not all that familiar with the old days at South but the move to SWGFL was not completely their own decision from what Ive been told.
All games in div 4 efl are within 15 km or so of Souths home ground. This is a deciding factor for a lot of guys that are unsure on playing or not.
I hear that the EFL are interested in starting a div 5 in the next year or two.
It would have its advantages. Player numbers up at a lot of clubs and a stronger financial situation potentially.
The reason alot of clubs have left the EFL was because of the coin associated with success. Win a premiership and have to recruit 5-8 players just not to be relegated the next year. In Div 2 at present unless you have a young squad most clubs see premierships as the poisoned chalice. Nice to win but cant do much to stay up.
If Sth Belgrave were lucky enough to win the premiership this year, what changes then happen woth travel in Div 3 and Div 2? Doncaster from Sth Belgrave is a fair trip in itself. Probably about the same as going country?
Tigersman
27 Mar 2008, 22:41
The reason alot of clubs have left the EFL was because of the coin associated with success. Win a premiership and have to recruit 5-8 players just not to be relegated the next year. In Div 2 at present unless you have a young squad most clubs see premierships as the poisoned chalice. Nice to win but cant do much to stay up.
If Sth Belgrave were lucky enough to win the premiership this year, what changes then happen woth travel in Div 3 and Div 2? Doncaster from Sth Belgrave is a fair trip in itself. Probably about the same as going country?
No Doubt clubs winning div 2 premierships are on a hiding to nothing but I don't think thats going to be an issue for south anytime soon.
Its far less of a problem when your talking div4 going up to div 3 although there is a fair step up in quality.
Would'nt you say the same applies to YVMDFL with clubs going up to div one having very little chance of success without pulling in new players?
Bobby Beecroft
6 Apr 2008, 11:46
Eastlink will make that trip tolerable.