View Full Version : Who is left to come into our team

SriLankanCat
13 May 2007, 18:53
Harley - maybe???
Rooke - definitely, in for Mackie
Prismall - definitely, in for Selwood
Chapman - definitely, in for Stokes maybe or Varcoe
King - maybe??? Blake has to imrpove his kicking
Hunt - Definitely, who will he replace? Tenace?

Hood007
13 May 2007, 18:59
Harley - maybe???

Are you serious?
Mackie's been fantastic this year...

finrod
13 May 2007, 19:00
I would say for next week...
IN : Harley, Rooke, Prismall
OUT: Hawkins, D. Johnson, Selwood

If we have too many defenders then maybe Egan can go forward, but Hawkins needs some time in the 2s. I heard Chapman is still another week away.

rizzo
13 May 2007, 19:05
Harley - maybe???

Can i just start by saying, *************************

Unless mackie is injured, then he wont be going anywhere.

Why would you drop selwood on his form

Chapman is a 2 week injry. Stokes had 20 touches, and Varcoe has some great pressure in the forward line

King - no thanks. You have something wrong if you want to drop blake 23 touches + 13 disposals. Will be a star.

Hunt - have you seen him in the VFL mediocre at best.

Seriously mate, you need to get off your personal problems with some players, and understand that they have been playing good footy and wont be going anywhere. Until then no one will take you serious about anything you post.

rizzo
13 May 2007, 19:06
For me:

Out: Mackie (if Injured), Tenace

IN: Rooke (tenace) Prismall (Mackie if injured)

TheTimeCometh
13 May 2007, 19:10
what a crock - only DJ, Hawkins & Tenace would be dropping options.

selwood?? wtf?

CatmanForever
13 May 2007, 19:14
Harley - maybe???

comedy gold:thumbsu:

Harley is the only Definite in that group if his finger is ok.

Mackie was great again today although he does sometimes cough it up too easily but overall his game was very good until he was taken off because he jarred his knee.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

chapmanmagic35
13 May 2007, 19:16

Chapman is a 2 week injry. Stokes had 20 touches, and Varcoe has some great pressure in the forward line

King - no thanks. You have something wrong if you want to drop blake 23 touches + 13 disposals. Will be a star.

Seriously mate, you need to get off your personal problems with some players, and understand that they have been playing good footy and wont be going anywhere. Until then no one will take you serious about anything you post.

Bingo!

SrilankanCat, sorry, but you have no idea whatsoever.

rizzo
13 May 2007, 19:16
comedy gold:thumbsu:

Harley is the only Definite in that group if his finger is ok.

Mackie was great again today although he does sometimes cough it up too easily but overall his game was very good until he was taken off because he jarred his knee.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

I would like to see harley do a week in the VFL IMHO

CatmanForever
13 May 2007, 19:18

I hear ya, but is it Kosher to send the Captain to the VFL?:confused:

nananana catman
13 May 2007, 19:19

Pavlich and Tarrant only talls in the freo forward line so no need to rush him back.

Inferno
13 May 2007, 19:22
Prismall for Tenace. That is all. The rest of the players you listed are injured or totally out of form.

sarah.13
13 May 2007, 19:25
I hear ya, but is it Kosher to send the Captain to the VFL?:confused:
Yes, it's better than him making a fool of himself not having touch after not playing for 6 weeks.
Every one needs to earn their place!!

cat_fanatic_21
13 May 2007, 20:23
Prismall for Tenace. That is all. The rest of the players you listed are injured or totally out of form.

Tenace was very good, not to mention Prismall plays better at the Dome/MCG for some reason. Tenace played well last week and even better this week... just wait til we play Freo; he will be even better.

There will be some serious selection dilemmas for the Feo game. Harley, Hunt, King, Rooke, Prismall are all available... and the only player close to coming out of today’s side is Mackie due to injury.

thejester
13 May 2007, 20:37
IN: Rooke
OUT: Mackie

Only definites. You could argue endlessely about the rest. Drop Hawkins and bring in a midfielder like Prismall to allow Stokes to play down forward? Or gamble (ha) on King?

Oscarlett
13 May 2007, 20:37
Only change (due to injury) Prismall for Mackie.

If Rooke is fit and played well today then maybe he instead of Pris. Actually Rooke for DJ.

Gavin Excell
13 May 2007, 21:01
IN: Rooke
OUT: Mackie

yes agree. Prismall I'd love to slot in but the blokes he would possibly replace - Selwood and Sokes - deserve their spot. its good that hese blokes are putting presure on them.

As for Stokes - reckon he is great. Pacy, creates, has a real go too. He is good for the club.

Sammy D
13 May 2007, 21:05
Pavlich and Tarrant only talls in the freo forward line so no need to rush him back.

They have some Campbell who kicked 4 goals tonight.

SriLankanCat
13 May 2007, 21:56
Mackie has been good for us, but id rather Rooke than Mackie. Mackie is another one of those guys that is almost there.

With Harley, id like him back but i woudltn be surprised if he is left out for other guys.

I say bring Prismall in for Selwood as i think Bomber has a rotation plan for the young draftees.

Good idea to give Hawkins a few weeks in the VFL.

Little Stokes was good today, but somebody has to make way for Chapman when he returns. Id hate to drop SJ. Maybe leave Stokes and take out Varcoe?

I know a lot of people dont like Tenace too much but honestly i just like having him in the team to add some pace to our team.

King in full fitness and form is better than Blake. Although Blake is very good at rucking and marking and handballing, lets be honest to be a biggeer threat ud rather a big man that can kick the ball.

Blake will learn and be good for us in the future.

Id like to leave DJ in as he is hard at it and does a lot of one percenters.

When J Hunt regains his confidence he is pivotal to our team. Can delvier through halfback. I hope he regains his confidence soon as we will be super when he gets back.

An exciting time for the cats

rizzo
13 May 2007, 22:06
Mackie has been good for us, but id rather Rooke than Mackie. Mackie is another one of those guys that is almost there.

With Harley, id like him back but i woudltn be surprised if he is left out for other guys.

I say bring Prismall in for Selwood as i think Bomber has a rotation plan for the young draftees.

Good idea to give Hawkins a few weeks in the VFL.

Little Stokes was good today, but somebody has to make way for Chapman when he returns. Id hate to drop SJ. Maybe leave Stokes and take out Varcoe?

I know a lot of people dont like Tenace too much but honestly i just like having him in the team to add some pace to our team.

King in full fitness and form is better than Blake. Although Blake is very good at rucking and marking and handballing, lets be honest to be a biggeer threat ud rather a big man that can kick the ball.

Blake will learn and be good for us in the future.

Id like to leave DJ in as he is hard at it and does a lot of one percenters.

When J Hunt regains his confidence he is pivotal to our team. Can delvier through halfback. I hope he regains his confidence soon as we will be super when he gets back.

An exciting time for the cats

Mackie has been sensational, and nothing anyone can say to me will make me change my mind that he has cemented himself in our 18 as a hard running rebound defender (Heath Shaw style). He is a totally different player to rooke.

Dave Johnson and Tenace will be gawn before Mackie.

The rotation policy will come in when Selwood doesn't perform. He hasn't showed any signs that he needs a rest and i think bomber will keep him in.

Why, hes been playign fine?

You commented Varcoe on his defensive pressure, but u want to drop him for chappy? Wont happin. Say bye to Tenace for him.

Thre is no way at all king is better than Blake now. No way. King is injury riddled and will never be back to normal. Yo say blake cant kick, however he has set up numerous plays from his handballs. Scott West doesnt kick much Sri Cat ;)

Watchng the VFL this year, Johs Hunt is a mile off the pace. Tim Callan and Steve Owen have both jumped ahead of him. Especially the way steve played today. Will struggle to get into the 22, when Rooke and Harley come back in aswell.

peter_ford
13 May 2007, 22:17
the only senior player we need back is chappy. the others can win the vfl flag for us this year. obviously the young ones will continue to rotate.

Big_Tazz
13 May 2007, 23:05
First thing, the ppl who are saying that Selwood shoud be the FIRST option of anyone in the team to get dropped, have no idea about Geelong.. for the simplest reason of, he can kick, and everyone else in our midfield besides Bartel cant.. im not stirring out M/f, im just stating a simple fact, that selwood has awesome foot skills, and makes the leastest mistakes of everyone in the geelong midfield, and btw, i heard chapman will play this week..

chapmanmagic35
13 May 2007, 23:07
Mackie has been sensational, and nothing anyone can say to me will make me change my mind that he has cemented himself in our 18 as a hard running rebound defender (Heath Shaw style). He is a totally different player to rooke.

Dave Johnson and Tenace will be gawn before Mackie.

The rotation policy will come in when Selwood doesn't perform. He hasn't showed any signs that he needs a rest and i think bomber will keep him in.

Why, hes been playign fine?

You commented Varcoe on his defensive pressure, but u want to drop him for chappy? Wont happin. Say bye to Tenace for him.

Thre is no way at all king is better than Blake now. No way. King is injury riddled and will never be back to normal. Yo say blake cant kick, however he has set up numerous plays from his handballs. Scott West doesnt kick much Sri Cat ;)

Watchng the VFL this year, Johs Hunt is a mile off the pace. Tim Callan and Steve Owen have both jumped ahead of him. Especially the way steve played today. Will struggle to get into the 22, when Rooke and Harley come back in aswell.

Agree with pretty much everything you said :thumbsu:

Rizzo, did you watch the VFL game today also? Hunt turned it over or made mistakes on numerous occasions.

rizzo
13 May 2007, 23:36
Agree with pretty much everything you said :thumbsu:

Rizzo, did you watch the VFL game today also? Hunt turned it over or made mistakes on numerous occasions.

Yeh mate always at the VFL. Hunt was useless. On a side note Owen was sensational

grantyc77
14 May 2007, 05:12
Good to read this thread boys, i didnt even get to hear the game this morning, cause i was out with work, so you boys are my eyes. I really hope we dont drop Tenace i think he got 20 odd possies, so i want to see him once he starts to believe he can play at the level. Only change i can see is Rooke in if Mackie is injuried.

Its certainly a good delima to have, at the vfl team on paper looks awesome. I feel sorry for trent west going to be second fiddle for at least the rest of this yr.

a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
14 May 2007, 10:01
Surely the only changes would be due to injury? We beat the reigning premier by 39 points, after they won 6 in a row and were undefeated this year. Why mess with a winning formulae? Mackie jarred his knee, maybe for Rooke. Selwood has light concussion, maybe for Chapman or Prismall if Chappy has another week out. They would be the only two changes - Tenace looks like he is finding his feet after the last few games. Maybe only a third for Hawkins who looked out of sorts and got quite frustrated yesterday.........

conanthelibrarian
14 May 2007, 10:20

Spot on rizzo! Hunt was very ordinary in the VFL yesterday. His kicking, which once was his biggest weapon, is his biggest weakness at the moment.

Jack-Packenham
14 May 2007, 10:44
In a couple of weeks with all players available these will be the changes from yesterday

In : Rooke Prismall Harley Chapman
Out : Hawkins D Johnson Tenace Kelly

thejester
14 May 2007, 10:47
On current form I don't know how you could justify dropping Tenace or Kelly. Both were more than serviceable, Kelly in particular looks like he's getting back to his best form (even if his use is still questionable).

Jack-Packenham
14 May 2007, 10:48
Rooke is certainly in our best 18 and bomber talked him up yesterday. David Johnson has to make way for him. Tenace is not a long term solution and should be replaced by the unlucky Prismall. Hawkins will make way for Harley. Chapman will come in for either Stokes, Varcoe or Kelly, but I would prefer to keep Stokes and Varcoe up forward and use G Ablett and Chapman in the midfield.

Jack-Packenham
14 May 2007, 10:52
On current form I don't know how you could justify dropping Tenace or Kelly. Both were more than serviceable, Kelly in particular looks like he's getting back to his best form (even if his use is still questionable).

Kelly still looks half paced, disinterested and lacking quality delivery. Would prefer Stokes and Prismall to Kelly any day of the week.

Byrnes, J Hunt, Gardiner and Playfair should never play again. If we do get injuries I would prefer the club uses guys like S Hunt, Davenport, Gamble, Djerrkura and Grima.

chapmanmagic35
14 May 2007, 11:16
It is good to see that we have some real tough selection issues (positive ones, obviously!).

darren forssman
14 May 2007, 11:36
Kelly still looks half paced, disinterested and lacking quality delivery.

his endeavour was not too bad yestersay but he nearly hit a west coast player with every one of his kicks it was that bad.

and his arrogance is still their, dancing a jig after we beat richmond and then joking around like a buffoon after beating west coast.

cat_fanatic_21
14 May 2007, 11:39
Many are saying that Hawkins should be dropped for a few weeks in the VFL. Although the big fella didn’t kick any goals against West Coast, he was very damaging to them in other ways.

Every time we kicked it long into the fifty, there were at least two defenders on Hawkins – he was never left one out bar two occasions (both times he was penalised unfairly by the umps). He did set up a couple of great goals and has a presence that gives our mids the confidence to bomb it in long. He also created the space Mooney and Nath had to allow them to kick seven between them.

If he were to be dropped who would you bring in as the third forward tall this week?

Also, Rooke, King and Harley should be made to wait until someone gets injured or has a laps in form. We are flying atm with the currant 22.

year of the cat
14 May 2007, 12:26
Shouldn't be too many changes to a team that has knocked of the premier by 39pts.

Chapman to come in of course when fit.

Everyone else on a injury and form basis. That includes Rooke and Harley. Harley should have a couple of matches in the VFL before resuming.

I reckon Tenace was good yesterday. 21 touches at 81% efficiency and was only on the ground for 71% of the game. He has improved.

Stokes was superb in the last quarter and plays like he really wants to be part of the 22. If he was competing with Byrnes for a spot at the start of the year he is no more. He is lightyears ahead of Byrnes.

a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
14 May 2007, 12:33
That is a fair call. But he is there to kick goals as well.
Then again, this week i think Freo only have two quality big defenders, and will be placed on Mooney and Nablett, so if we have the same three forwards line up, he could have more opportunity.
Tough decision.

Alchera
14 May 2007, 12:36
Tenace is not a long term solution and should be replaced by the unlucky Prismall.

Two different types of players. Won't happen. Plus Tenace played a very good game. Others "should" be dropped before him if we are basing it on the performances over the last couple of weeks (but then there are not many who should be).

Don't understand what you mean by long term solution........He is young, being developed as a "break the lines" type...........definitely looks like a long term solution to me.

Xcat
14 May 2007, 13:29
I believe having Kelly back in good match form has helped spark this mini run we've had the last two weeks. His tackling and delivery are usually great imo.
Look to the Richmond game for his lace out delivery for the forwards.

macca69
14 May 2007, 13:57
Rooke is certainly in our best 18 and bomber talked him up yesterday. David Johnson has to make way for him. Tenace is not a long term solution and should be replaced by the unlucky Prismall. Hawkins will make way for Harley. Chapman will come in for either Stokes, Varcoe or Kelly, but I would prefer to keep Stokes and Varcoe up forward and use G Ablett and Chapman in the midfield.

Is Chapman expected to play this week?

thejester
14 May 2007, 14:01
Kelly still looks half paced, disinterested and lacking quality delivery. Would prefer Stokes and Prismall to Kelly any day of the week.

Did we watch the same game? I'll agree that his delivery was abysmall but then a good 75% of the team managed to send it down the throats of the opposition on the day. But disinterested? Half-paced? He looked hungry and his defensive skills were the best we've seen for some time. On top of that began to look dangerous again around the clearances. I rate Prisa and I think Stokes secured his spot for a while to come, but Kelly has been showing enough.

Byrnes, J Hunt, Gardiner and Playfair should never play again. If we do get injuries I would prefer the club uses guys like S Hunt, Davenport, Gamble, Djerrkura and Grima.

Yeah, I'm with you there.

BlueNWhite
14 May 2007, 14:07
Did we watch the same game? I'll agree that his delivery was abysmall but then a good 75% of the team managed to send it down the throats of the opposition on the day. But disinterested? Half-paced? He looked hungry and his defensive skills were the best we've seen for some time. On top of that began to look dangerous again around the clearances. I rate Prisa and I think Stokes secured his spot for a while to come, but Kelly has been showing enough.

I completely agree, I thought Kelly has HUNGRY yesterday and his efforts were sensational from where I was sitting.

GeeCat
14 May 2007, 22:12
I still foresee the inclusions of Chapman, Harley, Rooke, and Prismall (sooner rather than later).

Given I can really see reasons for retaining kids like Selwood and Hawkins in the team as well, at this rate it's going to be a hellish-like battle for spots.

Alchera
15 May 2007, 11:19
I still foresee the inclusions of Chapman, Harley, Rooke, and Prismall (sooner rather than later).

Given I can really see reasons for retaining kids like Selwood and Hawkins in the team as well, at this rate it's going to be a hellish-like battle for spots.

Reports of wet weather all week may change the team up a little more than first thought.

If rain is on its way (supposedly for the rest of the week and weekend). then maybe Hawkins will get rested for a smaller type.

So going on perceived weather conditions my ins and outs are:

Out: Hawkins (rested)
In: Rooke

Possibles (due to injury):

Out: Selwood (conc) - weather would suit him and his style of play though.
Mackie (knee)
In: Prismall - first in whoever misses
Harley - fitness should not be an issue..........heavy ball and recovering finger might be.

rocker_oz33
16 May 2007, 22:54
i just see that geelong's in a good spot to be in almost a full list to choose from. rooke,harley,chappy are in the best 22 prismall will make it sum thing about the kid, selwood looks the goods ,tenace lucky to be in the team, big tom back to the two's for a few weeks he will be good, good to see mackie doing well about time,