View Full Version : Austin Wonaemirri- Draft Priority

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Sparno17
27 Apr 2008, 15:39
2 great goals in the first half today. Suited our needs perfectly. Shame.

The shame being that you would rather have wona over which of our latest draftees???

Vic Crow
27 Apr 2008, 15:41
15 other clubs looked over Wonaemirri quite a number of times. He had enough talent to end up on a list, but by that stage in the rookie draft it was a bit of a chook raffle where he'd end up exactly. I certainly don't look at Wona as a massive missed opportunity because as a junior he had enough deficiencies for him to slide to the rookie draft.

Good on him for having a good start to his career so far. :thumbsu:

lincsPJ
27 Apr 2008, 15:43
2 great goals in the first half today. Suited your needs perfectly. Shame.

edited for accuracy.

surely drummond doesn't actually "go for" adelaide? he certainly doesn't support them.

Vader
27 Apr 2008, 15:49
What's this another criticism?? You really need to get over yourself. I have stood up for you in the past but you are becoming the most negative poster that's been on this board for any substantial length of time.

Some of your "negative" points have merit and there's nothing wrong with being realistic but because you are negative so often you are like the boy who cried wolf and no-one will take you seriously.
What's wrong with Drummond's post this time?

He's made comments on other threads, which were overtly negative, for which he has received appropriate responses. However, there's nothing negative I see in this post.

Last year Drummond was one of Wonaemirri's biggest supporters, urging the Crows to draft him. The AFC chose not to, with Melbourne eventually taking him in the rookie draft. Wona has done well in every game I've seen, one of the few players not criticised for lack of effort during their current losing streak.

Instead of drafting Wona we chose Jacky. Jacky has played one game so far, three if you count the MMC. In each of these he's appeared to be out of his depth. Wona has looked right at home in the AFL. That's not to say that Jacky won't turn out to be a better prospect in the long run, but right now Wona is the type of player which Adelaide could definitely use.

Jars458
27 Apr 2008, 15:59
are you really that naive as to drummonds motivation behind this comment?

Vader
27 Apr 2008, 16:04
are you really that naive as to drummonds motivation behind this comment?

I have no doubt whatsoever that Drummond would have loved to have seen Wona picked up by the Crows, having another Norwood love child on the AFC list for him to worship.

It was probably a sly dig at the AFC for not having drafted him.

However, it's also fair to say that Wona deserves credit and he is one player who Drummond has pumped up who HAS actually fulfilled the promise Drummond has said he's capable of. Right now, he probably IS the type of player the AFC could use.

Drummond
27 Apr 2008, 16:10
I have no doubt whatsoever that Drummond would have loved to have seen Wona picked up by the Crows, having another Norwood love child on the AFC list for him to worship.

However, it's also fair to say that Wona deserves credit and he is one player who Drummond has pumped up who HAS actually fulfilled the promise Drummond has said he's capable of. Right now, he probably IS the type of player the AFC could use.
Thanks Vader. :) For once here is a guy who I touted as being someone we need who is off to a successful start as a small forward, something we obviously identified as a need with the drafting of Jacky. I just wish we drafted him.

Just kicked his 3rd goal.

Jars458
27 Apr 2008, 16:11

Is he though? Obviosuly Craig Rendell et al looked at him and said no. We can hardly make a judgment on a player this early in his career though Drummond seems happy enough to talk up Wona and talk down Otten forexample who has shown heaps in the SANFL.

In isolation the comment is fine but I was trying to point out that a pattern of posting makes even the most patient person throw up their hands and think no wonder Drummond gets criticised so heavily by some. Tehn again that's only my view, but there it is.

Vader
27 Apr 2008, 16:19
Is he though? Obviosuly Craig Rendell et al looked at him and said no. We can hardly make a judgment on a player this early in his career though Drummond seems happy enough to talk up Wona and talk down Otten forexample who has shown heaps in the SANFL.

In isolation the comment is fine but I was trying to point out that a pattern of posting makes even the most patient person throw up their hands and think no wonder Drummond gets criticised so heavily by some. Tehn again that's only my view, but there it is.

The small crumbing forward is something we've needed ever since Bode went down in R2 last year against the doggies. The Crows recognised this and drafted Jacky as a result.

I have no doubt that Jacky will be a VERY good player for the Crows, but right now Wona is putting the runs on the board.

Drummond might be critical of the club, but I don't doubt his love of the AFC, just as nobody would doubt his love for the mighty Redlegs. Sometimes he lets the latter colour his view of certain players and he cops a bagging when they fail to live up to his expectations. When it comes to Drummond's posts, you know what you're going to get. I think we'd be poorer without the colour he provides on the board.

Freddy Bassett
27 Apr 2008, 16:29
Drummond was right about Wona'. The kid looks good, give him that. Although he is no Otten!

Vince Van Mackay
27 Apr 2008, 17:01
Thanks Vader. :) For once here is a guy who I touted as being someone we need who is off to a successful start as a small forward, something we obviously identified as a need with the drafting of Jacky. I just wish we drafted him.

WOW MAN!

Lets Get Rendell on the phone to his manager to get him to Adelaide immediately!!!

500k a season should do it, holy crap 3 goals in 1 game, I'm doing cartwheels here!

crows98
27 Apr 2008, 17:21

Even if we did draft him, he wouldn’t be playing AFL yet. Whose spot in the team will he take? He wouldn’t make our midfield and Richard Douglas, Jason Porplyzia and Tyson Edwards are doing a superb job as small half forwards. If he was drafted by the AFC he would be playing at Norwood.

He is getting a game because Melbourne is shithouse and he has taken every possible opportunity.

Good luck to him as he has proven he can play at that level but if he was on the crows list I doubt he would have been given a game.

Pride of SA
27 Apr 2008, 17:34
wow, a guy who gets a spot in the worst team on the park??? must be a gun.

and goals in junk time when the Lions have stopped caring? could be the forward we`ve been missing since Modra.

Let me guess, you`d drop Douglas for him.

Vic Crow
27 Apr 2008, 18:18

and goals in junk time when the Lions have stopped caring? could be the forward we`ve been missing since Modra.

Two of his goals were in the first quarter IIRC. :confused:

deaneus
27 Apr 2008, 19:15
He is getting a game because Melbourne is shithouse and he has taken every possible opportunity.

Unlike, say, Meesen.

lincsPJ
27 Apr 2008, 19:53
If he was drafted by the AFC he would be playing at Norwood.

thats why he's pissed that the AFC didnt draft him.

Jars458
28 Apr 2008, 00:44
I think we'd be poorer without the colour he provides on the board.

Agree that colour is sometimes sadly lacking on this board

Southerntakeover
28 Apr 2008, 00:47
I think we'd be poorer without the colour he provides on the board.

Sure, what would a court be without its Jester?

Vic Crow
28 Apr 2008, 00:53
Plenty of red and blue in Drummond, with a splash of yellow on the odd occasion. ;)

J-Ro-20
28 Apr 2008, 12:18
very disappointed we didn't draft wona. he ended up kicking 3 for Melbourne over the weekend, and has a very bright future ahead!

Vince Van Mackay
28 Apr 2008, 13:09
very disappointed we didn't draft wona. he ended up kicking 3 for Melbourne over the weekend, and has a very bright future ahead!

Like I said get Rendell on the phone to his manager!

500k a year!

1 game wow.

Vic Crow
28 Apr 2008, 13:18
Like I said get Rendell on the phone to his manager!

500k a year!

1 game wow.
Well, hang on. It is an exaggeration to say just because Wona has shown something that we should've taken him, but don't sell him short. It's not just being one good game. I don't think he's disappointed too much in his four games, particularly given the weakness of the other red and blue mob he's playing for.

Vince Van Mackay
28 Apr 2008, 13:26
Well, hang on. It is an exaggeration to say just because Wona has shown something that we should've taken him, but don't sell him short. It's not just being one good game. I don't think he's disappointed too much in his four games, particularly given the weakness of the other red and blue mob he's playing for.

Yes, it sounds like he had a good game, but Drummond can't come out and proclaim he is right, based on that.

Dujon11
28 Apr 2008, 16:35
Remembering that he came off the rookie list this year.

A good player who has played a couple of good games for a side where there are plenty of opportunities. There is no way if Adelaide picked him he would be close to getting a guernsey, there is simply no room.

Drummond stirring the pot again.

fairdinkum
28 Apr 2008, 20:07
I saw him play for Melbourne in the preseason game against the Roos at Casey Fields and he impressed me. Crumbed beautifully - in a team that didn't provide many opportunities, it must be said. I was so impressed I even picked him for my supercoach team. Hasn't been starring but, from memory, been getting about 50 points per game.

Will be interesting to see how he progresses.

showdownhero
28 Apr 2008, 20:54
Yes, it sounds like he had a good game, but Drummond can't come out and proclaim he is right, based on that.
All the same plenty of people are sticking the boot in to him based on Phieffer's single game against the Crows.

Crow-mo
28 Apr 2008, 22:57
this just illustrates the thing with drummond, in amongst the self acknowledged bias is some very good footy knowledge.

seems a good call to me. if you want to bag him for the rough, surely you should credit the smooth?

CrowHop
28 Apr 2008, 23:41
Drummond was right about Wona'. The kid looks good, give him that. Although he is no Otten!

I suppose if you make enough calls you're going to hit the mark sooner or later. He also made calls about Joel McDonald and McNamara.

Having said all that, he has played at least 3 good games on the trot, so he has done ok, even if it is -just- Melbourne.

Drummond
29 Apr 2008, 00:39
I suppose if you make enough calls you're going to hit the mark sooner or later. He also made calls about Joel McDonald and McNamara.

Having said all that, he has played at least 3 good games on the trot, so he has done ok, even if it is -just- Melbourne.
McNamara? That guy is all class and will have a successful AFL career. He's the youngest player on an AFL list, he qualified by one day! As for McDonald, I'd say his work off the field has more to do with the fact he is struggling.

Ticktak
29 Apr 2008, 13:39
Drummond, serious question:

In your opinion what pick would you have taken Wonaemirri with?

I agree that these type of players are exactly what we need and fast. Would you have taken him in front of Jacky? Or would you have taken him in front of Petrenko?

If we took him first pick in the rookie draft we probably would have missed out on Moss. Just interested in your thoughts as you've probably seen most of these up close a few times.

I apologise if you have answered this previously but too lazy to read full thread.

Drummond
4 May 2008, 17:38
Woneamirri kicks his 4th to give the Dees the lead.

I wonder if that was in junk time?

fightingdreamer88
4 May 2008, 17:40
Woneamirri kicks his 4th to give the Dees the lead.

I wonder if that was in junk time?

Looks like he will be a good player. Pretty confident about Jacky long term in a similar role though.

delirious1
4 May 2008, 17:55
Trade mcleod for the bloke

What a star.

Southerntakeover
4 May 2008, 18:13
Good on the bloke.

I love seeing someone come good off the rookie list. :thumbsu:

PCORF
4 May 2008, 18:23
I watched the game on TV today, since it has been a wet day where I live. I almost fell asleep at halftime.

He (Woenamirri) was very impressive, kicking 4.1, had 16 touches. Definetly a hero with big goals late in the game and the way he celebrated them sums it up. Shows the extreme composure of this player. He's so tiny, 5 foot 5 or something like that, but quite strong and you can see that he has been working hard on the weightlifting (but nothing like the bodybuilder frame of McLeod as of yet). His first goal from outsaide 50 was impressive too. But what about Aaron Davey's goal, he went right, to left, to right, then ran in going right to left as he faked a handpass and goaled superbly on the run. Goal of the Year so far.

Redline
4 May 2008, 18:52
Aussie's a gun, should never have made it to the Rookie draft. I am sure he will have his ups and downs but good on him for taking his chance.

Crow-mo
4 May 2008, 19:52
he's been a great new recruit for my all conquering dream team! :D

Campbell's Chunky
4 May 2008, 19:55
he's been a great new recruit for my all conquering dream team! :D
Same here.

Was left a bit open when I had to use him to replace Symes, but pulled out a 93 or something. :D

SimonH
4 May 2008, 23:05
For most blokes who get drafted, it's not known for many years whether the pick was wise, foolish or unlucky. The controversy still rages about Meesen (2004) among dozens of other examples.

Wonaeamirri falls into that tiny, tiny category of players where Melbourne FC can say after 7 weeks of the footy season that they made the right decision at his pick in the 2007 rookie draft. A minority of players selected in the rookie draft achieve this much ever in their career. Not to mention the number of top 10 draft picks who never even play a clutch of games as good as Wonna's early 2008 form.

Here's hopin' he can keep it up.

KingsCrow
4 May 2008, 23:08
Lets get some covert Adelaide spies into MFC and try an snatch him back.

"Austin.Nah he is sh*t, give him to Adelaide for that Forward line superstar...ahhh Jericho?"

Punchy Bassett
4 May 2008, 23:14
Hate to say it, but us Norwood lads did pick it. Will get the rising star nomination this week.

jo172
4 May 2008, 23:17
Hate to say it, but us Norwood lads did pick it. Will get the rising star nomination this week.

PB, are you a Norwood or South boy?

Because you seem to be swapping between the two when convenient?

Punchy Bassett
4 May 2008, 23:28
PB, are you a Norwood or South boy?

Because you seem to be swapping between the two when convenient?

No you have me confused with Freddy Bassett he is the South man.

I am PUNCHY BASSETT and I am and always have been and always will be Norwood.

Saavy?

jo172
4 May 2008, 23:30
No you have me confused with Freddy Bassett he is the South man.

I am PUNCHY BASSETT and I am and always have been and always will be Norwood.

Saavy?

Whoops, right you are!:o

Tis confusing to say the least

Punchy Bassett
4 May 2008, 23:40
Whoops, right you are!:o

Tis confusing to say the least

Tis all good, you were on the verge of labelling me a band wagon fan which doesn't go down well :)

Back on topic good to see Aussie doing well he is a great lad. Hope his dress sense off the field has improved if he is going to start getting some media attention :)

super_phaser
5 May 2008, 01:11

:D:D

See Wonna play today?

Jarmayhem
5 May 2008, 02:34
[quote=super_phaser;10918996]:D:D

See Wonna play today?[/quote

No.

Markthirtytwo
5 May 2008, 09:41
:D:D

See Wonna play today?

How long has it been since you've been able to say that one again? :confused:

richskee
5 May 2008, 09:56
Forgot to mention he's only 18. :thumbsu:

Forgot to Mention that he's playing for Melbourne!

He'll be signed come seasons end with a 3 year

Vic Crow
5 May 2008, 10:27
Forgot to Mention that he's playing for Melbourne!

He'll be signed come seasons end with a 3 year
Uh, yeah dude, check the dates on this thread. Drummond was spruiking Wona as a draft prospect last year.

Southerntakeover
5 May 2008, 16:50
Uh, yeah dude, check the dates on this thread. Drummond was spruiking Wona as a draft prospect last year.

Which really means this has done its dash as an Adelaide board thread, since its not really Crows related anymore...

Drummond
5 May 2008, 19:19
Which really means this has done its dash as an Adelaide board thread, since its not really Crows related anymore...
Uh yeh, or maybe not. Want it closed because it's there for all to see that I was right?

crows98
5 May 2008, 19:22
Uh yeh, or maybe not. Want it closed because it's there for all to see that I was right?

So he got his opportunity with the bottom side. That don’t make him a good player, it makes him lucky.

Don’t forget Drummond the sun shown on David Gallagher arse one day as well.

Southerntakeover
5 May 2008, 19:22

Dont be a tool. If you look, all ive done in this thread recently is wish Austin well.

Its just not a thread of any relevance anymore. We cant draft Wonaemirri anymore. Well done, he looks alright, good for him, but what relevance does it now have to the Crows?

Drummond
5 May 2008, 19:23
So he got his opportunity with the bottom side. That don’t make him a good player, it makes him lucky.

:D :rolleyes:

Oh man, just when I thought I'd heard it all...

Southerntakeover
5 May 2008, 19:27

He looks a pretty good sort. Some darn good goals in his bag.

None of that reflects on whether or not we should have drafted him. Since he was in the end picked up on the rookie draft, he probably wouldnt be getting a look in with us. Ironically, going to the bottom team was the best thing that could have happened to him, as he might not have gotten his opportunity elsewhere.

crows98
5 May 2008, 19:49
:D :rolleyes:

Oh man, just when I thought I'd heard it all...

Performing like that week in, week out makes him a good player. He has had one, two possibly 3 good games and that is at a bloody stretch. Let’s see him produce some consistency before rolling your eyes.

Shane Tongerie looked like a world beater after his first game against the Bears but he ended up doing shit all.

crows98
5 May 2008, 19:51
He looks a pretty good sort. Some darn good goals in his bag.

Yeah he does look like a good player and has kicked some good goals but so do a truck load of others that end up producing sweet ____ all. One game doesn't mean anything.

Mr_Smooth
5 May 2008, 19:54
Shane Tongerie looked like a world beater after his first game against the Bears but he ended up doing shit all.
add sudjai cook, ben marsh, matthew kluzek, and numerous others to that list too...

Drummond
5 May 2008, 19:57
Performing like that week in, week out makes him a good player. He has had one, two possibly 3 good games and that is at a bloody stretch. Let’s see him produce some consistency before rolling your eyes.

Boy you’re really, REALLY clutching at straws! Has already had 3 multiple goal games and while he was goalless on debut against Geelong he had 16 possessions.

He has taken his opportunity; he has lost a bit of weight and has toned up. So to suggest it's all because of luck really is a pathetic thing to say.

crows98
5 May 2008, 20:00
Boy you’re really, REALLY clutching at straws! Has already had 3 multiple goal games and while he was goalless on debut against Geelong he had 16 possessions.

He has taken his opportunity; he has lost a bit of weight and has toned up. So to suggest it's all because of luck really is a pathetic thing to say.

What ever – come back in 2 years and say I told you so.

crowsarethebest
5 May 2008, 20:42
If Wonaemirri was playing for us we'd be singing his praises saying he'll be a star etc. Tippett has probably done just as much if not less as Wonaemirri so far and we're already saying he's our best forward since Modra etc. Wonaemirri is going to be a gun, you can tell already. He knows where the goals are, reads off pack so well and has that terrific goal sense. Drummond got it right this time.

Southerntakeover
5 May 2008, 22:03
If Wonaemirri was playing for us we'd be singing his praises saying he'll be a star etc. Tippett has probably done just as much if not less as Wonaemirri so far and we're already saying he's our best forward since Modra etc. Wonaemirri is going to be a gun, you can tell already. He knows where the goals are, reads off pack so well and has that terrific goal sense. Drummond got it right this time.

Trying to compare a KPP prospect with a crumber is pure ignorance. They arent even remotely compatible.

melbourne150
5 May 2008, 22:31

Mate he's had 3 good games(and he hasn't played a bad game), And he's only 5 games into his career. I'd say that's pretty consistent.....

He was amazing yesterday, And he has real passion for the game.

And he has already become a cult hero at Melbourne, Everybody just loves him....

Bring-Back-Powell
6 May 2008, 01:24
Averaging 13 touches, 3 tackles and has kicked 7 goals in 2 weeks.

Coming along just fine, and he along with Davey will cause some match concerns for Adelaide.

James23
6 May 2008, 01:32
Averaging 13 touches, 3 tackles and has kicked 7 goals in 2 weeks.

Coming along just fine, and he along with Davey will cause some match concerns for Adelaide.

Johncock and mcleod might have something to say about that

Markthirtytwo
6 May 2008, 09:59
Mate he's had 3 good games(and he hasn't played a bad game), And he's only 5 games into his career. I'd say that's pretty consistent.....

And he has already become a cult hero at Melbourne, Everybody just loves him....

Mate your sad tale of a club has always accepted that sort of effort as blinding success whereas most of the competition only accepts at least two seasons as being consistent.

He has a long way to go before others accept otherwise.

melbourne150
6 May 2008, 16:49
Mate your sad tale of a club has always accepted that sort of effort as blinding success whereas most of the competition only accepts at least two seasons as being consistent.

He has a long way to go before others accept otherwise.

What the _____ are you talking about??

You said "let's see him produce some consistency" and i said he has played 3 very good games and no bad games(wich he has) and he's only 5 games into his career. So he has been very consinstent....

When did i say anything about blinding success???

And then you write some crap about the "competion"(you mean yourself) only accepting two seasons as being consistent....Are you saying he can't be consistent because he hasn't been in the AFL for 2 years??

Your an idiot and it just sounds like your sour that Adelaide didn't pick Aussie up....

http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m157/GuyInATowel/afl050508_austinhappy_narrowweb__30.jpg

crows98
6 May 2008, 16:55
^^^^^^

Sour? Get stuffed. The only reason he is playing for you guys is because you’re team is a dead set joke. If he was on the crows list he would be playing at Norwood.

Vic Crow
6 May 2008, 16:55
I do like that photo. Aussie is loving it!

PrideOf
6 May 2008, 17:02
I do like that photo. Aussie is loving it!

Great passion in that pic. :thumbsu:

Also good to see a footy photo that manages to get the whole crowd into shot.

Vic Crow
6 May 2008, 17:04

I believe there was 40 people sitting in the MCC members as well.

melbourne150
6 May 2008, 17:08
^^^^^^

Sour? Get stuffed. The only reason he is playing for you guys is because you’re team is a dead set joke. If he was on the crows list he would be playing at Norwood.

What's with the attitude?

And what does anything you just said have anything to do with how good he is playing?

Sour much?:p:D

crows98
6 May 2008, 17:11
What's with the attitude?

And what does anything you just said have anything to do with how good he is playing?

Sour much?:p:D

Yep :eek: – you got me. :rolleyes:

The_Young_Gun
6 May 2008, 17:12
Austin Wonaemirri....

Just an absolute natural of a star.

He doesn't have any real skills at all but he has the ability to be a superstar.

melbourne150
6 May 2008, 17:14

Very funny.:rolleyes:

Pretty much every single fan at the game was a melbourne supporter(you could tell by the noise, and the colours) if we were versing another victorian club there would have been about 40-50,000 at that game.

It's not our fault interstate teams rarely pull a crowd in Victoria.

melbourne150
6 May 2008, 17:16
Yep :eek: – you got me. :rolleyes:

LOL, I knew it.;):D

Asgardian
7 May 2008, 06:12
A young talent having the time of his life, good on him

Markthirtytwo
7 May 2008, 09:42
What the _____ are you talking about??

You said "let's see him produce some consistency" and i said he has played 3 very good games and no bad games(wich he has) and he's only 5 games into his career. So he has been very consinstent....

When did i say anything about blinding success???

And then you write some crap about the "competion"(you mean yourself) only accepting two seasons as being consistent....Are you saying he can't be consistent because he hasn't been in the AFL for 2 years??

Your an idiot and it just sounds like your sour that Adelaide didn't pick Aussie up....

First of all let me make it quite clear, personally I hope the kid really goes places and he looks like he is enjoying himself at the minute. All I know of the kid is what one of our posters who started this thread about him, so why would I be sour.
I am more than happy what we picked up thank you very much.

Secondly, where did he come from, promoted from the rookie list so that means all clubs including yours over looked him for the National Draft and that they all never considered him as a top 75 pick. Now we all know that sometimes even a good kid is over looked at the top of the drafting process.

Now thirdly, so he has played 3 very good games in a row, and guess what just how hard would that be in a team that won it's last game.......when?
Oh wait it must be hard because no one else has been doing it either in a side that hasn't done anything for the last 50 years. Stop creaming your jeans because a young buck comes on the scene and you think he's the next Nathan Buckley. Not even a good player like Aaron Davey is consistent.
Bursts onto the scene as no one knows about him but comes back to earth once they do.

But back to my first point. Lets hope for his sake not yours that after a couple of years of playing in a mediocre side he doesn't drop his bundle and becomes just another run of the mill good player. There are hundreds like that in the competition.

Come back to me in two years and tell me how consistent he is.

melbourne150
7 May 2008, 14:52
First of all let me make it quite clear, personally I hope the kid really goes places and he looks like he is enjoying himself at the minute. All I know of the kid is what one of our posters who started this thread about him, so why would I be sour.
I am more than happy what we picked up thank you very much.

Secondly, where did he come from, promoted from the rookie list so that means all clubs including yours over looked him for the National Draft and that they all never considered him as a top 75 pick. Now we all know that sometimes even a good kid is over looked at the top of the drafting process.

Now thirdly, so he has played 3 very good games in a row, and guess what just how hard would that be in a team that won it's last game.......when?
Oh wait it must be hard because no one else has been doing it either in a side that hasn't done anything for the last 50 years. Stop creaming your jeans because a young buck comes on the scene and you think he's the next Nathan Buckley. Not even a good player like Aaron Davey is consistent.
Bursts onto the scene as no one knows about him but comes back to earth once they do.

But back to my first point. Lets hope for his sake not yours that after a couple of years of playing in a mediocre side he doesn't drop his bundle and becomes just another run of the mill good player. There are hundreds like that in the competition.

Come back to me in two years and tell me how consistent he is.

Mate your just making crap up, I never said anything about him being a gun or being the next Nathan Buckley.:confused:

All i did was defend him when you said "Let's see him produce some consistensy" by telling you that he has actually been very consistent so far.
And then you started making up argumants that arn't even there and started bagging melbourne. So i don't know why your carrying on like an idiot.....

And as for your question about when was the last time we won a game it was last week, When Aussie kicked 3 goals in the last quarter including the goal that put us in front.:p:D

showdownhero
7 May 2008, 16:40
Very funny.:rolleyes:

Pretty much every single fan at the game was a melbourne supporter(you could tell by the noise, and the colours) if we were versing another victorian club there would have been about 40-50,000 at that game.

It's not our fault interstate teams rarely pull a crowd in Victoria.
Melbourne FC make Port Adelaide look like Boca Juniors.

Markthirtytwo
7 May 2008, 21:55
Mate your just making crap up, I never said anything about him being a gun or being the next Nathan Buckley.:confused:

All i did was defend him when you said "Let's see him produce some consistensy" by telling you that he has actually been very consistent so far.
And then you started making up argumants that arn't even there and started bagging melbourne. So i don't know why your carrying on like an idiot.....

And as for your question about when was the last time we won a game it was last week, When Aussie kicked 3 goals in the last quarter including the goal that put us in front.:p:D

Originally Posted by melbourne150

Now tell me again that this isn't Wonna love.

crowsarethebest
7 May 2008, 22:10
Trying to compare a KPP prospect with a crumber is pure ignorance. They arent even remotely compatible.

Well Tippett has been in the system longer and is older as well. Lets compare like for like for like then. Jacky vs Wonaemirri. I know they all develop at different rates etc, I think Jacky will be a very good player in the future but Wonaemirri has been much much better than Jacky so far.

Southerntakeover
7 May 2008, 22:20
Well Tippett has been in the system longer and is older as well. Lets compare like for like for like then. Jacky vs Wonaemirri. I know they all develop at different rates etc, I think Jacky will be a very good player in the future but Wonaemirri has been much much better than Jacky so far.

So what.....?

crowsarethebest
7 May 2008, 22:57
So what.....?

So i don't get why people aren't saying that Wonaemirri is a good talent on this board.

melbourne150
7 May 2008, 23:04
Originally Posted by melbourne150

Now tell me again that this isn't Wonna love.

Yeh that is Wona love.(What's your point?? This thread is about him isn't it?:confused:)

Now can you point out where i said he's the next Nathan Buckley or any of the other stuff you were going on about??

Southerntakeover
8 May 2008, 00:00
So i don't get why people aren't saying that Wonaemirri is a good talent on this board.

Who is outright saying that he has no talent after his last few games?

Markthirtytwo
8 May 2008, 09:53
Yeh that is Wona love.(What's your point?? This thread is about him isn't it?:confused:)

Now can you point out where i said he's the next Nathan Buckley or any of the other stuff you were going on about??

Are you for real?
If you can't understand that I'm taking the piss out of you, then your either a numb nut or a pimply faced 17 year old.

Oh I did mean however your club is a joke. But that is for another thread.

melbourne150
8 May 2008, 15:25
Are you for real?
If you can't understand that I'm taking the piss out of you, then your either a numb nut or a pimply faced 17 year old.

Oh I did mean however your club is a joke. But that is for another thread.

Oh ok, You get wrecked and all of a sudden you taking the piss.:rolleyes:

I don't want to start another argumant, But saying "I'm taking the piss" is the worst way to get out of looking like an idiot.....

Markthirtytwo
8 May 2008, 18:11
Oh ok, You get wrecked and all of a sudden you taking the piss.:rolleyes:

I don't want to start another argumant, But saying "I'm taking the piss" is the worst way to get out of looking like an idiot.....

Fairy nuff. I really feel wrecked by an internet clown. Woweeeeeee......

melbourne150
9 May 2008, 02:02
Fairy nuff. I really feel wrecked by an internet clown. Woweeeeeee......

Are you serious?

first you make up a bunch of crap, then when i asked you to point out where i said anything like that(and you couldn't) you decide you were only taking the piss, And then you call me an internet clown for proving you wrong in an argumant that you started??:confused:

I guess your just one of those people that can't admit when there wrong....:p

Australia
9 May 2008, 11:27
Pretty poor effort by SOME of the Crows fans in this board.
Time to grow up for a few of you, the kid has played really well in every game, he is more than just a goal sneak.

Sad thing is he will have a down game sooner or later, if it's against Adelaide, they will all talk up how he is no good.

Vic Crow
9 May 2008, 12:02
Pretty poor effort by SOME of the Crows fans in this board.
Time to grow up for a few of you, the kid has played really well in every game, he is more than just a goal sneak.

Sad thing is he will have a down game sooner or later, if it's against Adelaide, they will all talk up how he is no good.
And the timing is impeccable. His next game is against us.

cmndstab
9 May 2008, 12:55
I've been disappointed in how people have dug the boots into Wonae in this thread also. The kid is proving himself a class talent and by gum, if he was playing for the Crows and kicking 4 goals a week we'd all be over the moon talking about how he was the best thing since sliced bread.

Hopefully he plays like rubbish next week, but long-term he's going to be a talent.

Perhaps we can get him with the "come-home" factor! :p

Vader
9 May 2008, 12:59
Not sure how much of a "come home" factor there actually is. Yes, he was drafted from Norwood, but the reality is that he's an NT boy.

melbourne150
9 May 2008, 14:01
I've been disappointed in how people have dug the boots into Wonae in this thread also. The kid is proving himself a class talent and by gum, if he was playing for the Crows and kicking 4 goals a week we'd all be over the moon talking about how he was the best thing since sliced bread.

Hopefully he plays like rubbish next week, but long-term he's going to be a talent.

You'd have to relocate to the Tiwi Islands(where he's from) if you wanna get him with the "come-home" factor.:p:thumbsu:

johnnypanther
9 May 2008, 14:48
He certainly looks as though he's going to be a good AFL player
We missed out on him and only time will tell if Moss turns out to be a good player instead for us
We cant draft them all - anyway good luck to the kid he's exciting to watch - and Drummond was right!

Markthirtytwo
9 May 2008, 18:18
Are you serious?

first you make up a bunch of crap, then when i asked you to point out where i said anything like that(and you couldn't) you decide you were only taking the piss, And then you call me an internet clown for proving you wrong in an argumant that you started??:confused:

I guess your just one of those people that can't admit when there wrong....:p

Shyte your like bloody dog with a bone, he said, I said, I didn't say this.

Read my posts again. When someone posts on an internet forum, it's up to someone else to interpret what they mean. I can't read your mind however small it is.

If I take it that you think he is going to be the next Nathan Buckley that is up to me.

Now show me where I said you said that, if your going to be bet-antic. I posted you are acting like he's going to be a star. I also said I hope he does.

Now what was it that I made up?

The Crows Truth
12 May 2008, 15:24
a question for drummond and others familiar with the below

what is your gut feel on wona vs petrenko in terms of who will make the better afl player long term? can you provide insight into the major points of difference between the 2 re pace, agility, skill level, goal sense, hardness at the contest, defensive pressure/tackling etc. also attitude of both?

cheers