View Full Version : Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum
Pages :
[
7]
What - doesn't the heater work in your car Pup?
yeh moin not sure what he meant by that one. maybe he thinks i have a convertible and i was gonna leave the roof off.:confused: was a slow wet trip though.
!!Calm down Guru!! all in Jest:rolleyes:
"Pupsta" hope your little bloke is ok :thumbsu:
Olinda CHF/CHB George Azzam is he the double for Simon on the ANZ TV AD?? very simlar look a likes.
GG Rides Again
16 Jun 2008, 10:53
Olinda V Mt Evelyn game and only a goal in it at the end? Anyone fill me in on the game as I thought that Mt Evelyn would have won that comfortably.
And what is the ground like at present? 16 goals suggests not bad.
Snow Saturday or at least some sleet?:p F..ing cold
sid snot
16 Jun 2008, 13:55
i dont think it rained at all The ground is excellent and there was a fair bit of rain thursday and friday but it held up well
in2restedonlooker
16 Jun 2008, 17:21
Anyone from Seville wanna let me know what happened on Saturday. After a good patch where you tested some top sides and were looking a finals contender you come out and lose a game you should have won? Was there injuries? or were yj a bit fired up after last weeks loss to powelly. Surely finals are going to be difficult now even if there are a few home games at the potato chip as 2 of those are against Thornton and Alex. Any thoughts
What are the thoughts of Emerald? Very young side which tore Yea to shreds on the weekend. Emerald came out with 11 goals to Yea's 1 in the first term. Yea are not the strongest side but that is a fair effort.
Thoughts ??
in2restedonlooker
17 Jun 2008, 09:32
What are the thoughts of Emerald? Very young side which tore Yea to shreds on the weekend. Emerald came out with 11 goals to Yea's 1 in the first term. Yea are not the strongest side but that is a fair effort.
Thoughts ??
I've only seen Emerald once this year and they didn't go to well. But obviously the last 2 weeks have been great for them. They did what they had to do last week after beating thornton because for some reason they and seville seem to pull off a great win and then lose the game they should be winning, so maybe it's all coming together for emerald and if they keep their form they could finish as high as third and get a double chance
johnboy
17 Jun 2008, 18:16
Welcome to the Forum Moin Khan. Hopefully you don't upset the league bigwigs as in the past on the YV Website Forum.
Noticed you have been sticking up for the valley's own D Sully in the umpiring Forum. :D
junkyard10
20 Jun 2008, 21:21
as a football observer i wouldnt have thought that dropping the ball differently would account for anyhting you pick blokes on ability and who is best fitted for the team and shouldnt be decided on technique or anything like that
Moin Khan
20 Jun 2008, 23:15
as A Football Observer I Wouldnt Have Thought That Dropping The Ball Differently Would Account For Anyhting You Pick Blokes On Ability And Who Is Best Fitted For The Team And Shouldnt Be Decided On Technique Or Anything Like That
Wtf?
RustyHawk
22 Jun 2008, 03:26
Wtf?
Had to agree M K.
Thought it was some newbie trying to get their post count up by posting away here... but no....at this stage seems legit..... one of those posts where im sure the poster knew exactly what he was talking about.
Have the wheels fallen off?
bad loss to the boners against belly on sat. their first quarter was what killed us 9 goals to 2. Jake meyer flew high to take mark of the century, awesome grab. we still hangin in their with players out and looks like hally will be out for a while with a broken hand so goes from bad to worse with us this year.
it was a crap day, the belgrave ground appalling, supporters disgusting (although the players play in great spirits this year, credit to darren) and free kick count 37 to 18. not a great day for us. need to step up the next few weeks.
Minnesota Wisdom
22 Jun 2008, 21:05
bad loss to the boners against belly on sat. their first quarter was what killed us 9 goals to 2. Jake meyer flew high to take mark of the century, awesome grab. we still hangin in their with players out and looks like hally will be out for a while with a broken hand so goes from bad to worse with us this year.
it was a crap day, the belgrave ground appalling, supporters disgusting (although the players play in great spirits this year, credit to darren) and free kick count 37 to 18. not a great day for us. need to step up the next few weeks.
It was a good day for Belgrave, one badly needed after recent poor form. With regards to the ground, well I believe we'll be off it for a year come the end of the footy season as the council are looking to improve it. With the bore water and improved drainage I should hope the surface improves (though at present, it's good for opening batsmen during the summer).
As for the supporters, that's a shame you thought that, were the instances in particular or just the general behaviour?
NOCHANCE
22 Jun 2008, 21:06
Pupsta sounds like the typical day a Belgrave. Appalling ground feral supporters and a biased umpiring display. Been that way for as long as anyone can remember.
LukeClarke
23 Jun 2008, 10:26
Anyone from Seville wanna let me know what happened on Saturday. After a good patch where you tested some top sides and were looking a finals contender you come out and lose a game you should have won? Was there injuries? or were yj a bit fired up after last weeks loss to powelly. Surely finals are going to be difficult now even if there are a few home games at the potato chip as 2 of those are against Thornton and Alex. Any thoughts
We have been hurt pretty bad with injury. Have about 4 or 5 out but they are key players. Our coach (warbo), Harrision, D Troyan C, S Wilson are all out. Young Nath O'Keffe had been handy up foward booting about 30 Goals in his last 5 games but is now down at eastern ranges. Wilson returned this week agaist YG but wasnt for us to get over the line. Won the last 3 quarters, but an 8 goal to zip first quarter killed us.
rip it up
23 Jun 2008, 11:13
After a wet weekend and lead up to saturday, how are the grounds holding up i know warby's was the worse i've seen it in years, the mud should wash a way with a little more rain
LukeClarke
23 Jun 2008, 11:23
Would love to hear some of the Yarra Glen boys thoughts on what happened to David Wallace on the weekend.
To fill everyone in David played at seville originally then went to Yarra Glen a couple of years ago. He left YG 3 weeks ago and was cleared back to Seville. On Saturday he was hit a few times behind the play by a Yarra Glen player and as a result he was carried off on a stretcher. A bit of a brawl followed. Fair enough leaving a club half way through the year is going to warrant a fair bit of pepper from the crowd and his old teamates but the incident itself was way over the top.
I am mates with a few of the boys out at Yarra Glen and I couldn't imagine that they would be happy with what happened...
Wally ruffled the feathers of a few of the boys from the Seville last year, including myself, in a game when he let loose on our players from the boundry line. We were smart enough to accept Wally is a bit of a nut sometimes and just get on with life. It was a credit to all of our boys that we all got behind one of our own after the incident on Saturday.
I hope the bloke who did it, realises how weak as piss it was.
in2restedonlooker
23 Jun 2008, 14:52
We have been hurt pretty bad with injury. Have about 4 or 5 out but they are key players. Our coach (warbo), Harrision, D Troyan C, S Wilson are all out. Young Nath O'Keffe had been handy up foward booting about 30 Goals in his last 5 games but is now down at eastern ranges. Wilson returned this week agaist YG but wasnt for us to get over the line. Won the last 3 quarters, but an 8 goal to zip first quarter killed us.
Fair call some good players out through injury there and good to see young O'Keefe get his chance at eastern he's been good the 2 games I've seen seville especially against thornton where he kicked 7 on one of the best backmen in the league Creed. Massive game for you blokes this week against Alex who are at full strength and looking to cement top spot. Do you think you can give them a run??? Looking at the players that are out you would have to say that yourselves and Thornton have been hardest hit by injuries and now the pupsta says that hall may miss a few they will be happy they have a couple of the lower sides in the next couple of weeks
drago from ussr
23 Jun 2008, 16:03
Just on regards to young nath o keefe trainin down at ranges well done. i would also like to recognise caleb tillers(thornton) efforts this year... playing at bushrangers hes top 5 in the league in goals kicked and played also played for vic country this week at subiaco.... for a bottom age player and a great kid all the best and hope he gets there....
are there any other youngsters running round from yvmdfl clubs looking to get to the main stage in the not too didstant future???
ps... Yes jacob meyer took mark of the century...bloody awesome
junkyard10
23 Jun 2008, 17:48
looking at mt evelyns ground on the weekend the ground is in suprisingly good condition no mud just quite dusty on top but after the rain through the week made it a little claggy but no mud suprised
LukeClarke
23 Jun 2008, 18:12
Fair call some good players out through injury there and good to see young O'Keefe get his chance at eastern he's been good the 2 games I've seen seville especially against thornton where he kicked 7 on one of the best backmen in the league Creed. Massive game for you blokes this week against Alex who are at full strength and looking to cement top spot. Do you think you can give them a run??? Looking at the players that are out you would have to say that yourselves and Thornton have been hardest hit by injuries and now the pupsta says that hall may miss a few they will be happy they have a couple of the lower sides in the next couple of weeks
Given that i play im not going to say we cant. Not sure who will be back in the side but we havent lost at home yet and we are always a little more confident playing on the potato chip. With a full side we can mix it with anyone. Must win game for us this week.
dishlickers
23 Jun 2008, 21:14
Would love to hear some of the Yarra Glen boys thoughts on what happened to David Wallace on the weekend.
To fill everyone in David played at seville originally then went to Yarra Glen a couple of years ago. He left YG 3 weeks ago and was cleared back to Seville. On Saturday he was hit a few times behind the play by a Yarra Glen player and as a result he was carried off on a stretcher. A bit of a brawl followed. Fair enough leaving a club half way through the year is going to warrant a fair bit of pepper from the crowd and his old teamates but the incident itself was way over the top.
I am mates with a few of the boys out at Yarra Glen and I couldn't imagine that they would be happy with what happened...
Wally ruffled the feathers of a few of the boys from the Seville last year, including myself, in a game when he let loose on our players from the boundry line. We were smart enough to accept Wally is a bit of a nut sometimes and just get on with life. It was a credit to all of our boys that we all got behind one of our own after the incident on Saturday.
I hope the bloke who did it, realises how weak as piss it was.
yeah isn't good when that stuff happens on the footy field. didn't actually see the incident that started the brawl, so can't really comment on it too much.
but you guys had a bloke running around who lacks a hefty amount of football ability (nuff nuff, can't kick a ball to save his life, etc...) think he might have long blond hair.... and all day he was trying to belt our blokes... but just like his football skills luckily fell very short of succeeding. so it wasn't just our blokes fighting.
other than the fighting was a pretty good contest. yg won 2 of the four quaters, one by 8 goals the other by 5 goals.
LukeClarke
24 Jun 2008, 10:40
yeah isn't good when that stuff happens on the footy field. didn't actually see the incident that started the brawl, so can't really comment on it too much.
but you guys had a bloke running around who lacks a hefty amount of football ability (nuff nuff, can't kick a ball to save his life, etc...) think he might have long blond hair.... and all day he was trying to belt our blokes... but just like his football skills luckily fell very short of succeeding. so it wasn't just our blokes fighting.
other than the fighting was a pretty good contest. yg won 2 of the four quaters, one by 8 goals the other by 5 goals.
Im not having a go at your blokes for fighting dishlickers and im not trying to defend anyone from seville for their part in it either. Fights are always going to break out when a player is hit behind the play to the extent where he has to be taken off on a stretcher.
Its a shame that the 5 or 6 players under 18s we had playing in the senior side were exposed to it.
localfootyguru
24 Jun 2008, 16:20
Guys, lets just stick to talking footy.
The league and tribunal will do the investigations if they are warranted.
Guru.
in2restedonlooker
25 Jun 2008, 17:10
Very quite on hear lately obviously not a great deal happening. Just past half way and here are my thoughts
Form team - Emerald
Struggling - Seville and Yea
Sleeping Giant - Thornton
Smokies - Yarra Glen
Who will win goalkicking and league bf this year Selkrig looks good for goalkicking while N Oakley is a proven vote getter but i'll take a long shot and say M.Doyle from Yea. They mightn't win enough games but he is a clear standout in the couple of games i've seen.
Any one else???
drago from ussr
26 Jun 2008, 09:56
yeah onlooker you didnt mention Alex i think there goin along alright at the moment as well....
From thornton i like M Hardy although he has missed the last 3 games he was in our best nearly every week ...
Doyle from yea was excellent against us also
I think the new guys at alex might pinch a few votes off neil this year but he will still be close..
I also like jacob meyer now hes roaming thru the midfield... Emerald has a couple maybe number 12 shitter i think they call him although there sides very even
in2restedonlooker
27 Jun 2008, 10:36
yeah onlooker you didnt mention Alex i think there goin along alright at the moment as well....
Your right Drago Alex are travelling very nicely but have a few tough games ahead. They should account for a depleted Seville tomorrow but then face Emerald, Kinglake (away) and Thornton. We will definitely know more about them at the end of this run. If they can break the hoodoo against Thornton they would be flag favourites but they have a huge game against Emerald next week which will show how both sides are really going
auskickrules
28 Jun 2008, 20:43
Todays game Warby against Silvan was a joke. This is not sour grapes as anyone who reads this forum will know i couldn't care less if Warby win or lose. Firstly yes Silvan are a classy unit. Lots of experience very fit and their skills are exceptional. They play well and deserve their top place on the ladder. However in the first half Warby were right there with them. At the half break only a goal or so was the difference. The game was being played in good spirits with great umpiring and fantastic sportsmanship. So my question is What the F*#k happened in the umpires room at half time that made them come out and blatently favour Silvan. It was disgusting and even the Silvan supporters nears me were saying how crap the umpires were. Whoever it was umpiring you should be ashamed you took a great contest and killed it. If I were Silvan i would be embarrased. Warby's third quarter was not great but umpired fairly and people would have seen that neither was Silvans. As soon as there was a 7 goal lead they began umpiring fairly again. As I said this is not sour grapes. There is no love between me and Warby but in the first half i believe thay proved that Silvan can be beaten.
Sorry about the long post.
Moin Khan
29 Jun 2008, 11:54
Todays game Warby against Silvan was a joke. This is not sour grapes as anyone who reads this forum will know i couldn't care less if Warby win or lose. Firstly yes Silvan are a classy unit. Lots of experience very fit and their skills are exceptional. They play well and deserve their top place on the ladder. However in the first half Warby were right there with them. At the half break only a goal or so was the difference. The game was being played in good spirits with great umpiring and fantastic sportsmanship. So my question is What the F*#k happened in the umpires room at half time that made them come out and blatently favour Silvan. It was disgusting and even the Silvan supporters nears me were saying how crap the umpires were. Whoever it was umpiring you should be ashamed you took a great contest and killed it. If I were Silvan i would be embarrased. Warby's third quarter was not great but umpired fairly and people would have seen that neither was Silvans. As soon as there was a 7 goal lead they began umpiring fairly again. As I said this is not sour grapes. There is no love between me and Warby but in the first half i believe thay proved that Silvan can be beaten.
On first thoughts I would have told you that i'm surprised to see you say that the umpiring was so biased toward Silvan as most of the umps I know have a large dislike for Silvan, but upon further investigation I see that it was umpired by Brett Morton.
As the Comic Book Store Guy in the Simpsons would say:
WORST UMPIRE - EVER!
* notice Farrugia playing for Warby too - very interesting
auskickrules
29 Jun 2008, 12:09
Nothing interesting about it, he appealed lost and now has to play there if he wants to play at all this year. Having said that the players at Warby are fantastic and there has never been an issue with them. I hope that they are very proud of the first half of the game yesterday as they played bloody good footy. As for the second half forget it and look to next week.
NOCHANCE
29 Jun 2008, 19:45
On first thoughts I would have told you that i'm surprised to see you say that the umpiring was so biased toward Silvan as most of the umps I know have a large dislike for Silvan, but upon further investigation I see that it was umpired by Brett Morton.
As the Comic Book Store Guy in the Simpsons would say:
WORST UMPIRE - EVER!
* notice Farrugia playing for Warby too - very interesting
Interesting you say that about the umpires AKR as its been apparent in the 4 games Ive watched Silvan play this year the incredable run they get. Heres a tip umpires Silvan dont need any help there match payments would be more than the rest of the YVMDFL combined so let them do it themselves. Its like the umpires want to be part of the win and almost apolagetic to them when a free goes against them. "Sorry Gary but you ripped his head off" and stand there with a smile. Unfortunatly any complaint will just fall on deaf ears. Moin you made an interesting point about the umpires and Silvan, the league often say how Silvan rub them the wrong way and there not the golden child as the rest of the comp see them. But we all see the feather duster approach the league take towards them. How many did they suspend for not particapating in interleague? Salary cap, points system payment of juniors all swept aside. I wonder what would of happened if Ben Farrugia had of wanted a clearance to Silvan instead of Mt Ev? Who doesnt think the league would of stepped in?
Big Wheel
30 Jun 2008, 11:16
I was at this game on the weekend. This umpire must want a week off next week or something?? He was terrible. He was even giving it back to one of the warby supporters over the fence.
Even thou the umpire was bad I don't think the outcome would have changed.
Cat Lover
30 Jun 2008, 11:52
Now its the umpires everyone is complaining about! I agree the umpiring wasn't great on the weekend and is an issue in our league at the moment. The real concern is the fact we dont have enough umpires for the reserves and this year there is not even mentors controlling the game. If we had someone overseeing the reserves game on the weekend, maybe Ashley Beckwith wouldn't be in hospital recovering after having his cheekbone broken in 5 places. Or if there was a mentor maybe someone would have a busy Tuesday night! Gutless, weak act on a player going for the ball.
I would like to know which one of Moorcrofts 9 goals came from free kicks????
And the old "Silvan pays its under 18's" raised its head again. I invite anyone to come along on a Monday night to watch our 18's train and interview them. Funny that our kids dont receive anything other than there playing gear which they've received since 2002 but its an issue now because they are winning. Player Points System? Are we not within the rules? Haven't reached 32 points so i'd say we are! As for Ben Farrugia coming to Silvan and had he wanted to the league would've allowed it what a joke of a comment. I would assume his appeal went to the VCFL not the YVMDFL so why would they be bought into this topic. I'm sure all the Warby boys are real supportive of him and are glad he's playing where he doesn't want to! Just cashing in for the year before he heads off to Mount Ev where he REALLY wants to be! And in saying that i did notice him at Mt Ev the day Silvan played them.
Credit where its due Warby were good on the weekend and took it right up to Silvan but the umpires weren't as big a factor as what is being made out.
Oh and the interleague theory, we did have a suspension, we had players who did not make the side, Haynes and Moorcroft were made exempt with their coaching positions, injuries to players who didn't play the week before and after the inter league game.
Thats it for now, i am sure there'll be plenty of replies from those who think they are in the know!
auskickrules
30 Jun 2008, 12:01
Cat lover do you even know what Ben looks like? I am so excited i am married to a magic man. For every one who doesn't understand apparently according to Cat lover while Ben was being an important part of Warby's win against Olinda the weekend before last he was also watching Silvan play Mt Eve at Mt Eve. Mate if you are going to get on hear and try and defend your club which is great at least stick to the facts cos now you just look like a wanker.
Cat Lover
30 Jun 2008, 12:10
Did i say he was watching Mt Ev? No i said he was at Mt Ev and i know exactly what Ben looks like so need for the wanker comment thanks! Ben was at Mt Ev at around 10 am before the unders kicked off, ask him yourself if you know him and there were plenty of others who saw him. Maybe he was just watching some of the under 18's that he'll be playing with next year rather than watching the Warby 18's who he'll be playing against!
auskickrules
30 Jun 2008, 12:33
He was just finishing watching his son at Auskick before going to work then Warby and i think i'll stick with the wanker comment thanks. You didn't explain yourself at the start because you wanted to imply that he was there instead of being at Warby.
Cat Lover
30 Jun 2008, 12:58
So i was right then? He was there? I stated a fact and got called a wanker and didn't imply anything other than he was there. So can you enlighten us all as to why he wanted to make the switch after signing with Warby? From the murmurings and some of them come out of Warby is AKR has a fair bit of pull in where he plays. Oh also dont throw stones in glass houses, i dont think i look like the you know what now!
rip it up
30 Jun 2008, 13:06
I'm sure all the Warby boys are real supportive of him and are glad he's playing where he doesn't want to! Just cashing in for the year before he heads off to Mount Ev where he REALLY wants to be! And in saying that i did notice him at Mt Ev the day Silvan played them.
As someone from silvan do you think you can comment on someone cashing in playing footy?? Do you really think Haynes and the boys are playing at silvan because they really love the club $$$$$$$ :confused:
Cat Lover
30 Jun 2008, 13:14
Yeah i can comment on that. Haynes could be getting truckloads of money elsewhere and this being his first year as coach he does love the club. People who have no idea what Ben's like will make ridiculous comments but is there any club in Australia that wouldn't want him? He's done alot for our club and not just on field but as i said unless your a Silvan person you will never know.
At least we have sparked the forum up a bit cos it was dead for a while!
rip it up
30 Jun 2008, 13:17
Yeah i can comment on that. Haynes could be getting truckloads of money elsewhere and this being his first year as coach he does love the club. People who have no idea what Ben's like will make ridiculous comments but is there any club in Australia that wouldn't want him? He's done alot for our club and not just on field but as i said unless your a Silvan person you will never know.
I wouldnt have him at my club!!!! Great footballer but ...... leave the pernal insults to myself :D
auskickrules
30 Jun 2008, 13:23
Very true cat lover this forum as been all about sencond division which isn't a bad thing but a bit boring for all the first division supporters. A bit of firey to and fro is always a fun way to pass a rainy day. As i have said all along cat lover watching Silvan on the weekend they are a very impressive team. I do believe they deserve to be were they are and as for the money side of things who really cares. if they get paid a million dollars good luck to them. I am wondering though will they get bored after a while. Is the footy for them all that hard? I do believe they can be beaten but at the moment they are handing out hidings to just about every team they come across.
Cat Lover
30 Jun 2008, 13:38
I cant comment on whether its all that hard for them but the way they conduct themselves at training and there work ethic suggests to me they know they cant just turn up and things will happen for them. You said yourself they are a fit side so that all comes from hard work and preparing themselves as best they can. I think so far this year we have ran into some top sides who have had key players missing while we've been close to full strength. I did say earlier in the year when it was suggested we had it wrapt up that that was not the case and as you witnessed on the weekend we are far from unbeatable.
Still 8 rounds to go and the top sides at full strength will give us a better indication. It only takes a few injuries before any side becomes vulnerable so all we can do is take each game as it comes.
sid snot
30 Jun 2008, 14:05
the best news to come out of the weekend was the Ofcfc having a win....Mick was pleased and a great result for the hard work they have put in...should make the run home very interesting....Steve
LukeClarke
30 Jun 2008, 14:59
Good to see some action on the forum! Does get a bit boring some times with everyone pissing in each others pockets. Cant help but piss in Alex's pocket though. Was impressed with them on the weekend. Very good tall marking side. YV weekly report listed them as favourites but dont think they were quite as good as thornton...
Should be some handy in's this week for seville, including a late transfer if it goes through... hopefully we can get back on the winners list.
Well done Nath O'Keffe kicking 6 on the weekend for Eastern Ranges. Feel free to stop getting a kick mate so we can have you back at Seville... Just kidding.
NOCHANCE
30 Jun 2008, 20:07
Now its the umpires everyone is complaining about! I agree the umpiring wasn't great on the weekend and is an issue in our league at the moment. The real concern is the fact we dont have enough umpires for the reserves and this year there is not even mentors controlling the game. If we had someone overseeing the reserves game on the weekend, maybe Ashley Beckwith wouldn't be in hospital recovering after having his cheekbone broken in 5 places. Or if there was a mentor maybe someone would have a busy Tuesday night! Gutless, weak act on a player going for the ball.
I would like to know which one of Moorcrofts 9 goals came from free kicks????
And the old "Silvan pays its under 18's" raised its head again. I invite anyone to come along on a Monday night to watch our 18's train and interview them. Funny that our kids dont receive anything other than there playing gear which they've received since 2002 but its an issue now because they are winning. Player Points System? Are we not within the rules? Haven't reached 32 points so i'd say we are! As for Ben Farrugia coming to Silvan and had he wanted to the league would've allowed it what a joke of a comment. I would assume his appeal went to the VCFL not the YVMDFL so why would they be bought into this topic. I'm sure all the Warby boys are real supportive of him and are glad he's playing where he doesn't want to! Just cashing in for the year before he heads off to Mount Ev where he REALLY wants to be! And in saying that i did notice him at Mt Ev the day Silvan played them.
Credit where its due Warby were good on the weekend and took it right up to Silvan but the umpires weren't as big a factor as what is being made out.
Oh and the interleague theory, we did have a suspension, we had players who did not make the side, Haynes and Moorcroft were made exempt with their coaching positions, injuries to players who didn't play the week before and after the inter league game.
Thats it for now, i am sure there'll be plenty of replies from those who
think they are in the know!
Good to see you fire up there Cat Lover. Terrible to hear about AB great player and a good bloke. Couldnt imagine that it was deliberate. No one was saying that the umpires have won Silvan games and AKR couldnt have been more clear stating that it wasnt the differance in the Warburton game. But in has been a common gripe amongst the three teams Ive watched Silvan play this year. Each time I beleive they had a case to whinge as they were on the receiving end of some shockers. Also very unfair to have a crack at Ben Farrugia or AKR for that matter. Im happy to hear hes playing again and speaking to the young blokes Ive happened to meet from Warby they couldnt be happier to get the oppurtunity to play with him. One thing about Ben it wouldnt matter if he was getting nil dollars or were hes playing his committment to his teammates could never be questioned.
Question to you AKR how many Silvan players and supporters made there way into the rooms after the game? Also Cat lover did you manage to catch up with Humpa after the kind words you had to say about him?
Moin Khan
1 Jul 2008, 11:07
I wouldnt have him at my club!!!! Great footballer but ...... leave the pernal insults to myself :D
You wouldn't have Ben Haynes at your club????
And how IS your club going at present??
rip it up
1 Jul 2008, 12:22
Sorry forgot how great of a club silvan is, there top of the ladder. They also seem to enjoy a beer with each other after a game too.
Moin Khan
1 Jul 2008, 15:29
Sorry forgot how great of a club silvan is, there top of the ladder. They also seem to enjoy a beer with each other after a game too.
So no one will have a beer with you after the game, is that your big problem?
rip it up
1 Jul 2008, 15:55
Just saying theres alot more to a club than winning.
Valley Spy
1 Jul 2008, 16:01
As for Ben Farrugia coming to Silvan and had he wanted to the league would've allowed it what a joke of a comment. I would assume his appeal went to the VCFL not the YVMDFL so why would they be bought into this topic.
Fair point there Cat Lover. If Farrugia wanted to play for Silvan it never would have made it to appeal you would have paid out his contract and the clearance would never have been rejected. How many contracted players have Silvan had sucessfully cleared to them in the past couple of seasons? Bullen, Newell, Cook, just to name a few.
Just out of curiousity who was the suspension? They must have been unfortunate injuries 10 players named in the initial training squad and not one made it. :rolleyes: Perhaps you should let some of your club people know that it is dumb to sprout off in public that the league has no right to suspend players for missing interleague.
Valley Spy
1 Jul 2008, 16:06
So no one will have a beer with you after the game, is that your big problem?
Probably couldnt squeeze past the 10 people in the rooms after a 100 point win. No wonder Webby keeps bringing up the 'merge' topic.
Cat Lover
1 Jul 2008, 16:55
The suspended player was Tyson Wheeler. Not sure who the Silvan person your talking about that was spruiking sorry. I think you may find our players only return the favor to clubs who come in and have a beer in our rooms something that some opposition clubs have not done this year. Admittedly i don't agree with that, i think every Senior player from both sides plus supporters should stay around for a drink or two no matter where they played (Home or Away) and regardless of the result. We played 6 of the first 8 games at home and only about 2 clubs came into our rooms yet we aren't sitting here sooking about it. Thats just footy these days, people have other commitments and stuff to do outside of footy.
Cat Lover
1 Jul 2008, 17:01
Also NOCHANCE sorry hadn't replied to your comment. No i didn't catch up with Humper as there was no need to was there? I got to the game a bit late so wasn't around for the reserves game but from what i'm told it was a good close one. Reserves comp is all over the shop at the moment with some suprise results. And the 18's is looking like there's a few teams who can take it out this year. I heard Warby were pretty impressive on saturday.
rip it up
1 Jul 2008, 17:20
I think you may find our players only return the favor to clubs who come in and have a beer in our rooms something that some opposition clubs have not done this year. Admittedly i don't agree with that, i think every Senior player from both sides plus supporters should stay around for a drink or two no matter where they played (Home or Away) and regardless of the result. We played 6 of the first 8 games at home and only about 2 clubs came into our rooms yet we aren't sitting here sooking about it. Thats just footy these days, people have other commitments and stuff to do outside of footy.
we got a fines system in place if you don't go into the away rooms after a game no matter the result the player gets a fine only small but seems to be working. One thing we agree on CL. :thumbsu:
NOCHANCE
1 Jul 2008, 18:12
Any light on Kit Dale being in the reserves on Saturday? Injured perhaps?
NOCHANCE
1 Jul 2008, 18:43
Rip it ups club will be around for his children to play for which is the most important thing. Short term sucsess doesnt always garantee long term.
NOCHANCE
1 Jul 2008, 18:46
Also NOCHANCE sorry hadn't replied to your comment. No i didn't catch up with Humper as there was no need to was there? I got to the game a bit late so wasn't around for the reserves game but from what i'm told it was a good close one. Reserves comp is all over the shop at the moment with some suprise results. And the 18's is looking like there's a few teams who can take it out this year. I heard Warby were pretty impressive on saturday.
Amazing what Cat lover sees, wasnt at the reserves but knows what happened to Ash Beckworth! Gutless act you said but you didnt see it? Does this mean everything else youve said youve just made up. Revealing dont you think? NEXT!:rolleyes::rolleyes:
The Big Arab
1 Jul 2008, 22:50
Does Silvan being the best team drag the other teams up if they cant afford to recruit to the same level of dollars. I know the benefactor of Silvan has his hand in his kick for other teams and the league so good on him. I just am not sure that other teams can improve their list based on local talent and abit of luck in recruiting the players everyone needs like key position.
I think most teams have been treading water this year and havent really improved in Div 1 as there has been no real incentive in playing for 2nd.
Cat Lover
2 Jul 2008, 10:55
Unfortunately i didn't see the incident that smashed A.B.'s cheekbone into pieces and am only going on what he told me. Had i have witnessed it i would've been more than happy to play a part in an investigation but from what i can gather no one can recall the bloke who did it so he may just be lucky. I also have heard that if anyone did see it then the club would've initiated an investigation because seeing the damage it has done to Ashley it's just wrong and not in the spirit of the game.
Kit was not injured, nor was Sam Hills. Both players were left out of the side but you would have to ask the coach why that was the case cos its none of my business, i'm not a part of the coaching staff.
Moin Khan
2 Jul 2008, 11:39
Rip it ups club will be around for his children to play for which is the most important thing. Short term sucsess doesnt always garantee long term.
I'm quite happy with the short term success option. Sorry, but I would much rather play in 3 or 4 flags in a short period of time and have all the enjoyment that goes with it rather than being mediocre for decades on end wondering what it would be like to be a 'winner'.
I'm sure you blokes are quite happy sitting around after each season wondering what it would be like to win something bitching how other clubs go about winning.
At least you can say that you are a 'family' club and you're playing for the future.
If my kids smart he will go and play where he will be successful, not where I played, and not where he can sit around claiming to be 'loyal' whilst finishing 6th every year.
I'm sorry - but I am sick of people complaining about teams that win local sporting comps. It happens in every sport. How about giving them credit.
I'm pretty sure Silvan has created about 1500% more media exposure to the YVMDFL than any other club has in the past 50 years, and i'm quite certain Webby contributes to the league much more than people give him credit for too.
auskickrules
2 Jul 2008, 12:00
I agree with giving credit where credit is due and i believe i have done that on several occasions. My whole point is that anyone watching the game on Saturday, Warby or Silvan supporters there was an obvious bias. If you were honest with yourselves you should be able to admit that. I still maintain that Silvan are an awesome unit. They deserve their spot and i am sure they work for it. It would just be nice to see a game based soley on the merits and skills of both sides. In saying that as a non Silvan supporter Please someone beat them this year.LOL
rip it up
2 Jul 2008, 12:37
I'd love for my club to be winning premierships i'd do anything to help my clubs on ground success. But one thing i wanna be proud of is to be able to say that i played at my club through tough times and good times and be able to say that its my club. Im not disputing silvan are a class unit or the work webby does haven't even mensioned webby, so don't know were ya pulling that one from. I love my club im proud of my clubs success in the past, i hate losing but i love being around my mates fighting hard to win.
NOCHANCE
2 Jul 2008, 21:01
I'm quite happy with the short term success option. Sorry, but I would much rather play in 3 or 4 flags in a short period of time and have all the enjoyment that goes with it rather than being mediocre for decades on end wondering what it would be like to be a 'winner'.
I'm sure you blokes are quite happy sitting around after each season wondering what it would be like to win something bitching how other clubs go about winning.
At least you can say that you are a 'family' club and you're playing for the future.
If my kids smart he will go and play where he will be successful, not where I played, and not where he can sit around claiming to be 'loyal' whilst finishing 6th every year.
I'm sorry - but I am sick of people complaining about teams that win local sporting comps. It happens in every sport. How about giving them credit.
I'm pretty sure Silvan has created about 1500% more media exposure to the YVMDFL than any other club has in the past 50 years, and i'm quite certain Webby contributes to the league much more than people give him credit for too.
Its this sort of selfish attitude that destroys local clubs. If we all had your attitude our kids would have no clubs to play for and more importantly no pride in there club or jumper. Surely any one with any brains at all would understand that building towards a flag, maintaining a solid local core of players and supporters and having a tilt at at when your time comes is better long term. Whats winning a few flags then the club folding in a few years acheive? Surely being able to walk into the rooms in twenty years time and saying you played 200+ games and a flag is what its about. Watching your team play in what ever capacity is better than no team at all. Many a club has been brought down by a committee hell bent on a flag only to destroy the very fabric of the club in the process. I remember playing Silvan when they were happy in 2nnd Div after the games there rooms were full after a loss. Now they win by 20 goals and we outnumbered them in there rooms thirty to five at 5.30. Dont tell me thats good for football.
NOCHANCE
2 Jul 2008, 21:10
Unfortunately i didn't see the incident that smashed A.B.'s cheekbone into pieces and am only going on what he told me. Had i have witnessed it i would've been more than happy to play a part in an investigation but from what i can gather no one can recall the bloke who did it so he may just be lucky. I also have heard that if anyone did see it then the club would've initiated an investigation because seeing the damage it has done to Ashley it's just wrong and not in the spirit of the game.
Kit was not injured, nor was Sam Hills. Both players were left out of the side but you would have to ask the coach why that was the case cos its none of my business, i'm not a part of the coaching staff.
Did you maybe just think it was an accident?:rolleyes:
Moin Khan
3 Jul 2008, 17:53
Its this sort of selfish attitude that destroys local clubs. If we all had your attitude our kids would have no clubs to play for and more importantly no pride in there club or jumper. Surely any one with any brains at all would understand that building towards a flag, maintaining a solid local core of players and supporters and having a tilt at at when your time comes is better long term. Whats winning a few flags then the club folding in a few years acheive? Surely being able to walk into the rooms in twenty years time and saying you played 200+ games and a flag is what its about. Watching your team play in what ever capacity is better than no team at all. Many a club has been brought down by a committee hell bent on a flag only to destroy the very fabric of the club in the process. I remember playing Silvan when they were happy in 2nnd Div after the games there rooms were full after a loss. Now they win by 20 goals and we outnumbered them in there rooms thirty to five at 5.30. Dont tell me thats good for football.
Which clubs have been destroyed???
Croydon Nth? Worowa? Boronia Park?
stifler's mom
3 Jul 2008, 23:28
Maybe NOCHANCE should have completed year 7, it may really have improved his job prospects.
Moin,
Could not agree more, success is success and the more that a club can have the better.
To all those who have this "tall poppy syndrome" - get over yourselves, harden the f&*k up and try a little harder
The Drifter
5 Jul 2008, 22:27
Where is silvan going to be when the money runs out?
The Drifter
5 Jul 2008, 22:32
How many players will turn up to Silvans 10 year premiership reuion? Thats if the club is still around.
Where is silvan going to be when the money runs out?
Back where they came from Second Division Scum
The Drifter
6 Jul 2008, 13:05
Back where they came from Second Division Scum
Top Post
NOCHANCE
6 Jul 2008, 16:50
Top Post
I wonder how the few blokes that stick around will perform after all the mouthing off theyve done. The blokes who while they were playing seniors were uncompetitive who stand there after there twos game that theyve lost by the way, then put s#$t on the firsts all arvo. :)
Phil Russell
6 Jul 2008, 21:49
I feel sorry for you moin because you obviously have never been involved in a close club where bringing home the premierships is about building up the local talent and really deserving it not just buying them!!! Playing for the same club all my life i wouldnt ever contemplate leaving for a cheap premiership no matter how good it feels it would never be as good as winning one with 21 of your best mates!!!
Which Yarra Valley Club does Moin support Monbulk or Silvan? It may take us until about 5:00PM Grand Final day to find out!!
Cat Lover
7 Jul 2008, 16:57
I'm suprised one of you haven't said Moin's on the payroll as well! Let's see which clubs stand the test of time, we are being criticised for what? Having a bit of success after long years without it. Short memories people, very short memories.
drago from ussr
7 Jul 2008, 17:42
hey everyone..... i dont no if it was an issue every where else on the weekend but the NEW SWEARING RULE has too change.....
For those who dont no the umpires approached us before the game and told us that any one who swears even too themselves as long as the umpires could hear it would be yellow carded for 15mins with a free kick and 50 m penalty awarded too the opposite side....
and i for one think its the stupidest rule in history..........
playing against yarra junction on the weekend we had at least 4 - 5 players from both teams sent off for swearing at themselves (none of which could be heard from the crowd) and at least 90 per cent of them lead in direct goals ,not too mention having to play short for 15mins....
both captains went to the umpires asking for a compensation at quater time saying this is just ridiculous, and at least minimising the penalty but they wouldnt budge
i was also told alex had three players sent off in the last quater and lost by a goal...
i for one dont wanna see a grand final come down to who swears the least...if afl players are aloud to do it whilst being watched by a nation y are we penalised. this is footy not netball.. i understand there are families close so award a free kick if its loud enough the crowd can hear it or if its directed at an umpire send it them off then but saturday was a joke....
i dont no who they were trying to please
dishlickers
7 Jul 2008, 17:50
i agree drago. the yg v lakers game had the same problem. 4 players sent off for the game all for swearing only loud enough for the umps to hear. really cost the lakers in the 2nd quater when they had 2 players sent off together for 15min. only good thing about it was that the umpires were consistent with the rule.
rip it up
7 Jul 2008, 18:08
We were told if its loud enough to hear over the fence you'll get sent off, the umpires gave a couple of warnings through the game but no one got sent off :thumbsu:. Ridiculous rule though.
I'm suprised one of you haven't said Moin's on the payroll as well! Let's see which clubs stand the test of time, we are being criticised for what? Having a bit of success after long years without it. Short memories people, very short memories..
Lets see were Silvan are in 10 years time. When the Hayne$ and Moorcroft$ will be long gone.
P.S Moin wont be accepted on the Payroll until his loyalties are established
NOCHANCE
7 Jul 2008, 20:49
Lets see were Silvan are in 10 years time. When the Hayne$ and Moorcroft$ will be long gone.
P.S Moin wont be accepted on the Payroll until his loyalties are established
I dont think loyalty is a trait required to get a gig at Silvan. I may be wrong but just a hunch tells me Im right.:)
LukeClarke
8 Jul 2008, 13:49
i agree drago. the yg v lakers game had the same problem. 4 players sent off for the game all for swearing only loud enough for the umps to hear. really cost the lakers in the 2nd quater when they had 2 players sent off together for 15min. only good thing about it was that the umpires were consistent with the rule.
Our assistant coach got a warning for swearing in his halftime speech. The majority of umpires in 2nd divvy are bad enough as it is, as if we need rules that are going to make life harder.
At least your guys were sent off for swearing. I was sent off a few weeks ago for calling an umpire a "clown" after he robbed me of a free kick. What kind of an ass clown would deem being called a "clown" reason enough to send someone off.
Our assistant coach got a warning for swearing in his halftime speech. The majority of umpires in 2nd divvy are bad enough as it is, as if we need rules that are going to make life harder.
At least your guys were sent off for swearing. I was sent off a few weeks ago for calling an umpire a "clown" after he robbed me of a free kick. What kind of an ass clown would deem being called a "clown" reason enough to send someone off.
What happened to you boys on Saturday Luke. I know my boys have improved out of site this year but there were at least 6 blokes playing in the ones for Powelly that would not get a game in most twos sides. Fair turnaround after the 150 point flogging you dished out in round 3. I am tipping Luke Darwell and Rusty Cowan must have torn it up.
in2restedonlooker
8 Jul 2008, 16:58
Have to agree with you boys that the umpires have gone a little bit too far with the swearing though I didn't see a game on the weekend I heard there were mass sending offs. But if the players were told before the game that you would be sent off even if it was only quite why did so many get sent off surely it was a bit of bad discipline on the players part as well. But have to agree with drago I chatted with an old mate from alex and they played the last 15 minutes with only 16 and had a couple of others sent off as well. Not to mention the 50's and resulting goals. You hate to see games go like this but I'm sure the chasers in Divvy 2 weren't to upset when they heard alex lost.
in2restedonlooker
8 Jul 2008, 17:12
playing against yarra junction on the weekend
Obviously you play for Thornton drago I haven't seen a game in a few weeks of any side but I was just wondering what has happened to a couple of players. I see creed still is not playing after rosy told me about a month ago he is only out for 1 and Hall hasn't played the last couple. Are these guys going to be back for the 2 massive games you have coming up??? Also you said I didn't put alex in the group the other week and I think know we know why. A loss last week and a tough game against the lakers this week especially if this rain keeps up and then you boys. My belief is they have too many tall players in their side and they can be exposed by good running sides and when conditions don't suit....your thoughts
LukeClarke
8 Jul 2008, 17:37
What happened to you boys on Saturday Luke. I know my boys have improved out of site this year but there were at least 6 blokes playing in the ones for Powelly that would not get a game in most twos sides. Fair turnaround after the 150 point flogging you dished out in round 3. I am tipping Luke Darwell and Rusty Cowan must have torn it up.
Cowan and Darwell were good. Camilleri? i think his name is, was good as well. We are a different side now than the one that beat them by 150 earlier in the year. Long Term injuries to key players and the loss of O'Keffe has hurt us, but ins't the only reason we have struggled lately. Its not for me to say why we are losing, but its fair to say once a teams loses a few games the confidence drops and its hard to get back on the winners list. I think we can turn it around, but a bit to late given there is only 5 or 6 games left.
I see creed still is not playing after rosy told me about a month ago he is only out for 1
Did I really say he was only out for 1 week? I wouldn't have had a clue at that stage how Digger was going to come up, thus my comment about hoping his Mum was feeding him up on chicken soup to build him up. I don't feel it's right for me to give out info about players but Digger has had an unbelievably bad run of luck, and his initial problem isn't what's kept him out so long. It's great the Boners have finally got some players back and Hally and Digger's impending returns will be very welcome additions at opposite ends of the ground. Go Boners!
Cowan and Darwell were good. Camilleri? i think his name is, was good as well. We are a different side now than the one that beat them by 150 earlier in the year. Long Term injuries to key players and the loss of O'Keffe has hurt us, but ins't the only reason we have struggled lately. Its not for me to say why we are losing, but its fair to say once a teams loses a few games the confidence drops and its hard to get back on the winners list. I think we can turn it around, but a bit to late given there is only 5 or 6 games left.
Forgot about Sammy Camilleri as well, very good footballer. The natives on the hill would have been making a fair bit of noise late in the last quarter wouldnt they. Would have been a good atmosphere if you were a Powelly player/supporter they always make a lot of noise for a little crowd.
Monniehawk
8 Jul 2008, 21:24
Quote:
Originally Posted by drago from ussr View Post
hey everyone..... i dont no if it was an issue every where else on the weekend but the NEW SWEARING RULE has too change.....
For those who dont no the umpires approached us before the game and told us that any one who swears even too themselves as long as the umpires could hear it would be yellow carded for 15mins with a free kick and 50 m penalty awarded too the opposite side....
playing against yarra junction on the weekend we had at least 4 - 5 players from both teams sent off for swearing at themselves (none of which could be heard from the crowd) and at least 90 per cent of them lead in direct goals ,not too mention having to play short for 15mins....
both captains went to the umpires asking for a compensation at quater time saying this is just ridiculous, and at least minimising the penalty but they wouldnt budge
i was also told alex had three players sent off in the last quater and lost by a goal...
i for one dont wanna see a grand final come down to who swears the least...if afl players are aloud to do it whilst being watched by a nation y are we penalised. this is footy not netball.. i understand there are families close so award a free kick if its loud enough the crowd can hear it or if its directed at an umpire send it them off then but saturday was a joke....
i dont no who they were trying to please[/QUOTE]
There are a couple of disturbing points that rear their heads regarding this issue.
1. While it is laudable that bad language and abuse is curtailed - according to the rules - (we are all family clubs), it could have been handled a little more thoughtfully.
2. The YVMDFL Board were totally unaware of the move - the pres and CEO were at a Monbulk function and were as confused about it as the rest of us. I was embarassed for them as well as the umpires who were severely compromised and had to endure the wrath of confused fans and players.
3. The directive apparently came from within the Umpires themselves. It appears (no confirmation on this) that it was a reaction to an unsavoury incident the previous week where an umpire was poorly treated. All umpires need protection from such bad behaviour, but is this the way to do it?
4. If such a drastic action is deemed necessary, tell everyone (inc. Board, clubs and players), well beforehand - not on the day!! The clubs, if aware of serious problems, are well able to handle it effectively at ground level without the need for such heavy-handed methods.
5. Who did authorise an apparent change in the rules of the game to include a 50m penalty in addition to a free, send off, etc.? The League through its clubs make the rules - umpires are not legislators; they are enforcement officers!
6. The action was ill-advised because it created conflict that saw umpires abused more than I can ever recall in the recent past. If the measure was intended to protect umpires, it actually exposed them unnecessarily to even more! Shame!
Before I vacate the soapbox: in future, think through the ramifications of knee-jerk responses! The umpires are an important part of the game and the clubs do want to work together. Obviously so do the majority of umpires! Our umpires, players and the fans deserve a whole lot better than what was dished up last weekend!
Phil Russell
8 Jul 2008, 23:10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drago from ussr View Post
i dont no who they were trying to please
There are a couple of disturbing points that rear their heads regarding this issue.
1. While it is laudable that bad language and abuse is curtailed - according to the rules - (we are all family clubs), it could have been handled a little more thoughtfully.
2. The YVMDFL Board were totally unaware of the move - the pres and CEO were at a Monbulk function and were as confused about it as the rest of us. I was embarassed for them as well as the umpires who were severely compromised and had to endure the wrath of confused fans and players.
3. The directive apparently came from within the Umpires themselves. It appears (no confirmation on this) that it was a reaction to an unsavoury incident the previous week where an umpire was poorly treated. All umpires need protection from such bad behaviour, but is this the way to do it?
4. If such a drastic action is deemed necessary, tell everyone (inc. Board, clubs and players), well beforehand - not on the day!! The clubs, if aware of serious problems, are well able to handle it effectively at ground level without the need for such heavy-handed methods.
5. Who did authorise an apparent change in the rules of the game to include a 50m penalty in addition to a free, send off, etc.? The League through its clubs make the rules - umpires are not legislators; they are enforcement officers!
6. The action was ill-advised because it created conflict that saw umpires abused more than I can ever recall in the recent past. If the measure was intended to protect umpires, it actually exposed them unnecessarily to even more! Shame!
Before I vacate the soapbox: in future, think through the ramifications of knee-jerk responses! The umpires are an important part of the game and the clubs do want to work together. Obviously so do the majority of umpires! Our umpires, players and the fans deserve a whole lot better than what was dished up last weekend!
I totally agree with all your comments monnie Peter Cameron is a joke and he thinks that the umpires are the most important people in footy!! how can he go round willy nilly changing rules and different interpretations of rules without disscussing this with the league. cameron is ruining the umpires as the standard has dropped so substancally in the past couple of years it also explains the umpire shortage. He as an umpire is very arrogant and lives in the past for the holding the ball rule he just wont pay it and has taught all umpires not to pay it which slows down the game and adds to stoppages. I think its time for the league to have a good hard look at the umpire fraturnity because the time for change is now before its too late!
drago from ussr
9 Jul 2008, 10:06
Firstly well put monnie hawk .... im not having a go at the umpires we had on the weekend they were instructed to do a job on the weekend and to there credit did exactly what they were told , its just well you heard my point....
Hopefully something is done about this sooner rather than later.
Interested...are you a supporter of alex or thornton you seem to no a lot about the 2 clubs....... i do play for thornton and the injuries to the big players such as hall and creed well there both 1-2 weeks away both could just about play this week but might be rested to make sure there right well just have to see i guess.....plus a couple of others coming bac as well should be good to see the club getting bac to some form
in2restedonlooker
9 Jul 2008, 13:28
Interested...are you a supporter of alex or thornton you seem to no a lot about the 2 clubs....... i do play for thornton and the injuries to the big players such as hall and creed well there both 1-2 weeks away both could just about play this week but might be rested to make sure there right well just have to see i guess.....plus a couple of others coming bac as well should be good to see the club getting bac to some form
I only worked out that you play for thornton because you wrote that you played yarra junction on the weekend. I don't actually support either but like to see them go well as I used to live in Alex quite a few years ago and used to follow the cgfl. Both clubs still have alot of players around from that time. And I have also seen each team in yvmdfl divvy 2 play at least once this year and many of them twice including thornton and alex and regularly look up score and selected sides. I haven't seen any in the past 3 weeks due to work commitments but may be able to get to a couple of games a bit closer to home (pakky) in the next few weeks.
Aaah god bless the old CGFL :thumbsu:
14th Tiger
9 Jul 2008, 21:55
Aaah god bless the old CGFL :thumbsu:
That was the best league goin round. Such great rivalries we had, what a shame...
localfootyguru
10 Jul 2008, 21:32
Interesting to read the comments regarding umpiring. We have always been weel known for the standard of umpiring over the years. It wasn't that long ago where we had all games with three umpires and some real good ones too who even had some personality.
What went wrong? Perhaps someone can fill us in on why things went pear shaped.
jacksec
11 Jul 2008, 11:58
Interesting to read the comments regarding umpiring. We have always been weel known for the standard of umpiring over the years. It wasn't that long ago where we had all games with three umpires and some real good ones too who even had some personality.
What went wrong? Perhaps someone can fill us in on why things went pear shaped.
The answer is very simple. Peter Cameron. Since he took over control of the umpires is when the rot set in. Until his services are dispensed with things will not improve and the respect between players and umpires will continue to deteriorate. One never knows from one week to the next what rules of the game he is going to alter at his whim. Cameron must go.
johnboy
11 Jul 2008, 14:59
Recruitment and retention of umpires in the Valley has been particularly difficult over the past 3 years. The Umpires Academy has thrown up some good umpires but unfortunately it is difficult to keep these kids when the choice between footy and umpiring is put up. Most choose footy. Who wants to get abused by in most cases morons who have no idea of the rules of the game!
Umpiring can be particularly political when it comes to selections. In particular Finals selections. Much more so than a footy club. Guys get their noses out of joint and decide that rather than improving themselves over the pre season they would rather not umpire at all. This results in the loss of good umpires at times.
Peter is definitely not to blame for the current state of umpiring. The only rule that is consistently different to other leagues is the holding the ball rule. This is not a bad thing. What is wrong with rewarding the bloke getting the footy. Like it used to be! We seem to watch the AFL now where the outside player is rewarded for standing over the playing with the ball holding his jumper. This in my opinion is not holding the ball. I do however agree with rewarding incorrect disposal.
We are not the only league struggling. Talk to the other country footy leagues and it is difficult to get umpires everywhere. Even the EFL are not travelling as well as in prior years.
My advice to the guys on the forum is to get out and try it yourself. It's not that easy. It takes plenty of mental strength to get abused for 2 hours every Saturday from all and sundry. Some blokes take the abuse personally. I find it is always better to laugh or smile at the crowd. When walking off a ground look them in the eye. Most are happy to abuse the living christ out of you while you are on the ground but are gutless when looked in the eye. If you have a particular issue with me come into the social club after a game, I will always be in there having a drink and am happy to discuss my decisions. There is never any hard feelings!
Enjoy the weekend and good luck to your teams :thumbsu:
rip it up
11 Jul 2008, 15:39
you wanna see poor umpires, go down watch divy 4 EFL absolutely disgraceful, any divy in the EFL in that case, they make our umpires look like angels. :thumbsu:
LukeClarke
11 Jul 2008, 16:08
you wanna see poor umpires, go down watch divy 4 EFL absolutely disgraceful, any divy in the EFL in that case, they make our umpires look like angels. :thumbsu:
The 2s games ive watched have had the best white maggots. Its just local blokes from each respective team. They may miss a few frees, but they make up for it by not paying stupid ones or getting on power trips.
Can i get into trouble for calling them white maggots on here?? Cant imagine it will help my free kick chances.... Not that i get many anyway. Bloody White Maggots.
RustyHawk
11 Jul 2008, 19:30
The 2s games ive watched have had the best white maggots. Its just local blokes from each respective team. They may miss a few frees, but they make up for it by not paying stupid ones or getting on power trips.
Can i get into trouble for calling them white maggots on here?? Cant imagine it will help my free kick chances.... Not that i get many anyway. Bloody White Maggots.
Not from us but who knows if any umps are reading..... good luck.