View Full Version : Mooney..will he get cited?

Cattas_21
13 May 2007, 21:01
What does everyone think about the 3 incidents involving Mooney? i really hope nothing comes of them, but knowing Mooney and his bad record i wouldnt be surprised if he is spectating for the next few weeks...fingers crossed nothing comes of any of it

sarah.13
13 May 2007, 21:05
What does everyone think about the 3 incidents involving Mooney? i really hope nothing comes of them, but knowing Mooney and his bad record i wouldnt be surprised if he is spectating for the next few weeks...fingers crossed nothing comes of any of it
Un-cross your fingers,I saw nothing untoward in any of those incidents.

catempire
13 May 2007, 21:12
My guess is no.

dustyy
13 May 2007, 21:40
I am a little worried about the Mooney incident. The incident was right in front of us and it did not look good. Lets hope there is no good vision of it. He played a great game today.

catempire
13 May 2007, 21:41
I am a little worried about the Mooney incident. The incident was right in front of us and it did not look good. Lets hope there is no good vision of it. He played a great game today.

Which one?

SriLankanCat
13 May 2007, 21:43
If ur referring to the coathanger against Selwood, taht was just a high tackle, looked spectacular but that is all it was.
I heard he headbutted Waters, i didnt see it, but i hope it was soemhting similar to Chris Johnsons last week.

dustyy
13 May 2007, 21:54
ep. It was the head but that has us worrying. Looked terrible and was right in front of us. Does anyone know if Fox Footy captured it??????

TassieCat
13 May 2007, 21:56
I saw nothing on Fox and the commentators said nothing about a head butt...:confused:

catempire
13 May 2007, 21:58
ep. It was the head but that has us worrying. Looked terrible and was right in front of us. Does anyone know if Fox Footy captured it??????

Also right in front of me and I didn't even think he made contact. :confused:

TassieCat
13 May 2007, 21:58
3 incidents? What was the third...saw the coat hanger, heard about the head butt on radio...what was the third?

Cattas_21
13 May 2007, 22:16
3 incidents? What was the third...saw the coat hanger, heard about the head butt on radio...what was the third?

there was also a short jab to glass' stomach

TassieCat
13 May 2007, 22:18
Tanks muchly

MmkMrMackie
13 May 2007, 22:19

Mooney was standing on the grass. That's reason enough to cite people these days.

thehoff
13 May 2007, 22:55

I too was less than 15m away from the incident. Mooney did infact intend to head butt Waters after having a little brain-fade but halfway through the attempted head butt he realized what he was doing and appearer to just duck his head. I saw slight contact but there was nothing in it in my opinion.

With the way the tribunal has been this year, he should get off with ease, however i did not see the punch.....

Archie Jnr
13 May 2007, 23:14

Mate i saw it on ch7 in perth , there was'nt much force in it , be very surprised to see him cited over that . But then again it is the tribunal.

dustyy
14 May 2007, 00:02
mmmmmmmmm. I always worry about the Tribunal especially with Mooneys record. It is a wait and see but I am a little worried with what I saw. I hope that I am wrong Goooooooooooo Cats!!!!!!!!!!!!

flyinghi64
14 May 2007, 02:37
There may not have been much in any of these incidents but the fact remains there were incidents. Why is it when you guys look like you have got your sh@# together a certain important cat does something stupid. When Kerr gave Mitchel a love tap to the goulies last year I was furious. There was no need for it and he's to important a player to miss, fortuneatly he rarely has these brain fades. Mr Mooney seems to have a couple a year and particularly when you are playing well. Does this piss you guys of or what as he can be such an integral part of your team.
I'm not having a go or anything but nobody really seems to be voicing there concern about him putting himself in a postion to be cited in the first place.:confused:

catempire
14 May 2007, 08:19
There may not have been much in any of these incidents but the fact remains there were incidents. Why is it when you guys look like you have got your sh@# together a certain important cat does something stupid. When Kerr gave Mitchel a love tap to the goulies last year I was furious. There was no need for it and he's to important a player to miss, fortuneatly he rarely has these brain fades. Mr Mooney seems to have a couple a year and particularly when you are playing well. Does this piss you guys of or what as he can be such an integral part of your team.
I'm not having a go or anything but nobody really seems to be voicing there concern about him putting himself in a postion to be cited in the first place.:confused:

Of course it does. It's pretty much the only thing separating Mooney from being an A-grade player at the moment.

Team Extreme
14 May 2007, 08:28
Did any of you guys see the Wojcinski/Kerr incident? Fox said they were going at it but they didnt have any footage.

haywood jablome
14 May 2007, 08:48
Meh... We need someone who can be that bad dawg of da team :cool:

Selwood07
14 May 2007, 09:00
I had the binoculars on him and it appeared a typical Moons lapse though mates who saw the game on Foxtel were not aware of it - that doesn't mean it's not on camera as we know. He played a better game but I do not know how you keep the temper in check!

Barabbas
14 May 2007, 10:36
Headbutts are allowed theses days. Chris Johnston precedent.

conanthelibrarian
14 May 2007, 10:46

Was that before or after Glass jumper-punched Mooney?

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14 May 2007, 13:40
I don't know why everyone is worrying about the tribunal, it has been as lenient as ever this year. It has cleared or scaled-down almost every single penalty handed out by the match review panel. That's the one you should be worrying about.

Sammy D
14 May 2007, 17:26
Did any of you guys see the Wojcinski/Kerr incident? Fox said they were going at it but they didnt have any footage.

Didn't have the best view from the standing area but from where I was, Wojcinski came at him from front on and Kerr took a dive looking for a free kick. Was right in front of the umpire and he rightly didn't take the bait.

wendy
14 May 2007, 18:26
Just heard on SEN, Match Review report in, and nothing at all on Cameron Mooney, they said it wasn't even looked at. So all clear to play next week.
Great News.

Brasil2007
14 May 2007, 18:27
He's all clear. Not even looked at.

*whew*

He's on SEN after 1800 tonight if anyone is interested. Presumably well after given the AFL presser at 1800.

Brasil2007
14 May 2007, 18:27
Interesting how many GFC supporters were watching that one!

CatmanForever
14 May 2007, 18:29
fantastic..AFL gets one right for a change

year of the cat
14 May 2007, 18:35
Maybe Hawkins can be rested this week now?

darren forssman
14 May 2007, 18:39
Maybe Hawkins can be rested this week now?

why rest him?

let him get valuable experience in the cauldron.

Brasil2007
14 May 2007, 18:42
The only reason to rest him would be for his own psychological good (and he clearly is getting frustrated at times). Other than that, even if he has a poor day, he still takes a good defender, and it gives him the opportunity to learn.

I didn't notice this but according to the paper when he went off his nana at the umpire it was Moons - MOONS! - who told him to settle down. I think it's no coincidence that big Cam is playing his best football now that he's got someone to look up to him...

Team Extreme
14 May 2007, 18:44
according to 10 news
The mooney/selwood incident was looked and nothing came about. There was no proper footage for the headbutt and the wojac incident so nothing happened.

WE Are Geelong
14 May 2007, 19:07
He's off

catempire
14 May 2007, 19:30
From afl.com.au

The panel viewed contact between Geelong's Corey Enright and West Coast's Adam Hunter. The panel deemed that Enright was running back with the flight of the ball and collided with Hunter, who was attempting to mark. Enright was watching the ball and he then realised that Hunter was going to make contact, so turned and jumped to protect himself. The panel felt that contact was unavoidable and this was not a reportable offence.

There was no conclusive vision of contact between Geelong's David Wojcinksi and West Coast's Daniel Kerr. As such, no further action was required.

Mooney incident not even mentioned. :confused:

TassieCat
14 May 2007, 20:01
Phew!

Brasil2007
14 May 2007, 22:05
Just in... some crap about Mooney being investigated for something (presumably the so-called "headbutt"). On On the Couch. Anyone know more?

worthogs
14 May 2007, 23:25
Just in... some crap about Mooney being investigated for something (presumably the so-called "headbutt"). On On the Couch. Anyone know more?

What the old fart with the glasses said was Money was under investigation.....he has to watch hiself why does he do thing when he doesnt need to.

Moons Did speak to Hawkins, probably told him to hold back and get him with a short sharp jab in a pack later in the match

Copernicus
15 May 2007, 00:28
He's under investigation, but has not been cited by the MRP? What the hell does that mean then?

I would suggest that he will not be facing any disciplinary measures at all this week. Thank Ablett!

eminbee
15 May 2007, 00:59
Allegedly

darren forssman
15 May 2007, 09:39
in todays herald sun:

GEELONG forward Cameron Mooney is being investigated for a possible headbutt in a behind-play clash with West Coast's Beau Waters.

The AFL launched an inquiry after a notice from the umpire's observer over the incident in the last quarter at Skilled Stadium on Sunday.

Selwood07
15 May 2007, 09:47
in todays herald sun:

GEELONG forward Cameron Mooney is being investigated for a possible headbutt in a behind-play clash with West Coast's Beau Waters.

The AFL launched an inquiry after a notice from the umpire's observer over the incident in the last quarter at Skilled Stadium on Sunday.
Then this is the source of SEN comment this morning. Perhaps they should ask supporters who were at S.S. on Sunday to fill in a questionnaire as well as seeking advice from the umpires' observer!!!

strategy
15 May 2007, 10:36
It wasnt just Mooney not playing within the rules by some of your players and yet the umps and tv cameras missed things they should have seen..why ?

haywood jablome
15 May 2007, 10:40
Your fat head was in the way.

Selwood07
15 May 2007, 11:42
Your fat head was in the way.
Still sitting there after the VFL match - not realising where he was?;)

From50
15 May 2007, 11:44
Got off, not enough evidence

Brasil2007
15 May 2007, 13:04
Got off, not enough evidence

Frankly the system is ridiculous. If ALL the umpires miss it AND its not on video really there should be a corpse before anyone else gets involved.

It also irks me when you have an umpire three feet from an incident who doesn't think anything of it yet a player still gets cited on video. Again, if someone's seriously injured, that's different, but the video wasn't brought in to second guess the umpires only to pick up stuff when they are blindsided. The way things are we should remove the ability to report from umpires completely: one less thing for them to worry about.

darren forssman
15 May 2007, 18:02
storm in a tea cup after all, on afl.com.au:

The panel also investigated contact between Geelong's Cameron Mooney and West Coast's Beau Waters. Again, the video evidence and the evidence provided by the interviews with players were inconclusive, meaning no charge will be laid.

Boundary-Rider
15 May 2007, 18:12
Whilst the incident was not captured and therefore no further action to be taken, I feel the club needs to take some action eg the leadership group.

The mere fact that Mooney put himself into such a position is the silly thing, this I why he was suspended 4 times last season and the club does not need this to occur again,

Maybe he should just concerntrate on football and cut out the crappy silly stuff.

We have a good structure at the moment and we need to take this momentum into coming games and to do this we need all our better players on the field not serving suspensions for this type of silly stuff.

Barabbas
15 May 2007, 18:54
storm in a tea cup after all, on afl.com.au:

The panel also investigated contact between Geelong's Cameron Mooney and West Coast's Beau Waters. Again, the video evidence and the evidence provided by the interviews with players were inconclusive, meaning no charge will be laid.

Haha, the old "I can't be sure whether I felt slight contact".

conanthelibrarian
15 May 2007, 21:44
Just as well he didn't headbutt Chick. Chick probably would've worn makeup to make it look like he had a black eye and said he feared for his life when Mooney headbutted him. :p

Tonycam*
15 May 2007, 21:50
I knew it was all a mistake , Cam Mooney is a changed man.
Remember he told us all that.

Nice to see you Connan by the way

conanthelibrarian
15 May 2007, 21:57

Thanks mate. :thumbsu:

hoody
17 May 2007, 02:46
cited ? ex bloody cited at the prospect of ripping some Dockers' heads off maybe.

hotdog_hotdog
18 May 2007, 09:53

I heard an interview with him on SEN the other day, he said sometimes he can't control himself, and it's just who he is!

Tell me what you think of this..

I reckon it's ok if he misses one or two matches through suspension, i think this is countered by the way he pumps up team mates and the crowd!

His an idiot, and his the first to admit it, but both the stupid things he does and Cam Mooney as a motivator, stem from his emotion/passion.

If we want him to get rid of his emotion/passion, this would cut down suspensions, but also cut down motivation.

Last year was over the top but i think he has found a good balance and i would be very surprised if he didn't get suspended this year!

Hood007
18 May 2007, 11:01
I heard an interview with him on SEN the other day, he said sometimes he can't control himself, and it's just who he is!

Tell me what you think of this..

I reckon it's ok if he misses one or two matches through suspension, i think this is countered by the way he pumps up team mates and the crowd!

His an idiot, and his the first to admit it, but both the stupid things he does and Cam Mooney as a motivator, stem from his emotion/passion.

If we want him to get rid of his emotion/passion, this would cut down suspensions, but also cut down motivation.

Last year was over the top but i think he has found a good balance and i would be very surprised if he didn't get suspended this year!

I think how he's playing right now is the perfect balance...

darren forssman
18 May 2007, 11:53
Mooney should be our captain now or next captain.

He is one of the few players that shows real emotion and inspires others. If he gets rubbed out for one or two games so be it, he still would have spent more time on the filed than king or harley had/have.

cat in sydney
18 May 2007, 11:57
Mooney should be our captain now or next captain.

He is one of the few players that shows real emotion and inspires others. If he gets rubbed out for one or two games so be it, he still would have spent more time on the filed than king or harley had/have.

Nup, I think Vice Captain is the highest he should go. Yes, he shows more passion than most others, and is an inspiration as well.
However, if you look at the games when things aren't going well, he loses it. He gets angry, whingy, and lets that get on top of his game. He also has a tendency to blame players when things don't go his way.
Chappy needs to be the next Captain imo, as he always concentrates on winning the ball at the next contest, not what the umpires have done or not done. He is just as passionate, just as inspirational, yet far more consistent.

hotdog_hotdog
18 May 2007, 12:13
Nup, I think Vice Captain is the highest he should go. Yes, he shows more passion than most others, and is an inspiration as well.
However, if you look at the games when things aren't going well, he loses it. He gets angry, whingy, and lets that get on top of his game. He also has a tendency to blame players when things don't go his way.
Chappy needs to be the next Captain imo, as he always concentrates on winning the ball at the next contest, not what the umpires have done or not done. He is just as passionate, just as inspirational, yet far more consistent.

I agree Chappy should take over, but...

Mooney has come along a fair bit in term's of the mental side of the game, i know his not perfect yet, and never will be. But if he was to change the side of his game where he does get down when we are down, would he be considered, or is chappy so far ahead of him it's not worth thinking about?

darren forssman
18 May 2007, 12:49
I agree Chappy should take over, but...

Mooney has come along a fair bit in term's of the mental side of the game, i know his not perfect yet, and never will be. But if he was to change the side of his game where he does get down when we are down, would he be considered, or is chappy so far ahead of him it's not worth thinking about?

is ling ahead of both of them??

he has been given captain duties in the captains absence and he would be one of thompsons first picked every week.

darren forssman
18 May 2007, 12:51

chapman is fantastic but complains and argues with umpires as much as any other geelong player. he has even admitted as much in his surprise in getting brownlow votes.

either mooney or chapman should be captain with the other VC (not the north vietnamese soldier).

TheTimeCometh
18 May 2007, 13:02
wholly jeebus foreskin.

surely you remember what happened when Jnr came under scrutiny for his on-field behaviour?

cat in sydney
18 May 2007, 13:05
chapman is fantastic but complains and argues with umpires as much as any other geelong player. he has even admitted as much in his surprise in getting brownlow votes.

either mooney or chapman should be captain with the other VC (not the north vietnamese soldier).

I do agree that Chappy argues with the umpires as much as anyone, however he doesn't let it negatively impact his game like Moons does, if anything, it makes him even better as a player.
Mooney has improved so much, that yes, give him a leadership role, but it's just too risky for him to be captain (unless we go the co-captain route, which is a whole other debate:p ).