View Full Version : Injuries,Club suspensions and we still beat Carlton

giantpie
12 May 2007, 18:56
With injuries to top plyers like Buckley,Clement and Medhurst.Also we had in-form Davis missing through club suspension..................and we still beat the blues:thumbsu:

WakeUpTaz
12 May 2007, 18:58
waving good bye to the scums was awesome

stifler's mom
12 May 2007, 19:02
Today I saw the worst player going around this year in the ones.
Paul Bower. :D
Really made me smile.:)

Optimax
12 May 2007, 19:14
Fanatstically awesome, absolutely wonderfulto rub it into my mate at 3 quater time, after he told me big red Lance had beaten Rocca everywhere.

PieLebo87
12 May 2007, 19:33
Honestly? I saw a Premiership team out there today.

I looked all across the ground, I looked at the players doing their plays from one another, every single one, having their own thing to offer the team, not one bad player out there, and yet so many more to come in.

Everyones talking about the next few years bla bla bla, but look at this current crop, we have such an exciting group RIGHT NOW, we have a perfect mix RIGHT NOW that is doing so well, all 22 players have their own positives to offer that is making us become unbeatable, and if we are beaten, we are going down with a massive fight.

We are in the Premiership mix and if you dont believe so, then you are blind.

Collingwood of '07 has a touch of Collingwood '90.
We aren't the best in the AFL, neither were they, yet we are capable of derailing any team in the AFL.

Watch, wait and see, the Magpie will rise for everyone else in the competition to see.

Paul.
12 May 2007, 19:34
Today I saw the worst player going around this year in the ones.
Paul Bower. :D
Really made me smile.:)
I did too... ugly motherf....

Then I turned around and Cameron Cloke walked on by... so my mind is still in doubt on who is worse.

Coin_Toss
12 May 2007, 19:37
The better team came good.

Why is it that Collingwood can win a game in one quarter? We win too many times from that position for it to be a coincedence so I reckon it's planned. I knew at three-quarter time we had them, despite it being close - we won by 4 goals in the end, which clearly states my point.

Carn the Pies! :thumbsu:

thaimagpie
12 May 2007, 19:40

I looked all across the ground, I looked at the players doing their plays from one another, every single one, having their own thing to offer the team, not one bad player out there, and yet so many more to come in.

Everyones talking about the next few years bla bla bla, but look at this current crop, we have such an exciting group RIGHT NOW, we have a perfect mix RIGHT NOW that is doing so well, all 22 players have their own positives to offer that is making us become unbeatable, and if we are beaten, we are going down with a massive fight.

We aren't the best in the AFL, neither were they, yet we are capable of derailing any team in the AFL.

Watch, wait and see, the Magpie will rise for everyone else in the competition to see.

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Stakerz
12 May 2007, 19:44
I had $10 on CARL-COLL-COLL-COLL

AND $5 ON COLL to win 13-23 points :(

Darpy
12 May 2007, 19:51
especially loved seeing the Carlton supporters trudging off when they were only 13 down, they must know about the collingwood juggernaut also

DJ Black @ White Blood
12 May 2007, 20:35
The better team came good.

Why is it that Collingwood can win a game in one quarter? We win too many times from that position for it to be a coincedence so I reckon it's planned. I knew at three-quarter time we had them, despite it being close - we won by 4 goals in the end, which clearly states my point.

Carn the Pies! :thumbsu:
Yeh i agree but i also know you cant win a flag with 1 quarter, and you have to kick straight and take the oppertunitys when you get them. In 90 we played 4 quarters of footy and blew the bomers away. So we need to get our shti together before finals

DJ Black @ White Blood
12 May 2007, 20:39

Agree with the lot Pie Lebbo, what scares me is over the years i have never seen us looking so good with so many yougn kids busting to get in, we could be bloody devestating to any other team. The trick is to pick the right team on that day in September this year. Could be a lot of dissapointed players that miss out on a grand final game

Giddy Up
12 May 2007, 21:19
hey guys, i always browse the forum but hardly ever post. it was great seeing the pies stick it up to the blues today. its certaintly exciting times for the club. you have young guys like shaws, swans, pendles, thomas showing their talent and you have the older players such as burns, lockyer, rocca doing their stuff. I dont know if 07 will be our year, but if it were buckleys last it would be a fairy tale ending for a bloke who derserves having a grand final win next to his name.

Rocca Flys High
12 May 2007, 21:24

The only thing missing is the accuracy!

james Dean
12 May 2007, 21:26
Ah you know you just scraped over against the most inexpirienced team in teh AFL... Yeah definatly premiership material:p

Rocca Flys High
12 May 2007, 21:28
If we were accurate, it would be more then just "close"!

M-Train
12 May 2007, 21:39
Ah you know you just scraped over against the most inexpirienced team in teh AFL... Yeah definatly premiership material:p

The difference is, you guys played at your absolute best the entire first half and were only 4 goals up. Any other team, with the pressure you guys were applying would have killed us. We were simply dreadful and should have been put away. In the second half, we saw the 'Real' Collingwood and slammed on 13 goals to 6 to crush your pathetic young mob.

By the way, your calling Carlton the most inexperienced team in the AFL? Collingwood is not much older let me tell you.

james Dean
12 May 2007, 21:46
The difference is, you guys played at your absolute best the entire first half and were only 4 goals up. Any other team, with the pressure you guys were applying would have killed us. We were simply dreadful and should have been put away. In the second half, we saw the 'Real' Collingwood and slammed on 13 goals to 6 to crush your pathetic young mob.

By the way, your calling Carlton the most inexperienced team in the AFL? Collingwood is not much older let me tell you.
Wakelin, Rocca, Presti, Burns, Lockyer, Holland, Didak,Fraser, Johnson, O'bree >100 game players, Lappin Whitnall Fev Kouta Houlihan and Scotland only 100 game players for Carlton

Pie 4 Life
12 May 2007, 22:40
Great work guys. We had too much run power and simply outclassed them. :cool:

DWil6
12 May 2007, 23:10
Wakelin, Rocca, Presti, Burns, Lockyer, Holland, Didak,Fraser, Johnson, O'bree >100 game players, Lappin Whitnall Fev Kouta Houlihan and Scotland only 100 game players for Carlton

Pfft 10 v 6 hardly anything to rest your hat on. We had our share of noobs out there today.

MaggieNo20
12 May 2007, 23:19

If we learn to kick straight, then we could possibly be a premiership side. Long way to go, but the kids look to have the goods.

Coin_Toss
12 May 2007, 23:27
Yeh i agree but i also know you cant win a flag with 1 quarter, and you have to kick straight and take the oppertunitys when you get them. In 90 we played 4 quarters of footy and blew the bomers away. So we need to get our shti together before finals

Agreed DJ. It works both ways, we may get away with it against the bottom teams but the top teams won't be so easy to beat from that position. The first half was a sour note because we would have been in front at half time if we kicked straight. Ah well, winners are grinners and losers can please themselves, we can definitely smile tonight.

PieLebo87
13 May 2007, 03:32

:rolleyes: We werent just talking about today's game my friend. We arent in the top 4 because we only beat Carlton ;)

Today was just a stroll in the park for our 2nds.

I kept repeating to my Blues mates at qtr time and half time, dont worry, we'll be back, and I didnt worry in the slightest, I knew Coll would win, I mean, playing such a shyt team like yours, as IF we'd have any problems.

We'll be sure to make it a drubbing when Buckley, Medhurst, Clement, Licuria, Rusling come back later on in the year in the 2nd game.

And when we kick straight, and have half our team actually perform :)

Go home, you're a loser, we dont like losers on our board. We have finals to talk about.

anzacs
13 May 2007, 03:39
Ah you know you just scraped over against the most inexpirienced team in teh AFL... Yeah definatly premiership material:pAs long as you know you're our bitch

bradrowe#32
13 May 2007, 12:54
The highlight for me was before the game when Houlihan was trying to rough up Sparky. I would've just laughed in his face.

The Old Dark Navy's
13 May 2007, 13:13
With injuries to top plyers like Buckley,Clement and Medhurst.Also we had in-form Davis missing through club suspension..................and we still beat the blues:thumbsu:The players you suspended were probably on the fringes anyway with Didak, Holland and maybe Wakelin looking to come back in. The first two are walk up starts so the decision was made easier by the suspensions. Also, don't underestimate the fact that our best defender (Thornton) and best midfielder (Stevens) were not there.

Two sides to every story.

Lenny29
13 May 2007, 13:13

Mate I hope you're right but don't underestimate the toll on young teams that the long season has. How many times over the years have we seen not only Collingwood, but other young teams - St Kilda, Richmond, Hawthorn etc - win 8-10 of their first 12 and then fade to just scrape into the 8? I wholeheartedly agree that the signs are good but whether the likes of O'Brien, Thomas, Pendles, H.Shaw, Cloke etc can back it up for the entire year is still questionable.

I guess we do have the positive of blokes to come in if the strain of the year starts to take it's toll. Whether they can do the same or similar job is also arguable but hey, not knowing what's going to happen is half the fun of footy!

Don't forget we're a serious injury to Rocca away from a scarily inefficient forward line. If Cloke or Fraser suddenly attract the #1 defender we'd better have some contingency plan in place.

The Royal Sampler
13 May 2007, 14:24
The players you suspended were probably on the fringes anyway with Didak, Holland and maybe Wakelin looking to come back in. The first two are walk up starts so the decision was made easier by the suspensions. Also, don't underestimate the fact that our best defender (Thornton) and best midfielder (Stevens) were not there.

Two sides to every story.
Buckley/Rusling/Clement > Stevens/Thornton

Save the excuses.

PieLebo87
13 May 2007, 19:52
Mate I hope you're right but don't underestimate the toll on young teams that the long season has. How many times over the years have we seen not only Collingwood, but other young teams - St Kilda, Richmond, Hawthorn etc - win 8-10 of their first 12 and then fade to just scrape into the 8? I wholeheartedly agree that the signs are good but whether the likes of O'Brien, Thomas, Pendles, H.Shaw, Cloke etc can back it up for the entire year is still questionable.

I guess we do have the positive of blokes to come in if the strain of the year starts to take it's toll. Whether they can do the same or similar job is also arguable but hey, not knowing what's going to happen is half the fun of footy!

Don't forget we're a serious injury to Rocca away from a scarily inefficient forward line. If Cloke or Fraser suddenly attract the #1 defender we'd better have some contingency plan in place.

I disagree.
The likes of O'Brien, Thomas, Pendles, H Shaw and Cloke showed last year that they aren't the younger group anymore that will be inconsistent, they've actually shown the opposite, a mature bunch that can be relied upon for consistency.

When you said long season having a toll on young teams, I thought you were talking about the likes of Cox, Toovey, Dick, Nicholls, Illes ect. I agree with that, theres no chance, other then a fluke, that they'd offer us something for more then 15 games this season, or even maybe next season. But thats why MM is playing it smart. He said it after ANZAC day, that there are so many youngsters that are knocking on the door of senior selection.
Dick, Toovey, Cox ect are great, they are going to be really good. But they wont last more then 4-5 more weeks. THATS when MM brings in the 2nd batch of youngsters, we still have Goldsack (almost 20), Sharrod, Reid, Brown, Cook ect. that are trying to get a few senior games and whos to say whether 3-4 of them wont stand up and play the last 6-7 games of the year like the Tooveys, Coxs ect have in the first few. Keep in mind, when these other young players come in, the top 5-6 will be close to set, some clubs' seasons will be over, more season ending injuries to big league players, so Collingwood will have fresh youngsters coming in, and doing well against some depleted, or tired teams.

As for the Rocca comment, thats 100% correct. He gets injuried, our season is over. NOT because the load will be on Cloke/Fraser but because Rocca is our barometer, when he fires for 5-10 minutes, it becomes a Collingwood game. We need Dawes or Cloke (maybe even Brown) to take that responsibility within the next 2-3 years.

Bay Pie
13 May 2007, 20:05
Injuries and Suspensions can be a blessing in disguise.

We are still winning, next few weeks will be tough without Jimmy though.

The thing is, Jimmy, Dids, Brodie and hopefully Bucks will all be much fresher towards the end of the year then players that play the whole year.

Frederlick
14 May 2007, 01:37
Fanatstically awesome, absolutely wonderfulto rub it into my mate at 3 quater time, after he told me big red Lance had beaten Rocca everywhere.
Lance was useless and the Fox commentators still tried to talk him up! He personifies what is wrong with Carlton, unfit, doesn't deliver and walks in to the team on poor performances. Pagan would dearly love to drop him I reckon.