View Full Version : Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Have A Crack
6 Apr 2008, 15:12
Can anybody tell me who won and what by in the Practice Match
Silvan Vs Lalor (Northern Footy League)
Did Lance Whitnall play for Lalor?? If so, how did he go???

localfootyguru
9 Apr 2008, 22:37
First game in Division 2 this weekend with some great looking games including the grand final replay and the first time clash between Yea and Kinglake.

My tips are;

Thornton Eildon v Belgrave Thornton Football Ground 2.10 pm
Kinglake v Yea Kinglake Reserve 2.10 pm
Emerald v Yarra Junction Emerald Football Ground 2.10 pm
Seville v Yarra Glen Seville Football Ground 2.10 pm
Powelltown v Alexandra Powelltown Football Ground 2.10 pm

auskickrules
9 Apr 2008, 23:31
Ben Farrugia from Lilydale will be returning to Warburton next season - great pick up for the club.

Bens a good player to pick up but his missus calls all the shots. She must have wanted to go back to Warby, or did Lilydale run out of cash?
You got a real name or you happy to hide? Back it up with facts sweetheart and we'll talk otherwise pull your head in!

apple42
10 Apr 2008, 12:01
my tips are
THORNTON vs belgrave
emerald vs JUNCTION
KINGLAKE vs yea
ALEXANDRA vs powelltown
seville vs YARRA GLEN

Ronison
11 Apr 2008, 12:06
My tips are
Thornton vs BELGRAVE
EMERALD vs Junction
KINGLAKE vs yea
ALEXANDRA vs powelltown
seville vs YARRA GLEN

Grass cat
11 Apr 2008, 17:25
Wanted Key Position Players
For Country Football Club located an hour’s drive East of Melbourne.
Excellent Faculties along with top remuneration will be offered for the right player/ person.
If interested please contact the following number 0418 172328

Big O
12 Apr 2008, 20:54
Snuck up to watch the Powelly and Alex game today. While the final result didnt look great it was only a lack of fitness that cost the towners 7 or 8 cheap goals at the end of the second and last quarters. Were only a goal down early in the second quarter. With a couple of handy senior players to come back i think they will be more than competitive against the fellow cellar dwellers.

GG Rides Again
14 Apr 2008, 10:32
You got a real name or you happy to hide? Back it up with facts sweetheart and we'll talk otherwise pull your head in!

I thought I'd get a bite eventually Peta.

gazzabell
14 Apr 2008, 11:06
Good start for my boys the lakers. Good test this week as we travel up to yarra junction, hopefully its a start to a better season ahead then last year

Master of Cooks
14 Apr 2008, 14:33
Good start for my boys the lakers. Good test this week as we travel up to yarra junction, hopefully its a start to a better season ahead then last year
Any chance i could get some info on the lakers v yea game. I'm interested in whats happening to yea. Did they just have kids, or what?
Thanks.

auskickrules
14 Apr 2008, 19:18
I thought I'd get a bite eventually Peta.

If i had to guess i'd say you were Ando but i wouldn't have thought he would be stupid enough to battle the forum with me after last time he came away looking a little foolish. Still happy to hide GG?

RustyHawk
14 Apr 2008, 21:27
Very fair point that you make, fitness is the only thing that could cost a team a 22 goal defeat.

Listen Newbie.

First u crawl, then walk then u can run on this forum.

Big O has time on this board that you dont have.

So for the moment you keep the smartarse comments to yourself.

BTW while im modding mood. Auskick & GG just remember this is a public forum - you want to brawl take it somewhere else.

gazzabell
15 Apr 2008, 06:31
Yea had a few kids but think/hope the lakers were just a better side on the day. Apparently over the next few weeks yea are getting a few more guys coming to the club from downtown.

14th Tiger
15 Apr 2008, 22:18
Any chance i could get some info on the lakers v yea game. I'm interested in whats happening to yea. Did they just have kids, or what?
Thanks.

Yea had a few kids but think/hope the lakers were just a better side on the day. Apparently over the next few weeks yea are getting a few more guys coming to the club from downtown.

Yea did have afew young blokes, but Kinglake were no doubt a better all round side. We actually had what i thought was a very good side, however a side that had not played much footy together at all. It will take afew weeks to gel as a team and as Gazzabell said we may pick up some handy players on top of that...but still, not a great start to the league/season for the Tigers but full credit to Kinglake who were very happy with their win (if singing the song twice is anything to go by) and im sure they will be a competitive side throughout the season.

drago from ussr
16 Apr 2008, 14:42
i think it will be hard to judge how the new teams are going until they play the better sides in the division 2 i though yarra glen were gonna be a force but lost to what i thought was an undermanned seville.. ......as for yea gaining more players you always lose a few too to injury and such so unless they get a bus full i think theyll struggle but its part of rebuilding i guess they wont take long to get bak up there

any one no if seville had a lot of new players or yarra glen lost a few?

So whattya know
16 Apr 2008, 16:25

Is Warby a family orientated club ???????

auskickrules
16 Apr 2008, 21:00
Is Warby a family orientated club ???????

Warby is probably one of the most family orientated clubs i know of. They have fantastic facilities and readily welcome players with kids.:confused: Not sure if you were having a dig or not but i answered as if you weren't.

rip it up
16 Apr 2008, 21:17
With 3 days out from round 1, are all clubs going in with there full teams?

YGTHUNDER
16 Apr 2008, 21:18
Yg Will Be Better Over The Comming Weeks With Alot Off Players To Return...lets Not Forget We Were Down By 47pts Late In The 2nd Qtr! Congrats 2 Kinglake Gr8 Start...but Its The End That Counts!!!

localfootyguru
16 Apr 2008, 23:08
Whats the go with Ben Farrugia putting in an application to return to Mt Evelyn from Warburton Millgrove?

Also stand by for some last minute clearances in 1st division. Apparently a couple of clubs have been busy.

Also surely with the new CEO the league could get their Internet site back to the level it used to be - Lori is sorely missed. No review of the 1st round of 2nd division and its already Wednesday - lift your game!!!

localfootyguru
16 Apr 2008, 23:11
Warby is probably one of the most family orientated clubs i know of. They have fantastic facilities and readily welcome players with kids.:confused: Not sure if you were having a dig or not but i answered as if you weren't.

Good footy club Warby - just dont have the same amount of money as Mount Evelyn this year I am gathering!!! :)

green and gold
16 Apr 2008, 23:42
Yg Will Be Better Over The Comming Weeks With Alot Off Players To Return...lets Not Forget We Were Down By 47pts Late In The 2nd Qtr! Congrats 2 Kinglake Gr8 Start...but Its The End That Counts!!!

thanks thunder, great start by the lakers, the real test will come in the next few rounds to see where we are really at. to answer rip it ups question kinglake picked sides on the weekend by the old nfl rule with 4 on the bench in the snrs and 6 on the pine in the resies so we had 3 players picked that missed out plus maybe 6 or so players unavailable.

banana breath
17 Apr 2008, 08:36
Any news on the Belgrave / Thornton match?
Did Thornton have a few out or missing, as l thought they would win by more at home against half of Belgrave's 2007 Reserves side.
I was thinking of going down there for a run, but couldn't be bothered driving the long km's to the away games.

rosy3
17 Apr 2008, 09:18
Banana breath you missed a great game of footy by not travelling. The Boners wouldn't use any excuses about the players who weren't available, Lucas Smith and Caleb Tiller are a couple of examples. A few other players from last year's GF had a run in the reserves due to injury or not having trained etc.

Thornton had a good team on the ground but not having trained together all year were maybe a bit rusty, especially in kicking a few too many points rather than goals. They made up for that with a 10 goal straight last quarter though.

70+points is a pretty handy win first up and despite any perception you might get from the scoreline Belgrave never at any stage threatened to win the game.

It was a very comfortable win to the Boners who will only improve as a team as the season goes on.

banana breath
17 Apr 2008, 13:02
Cheers Rosy

GG Rides Again
17 Apr 2008, 13:33

Will Ben have to go to appeal to get to Mt Evelyn? Why are Warby not letting him go?

GG Rides Again
17 Apr 2008, 13:37
Good footy club Warby - just dont have the same amount of money as Mount Evelyn this year I am gathering!!! :)

Everyones always got more money than Mts although the maountain men seem to have recruited as well as they have for a while this year. Stevie Tess will be like a new recruit as well coming back.
Bit harsh saying he is chasing coin as I dont reckon he's that sort of bloke. Anyone in the Yarra Valley would be happy to have him and can play but looks like an appeal approaching as knocked back twice now.

auskickrules
17 Apr 2008, 15:13
Will Ben have to go to appeal to get to Mt Evelyn? Why are Warby not letting him go?

Ben will have to appeal to be able to play at Mt Evelyn. His reasons for leaving Warby this late in the game were strictly work and to a lesser degree family. He has a young family to support and his work pay very generously for weekend work. They have agreed to him finishing on Saturdays at 1.00pm which leaves him very little time to get to Warby's games. He also can not make training as it is a 40 minute drive and he is not getting home from work until 5.30 most nights. He can however make Mt Evelyns game and training nights as they are only 3 minutes away. The other reason is more personal but his 5 year old son has just joined Auskick which he originaly did not want to play but his mates from school are and Ben wants to be able to enjoy watching his son play his first year of football. Warby are not letting him go and have told him they would rather he not play at all than play elsewhere, so it looks as though it will end up in the afl/vfl tribunal and they can sort it out.
Sorry for the long post but this should clear up most misconceptions.:thumbsu:

rip it up
17 Apr 2008, 15:47
Ben Farrugia from Lilydale will be returning to Warburton next season - great pick up for the club.

Bens a good player to pick up but his missus calls all the shots. She must have wanted to go back to Warby, or did Lilydale run out of cash?

Everyones always got more money than Mts although the maountain men seem to have recruited as well as they have for a while this year. Stevie Tess will be like a new recruit as well coming back.
Bit harsh saying he is chasing coin as I dont reckon he's that sort of bloke. Anyone in the Yarra Valley would be happy to have him and can play but looks like an appeal approaching as knocked back twice now.

Gee GG seems your view has changed, you must be a mountain man :D

Valley Spy
17 Apr 2008, 17:31

Unless he has signed a contract or owes them money Warby dont have any right to not clear him. Some other clubs have tried the same thing.

GG Rides Again
17 Apr 2008, 19:47
Gee GG seems your view has changed, you must be a mountain man :D

My view hasnt changed in regards to Ben but I was told that Peta reads this forum regularly and I just wanted to see if I could get a bite. All over and yes I am a MT Evelyn supporter.

Big leedsy is on the track tonight. Watch out all the vets in the comp.

GG Rides Again
17 Apr 2008, 19:53
Unless he has signed a contract or owes them money Warby dont have any right to not clear him. Some other clubs have tried the same thing.

There would be a contract signed I would expect as Ben would definitely be a paid player. The issue is to the tribunal is that work and life circumstance will outweigh the travek and location so Warby will end up having to put up $5K which they will lose if they lose the case.
I have seen similar issue arise in GV footy with a young bloke who wants to play at Seymour this year signed a contract with his local club that is now an 8 hour round trip. The VCFL will rule in his favour as his family is living in Broadford. The contract situation is a farse as if the players ends up not wanting to play for the club the club should let them go.
I say that impartially as I believe Mt Evelyn would do the same thing after discussing the situation with the player.

Anyway cant wait for the weekend. Bring it on.

Valley Spy
17 Apr 2008, 21:34
There would be a contract signed I would expect as Ben would definitely be a paid player. The issue is to the tribunal is that work and life circumstance will outweigh the travek and location so Warby will end up having to put up $5K which they will lose if they lose the case.
I have seen similar issue arise in GV footy with a young bloke who wants to play at Seymour this year signed a contract with his local club that is now an 8 hour round trip. The VCFL will rule in his favour as his family is living in Broadford. The contract situation is a farse as if the players ends up not wanting to play for the club the club should let them go.
I say that impartially as I believe Mt Evelyn would do the same thing after discussing the situation with the player.

Anyway cant wait for the weekend. Bring it on.

Olinda have had a simialr problem with James Reid wanting to return but still under contract at another club. I think player contracts are starting to hold a bit more weight than they used to, unless you have a major sponsor with a truckload of cash. :D:D

So whattya know
18 Apr 2008, 10:11

Good to hear !
be interesting then to see if that family understanding of family helps Ben ............
by the way how good was the atmosphere at Mt Evelyn ground last week saturday 80 young kids enjoying Auskick .
Big weekend of 1st Divvy footy , how are sides shaping up , and who's going throw out some tips ?

auskickrules
18 Apr 2008, 14:05
Good to hear !
be interesting then to see if that family understanding of family helps Ben ............
by the way how good was the atmosphere at Mt Evelyn ground last week saturday 80 young kids enjoying Auskick .
Big weekend of 1st Divvy footy , how are sides shaping up , and who's going throw out some tips ?

Our son Jack was so excited. After he 'trained' (as he says) We had to go straight to the shops to buy footy socks, shorts and jumper. Everyday he wears the auskick beanie and carries one of his many footys. It was great to see the older more experienced auskickers helping out the young ones with how to hold the footy and kick it. I must say i am a bit nervous about the upcoming mother-child match. I might have to get Ben to teach me some tricks.:D

localfootyguru
19 Apr 2008, 11:09
Ben will have to appeal to be able to play at Mt Evelyn. His reasons for leaving Warby this late in the game were strictly work and to a lesser degree family. He has a young family to support and his work pay very generously for weekend work. They have agreed to him finishing on Saturdays at 1.00pm which leaves him very little time to get to Warby's games. He also can not make training as it is a 40 minute drive and he is not getting home from work until 5.30 most nights. He can however make Mt Evelyns game and training nights as they are only 3 minutes away. The other reason is more personal but his 5 year old son has just joined Auskick which he originaly did not want to play but his mates from school are and Ben wants to be able to enjoy watching his son play his first year of football. Warby are not letting him go and have told him they would rather he not play at all than play elsewhere, so it looks as though it will end up in the afl/vfl tribunal and they can sort it out.
Sorry for the long post but this should clear up most misconceptions.:thumbsu:

Thanks for the explanation of the situation - all the best to Ben for the year. Lets hope the situation is sorted out. If the Mounters can get him on board they have the makings of a good side this year. May be in finals contention even but they are coming from a long way back.

localfootyguru
19 Apr 2008, 11:13
Tips for this weekend in bold. Some good matches too.

Mount Evelyn v Upwey Tecoma Mount Evelyn Football Ground 2.10 pm
Silvan v Warburton Millgrove Silvan Football Ground 2.10 pm
Olinda Ferny Creek v Gembrook Cockatoo Olinda Football Ground 2.10 pm
Woori Yallock v Healesville Woori Yallock Football Ground 2.10 pm
Monbulk v Wandin Monbulk Football Ground 2.10 pm

Yea v Thornton Eildon Yea Football Ground 2.10 pm
Yarra Junction v Kinglake Yarra Junction Football Ground 2.10 pm
Yarra Glen v Emerald Yarra Glen Football Ground 2.10 pm
Alexandra v Seville Alexandra Rec Reserve 2.10 pm
Belgrave v Powelltown Belgrave Football Ground 2.10 pm

localfootyguru
20 Apr 2008, 12:55
Olinda have had a simialr problem with James Reid wanting to return but still under contract at another club. I think player contracts are starting to hold a bit more weight than they used to, unless you have a major sponsor with a truckload of cash. :D:D

They contacts do hold a certain amount of weight these days, especially as players do know what they are committing themselves to. Interestingly enough James Reid was the best man on the ground yesterday in Boronia's win over Templestowe in the EFL. Looks like he won't be back at the Bloods in 2008.

Maybe Ben Farrugia may be standing out of football for a while :confused:

localfootyguru
20 Apr 2008, 13:01
Some interesting results first up yesterday highlighted by the Silvan juggernaut continuing on their merry way from 2007 in demolishing the Burras. I dont think this will be the only time this occurs at the hands of the Cats in 2008 though.

Must have been a good effort by the Mounties yesterday in their win over Upwey. My mail tells me the Tigers may be a little of the mark this season with the loss of some key players.

Went and watched Yarra Glen v Emerald in a game that was an even contest and the difference was Selkrig with 7 goals (I think). The Glen look like a good unit and should be thereabouts in 2008. Emerald despite all the doom and gloom I heard pre season are a young developing team and well coached. They are certainly on the improve.

How about Kinglake winning again - they have won more games this year than they have in total for a number of years. Great start by the Lakers and congratulations to all involved.

Pup, perhaps you can provide a summary of the game against Yea yesterday? Looks like a long year for the Tigers going the first two rounds results.

localfootyguru
20 Apr 2008, 13:11
Can someone from Monbulk tell me why James Cleven has headed up to play at Cudgewa in the Upper Murray League? Will be sorely missed by the Hawks as he was a quality big man and they don't grow on trees.

Flying Higher37
20 Apr 2008, 13:43
Having Kinglake and Yea enter the competition has been good for the league this year but can someone answer how one earth they let kinglake use the jumper they're using. The jumper which is mainly Yellow and Green and is a brand new design from last year has a major clash with Yarra Junction.
At times during both of yesterdays matches both team handballed out of congestion straight to an oppistion player.

GG Rides Again
20 Apr 2008, 16:35
Must have been a good effort by the Mounties yesterday in their win over Upwey. My mail tells me the Tigers may be a little of the mark this season with the loss of some key players.

Give it a few weeks but I think you will see that Mts will be there abouts this year. Have recruited well and have a few regulars playing 2nds and not looking likely next week. To be down and come back like they did yesterday was just the sort of win they need to build confidence.

PS - Buckland for League Medal. Round 1, 3 votes

pupsta
20 Apr 2008, 20:47
Some interesting results first up yesterday highlighted by the Silvan juggernaut continuing on their merry way from 2007 in demolishing the Burras. I dont think this will be the only time this occurs at the hands of the Cats in 2008 though.

Went and watched Yarra Glen v Emerald in a game that was an even contest and the difference was Selkrig with 7 goals (I think). The Glen look like a good unit and should be thereabouts in 2008. Emerald despite all the doom and gloom I heard pre season are a young developing team and well coached. They are certainly on the improve.

How about Kinglake winning again - they have won more games this year than they have in total for a number of years. Great start by the Lakers and congratulations to all involved.

Pup, perhaps you can provide a summary of the game against Yea yesterday? Looks like a long year for the Tigers going the first two rounds results.

yeh guru, key players missing from thornton and two men down after five minutes didnt help us. still won by 14 odd goals and if it wasnt for the 2nd quarter would have been a lot more.
Ground in great nick bit like ours just a couple of hard patches.
Good young ruckman from yea 17 yo big boy rucked all day (owen somebody) and couple of good young onballers. Yea are in a position similar to the boners in the mid 90's where there was talk of folding but they just need to keep pushing the youth and with their proud history they will get back up there. Good luck to bruce elliott and the rest of the club for 08.

P.S we have just lost Lucas Smith for the year. massive loss but was only going to be able to play a few games this year anyway. Hes headed to France for work until October but you never know. we will keep that number 31 jumper warm for him. Has been a great player, clubman and mate for the last 2 years and we wish him luck.

Monniehawk
21 Apr 2008, 09:14
Can someone from Monbulk tell me why James Cleven has headed up to play at Cudgewa in the Upper Murray League? Will be sorely missed by the Hawks as he was a quality big man and they don't grow on trees.
Yep, he is sadly missed. He is working with Nat Parks trying to get a permanent position and they extended his contract. We won't see him this year and it depends on postings where he will be sent. One wag at the club asked why they sent him up there when we have plenty of trees down here!
BTW, younger brother Dean is filling the shoes admirably - and he can kick!!

Derby103
21 Apr 2008, 10:40
Having Kinglake and Yea enter the competition has been good for the league this year but can someone answer how one earth they let kinglake use the jumper they're using. The jumper which is mainly Yellow and Green and is a brand new design from last year has a major clash with Yarra Junction.
At times during both of yesterdays matches both team handballed out of congestion straight to an oppistion player.

Yes - Yarra Junction v Kinglake = worst guernsey clash I have ever seen. Kinglake would have been better off with their mid-90s jumper of yellow with a green vee. Olinda-Ferny Creek looked better this season, and should perhaps have held off Gembrook in the last quarter on Saturday. Gembrook have a target up forward this year, but have unfortunately been able to add little else to their list. The umpires seem to have been instructed to stamp out any physical contact. Hip-and-shoulder bumps were penalised on the weekend. Incidental contact during marking duels invariably drew a free kick. 50m penalties were the rule rather than the exception. The game has changed a great deal in the last 10 years.

dishlickers
21 Apr 2008, 15:45
also heard that you had no idea on which team had the ball at the YJ v lakers game! what were both teams like? do kinglake look like they could be up with thornton and alex? also heard they recruited a good ff and chf... any news?

Flying Higher37
21 Apr 2008, 19:20
Both teams matched up pretty well on each. not knowing kinglake not too sure if that was their full potential but both sides look to have a fair bit of room to improve. Thornton is still by far and away the best team in the 2nd div and whilest their team isn't getting any younger i don't think many teams other than possibl alex/belgrave will get close to them. Junction has a few good younger players from the 18's last year but they're still adjusting to seniors and may take some time adjusting.
The return game against the Lakers should be a good game except for the Jumpers.

Monniehawk
21 Apr 2008, 21:53
The umpires seem to have been instructed to stamp out any physical contact. Hip-and-shoulder bumps were penalised on the weekend. Incidental contact during marking duels invariably drew a free kick. 50m penalties were the rule rather than the exception. The game has changed a great deal in the last 10 years.
I made a similar comment at Monnie on the WE. Mind you, the umpires were pretty damn good, but they did seem touchier than previous years and some incidental (but fair) contact was penalised. The instruction seems to be to interpret to the letter of the law. I know Cammo is a little paranoid about a serious injury, but I just hope we don't go back to the bad old days of the early '80's when upwards of 100 frees was common!!
I think the umpiring of the last 8-10 years has been consistently the best since I've seen up here.

lakers
22 Apr 2008, 08:56
As newcomers to the league it has just been great to see some consistency in umpiring. The umpires have have not only paid the same free kicks all day, but it was the same in both weeks. Coming from a league where the standard of umpiring was hideous, this makes for a pleasant change and makes it easy for teams to plan ahead and adapt their games accordingly, knowing what will and what wont be punished.

YGTHUNDER
22 Apr 2008, 18:55
Derby103, or any1 else, can you give us any thoughts on the Full Forward up at Kinglake, must go ok as 20 in 2 games is a good return. Also heard the CHF is a new recruit as well?

gazzabell
23 Apr 2008, 06:10
I can tell you thunder that our full forward at the lake (Hollywood) is a gun. Good luck this week trying to stop him, he is quick on the lead, strong hands and is a dead eye dick. Its great to have someone up at full forward this year who is a strong target to kick to as this is a area we really lacked in last season

zaco
25 Apr 2008, 21:09
This Hollywood bloke ff for the lakers sounds pretty handy, it'll be interesting to see how he go's when he meets digger from thornton

drago from ussr
28 Apr 2008, 10:43
zaco digger or daniel creed is by far the best full back in the competition he is underated by many clubs and was well deserved in his selection into thorntons team of the century last year .......

digger the virus .... ill be suprised if anyone kicks more than 3 goals on him all year

So whattya know
28 Apr 2008, 16:00
Any Warby players or suppoters want to comment on the aftermatch speeches ? I heard .................................

Doona2
28 Apr 2008, 16:29
Rapt to hear the Yea Tigers got a win on the weekend, congrats to Bruce and all the boys :thumbsu:

THEOX
30 Apr 2008, 14:27
digger the virus .... ill be suprised if anyone kicks more than 3 goals on him all year

I'd back Hollywood Gallichio to rip him a new one. I doubt digger would have come across anyone with as much natural talent as Hollywood and Ive never even seen digger play.

cakehole
30 Apr 2008, 17:49
how can you judge him then? all you can realy say is that you rate your bloke. All we can do is judge on the results when they happen. but the contest realy is in the midfield. if he gets the ball delieverd nicely then no backman ever has a chance. good delivery beats a talented backman any day

rosy3
30 Apr 2008, 18:14
I'd back Hollywood Gallichio to rip him a new one. I doubt digger would have come across anyone with as much natural talent as Hollywood and Ive never even seen digger play.

What do you consider "ripping a new one" equates to? I'll take your money.:D

The Boner defense don't give anything away and the return of a few midfielders in the next few weeks will only make their job easier.

Kinglake have the highest "against" score out of the 3 undefeated teams. Maybe Hally will be the one doing the ripping when Kinglake ventures up to Boner Park. ;)

Flying Higher37
1 May 2008, 14:18
geeze the kinglake boys might be getting a bit ahead of themselves with how good thier foward is. He's a good footballer there's no doubt about it but if kinglake think he's gonna kick a lone match winning score against thorton or alex they shoul probably reasses.
While i thought the eagles did very well in patches against the boners last week they have one of the bigger midfields (i.e. stronger bodies) in 2nd Div and it shone through, injuries definetly hurt us but thorton's disposal was far better.

They are defienetly beatable but kinglake will have to play much better than they have lately to get close to them. So i think we should wait until everyone has played each other before we say the kinglake bloke has more talent than anyone else in the league, dare say that kinglakes problem is going to be at the other end

lakers
1 May 2008, 14:43
Check the previous posts flying higher i think you'll find noone said Galichio was the MOST talented player in the league but i think you're right in saying gazzabell was getting ahead of himself. That isn't an accurate reflection on the club though as we are really looking forward to the challenge of playing Alexandra this week so we have a better idea of where we fit in the league. We aren't getting ahead of ourselves but we are enjoying being in a league where we're competitive. I think we'll know more about where clubs stand in a couple more weeks.

GG Rides Again
1 May 2008, 20:10
Any Warby players or suppoters want to comment on the aftermatch speeches ? I heard .................................

What was said? They were comprehensively beaten so wha goes on? Comments referring to Faruggia prehaps?
Ben will be going to appeal I believe.

localfootyguru
2 May 2008, 00:25
YVMDFL Senior Interleague Squad Announced - www.yvmdfl.com.au

YVMDFL Interleague is playing at St Arnaud on the weekend of May 31 against a combined North Central / Mallee team.

The first training session is scheduled for Wednesday May 7th at Upwey Tecoma's Football Ground at 6.30pm.

Training dates will follow at the same time & venue on 14th & 21st May. Further training dates will be advised in due course.

Players unavailable to attend training must contact the coach, Mark Sandilands on 0400 331 013 or Stephen Walter on 59615611.

The following players have been invited:-

N Oakley Alexandra
R Newell Silvan
J Adams Woori Yallock
T Mc Kinley Alexandra
M Bullen Silvan
D Hyndman Woori Yallock
L Heard Alexandra
B Haynes Silvan
R Allen Woori Yallock
A Oakley Alexandra
D Bissells Silvan
M Riseley Woori Yallock
C Clarke Gembrook Cockatoo
G Moorcroft Silvan
A Shipp Gembrook Cockatoo
K Dale Silvan
L Barclay Healesville
C Goodlet Silvan
D Plozza Healesville
A Preston Silvan
J Conrau Healesville
D Carswell Silvan
S Turner Healesville
S Coen Silvan
R Carruthers Healesville
B Coller Thornton Eildon
L Knott Kinglake
R Hall Thornton Eildon
B Gallichio Kinglake
R Van Hoorn Upwey Tecoma
V Dunstan Monbulk
T Hedge Upwey Tecoma
T Wragg Monbulk
C Hayes Upwey Tecoma
B Hicken Monbulk
S Dawson Upwey Tecoma
D Cleven Monbulk
S Mitchell Upwey Tecoma
R Comfort Monbulk
D King Wandin
J Dalton Mt Evelyn
P Grayling Wandin
C Buckland Mt Evelyn
A Bonsak Wandin
C Howarth Mt Evelyn
R Bonsak Wandin
S Tesoriero Mt Evelyn
D Spencer Woori Yallock
N Broomhall Olinda FC
D Ryan Woori Yallock
S Tregoning Olinda FC
M Bonuda Woori Yallock
T Millwood Olinda FC
Daniel Ryan Woori Yallock
D Noorda Olinda FC
P Sharpe Woori Yallock
R Cowan Powelltown
T Williamson Woori Yallock

LukeClarke
2 May 2008, 09:52
Not many names from second divy in there. The standard is clearly better in 1st div but I would have thought Dean Troyan and shane senior would have been worthy of an invite. Yarra Glen could have had a couple as well.

rip it up
2 May 2008, 10:16

The president of warby was dissapointed with the Mt Evelyn players coming back to the rooms after the game. There were plenty in the rooms but most had left before he made it over. Nothing was said about ben farugia.

dishlickers
2 May 2008, 10:31
Agree clarky! Very disappointing not to see more players from 2nd divi in the squad. Think the selectors are a little more division 1 influenced. No doubt that the majority of the squad should be made up of division 1 players, but there are a number of divi 2 players running around that would easily step up and be in the best for some divi 1 clubs. P Moat would be in the top 3 players in divi 2, and any other divi 2 player im sure would agree. Right clarky? Never got a look into interleague before.

Flying Higher37
2 May 2008, 11:36
I'd back Hollywood Gallichio to rip him a new one. I doubt digger would have come across anyone with as much natural talent as Hollywood .

look sorry lakers i did paraphrase and not write the info correctly, but saying that he hasn't played on anyone with the abilites is pretty much saying he's the best foward in the league. like i said last posti think the problem will be at the other end

So whattya know
2 May 2008, 14:16
The president of warby was dissapointed with the Mt Evelyn players coming back to the rooms after the game. There were plenty in the rooms but most had left before he made it over. Nothing was said about ben farugia.

I heard all Mt Evelyn players were in the warby rooms for 30-45 Minutes .
"BOZO" said what a shitful bunch Mt Evelyn are for not coming into the rooms .
Was that true ??
If i was heading to Warby in the coming years i wouldnt sign a contract .
Ben wont be cleared or released from his contract and he cant play at Warby due to family and work .
Has your situation ever changed ??????

LukeClarke
2 May 2008, 14:23
Agree clarky! Very disappointing not to see more players from 2nd divi in the squad. Think the selectors are a little more division 1 influenced. No doubt that the majority of the squad should be made up of division 1 players, but there are a number of divi 2 players running around that would easily step up and be in the best for some divi 1 clubs. P Moat would be in the top 3 players in divi 2, and any other divi 2 player im sure would agree. Right clarky? Never got a look into interleague before.

Yeah Moaty is a gun. Always steps up at the right time and a bit of a leader down at yarra glen form what ive seen...

pupsta
2 May 2008, 19:58
Yeah Moaty is a gun. Always steps up at the right time and a bit of a leader down at yarra glen form what ive seen...

Agree with you boys. deano and ss from seville and moater definately top 5-10 in div 2. they always put an emphasis on youth so youd think with all of junctions and emerald juniors comin up this year and playin well they should have been considered. also in my biased opinion a couple of more t/e players shoulda been invited.

NOCHANCE
2 May 2008, 21:27
Seems to me Warburton are being made out to be the bad guys in the Ben Farrugia saga. If Ben is willing to put out his hand for money to play football hes got to accept the consequences . He knew what he was signing and if payments were not being delivered he would have no hesitation in refering to his signed contract. Ive spoken to a few of the WMFC players after our game last week and none of them hold any grudges towards Ben they are all just dissapointed with his actions. As a Mt Ev supporter I would love to see Ben running around for us but I have to take Warbys side on this matter for a few reasons.

1-Ben hasnt moved house since the contract was signed

2-Ben hasnt changed job since signing of the contract

3-Ben hasnt been totally honest with his reasons for wanting to leave

4- You dont leave a club contract or not a week before the season.

auskickrules
2 May 2008, 21:45
Ben's work situation has changed since his agreeing to play football at warby in September last year. He is working longer hours and will be required to work on Saturdays were as he was not needed before. These changes have come about in the last month so in response to someone who thinks they know but obviously doen't his work has changed. You don't have to change jobs for work conditions to alter. He has also been totally honest with his reasons for needing to leave. However he is trying everything he can to solve this issue and is talking with Warby at present

NOCHANCE
2 May 2008, 22:16
Trust me I know the truth first it was some rubbish about Auskick then it became work. We heard there was an issue with coaches( HARDLY A REASON TO BE CLEARED A WEEK BEFORE THE SEASON) Ben should honour his contract whether its on paper or a handshake. You will get little sympathy from other teams or in fact Mt Ev as I was here when BEN told us hed never return.

goodgolly24
2 May 2008, 23:12
weak as p@## on behalf of the selectors not having anyone from seville atleast invited down to train. My guess is they've already got a side picked (barring injuries) and everyone else was invited just making up numbers.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

NOCHANCE
3 May 2008, 00:27
Anyone from WMFC got anything to add or are you all over it. Seems all your hard work over summer has gone to waste. By the way no KANE JONES in the interleague squad????

zaco
3 May 2008, 19:29
Went down to yarra glen today to come away with a 2 or 3 goal win. I think yarra glen will be in the finals mix after they get a few back from injury!! The ground was in great nick and that in its self is a credit to the club. Umpires today were ridiculous, i don't care what anyone says, that ump from yarra glen is incredibly bias and should be banned from umpiring, not one free kick went thorntons way from him today and he was just itching to give 50m away all day. Thanks to yarra glen for a good physical game could have gone either way, but its good we came away with the 4 points

GG Rides Again
3 May 2008, 19:35
Anyone from WMFC got anything to add or are you all over it. Seems all your hard work over summer has gone to waste. By the way no KANE JONES in the interleague squad????

Its becasue of the way he drops the ball when kicking. Most unusual techniqueI have seen. Can give it a good roost though. :D

Seriously he would be competing against Moorcroft and Haynes for a forward position and they would have him covered.

GG Rides Again
3 May 2008, 19:41
Trust me I know the truth first it was some rubbish about Auskick then it became work. We heard there was an issue with coaches( HARDLY A REASON TO BE CLEARED A WEEK BEFORE THE SEASON) Ben should honour his contract whether its on paper or a handshake. You will get little sympathy from other teams or in fact Mt Ev as I was here when BEN told us hed never return.

In the end if the player does not want to be at any club you are better off without them.
And in regards to your points, did Warby pay a sign on fee as I cant work out where the payments you are talking about would have come from as he hasnt played a game?

NOCHANCE
3 May 2008, 20:24
The term payment was meant once he started playing he would expect them to honour his contract.

pupsta
4 May 2008, 08:54
just touchin on what zaco said we beat Yarra Glen by about 3 goals. Their best player was number 20 in the orange. free kick count 36 to 15. inc. 3 50's and a 100m penalty. Les King from Yarra Glen was the umpire.
At the start of the game the main umpire informed me that the other umpire hadnt showed up and he started the game by himself. 5 minutes in les joined him. although i have to give him credit for doing it seeing as he had already done the U18's. His first free kick was a high tackle which was fine to yarra glen but then pulled the trigger quickly on a 50 for back chatting which gave YG their first goal. 30 seconds later it was kicked into our fwd line a bloke dropping into the hole took the mark where hally contested it late. it was a soft 50. following that the exact words from one of our players was (we would have been better off with the 1 umpire) with no swearing or malice which reulted in another 50 which gave them their second goal on the goal line. 1 minute later he gave another touchy free kick inn front of goal for their third.
Also Andy Goodwin got tackled hard but fair and retaliated by slapping the back of one of our players and when our player pushed him back he shoved him in the face. for that old les sent both of them off. our player got sent off for bshoving a bloke that slapped him in the back and face. another thing that led to more frustration for myself and my team.
I thought the other umpire was ok he seemed to be consistent both ways but les did his very best to get his side over the line.
In the end we won the game so there was no formal complaint from our club which i was dissapointed with.
I know cammo is strugglin for numbers with the umpires and some of them do a good job but id rather not play at all than have to put up with that.
If les walks out to umpire another one of our games we will be walking off the ground.

rosy3
4 May 2008, 10:02
I don't usually complain about the umpires but the #20 in the Yarra Glen/Boners game was so incompetent he bordered on cheating. Admittedly he was a last minute fill-in but he should never be able to umpire a game his team is involved in again. He let Andy Goodwin do half his work for him too, moving marks going over the mark etc.. (and #20 wasn't game to card Andy off a second time. ;) ) A very ordinary performance and simply not acceptable by the league. Even YG supporters were embarrassed by the biased decisions. I'm disappointed Thornton/Eildon club won't be lodging a complaint. It sounds more credible after a win when sour grapes can't be questioned.

I intend to e-mail Peter Cameron and I'm aware the matter will be raised at an umpiring clinic this week too.

Anyway it was an enjoyable, if infuriating, game to watch. I thought our coach being on the sidelines, although a massive loss out on the ground, might have been a benefit in some ways. It took some clever coaching moves to come away with the points. Yarra Glen play their round ground well, and avoid the dead pockets like the plague.

It was a massive effort for the Boners to come away with the 4 points yesterday.:thumbsu:

NOCHANCE
4 May 2008, 13:10
Any idea when we will know the offical result of our reserves game v Gembrook?

dishlickers
4 May 2008, 16:16
I too was at the yg v thornton game yesterday, just continuing the thread on the standard of umpiring in particular by the fill in umpire. I agree that an umpire affiliated with a club should not umpire his home games, but what were the umpires and clubs to do? :confused: You seriously can’t expect one umpire to umpire the whole match and expect him to be calling decisions from the half back flank while the ball is in play in the forward pocket and do a good quality job. I feel that the fill in umpire did an ok job considering he’s not a senior’s umpire and had already umpired the u/18’s on the same day, he was no worse than any other bad umpired games I’ve seen this year in 2nd division. The whole level of 2nd division umpiring this year has been well below average. I agree that the thornton player shouldn’t have been sent off with Goodwin, but other than that decision I thought everything was ok, not good but ok. At least the fill in umpire tried to take a bit of control of the match, which is a must when players start to get fired up. In the end the better team won and was always going to win regardless of the performance of one umpire!

rosy3
4 May 2008, 17:24
I'm sure we all understand the fill-in situation, and appreciate that someone has to be out there, but that doesn't mean the effort shouldn't be questioned. Thankfully the other umpires are well aware of certain incidents, inconsistencies and lack of action in the game and hopefully the matter will be addressed from within.

Anyway that's all water under the bridge now and I'm really looking forward to the big derby against Alex next week.

A couple of Boners put their hands up in the ressies yesterday and will be a welcome return if selected. Here's hoping a couple of injured players come up and there's a full list to select from.

Go Boners!

THEOX
5 May 2008, 13:51
YVMDFL Senior Interleague Squad Announced - www.yvmdfl.com.au

YVMDFL Interleague is playing at St Arnaud on the weekend of May 31 against a combined North Central / Mallee team.

The first training session is scheduled for Wednesday May 7th at Upwey Tecoma's Football Ground at 6.30pm.

Training dates will follow at the same time & venue on 14th & 21st May. Further training dates will be advised in due course.

Players unavailable to attend training must contact the coach, Mark Sandilands on 0400 331 013 or Stephen Walter on 59615611.

The following players have been invited:-

N Oakley Alexandra
R Newell Silvan
J Adams Woori Yallock
T Mc Kinley Alexandra
M Bullen Silvan
D Hyndman Woori Yallock
L Heard Alexandra
B Haynes Silvan
R Allen Woori Yallock
A Oakley Alexandra
D Bissells Silvan
M Riseley Woori Yallock
C Clarke Gembrook Cockatoo
G Moorcroft Silvan
A Shipp Gembrook Cockatoo
K Dale Silvan
L Barclay Healesville
C Goodlet Silvan
D Plozza Healesville
A Preston Silvan
J Conrau Healesville
D Carswell Silvan
S Turner Healesville
S Coen Silvan
R Carruthers Healesville
B Coller Thornton Eildon
L Knott Kinglake
R Hall Thornton Eildon
B Gallichio Kinglake
R Van Hoorn Upwey Tecoma
V Dunstan Monbulk
T Hedge Upwey Tecoma
T Wragg Monbulk
C Hayes Upwey Tecoma
B Hicken Monbulk
S Dawson Upwey Tecoma
D Cleven Monbulk
S Mitchell Upwey Tecoma
R Comfort Monbulk
D King Wandin
J Dalton Mt Evelyn
P Grayling Wandin
C Buckland Mt Evelyn
A Bonsak Wandin
C Howarth Mt Evelyn
R Bonsak Wandin
S Tesoriero Mt Evelyn
D Spencer Woori Yallock
N Broomhall Olinda FC
D Ryan Woori Yallock
S Tregoning Olinda FC
M Bonuda Woori Yallock
T Millwood Olinda FC
Daniel Ryan Woori Yallock
D Noorda Olinda FC
P Sharpe Woori Yallock
R Cowan Powelltown
T Williamson Woori Yallock

So this digger guy cant even make the training squad?:o

rosy3
5 May 2008, 14:37
Digger doesn't need to have his tyres pumped up on an interent forum. He'd be happy to be recognised as one player who gives his all for the Boners "team" week in week out, same as everyone else who's selected. There are 5 other backmen who contribute each week in making the Boners the #1 defense so far this year. Good luck to the bloke you build up to be bigger than Ben Hur, it seems his dominance is important to you OX, but remember it takes a consistant overall "team" effort throughout an entire season to win a premiership. ;)

drago from ussr
5 May 2008, 14:52
i think alot of good players didnt make the squad from Div 2
Seville SS and Troyan
Yarra Glen - Selgrig Made the Team of the year last year but didnt make an invite to train, also ben benson and moate
Thornton - Daniel creed, Brett andrews and Phillip Fisher and if were goin of form from this year which they must have to pick the king lake players then mark Hardy as well
Yea also had a good player in the midfield when we played them no 6.
Stow and jacob meyer from belgrave also stiff..

I realize the team is gonna be mainly div 1 players and should be ... but these players all deserve a look in at training i think anyway..

On the Yarra glen game .. As i was playing i thought the spirit of the game was great it was intense hard fought match which is the sort of spirit that makes you enjoy footy.... Thats why an umpire took things too far its fine to umpire one way but be consistent both ways .. we received 2 100m penalties cause of swearing and yarra glen did the same thing after a free kick on 3 occasions i was involved in and no 50 was paid.. You no the umpiring is biased when the guy your playing on turns to you and says this is getting a bit stupid... although the 2nd half was an improvement a few incidents nearly took hold of the game. The 50s for one .. and the sending off of one of our players for being slapped was a bit ridiculous .. If the umpire was a fill in i think he should be doing a fill in role whats to stop a central umpire taking control instead of takin a back seat to the fill in. On the otherside at least he had a go sort of.
and looking foward to playin them again at boner park wwhen they have a few players back

rosy3
5 May 2008, 15:10
I'm trying to think of Boners who barrack for Essendon. You're not Wangers are you drago? :confused:

drago from ussr
5 May 2008, 17:00
no rosy jb

LukeClarke
5 May 2008, 17:07
Digger doesn't need to have his tyres pumped up on an interent forum. He'd be happy to be recognised as one player who gives his all for the Boners "team" week in week out, same as everyone else who's selected. There are 5 other backmen who contribute each week in making the Boners the #1 defense so far this year. Good luck to the bloke you build up to be bigger than Ben Hur, it seems his dominance is important to you OX, but remember it takes a consistant overall "team" effort throughout an entire season to win a premiership. ;)

Big forwards with a bit of talent always kick bags in second divy (im assuming this Kinglake bloke has a bit of size about him?)... Every few years a bloke kicks a ton. Bomerang Davies from seville was the best full back ive seen playing local footy, but the reason hes used to keep the guns from kicking bags is because there were quality players probably worth a couple of hundred bucks a game playin in the back pocket chopping him out every time the ball came down the backline. Given the depth of our divy, if a side does have a player good enough to match a bloke that can kick 10 or 15 on a good day, it would hurt your scoring chances to much having him at full back. You would be better off working out how to stop the supply to him. Im confident we have a bloke that could give him a bath but i doubt we would go into a game with such a defensive frame of mind.

To be honest I dont really care. Im just filling in time at work.

dishlickers
5 May 2008, 17:09
good point drago - how can dean selkgrig make the team of the year in 07 but fail to make the interleague squad this year :confused:. he's averaging 5 goals a game!

another bag of 5 last saturday playing on the all mighty full back DIGGER!!! :D

NOCHANCE
5 May 2008, 17:13
Its easier to stand out in Second Div from what Ive seen. Lot of reserve footballers from Div 1 go to Second divy teams often for money and dominate. Hardly fair to compare the quality of a player when theres such a massive jump in standards between the two divisions.

NOCHANCE
5 May 2008, 17:18
good point drago - how can dean selkgrig make the team of the year in 07 but fail to make the interleague squad this year :confused:. he's averaging 5 goals a game!

another bag of 5 last saturday playing on the all mighty full back DIGGER!!! :D

Really its a joke he was in the team of the year at all. Blokes that kick 40+ in Div 1 playing on quality backs miss out.

dishlickers
5 May 2008, 17:35
whether you think its a joke or not NOCHANCE, my point is how can you make the team of the year, then 4 games into the next season not even make a squad of 40 or so players for an interleague try out. completely defies logic! it's not as if his form has dramatically dropped this season. just a mistake by the league!

NOCHANCE
5 May 2008, 17:52
Its because youll find the team of the year is picked as popularity type thing to keep everyone happy while the interleague they pick players who will perform against quality oppisition.

dishlickers
5 May 2008, 18:09
yeah sure it is! just as the all australian team is picked as a popularity contest!
how and who determines whether or not a player is popular:confused:

ateamm
5 May 2008, 18:33
It doesnt make sense. How can a runner up league best and fairest form the year before not get a look in? like said before last years efforts must come into consideration when you are trying to pick a squad after 4 rounds

Valley Spy
5 May 2008, 18:36
Team of the year is picked by the radio commentators (Fooey and the other muppets). Ben Haynes kicked 100 last year and didnt make the team. :confused:

NOCHANCE
5 May 2008, 20:47
Team of the year is picked by the radio commentators (Fooey and the other muppets). Ben Haynes kicked 100 last year and didnt make the team. :confused:

Thank you enough said move on. No actually theres one more go back to the year 2000 and look in the back pocket of the team of the year.

dishlickers
5 May 2008, 21:08
NOCHANCE i think you'll find that Valley Spy is also saying that players picked in the team of the year deserve a look into interleague!

deano6
5 May 2008, 21:47
i may be naive nochance, but i dont know of one divy 1 reserves footballer dominating divy 2! please enlighten me