View Full Version : Our list versus other teams lists

crow87
14 May 2007, 01:10
IMO Craigy's big strength is that every season he has coached he has gotten 100% out of whatever players are on our list. Something that I've been wondering lately is which players from other individual teams would make it into our side. Starting off with Brisbane (perhaps suitable as we played them this week) which players would make it into our best 22?

22 named round 7:
B: Chris Johnson (2), Daniel Merrett (21), Jason Roe (29)
HB: Jed Adcock (7), Jared Brennan (17), Robert Copeland (30)
C: Justin Sherman (11), Nigel Lappin (44), Cheynee Stiller (32)
HF: Scott Harding (5), Jonathan Brown (16), Tim Notting (8)
F: Michael Rischitelli (35), Joel Patfull (24), Ashley McGrath (9)
Foll: Jamie Charman (19), Simon Black (20), Luke Power (6)
Int: Richard Hadley (14), Colm Begley (46), Beau McDonald (43), Ben Fixter (4)
Emerg: Josh Drummond (39), Troy Selwood (28), Marcus Allan (42)

Injury List round 7:
Daniel Bradshaw
Mitchell Clark
Anthony Corrie
Pat Garner
Haydn Kiel
Matthew Leuenberger
Joel MacDonald
Matthew Moody
Chris Scott
Sam Sheldon
Joel Tippett

Not trying to be negative towards our own list, just thought it might make for some interensting discussion, other teams to follow in alphabetical order if this thread takes off. A good way to reply could be to indicate your choices by making the players name bold if they'd be in your afc best 22.
Cheers

crow87
14 May 2007, 01:19
These would be near certs:

Lappin
Power
Black
Charman
Bradshaw (sorry but he'd do a better job than our talls)
Brown (ditto with interest times one billion)

At a stretch (probably one out of the following four but I rate them all):

McGrath
Notting
Rischitelli
Sherman

Thanks for the swift and quality reply, if we had Brown i reckon we would have won at elast if not both of the last two flags. He'd be a walk in to any team lol, unstoppable when on song.

amer
14 May 2007, 01:21
These would be near certs:

Lappin
Power
Black
Charman
Bradshaw (sorry but he'd do a better job than our talls)
Brown (ditto with interest times one billion)

At a stretch (probably one out of the following four but I rate them all):

McGrath
Notting
Rischitelli
Sherman
And Adcock, he is QUALITY.

betterthanu
14 May 2007, 01:28
22 named round 7:

Injury List round 7:
Daniel Bradshaw
Mitchell Clark
Anthony Corrie
Pat Garner
Haydn Kiel
Matthew Leuenberger
Joel MacDonald
Matthew Moody
Chris Scott
Sam Sheldon
Joel Tippett

These people would prob make my best 22. bradshaw and scott miss out cos there would be too many older players. Leuenburger would be nice sitting on our list.

Stiffy_18
14 May 2007, 01:31
These people would prob make my best 22. bradshaw and scott miss out cos there would be too many older players. Leuenburger would be nice sitting on our list.
Jamie Charman not make your best 22? :eek:

I know he would make my best 22 as would Brown, Bradshaw, Black, Power and Lappin. Need to think a bit more about the rest.

RoosterLad
14 May 2007, 01:40
I would love Roe.;)

crow87
14 May 2007, 01:54
22 named round 7:

Plus Bradshaw

May have missed a couple but for me they're the definites, Adcock would complete what is already a very handy backline.

dyertribe
14 May 2007, 01:56
Sherman a definite.

The kid is a freak.

Vic Crow
14 May 2007, 02:15

Add Daniel Bradshaw

This is without considering our own list. These are just guys who are guns in my book and would be walk up starts. Can't be arsed working it all out now but if there is room I wouldn't mind finding a spot for Robert Copeland as I like the way he goes about his footy. Oooh, Rischitelli too. Gun.

I like Merrett too, but without even thinking obviously Rutten would hold down full back ahead of him and while better defensively, our team generally requires a more creative player in the backline - Stevens, Bassett and Merrett isn't creative enough to win a spot in our team. I rate though.

Sanguinarius
14 May 2007, 02:33
Injury List round 7:
Daniel Bradshaw
Mitchell Clark
Anthony Corrie
Pat Garner
Haydn Kiel
Matthew Leuenberger
Joel MacDonald
Matthew Moody
Chris Scott
Sam Sheldon
Joel Tippett

any relation ??? :confused:

SA_Stazza
14 May 2007, 07:53
any relation ??? :confused:

Only his younger brother :p

Listed as 198cm, 88kg

SA_Stazza
14 May 2007, 08:03
22 named round 7:

Injury List round 7:
Daniel Bradshaw
Mitchell Clark
Anthony Corrie
Pat Garner
Haydn Kiel
Matthew Leuenberger
Joel MacDonald
Matthew Moody
Chris Scott
Sam Sheldon
Joel Tippett

Chris Johnson unlucky but he misses for mine, the rest would certainly figure in our best 22.

crowugoodthing
14 May 2007, 12:03
22 named round 7:

Injury List round 7:
Daniel Bradshaw
Mitchell Clark
Anthony Corrie
Pat Garner
Haydn Kiel
Matthew Leuenberger
Joel MacDonald
Matthew Moody
Chris Scott
Sam Sheldon
Joel Tippett

Stiffy_18
14 May 2007, 12:26
I raise the question about Brenan. To me he is a typical sort of creative player that Craig would love to pluck into the backline. He can play on smalls and talls and is veratile enough to even play in other positions such as wing or forward.

I reckon he would be another one that Craigy would love to have in his team.

finn
14 May 2007, 13:01
if all fit and ready to go from either list, this would be my choice of a merged team from the weekend combatants

johncock rutten bassett
adcock bock macleod
lappin black goodwin
burton brown edwards
sherman bradshaw hentschel

1st - charman riccuito thompson

i/c power hudson rischitelli knights
em reilly biglands stiller

neil craig, as we know would've liked patfull on the list

i wouldn't like to play that side.

Eggzoi
14 May 2007, 13:40
if all fit and ready to go from either list, this would be my choice of a merged team from the weekend combatants

johncock rutten bassett
adcock bock macleod
lappin black goodwin
burton brown edwards

Swap Knights for Reilly and I reckon you're looking good/. IMO Reilly has probably been our most damaging midfielder this year before his ankle.

NikkiNoo
14 May 2007, 13:49

johncock rutten bassett
adcock bock macleod
lappin black goodwin
burton brown edwards

That's a pretty nice side there Finn! But who coaches it Matthews or Craig?

Vic Crow
14 May 2007, 14:18
That side would win games with Tim Watson at the helm.

finn
15 May 2007, 14:54
you'd have to go the four time premiership coach wouldn't you?
the thread however suggested which list under craig...

crow87
22 May 2007, 02:11
Ok that was reasonably popular and seems fairly interesting IMO so heres Carlton for this week:
Round 8 Team:
FB:R. Houlihan, L. Whitnall, J. SaddingtonHB:B. Thornton, J. Waite, A. WalkerC:M. Lappin, M. Murphy, K. SimpsonHF:B. Gibbs, S. O'hAilpin, A. KoutoufidesFF:B. Fisher, B. Fevola, E. BettsFol:C. Ackland, A. Carrazzo, H. ScotlandInt:A. Bentick, L. Blackwell, J. Russell, R. Young
Injuries:
Cameron Cloke
Jake Edwards
Shaun Grigg
Ryan Jackson
Dylan McLaren
Nick Stevens
David Teague
Simon Wiggins

Some obvious ones in bold there, obviously Gibbs stings a bit lol. Fevola would be a handy addition to our fwdline but would you want his mentality around the club? I reckon you'd probably take him and we could sort him out anyway :D :thumbsu: Who would you have (perhaps for a slightly crappier team like this we'll focus on who you would have on the list or on the border of selection rather than solid in the best 22.)

betterthanu
22 May 2007, 02:15
Ok that was reasonably popular and seems fairly interesting IMO so heres Carlton for this week:
Round 8 Team:
FB:R. Houlihan, L. Whitnall, J. SaddingtonHB:B. Thornton, J. Waite, A. WalkerC:M. Lappin, M. Murphy, K. SimpsonHF:B. Gibbs, S. O'hAilpin, A. KoutoufidesFF:B. Fisher, B. Fevola, E. Betts Fol:C. Ackland, A. Carrazzo, H. ScotlandInt:A. Bentick, L. Blackwell, J. Russell, R. Young
Injuries:
Cameron Cloke
Jake Edwards
Shaun Grigg
Ryan Jackson
Dylan McLaren
Nick Stevens
David Teague
Simon Wiggins

Betts due to lack of forward crumbers

crow87
22 May 2007, 02:17
Betts due to lack of forward crumbers
Good call, he would be kinda handy actually.

Drummond
22 May 2007, 02:31
Fevola, Waite, Fisher, Murphy, Simpson, Blackwell.

Watch out for Blackwell, gun in-and-under midfielder. :thumbsu:

James23
22 May 2007, 04:19
hmmm neil craig or leigh matthews?? :P

SpringChoke
22 May 2007, 11:29
Let's be honest, Criagy and his assistants have made our recruitment/trading departrment look very good. When he took over the job the following first 22 picked players were all in no mans land. I doubt if you sent some of the following players to another club, with another coach they will still be playing.

Shirley,
Doughty,
Reilly,
Bock,
Rutten,
Mattner,
Bode,
Stevens,
and possibly Burton.

The only player who IMO has gone backwards in the Neil Craig era is Kenny McGregor.

Vic Crow
22 May 2007, 11:32
No takers for Lance? :confused:

SpringChoke
22 May 2007, 11:57
No takers for Lance? :confused:

Jericho and a 4th rounder.

RoosterLad
22 May 2007, 15:42
Fevola is a definite. Absolute gun.

crow87
22 May 2007, 21:12
The only player who IMO has gone backwards in the Neil Craig era is Kenny McGregor.

Kennys been injured alot under Craig (especially in more recent times (years)) and when he is fit he doesnt get a chance to prove himself in the side!

crow87
22 May 2007, 21:14
Fevola is a definite. Absolute gun.
Well Fevola is a no brainer obviously, as is Marc Murphy and Nick Stevens, I like some of the sideways thoughts in this thread eg Eddie Betts (would be very handy IMO) and Lance Whitnall! A straight trade of Jericho (plus a low pick if they really want it) for Whitnall could possibly see both sides walk away happy I think, although I can see why some people wouldnt like picking up Whitnall and I wouldnt be 100%. But if it didnt cost us much...

Sanguinarius
23 May 2007, 00:42
Well Fevola is a no brainer obviously, as is Marc Murphy and Nick Stevens, I like some of the sideways thoughts in this thread eg Eddie Betts (would be very handy IMO) and Lance Whitnall! A straight trade of Jericho (plus a low pick if they really want it) for Whitnall could possibly see both sides walk away happy I think, although I can see why some people wouldnt like picking up Whitnall and I wouldnt be 100%. But if it didnt cost us much...

Jericho + 3rd/4th round for whitnall? :eek:

no way in hell would carlton accept that!

Vic Crow
23 May 2007, 00:56
Only Hawthorn could justify trading their captain away for so little. :p

RoosterLad
23 May 2007, 17:41
Gibbs is an absolute talent FD and remember he hasn't played many games and it's only his first season in 'the system'. He absolutely burned for the Bays and as soon as he leaves they end up back down the bottom again...

RoosterLad
23 May 2007, 17:50
Yeah I agree with that, but I thought you meant you don't rate Gibbs when you said you "don't much like him". If he was on our list he would probably be at Glenelg I'd imagine.

betterthanu
23 May 2007, 18:03
If you meant that you thought gibbs was a dud you were going on the ignore list.

crow87
24 May 2007, 00:37
Yeah I agree with that, but I thought you meant you don't rate Gibbs when you said you "don't much like him". If he was on our list he would probably be at Glenelg I'd imagine.
I dont know how many times I said this when he was first drafted by the Blues during the whole thing about him coming to the crows/carlton and got shut down hard :rolleyes:

crow87
29 May 2007, 00:30
Ok guys, not a bad win on the weekend even if we werent 100% convincing I always sort of felt we had it more or less in control, but I digress.
This week lets have a look at Collingwood:

Round 9 Team:
FB:
T. Lockyer, S. Prestigiacomo, B. Holland
HB:
H. Shaw, H. O'Brien, R. Shaw
C:
S. Pendlebury, A. Toovey, D. Thomas
HF:
N. Maxwell, T. Cloke, A. Didak
FF:
D. Swan, A. Rocca, B. Johnson
Fol:
J. Fraser, S. O'Bree, S. Burns
Int:
L. Davis, P. Medhurst, C. Bryan, T. Goldsack

Injuries:
John Anthony
Chris Bryan
Nathan Buckley
James Clement
Chris Dawes
Paul Licuria
Chris Egan
Ryan Lonie
Sean Rusling

Some interesting ones here (PLEASE no-one say they want Lonie or Didak :rolleyes:), obviously the KP forward issue creeps in again with Rocca but would you have him? At what cost? Worth the risk? How long's he got left? Same goes for Buckley.
Also on the agenda is how much Pies fans go on about Clement, I wouldnt have him in our Backline (well, you could probably "squeeze him in" :p but you know). Would Paul Licuria get a run with the likes of Goody and Thommo? Is Pendlebury in our best 22? What do you reckon? Feel free to post you're own questions too, could be interesting.

Allefgib
29 May 2007, 04:26
Aren't we playing Melbourne this week???

crow87
30 May 2007, 01:59
Aren't we playing Melbourne this week???
Well, I had been going in alphabetical order, but by chance the teams covered so far had been teams we were playing around the time.

Allefgib
30 May 2007, 09:59
Well, I had been going in alphabetical order, but by chance the teams covered so far had been teams we were playing around the time.

LOL. Sorry, had just assumed it was who we were playing!

crow87
31 May 2007, 02:51
LOL. Sorry, had just assumed it was who we were playing!
lol, no worries, I wasnt sure myself and almost decided to go with your idea as it seemed to suit alright but oh well. What do you reckon about the origianl question? Anyone else?

Allefgib
31 May 2007, 06:53
lol, no worries, I wasnt sure myself and almost decided to go with your idea as it seemed to suit alright but oh well. What do you reckon about the origianl question? Anyone else?

Unfortunately being overseas I try to focus on the crows squad and don't get to see many other games at the moment. From my very ignorant understanding of who is playing for the Pies these days.. hmm...

Clement - we have blokes that fill that roll but he's probably a better option than Torney/Mattner at this stage.
Didak - the small forward type we are missing

And I have a feeling some of their young types (Swan?) have been performing well enough to consider but haven't seen enough of them to comment in all honesty.

marvin
31 May 2007, 12:39
Ok guys, not a bad win on the weekend even if we werent 100% convincing I always sort of felt we had it more or less in control, but I digress.

Round 9 Team:
FB:
T. Lockyer, S. Prestigiacomo, B. Holland
HB:
H. Shaw, H. O'Brien, R. Shaw
C:
S. Pendlebury, A. Toovey, D. Thomas
HF:
N. Maxwell, T. Cloke, A. Didak
FF:
D. Swan, A. Rocca, B. Johnson
Fol:
J. Fraser, S. O'Bree, S. Burns
Int:
L. Davis, P. Medhurst, C. Bryan, T. Goldsack

Injuries:
John Anthony
Chris Bryan
Nathan Buckley
James Clement
Chris Dawes
Paul Licuria
Chris Egan
Ryan Lonie
Sean Rusling

Some interesting ones here (PLEASE no-one say they want Lonie or Didak :rolleyes:), obviously the KP forward issue creeps in again with Rocca but would you have him? At what cost? Worth the risk? How long's he got left? Same goes for Buckley.
Also on the agenda is how much Pies fans go on about Clement, I wouldnt have him in our Backline (well, you could probably "squeeze him in" :p but you know). Would Paul Licuria get a run with the likes of Goody and Thommo? Is Pendlebury in our best 22? What do you reckon? Feel free to post you're own questions too, could be interesting.

My opinion -

Clement, Pendlebury, Didak certainly; Josh Fraser is a better option than Maric and Griffin at thsi stage too.
On form through rounds 1-9, Heath Shaw, Lockyer, Swan and Cloke would also get a game for us. Maybe Maxwell and Burns too.
On career history, Buckley obviously, but what will Nathan Buckley be like if/when he gets out there again?