View Full Version : We have been waiting a while to say it, but now can we declare that we have a potent forward line?
chapmanmagic35
13 May 2007, 21:24
Thoughts?
Gavin Excell
13 May 2007, 21:32
fair question - if you look at total goals scored then yes, 35 last week (admittedly an abberration) but 16 agaisnt reigning premier is a sign.
And in all of the big scores, its always been spread. Nobody has had a major haul.
Brereton is anti- Geelong lets make no bones about it. But he did say one interesting thing. Reckons Hawkins is causing match up problems for rival teams because of his size, enabling other players to get lesser defenders. The trick though is Hawkins then becomes a decoy in a way - attracting the premier defender - but individually is not really producing a lot which may affect his confidence.
catempire
13 May 2007, 21:39
Yes.
Until today, West Coast had had kicked against them:
10 (v Sydney)
11 (v Collingwood)
11 (v Freo)
4 (v Carlton)
11 (v Richmond)
9 (v Western Bulldogs)
They have a very good backline and to kick 16 goals against it is a very good effort.
SriLankanCat
13 May 2007, 21:40
We have a good forward line but perhaps we havent executed our game plans well in the past.
Wat we really need is a genuine consistent high scoring forward. Like a LLoyd or Hall or Fevola. Mooney can be that man but he isnt yet, he is always almost there.
Ottens is not a permanent forward in our team. N Ablett is still learning.
Our small forwards are up there with the best.
We have a lot to look forward too.
Rosella
13 May 2007, 21:41
We have 869 points so far. Next best is Essendon on 718. No one else above 700. And we only have one in the top 10 goalkickers .
chapmanmagic35
13 May 2007, 21:41
Yes.
Until today, West Coast had had kicked against them:
10 (v Sydney)
11 (v Collingwood)
11 (v Freo)
4 (v Carlton)
11 (v Richmond)
9 (v Western Bulldogs)
They have a very good backline and to kick 16 goals against it is a very good effort.
Cheers for those stats Catempire! I knew the Eagles had defended well but when you look at them individually, game-by-game, it gives credence to our forward line.
I am genuinely excited by our forward line!
chapmanmagic35
13 May 2007, 21:44
We have a good forward line but perhaps we havent executed our game plans well in the past.
Wat we really need is a genuine consistent high scoring forward. Like a LLoyd or Hall or Fevola. Mooney can be that man but he isnt yet, he is always almost there.
Ottens is not a permanent forward in our team. N Ablett is still learning.
Our small forwards are up there with the best.
We have a lot to look forward too.
Yes, I do think our disposal has always been average, but in the past we have had makeshift forward lines.
SriLankanCat
13 May 2007, 21:47
Our forward line is sufficient. However we need better supply and we need a better structure. Even today i saw Ottens and Mooney with two guys on them and no small forwards at their feet, fortunately it didnt cost us today.
Defensive pressure is important to us too in ouir forward line, Varcoe is doing a good job with that.
It has a lot of potential.
Stokes, Chapman, Dog and Ablett are all first rate smalls. The quality of the talls is improving with Nathan developing, Hawkins coming into the team and Mooney growing in maturity.
It's impossible to really tell if we're going to be 'potent' in the future, but there are some very positive signs and have been all season.
I think we have found the perfect structure now. It is a bonus that they are all young besides moons. Which means we will be able to have them there for the next 8 - 10 years!
On what Sri cat said, i think a key star forward would be detrimental to the team tbh. I think we would get to lloyd/fev concious when we go into our F50. Where with this team we no we have 3 -4 tall options to go for, and no we will have blokes on the ground. You have a star forward and thats where teh ball goes 9 times outta 10. Like whats happening at richmond.
Our forward line is sufficient. However we need better supply and we need a better structure. Even today i saw Ottens and Mooney with two guys on them and no small forwards at their feet, fortunately it didnt cost us today.
Defensive pressure is important to us too in ouir forward line, Varcoe is doing a good job with that.
Spot on.
I wouldn't say the strength is in our talls (for the moment anyway). But we have some of the best small players in the competition and they need to be at the feet of Hawkins, Nathan, Mooney and Ottens.
More often than not, we let the opposition take the ball out of our forward 50with monotonous ease. Varcoe's pressure has helped us in this regard. Dog's higher fitness level, as well as Gaz, Stokes and Chappy is also a contributing factor to our improvement in the forward half of the ground this year.
It could be a lot better though.
However we need better supply and we need a better structure. Even today i saw Ottens and Mooney with two guys on them and no small forwards at their feet, fortunately it didnt cost us today.
I think the supply and structure are fine the way it is. Its not possible to always have a small at there feet. In a game like today we needed our small forwards to push up the ground for more options.
But you want us to drop him :confused:
I think we have found the perfect structure now. It is a bonus that they are all young besides moons. Which means we will be able to have them there for the next 8 - 10 years!
On what Sri cat said, i think a key star forward would be detrimental to the team tbh. I think we would get to lloyd/fev concious when we go into our F50. Where with this team we no we have 3 -4 tall options to go for, and no we will have blokes on the ground. You have a star forward and thats where teh ball goes 9 times outta 10. Like whats happening at richmond.
Quite right, we don't need a Lloyd/Fev.
We need a Brown, Lynch and Bradshaw situation ;)
Quite right, we don't need a Lloyd/Fev.
We need a Brown, Lynch and Bradshaw situation ;)
haha i reckon!
Potential to be in 5 years time?
Brown - Hawk
Lynch - Ablett
Bradshaw - Grima
maybe?
haha i reckon!
Potential to be in 5 years time?
Brown - Hawk
Lynch - Ablett
Bradshaw - Grima
maybe?
Sounds good to me, mate.
SriLankanCat
13 May 2007, 22:04
The problem is when teams flood and there are no small forwards at the feet of the big men, then the other teams will have heaps of players to take the ball out. Fortunately the Eagles didnt flood today.
Sounds good to me, mate.
On that note, is this not going to be an exciting time for the cats
Varcoe - Hawkins - Djidi
SJ - Ablett - Grima
that is one Potent forward line. Add a resting Chapman and Ablett meeeoow!
The problem is when teams flood and there are no small forwards at the feet of the big men, then the other teams will have heaps of players to take the ball out. Fortunately the Eagles didnt flood today.
HUH? if a team floods wouldn't that generally mean we have a lot more players at there feet?? I think our problem is when we congest the midfield and our smalls go up.
If the eagles flooded then i would have doubled over in laughter.
It is certainly taking shape. Not sure whether we are better off with a set up of HF - Chapman Mooney Johnson; FF Ablett, Ottens, Ablett or Ottens in the ruck and Hawkins in the square. For this year at least, we may have to keep Ottens up forward, and have him rotating with Blake and King in the ruck, when King gets fit (???).
One other thing, the forward line is only as good as the delivery into it. In the first half we butchered the ball coming into the forward line (Wojcinski, Corey, and Mackie) and allowed Eagles defence (Wirrpunda) to run the ball out. After half time we seemed to measure our kicks a little better, hence I think we had more marks in the forward 50m.
lionbear
13 May 2007, 22:23
The Cats are definately looking alot better. I think you have a potent forward line but very young. How they manage Hawkins and Nathen Ablett up till the finals if you are there could decide your fortunes.
Geelong need to now keep this momentum going and not have a off week. I think the way they have responded to the Kangaroos match has been good, really showed alot of hurt and now they have a 150+ win and the premiers heading home with their first loss for the season.
Freo next week at home. I think to really show they are heading in the right direction this is a must win game for them.
Keithy George
13 May 2007, 22:24
I'm now turned around on Nablett, reckon he's turning into a fine player. i noticed someone mentioned Grima, saw him play against Sandy and I was very impressed - he's needs to some kicking practice
chapmanmagic35
13 May 2007, 23:13
Then why would you want to drop Varcoe as you suggested earlier?
chapmanmagic35
13 May 2007, 23:14
I'm now turned around on Nablett, reckon he's turning into a fine player. i noticed someone mentioned Grima, saw him play against Sandy and I was very impressed - he's needs to some kicking practice
Yep, agreed. Plays well, finds the footy and has the right attributes but struglles in front of the big sticks. Has kicked a few goals this year though.
Where was he today?