View Full Version : Rd 8.. Geelong Vs Fremantle..
Big_Tazz
13 May 2007, 23:21
Great win to both sides this week.. Fremantle were a little lucky, because i think Hawthorn deserved to win. What is everyones prediction in this game? where will the game be won and lost? and what happens if we lose!!!!!!! Everyones thoughts??
tin can sam
13 May 2007, 23:24
They can't cover our forwards, we can't stop Pavlich or Tarrent so we'll need to just smash them in the middle, which I think we are capapble of.
We should win, but you just never know.
legitimatic
13 May 2007, 23:25
Why did Hawthorn deserve to win?
SPEEDWAGON
13 May 2007, 23:38
They can't cover our forwards, we can't stop Pavlich or Tarrent so we'll need to just smash them in the middle, which I think we are capapble of.
We should win, but you just never know.
Grover
Mooney
McPharlin
Ottens
Dodd/Parker/Hadrill
Ablett
Dodd/Parker/Hadrill
Hawkins
I think we will see the recall of Parker or Hadrill for this match as another big defender will be required as you have a lot of tall timber down there. We do have Mundy and Johnson but I dont think they are suited to playing Full Back on your talls.
Ottens wont play the full game forward so McPharlin will spend time on Ablett.
Gary Ablett is the key for you, we will probably go with Hayden to try and close him down this time.
You will need to beat us in the midfield convincingly to win.
Who are the matchups for our forwards, tarrant, pav, campbell, headland?
bell, sandilands will spend time forwards.
will you go man on man or will we see loose men in defence?
SPEEDWAGON
13 May 2007, 23:41
Why did Hawthorn deserve to win?
Hawks didnt deserve to win on the back of our inept (midfield) performance in the first and second quarters.
The 46 point turnaround was enough to show we are clearly the better side. We were scoring almost every time we went inside 50 for a period in the match.
Seriously just stupid talking like that loveit20.
Will be a cracker game. Two plodder hard working midfields with great backlines and forward lines.
Some matchups at a guess:
H.Black: G.Ablett
Hayden: Varcoe
M.Johnson: N.Ablett
Dodd: S.Johnson
McPharlin: Ottens or whoever is FF.
Grover: Mooney (any chance of being suspended?)
Mundy: Hawkins
Down our forwardline:
Pavlich: Egan (done the job before)
Tarrant: Scarlett
Campbell: ???
Webster: Milburn
Will Chapman be back?
catman2006
14 May 2007, 02:57
If Geelong play the way they did today next week Fremantle don't have a chance.
I would have thought we both have the perfect backlines to match up on our respective forwards.
Egan & Scarlett would do fine on Pavlich & Tarrant. While Johnson/Mundy, Mcfarlane and Grover are a good matchup for Hawkins, N.Ablett & Mooney.
I would probably drop Hawkins as I think we can not stretch Freo like we can other teams. There midfeild is playing poorly (particularly Josh Carr) with only Haselby playing good footy, Ling should be able to hold him. The key for Geelong is trying to break even with Sandilands. He is such a good player and gives Freo first use.
loveit20
14 May 2007, 12:55
Seriously just stupid talking like that loveit20.
Will be a cracker game. Two plodder hard working midfields with great backlines and forward lines.
Some matchups at a guess:
H.Black: G.Ablett
Hayden: Varcoe
M.Johnson: N.Ablett
Dodd: S.Johnson
McPharlin: Ottens or whoever is FF.
Grover: Mooney (any chance of being suspended?)
Mundy: Hawkins
Down our forwardline:
Pavlich: Egan (done the job before)
Tarrant: Scarlett
Campbell: ???
Webster: Milburn
Will Chapman be back?
yeh they reckon he will be
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14 May 2007, 13:30
Play like we did last year against them and Fremantle stand no chance. Hard at the footy and direct delivery.
Who will take Ablett? He tore four opponents to sheds last time.
thejester
14 May 2007, 15:09
I would have thought the rucks will be the key. Blake and Ottens have pissed all over second-rate ruck combinations like White/Jamar, Cloke/Ackland, Richo/Polak and Seaby/Lynch. When they came up against good rucks like Minson and McIntosh the team has struggled. It'll be real interesting to see how they go against Sanidlands.
wizard_9
14 May 2007, 16:52
From a Freo prespective i have no fears of Hawkins doing anything special. If we can match Ottens (when forward), Mooney and Ablett they are much more important.
wizard_9
14 May 2007, 16:53
That's a crock of sh!t.
"Fremantle always start off the season slow"
So you're just gonna choose to turn it on now?
We all know Freo are a bunch of softc**ks.
Come back saturday afternoon, if you've got the guts...
No joke those final three line have suited Geelong to the ground in the past 10 years.
Hood007
14 May 2007, 17:08
No joke those final three line have suited Geelong to the ground in the past 10 years.
The difference is we've done something the last 10 years. Apart from your little run late last year you guys have done nothing and everyone knows it...
crosby123
14 May 2007, 17:11
I would have thought the rucks will be the key. Blake and Ottens have pissed all over second-rate ruck combinations like White/Jamar, Cloke/Ackland, Richo/Polak and Seaby/Lynch. When they came up against good rucks like Minson and McIntosh the team has struggled. It'll be real interesting to see how they go against Sanidlands.
White is x10 better than Minson. Had an off game against us, was all.
afl genius
14 May 2007, 17:16
Bartel, Ablett and Chapman will tear the Shockers apart no one to man up on them, all in AA form.
wizard_9
14 May 2007, 17:18
The difference is we've done something the last 10 years. Apart from your little run late last year you guys have done nothing and everyone knows it...
Like what? I havent seen any premierships won by you guys since our inception.
Hood007
14 May 2007, 17:22
Like what? I havent seen any premierships won by you guys since our inception.
How many finals have you guys won?
You guys have been making up the numbers for years so get off your high horse mate.
But like I said, we'll see on Saturday won't we...
Mmmmm....should be a hard contest, you'd think Geelong would win though but you never know with Freo.
May the best team win and please don't trash my car after the game ;)
happy_eagle
15 May 2007, 00:04
you guys seem pretty confident that chapman will play this week
will he
i hope so for the sake of my DT
oh and by the way
FLOG FREO BY 158 points
Copernicus
15 May 2007, 00:17
Thanks, mods.
Anyway, on current form we'd have to go in pretty firm favourites. Add in the fact that Skilled hasn't been happy hunting for the purples, aside from that one upset in 2005. I think we'll walk away comfortable winners but the team still has to play with 100% intensity and commitment. No resting on the laurels, please!
Ricardo
15 May 2007, 00:58
This is definitely a danger game, i expect it to be tight early, they may come out all guns blazing, complacency is the biggest issue because confidence should be sky high and they have what it takes to beat the Dockers especially at home.
If they can hold Mooney and keep G.Ablett and Bartel quiet it think it may go their way.
Can we be consistent and not be one hit wonders is the question, the next two weeks are big indicators.
Alchera
15 May 2007, 11:06
This is definitely a danger game, i expect it to be tight early, they may come out all guns blazing, complacency is the biggest issue because confidence should be sky high and they have what it takes to beat the Dockers especially at home.
Maybe, maybe not - weather reports suggest a wet one with a week of rain leading into it - perfect for us - no so for Freo (as in the forward structure of Pavlich and Tarrant). Bartel should be able to rip them a new one by himself :thumbsu:
If they can hold Mooney and keep G.Ablett and Bartel quiet it think it may go their way.
As above Bartel and Ablett with love the wet track. Moons has pretty good hands in the wet too - he uses his body to perfection.....most of the time and will be too strong for most of the Freo back line
Can we be consistent and not be one hit wonders is the question, the next two weeks are big indicators.
Agree there. Consistency is the key. It is a game we should win..........but should and did are two different words.................seriously!! :D
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
15 May 2007, 11:14
Given the weather forecast, and temp of about 17 degrees, the Freo boys wont even warm up until after half time, by which stage we should be 10 goals up. Hope the ole Geeelong wind chill factor kicks right in........and also perhaps given the forecast, Hawkins to rest this one??
TheTimeCometh
15 May 2007, 11:19
Thanks, mods.
awwww! wha happened?
wizard_9
15 May 2007, 12:03
Given the weather forecast, and temp of about 17 degrees, the Freo boys wont even warm up until after half time, by which stage we should be 10 goals up. Hope the ole Geeelong wind chill factor kicks right in........and also perhaps given the forecast, Hawkins to rest this one??
I think a bit of wind and slippery weather will suit us at the moment. Will cancel out our lack of speed and will nullify your big guys up forward a bit.
Chapman likely to miss aswell.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
15 May 2007, 12:05
I think a bit of wind and slippery weather will suit us at the moment. Will cancel out our lack of speed and will nullify your big guys up forward a bit.
Chapman likely to miss aswell.
Wouldn't want to get hypothermia again.
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
15 May 2007, 15:43
We thinking of turning the hot water in the showers off again this year??? Sorry, my bag - has that unfortunate hot water malfunction been corrected this year??
There midfeild is playing poorly (particularly Josh Carr) with only Haselby playing good footy, Ling should be able to hold him.
You need to study your Carr's better, Joshua is starting to purr nicely, as for Matthew ........
As has been said before, Freo and Geelong are similar ........ just when you think they are on the right track, they go loco.
Mooney_d'King
15 May 2007, 17:52
You need to study your Carr's better, Joshua is starting to purr nicely, as for Matthew ........
As has been said before, Freo and Geelong are similar ........ just when you think they are on the right track, they go loco.
How very, very true!
geelong_boy
15 May 2007, 19:15
Could someone please explain to me the 'rolling huddle' tactic or whatever it was called that Fremantle used against us at KP in 2005? (I was overseas for the match).
conanthelibrarian
15 May 2007, 20:13
Hopefully it'll be like 2004....10 degrees and peeing down all day. :D
Could someone please explain to me the 'rolling huddle' tactic or whatever it was called that Fremantle used against us at KP in 2005? (I was overseas for the match).
They basically had a huddle 30-40m further up the field than the guy with the ball, with all the outriders, and ppl would peel off and the outriders would block and a teammate would take the uncontested mark, and the huddle would move down the ground and the same thing would happen all over again. Took us till halftime to work out how to combat it, but by then the game was all over.
Copernicus
16 May 2007, 00:59
awwww! wha happened?
Just the usual trolling.
If the forecast is for wet weather, that could make things interesting - we used to be the wet weather kings but not so much the last year or two. I wouldn't think Freo would be much suited to it - Subi is rarely wet.
At least we have Bartel, but we would want to be careful about being too tall if it's going to be wet. Definitely not a good week for King to play and probably a good week to rest Tom, too.
jess_555
19 May 2007, 15:16
The match has started! Discuss... :p
Mooney_d'King
19 May 2007, 16:32
The match has started! Discuss... :p
Geelong hard at the ball, like we all hoped they would be. Kelly having a cracker, Stokesy a ripper. Half time, Geelong 29 points up, 59 plays 30. Pavlich has already played in the middle, a good sign that the Dockers feel up against it.
jess_555
19 May 2007, 16:44
Geelong hard at the ball, like we all hoped they would be. Kelly having a cracker, Stokesy a ripper. Half time, Geelong 29 points up, 59 plays 30. Pavlich has already played in the middle, a good sign that the Dockers feel up against it.
Has Mooney come back on after that knock to the head? :confused:
jess_555
19 May 2007, 17:22
DON'T YOU DARE LOSE IT NOW GEELONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Back to 20 points in it. NOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooo!
Hairy Cat Mooney
19 May 2007, 17:34
DON'T YOU DARE LOSE IT NOW GEELONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Back to 20 points in it. NOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooo!
Have some faith.
CatmanForever
19 May 2007, 17:48
Thank God this means those stupid freo trolls who have been plaguing us this week will now go away. What a crap team freo are. They remind me of us 2005/2006. An example of how well we have recruited to fix our problems. Not a pretty win, but they guts it out with some hard pressure footy. Good win but I am sure the media and the trolls will be saying freo are a bottom team so it doesn't mean anything. I say I hope they keep under-estimating us, b ecause that only serves in our favor..
jess_555
19 May 2007, 17:51
Have some faith.
WooHoo we won!!! Yeah I know... I just keep having in the back of my head that we are going to lose. I think I'm still scarred from last season. This win helps. :) Well done Geelong!
Inferno
19 May 2007, 18:06
I have to admit I panicked when Blake gave off a 'Steven King to Shane Crawford' like handball in the middle of Freo's rally.
CatmanForever
19 May 2007, 18:08
I have to admit I panicked when Blake gave off a 'Steven King to Shane Crawford' like handball in the middle of Freo's rally.
lol, don't remind of the that horrible handpass that lost us the game against the Hawks.....but some of our disposal today was absolute shite. :thumbsd:
Kittenish
19 May 2007, 18:08
WooHoo we won!!! Yeah I know... I just keep having in the back of my head that we are going to lose. I think I'm still scarred from last season. This win helps. :) Well done Geelong!
Same here. I was having a serious freak out feast in the first part.
It's real sad we didn't get to triple figures. Oh well, i'll blame the umps now, bwhahahaha.
Good luck to us. And hopefully King will retire now.
Mooney_d'King
19 May 2007, 18:09
Has Mooney come back on after that knock to the head? :confused:
Yep, Mooney came back on. The commentators thought he might need stitches to his lip, but he's fine.
Great win by the Catters, I'm loving their hardness on the ball. Varcoe's work ethic is excellent, Jimmeh had another stellar game and Kelly was excellent.
CatmanForever
19 May 2007, 18:11
Yep, Mooney came back on. The commentators thought he might need stitches to his lip, but he's fine.
Great win by the Catters, I'm loving their hardness on the ball. Varcoe's work ethic is excellent, Jimmeh had another stellar game and Kelly was excellent.
I thought that there was more than one occasion that Varcoe was more worried about the player than the ball and he looked a bit soft or allowed easy take aways...then he'd lay a tackle that would blow you away...if only he played that hard for the whole game.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 May 2007, 18:13
Report on Rooke please.
thejester
19 May 2007, 18:16
Report on Rooke please.
Did a few good things, went missing a bit though.
I tell you what, when DJ retires he should be offered a place as Geelong's hardness coach. How good was that clash with Pavlich?
Inferno
19 May 2007, 18:18
Report on Rooke please.
Badly needs a haircut.
Kittenish
19 May 2007, 18:20
Badly needs a haircut.
Maybe, maybe not. If he wants to be a p**n star after retirement, he's on the right track.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 May 2007, 18:22
Did a few good things, went missing a bit though.
I tell you what, when DJ retires he should be offered a place as Geelong's hardness coach. How good was that clash with Pavlich?
I know what he did, I was there. Injury report please.
thejester
19 May 2007, 18:27
Haven't heard a peep about it.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 May 2007, 18:29
Well he didn't play the entire second half, clearly something went wrong.
Kittenish
Keep your pants on. The official report should be out tomorrow.
theGav56
Well done. You guys look set for a good year, and not because you beat us; we were ordinary and the 4 goal margin flattered us big time. But you looked solid, and have upside to come with Chapman, Harley and some others to come.
Good to see your coach and few of the maligned Cats turn it around, especially Kelly and Ling.
conanthelibrarian
19 May 2007, 18:30
Can you believe the ferals on the Freo board are thinking they were murdered by the umpires? I think the umpires, either directly or indirectly, through crap decision or lack of decision, had a hand in nearly every score Freo had till three quarter time.
thejester
19 May 2007, 18:31
Clearly, but nothing on the actual commentary or on 3AW, so I guess it's being kept under very tight wrap.
dtrainium
19 May 2007, 18:33
I saw him limping away from a contest on the wing, he was holding either his quad or his hamstring, it was hard to tell, definately looked like an upper leg injury though.
Kittenish
19 May 2007, 18:33
Well done. You guys look set for a good year, and not because you beat us; we were ordinary and the 4 goal margin flattered us big time. But you looked solid, and have upside to come with Chapman, Harley and some others to come.
Good to see your coach and few of the maligned Cats turn it around, especially Kelly and Ling.
Linga and Kelly aren't malign.
Linga can shut down people like Kerr from WCE. I seem to think he's pretty good at least.
And with Kelly's good work the last couple of weeks, he definitely ain't malign.
However, if I may so bold to suggest that Shane McManus needs some anger management classes.
You don't push Jimmeh Bartel around like that, espcially when he's a much better player than you are.
thejester
19 May 2007, 18:36
I saw him limping away from a contest on the wing, he was holding either his quad or his hamstring, it was hard to tell, definately looked like an upper leg injury though.
Yeah, come to think of it I saw that. Looked in a lot of pain, too.
Kittenish
19 May 2007, 18:39
Can you believe the ferals on the Freo board are thinking they were murdered by the umpires? I think the umpires, either directly or indirectly, through crap decision or lack of decision, had a hand in nearly every score Freo had till three quarter time.
Everyone knows that Freo supporters are up there on the dumb supporters list.
It comes from living too close to Perth and the Weegles.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 May 2007, 18:41
Linga can shut down people like Kerr from WCE. I seem to think he's pretty good at least.
And with Kelly's good work the last couple of weeks, he definitely ain't malign.
However, if I may so bold to suggest that Shane McManus needs some anger management classes.
You don't push Jimmeh Bartel around like that, espcially when he's a much better player than you are.
Do you know what malignED means? I'd say they are.
Kittenish
19 May 2007, 18:45
Do you know what malignED means? I'd say they are.
maˇlign http://cache.lexico.com/g/d/premium.gif http://cache.lexico.com/g/d/speaker.gif (https://secure.reference.com/premium/login.html?rd=2&u=http%3A%2F%2Fdictionary.reference.com%2Fbrowse%2Fmaligned) (mə-līn') Pronunciation Key (http://cache.lexico.com/help/ahd4/pronkey.html)
tr.v. maˇligned, maˇlignˇing, maˇligns
To make evil, harmful, and often untrue statements about; speak evil of.
adj.
Evil in disposition, nature, or intent.
Evil in influence; injurious.
Having or showing malice or ill will; malevolent.
[Middle English malignen, to attack, from Old French malignier, from Late Latin malignārī, from Latin malignus, malign; see genə- in Indo-European roots. Adj., from Middle English, from Old French, from Latin malignus.]
And with Linga's performance last week and patches from today, I'd say he wasn't. And there would be others to back me up.
And go check the Votes Vs Freo thread. And you can reliase that today Kelly certainly wasn't.
Please remove your head from your butt, hang up and try again.
Just do something
19 May 2007, 18:45
Rooke has tweaked his groin may be ok for next week but will be touch and go!!
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 May 2007, 18:50
maˇlign http://cache.lexico.com/g/d/premium.gif http://cache.lexico.com/g/d/speaker.gif (https://secure.reference.com/premium/login.html?rd=2&u=http%3A%2F%2Fdictionary.reference.com%2Fbrowse%2Fmaligned) (mə-līn') Pronunciation Key (http://cache.lexico.com/help/ahd4/pronkey.html)
adj.
[Middle English malignen, to attack, from Old French malignier, from Late Latin malignārī, from Latin malignus, malign; see genə- in Indo-European roots. Adj., from Middle English, from Old French, from Latin malignus.]
And with Linga's performance last week and patches from today, I'd say he wasn't. And there would be others to back me up.
And go check the Votes Vs Freo thread. And you can reliase that today Kelly certainly wasn't.
Yes it means spoken badly about. Ling and Kelly are often talked about in a negative manner. Doesn't make them poor performers today, or even bad players in general. It just means they cop a bit of criticism - fairly or unfairly - which is true.
theGav56
19 May 2007, 18:51
Do a search of your own Board. It's full of opinions that Kelly should have been traded last year, and that Ling's career should be over even going back just a couple of weeks. That's what maligned means. Turning it around is a great show of character. Good on them.
As for MacManus, what was your problem with him? I reckon Bartell was having a good laugh, and why not. Nothing wrong with what he did.
Kittenish
19 May 2007, 18:52
Yes it means spoken badly about. Ling and Kelly are often talked about in a negative manner. Doesn't make them poor performers today, or even bad players in general. It just means they cop a bit of criticism - fairly or unfairly - which is true.
It's more known meaning is evil or bad. Criticized is better to use in this circumstance.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 May 2007, 18:54
It's more known meaning is evil or bad. Criticized is better to use in this circumstance.
Read theGav56's post.
Read your definition: To make evil, harmful, and often untrue statements about; speak evil of.
Now go back to your homework.
Kittenish
19 May 2007, 18:57
Read theGav56's post.
Read your definition: To make evil, harmful, and often untrue statements about; speak evil of.
Now go back to your homework.
I'll go do my homework when you crawl back to the rock you crawled out from under.
Now let us never speak of this again.
TassieCat
19 May 2007, 19:44
I'll go do my homework when you crawl back to the rock you crawled out from under.
Hey guys...we won be happy:)
Maligned was the perfect word to use in that situation. I think you are get it mixed up with malevolent.
Hood007
19 May 2007, 22:48
Maligned was the perfect word to use in that situation. I think you are get it mixed up with malevolent.
I doubt she knows what that means either! :p
Girlfriend code for your right but i'll cut your nuts off. We've all been there before boys!
(kittenish, apart from two letters you are spot on. Ling and Kelly are (or now were) much maligned by the Geelong faithful.)
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 May 2007, 23:21
Girlfriend code for your right but i'll cut your nuts off. We've all been there before boys!
(kittenish, apart from two letters you are spot on. Ling and Kelly are (or now were) much maligned by the Geelong faithful.)
Nah mate. She said they weren't!
Do you reckon those were the two letter?
iameviljez
19 May 2007, 23:30
adj.
It's your grammar that's the issue, not the vocab. To malign someone is fine in English, but when some is maligned by someone else (ie the passive form), the word is maligned, not "malign".
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 May 2007, 23:31
Do you reckon those were the two letter?
I thought it was the malign/ed.
I just re-read the post and just like the real SJ, you are spot on.
I thought it was the malign/ed.
Fair enough my mistake
jess_555
20 May 2007, 14:25
What's going on in this photo?! Hahaha
http://www.aflphotos.com.au/images/thumbs/main/7244.jpg
I thought they were playing footy not 'stacks on'.
http://www.aflphotos.com.au/images/thumbs/main/7356.jpg
Hood007
20 May 2007, 14:29
Looks like a massive orgy...
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
20 May 2007, 14:30
What's going on in this photo?! Hahaha
http://www.aflphotos.com.au/images/thumbs/main/7356.jpg
That was that massive rolling maul in Fremantle's forward line in the last quarter.
loveit20
20 May 2007, 23:16
Congrats to the Geelong supporters, far to good on Saturday. I thought we would be a chance, but you guys blew us out of the water, we were never in it. Congrats. I think you guys are the real deal now, you must be pushing for top 4 surely.
Hood007
21 May 2007, 09:21
Congrats to the Geelong supporters, far to good on Saturday. I thought we would be a chance, but you guys blew us out of the water, we were never in it. Congrats. I think you guys are the real deal now, you must be pushing for top 4 surely.
Thanks mate! Good of you to show your head around here!
Unlike some of your fellow supporters. Not naming any names... (pistol17)
haywood jablome
21 May 2007, 09:29
Pencildick17 still hasn't shown up :/
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
21 May 2007, 09:37
Maybe his 'server is down'........or would that be his ego?
pistol17
21 May 2007, 11:31
Thanks mate! Good of you to show your head around here!
Unlike some of your fellow supporters. Not naming any names... (pistol17)
Congrats guys, first chance ive had to get to a computer since the game. Like i said last week, if you won i would come back on here and eat some humble pie and honestly eating a fair bit of it at the moment. The scoreline was quite flattering to us and doesnt show the true reflection of how much you guys pretty much smashed us everywhere. No excuses for our performance, just not good enough. One thing i wont take back is my posts about Rooke. No more comments on him or you guys from now on, good luck for the rest of the year, good win!
Hood007
21 May 2007, 11:44
Congrats guys, first chance ive had to get to a computer since the game. Like i said last week, if you won i would come back on here and eat some humble pie and honestly eating a fair bit of it at the moment. The scoreline was quite flattering to us and doesnt show the true reflection of how much you guys pretty much smashed us everywhere. No excuses for our performance, just not good enough. One thing i wont take back is my posts about Rooke. No more comments on him or you guys from now on, good luck for the rest of the year, good win!
Didn't he shut Headland out in the first half? Not that that's too hard to do though...
pistol17
21 May 2007, 11:48
Didn't he shut Headland out in the first half? Not that that's too hard to do though...
I honestly think headland shouldnt be in our side. Has had one decent game for us in 4 years (this year against melb). We are paying him $400,000 a year for him to not finish in the top ten once in the best and fairest. I find that headland is a front runner, when his side is in front he is everywhere but when they are behind he goes missing. Should be dropped
catempire
21 May 2007, 12:53
One thing i wont take back is my posts about Rooke.
Then you've learnt nothing.
Rooke was one of the best players on the ground when he went off injured.
pistol17
21 May 2007, 13:10
Then you've learnt nothing.
Rooke was one of the best players on the ground when he went off injured.
Maybe if he had of played on a decent player instead of dud headland you might have a case to change my mind...
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
21 May 2007, 13:13
How many Geelong games have you watched in the past couple of years? Do you know the scalps Rooke has had? Plus, in terms of courage, he's the new Archer.
pistol17
21 May 2007, 13:40
How many Geelong games have you watched in the past couple of years? Do you know the scalps Rooke has had? Plus, in terms of courage, he's the new Archer.
Dont be stupid
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
21 May 2007, 13:55
Dont be stupid
Allright maybe not the new Archer - but will be if his body stays together.
Same courage level.
And agree with the Headland call. Waste of your salary cap.
Do us a favour and knock the Saints flat next week - we have them the week after and another couple of injuries and a big loss will surely help us......
Good luck Pistole'
Adn thanks for sticking to your word and fronting - had my doubts there.....
theGav56
21 May 2007, 13:59
Rooke at worst is a very handy player. Just has had a few injuries. It's all very well to bag Headland, but the reality is that if he is not beaten by someone he is dangerous. Rooke did that, plus a bit more. Headland is a front runner, or finisher, or receiver. When we are winning (as in the in and under players are getting the ball) of course he has a good game, and when they aren't, he doesn't have a good game. While we almost broke even at the clearances your movement from there was clean and assured, whereas ours was hurried, haphazard and off target. Hats off to Bartell, Kelly and GAblett.
catempire
21 May 2007, 14:45
Maybe if he had of played on a decent player instead of dud headland you might have a case to change my mind...
You can only flog the opposition of the day...
Rooke has far bigger scalps than Headland to his name. Try Judd for starters.
CatmanForever
22 May 2007, 07:23
One thing i wont take back is my posts about Rooke.
to be honest with you.....we couldn't care less what you think of Rooke. Especially after all that crap you dished out last week. Your credibility around here is zero. So bugger off until later in the season when we meet again. :thumbsd:
scottydeewah
22 May 2007, 09:06
ahhh Rooke, I would happily die defending his name as he would happily die defending the Geelong Football Club. If he was as good skills wise as he was courage and toughness he would be UNSTOPPABLE!
TheTimeCometh
22 May 2007, 13:26
wtf was kittenish on about in page four???
ling and kelly ARE often maligned.
deadfish
22 May 2007, 13:38
Dont start that again...
TheTimeCometh
22 May 2007, 14:23
yeah, sorry.
just the second incorrect correction i sighted from kittenish....
16 y.o. , if correct, says it all.