View Full Version : Bomber Bashers?

rizzo
13 May 2007, 18:53
Cmon where are ya now? Surely seeing the way the boys played to the game plan today, would make u happy with the way bomber coaches

finrod
13 May 2007, 19:02
True. But to be honest, I am amazed that Joel Corey played on the ball where he should be playing. Made such a difference :thumbsu: And great move to have Ling on Kerr.

CatmanForever
13 May 2007, 19:04
Imagine what a team we would have if we had a decent Coach??

TheYid
13 May 2007, 19:06
Cmon where are ya now? Surely seeing the way the boys played to the game plan today, would make u happy with the way bomber coaches

I've always thought Bomber was a reasonable coach- but today I thought he spoiled an excellent game (a little) by putting players behind the ball and playing defensively in the first portion of the last quarter. I nearly put a table through my tv set. After winning with run and attack, we let the opposition get three unanswered goals when we went defensive. Then, they moved the players back and we finished the game, so both my furniture and my tv are still intact.

rizzo
13 May 2007, 19:08
I've always thought Bomber was a reasonable coach- but today I thought he spoiled an excellent game (a little) by putting players behind the ball and playing defensively in the first portion of the last quarter. I nearly put a table through my tv set. After winning with run and attack, we let the opposition get three unanswered goals when we went defensive. Then, they moved the players back and we finished the game, so both my furniture and my tv are still intact.

Bartel mentioned that the fade out in the last quarter was by the players switching off. But the senior players blasted em and they got back on their horse. So it wasn't from numbers behind the ball (I only saw 1 behind the ball)

TheYid
13 May 2007, 19:14
Bartel mentioned that the fade out in the last quarter was by the players switching off. But the senior players blasted em and they got back on their horse. So it wasn't from numbers behind the ball (I only saw 1 behind the ball)

I just watched the video.....there were about 3 behind the ball...but if it was the players and not Bomber's fault then there is still hope. I don't mind Bomber as a coach (we've had worse, like that prick P.O.S. Ayres).

Our midfield slew them today. That was good tactical work.

afl genius
13 May 2007, 19:14
Would of liked him to pick up Wirrapanda but otherwise good work Bomber

TheYid
13 May 2007, 19:23
Wirra ran all day off the halfback line but he didn't really do any damage. You have to expect a floating backman to do that all day...but he doesn't run up the ground much so we could let it slip.

The biggest problem we have is clangers. I think the Cats must have the highest amount of intercepted handballs I've even seen. The first half of the first quarter was, frankly, stress-inducing to watch. It was like the North game all over for a few moments. Good thing once the team got their nerves in order they were just too good.

Catsace
13 May 2007, 19:30
I admit i was a person who was calling for Bomber's head. Losing to the Kangaroos was a joke, but it looks like a little rocket must have awakened the club in the last fortnight. An attacking game-plan, and now we sit 4-3 with a great percentage.

I think now that if we have a game plan that a) the players are comfortable with and know fully, and b) is successful, then the team can go places this year. I have never thought the list is crap, this side cannot lose it's talent. Only it's direction and motivation. It looks a lot more positive now as a Catter than a fortnight ago, that's for sure.

sarah.13
13 May 2007, 19:38
Fellow Big Footy posters, we should be congratulating ourselves.Why you ask?
Because BOMBER HAS BEEN READING OUR POSTS.
Ottens in the ruck - King out intill fit and in form.
Gardiner and Byrnes out.
Ling back to tagging,
Bartel and Corey into the center (our best clearance players)
Play those that are in form and fit,not favorites.
The talent is their,we knew that,just play them in their right positions.

thejester
13 May 2007, 20:09
Wow, Bomber does the stuff we've been screaming about for ages - Mooney up the ground, the 'Corey as a small defender' experiment aborted, to name two - and we win! And to be perfectly honest, as happy as I am with the win and the second half, I don't think we played that well. The Eagles were missing a couple of big names that hurt them badly. They ran harder than us. Often we looked lost - how many times did we transfer play to the opposite side, only to have nothing to kick to? How many times, particularly in the first, did we turn it over through abysmal disposal? There's still huge room for improvement.

I don't consider myself a 'Bomber basher' as, while I've been critical of him I think his failings - namely tactical nous and misplace faith in certain players - are only one part of a larger problem. Yet to suggest this validates the 'pro-Bomber' crowd is just as absurd as Renegade's suggestions that Bomber dumped = 22 wins.

cat in sydney
13 May 2007, 20:12
I don't consider myself a 'Bomber basher' as, while I've been critical of him I think his failings - namely tactical nous and misplace faith in certain players - are only one part of a larger problem. Yet to suggest this validates the 'pro-Bomber' crowd is just as absurd as Renegade's suggestions that Bomber dumped = 22 wins.

Exactly right. We still have a coach who has some major shortcomings, but the signs are that he might be starting to improve in many of them. So, don't offer him a contract yet, but let's not sack him either, until a bit more time passes in this season.

catempire
13 May 2007, 20:15
Great win. Bomber deserves credit. But he must also take the hit when we play like crap as well.

Still plenty of room for improvement. Our disposal still generally sucks. It's also Bomber's job to improve the team in areas of deficiency like this.

cats2rise
13 May 2007, 22:21
We're here, dont worry Rizzo.

Two good weeks compared with 18 months of off and on footy.

Now what?

rizzo
13 May 2007, 22:24
Now what?

Give bomber a new contract :D

Hood007
13 May 2007, 22:26
The biggest problem we have is clangers. I think the Cats must have the highest amount of intercepted handballs I've even seen. The first half of the first quarter was, frankly, stress-inducing to watch. It was like the North game all over for a few moments. Good thing once the team got their nerves in order they were just too good.

I think during the pre season the plan was to play a more attacking style, which we've seen against Richmond, Carlton & Melbourne...
The turnovers to me would seem to be the players still adapting that style. They have shown that when it works, it works well. One to Bomber perhaps?

cats2rise
13 May 2007, 22:28
Actually, this win reinforces our point.

We beat WCE now...... but what happened V Roos and Hawks this year?

Or Hawks x 2, Tigers, Roos last year?

Hood007
13 May 2007, 22:32
I was actually agreeing with you though.
My point was is if they play the game plan as well as they did today and last week then you'd think Bomber would be sweet. But if they can't keep it consistent then obviously he's not getting through to them...

rizzo
13 May 2007, 22:34
I was actually agreeing with you though.
My point was is if they play the game plan as well as they did today and last week then you'd think Bomber would be sweet. But if they can't keep it consistent then obviously he's not getting through to them...

or the players don't want to come out and play the brand of footy bomber wants. Like bartel said on Krock. In that last qtr the senior blokes had to have a go at them because they turned the switch off.

Archie Jnr
13 May 2007, 22:54

Mate i will never think Thompson is a good coach , congrats to the boys they played like we expect them to every match.Personally i did not see any great tactical moves made by Bomber all day .

Ricardo
13 May 2007, 22:55

If we don't make (and do well in) the finals he may go, i hope the loss v North is still in the back of their minds for the rest of the season, if we win our next 2-3 i think we could be a threat this season.

rizzo
13 May 2007, 22:59
Mate i will never think Thompson is a good coach , congrats to the boys they played like we expect them to every match.Personally i did not see any great tactical moves made by Bomber all day .

except for the game plan he put into place for them to beat the eagles. Unless of course the players got into a huddle and designed it themselves.

Archie Jnr
13 May 2007, 23:08
except for the game plan he put into place for them to beat the eagles. Unless of course the players got into a huddle and designed it themselves.

Mate to be perfectly honest the weagles were well down and were missing the best ruckmen in the comp. Don't know why but the boys just seemed to be more mentally switched on. If it was bombers game plan that won it for us , then great , i hope to see more of it.:thumbsu:

Selwood07
14 May 2007, 09:11
Fellow Big Footy posters, we should be congratulating ourselves.Why you ask?
Because BOMBER HAS BEEN READING OUR POSTS.
Ottens in the ruck - King out intill fit and in form.
Gardiner and Byrnes out.
Ling back to tagging,
Bartel and Corey into the center (our best clearance players)
Play those that are in form and fit,not favorites.
The talent is their,we knew that,just play them in their right positions.
I like this post. I like it because I was about to post the same thing immediately after the game.
"The key for us is to go back now and restart and play that sort of footy again next week, which has been something of a problem for a while here." Words of wisdom from our coach, stating the obvious but for God's sake don't compare him to Ayres.
Rooke looked tired in the last quarter of the VFL game but he and Prismall were really effective. Byrnes still cannot kick straight. Hunt made too many errors. Charlie and Henry are well-suited to their current roles there.

It was a reassuring win against the best team.
Judd:"Geelong just wanted this win and we,... less so!"

spanna050
14 May 2007, 12:32

Agree totally - good win, but we still butcher the ball going forward. We have some guys who just cannot hit targets when they should. I don't think the Eagles were on their game today, because they normally make you pay.

Solstice Raver
14 May 2007, 15:18
I'm a Bomber Basher. Me, here with my hands up waving!!! Can you see?

So we can tick off one of our goals this year. We beat the raining premiers. Now all we have to do is win away from home, beat the raining runners up, make the finals, win every one of them and then bring the cup back down the highway. Excuse the cynisism.

Even if we do make another prelim, is that enough to keep Bomber in the seat? 9 years is pleanty of time to do something.

Keep it up Bomber because unless you have checked all the boxes by the end of the year you should be talking with Kerrie Stokes for a special comments possi.

Herbs
14 May 2007, 16:05

Why hello Mr Thompson.;)

CatmanForever
14 May 2007, 16:11
From what I have seen of Bomber I'd say the chances of him coming here and reading our posts are pretty much zero

Cat_Lady19
14 May 2007, 16:15
I am a huge fan of Bomber Thompson and i am glad that he is our coach. He does have ups n downs but at the moment its all up up up!!!!! Get off his back the team thrashed tigers by 157 pts n this wkend beat the top side for the first time this yr, So give Mark a break he sure does deserve it. But wait till next week if Geelong lose to Freo all you supposed Geelong Cats supporters will no doubt be on his back again for the players poor performances, B4 any of u start on Bomber look at some of the players first. Its not 100% the coaches fault for a shitty game.

:thumbsu: BOMBER TO STAY!!:thumbsu:

Archie Jnr
14 May 2007, 17:14
I am a huge fan of Bomber Thompson and i am glad that he is our coach. He does have ups n downs but at the moment its all up up up!!!!! Get off his back the team thrashed tigers by 157 pts n this wkend beat the top side for the first time this yr, So give Mark a break he sure does deserve it. But wait till next week if Geelong lose to Freo all you supposed Geelong Cats supporters will no doubt be on his back again for the players poor performances, B4 any of u start on Bomber look at some of the players first. Its not 100% the coaches fault for a shitty game.

:thumbsu: BOMBER TO STAY!!:thumbsu:

Oh Please , Go back to school. 2 wins does not win back respect . What it does is set a standard that the Coach and the Players must maintain until years end. The players that were said to have "switched off" should be dropped to make way for players returning from injury. It is still unacceptable to "switch off" at any time during a game. I wonder if bomber benched them ?

Hood007
14 May 2007, 17:28
Aw leave her alone, she's just defending her coach :p
Not many ppl do that around here. Last time i checked he is still the coach of our club, it's worth something aint it?

Archie Jnr
14 May 2007, 17:34
Aw leave her alone, she's just defending her coach :p
Not many ppl do that around here. Last time i checked he is still the coach of our club, it's worth something aint it?

about $400000 a year !

Hood007
14 May 2007, 17:41
Quite a pretty penny...
Let's hope he earns it this year ey?

nananana catman
14 May 2007, 17:42

Gee, I bet Channel 7 are happy you dont run the bank on 'Deal or No Deal'

Archie Jnr
14 May 2007, 17:46
Quite a pretty penny...
Let's hope he earns it this year ey?

Yeah... we shall see :thumbsu:

Unwritten_Law
15 May 2007, 13:22
Eagles don't play with men behind the ball, neither do Carlton, Wallace intended to teach the Tiges and work out who was fair dinkum when the chips were down by not reverting to a super flood to stem the bleeding, and Melbourne didn't start flooding until the game was over at half time [hence we didn't extend the margin much thereafter].

We have always had the talent and the ability to play the running game when teams have allowed us to do so. The problem is that we can't do it when teams specifically come out to choke us - hence losing to the Hawks AGAIN and AGAIN - and Bomber still hasn't taught the players how to combat the opposition when they play with numbers behind the ball.

In the next month we play Fremantle, St Kilda and Adelaide. Let's so how Bomber holds up against three super flooding teams before resorting to felating a chronically underachieving coach.

Rustybugles
15 May 2007, 14:46
I hope this is a spelling error, Unwritten Law
"In the next month we play Fremantle, St Kilda and Adelaide. Let's so how Bomber holds up against three super flooding teams before resorting to felating a chronically underachieving coach." If you mean "fellating" the coach - there are many things which critics have suggested but this has not been one of them!

crosby123
15 May 2007, 18:26
Eagles don't play with men behind the ball, neither do Carlton, Wallace intended to teach the Tiges and work out who was fair dinkum when the chips were down by not reverting to a super flood to stem the bleeding, and Melbourne didn't start flooding until the game was over at half time [hence we didn't extend the margin much thereafter].

We have always had the talent and the ability to play the running game when teams have allowed us to do so. The problem is that we can't do it when teams specifically come out to choke us - hence losing to the Hawks AGAIN and AGAIN - and Bomber still hasn't taught the players how to combat the opposition when they play with numbers behind the ball.

In the next month we play Fremantle, St Kilda and Adelaide. Let's so how Bomber holds up against three super flooding teams before resorting to felating a chronically underachieving coach.
Eh? I'd rather not?