View Full Version : Roo comeback delayed

AC7
14 May 2007, 15:13
Roo comeback delayed

0 hours, 55 minutes ago
for afc.com.au

Crows captain Mark Ricciuto will not be considered for selection this week.

Ricciuto, who will be honored at his testimonial lunch on Sunday, reported some back soreness on the weekend and will not train with the main group in the short term.

He had joined all the main training sessions in the past two weeks but will now step back in to rehabilitation work.

Adelaide is also resigned to waiting another week for Brent Reilly (ankle) and Jason Porplyzia (knee/ankle) to be ready to play. They started running on Monday morning but are unlikely to have done enough in time for selection to play on Friday night against Richmond.

Kris Massie (wrist) is expected to come off the injury list this week. He will wear a new guard which should allow him to play.

Rookie Rhys Archard (hamstring) played in South Adelaide’s internal trial last week and forward Nick Gill (hamstring) played his first game for the season with North Adelaide in the SANFL.

Stiffy_18
14 May 2007, 15:14
****!!!!!! :(

Gets!
14 May 2007, 15:17
Ffs **** **** Shit ****

AC7
14 May 2007, 15:21
Ffs **** **** Shit ****

Ok I am back now.

Posted this and then went to the top floor and almost decided this is it. :eek: :p

I am back for now.

I really feel for him. This sucks for him more than anything. :thumbsd:

RoosterLad
14 May 2007, 15:25
****ing hell

i was hoping he would be there for the big debut

jo172
14 May 2007, 15:27
So he's reinjured:confused:

What ****ing shit!:mad: :(

King Elvis
14 May 2007, 15:33
Hope it is just soreness - regardless, we don't want to risk the Big Fella until he's 100%

Vic Crow
14 May 2007, 15:39
I was looking forward to getting really rowdy when the big fella smashed three people aside (opposition or otherwise) to get his hands on the pill and hit a 60m torp for a goal on Friday night.

However, our two games immediately afterwards are in Melbourne so I like my chances of being at his comeback game anyway.

Drummond
14 May 2007, 15:47
Not a huge surprise. Doubt he will play a game all season.

OzSparrow
14 May 2007, 16:12
This "injury" issue is really starting to gain some level of suspicion, IMHO.

Given our current lack of forwards, I feel Roo would have to be chronic to not be running around on the paddock at the moment.

Why is it that every time there is even a whiff of a suggestion that he will be considered for selection we are informed that he has "reinjured" himself.

I for one would certainly like the AFC to release an official press conference, with Roo attending, to precisely tell the supporter base:

a. The precise nature of Roo's injury(ies);
b. The precise type of remedial therapy Roo is currently undergoing;
c. The precise timetable for Roo's return to playing; and
d. The precise risk of Roo re-injuring himself.

Until this is done, I feel that the grossly unfair innuendos regarding Roo's health (especially from the Alberton mob) will continue to freely flow.

Southerntakeover
14 May 2007, 16:25
And right back to square one. :mad:

I wish theyd stop reporting hes likely to play in round x, until they actually selelct him. Enough with the teasing.

thesouthernend
14 May 2007, 16:26
Back problems are notoriously fickle, bulging discs are worse that most other problems, they can seem right as rain one minute and sore as sh...t the next. You will get spasms down the thighs and into your calves, you at times cannot breathe properly. That he is even close to playing is a bonus. Good luck to him.

just maybe
14 May 2007, 16:54
I for one would certainly like the AFC to release an official press conference, with Roo attending, to precisely tell the supporter base:

How dare you question the AFC.

Mr_Smooth
14 May 2007, 17:03
**** **** **** **** ****!!!!!!!! :(:(:(

Mad Dog
14 May 2007, 17:22

:mad:

Was looking forward to welcoming back the large marsupial on Friday night......:(

seems to be 2 steps forward and 1 back at the moment

dyertribe
14 May 2007, 17:27
Not good. When is he off contract?

Over 30, question marks on his ability to even hit the training track let alone take the park.

I wonder if Craig will have the balls to treat him the same as our other 300-game club legend, Benny H?

Mad Dog
14 May 2007, 17:30

Over 30, question marks on his ability to even hit the training track let alone take the park.

I wonder if Craig will have the balls to treat him the same as our other 300-game club legend, Benny H?

I reckon Craig wouldn't even flinch....

Southerntakeover
14 May 2007, 17:34
I somehow doubt Roo would be quite as foolish as one Mr. Hart, and refuse to listen to a tap on the shoulder if it came.

Blue Red and Gold
14 May 2007, 17:58
well that is going to sour friday night a little bit.

Seanason
14 May 2007, 18:01
**** ******* ***** ******* ****** ******ing ******** ****ers ********* ****** ****** ******!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

macca23
14 May 2007, 18:12
Fk!! :mad:

OzSparrow
14 May 2007, 18:25

Have we got a spare Assistant Coach role available ATM?

afccomau
14 May 2007, 18:31
This "injury" issue is really starting to gain some level of suspicion, IMHO.

Given our current lack of forwards, I feel Roo would have to be chronic to not be running around on the paddock at the moment.

Why is it that every time there is even a whiff of a suggestion that he will be considered for selection we are informed that he has "reinjured" himself.

Until this is done, I feel that the grossly unfair innuendos regarding Roo's health (especially from the Alberton mob) will continue to freely flow.

We do not believe we need to keep putting Ricciuto up for press conferences to say the same things. He hasn't "reinjured" himself but his back was sore after training on Friday. As one of the other posters said, it has been a case of two steps forward and one step back for Mark in the past few weeks. Mark has been warned to expect some of these setbacks - as I think he said in the Sunday Mail last weekend - as part of the recovery process so he is certainly not back at the startsexpected these setback

a. This has been reported a number of times. He has a small tear in a disc in his back.
b. The club prefers not to give out specific details about his rehab/maintenance/fitness program but he had been training with the main group for the four group sessions before last Friday.
c. There is no precise timetable for his return. He needs to be able to train with the full group for a couple of weeks to be ready to play so he was pretty close late last week and if he had been able to get on the track this week would have been considered for the Friday night game.
d. There is always some risk with backs but we have a couple of players at the club who have had similar injuries (Bock, Pfeiffer and Goodwin) and they have been able to get over the problem.

Punchy Bassett
14 May 2007, 18:31

I think Roo would have a different mindset than Ben and realise his time is up whenever that may be.

Mad Dog
14 May 2007, 18:37
d. There is always some risk with backs but we have a couple of players at the club who have had similar injuries (Bock, Pfeiffer and Goodwin) and they have been able to get over the problem.

Was the injury related to the knee in the back he received against Richmond late last year ?.....or has it just evolved over the PS ?

OzSparrow
14 May 2007, 18:39
We do not believe we need to keep putting Ricciuto up for press conferences to say the same things. He hasn't "reinjured" himself but his back was sore after training on Friday. As one of the other posters said, it has been a case of two steps forward and one step back for Mark in the past few weeks. Mark has been warned to expect some of these setbacks - as I think he said in the Sunday Mail last weekend - as part of the recovery process so he is certainly not back at the startsexpected these setback

a. This has been reported a number of times. He has a small tear in a disc in his back.
b. The club prefers not to give out specific details about his rehab/maintenance/fitness program but he had been training with the main group for the four group sessions before last Friday.
c. There is no precise timetable for his return. He needs to be able to train with the full group for a couple of weeks to be ready to play so he was pretty close late last week and if he had been able to get on the track this week would have been considered for the Friday night game.

Thank you for the informed response. Much appreciated.

Blue Red and Gold
14 May 2007, 19:06

Great stuff

Cheers for the informed post.

dyertribe
14 May 2007, 19:13
I think Roo would have a different mindset than Ben and realise his time is up whenever that may be.

"Whenever that time may be" is the key factor.

That time is when the club decides it is.

With Benny, his form before he broke his arm last year was very good - and he almost won AA selection the year before - yet when it was clear he was well off the pace form and fitnesswise after his 8 weeks out the club deemed him surplus to requirements, despite the fact he probably could've played another solid season or two in 07/08 when back to full fitness and preparation.

Will we see the same thing with Roo? He may believe that back to full fitness and preparation he will gun it as a forward like last year, whether the club agrees having seen him struggle for the past 12 months is another story.

SpringChoke
14 May 2007, 19:57

One things for sure, you can guarantee Roo won't carry on like a spoilt brat, unlike Hart.

Blue Red and Gold
14 May 2007, 20:19
One things for sure, you can guarantee Roo won't carry on like a spoilt brat, unlike Hart.
Harsh

King Elvis
14 May 2007, 20:37

It won't even be an issue; Roo will hang them up when he decides the time is right.

To be honest - we have Richmond this week, I'd be inclined to not play Roo anyway; I'd even consider not playing him the weekend after agaisnt Melbourne.

A couple of shithouse teams, give him time to make sure he is absolutely 110% and up and about when we need him.

SpringChoke
14 May 2007, 20:44
It won't even be an issue; Roo will hang them up when he decides the time is right.

To be honest - we have Richmond this week, I'd be inclined to not play Roo anyway; I'd even consider not playing him the weekend after agaisnt Melbourne.

A couple of shithouse teams, give him time to make sure he is absolutely 110% and up and about when we need him.

Agree. Don't see the point in rushing him back.

kimirocks
14 May 2007, 21:20
Agree. Don't see the point in rushing him back.We aren't to gain anything by doing so. That's the beauty of it, we don't need him that much at the moment. When he is 100%, bring him in, plonk him down forward and he'll kick 5, no worries. But whilst he isn't 100% there is no point trying to bring him in, because the chances are, he will reinjure himself, and it will be the end of the season for him, which frankly would be a disaster for our favourite boy from Waikerie. Ultimately if that happened, questions would be asked of the coaching staff about playing an injured player. I only want to see Roo whn he is fighting fit, and frankly the fact I never thought I would see him play again says that I am getting more than I thought I would.

Wood_Duck
14 May 2007, 21:47
Agree. Don't see the point in rushing him back.

I'd be quite happy to have a fit healthy Roo in about round 15. Obviously a little before then would be nice, but if hes only got about 10 games in him this season, thats the ten you'd want him to play.

jenny61_99
14 May 2007, 23:03
Ive been saying it for months.... I doubt he will be back. (But hope like hell I am wrong).

Having said that IF he comes back this season, lets not rush it. Make sure he's 100% and dont send him to Melbourne for his first game back (sorry Melb people - but think he needs to be at home in a "safe" environment for his return).

King Elvis
15 May 2007, 00:08
He'll play again, I have no doubt about that.

Put it in perspective - he had parvo; if he had been in a car accident and out of action for this long, we wouldn't be too worried.

He'll be back, and he'll be awesome again.

macca23
15 May 2007, 00:14

If this is the club posting officially on BigFooty to keep its supporters informed, then I commend the club on a great initiative.
:thumbsu:

King Elvis
15 May 2007, 00:31
If this is the club posting officially on BigFooty to keep its supporters informed, then I commend the club on a great initiative.

I'd like the poster to clarify if they are or not.

If it is, then yes, that's excellent.

chopper55555
15 May 2007, 00:33
Yes. No way of telling, is there ? Unlikely on the basis of no sig etc, which the AFC would most certainly have provided...

Gets!
15 May 2007, 00:35
It is definetely the club.

a1118374
15 May 2007, 03:13
shame for him, but chillax crows fans...your bloody brilliant. i keep telling my family and mate this. hes not a necessity for home and away season. roo can just have a preseason from weeks 15 or so onward. and thats worst case.

ok my question is did he have any surgery and is it a possibility? stevo had surgery for us and sounds like hes gonna be great but im sure its different

just be glad that losing a player that good leaves you with so many capable replacements.....i'd kill for that. literally. looking forward to playing ya in a few weeks tho, hope we can keep it from being a massacre

- PC -
15 May 2007, 03:47

You mean you cant tell? I thought it was obvious.

Good move and appreciated :thumbsu:

SpringChoke
15 May 2007, 09:18
This mornings Advertiser has Roo pretty much retired. As usual this grubby little tabloid chooses sensationalism over fact. I wouldn't mind if we rest Roo for the remainder of the year, and then have one last genuine crack at it in 2008.

Markthirtytwo
15 May 2007, 09:43

I believe it is as Sir MD thanked them for their imput on another thread.

It's great to have a forward thinking club like ours. :thumbsu:

I'd keep him in cotton wool until the split round. ;)

NikkiNoo
15 May 2007, 11:38

Yes it is the club, I'm not sure if any other club posts on BF although we have suspected that they all monitor the site regularly for a long time. :D

I believe that some other clubs keep in contact with moderators about some issues.

King Elvis
15 May 2007, 12:15
Yes it is the club, I'm not sure if any other club posts on BF although we have suspected that they all monitor the site regularly for a long time. :D

I believe that some other clubs keep in contact with moderators about some issues.

I think the more input we get from the Club on here, the better.

afccomau
15 May 2007, 12:34

Sorry, I should have signed, but yes we are from the AFC. If we think we can add any relevant club info to a thread we will have a go. Cheers, David B.

- PC -
15 May 2007, 12:50
Sorry, I should have signed, but yes we are from the AFC. If we think we can add any elevant club info to a thread we will have a go. Cheers, David B.

Cheers back. I for one appreciate the input and at least can take it much better than the old ''mate told me who heard it from'' :p

maccas_no1
15 May 2007, 13:56
Not a huge surprise. Doubt he will play a game all season.

I doubt he will ever play again.....and us as AFC supporters shouldnt expect him to play again.

maccas_no1
15 May 2007, 14:20
You seriously expect him after setback after setback after setback to come back???

It is back related.....he has the rest of his life ahead of him his children his wife and I think that is far more important than anything AFC supporters want.

He has Premiership Medal, Brownlow Medal, AA honours, CC Honours and a Pre-season Premiership all to his name, he has achieved it all..........and now he has to put his health above footy...............I would love to see him pull the hoops on but not at the detriment of his health.

Kane McGoodwin
15 May 2007, 14:35
This mornings Advertiser has Roo pretty much retired. As usual this grubby little tabloid chooses sensationalism over fact. I wouldn't mind if we rest Roo for the remainder of the year, and then have one last genuine crack at it in 2008.
I have no problems from giving Roo ample time to get over his back problem, but I'm sure AFC still intend for him to play later in the year & particularly the finals, which we missed him for last year.

Southerntakeover
15 May 2007, 17:21
Look, people shouldnt overreact at this. As we've heard, its two steps forward one back. We arent right back where we started with the roo's injuries, as hes atleast done some training and would have developed atleast some base for him to return to when he restarts training again. Its not the end of the road.

Blue Red and Gold
15 May 2007, 17:29
Roo will be back, he has to come back, at least for one final game at Footy Park.

We didnt get the chance to say a proper farewell to Benny, this would be a terrible way to end a career of a true great of the game.

Blue Red and Gold
15 May 2007, 17:31
Sorry, I should have signed, but yes we are from the AFC. If we think we can add any relevant club info to a thread we will have a go. Cheers, David B.
Brilliant innitiative and one that is really appreciated.

Cheers for the tickets ;)

Southerntakeover
15 May 2007, 17:32

:thumbsu: Thanks for the input. Great idea.

AC7
15 May 2007, 21:35
Roo will be back, he has to come back, at least for one final game at Footy Park.

We didnt get the chance to say a proper farewell to Benny, this would be a terrible way to end a career of a true great of the game.

Crows say Ricciuto will play again

1 hours, 27 minutes ago | Back (javascript:history.go(-1);)
Brought to you by DANIEL BRETTIG, AAP

News

ADELAIDE has bluntly refuted claims Mark Ricciuto's latest injury setback may bring his decorated AFL career to a close, saying he may be playing again within a fortnight.

Ricciuto woke on Tuesday to read local headlines that he might never play again, but senior player Nathan Bassett gave short shrift to the view that the 31-year-old Adelaide skipper was on his last legs.

"He hasn't played yet this year and won't be playing this week, so it probably isn't going to affect our team," Bassett said of Ricciuto's renewed back pain, the latest in a line of problems dating back to last year’s pre-season.

"It was disappointing for Roo, he was close to playing, but he will again in the near future, it's just a minor setback."

Ricciuto himself has said he is not overly perturbed by the hiccup, and expects to be back training next week and possibly playing another week beyond that.

BWST
15 May 2007, 22:47
Good luck to the Roo.

He's hurt us in many Showdowns. He is the type of player opposition fans love to hate, due to his football nouse, brute force and match winning ability.

If he does'nt come back, i hope you guys give him the send off he deserves.

Tas
15 May 2007, 23:43

Our previous CEO posted on bigfooty last year and Archer has posted something this year, not aware of any other club that uses the forum.

Back on topic, on the radio here in Melbourne today they said he had to have another needle in his back for the pain and his playing future was in some doubt. Not very good news if true. :(

Stiffy_18
16 May 2007, 00:46
Our previous CEO posted on bigfooty last year and Archer has posted something this year, not aware of any other club that uses the forum.

Back on topic, on the radio here in Melbourne today they said he had to have another needle in his back for the pain and his playing future was in some doubt. Not very good news if true. :(
Not true according to the club.