Pages :
[
8]
Got a bad knee
11 Jul 2008, 20:34
I hope the umps are reading this they were hard to work out
Monniehawk
11 Jul 2008, 20:57
Interesting to read the comments regarding umpiring. We have always been weel known for the standard of umpiring over the years. It wasn't that long ago where we had all games with three umpires and some real good ones too who even had some personality.
What went wrong? Perhaps someone can fill us in on why things went pear shaped.
Whoa! Steady boys! Suddenly the focus has shifted from discussion of an umpiring interpretation to canning umpires!:eek:
There is nothing 'wrong' with the umpiring in this league - it is a little down on what it was a couple of years ago, but to blame Peter Cameron is a bit over the top.
First, he wasn't on the scene when there was a mass exodus (x2, actually), so he is not responsible for umps leaving. Those exoduses were other internal umpire problems. Secondly, it is a bit cheap to fire off at someone who has an amazing record and is still offering his time and skills.
Third, the umpiring in the YVMDFL has long been better than most leagues I am familiar with. Even now, when we have lost so many top umpires, it is more than comparable.
My initial point was about the new interpretation and how poorly its introduction was done. If Peter was responsible for it, then I think it is a rare slip in judgement - but a slip nonetheless - and it needs addressing!
Let's attack the issue rather than the personality.
Well done on the Umpire Academy - What a winner that has been - and congrats to Will Eastmure and the umps for confronting a big problem for us.:thumbsu:
wastefarmer
11 Jul 2008, 22:53
I feel sorry for you moin because you obviously have never been involved in a close club where bringing home the premierships is about building up the local talent and really deserving it not just buying them!!! Playing for the same club all my life i wouldnt ever contemplate leaving for a cheap premiership no matter how good it feels it would never be as good as winning one with 21 of your best mates!!!
Totally agree. Home grown talent with a couple of imports is the way to go and is more rewarding than buying a flag. What Webb has done to Yarra mountain league is wrong.
Good for the boys gettng the money but bad for the culture of the competition.
localfootyguru
12 Jul 2008, 11:30
Well said Monnie and Johnboy - umpiring is a difficult task - no doubt about it but my comment was only based on the fact that it was not long ago that the competition probably had the best umpiring group in Victoria with unbeliveable quality and numbers which was shown by umpires in all matches and three umpires in all senior games.
John and Steve Edwards at the time were bloody fantastic assets for our league with what they did for umpiring at the time, especially in the area of recruitment of quality umpires of which there were a number. They left and what happened? Everything seemed to slip and there was no building on that hard work with many guys moving on.
I still think our league has some good umpires and yes things change, but we have slipped with the standard of umpiring in recent years from my observations.
Have to say that the EFL is worse though - some of their guys are a disgrace.
Moin Khan
12 Jul 2008, 15:05
Where is silvan going to be when the money runs out?
Same place it's been for the last 200 years - about 10km north of Monbulk.
Moin Khan
12 Jul 2008, 15:13
Interesting to read the comments regarding umpiring. We have always been weel known for the standard of umpiring over the years. It wasn't that long ago where we had all games with three umpires and some real good ones too who even had some personality.
What went wrong? Perhaps someone can fill us in on why things went pear shaped.
His initials could start with Will I reckon... Bit of a co-incidence when he came in - everyone went out!!!
[quote=Monniehawk;11674805]Whoa! Steady boys! Suddenly the focus has shifted from discussion of an umpiring interpretation to canning umpires!:eek:
There is nothing 'wrong' with the umpiring in this league - it is a little down on what it was a couple of years ago, but to blame Peter Cameron is a bit over the top.
First, he wasn't on the scene when there was a mass exodus (x2, actually), so he is not responsible for umps leaving. Those exoduses were other internal umpire problems. Secondly, it is a bit cheap to fire off at someone who has an amazing record and is still offering his time and skills.
Third, the umpiring in the YVMDFL has long been better than most leagues I am familiar with. Even now, when we have lost so many top umpires, it is more than comparable.
My initial point was about the new interpretation and how poorly its introduction was done. If Peter was responsible for it, then I think it is a rare slip in judgement - but a slip nonetheless - and it needs addressing!
Let's attack the issue rather than the personality.
Well done on the Umpire Academy - What a winner that has been - and congrats to Will Eastmure and the umps for confronting a big problem for us.:thumbsu:[/quotEe]
Maybe if that bald peanut would shut up and just umpire the game players would have more respect for him. He always got something to say. He umpired VFL/AFL big deal. Arn't they the people who always got 5 minutes a game when thay played because they were so shit.
hawks fan
13 Jul 2008, 13:10
Maybe if that bald peanut would shut up and just umpire the game players would have more respect for him. He always got something to say. He umpired VFL/AFL big deal. Arn't they the people who always got 5 minutes a game when thay played because they were so shit.[/quote]
Sirviv,
I am surprised you know who Peter Cameron is. Does this mean that you may become an umpire, I have heard that you only get 5 minutes a game and that is on the bench for the reserves. Your logic for becoming an umpire is ridiculous. Does this mean to become a copper you have to commit crimes, to become a banker you need lots of money. The reason people become umpires is to put something back into the game. Yes some people may not be good enough to play a higher level of football, but also others do it as they may have injuries from playing. If the footy world was full of people like you, guess what there would be no games, because you would not get any umpires. I bet you are the two's player that warms the bench, then sits there watching the one's game and sinks some tinnies with your "mates" and throws abuse at people who are trying to do their best out there umpiring. A simple question for you Sirviv. Have you ever considered becoming an umpire, or is that below you.
Mr Seaford
13 Jul 2008, 18:48
Can anyone tell me how former Seaford U18s Matt Doyle and Owen Uongo are going for Yea . Would dearly love to see these young blokes back in the Yellow and Black.
first of all mate yea is yellow and black so you have got your wish.
we have played yea twice and matty doyle played well both times hard to stop good skills hard at it. owen played the first game and rucked all day against one of the better ruckman in div 2 and did very well.
yea have done well to get those boys. could you tell us their connection with yea and how they came to play for them.
Mr Seaford
13 Jul 2008, 22:41
Fair enough about the colours Pupsta,is thejumper the same though? I beleive Matty has a good mate who has played up there and was able to talk him into accepting some of the money that they have on offer this season. Owee went with him for company. Thornton/Eildon your club ? Have had a couple of cold ones in your rooms and your ground is a good one to watch a game at. From memory Rob Elphinstone was coaching or involved there,another ex Seaford boy. Just love the Resort and the Golden Trout too.
So whattya know
14 Jul 2008, 22:34
you wanna see poor umpires, go down watch divy 4 EFL absolutely disgraceful, any divy in the EFL in that case, they make our umpires look like angels. :thumbsu:
It is highly unlikely umpires read these posts , even if they did they wouldnt respond.
But for what its worth heres my 20cents worth ......
As you can see on here many people at many clubs have a growing frustration at that the way games are being umpired .
Holding the ball and part of the game since the game started way back all those years , now its gone . A player can break two tackles and then when the third tackler holds him up he just has to hang onto the ball and then yep the whistle goes ! Ball up what the .... players and spectators love to see tackling but guess what ?
No rewards for tackling at all .
What a about mid season new rules !! Swearing out loud enough for the crowd to hear it and what about the penalty ! geeez send off , free kick and 50 metres ! And the best part still is the inconsistent paying of this interpretation of which rule ? In the 2 games since this rule as ben in place ive seen 1 guy sent off for it and no one heard a thing and Ive heard some sensational stuff come from the ground and nothing is done ! wow its heavy price to pay for a new rule mid season !
Now the biggest problem clubs have , Umpires umpireing with pre concieved ideas about how particular players are going to play and then persecuteing them during games . Big guy's cant bump smaller guys because yep new rule now Its too rough ,fair bump rule gone, I also know of a player sent off for being on the recieving end of a huge punch , and the player throwing the punch only a yellow card .
I also know of a player who has given the game away , he feels umpired out of the game .
What ever happend to umpires paying it as they see it ? Isnt that the way it should be ?
Now the last thing id like to add is when will clubs get the oppurtunity to provide feedback to umpires after a game ? At the moment they cant and thats why umpires are the biggest show in town , they dont have anyone to answer too.
gday mate..
these boys are doing a top notch job in Yea. It is great to have them up in Yea. Both are playing very good football and from what i can tell enjoying it.
Nobster72
14 Jul 2008, 23:33
It is highly unlikely umpires read these posts , even if they did they wouldnt respond.
But for what its worth heres my 20cents worth ......
As you can see on here many people at many clubs have a growing frustration at that the way games are being umpired .
Holding the ball and part of the game since the game started way back all those years , now its gone . A player can break two tackles and then when the third tackler holds him up he just has to hang onto the ball and then yep the whistle goes ! Ball up what the .... players and spectators love to see tackling but guess what ?
No rewards for tackling at all .
What a about mid season new rules !! Swearing out loud enough for the crowd to hear it and what about the penalty ! geeez send off , free kick and 50 metres ! And the best part still is the inconsistent paying of this interpretation of which rule ? In the 2 games since this rule as ben in place ive seen 1 guy sent off for it and no one heard a thing and Ive heard some sensational stuff come from the ground and nothing is done ! wow its heavy price to pay for a new rule mid season !
Now the biggest problem clubs have , Umpires umpireing with pre concieved ideas about how particular players are going to play and then persecuteing them during games . Big guy's cant bump smaller guys because yep new rule now Its too rough ,fair bump rule gone, I also know of a player sent off for being on the recieving end of a huge punch , and the player throwing the punch only a yellow card .
I also know of a player who has given the game away , he feels umpired out of the game .
What ever happend to umpires paying it as they see it ? Isnt that the way it should be ?
Now the last thing id like to add is when will clubs get the oppurtunity to provide feedback to umpires after a game ? At the moment they cant and thats why umpires are the biggest show in town , they dont have anyone to answer too.
Mr Whattya Know,
Well guess what there are some umpires that read this forum and for you and all other readers of this forum i will explain some interpretations as they are paid in the Yarra Valley
1. Holding the ball yes you are right we do have a different interpretation of this rule to other leagues, we pay this rule as it was paid before the AFL change the interpretation a few years ago,If a player is tackle he must then have a prior opportunity to legally dispose of the ball not as in the AFL where if a player takes possesion of the ball he is deemed to have had a prior opportunity to dispose of the ball and if he does not and is tackle correctly he will be penalised for incorrect disposal.
2. With regards to the swearing rule I believe that rule did serve its purpose in making players more accountable for their language.All players and coaches were told before the start of the game what the guidelines were in relation to the application of the rule,If a player/s cannot control their behaviour for two hours then stand the other side of the fence pay your 8 dollars and say whatever you want.
3. In relation to your other points I can only speak for myself and can say that I only penalise actions of players not their characters so if your friend feels aggreived then may I suggest that his club contact the umpiring dept and we would be only too happy to speak to him in relation to this as the last thing we need is to lose people from the playing our great game. 4. In relation to your last point we are a part of the but not the game, we are accountable for our actions from people who provide us with feedback usually from observers and our coaches,If we don't perform then like players we get drop or coached to improve our performance,so i put this to you would you like me or any umpire to review your game. let clubs play the game and umpires umpire the game.
GG Rides Again
15 Jul 2008, 14:24
4. In relation to your last point we are a part of the but not the game, we are accountable for our actions from people who provide us with feedback usually from observers and our coaches,If we don't perform then like players we get drop or coached to improve our performance,so i put this to you would you like me or any umpire to review your game. let clubs play the game and umpires umpire the game.[/quote]
Name me the last umpire to be dropped ( not including finals) in a season of YVMDFL. I agree with some other points but this just does not happen
and as a definition Does "dropped" mean from Div 1 to Div 2 or told to have a week off?
Umpires are expected to make about 4-6 mistakes a game to have a "good game". Probably similar amount to an individual player on the ground. At the moment they would be making more like 10-12 and some of them are absolute howlers. Unfortunately they are becoming the show on a saturday and not the footy.
Mr. Seaford im not currently involved at Yea but the former team mates Im still in contact with inform me both guys have been handy additions and have both played some good football :thumbsu:
in2restedonlooker
16 Jul 2008, 11:46
Have seen Yea twice this year and in both games Doyle was theri best player easily
rip it up
16 Jul 2008, 15:23
gday mate..
these boys are doing a top notch job in Yea. It is great to have them up in Yea. Both are playing very good football and from what i can tell enjoying it.
Mr. Seaford im not currently involved at Yea but the former team mates Im still in contact with inform me both guys have been handy additions and have both played some good football :thumbsu:
Have seen Yea twice this year and in both games Doyle was theri best player easily
Gee we got our very own Judd running around the league with all this publicity, anyway i could get a signature :D:thumbsu:
Mr Seaford
16 Jul 2008, 18:17
Not surprised Matty is tearing it up at Yea a good bloke who will go well in any team.But from the results I read in the paper Yea are struggling to get a win what's going on ?Plenty of new recruits and cash to splash!
NOCHANCE
16 Jul 2008, 20:47
Ben Haynes got reportrd last Saturday did the tribunral get out there feather dusters?
Got a bad knee
16 Jul 2008, 21:35
My mail is its a soft report,did not agree with the ump and said the magic word.
Now before you bag me l am not from silvan .
So whattya know
16 Jul 2008, 21:36
Ben Haynes got reportrd last Saturday did the tribunral get out there feather dusters?
you could probably assume Silvan would pay $$ for him to get off !! just joking surely they wouldnt ...................
Any one heard any news on Bonnie Doon??????
I've heard that their league might not be going around again in 2009 and they have expressed an interest in joining the yvmdfl.
Nothing like a road trip.
I've heard that their league might not be going around again in 2009 and they have expressed an interest in joining the yvmdfl.
hey smack, yeh heard that one a while ago. their league been strugglin for a few years now.
we used to be in their league in the late 80's and early 90's and they were always a fairly strong club. think the standard has dropped a bit since then though.
dunno how the clubs will go that are already whingin about the travel cos its another 20 mins to half hour on from yea and alex. and their ground slopes like warby end to end but more of a slope if you can believe that.
catch ya in a few weeks on the chip.
GG Rides Again
17 Jul 2008, 09:36
hey smack, yeh heard that one a while ago. their league been strugglin for a few years now.
we used to be in their league in the late 80's and early 90's and they were always a fairly strong club. think the standard has dropped a bit since then though.
dunno how the clubs will go that are already whingin about the travel cos its another 20 mins to half hour on from yea and alex. and their ground slopes like warby end to end but more of a slope if you can believe that.
The standard of the BDFL league has dropped no doubt from what it used to be, but Boonie Doon recruited half of Seymour and Broadford this year and they would be a top team in Div 2 YDMFL this year if they retained everyone.
Think of the drive and the serenerity. On the bus trip players can sing all the way " we're going to Boonie Doon, we're going to Boonie Doon"
Boonie Doon Football Club, proudly sponsored by Kerrigan Towing:D
I don't know what you can read into practice games but Doon were convincingly flogged by Alex pre-season. I watched the last quarter so can't really judge but a friend who's an official at Doon told me the leagues are miles apart in standard. I'll suss him out about their rumoured move to the YVMDFL.
LukeClarke
17 Jul 2008, 09:49
Shotgun - you are driving...
GG Rides Again
17 Jul 2008, 09:52
I don't know what you can read into practice games but Doon were convincingly flogged by Alex pre-season. I watched the last quarter so can't really judge but a friend who's an official at Doon told me the leagues are miles apart in standard. I'll suss him out about their rumoured move to the YVMDFL.
Read nothing into practice games as paid players usually dont play them. I have seen both and there is not much between them in regards to standard IMO.
LukeClarke
17 Jul 2008, 10:02
Now that you mention it i think i had a piss stop at bonnie doons ground on the way back from yarrawonga. Im pretty sure it had sheep on it... Not kidding.
On the subject of bad grounds, do counsils pay to fix them or does the club have to foot the bill? I know silvan had theres done, did they pay for it? Our is worst than theirs. The chip would require at least $26 million in council funding...
rip it up
17 Jul 2008, 10:08
Now now pup whats wrong with Warbys ground!!!
Read nothing into practice games as paid players usually dont play them. I have seen both and there is not much between them in regards to standard IMO.
Agree and I certainly wasn't making any judgement, but rather just repeating what a Doon official said to me. He'd have some idea of the strength of the team they fielded but I don't see any point in comparing standards in different leagues really. It's apples and oranges as far as I'm concerned and there's no way of proving one is better than another.
I haven't heard the Doon to YVMDFL but I have read whispers of the Benalla and I think it's Wangaratta League merging. (think it was in the Weekly Times?)
It must be getting close to finals time when the end of season rumours have started circulating.
rip it up
17 Jul 2008, 13:27
My mail is its a soft report,did not agree with the ump and said the magic word.
Now before you bag me l am not from silvan .
Its not too late to get on the pay roll :D
Big Wheel
17 Jul 2008, 16:42
Agree and I certainly wasn't making any judgement, but rather just repeating what a Doon official said to me. He'd have some idea of the strength of the team they fielded but I don't see any point in comparing standards in different leagues really. It's apples and oranges as far as I'm concerned and there's no way of proving one is better than another.
I haven't heard the Doon to YVMDFL but I have read whispers of the Benalla and I think it's Wangaratta League merging. (think it was in the Weekly Times?)
It must be getting close to finals time when the end of season rumours have started circulating.
The VCFL has to make alot of changes, In the PDFL there are 16 teams ranging from Shep to Deni. The news up there is another club Rennie want to be added therefore making it 17. The ideal idea is that the clubs closer to shepp create a new league simlar to the old Tungamah league and try and invite Goorambat. Weather they try to get another club from that league is a different story. But by removing one from the BDFL would definatly shut things down there I think.
Interesting times for all over the next few months..!!
Not surprised Matty is tearing it up at Yea a good bloke who will go well in any team.But from the results I read in the paper Yea are struggling to get a win what's going on ?Plenty of new recruits and cash to splash!
Yeh a fair few more recruits then last year but just injury and lack of numbers not avaliable every week. Performed alright last week. Hopefully continue it this week towards Yarra Glen. One to watch from Yea #14 in seniors.
LukeClarke
17 Jul 2008, 18:04
The VCFL has to make alot of changes, In the PDFL there are 16 teams ranging from Shep to Deni. The news up there is another club Rennie want to be added therefore making it 17. The ideal idea is that the clubs closer to shepp create a new league simlar to the old Tungamah league and try and invite Goorambat. Weather they try to get another club from that league is a different story. But by removing one from the BDFL would definatly shut things down there I think.
Interesting times for all over the next few months..!!
sounds like a verse out of that "ive been everywhere man" song.
The Drifter
17 Jul 2008, 19:43
you could probably assume Silvan would pay $$ for him to get off !! just joking surely they wouldnt ...................
surely they would. my mail is that AFL advocate Ian Findlay is representing him at appeal. he don't com cheap.
Monniehawk
17 Jul 2008, 22:03
Shotgun - you are driving...
Hmmm! Interesting to see the league/club reaction to regionalising the comp if another northern club enters. Belgrave may be keeping an ear to the ground. They don't want to go, but feel they have to follow South to the EFL because of the excessive travel. Reckon the northern clubs may find it just as far to Belly.
BD coming in may force the YVMDFL into a total rethink. Back to the future??!
PS. What's wrong with a bit of a slope on a ground, anyway?
Upwey Fan
17 Jul 2008, 22:44
Well Monnie Hawk we know you blokes like a bit of a slope on the ground and you play it well,must be a 100 years since we beat you up there.The Drifter re Iain Findlay,he is quite willing to give his time to help local clubs where he can-always represents us when needed at no cost-he does after all live in the Hills.
in2restedonlooker
18 Jul 2008, 08:33
It would be highly unlikely that we would see bonnie doon in the yvmdfl next year. It's 48km past Alexx so I'm sure alot of people won't enjoy that. And GG I'm also not so sure about the doon being a top side in divvy 2 they would be at the lower end I believe. Anyway I've heard that the bdfl joining with the ovens and king is almost done so lets hope we dont have to worry
johnboy
18 Jul 2008, 11:07
Monnie Hawk,
Do you know much about the young boy who died after a bike accident in Monbulk yesterday? Were his family associated with the footy club at all?
They mentioned it was at a reserve. Thought it might have been at the bike/skate park next to the ground.
hawks fan
18 Jul 2008, 17:53
Monnie Hawk,
Do you know much about the young boy who died after a bike accident in Monbulk yesterday? Were his family associated with the footy club at all?
They mentioned it was at a reserve. Thought it might have been at the bike/skate park next to the ground.
Unsure if he was associated with the juniors, yes it was at the oval, but near the netball courts (there are some dirt mounds there). Very sad, just drove past the oval and some of the local scool kids were putting flowers in the area.
Got a bad knee
18 Jul 2008, 21:03
Yes it was a sad day ,so lets say no more about it.
localfootyguru
18 Jul 2008, 23:14
From The Age Internet Site;
Hopefully the saga is now over as it has been dealt with.
Footballer's season over after 'bounty' strike
Mex Cooper
July 19, 2008 - 4:34PM
A country Victorian footballer has been suspended for eight weeks after a behind-the-play incident that the victim alleged was triggered by a $350 bounty being placed on his his head.
Yarra Glen player Nick Tucker was found guilty by a tribunal this week on charges of striking and kneeing Seville half-forward David Wallace.
Wallace, who swapped sides from Yarra Glen to Seville about a month ago, was carried from the ground after being hit during a game on June 21.
Wallace, 25, told The Age he received hostile phone calls in the lead-up to the match and was told there was a $350 bounty to knock him unconscious.
No one was reported during the game but a league investigator later recommended Tucker face the tribunal on two charges.
Yarra Valley Mountain District Football League chief executive officer Stephen Walter said the investigator found no evidence to substantiate allegations of a price being put on Wallace's head.
"It wasn't actually a king hit or anything, the incident was two guys went toe-to-toe and one person came off second best," Mr Walter said.
"While throwing punches and wrestling on the ground there was the incident of kneeing, which is not an action we condone in our game of football. That's a serious charge."
Mr Walter said if Yarra Glen made the league grand final Tucker could play but the suspension had "more or less put an end to his season".
Wallace said he was not able to comment on the tribunal's finding.
localfootyguru
18 Jul 2008, 23:20
Had also heard the whisper regarding Bonnie Doon and they would be competitive if they can hold on to the imports they have on board this year - not sure if they would be top of the ladder though as depth would be an issue.
In regards to other possible expansion news I have heard another former member club from the Northern FL has also shown interest in returning to the YVMDFL due to the successful transition of Kinglake. I also heard whispers a couple of Eastern FL clubs had maybe been touted as future members as well - not sure if that is the case though!
The idea of geographic competitions similar to the MPNFL structure has merit if Bonnie Doon enter the league but I would be more confident of the club heading to the new merged league comprising of Ovens and King and Benalla DFL member clubs.
So whattya know
20 Jul 2008, 14:25
surely they would. my mail is that AFL advocate Ian Findlay is representing him at appeal. he don't com cheap.
They actually did it , they paid to get Haynes off ! What a disgrace .
the the league should now be call webbyfl .
I heard $5000 .
Upwey Fan
20 Jul 2008, 15:13
They actually did it , they paid to get Haynes off ! What a disgrace .
the the league should now be call webbyfl .
I heard $5000 .
Get your facts right he was up on attempted striking-every player has the right of appeal to an independant tribunal-he exercised this right and won.Yes he was represented by Fingers but to say that they paid to get him off is a total misfabrication of the facts.Neither Silvan,Webby or indeed the YVMDFL have any control over the members or decisions of such a tribunal.
GG Rides Again
20 Jul 2008, 19:50
Get your facts right he was up on attempted striking-every player has the right of appeal to an independant tribunal-he exercised this right and won.Yes he was represented by Fingers but to say that they paid to get him off is a total misfabrication of the facts.Neither Silvan,Webby or indeed the YVMDFL have any control over the members or decisions of such a tribunal.
I think the point being that how many clubs would put up $5K on the basis that they lose the lot if found guilty again. Unless it was a grand final not many I would suggest.
The Drifter
20 Jul 2008, 20:56
That's the point. It's an insult to the league that ego's get in the way at this level.
Upwey Fan
20 Jul 2008, 22:15
The actual surity to lodge an appeal is $500.00 not $5000.00-VCFL Rule 5.2.
in2restedonlooker
21 Jul 2008, 08:54
There seems to be a new favourite for the divvy 2 premiership with emerald emerging as a real contender with another win. All but wrapped up a double chance and will meet either Thornton or Alex in qualifying final and have beaten both those sides this year. Not sure whats happening with finals but I would presume the granny will be at healesville and should emerald make it I believe whoever they are playing will have there work cut out to match their run. As for Alex and Thornton looks like it was another good derby up there with Alex fielding their strongest side for they year and getting over the boners who also were at pretty much full strength. Not much between these two sides but Thornton just seem to be struggling a bit through the middle of the year.
GG Rides Again
21 Jul 2008, 09:14
The actual surity to lodge an appeal is $500.00 not $5000.00-VCFL Rule 5.2.
Have a look another 4 lines down. I think you will see the figure discussed. Its an area appeal on regulation 7.4.2. Pay $250 up front, $500 per player with a club imposed surety of total not more than $5K. If YVMDFL decide not to impose the $4250 so be it but as per the regulation they can. If the appeal is lost the money is forfeited to the league.
Upwey Fan
21 Jul 2008, 09:53
Rule 5.2 refers to Tribunal matters.Rule 7.4.2 refers to Appeals against refused clearances and the process of appealling such decisions.Two entirely different matters
Monniehawk
21 Jul 2008, 10:58
Monnie Hawk,
Very sad. He was a member of the junior soccer club, but did also play footy a couple of years ago. Outstanding soccer talent, I'm told.
Tragic accident (as I am told) where he fell on the handle of his bike. The handle had no grips and the steel went through his thigh rupturing the femural artery, I guess. Apparently loss of blood brought on a heart attack as he was being attended by ambulance officers.
Monbulk is still in some shock and wore armbands on Saturday.
Sincere condolences to the Webb family.
Monniehawk
21 Jul 2008, 11:02
Have a look another 4 lines down. I think you will see the figure discussed. Its an area appeal on regulation 7.4.2. Pay $250 up front, $500 per player with a club imposed surety of total not more than $5K. If YVMDFL decide not to impose the $4250 so be it but as per the regulation they can. If the appeal is lost the money is forfeited to the league.
In appeals (either clearances or Tribunal decisions), the money - or some of it - MAY be forfeited to cover costs - if the League considers the appeal to be trivial. In most cases, it is returned.
Very sad. He was a member of the junior soccer club, but did also play footy a couple of years ago. Outstanding soccer talent, I'm told.
Tragic accident (as I am told) where he fell on the handle of his bike. The handle had no grips and the steel went through his thigh rupturing the femural artery, I guess. Apparently loss of blood brought on a heart attack as he was being attended by ambulance officers.
Monbulk is still in some shock and wore armbands on Saturday.
Sincere condolences to the Webb family.
Very sad indeed.
The u16s & u14s were training on the oval adjacent to the bmx track at the time of the accident, and a lot of the u14s went to school with Alex.
auskickrules
26 Jul 2008, 01:38
Good luck to all at Mt Evelyn Football and netball today. Our thoughts are with everyone at the club and mostly with the Tessa's. Jen was a great lady and she will always be in our hearts and never forgotten.
TROUBLE IN PARADISE
I have heard from a very reliable source that Silvans President may be taking up a new career in the “WWF”as he applied the chocker hold to the senior coach’s neck last weekend.
14th Tiger
28 Jul 2008, 18:09
Anyone want to have an early punt at who will take away their clubs B+F?
At Yea, Matty Doyle and Patrick McKenna would be my picks...
:thumbsu:
The Drifter
28 Jul 2008, 20:12
TROUBLE IN PARADISE
I have heard from a very reliable source that Silvans President may be taking up a new career in the “WWF”as he applied the chocker hold to the senior coach’s neck last weekend.
Would that be UNCLE FESTER?:eek:
Mr Seaford
28 Jul 2008, 21:18
Are you playing with Matt 14th Tiger? Heard he could do with some Sat Nav in the car when Yea play away!
its about the time of the year where the predictions start so here are a few from me.
top 5 after 18
thornton 15w 3l
alex 14 4
em 13 5
yg 13 5
king 11 7
belg 9 9
thornton v emerald grand final
with thornton premiers i hope
B&F's
alex: oakley and oakley
emerald: wright and williams
y glen: selkrig and benson
kinglake: gallicho and butterworth
belgrave: meyer and stow
seville: senior and aitkins
yea: doyle and hunter
powelltown: cowan and darwell
yj: edwards and clarke
League B&F: doyle from yea
DIV 2 team of the year
B: carden (th) lovick (king) wright (em)
HB: a.oakley (alex) hellreigel (em) hardy (th)
C: mcmahon (king) butterworth (king) williams (em)
HF: mather (em) hill (alex) o'keefe (sev)
F: gallicho (king) selkrig (yg) meyer (bel)
R: hourigan (th) doyle (yea) n.oakley (alex)
INT: cowan (pow) benson (yg) uango (yea)
anyone elses thoughts?
14th Tiger
28 Jul 2008, 23:50
Are you playing with Matt 14th Tiger? Heard he could do with some Sat Nav in the car when Yea play away!
Yeh i play with young Speedy Gonzalez, sounds like they could all use a police car radar...or brains! :p Nah all good fellas.
in2restedonlooker
29 Jul 2008, 18:05
its about the time of the year where the predictions start so here are a few from me.
top 5 after 18
thornton 15w 3l
alex 14 4
em 13 5
yg 13 5
king 11 7
belg 9 9
thornton v emerald grand final
with thornton premiers i hope
B&F's
alex: oakley and oakley
emerald: wright and williams
y glen: selkrig and benson
kinglake: gallicho and butterworth
belgrave: meyer and stow
seville: senior and aitkins
yea: doyle and hunter
powelltown: cowan and darwell
yj: edwards and clarke
League B&F: doyle from yea
DIV 2 team of the year
B: carden (th) lovick (king) wright (em)
HB: a.oakley (alex) hellreigel (em) hardy (th)
C: mcmahon (king) butterworth (king) williams (em)
HF: mather (em) hill (alex) o'keefe (sev)
F: gallicho (king) selkrig (yg) meyer (bel)
R: hourigan (th) doyle (yea) n.oakley (alex)
INT: cowan (pow) benson (yg) uango (yea)
anyone elses thoughts?
My top 5 will be
Alexandra
Emerald
Thornton
Yarra Glen
Kinglake
Grand Final prediction Emerald to just beat thornton.
I said in a post about 6 weeks ago that Doyle was my choice for League b and f but I thought Yea mightn't win enough games and I think that will be the case. Leaning toward Oakley for a threepeat but Hourigan (te),Benson(yg) will be up there. Would be good to see ayoung bloke from emerald win it bu they are an even side and will probably share votes. You would think Selkrig and Gallichio would poll well but full forwards haven't polled huge numbers recently (mucchitelli 160 odd goals 1 vote????)
The emergence of Emerald has really blown the comp wide open and Yarra Glen are just travelling nicely. Any of the top 4 could win Emerald have some big decisions coming up about their placement of under 18's and the double chance spots still open with all 4 top sides having games in the run home they could lose. Will also be interested to see where the finals will be held. That will have a bearing on results I think as well.
dishlickers
29 Jul 2008, 22:03
top 5
alex 56
emerald 56
t/e 56
yg 52
kinglake 44
belgrave 36
Grand Final
Alex v YG
top 10 league b&f
n. oakley: alex
doyle: yea
galicho: kinglake
cowan: poweltown
benson: yg
senior: seville
butterworth: kinglake
shaw: yg
fisher: t/e
selkrig:yg
emerald are in trouble with their u/18's also playing finals and having a lot of seniors being u/18's. does anyone know exactly how many u/18's are playing seniors? and what the club is going to do come finals?
NOCHANCE
29 Jul 2008, 22:48
TROUBLE IN PARADISE
Anything to do with the presidents son wanting to leave after having a blue with the coach. Couldnt leave as clearances were closed and is stuck in the twos. :)
in2restedonlooker
30 Jul 2008, 08:50
top 5
alex 56
emerald 56
t/e 56
yg 52
kinglake 44
belgrave 36
Grand Final
Alex v YG
top 10 league b&f
n. oakley: alex
doyle: yea
galicho: kinglake
cowan: poweltown
benson: yg
senior: seville
butterworth: kinglake
shaw: yg
fisher: t/e
selkrig:yg
emerald are in trouble with their u/18's also playing finals and having a lot of seniors being u/18's. does anyone know exactly how many u/18's are playing seniors? and what the club is going to do come finals?
From what I can see they have had 3 under 18's in the seniors over the last few weeks so it may not be a problem. I would be expecting them to stay in the seniors come finals time. YG would be hoping that 1 of the top 3 slip up so they might grab a double chance cause it would be difficult coming from fourth not being able to drop a game. It would mean 3 wins to make the granny and 4 wins to win it.
Anything to do with the presidents son wanting to leave after having a blue with the coach. Couldnt leave as clearances were closed and is stuck in the twos. :)
On the money there NOCHANCE,
Cracks are starting to appear in those walls.
Coaches Face turned a bright shade of blue when hand was applied to throat.
rip it up
30 Jul 2008, 12:25
On the money there NOCHANCE,
Cracks are starting to appear in those walls.
Coaches Face turned a bright shade of blue when hand was applied to throat.
Thats a shame cos i really like silvan :D
YGTHUNDER
30 Jul 2008, 13:03
From what I can see they have had 3 under 18's in the seniors over the last few weeks so it may not be a problem. I would be expecting them to stay in the seniors come finals time. YG would be hoping that 1 of the top 3 slip up so they might grab a double chance cause it would be difficult coming from fourth not being able to drop a game. It would mean 3 wins to make the granny and 4 wins to win it.
Agree with you and see that happening...but will The THUNDER be able to win all the remaining games to have a chance at top 3 is the question.
N.Oakley is across the line for the threepeet..best player in Div 2 no doubt! and can not believe that he is on no $$$$ for playing at Alex as stated some time ago on this site.
Is there a club that is willing and able to go to 1st Div this year if they win it considering current player ranks in 1sts, 2nds and U/18s at their club plus the added pressures on voulenteers and more sponsorship $$$$ req for those extra 5 players needed to mix it with the best in 1st Div?
ALEX - 56
EMER - 56
YGLN - 52
THRN - 52
KLKE - 44
----------
BELG - 40
B&F
N.Oakley Alex
SPACE
Fisher Thor
Shaw Ygln
Selkrig Ygln
Senior Sevl
Cowen Ptwn
in2restedonlooker
30 Jul 2008, 17:29
Agree with you and see that happening...but will The THUNDER be able to win all the remaining games to have a chance at top 3 is the question.
N.Oakley is across the line for the threepeet..best player in Div 2 no doubt! and can not believe that he is on no $$$$ for playing at Alex as stated some time ago on this site.
Is there a club that is willing and able to go to 1st Div this year if they win it considering current player ranks in 1sts, 2nds and U/18s at their club plus the added pressures on voulenteers and more sponsorship $$$$ req for those extra 5 players needed to mix it with the best in 1st Div?
ALEX - 56
EMER - 56
YGLN - 52
THRN - 52
KLKE - 44
----------
BELG - 40
B&F
N.Oakley Alex
SPACE
Fisher Thor
Shaw Ygln
Selkrig Ygln
Senior Sevl
Cowen Ptwn
2 big games in 2 weeks will settle ladder positions YG v Alex and TE v Emer. YG really need 1 of the top 3 to drop 2 games and they need to win all which I think they will but not sure about the others losing 2 games. I know a few people up the north end of this league and they say N Oakley is being paid well to play. Healesville I believe tried to lure him but he stayed at Alex for a decent amount.
Ronison
30 Jul 2008, 20:27
It's ok, Belrgave is more than happy to go to 1ST division if all you northern clubs are too scared!!!!!
We will back our Club and Players , unlike some of you!!!
YGTHUNDER
30 Jul 2008, 22:22
It's ok, Belrgave is more than happy to go to 1ST division if all you northern clubs are too scared!!!!!
We will back our Club and Players , unlike some of you!!!
Probly should concentrate on making the finals this year!!! And with your ground most 1st Div clubs would boycot the sandpit!
Anyone want to have an early punt at who will take away their clubs B+F?
At Yea, Matty Doyle and Patrick McKenna would be my picks...
:thumbsu:
the dark horse for Yea B&F:
Chris Graham, features in best nearly every week for Yea
Minnesota Wisdom
31 Jul 2008, 11:12
Probly should concentrate on making the finals this year!!! And with your ground most 1st Div clubs would boycot the sandpit!
Well hopefully that's all about to change if the ground is redeveloped properly this time. A year off and the council work should solve the problem of the 'sandpit'.
YGTHUNDER
31 Jul 2008, 13:20
Well hopefully that's all about to change if the ground is redeveloped properly this time. A year off and the council work should solve the problem of the 'sandpit'.
Hope your right MW as Bellys players and the rest of the teams deserve better than what the council has been throwing Belgrave's way over the last few years.
I know im months behind but what happened to Belgraves coach of last year?
McCavity
31 Jul 2008, 13:28
Will Belgrave be playing YVMDFL next year?
YGTHUNDER
31 Jul 2008, 14:13
Will Belgrave be playing YVMDFL next year?
Good point! But have you seen Sth Belgraves results so far this year in 4th Div EDFL....NOT GOOD!
LukeClarke
31 Jul 2008, 16:55
Pretty sure someone wrote on this forum earlier in the year that the winner has to go up to first divvy???
LukeClarke
31 Jul 2008, 17:04
ALEX - 56
EMER - 56
YGLN - 52
THRN - 52
KLKE - 44
----------
BELG - 40
B&F
N.Oakley Alex
SPACE
Fisher Thor
Shaw Ygln
Selkrig Ygln
Senior Sevl
Cowen Ptwn
Shane seinor has probably had the best year he has had since he won it 4 or so years ago. Umps love him i wouldnt be surprised if he picked it up. We probably havent won enough games though. The game we played against Yarra Glen Shaw played as a lose man on halfback. Hard to win it if your not in the midfield.
Dunno how Kinglake will go in the finals. We played them at away on the weekend with 6 blokes playing in the 2s and the ones due to lack of numbers and we were still competive for most of the game. the should have put us away.
YG will go alright. Need blokes like moaty to really step up and silks has to kick a bag every game. Thornton still for me. We play them on the weekend so ill have a better idea.
Ronison
31 Jul 2008, 17:54
Hope your right MW as Bellys players and the rest of the teams deserve better than what the council has been throwing Belgrave's way over the last few years.
I know im months behind but what happened to Belgraves coach of last year?
Garry is assistant coach to Gary Ayres at Port Melbourne. Pitty they couldn't get Cousin's over the line :)
Dunno how Kinglake will go in the finals. We played them at away on the weekend with 6 blokes playing in the 2s and the ones due to lack of numbers and we were still competive for most of the game. the should have put us away.
Kinglake fielded by far their weakest team for the year last week and still doubled Seville's scoring shots 34 - 17. If we make the finals we will be more than competitive.
GG Rides Again
1 Aug 2008, 10:32
Garry is assistant coach to Gary Ayres at Port Melbourne. Pitty they couldn't get Cousin's over the line :)
Pun intended? Thats been his issue in the last few years. He liked his lines too much.
auskickrules
2 Aug 2008, 21:04
Reading the results from Mt Evelyn, it says the ressies game was called early due to a serious injury on the field. Anyone shed any light on this and is the player okay? Lets hope it was just an over reaction and the player/s involved are okay.:(
Got a bad knee
2 Aug 2008, 22:32
Trainers from both teams were there and no over reaction,the lad had neck pain game stopped.Good move by the trainers.
Tigersman
3 Aug 2008, 03:51
Good point! But have you seen Sth Belgraves results so far this year in 4th Div EDFL....NOT GOOD!
Just testing the waters with a team of kids in the efl this year Thunder. Expect a more respectable showing next year.
Reading the results from Mt Evelyn, it says the ressies game was called early due to a serious injury on the field. Anyone shed any light on this and is the player okay? Lets hope it was just an over reaction and the player/s involved are okay.:(
Apparently the player had a history of back injury, so as a precaution they didn't move him until the ambulance arrived. Unfortunately it took about 40-50 minutes to get an ambulance, so the poor bloke had to just wait.
All the players/staff we spoke to claimed he was ok, it was just a precaution.
There was no further play in the game, and the final score was Monbulk 2.11 to Mt Evelyn 2.3
in2restedonlooker
4 Aug 2008, 09:05
Shane seinor has probably had the best year he has had since he won it 4 or so years ago. Umps love him i wouldnt be surprised if he picked it up. We probably havent won enough games though. The game we played against Yarra Glen Shaw played as a lose man on halfback. Hard to win it if your not in the midfield.
YG will go alright. Need blokes like moaty to really step up and silks has to kick a bag every game. Thornton still for me. We play them on the weekend so ill have a better idea.
You guys played Thornton on the weekend what did you think of them? Obviously they must have played well to get that big a win.
in2restedonlooker
4 Aug 2008, 10:03
Interesting weekend of results this weekend with the 2 top sides Alex and Thornton having big wins and Emerald and Yarra Glen just getting home. Sets up this weekend as a massive one with YG v Alex and TE v Em.
Anyone got any thoughts on these games?
Thornton fielded a very strong side at Seville and if it stays that way I would think they could get over Emerald at Thornton where they haven't lost for 18 games.
And I think YG might get over Alex in what could be a great game. Alot will depend on YGs ability to shut down the oakleys and hill and alex will be looking to shut down Selkrig as he is the main avenus to goal for YG.
Also interesting from the weekend was that YJ didn't field a reserves side at Alex. They only fielded seniors and a grade netball. Surely they might be in a bit of trouble.
At the risk of being shot down in flames again, and with the clarification that I realise other teams could be in the same situation for all I know, the Boners have been very unsettled this year with injuries to key players.
The team is being strengthened each week as they gradually return. A few more to come in and some run into the legs of those who've been on the sidelines should see the team step up a notch or three.
A lot of improvement left in the Thornton team and a hard game and victory against Emerald should set them up for a good finals campaign. Of course Emerald will be doing their best to rain on the parade. It will be interesting to see youth battle with experience.
I'll be hoping YG beat Alex so T/E go to top spot. (Of course Emerald will be trying hard to have a say in that too) I'm not sure how much improvement is left in either of those teams. Maybe people involved could let us know?
I don't expect the top 5 to change that much now, except having my fingers crossed that Thornton finish top. Having said that it probably would benefit some players who are lacking match fitness to have an extra run if the week off doesn't eventuate.
Did anyone play in a match with 3 umpires and how did it go? Talk around the traps is that more games will have the extra umpire leading into the finals.
dishlickers
4 Aug 2008, 13:09
"I'll be hoping YG beat Alex so T/E go to top spot. (Of course Emerald will be trying hard to have a say in that too) I'm not sure how much improvement is left in either of those teams. Maybe people involved could let us know?"
YG had a really tough match on saturday with belgrave playing for their season, came out and played really good hard football. was a tough game with plenty of hard in and under work. i don't think yg played their best football, but i believe they had a pretty much full strength team except for 2 key seniors who couldn't play due to work commitments. they will definitely need to play better this week if they are to knock off alex.
junkyard10
4 Aug 2008, 13:18
Yes thetwos ruckman went dowm with a neck injury 5 minutes into the third quarter took ambo 45 min so the clock just ran down and monbulk won all reports are that he is ok but a little shaken
junkyard10
4 Aug 2008, 13:21
Watching monbulk vs mt evelyn on the weekend monbulk were just streets ahead of the rovers would monbulk be silvans biggest threat come finals time?
in2restedonlooker
4 Aug 2008, 13:26
At the risk of being shot down in flames again, and with the clarification that I realise other teams could be in the same situation for all I know, the Boners have been very unsettled this year with injuries to key players.
The team is being strengthened each week as they gradually return. A few more to come in and some run into the legs of those who've been on the sidelines should see the team step up a notch or three.
A lot of improvement left in the Thornton team and a hard game and victory against Emerald should set them up for a good finals campaign. Of course Emerald will be doing their best to rain on the parade. It will be interesting to see youth battle with experience.
I'll be hoping YG beat Alex so T/E go to top spot. (Of course Emerald will be trying hard to have a say in that too) I'm not sure how much improvement is left in either of those teams. Maybe people involved could let us know?
I don't expect the top 5 to change that much now, except having my fingers crossed that Thornton finish top. Having said that it probably would benefit some players who are lacking match fitness to have an extra run if the week off doesn't eventuate.
Did anyone play in a match with 3 umpires and how did it go? Talk around the traps is that more games will have the extra umpire leading into the finals.
By my thinking Thornton still have 3 players to come back into the senior side. Sharp, Haden and McLean. I see Sharp played in the seconds but what about the other 2 are they injured? If all three are available it will put pressure on the selection table for Thornton with a few players likely to miss selection in finals. My feeling is that running players are the key as emerald and Alexandra are hard running sides so it may be that a tall or two may miss. Your thoughts?
GG Rides Again
4 Aug 2008, 13:39
Watching monbulk vs mt evelyn on the weekend monbulk were just streets ahead of the rovers would monbulk be silvans biggest threat come finals time?
I thought Woori's defeat by 7 goals against Silvan didnt look to bad. How long since Silvan have only kicked 14 goals? Unfortunately I think only Woori or Monbulk will play Silvan in the granny. The rest are making up the numbers.
LukeClarke
4 Aug 2008, 15:02
You guys played Thornton on the weekend what did you think of them? Obviously they must have played well to get that big a win.
I reckon they are the best side in it. Lately we have matched most teams for the first three quarters but Thornton got on top early and ran away with it.
Hope TE's 2s can turn it around and knock off Emerald on the weekend to put our boys in the 5. Running hot at the moment the Seville Magoos!
My feeling is that running players are the key as emerald and Alexandra are hard running sides.
I'd say the Boners are right up there as far as hard running goes and I certainly don't think lack of run was a factor against Alex recently.
It was a worry in the game against Emerald earlier in the season but I wouldn't read too much into that. Numbers were so short I reckon Pup was close to offering me a guernsey that day. :D
I reckon they are the best side in it. Lately we have matched most teams for the first three quarters but Thornton got on top early and ran away with it.
Hope TE's 2s can turn it around and knock off Emerald on the weekend to put our boys in the 5. Running hot at the moment the Seville Magoos!
You're obviously a man of impeccable taste Luke. I hope you're right.
I'll barrack hard for the Boners 2s to do the right thing for you.:thumbsu:
in2restedonlooker
5 Aug 2008, 09:06
I'd say the Boners are right up there as far as hard running goes and I certainly don't think lack of run was a factor against Alex recently.
It was a worry in the game against Emerald earlier in the season but I wouldn't read too much into that. Numbers were so short I reckon Pup was close to offering me a guernsey that day. :D
Thornton are a hard running side but I don't think as hard as Alex or Emerald. Pretty hard to say that it didn't have a factor in the Alex game when Thornton 5 goals up at half time are beaten. Fitness or not running I'm not sure I was just saying that I think Thornton would be best suited if running players were kept in the side when the likes of Sharp and McLean come in.
in2restedonlooker
5 Aug 2008, 09:45
Thornton are a hard running side but I don't think as hard as Alex or Emerald. Pretty hard to say that it didn't have a factor in the Alex game when Thornton 5 goals up at half time are beaten. Fitness or not running I'm not sure I was just saying that I think Thornton would be best suited if running players were kept in the side when the likes of Sharp and McLean come in.
Sorry meant to add when and if they come in
Pretty hard to say that it didn't have a factor in the Alex game when Thornton 5 goals up at half time are beaten.
The scoreline doesn't necessarily tell the story of the game...for example are you aware that 3 of the 5 goal half time lead you mention were from 50 metre penalties?
I was there and I don't find it hard at all to say that run wasn't a major factor in the result. Maybe it was "a" factor but there are many factors that influence the result of a game. I'm sure some things will be done quite differently when/if the teams meet again.
in2restedonlooker
5 Aug 2008, 15:05
The scoreline doesn't necessarily tell the story of the game...for example are you aware that 3 of the 5 goal half time lead you mention were from 50 metre penalties?
I was there and I don't find it hard at all to say that run wasn't a major factor in the result. Maybe it was "a" factor but there are many factors that influence the result of a game. I'm sure some things will be done quite differently when/if the teams meet again.
No didn't know about the 50m penalties but are you saying that Thornton were lucky and Alex should have won by more???? My info from the match is that both Oakleys played well especially Neil (who really struggled in the TE v Alex game I watched at TE earlier in year) and that they had a few younger players ( not sure who they are ) that stood up and did alot of damage in the 2nd half. I'm sure things will be done differently next time most likely a few match ups which may have not gone the boners way and it should be a good battle. Your thoughts on whether Sharp, Haden and McLean will come back in??? If so who would miss out???