View Full Version : Scott Thompson Appreciation Thread
RoosterLad
14 May 2007, 13:54
How good has Scott Thompson been this year? Talk about underrated. They guy copped so much crap last season for trying to tighten up his game and cut out the frees, but he has been our absolute star performer this season.
Consistently racks up 20+ disposals, his disposal efficiency has improved and he never shirks a contest. Always pushing the ball forward. He seems to be playing more in the guts this season and is still chipping in with a goal a game.
The guy always gets the criticism when he has a bad one, but everyone shuts up when he plays well and he doesn't get the kudos for his consistently bloody good performances this season.
Well done Scotty :thumbsu:
RoosterLad
14 May 2007, 13:55
This thread was made as a request, and a bloody good one at that. After a good first year for us, he struggled a bit last year mainly with his disposal but this year he has been superb and has been one of our best players. He kicked some handy goals at the Gabba too.
Thompson, Reilly and Knights.
The future midfield looks very good.
Thommo, probably our best and most consistent player this year.
just maybe
14 May 2007, 13:58
RL posted this thread at my request, and I thank him for it.
Good work by the Gun.
maximus
14 May 2007, 14:08
Great thread and IMO he would be leading the club B&F at this stage. He was still pretty good for us last year despite all the criticism.
It is hard to assess his frees-against tally this year given the new "Scott Thompson interpretation" of the holding the ball rule.
Must admit I have been swayed, still has that fire but has learnt when to stop
King Elvis
14 May 2007, 14:27
He's always said he wanted to Captain our club.
Now he is playing and behaving like he could.
Kane McGoodwin
14 May 2007, 14:27
This thread was made as a request, and a bloody good one at that. After a good first year for us, he struggled a bit last year mainly with his disposal but this year he has been superb and has been one of our best players. He kicked some handy goals at the Gabba too.
Very true. Thommo slipped backwards last year & burnt plenty of the ball, but he has taken that extra step we needed this year, as he will need to become one of our key onballers to take over from the older guys. Great to have goal-kicking onballers.
Capitalist
14 May 2007, 14:34
Thompson in reality is the mongrel that our midfield needed in the post roo era.
hopefully he can be 1/2 as good as Roo :thumbsu:
Dandy_GO
14 May 2007, 14:34
If he keeps up this form, you'd have to pencil him in for a top 3 club champion finish. Only Rutten and McLeod have been close to him so far.
The thing that impresses me most about Thompson is that even when the whole team is playing poorly, he'll stand up. Many of his best performances have been in losing games. The best example was against Geelong in 2005 - 34 touches, 3 of our 8 goals. Even back then he was performing when we needed people to, and continues to today.
Back when he first arrived, I wasn't particularly inclined to agree with those who said he'd be good captaincy material, but each and every week this season he's proved more and more to me that he's got what it takes. Blokes who give 100% even when the team is down are hard to come by, and it's the kind of trait you love to see in a captain.
CarnCrows
14 May 2007, 14:35
Apart from his attack on the ball I love it that he is good in front of the goals. Does tend to rip off someones head occasionally (though the trend this year of ducking the head when in trouble is VERY annoying).
Screwed by Rule #765000.7 though.
"The Scott Thompson Rule" - When Scott Thompson puts his body on the line to win a contested ball and 15 opposition players jump in his back and take his head off, a free kick must be payed against Scott Thompson.
Dandy_GO
14 May 2007, 14:46
Screwed by Rule #765000.7 though.
"The Scott Thompson Rule" - When Scott Thompson puts his body on the line to win a contested ball and 15 opposition players jump in his back and take his head off, a free kick must be payed against Scott Thompson.
related: "The Warren Tredrea Rule" - When Warren Tredrea jumps on Scott Thompson and sits on his head, before yelling furiously at the umpire, a free kick shall be paid against Thompson.
maximus
14 May 2007, 14:48
related: "The Warren Tredrea Rule" - When Warren Tredrea jumps on Scott Thompson and sits on his head, before yelling furiously at the umpire, a free kick shall be paid against Thompson.
Also related to the "Ben Hudson Rule" - Ben Hudson shall be the only ruckman that can be pinged holding the ball when taking the ball out of a ruck contest.
Capitalist
14 May 2007, 14:59
Also related to the "Ben Hudson Rule" - Ben Hudson shall be the only ruckman that can be pinged holding the ball when taking the ball out of a ruck contest.
Which also comes back to the AFC free kick rule
that is "in any game free kicks can only be paid to Adelaide with the 50m arc when a. it is the oppostion teams forward 50 or b. the result of the game is beyond doubt."
part b of this rule is "AFC holding the ball rule", When a team is playing the Adelaide Football Club a legal disposal can be regarded as the following: dropping the ball, placing the ball on the ground and palming the ball onto the ground.
My favorite
The Fox Footy Rule:- Where a game is being covered by fox footy, Fox Footy hold the right to enfoce a fox footy free kick(s) when viewing number fall below the numbers designated in the football rights agreement with the AFL. When the number of viewers drop below this level, umpires are required to pay free kicks to the losing team (preferably resulting in goals) until the viewer numbers move back above the said limit.
Stiffy_18
14 May 2007, 15:06
Very true. Thommo slipped backwards last year & burnt plenty of the ball, but he has taken that extra step we needed this year, as he will need to become one of our key onballers to take over from the older guys. Great to have goal-kicking onballers.
I have been a Thommo fan for a fair while now and I think people are quick to write off his last year as a bad year. I disagree with that because to me that was the "educational" year he needed.
In his first year with us, he was a GUN HFF who would occasionally have a run on the ball. Last year he was primarily a midfielder with occasional run in the forward line. As a result, his goals went down, his clangers went up and people immidietly said, nah he has gone backwards.
I think we are seeing the rewards of last year this season. With more game time in the midfield he has been able to get in the thick of things more. He has identified the areas of his game that he needed to improve on to become a key midfielder. And even last year he was getting better as the season went on.
This year, his decision making is better and as a result his disposal under pressure is better. In other words he has become more comfortable in the midfield and now can find that little extra time that allows him to make the right decision. He is still as aggressive as he always has been but noe that aggression is controlled and he is a better player for it. Before, he would let his agression do the talking, this year he is letting his game do the talking.
He was always that hard nut that we needed in there once Roo moved out of the midfield and I think captaincy is not out of the question. Maybe not next year but he would be a contender down the track.
The Fox Footy Rule:- Where a game is being covered by fox footy, Fox Footy hold the right to enfoce a fox footy free kick(s) when viewing number fall below the numbers designated in the football rights agreement with the AFL. When the number of viewers drop below this level, umpires are required to pay free kicks to the losing team (preferably resulting in goals) until the viewer numbers move back above the said limit.
Which is of course is related to the "Fox Footy Barracking Rule"
This is of course where idiots, such as Jakovich, Frawley, Piggy and Basketball man have their way with each other. United by a hatred of the AFC, they either ignore the good things or come up with irrelevant, completely wrong and biased crap about the AFC, while praising opposition teams beyond belief, even if they are they trailing by over 6 goals.
This rule will apply to any Adelaide Crows game.
relapse
14 May 2007, 16:03
The rumblings I have heard is that they want a young long term captain appointed after Roo. The challenge was put out to certain individuals at the club with Thompson being a front runner and was basically told if you want it go out there and earn it.
He will be our next captain, Truck is too quiet and everyone else is either too old or too young, fortunately for Thompson he sits at that perch of being mature enough to captain and young enough to be able to captain for 7-8 years which puts him ahead of a lot of people at the club.
fantastic_crows
14 May 2007, 16:10
Scotty's a gun, no doubt about it.
We did well out of that trade.
Thompson >>>>> Stenglein, and he is younger too.
I have always been a huge Thommo fun.
Is extremely classy and I agree I think he will be the next captain :thumbsu:
van Berlo is still too young to take the reins, Thommo is ripe.
We didnt lose... I think that trade is one of the few that either party can say they won.
The bonus for us would have been Gibson.... but he didnt come on and I call it a 50/50 trade
betterthanu
14 May 2007, 16:23
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=287018
i would say the results of this ^^ poll would be very different if made today.
CarnCrows
14 May 2007, 16:29
The rumblings I have heard is that they want a young long term captain appointed after Roo. The challenge was put out to certain individuals at the club with Thompson being a front runner and was basically told if you want it go out there and earn it.
He will be our next captain, Truck is too quiet and everyone else is either too old or too young, fortunately for Thompson he sits at that perch of being mature enough to captain and young enough to be able to captain for 7-8 years which puts him ahead of a lot of people at the club.
Though I agree Scotty could be the next captain the person who I think would in 2-3 years time make an excellent captain is Knights.
RoosterLad
14 May 2007, 16:30
Maybe we can do the 'in' thing and have 8 different co-captains.
I think 22 co-captains sounds like a good idea.
dyertribe
14 May 2007, 16:42
Scotty's a gun, no doubt about it.
It's funny when West Coast fanbois tell it then and now.
At the time of the trade we ripped them a new one, Stinger was a dud, didn't need him in their massive all-pwning midfield.
These days it's "LOL we deprived you of a future captain and he shits all over Thomo!!11"
Clowns. I'd take Thompson over Stenglein every day of the week. 11 times on Shrove Tuesday.
Stiffy_18
14 May 2007, 17:03
At the time of the trade we ripped them a new one, Stinger was a dud, didn't need him in their massive all-pwning midfield.
These days it's "LOL we deprived you of a future captain and he shits all over Thomo!!11"
Clowns. I'd take Thompson over Stenglein every day of the week. 11 times on Shrove Tuesday.
Remember that Stinger thread on this board after the 2004 season infested with WC nuff nuffs saying that he would be playing in WAFL and would be getting an games in their best 22 :D
Oh and that there is no way he was worth 2nd rounder let alone a 1st rounder. 4th rounder at best! :D
just maybe
14 May 2007, 17:05
Remember that Stinger thread on this board after the 2004 season infested with WC nuff nuffs saying that he would be playing in WAFL and would be getting an games in their best 22 :D
Oh and that there is no way he was worth 2nd rounder let alone a 1st rounder. 4th rounder at best! :D
And they all said they knew board members at WCE and the 'inside word' was low 2nd rounder at best.
And that their midfield didn't need a defensive midfielder.
Until they got him, then they all agreed how useful a defensive midfielder would be... :D
macca23
14 May 2007, 18:16
*nods in agreement while demolishing his 11th pancake*
As a result, his goals went down, his clangers went up and people immidietly said, nah he has gone backwards.
His goal average was down by 0.1 but his clanger count actually improved from 05 to 06.
That said I think his 06 was worse and he has been IMO the best player for the Crows this year. Would be very close to leading the B&F at this stage.
SpringChoke
14 May 2007, 20:07
Stenglein is a good solid player but never a match winner, whereas Thompson is. Apparently he was earmarked to lead the Melbourne midfield for the next 5-7 years, hence the reason they were so disappointed to lose him.
SpringChoke
14 May 2007, 20:09
Apart from his attack on the ball I love it that he is good in front of the goals. Does tend to rip off someones head occasionally (though the trend this year of ducking the head when in trouble is VERY annoying).
Nothing wrong with a bit of aggression. There's a reason the likes of Thommo, Roo, Stiffy and Huddo are so popular with the fans. Apart from Waynes World, I don't see too many in the Luke Jericho fan club.
Wood_Duck
14 May 2007, 21:54
His occassional brain fades in recent years used to really bother me and I used to think that he would be a bit of an enigma like Burton.
He has really matured, his tackling is getting less reckless and he seems to actually have some purpose in his disposal these days. He is rarely frustrating this year and looks like he could really become one of the elite midfielders not only of our club but the competition in general.
Well done Thommo.:thumbsu:
Dixie Flatline
14 May 2007, 22:05
Very happy for him.
He's doing a good job at leading my fantasy footy midfield.
I was a very harsh critic of him a couple of years back, especially after the undisciplined frees he gave away in the QF against the Saints. I thought it went a long way towards costing us the game in fact and although he was still a great contributer in the team, I was very dirty with him. Its one thing to make an honest mistake or simply not be good enough but those are things you can (easily) control, and he was letting the team down. Fast forward to more recent times and this guy is a star :thumbsu: under-rated but definitely benefits from the fact that more prominent players get more attention from the opposition. Always solid and often stars, one of my top 5 favourite players.
S.Patrol.G
16 May 2007, 01:09
Didn't watch the game real carefully but thought he was good for you guys against the lions. I lke the way he plays. Probably just a little too inconsistent.
KUNG FU
16 May 2007, 01:25
Definitely admire Scotty. I see him stepping into the shoes of Goody. Hard earnest midfielder, who wins it more often than you expect.
But as for captain or best-and-fairest-2007-thus-far: Those titles clearly go to Rutten/VB and McLeod respectively. Scotty is a great player, but I don't think he's shown the calibre of toughness, courage and leadership we've seen in Roo, Bickley and even the Maccas. Whereas Rutten and VB have it written all over them. And McLeod must surely be on 10 Brownlow votes already.
Sorry to spoil the party. :o
Stiffy_18
16 May 2007, 01:35
Didn't watch the game real carefully but thought he was good for you guys against the lions. I lke the way he plays. Probably just a little too inconsistent.
Might have been inconsistent in the past but he has been a model of consistency so far this year. He is having a fantastic season to date.
Junior55
16 May 2007, 01:42
We didnt lose... I think that trade is one of the few that either party can say they won.
The bonus for us would have been Gibson.... but he didnt come on and I call it a 50/50 trade
Spot on some people might have said that Steinglein wasnt worth much, but for educated followers of the game he was always going to be a perfect fit for the West Coast midfield and has added that extra dimension to our midfield In my opinion he is in the top 6 most important players at our club.
As for Thompson if you dont mind me putting my two bobs in on your board.. I have a been a big fan of Scotts for a couple of years he made some mistakes last year, but it is clear he has learnt from them, he has been super this year with his workrate. He gathering 25+ possesions most weeks, using the ball, tackles hard and even gets forwards and pops up for a goal or two. I reckon he would be sitting second in the Club champion at the moment with Mcleod first and Rutten just a fraction behind Thompson.
Speaking of the Thompson/Stenglein trade, i think this is one trade where both sides won. The crows gained an attacking midfielder in Thompson while the Eagles gained Stenglein (Thompson is obvously as good as Judd, Kerr, Cousins and Stenglein fills a very handy role for situation and in their team) while I think we did better both sides came out better from it (forget who/what WC gave away).
Stiffy_18
16 May 2007, 01:55
Speaking of the Thompson/Stenglein trade, i think this is one trade where both sides won. The crows gained an attacking midfielder in Thompson while the Eagles gained Stenglein (Thompson is obvously as good as Judd, Kerr, Cousins and Stenglein fills a very handy role for situation and in their team) while I think we did better both sides came out better from it (forget who/what WC gave away).
WC gave away picks 12 and 28 (Chad Gibson)
We traded pick 12 to Melbourne for Thompson, They traded that pick 12 to Geelong for Moloney and Geelong paired pick 12 with their pick 16 and sent it to Richmond for Brad Ottens.
I think Richmond used that pick on Danny Meyer.
jumpman5
16 May 2007, 18:32
thommo's endurance is certainly one thing that has improved from year to year and i believe its not coincidence that it coincides with his spectacular form....
he's certainly in AA form...ya just gotta love what he brings to our club...
Scott Thompson is an absolute beauty. This guy has been wort the weight. I mean he's copped too much crap from ppl for playing the way ppl go to watch the footy. yeh he had his issues but i thought when we traded tyson to WCE and traded that pick to get thommo we did wat was long over-due. We got a super hard at it no fuss ,attacking midfielder. Its soo good to finally c him shut most of his critics up cos i rekon he's can still move it up a notch and b a chance 4 an all australian selection.
crowman_23
10 Jun 2007, 17:02
Was fantastic today. Is becoming a very reliable strong player. Like him a lot. Would give Stenglein up for him over and over again.
Drummond
10 Jun 2007, 17:04
Captain next year.
Gun. :thumbsu: Always our best player in loses, last week excluded.
kimirocks
10 Jun 2007, 17:06
Gun. :thumbsu:
Not so sure he will be capo next year, but is definately deserved of candidature. He has curbed his temper and stopped giving away stupid frees. This season he has stepped up a couple of levels, and today was another step to his pinnacle. Star.
I'd give him the captaincy next year also. I'd like to see it given to someone who is capable of doing the job long term.
Stiffy_18
10 Jun 2007, 20:33
What a ****ing gun! :thumbsu:
Kane McGoodwin
10 Jun 2007, 20:42
Our best midfielder today & tried his guts out for 4 quarters. One of the few who kept offering a lead & marked really well today. Has really ironed out the deficiencies in his game that were fustrating us last year.
Weekly bump time is here.
Truck Rutten
16 Jun 2007, 23:26
As I said in another thread: Will win the B&F this year and will be our captain next year. Gun!
fantastic_crows
16 Jun 2007, 23:28
Is there any way we can just make this thread bump itself after a week?
http://media.popularmechanics.com/images/tb_gun-lg-4.jpg
Crow_68
16 Jun 2007, 23:31
A value bet for the Brownlow?
Kane McGoodwin
16 Jun 2007, 23:33
Another great game by Thommo, when we realy did need him to stand up with Goody out. Looking very good for an AFC yellow jacket & part of the future leadership with conistent displays like tonight.
A value bet for the Brownlow?
Should be, but I doubt it.
Guns like Scott don't win Brownlows. Too tough, too much inside work. No flash.
Game made only better when you consider the extra attention he must of gotten with the absence of Goody.
Stiffy_18
16 Jun 2007, 23:42
http://media.popularmechanics.com/images/tb_gun-lg-4.jpg
What he said :thumbsu:
Truck Rutten
16 Jun 2007, 23:58
I reckon Vossy has a man crush on Thommo. Talked him up quite a few times tonight.
Dandy_GO
17 Jun 2007, 00:50
I reckon Vossy has a man crush on Thommo. Talked him up quite a few times tonight.
Perhaps he reminds him of himself (I hope).
Its his guns. Very man-crush worthy.
ams4crows
17 Jun 2007, 01:36
man-crush worthy? he pulls a few strings of a female's heart too .....oh and the Gays he was voted Sexiest icon for Gays in the AFL not long ago...haha poor Bloke would of copped Shit big time for that lol!
So would the gay bloke :cool:
Punchy Bassett
17 Jun 2007, 12:24
Thommo equals gun, would be favorite for the B and F right now.
Stiffy_18
17 Jun 2007, 13:05
Haha, that bit where he was voted the sexiest footballer by the gay website, it was actually the boys from the club playing a prac joke on him and casting their votes by big numbers so he would get over the line.
We have some funny bastards down there :D :p
melbournemartin
17 Jun 2007, 13:06
We miss you Scotty :(
fantastic_crows
17 Jun 2007, 13:07
We miss you Scotty :(
I have two words for you.
Sucked in.
:D
If he doesnt get AA ill burn down AFL headquarters. Put some money on him for top 5 in the Brownlow
You Eagles supporters will do anything for an excuse to burn down AFL HQ;):D
I cant help it. Surely im allowed on the Thommo bandwagon too :D
Oh hope on board Embers. There's more than enough room. :thumbsu:
TelkoTheGreat
17 Jun 2007, 13:38
I think i cried when He left Melbourne, I still love to watch him he is great Scott Welsh is also another 1 i like to watch.
Markthirtytwo
17 Jun 2007, 13:40
Leading from the front. Certainly captain material.
Having a very good year.
Punchy Bassett
17 Jun 2007, 13:40
Scott Thompson > Carlos Tevez Embers? :D
Crow-mo
17 Jun 2007, 21:15
he's having a great season. delivers every week.
crows98
17 Jun 2007, 21:18
Leading from the front. Certainly captain material.
Having a very good year.
It is a strange universe we live in if Scott Thompson becomes the captain of the Adelaide Crows and Chad Cornes captain of the Port Adelaide Power.
Who would have thunk it.
100 games this week for the great man.
Good Luck Scotty :thumbsu:
Drummond
19 Aug 2007, 21:42
Quiet first half, brilliant last.
Played mostly up forward and kicked 3 goals, including a ripper in the last.
Gun. :thumbsu:
McLeodMagic
19 Aug 2007, 21:53
yeah bad. scotty has been the best pick up ever. melbourne have got to be a joke. yeah? scotty kicked 3 'crucial' goals, as neil craig likes to say, 'crucial'. :thumbsu::D
maccas_no1
19 Aug 2007, 22:05
Ripper game from Thommo tonight:thumbsu:
fightingdreamer88
19 Aug 2007, 22:06
Thompson is still a bit hesitant for my liking though, second guesses himself, puts himself under pressure and quite often turns the footy over or kicks on his wrong side etc. because of it. He needs to go with his first instinct at all times, and try to kick on his right more often because his disposal on that side is immaculate.
His overall hesitation is holding him back from being one of the elite players in the competition in my humble opinion but still a top notch game tonight overall. :thumbsu:
Scott Thompson > Carlos Tevez Embers? :D
Well........
Carlos Tevez certainly wouldn't win the "Hottest player of the year" as voted on by the gay community. :D
I absolutely CANNOT believe my eyes!
Is everyone serious?
Would anyone join me in a Scott Thompson Dis-Appreciation Thread??
A terrible game from him tonight (watched it at AAMI). Only thing to save his night was 2 goals and one that was handed to him on a platter.
RedBull1975
20 Aug 2007, 01:54
I absolutely CANNOT believe my eyes!
Is everyone serious?
Would anyone join me in a Scott Thompson Dis-Appreciation Thread??
A terrible game from him tonight (watched it at AAMI). Only thing to save his night was 2 goals and one that was handed to him on a platter.
:eek: LOL, this person is either
1) Taking the piss
2) The worst judge of football I have ever seen in my life, whom must have never played the game in her life and gets upset because ST might make the odd turnover/mistake. The game that ST brings to the AFC is beyond comprehension. If you were at AAMI tonight and didn't appreciate the things that ST brings to the crows all over the park,.....then I can't help you.
Dandy_GO
20 Aug 2007, 02:02
Well........
Carlos Tevez certainly wouldn't win the "Hottest player of the year" as voted on by the gay community. :D
I think he'd struggle to win "Best looking Mr Hyde look-alikes" as voted on by the trolls who live underneath bridges community.
Thanks for missing a sitter of a header and rooting up my fantasy league team, Carlos :thumbsd:
Markthirtytwo
20 Aug 2007, 09:59
Thompson is still a bit hesitant for my liking though, second guesses himself, puts himself under pressure and quite often turns the footy over or kicks on his wrong side etc. because of it. He needs to go with his first instinct at all times, and try to kick on his right more often because his disposal on that side is immaculate.
His overall hesitation is holding him back from being one of the elite players in the competition in my humble opinion but still a top notch game tonight overall. :thumbsu:
Not up to his eary form though. His kicking has also deteriated somewhat.
Don't like those Matt Connell hospital balls.
Stiffy_18
20 Aug 2007, 12:03
Not up to his eary form though. His kicking has also deteriated somewhat.
Don't like those Matt Connell hospital balls.
I think that can be said for everyone bar maybe Reilly who is immaculate with his foot skills.
Thommo played most of the game in the forward line yesterday and I thought he was pretty darn good. He finds plenty of the ball as a HFF and he kicked 3 goals, should have been 4 but I would take that game thanks.
What was interesting yesterday was us loading our attack with players who apply great defensive pressure in Welsh, Gill, Thompson and Burton. At times we had Douglas in there. Thats 5 players who put the pressure on the opposition all the time and we loaded them up inside our 50 and IMHO, it showed as at times WB found it hard to rebound the way they like to.
King Elvis
3 Jun 2008, 22:25
Bumping this thread, because he deserves it.
He's been tagged heavily this year, and has been a quiet achiever.
Disposal is still not 'perfect,' but he's playing bloody good footy - tough, hard, getting inside.
Probably his least lauded year since joining us, but I think easily his best.
Punchy Bassett
3 Jun 2008, 22:37
Disposal is still not 'perfect,' but he's playing bloody good footy - tough, hard, getting inside.
I think we just take him for granted these days that Thommo will get his 20-30 possessions a week, I love him as a player tough solid ball getter.
Fantastic trade for pick 12. :thumbsu:
He's moved up into the top echelon of mid-fielders in the AFL this year. Tough as and gets a heap of it.
Quality player. :thumbsu:
porpoise
3 Jun 2008, 23:20
He's moved up into the top echelon of mid-fielders in the AFL this year. Tough as and gets a heap of it.
Has been particularly good in the last 2 weeks and become one of my favourite players. Just getting in there and getting the pill - love it.
Posting some great numbers too: tackle count high, contested ball count high, posession count high, clearance count high. Unfortunately holding the ball against count is high as well, but that probably says something about his desperation to get the pill and the close attention he's attracting.
James_37
3 Jun 2008, 23:37
What I've liked over the past couple of weeks is he is getting a bit more of the "outside" ball and actually trying to hurt teams with his run and carry more often, something I don't think he was doing too much earlier in the year. If only he could work some sort of consistency into his games with respects to his kicking, he would most certainly enter the most elite bracket of players if he could do that.
Love the way Thommo plays. How many times is he the last bloke up from the bottom of the pack. He is very good at clearances also.
I personally don't get all the Van Berlo hype, for next captain , Thommo is the man for the job.
fightingdreamer88
4 Jun 2008, 20:38
Good player but his turnovers and hesitance shit me.
He doesn't even know you, but I'm sure you would do the same to him. :rolleyes:
SpringChoke
4 Jun 2008, 21:37
Is now officially a 1st tier midfielder - thanks Chocco:thumbsu:.
Thommo's a ripper. He was the only bloke who looked like hitting a target by foot in the first half last week, too.
Punchy Bassett
7 Jun 2008, 16:11
Bumping this one right now only senior player to turn up today.