View Full Version : Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum
Pages :
[
5]
Valley Spy
5 May 2008, 21:47
NOCHANCE i think you'll find that Valley Spy is also saying that players picked in the team of the year deserve a look into interleague!
No I reckon the team of the year is not worth the paper its written on. The B&F winner from the Div. 1 premiership side didnt get in as well as a 100 goal kicker who spent half his time playing on ball. Im pretty sure both played in last years interleague side. But I agree that the training squad named has some strange inclusions such as a player who played reserves Round 1 (may have been a reason, dunno) and another who was not a regular senior player last season.
.Given the depth of our divy, if a side does have a player good enough to match a bloke that can kick 10 or 15 on a good day, it would hurt your scoring chances to much having him at full back. You would be better off working out how to stop the supply to him. Im confident we have a bloke that could give him a bath but i doubt we would go into a game with such a defensive frame of mind.
I don't think anyone could accuse the Boners of a defensive mindset. They're second with a bullet offensively at this stage, and their record in recent years indicates they win games with positive play rather than shutting the opposition down.
I don't agree that using a good player at full back necessarily hurts your scoring chances. A good team has depth and versatility and a good coach makes the moves that benefit the team overall.
Minnesota Wisdom
5 May 2008, 22:52
Disappointing to see no Belgrave boys there, but as mentioned earlier, there is a massive gap between 1st and 2nd Division. Would have been nice to see one or two of our young kids there for the experience.
YGTHUNDER
5 May 2008, 22:57
Pupsta, Les is not the gr8tst umpire going round but he did fill in when asked so the game could be played. All the 50mts you underlined were 50s by the book, back chat expect 50, come in late after a mark or tackle when you are not in the contest expect 50, be silly enough to back chat again 2 the same umpire 5 mins l8tr definetly expect a 50 to be paid. 50/50 frees are awarded in every league in every game every year so to pick 1 out in a game is a bit ruff. Goody did have a scuffle with a Boners player and both were sent off at the same time for the same offence. Thornton deserved their win but l think the Thunder did a very good job with half a side and not just because you believe Les was trying to get us over the line
On the Team of the year Selkrig was in because he kicked a bag against who ever the Thunder were playing last year and the radio commentators happened to be there. Silky is a very good forward who kicks a bag every week but the format for the Team is laughable just like the Mark of the year or the goal of the year.
dishlickers
6 May 2008, 07:57
just wondering what our leagues division 1 and 2 is in standards compared to the EFL divisions.
i would have thought divi 1 yvmdfl would be the same as efl divi 3 and maybe some bottom half divi 2 clubs. divi 2 yvmdfl the same as average sides in efl divi 4.
having an argument with efl friends who were convinced their division 4 team would flog any of our teams in divi 1 and 2.
any thoughts...
NOCHANCE
6 May 2008, 08:35
i may be naive nochance, but i dont know of one divy 1 reserves footballer dominating divy 2! please enlighten me
Tess has come back from YJ as there best defender only to play twos with us. Powelly made finals raiding Warbys twos.
LukeClarke
6 May 2008, 10:37
Tess has come back from YJ as there best defender only to play twos with us. Powelly made finals raiding Warbys twos.
Powelly made finals cause they had blokes like de graff, dean, merrin and a few others. Im tipping they wernt warby 2s players.
Its a big call to say that there are divy 1 players dominating second divy because i havent seen any this year.
There are players in second divy that didnt get a gig in the interleage squad that are better a lot better than some of the blokes in first divvy that did.
rip it up
6 May 2008, 11:34
The difference between divvy 1 and 2 are huge, take 2006 for example Warby went through unbeaten then last year struggled in divvy 1.
dishlickers
6 May 2008, 11:44
warby gained 3/4 of the powelly footy club when it went back down along with other good players, then they went back up and lost a heap. having spoke to the players in 06 when they won the flag they were saying they were a much much better side than the year before in 05.
but yeah the difference is huge between a good divi 1 side and an average divi 2's side.
bit i reckon the top 2 or 3 sides in divi 2 can could mix it with the bottom 4 or 5 in divi 1.
PlayingHurt
6 May 2008, 12:32
having an argument with efl friends who were convinced their division 4 team would flog any of our teams in divi 1 and 2.
any thoughts...
You can tell your friends they are living in fantasy land. The standard of EFL divy 4 is terrible. There is absolutely no chance any divy 4 side would get within 10 goals of the top 6 in our Divy 1. Hard to believe they are actually serious.
PlayingHurt
6 May 2008, 12:33
Actually, make it 20 goals.
LukeClarke
6 May 2008, 13:32
I have heard divy 4 efl isnt great.
The best 2 teams in YV first divy would probably win 3rd divy EFL.
Given Silvan won last year and on there form this year you would have to say they are the benchmark of the yarra valley... I think they would sit close to the top in second divy EFL.
GG Rides Again
6 May 2008, 14:48
I have heard divy 4 efl isnt great.
The best 2 teams in YV first divy would probably win 3rd divy EFL.
Given Silvan won last year and on there form this year you would have to say they are the benchmark of the yarra valley... I think they would sit close to the top in second divy EFL.
Having seen both last year, I think Silvan would be close to a middle of the road team in Div 2 EFL. They would beat Nth Ringwood and Doncaster ( saw them both last year ) but would nt get near Mulgrave( this year) I dont think. I think Mulgrave will be top of Div 2 and Nth Ringwood nearly relegated this year. I think the rest of the teams would be solid Div 3 teams at the top end. Mt Evelyn was Div 3 team EFL how many years ago ( guess 5/6- time does get away) and I dont think EFL has improved lower grades hugely over the last few years.
Sth Belgrave are in Div 4 EFL from Div 2 YV. How are they going as I havent been watching?
drago from ussr
6 May 2008, 16:07
i have mates at chirnside division 4 scoresby division 1 and ringwood division 2 and i would think that
Silvan - Div 2 EFL Finals
Healsvilles monbulks also div 2 but down bottom to top of divy 3
thornton played div 4 side ferntree gully and the seniors who were very short playes 3 quaters and won by 5 - 6 goals so maybe bottom to mid divvy 3 and top 4 of division 4
dishlickers
6 May 2008, 16:32
Sth Belgrave have won 1 and lost 3 and haven't played the top 4 sides yet. they have lost a few games by around 10 goals.
last year i think they finished 2nd or 3rd last in yvmdfl, with only winning 3 or 4 games for the year.
NOCHANCE
6 May 2008, 17:51
The argument of the differance between First and Second Div has been a long and never ending one. After watching both and talking to players who have played both the differance is incredible. So many players have earned reputations in Div 2 that would not stack up in the higher Div. The fact that Muttachelli kicked 170 goals in 16 games is proof enough of the differance. The bottom four sides in First Div would be the top 4 in Second without a doubt.
I dont agree. i watched olinda and my former team gembrook play last year and we would have beaten both by ten goals also with warby loosing heaps from the 06 GF side and us picking up heaps we would have accounted for them and probably mt ev and wandin. That would have left us in the finals mix. People also comment on how bad belgrave were in div 1 then played in gf in div 2 but they picked up about 12 senior players when they dropped back. a bit like warby in 06.
i dont think the overall difference is huge, i just think the bottom 4 of div 2 is a very long way off the top 4 of div 1. of course us, alex and yarra glen would struggle against silvan, upwey etc but we would be competetive. in my opinion is the div 1 teams bottom 5 players in their starting 21 are a lot better than div 2 teams but if we were to go up we would have to recruit 3-4 good players to be in that catergory.
what about the best div 1 team plays the best div 2 team to see what kind of difference there really is.
here is the best 21 from div 2 in my opinion. if someone could post the best div 1 team to compare.
B: L.Aitkins (sev) D.Creed (t/e) B.Musgrove (t/e)
HB:B.Andrews (t/e) L.Nott (King) A.Oakley (alex)
C:C.Leatham (yea) P.Moate (y/g) J.Gates (y/j)
HF: B.Gallicho (King) D.Troyhan (sev) S.Senior (sev)
F: D.Selkrig (y/g) R.Hall (t/e) J.Meyer (Bel)
R: T.Simmonds (y/g) P.Fisher (t/e) N.Oakley (alex)
INT: L.Heard (alex) J.Hin (y/j) L.McCombe (Em)
rip it up
6 May 2008, 22:44
My Div. 1 team
FB: Spencer (WY) Newell (sil) Coen (Sil)
HB: Bullen (sil) Barclay (Heals) Haworth (MtE)
C: Van Hoorn (U/T) Dunston (Mon) Haynes (Sil)
HF: Wragg (Mon) Grayling (Wan) Allen (WY)
FF:Mitchell (U/T) Buckland (MtE) Moorcroft (Sil)
R: Clarke (Gem) Sharpe (WY) Hayes (U/T)
INT: Bonsak (Wan) Hedge (U/T) McKail (WM)
Very very hard to do there are some very good quality players
Tigersman
7 May 2008, 01:38
south belgraves side this year is considerably different to the sth side that played in yvmdfl last year.
I think that souths side this year would have made finals in div 2 yvmdfl but would not have won it.
In div 4 efl south is a long way off the top 4 sides going by recent results.
I think the top efl div 4 teams would sit in the middle to lower end of the Div 1 yvmdfl ladder.
every team in div 4 efl would be very competitive in the yvmdfl second div.
Div 2 efl is an extremely high level of football and a very even comp. Only the top yvmdfl teams would even get close to it. most would be a long long way off.
NOCHANCE
7 May 2008, 08:53
I dont agree. i watched olinda and my former team gembrook play last year and we would have beaten both by ten goals also with warby loosing heaps from the 06 GF side and us picking up heaps we would have accounted for them and probably mt ev and wandin. That would have left us in the finals mix. People also comment on how bad belgrave were in div 1 then played in gf in div 2 but they picked up about 12 senior players when they dropped back. a bit like warby in 06.
i dont think the overall difference is huge, i just think the bottom 4 of div 2 is a very long way off the top 4 of div 1. of course us, alex and yarra glen would struggle against silvan, upwey etc but we would be competetive. in my opinion is the div 1 teams bottom 5 players in their starting 21 are a lot better than div 2 teams but if we were to go up we would have to recruit 3-4 good players to be in that catergory.
what about the best div 1 team plays the best div 2 team to see what kind of difference there really is.
here is the best 21 from div 2 in my opinion. if someone could post the best div 1 team to compare.
B: L.Aitkins (sev) D.Creed (t/e) B.Musgrove (t/e)
HB:B.Andrews (t/e) L.Nott (King) A.Oakley (alex)
C:C.Leatham (yea) P.Moate (y/g) J.Gates (y/j)
HF: B.Gallicho (King) D.Troyhan (sev) S.Senior (sev)
F: D.Selkrig (y/g) R.Hall (t/e) J.Meyer (Bel)
R: T.Simmonds (y/g) P.Fisher (t/e) N.Oakley (alex)
INT: L.Heard (alex) J.Hin (y/j) L.McCombe (Em)
The thing is if you watched Olinda or Gembrook play Yarra Glen or Alex or opinion would be far greater of them. To often players in Div 2 look far better because there playing against less oppisition.
You refer to Warby side of 06 all they gained was JD,Iaconi and Hamill after they were relegated hardly a massive differance. That team you posted by the way wouldnt get with in ten goals.
localfootyguru
7 May 2008, 09:33
Like has been mentioned, it is difficult to make comparisons between the EFL and our league. The footy in the YVMDFL is far more physical and more man on man contests where as the EFL is a more open running game. Mayne so called star EFL players have struggled to come to grips with the YVMDFL standard where as our players when they head to the EFL appear to be far more adaptable.
Interesting to note the number of ex YVMDFL players that have made their mark in the EFL over the past years in the top divisions, that probably indicates the quality of the players that play in our competition.
My opinion is the majority of our division one teams would hold there own in the EFL second division. Our second division teams would be compared to the EFL third and fourth division teams.
localfootyguru
7 May 2008, 09:35
Pup,
Perhaps you can let us know on the return of Phil Fisher from Dromana? Played the first game for them this year and killed them then all of a sudden he returns to the Boners - what was the story there?
Good pick up for you guys getting him back. Surely he isn't living on the Mornington Peninsula and travelling back to play with you guys.
localfootyguru
7 May 2008, 09:38
Interesting to read the comments re. umpiring. It wasnt that long ago that our umpiring was the envy of all other leagues - what went wrong there?
I even remember us having three umpires in our home and away games and no club umpires being used at all.
From my observations there seems to be a loss of many good umpires that were around a few years ago. Perhaps someone can fill us forum readers in.
Like has been mentioned, it is difficult to make comparisons between the EFL and our league. The footy in the YVMDFL is far more physical and more man on man contests where as the EFL is a more open running game. Mayne so called star EFL players have struggled to come to grips with the YVMDFL standard where as our players when they head to the EFL appear to be far more adaptable.
Interesting to note the number of ex YVMDFL players that have made their mark in the EFL over the past years in the top divisions, that probably indicates the quality of the players that play in our competition.
My opinion is the majority of our division one teams would hold there own in the EFL second division. Our second division teams would be compared to the EFL third and fourth division teams.
Agree with you there local. appsy and Bakens at knox in div 1 are prime example. both of them good players in div 1 team. Daniel Porter was a decent player at Emerald and is one of the best in the 2's at lilydale. John Mackay, Cailin Porter and the kenny brothers are two others that have done well there from emerald. Adam Macdonald who is a middle of the road player at alex played at ff in scoresby's div 2 premiership 2 years ago. james quilty, patty spendlove and daniel brodie from seville are all good players at mitcham this year. the list goes on.
agree that our div 1 sides would compete in div 2 with probably silvan in 1st div and top half of div 2 yv would be in div 3.
Pup,
Perhaps you can let us know on the return of Phil Fisher from Dromana? Played the first game for them this year and killed them then all of a sudden he returns to the Boners - what was the story there?
Good pick up for you guys getting him back. Surely he isn't living on the Mornington Peninsula and travelling back to play with you guys.
yeh mate fish is back with us. he wasnt enjoying it down there and missed the boys he played in a flag with last year. his best mates are kb and big bernie who are still with us too.
yeh he is living in rosebud but is training this week with us at thornton. he will probably only train with us every couple of weeks but is super fit. sometimes he will get to my place in berwick and come up with me.
He was great on the weekend in his first game back.
localfootyguru
7 May 2008, 11:10
Agree with you there local. appsy and Bakens at knox in div 1 are prime example. both of them good players in div 1 team. Daniel Porter was a decent player at Emerald and is one of the best in the 2's at lilydale. John Mackay, Cailin Porter and the kenny brothers are two others that have done well there from emerald. Adam Macdonald who is a middle of the road player at alex played at ff in scoresby's div 2 premiership 2 years ago. james quilty, patty spendlove and daniel brodie from seville are all good players at mitcham this year. the list goes on.
agree that our div 1 sides would compete in div 2 with probably silvan in 1st div and top half of div 2 yv would be in div 3.
More Names;
How about Condor and Burley (ex South Belgrave), Millwood (Olinda FC) and Braden (Yarra Glen) at Lilydale, Paul Ferguson (Belgrave) and Josh Kamoen (U/T) at E.Ringwood and Adam Gee (Monbulk) at Mulgrave. Also Bainbridge (Belgrave) at Scoresby.
The list rolls on....
yeh mate fish is back with us. he wasnt enjoying it down there and missed the boys he played in a flag with last year. his best mates are kb and big bernie who are still with us too.
yeh he is living in rosebud but is training this week with us at thornton. he will probably only train with us every couple of weeks but is super fit. sometimes he will get to my place in berwick and come up with me.
He was great on the weekend in his first game back.
Been a good footballer Fish, and a nice fella to go with it :thumbsu: On an earlier topic, it's got me f**ked though why Brad Coller isn't in that Div.2 best 22 :eek: One of the better footballers I saw in the 3-4 years I was involved at Yea
hes too fat and slow and old doona.
the only reason i can think of doona is that he cant kick the ball far enough.
Moin Khan
8 May 2008, 16:17
Interesting to read the comments re. umpiring. It wasnt that long ago that our umpiring was the envy of all other leagues - what went wrong there?
I even remember us having three umpires in our home and away games and no club umpires being used at all.
From my observations there seems to be a loss of many good umpires that were around a few years ago. Perhaps someone can fill us forum readers in.
I'm not allowed to say much but his initials could start with Will Eastmure.......
Monniehawk
8 May 2008, 16:40
What needs to be remembered is that not all the best players are in Div 1. There are just a few more of them than in Div 2, which is why their clubs are there. To speculate that any Div 1 player is better than a Div 2 is nonsense. It is entirely reasonable to say that many of the leagues top thirty players could be from 2nd Div sides and I could even hazard a guess that it would be about a third. This will rarely be reflected in Interleague selection.
My guess about why 2nd Div players are less in favour at Interleague level revolves around a (pretty fair) assumption that they may not adapt as readily to the higher pressure. So where there are players of similar standard, the nod would probably go to the higher division player. Right or wrong, I think this is in the back of the minds of selectors.
the only reason i can think of doona is that he cant kick the ball far enough.
nice gatesy
localfootyguru
9 May 2008, 09:10
I'm not allowed to say much but his initials could start with Will Eastmure.......
Hey Moin,
Good to see you back albeit briefly. Perhaps you could expand on those comments.
Just remember how the league a few years ago had some really good umpires and none of them appear to be around anymore. Always enjoyed going along to the game knowing generally that umpiring was never going to be an issue.
Nowdays sometimes its like a lottery!!!
Thought id put my 2 bob in... interesting to see the interleague selections.Thought id put my team in based on players only invited and those players i have seen and played against ( not sure bout new blokes in league so sorry in advance)
R Newell (sil) L Barkley (hville) C Haworth (Mtev)
D King (wan) P Graylin (wan) D Ryan (worri)
M Bullen (sil) B Haynes (sil) T Williamson (worri)
C Hayes (UT) T Wragg (mon) R Hall (TE)
T Hedge (UT) J Conru (hville) G Moorcroft (sil)
foll
C Clarke (gee)
A shipp (gee)
P Sharpe (worri)
interchange (extended) C Buckland (mt eve) K Dale (sil) A Bonsak (wan) D Bissles (Sil) V Dunstan (mon) C Goodlet (sil) D Selrig (YG)
Thought patty Glassborrow (sil), D Troyan (Sev) L Smith (TE)-if still playing???, stiff not to get invited
Also with the comparison between YV-EFL.Having played YV 1st & 2nd divi and also 3rd divi EFL and now this year 4th. id say top 3 teams in Efl 4th would come round 4-5 in YV 1st divi,but wouldnt really compete with top 2 ( Sil,Worri).. Top 3 in EFL 4th divi would beat all teams in YV 2nd divi.Top 2 teams in YV could compete in EFL second divi and Sil,worri would be contenders (finals prob anyway).
Also in YV players in EFL... WADE PORTER (east ring) from (em) or (bel) would be in top 3 players in EFL 1st divi a absolute gun!!! DANIEL SHEERS (east ring) from (em) or (bel) one top 2 backman in EFL 1st divi and has been for years. also EFL 1st divi premiship captain... Grant brothers from wandin are top players at Croydon....MATT PRICE (clodstream) was originaly from hville, has won 3 EFL league best & fairest and countless club b&fs,still only about 26-27 years old
Well i finally made it back, the H bloods No1 supporter is back.
What a game at the cattery last week, with the ginger ninja trying to take mark of the century again and little benny boy haynes still skirting round the sides of the pack picking up scraps.
The KIDS, and it was a team of kids, from H town really showed some spirit.
There is hope for finals
GO THE BLOODS!!!!!
It was a great local derby today and a ripper win to the Boners. A wonderful team effort but special mention to the backmen who were outstanding all day. I was surprised to read so many tipped Alex...can't fathom the reason for that. All things being even you'd think home ground advantage would tip the scales.
Must say, considering I mentioned it last week, very well umpired today. Consistant both ways. Far less frustrating for the supporters and I'd imagine for the players too.
Loved the review after the game too. Funny stuff and topped off a great day.
Onya Boners. :)
NOCHANCE
11 May 2008, 09:09
after seein what alex served up today, i hope people realise the difference between thornton and the rest. Not to mention the well below par game that 2 times neil oakley served up. To be a good player neil, one must b able to play against physical opponents and not shy away from the contests like you do every time u play thornton. Grow some balls, put your head over the ball and you might gain some respect from your hardest markers. Or you can continue to b a flat track bully and live on your exploits against lesser teams. People are judged against adversity. All in all, alex were under prepaired, lacked balls, poor skills and direction. Thornton did wat had to be done without doing a great deal
What a joke you are Cakehole could you make it anymore personal. The last game I saw the Boners play they were being bent over by Vin and the boys from Warby no wonder you remain hiddeen in Div 2
NOCHANCE
11 May 2008, 09:13
after seein what alex served up today, i hope people realise the difference between thornton and the rest. Not to mention the well below par game that 2 times neil oakley served up. To be a good player neil, one must b able to play against physical opponents and not shy away from the contests like you do every time u play thornton. Grow some balls, put your head over the ball and you might gain some respect from your hardest markers. Or you can continue to b a flat track bully and live on your exploits against lesser teams. People are judged against adversity. All in all, alex were under prepaired, lacked balls, poor skills and direction. Thornton did wat had to be done without doing a great deal
Massive call from a Boners supporter there Cakehole! Considering the Boners took the soft option and chose to remain in the shelter of Div 2. Belting the likes of Powelly and so on is hardly a great show of physical football. :thumbsd:
GG Rides Again
11 May 2008, 22:54
Thats one thing that I have never really understood in regards to Yarra Valley. Why do the league give the winning premiership team about a month to decide if they want to be promoted? If you have the team to win a premiership in Div 2 why wouldnt you try against Div 1? I know everyone will say travel as its already got a run but not a great arguement.
I think moving forward if you win the Div 2 grand final you are up, as you are down if wooden spoon for Div 1. If you are likely to win Div 2 and lets face it only a few clubs can this year, you should start working towards structuring the club to come up. Vice Versa for releagted teams who no doubt have to factor in losing players who dont want to go down to Div2.
drago from ussr
12 May 2008, 10:30
If thornton had of gone up this year the club would have folded... playing against alex and yea keeps people at the club and numbers are bad enough as it is ... although the seniors are winning the twos and 18s are struggling to find numbers every week and is only worse wen injuries play a part... guys that have been travelling up over the hill for so long are finding it hard to get motivated.. if pup wasnt coaching i think the club would come close to folding... that being said though the senior bunch is really tight and all get along ..and thats the reason they get results even if it is in div 2,,, i personally think the seniors would like a chance at playing against the better sides but not at the expense of playing with half a reseves side in the seniors and folding the reserves....
let alone the costs
Thats one thing that I have never really understood in regards to Yarra Valley. Why do the league give the winning premiership team about a month to decide if they want to be promoted? If you have the team to win a premiership in Div 2 why wouldnt you try against Div 1? I know everyone will say travel as its already got a run but not a great arguement.
I think moving forward if you win the Div 2 grand final you are up, as you are down if wooden spoon for Div 1. If you are likely to win Div 2 and lets face it only a few clubs can this year, you should start working towards structuring the club to come up. Vice Versa for releagted teams who no doubt have to factor in losing players who dont want to go down to Div2.
The main reason we stayed down was because yea and kinglake came in. With our gf side and a bit of recruiting we would have been very competetive in div 1. But loosing lucas smith overseas and phil fisher (probably our 2 best players) while we were deciding i think we made the right decision.
also exactly what you said about working to structure the club for div 1 is what we are doing this year. we have a stronger committee and workin financially to be in a good spot to move up. we will need to recruit which let me tell you is a hell of a lot harder for us than teams in the valley thornton has a population of about 250 and with with a lot of locals moving to melbourne for work or schooling it is very hard. think about the teams that dont want to play against us because they have to do 2 trips up this way a year let alone a melbourne based player that wants to train and play here evry second week. we dont want to move up and end up in the bottom 2 or 3 so we are establishing ourselves this year and hopefully we make the move next year.
On the alex game. it was a pretty tough game but probably only won by thornton in the second quarter.
Also want to thank Ernie Dingo, one of our past players that did a speech before the game for the seniors and also for the supporters in the social rooms after the game. It was good to see him at his first game for a while and he said he really enjoyed it and will attend a few more this year.
Ernie played 3 seasons with us in 81, 82, and 83 including the runner up grand final side in 81 against Emerald.
auskickrules
12 May 2008, 13:57
Anyone have news on Sean Ellis from that weekend? Took a fall in the game and was taken by ambulance. Hope he okay.
GG Rides Again
12 May 2008, 16:01
Anyone have news on Sean Ellis from that weekend? Took a fall in the game and was taken by ambulance. Hope he okay.
Dislocated or broken hip (can you break a hip?) was the early prognosis. Not good either way.
NOCHANCE
12 May 2008, 16:08
Terrible didnt see what happened but doesnt sound good. Also heard Steve Cole broke his leg filling in for Warbys twos at the last minute. Spoke to him a few weeks ago was only playing vets, very bad luck.:thumbsd:
GG Rides Again
12 May 2008, 16:09
[quote=pupsta;10987730]The main reason we stayed down was because yea and kinglake came in. With our gf side and a bit of recruiting we would have been very competetive in div 1. But loosing lucas smith overseas and phil fisher (probably our 2 best players) while we were deciding i think we made the right decision.
I think the above is a non arguement as "would have been very competitive in Div 1" is a guess without any games played against better opposition. I could counter your arguement by saying you wouldnt win a game but its also a non arguement as cant be proven. Good to see that your looking towards to the future as if you have a good team the only way to probably keep the non locals if you were to win again would be to give a greater challenge. Kudos to the club & commmittee if they are working towards Div 1 footy.
In regards to recruiting I think its hard wherever you are. As hard as it is to get players to commit to travelling, in town there are alot more sides and someone always has more dollars than you can afford for that player that you know would just make the team better.
What are the thoughts of Yea joining div. 2? It is great to see Thronton, Alex and Yea all in the same league once again and will hopefully draw large crowds for all teams.
Sitting at 2-3 at the moment, how do you boys believe the Yea Season will be this year based on early form and the teams played against? (this includes losses to kinglake, thornton and yarra glen with wins against belgrave and yarra junction)
Any comment would be much appreciated. :thumbsu:
What are the thoughts of Yea joining div. 2? It is great to see Thronton, Alex and Yea all in the same league once again and will hopefully draw large crowds for all teams.
Sitting at 2-3 at the moment, how do you boys believe the Yea Season will be this year based on early form and the teams played against? (this includes losses to kinglake, thornton and yarra glen with wins against belgrave and yarra junction)
Any comment would be much appreciated. :thumbsu:
news wasnt good out of tigerland at the start of the year but after playing them and them getting a couple w's on the board i dont think they are that far off the pace. possible finals contender.
NOCHANCE
19 May 2008, 09:17
Sad to see Ben Farrugia still not playing footy anywhere. Surely a decision is close so he can get out on the field.:(
You must be the only one who's sad, not much love from anyone else throughout the Valley and hills.
Its annoying that Stevey Cole has had to put his hand up yet again to help out. Not sure if breaking a leg puts him off work or not, either way, where are the next generation of blokes coming through to play footy ?
All the best Steve, hope that heals well and you can enjoy your life again !
auskickrules
21 May 2008, 14:53
You must be the only one who's sad, not much love from anyone else throughout the Valley and hills.
Its annoying that Stevey Cole has had to put his hand up yet again to help out. Not sure if breaking a leg puts him off work or not, either way, where are the next generation of blokes coming through to play footy ?
All the best Steve, hope that heals well and you can enjoy your life again !
The prior to the weekend just been the previous two weeks Ben put his hand up to play in the two one week and the seniors at Warby the next week but was told no thanks. So maybe Tim Scott you need to pull your head in!
NOCHANCE
21 May 2008, 17:27
The prior to the weekend just been the previous two weeks Ben put his hand up to play in the two one week and the seniors at Warby the next week but was told no thanks. So maybe Tim Scott you need to pull your head in!
Now thats a rumour thats not true! Heard he offererd to play twos a fortnight ago but never seniors. Warby would love to have him back the Senior captain even has called to ensure that hes most welcome. Warby obviously have more tolerance than what our club would. Mick and the boys have gone soft.
Why would he offer to play 2's and not 1's ?????
As for pulling my head in, not likely. I'm entitled to an opinion as you are, I dont hide behind a false name either. I'm just telling you how it is in the real world. Not too many really worry about him, it just sounds like same ol, same ol.
Once again, thats MY opinion (its actually what I know), not my clubs !
localfootyguru
21 May 2008, 23:27
Good to have you on board Tim, keep up the banter - the forum will be a better place with your presence.
The Farrugia saga is going to drag on longer than Days of our Lives. Ben will have to stand out of footy or eat humble pie and play for the Burras.
I am amazed by the Burras stance on this, if the guy doesnt want to play there why bother keeping him.
GG Rides Again
22 May 2008, 00:02
Now thats a rumour thats not true! Heard he offererd to play twos a fortnight ago but never seniors. Warby would love to have him back the Senior captain even has called to ensure that hes most welcome. Warby obviously have more tolerance than what our club would. Mick and the boys have gone soft.
I have just completed the thesis known as player registration and transfer rules for the VCFL. If the said player has offered services to the said club and they chose not to accept the offer after signing the official transfer player registration through the VCFL which must also be acknowledged via signing, I believe the VCFL have no option but to clear the player to the players preferred choice of location IF this went to appeal.
breaking this down, if Farrugia has offered and been knocked back to play any game for the club I think this would go against Warby at present. I know everyone will refer to the contract but he has not played or been paid for his services as there is no sign on fee or amounts that have changed hands that anyone is claiming. If there was any money changed hands warby could ask for expenses to be paid including travel, labour hours, calls and anything else directly involved in his recruitment.
This is how I understood the wonderful document and before you all bag me out try reading it first.
Last point is a legal issue but if Ben isnt gaining money from being basically employed by the club as a paid player, does this equate to a restraint of trade?
NOCHANCE
22 May 2008, 09:12
Warburtons senior captain rang Ben to say hes welcome back and didnt want to see him not playing. Ben said he may be able to play twos but couldnt play ones due to work commitments. Only to be seen the whole day watching Mt Ev. Once again I think were way off the mark putting any blame towards Warby and I cant blame them for what there doing. What were forgetting is that Ben signed a contract and is obligated to keep it.
auskickrules
22 May 2008, 12:36
Warburtons senior captain rang Ben to say hes welcome back and didnt want to see him not playing. Ben said he may be able to play twos but couldnt play ones due to work commitments. Only to be seen the whole day watching Mt Ev. Once again I think were way off the mark putting any blame towards Warby and I cant blame them for what there doing. What were forgetting is that Ben signed a contract and is obligated to keep it.
Definatley no blame to Warby players, they are great and there has never been a problem there. Yes Terry did ring and was fantastic but the problem of work commitments in the morning still remain. Also the training issue with not getting home until late in the evening has always been an issue that can't be changed. The president of Warby told Ben that he won't have a player just rock up on Saturday to play if he hasn't trained. I understand the players feel differently as does the coach however If the top dog says no what is Ben supposed to do. As of now it is in appeal so lets just see what happens and then let the issue die for gods sake. We need to remember it is local paddock football and one person is not going to changed the outcome of Warby's games.
NOCHANCE
22 May 2008, 13:24
The president was involved in the approach to Ben to tell him he was more than welcome. If he had of made himself avialable he would of had the blessing of the entire club including the president.
So whattya know
22 May 2008, 16:31
The president was involved in the approach to Ben to tell him he was more than welcome. If he had of made himself avialable he would of had the blessing of the entire club including the president.
NOCHANCE what do you call your president ?
NOCHANCE
22 May 2008, 17:40
NOCHANCE what do you call your president ?
Another quality post there if you havnt got anything constructive to say dont say anything!
rip it up
22 May 2008, 17:42
Great call there NOCHANCE:thumbsu:
Valley Spy
22 May 2008, 17:42
Ben will have to appeal to be able to play at Mt Evelyn. His reasons for leaving Warby this late in the game were strictly work and to a lesser degree family. He has a young family to support and his work pay very generously for weekend work. They have agreed to him finishing on Saturdays at 1.00pm which leaves him very little time to get to Warby's games. He also can not make training as it is a 40 minute drive and he is not getting home from work until 5.30 most nights. He can however make Mt Evelyns game and training nights as they are only 3 minutes away.The other reason is more personal but his 5 year old son has just joined Auskick which he originaly did not want to play but his mates from school are and Ben wants to be able to enjoy watching his son play his first year of football. Warby are not letting him go and have told him they would rather he not play at all than play elsewhere, so it looks as though it will end up in the afl/vfl tribunal and they can sort it out.
Sorry for the long post but this should clear up most misconceptions.:thumbsu:
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: What time do the reserves start?
This ben bloke must be pretty handy!! I think one thing people have to remember is that we're not playing for sheep stations here! Its country footy, and if the bloke doesnt want to play for a club... well the club is better off without him, let him go!! I understand he is in contract, but no money has changed hands so just let him go. Show him the door and start recruiting again.
NOCHANCE
22 May 2008, 23:44
This ben bloke must be pretty handy!! I think one thing people have to remember is that we're not playing for sheep stations here! Its country footy, and if the bloke doesnt want to play for a club... well the club is better off without him, let him go!! I understand he is in contract, but no money has changed hands so just let him go. Show him the door and start recruiting again.
You certainly are an ideas man:rolleyes::rolleyes: What sort of players do you pick up the week before the first game? Maybe you can win a Second Div flag in this manner. Try getting involved in recruiting one year at your club and see what happens when a contracted player that youve budgeted for walks away the week before the first game.
auskickrules
23 May 2008, 17:10
I have no idea how to do it and it is probably to late now but how come there is no tipping comp for 1st division. There isn't really any talk about the coming round or the round just been. Not a critisim just an observation. I'm not footy savy enough to take on the job but surely someone is:thumbsu::D
RustyHawk
23 May 2008, 18:12
I have no idea how to do it and it is probably to late now but how come there is no tipping comp for 1st division. There isn't really any talk about the coming round or the round just been. Not a critisim just an observation. I'm not footy savy enough to take on the job but surely someone is:thumbsu::D
Your right it is a bit late and a bit of a shame.
The Div 2 tipping comp is run by posters who care about the 2nd div clubs.
Hopefully someone from a 1st div club will step up next season :thumbsu:
in2restedonlooker
27 May 2008, 15:38
I'm new to this forum but have been following divvy 2 pretty closely as I used to watch Yea, Alex and Thornton in the cgfl, and have seen all teams in action this season here is my view so far:
Alexandra- Going ok but 2 big games against thunder and belly will tell us how they're going
Belgrave - Inconsistent this year but getting better. Not sure whether they can challenge big 3.
Emerald - Not sure what's happening winning games they shouldn't and losing ones they should win although kinglake are struggling
Powelly - Struggling but hopefully they can beat junction
Kinglake - Started off on fire but have hit the earth with a thud. Dare I say it no Gallichio no Kinglake
Seville - Definitely improving and it would be good to see them fighting for a finals berth
Thornton - Saw them against alex and they were struggling halfway through the 2nd but kicked 6 goals in 10 mins to effectively end game. That is their biggest weapon being able to score goals quickly
against the flow. Very hard to beat
Yea - signs weren't good early but are starting to find form I expect to be fighting with belly and seville for finals berth
Yarra G - The main threat to Thornton as long as they stay consistent. Selkrig the man impossible to stop on his day.
Yarra J - Struggling big time and with no 18's it makes it even harder.
That;s my thoughts anyway what about yours.
Drifter
27 May 2008, 15:58
Your right it is a bit late and a bit of a shame.
The Div 2 tipping comp is run by posters who care about the 2nd div clubs.
Hopefully someone from a 1st div club will step up next season :thumbsu:
Is there anywhere you can view the players for each club etc in this league???
LukeClarke
27 May 2008, 17:09
I'm new to this forum but have been following divvy 2 pretty closely as I used to watch Yea, Alex and Thornton in the cgfl, and have seen all teams in action this season here is my view so far:
Alexandra- Going ok but 2 big games against thunder and belly will tell us how they're going
Belgrave - Inconsistent this year but getting better. Not sure whether they can challenge big 3.
Emerald - Not sure what's happening winning games they shouldn't and losing ones they should win although kinglake are struggling
Powelly - Struggling but hopefully they can beat junction
Kinglake - Started off on fire but have hit the earth with a thud. Dare I say it no Gallichio no Kinglake
Seville - Definitely improving and it would be good to see them fighting for a finals berth
Thornton - Saw them against alex and they were struggling halfway through the 2nd but kicked 6 goals in 10 mins to effectively end game. That is their biggest weapon being able to score goals quickly against the flow. Very hard to beat
Yea - signs weren't good early but are starting to find form I expect to be fighting with belly and seville for finals berth
Yarra G - The main threat to Thornton as long as they stay consistent. Selkrig the man impossible to stop on his day.
Yarra J - Struggling big time and with no 18's it makes it even harder.
That;s my thoughts anyway what about yours.
Looking forward to the second half of the season for us (seville). Have Yea at Home and Junction for our next 2 games. We play Alex, Thornton, Belly in the second half on the potato chip so should be able to give them a run for there money. Have been without D Troyan and CJ Harrison for 3 weeks who are in our best most weeks. Young Nath O'keffe has snagged a lot more goals than the yv website has given him credit for, probably 50 in the 18s and 30 in the 1s including 7 on the famous Digger on the weekend.
Thornton play good style of footy and are definetley the team to beat.
RustyHawk
27 May 2008, 17:15
Is there anywhere you can view the players for each club etc in this league???
Yep, type in yarra vallley football league into search engine and follow the results to their webpage. You can check team selections the lot.
Drifter
27 May 2008, 17:21
Yep, type in yarra vallley football league into search engine and follow the results to their webpage. You can check team selections the lot.
Is this the link - I cant find players/selections etc from this point
http://www.yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au/
Cheers
in2restedonlooker
27 May 2008, 17:35
Looking forward to the second half of the season for us (seville). Have Yea at Home and Junction for our next 2 games. We play Alex, Thornton, Belly in the second half on the potato chip so should be able to give them a run for there money. Have been without D Troyan and CJ Harrison for 3 weeks who are in our best most weeks. Young Nath O'keffe has snagged a lot more goals than the yv website has given him credit for, probably 50 in the 18s and 30 in the 1s including 7 on the famous Digger on the weekend.
Thornton play good style of footy and are definetley the team to beat.
I actually saw your game against thornton on saturday. The second time I had seen them and the first for seville, so it's hard to see how you are really going as like you said thornton are very good. I also agree that O'Keefe done a very good job isolated 1 on 1 with creed. That being said creed is a very good player and doesn't lose to many so well done to O'Keefe he looks a player of the future. Didn't see much of the seconds but I hear thornton have a few premiership players from last year as well as a couple of new faces running around. This will make them stronger. What was your thoughts?
I don't think your claim of 7 on Digger is 100% correct LukeClarke. ;)
It doesn't really matter who kicked how many on who. The Boners backline work as a team so you also need to factor in the CHF who didn't get a kick till he put himself in the midfield in the last quarter and the other forwards who were kept pretty quiet. It's the overall result that counts.
I was quite impressed with Seville's smaller midfielders getting the ball forward so often. The Boners had a couple out but Seville have promising kids there.
As for the premiership players in the seconds in2rested I can only think of 1 but he hasn't played seniors this year. There might be others who I've got a mind blank about.
The seniors actually had 2 kids who had already played in the 3rds earlier on, one making his senior debut.
Pup,
Browsing trough past notes posted, and came across the one about Ernie Dingo. That was the grand final between Emerald & Thornton at warby I think. My family was there to watch David & Neil Sands (friends of the family & now with Monbulk, and Jeff Bates ( 2nd or 3rd cousin). I also remember a tall young aboriginal player that starred. I also remember snagging a Sherrin footy out of the Yarra that my dog is chewed up a week after I retreaved it
Pup,
I also forgot to say another relative was playing for Emerald that day, Jim Brennan, and I think he is a closer link to Jeff Bates than me
rossfaulkner
27 May 2008, 23:59
Fella's can anyone shed some light as to whats goin on with the interleague team for this weekend?
who's playing from what clubs? is there any 2nd divy players playing?
anyone would think that 2nd divy is the only comp or at least the top tier of the comp the way all you blokes bang on about it!
who is the best player in the competition?
Upwey Fan
28 May 2008, 00:13
The final squad still hasn't been announced,they will do so after training this week
Upwey Fan
28 May 2008, 00:15
Forgot to mention you can see the squad at
http://www.yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=38794&orgID=88&Oname=Yarra+Valley+Mountain+District+FL&O1c=7&O10c=7
in2restedonlooker
28 May 2008, 09:26
Rosy,
I was referring to the past few weeks where marshall,sharp and chapmans had played 2nds as well as some other very talented players namely tim phelps.
Rossfaulkner,
I've seen all teams at least once this year here are a few i think are right up there in divvy2
Fisher t/e
Hardy t/e
Coller t/e
Selkrig y/g
Moate y/g
Meyer belg
Jack alex
senior sev
Leatham yea
No. 6 from yea (dont know his name)
in2restedonlooker
28 May 2008, 09:50
I don't think your claim of 7 on Digger is 100% correct LukeClarke. ;)
It doesn't really matter who kicked how many on who. The Boners backline work as a team so you also need to factor in the CHF who didn't get a kick till he put himself in the midfield in the last quarter and the other forwards who were kept pretty quiet. It's the overall result that counts.
I was quite impressed with Seville's smaller midfielders getting the ball forward so often. The Boners had a couple out but Seville have promising kids there.
As for the premiership players in the seconds in2rested I can only think of 1 but he hasn't played seniors this year. There might be others who I've got a mind blank about.
The seniors actually had 2 kids who had already played in the 3rds earlier on, one making his senior debut.
Another thing rosy, CHF at thornton is almost impossible to play as that position is in no mans land on that ground. The ball continually goes over the top. Also i've seen you writing about the opposition CHF not going well a fair bit. I'm not sure who the CHB is at Thornton but when he is getting chopped out all the time by Hardy, Fisher and Edwards it makes life very easy for him! I think thorntons 2 best CHB are playing in the 2nds Sharp and Creighton
drago from ussr
28 May 2008, 10:55
well onlooker if the centre half foward position is a non position at thornton why was shane parker amongst the best palyers this week.....
Another thing rosy, CHF at thornton is almost impossible to play as that position is in no mans land on that ground. The ball continually goes over the top. Also i've seen you writing about the opposition CHF not going well a fair bit. I'm not sure who the CHB is at Thornton but when he is getting chopped out all the time by Hardy, Fisher and Edwards it makes life very easy for him! I think thorntons 2 best CHB are playing in the 2nds Sharp and Creighton
I wasn't referring to any one player.
People comment about the positions as though they're set in stone but in reality the Boners are a very versatile team and positions are changed around quite often. There have been a few players rotated through the CHB/FB/FF/CHF/Ruck positions this year with several changes during a game. You'll usually find if one isn't doing too well on the day the others will have compensated elsewhere.
I agree with Drago that Parks was very good. In fact I'd give him bog by a reasonable margin last week.
I think thorntons 2 best CHB are playing in the 2nds Sharp and Creighton
I can't remember seeing Sharpy play CHB since junior days and I'm not sure how much Sam plays at CHB in the 2s for you to judge him but it's certainly good Pup has the options.
in2restedonlooker
28 May 2008, 11:40
Parker is a very mobile player who is more like a flanker than a traditional big chf and ventures alot further up the ground than the bigger bodied CHF all the other teams have. Throntons big forwards (elliott,hall,hourigan) from what ive seen (2 games vs alex and seville) play deep and let the mobile players push up to the wings and flanks leaving plenty of room on a smallish ground for the big guys to operate and I must say it works very well. I could almost guarantee that if parker played for opposition that cameron wouldn't play on him I would say it would be hardy or musgrove.
in2restedonlooker
28 May 2008, 11:44
I wasn't referring to any one player.
People comment about the positions as though they're set in stone but in reality the Boners are a very versatile team and positions are changed around quite often. There have been a few players rotated through the CHB/FB/FF/CHF/Ruck positions this year with several changes during a game. You'll usually find if one isn't doing too well on the day the others will have compensated elsewhere.
I agree with Drago that Parks was very good. In fact I'd give him bog by a reasonable margin last week.
I can't remember seeing Sharpy play CHB since junior days and I'm not sure how much Sam plays at CHB in the 2s for you to judge him but it's certainly good Pup has the options.
Fair enough rosy I agree that thornton are the most versatile side in divvy 2 by a long way. With sharp and creighton i am going off selected sides from 06 and 07 where they were named in those positions, creighton more so in 06.
in2restedonlooker
28 May 2008, 11:51
Sorry one more thing. I'm not having a go at anyone from thornton you must be travelling well to be undefeated but I was just interested to see some very good players named in the 2s and commenting on wha I saw on the weekend.
Rosy,
I was referring to the past few weeks where marshall,sharp and chapmans had played 2nds as well as some other very talented players namely tim phelps.
No worries in2rested. The Chapmans had 1 run, against Yarra Glen, cos they'd touched a footy since last season. They were straight into the 1s after that.
None of the others you name have played seniors this year and some aren't always available for the 2s or are returning from long term injury.
It's hardly a seconds side dominated by senior premiership players.
I could almost guarantee that if parker played for opposition that cameron wouldn't play on him I would say it would be hardy or musgrove.
Pup would have several options to look at if Parks played for a different team. That's the value of building a very even team. Keep the opposition guessing. ;)
in2restedonlooker
28 May 2008, 12:33
i agree
cakehole
28 May 2008, 12:51
if thornton 2's had the same side as against seville plus a few extras every week, they would have no trouble competing with belgrave and alex. As they showed last year when they beat alex by 10 goals.
There is more than enough talent to prop the 1's up. If they turn up that is
in2restedonlooker
28 May 2008, 12:59
No doubts thornton are a strong club but surely the star players in the 2's (sharp,marshall,phelps,ackerman and herridge)will end up in the seniors.(once a sniff of premiership comes??)
14th Tiger
28 May 2008, 18:05
Rosy,
Rossfaulkner,
I've seen all teams at least once this year here are a few i think are right up there in divvy2
Fisher t/e
Hardy t/e
Coller t/e
Selkrig y/g
Moate y/g
Meyer belg
Jack alex
senior sev
Leatham yea
His name is Matt Doyle, he is from Seaford along with many of our new gun recruits and is having a ripping year.
in2restedonlooker
28 May 2008, 18:16
His name is Matt Doyle, he is from Seaford along with many of our new gun recruits and is having a ripping year.
Yeh he's a very good player and an excellent pick up. He along with a couple of other recruits is why I think after a slow start Yea will make finals big 2 games coming up though against main opposition for that 5th and last final spot
if thornton 2's had the same side as against seville plus a few extras every week, they would have no trouble competing with belgrave and alex. As they showed last year when they beat alex by 10 goals.
There is more than enough talent to prop the 1's up. If they turn up that is
thats the problem cakehole our 2's couldnt give a s@!t. if even just half of them dropped a couple of kilos and actually trained even just once a week they would be unbeatable. when you only have 2 reserve players train week in and week out they will go no where.
cakehole
28 May 2008, 21:14
you are right. Unfortunately thats country football for you. All the dedicated ones to far away. But id take dedication to saturdays to training tho
in2restedonlooker
29 May 2008, 08:38
thats the problem cakehole our 2's couldnt give a s@!t. if even just half of them dropped a couple of kilos and actually trained even just once a week they would be unbeatable. when you only have 2 reserve players train week in and week out they will go no where.
Have to agree with you their pupsta when you look at some of the players who are or have been running around ( williamson,mottram,sharp,dent,creighton,davison,phelps,herri dge,ackerman,grant,marshall,johnson)
All these guys from what I can remember were all talented players in the thirds and I think all of these guys played some senior footy in the cgfl or down south in the last couple??
When did ackerman cross from alex?? he's a good player
Moin Khan
29 May 2008, 19:57
Is this the link - I cant find players/selections etc from this point
http://www.yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au/
Cheers
Click on 'Competitions' on the Main Menu, then click on 'Selected Sides' on the Division you wish to see.
Then click on the team and week you are looking for.
Also - I have attached the link for 1st Div Seniors:
http://www.yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au/selectedsides.asp?comp=5946&OrgID=88
and 2nd Div Seniors:
http://www.yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au/selectedsides.asp?comp=6179&OrgID=88
localfootyguru
29 May 2008, 22:06
Rosy,
Rossfaulkner,
Fisher t/e
Hardy t/e
Coller t/e
Selkrig y/g
Moate y/g
Meyer belg
Jack alex
senior sev
Leatham yea
Agree with most of those guys, would also like to think Gallachio from Kinglake and Cowan from Powelltown (despite being in a poor team) are also both having ripping years. Heard and Oakley from Alexandra have also impressed as well.
localfootyguru
29 May 2008, 22:08
YVMDFL May 24 Weekly Wrap
Silvan stamped itself as the outright flag favourite as it was able to withstand the challenge visiting Woori Yallock laid down as Monbulk also showed that it is still a side to be reckoned with. While in 2nd Division Thornton Eildon powered to another win while Yarra Glen continues there improvement.
Silvan hosted Woori Yallock and the prospect of a loss was something that Silvan just didn�t contemplate. The Cats controlled play for the majority of the day as Woori tried to mount a challenge in the final stanza. Owen Weatherly led all goal scorers with 7, as Gary Moorcroft, 6, Ben Haynes, 4, and Marc Bullen, 3, all contributed to the goal scoring tally. Jake Straughair put in a 4 quarter effort in the ruck while Kit Dale didn�t stop running all day as Silvan ran out winners by 17 points. Woori was led by Danny Ryan as he tried to rally his side to a come from behind win. Robbie Allen and Mitch Bonuda kicked 3 goals each to lead the Woori forward line.
Monbulk travelled to the much vaunted home of Mt Evelyn to try and get there season back on track after a couple of disappointing weeks. Mt Evelyn having improved significantly from last year had shown they were on the verge of taking the next step. Unfortunately for them, Monbulk was more determined to rectify there season and came away with a 19 point win. Tim Wragg was back to his best with 5 goals as David Alenson and Michael Hughson showed the form we are accustomed to. Matt Whitehead continued his fine season in front of the goals with another 6 as Steve Tesoriero and Chris Haworth drove the ball continually forward.
Upwey travelled across to Olinda and as able to take home the 4 points with a comfortable 60 point win. Simon Mitchell, 7 goals, and Michael Charles, 5, lead the way for Upwey while Chris Hayes and Andrew McQualter were solid 4 quarter contributors. Garrett McDonald with 2 goals was judged Olinda�s best for the afternoon.
Wandin travelled up the Hwy to take on Warburton. The day proved to be fruitful for Wandin as they were able to be on the right side of the ledger in a 42 goal shootout and come away with a 19 point win. Wandin Coach Paul Grayling and Jarrod Rickard both kicked 6 goals while the two Bonsak�s, Adam and Richard and Daniel King were outstanding on the day for the Bulldogs. Vincent Muccitelli played a lone hand up forward for the Burra�s as he kicked 10 goals for the afternoon.
Gembrook played host to the ever improving Healesville. The Brookers were hoping to get another win on the board but Healesville proved too strong. Healesville ran away with the game and post a 20 point win. Luke Barclay with 6 goals was again one of Healesville�s best as James Dunnett and Joshua Goding also played key roles in the win. Steve Goodie was again prominent for Gembrook with 4 goals while Andrew Shipp battled hard all day with 3 goals.
Thornton hosted the much improved Seville and after last weeks big win, Seville went into the game with renewed confidence. Thornton though was up to the challenge. Ryan Hall with 4 goals was again dominant for Thornton as Mark Hardy and Shane Parker were quality performers. Nathan O�Keefe with 7 goals lead the Seville charge but in the end it wasn�t enough as Thornton ran out comfortable 48 point winners.
Yarra Glen headed to Belgrave in a must win game. The Thunder worked hard for 4 quarters against a persistent Belgrave outfit and finished the game stronger and eventually won by 23 points. Dean Selkrig kicked 8 goals in a best on ground performance for the Thunder while Mark Ratten and Peter Moate also were solid contributors for the winners.
In other 2nd Division games Alexandra easily accounted for Yarra Junction by 59 points, Emerald defeated Kinglake by 57 points while Yea was able to defeat a resilient Powelltown by 111 points.
This week sees the league play a combined team from the North Central/Mallee leagues. The game is to be played at St Arnaud on Saturday.
in2restedonlooker
30 May 2008, 08:35
Yeh those players you mentioned are going well but I hear that Gallichio is out for the year and going by kinglakes results they don't go to well without him. Definitely agree that cowan is a good player as well. I seen alexandra against thornton and Heard was ok but N. Oakley didn't have an influence at all. I think another oakley, adam (brothers??) is a very handy player.