15 May 2007, 17:20
who could be traded at the end of the year

Judd

sammy555
15 May 2007, 17:22
where to and who for

matty_hawk
15 May 2007, 17:22
umm. judd hey. how about franklin for judd.?

sammy555
15 May 2007, 17:29
dont think so franklins to important for hawthorn
and weve already got a pretty good midfield

Books
15 May 2007, 22:45
umm. judd hey. how about franklin for judd.?

No thanks.
I'd rather keep Franklin.

didaka
16 May 2007, 16:16
Ashley Sampi will be shopped around and most probably moved on. Should he expect interest from any side.

MB23
16 May 2007, 19:33
i honestly think this guy can really turn him self around at a new club.
personally i would love him at hawthorn for a second and 4th round pick
a really good pre season and 4-5 kgs lighter could do the world for him
plus we lack a small crumber up forward. i honestly rate this guy when hes up and firing

sexyhunk
16 May 2007, 19:58
josh hunt is current on the outer a bit..

copped a lot of critisim last year for pulling out of contest even though thats debatable but he still got a lethal left peg, good tackler, plays a bit lose though..

would any team be intereestd? and for who?

hulld
16 May 2007, 22:00
what about Jaymie Graham?

a pretty good player who is stiff not to be playing regular senior footy. the west coast spine isn't very old, so he may have problems breaking into the side for quite a few years.

I wouldn't mind trading a early second rounder for him

catzfan
18 May 2007, 18:07
got a good three way trade involving geelong,port and the W.B
1. Geelong give up first round pick and get T.Boak
2. Port give up first round pick and T.Boak and get R.Griffen
3. W.B give up R.Griffen and get 2 first round drafft picks

Geelong give up first round for T.Boak
Port give up T.Boak and first round for R.Griffen
W.B give up R.Griffen for 2 first round draft picks

If Griffen is really interested in going back to SA then this might be good trade 4 everyone?

TGR
18 May 2007, 18:13

If Griffen is really interested in going back to SA then this might be good trade 4 everyone?

I don't think Port will give up on Boak that quickly. The kid can really play.

cAsEy_18
18 May 2007, 18:15
he's a good player but 2 1st round picks might be a bit extreme.

how about a 3 way trade involving essendon, west coast, bulldogs

essendon give up 2nd round (probably early) and get mcmahon
west coast give up graham and get 2nd round
bulldogs give up mcmahon and get graham

catzfan
18 May 2007, 18:16
yeh but he wanted to go tto geelong because his dad died so he wanted to stay wih the family

catzfan
18 May 2007, 18:17
i thnk the trad suits everyone

DanA
18 May 2007, 18:27
yeh but he wanted to go tto geelong because his dad died so he wanted to stay wih the family

Boak was pick 5 in a superdraft. Port are not going to accept a pick in the teens for him. Maybe
Geelong offer
1 of Mackie or Josh Hunt
+ 1st round

Port Adelaide
Boak
+ 2nd Round
Could be beneficial for both clubs

Does anyone know if Boak's family has relocated? There was talk of that happening.

catzfan
18 May 2007, 20:05
if you read it properly port actually get griffen for boak and a first

DanA
18 May 2007, 20:39
if you read it properly port actually get griffen for boak and a first

Yeah I read it properly. It is not really a 3 way trade though. It is two seperate trades.

hulld
21 May 2007, 20:02
boak is not going to get traded after just one season

DanA
21 May 2007, 21:21
boak is not going to get traded after just one season

It would be on the basis that he wants to come back to Geelong for family reasons and that a mutally beneficial trade can be established.

Snoop Dog
23 May 2007, 23:06
i know the port folks very well.....forget any thought of Boak being traded.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 May 2007, 13:57
Boak was pick 5 in a superdraft. Port are not going to accept a pick in the teens for him. Maybe
Geelong offer
1 of Mackie or Josh Hunt
+ 1st round

Port Adelaide
Boak
+ 2nd Round
Could be beneficial for both clubs

Does anyone know if Boak's family has relocated? There was talk of that happening.
I reckon they'd do it for Mackie and the 1st rounder, but not if Hunt was involved.

sarah.13
29 May 2007, 12:08
I reckon they'd do it for Mackie and the 1st rounder, but not if Hunt was involved.
Mackie was pick7 in his draft!He is playing very well and starting to reward the cats faith in him.You want two first round picks for an untried player? :rolleyes::rolleyes: Get a grip!!

TheFridge
29 May 2007, 12:37
Mackie was pick7 in his draft!He is playing very well and starting to reward the cats faith in him.You want two first round picks for an untried player? :rolleyes::rolleyes: Get a grip!!

Fair call, Sarah. I really can't see Port letting go of Boak in a hurry - he has done everything and more the club could have wanted since coming over. He has established himself pretty quickly as a leading player at Glenelg (dare I say filling Bryce Gibbs' shoes?).

IF, and only if, he absolutely wanted to return to Geelong, then we would want some pretty fair return. Building on the initial concept, Boak and a first rounder for Griffin may seem fair from one perspective but when (and I think when, not if) Boak fulfills his potential Port would be the losers in the deal. Rather something like Boak to Geelong and perhaps a later pick (2nd round?) or "fringe" player to Bulldogs with Griffin to us would be more likely...

However, while I can't see us letting Boak go, I also can't see the Bulldogs being willing to release Griffin unless he too had a compelling reason to want to leave. Equally, I can't see Geelong being willing to pay over the odds to incentify the Bulldogs to release Griffin. What could Geelong offer? I suspect it would need something like Cam Mooney plus your first round pick... That is a lot to give up for a potential star (and I can't see Geelong coming to the party...).

This is why trades are so hard to engineer - the status quo is a much easier position to be in....

MmkMrMackie
29 May 2007, 12:50
Spencer captained the WA U18 side a few years back, and has showed potential, but has not been able to break into the senior team at Geelong. There is talk about a possible trade with West Coast with Cousins to become a cat. His dad played 60 something games with Geelong, and Cousins was a Geelong fan as a kid. Just what we need too IMO.

Cats at this stage would not be keen on trading for youngsters. Our premiership window is wide open and we already have some quality kids. That said though, we are not about to throw it all away to bring in the likes of Judd. If anyone is interested we will be looking to offload:

- Charlie Gardiner
- Matthew Spencer
- Henry Playfair

As mentioned previously, Josh Hunt is also a possibility.

hulld
29 May 2007, 17:21
west coast would probably take a top 30 draft pick for cousins, especially if he doesn't play a game this year

suntagonal
29 May 2007, 19:28
west coast would probably take a top 30 draft pick for cousins, especially if he doesn't play a game this year

I doubt he will play again this year.. my personal opinion is get himself in the right shape.. or frame of mind before even considering playing footy again.

But thats only my opinion and the only opinion that matters is that of the eagles i guess.

DanA
29 May 2007, 21:39
I doubt he will play again this year.. my personal opinion is get himself in the right shape.. or frame of mind before even considering playing footy again.

But thats only my opinion and the only opinion that matters is that of the eagles i guess.

Pencil him in for round 18-19. The eagles will give him enough time to get match fitness up for the finals. At least that is what I would do if I was in charge down there.

Snoop Dog
29 May 2007, 21:48
He will plays this year. Need his ability to kick goals if they are goign to go back to back. Will sit on a HF flank post Rd 18.

Suspect Pies will have Lonie / Licuria in their trade discussions. Both are not being missed at present and its hard to know where they will fit. Particularly Licca.

charles202
29 May 2007, 21:55
I think that Brisbane may be looking to trade Jared Brennan this year as well as one of their ruckman, more than likley Beau McDonald.

notting18
29 May 2007, 22:36
I think that Brisbane may be looking to trade Jared Brennan this year as well as one of their ruckman, more than likley Beau McDonald.

I agree that Beau may have to go just as we have too many good ruckmen, even though he is very good! I would expect a 1st round pick for Beau if he can continue to improve as he has done, especially with so many teams in the need for a number 1 ruckman which Beau can be.

On Brennan i think the club showed its hand when we didn't even put him on the trade table. I am probably one of those leading the charge against him, but i feel the club may not want to trade him!

charles202
30 May 2007, 12:55
I agree that Beau may have to go just as we have too many good ruckmen, even though he is very good! I would expect a 1st round pick for Beau if he can continue to improve as he has done, especially with so many teams in the need for a number 1 ruckman which Beau can be.

On Brennan i think the club showed its hand when we didn't even put him on the trade table. I am probably one of those leading the charge against him, but i feel the club may not want to trade him!

I agree with you Notts in that the price for Beau should be quite high this year, a number of teams will be looking for ruckman and there wont be many out there, nice to have supply and demand working in our favour this year (unlike last year with Akka).

I think that managment wanted to give Brennan one more year to prove himself, after some ecoraging games at the begining of the year he has failed to do that. I think we will look to cut or losses this year, i imagine that there will be some coaches out there who think that they can turn his mecurail talents around, hopefully more than one as to drive the price up!

The player that i left off my list was Moody, i think that will trade him to one of the WA clubs this offseason, i dont think that his trade value will be very high though.

Sauce Head Wannabe
30 May 2007, 13:06
:thumbsu: ROSS LYON WILL GET THE ASS:thumbsu:

finn
30 May 2007, 18:37
expect adelaide to shop meesen or maric, ken macgregor & michael doughty around. they may however get no nibbles.

brown_2000au
30 May 2007, 19:14
expect adelaide to shop meesen or maric, ken macgregor & michael doughty around. they may however get no nibbles.

If Richmond didn't even have a go at either of Meesen or Maric this year, i would be very upset. 21 year old ruckman with talent (although not yet seen at AFL level) don't come along every day.

Snoop Dog
30 May 2007, 20:11

There is no way a club will give up a first round pick for Beau. You would be kidding yourself that a bloke who is not the first choice ruck in a side that will finsig bottom 4 will somehow get a round 1 pick.

Only Richmond are desperate for a ruck and they certianly wont be giving up a first round pick

brown_2000au
30 May 2007, 20:29
We will have an early PSD pick, probably the 1st pick. Hopefully we can use this as leaverage to trade for a ruckman and then maybe even pick another up in the PSD. Maybe get a Meesen, Maric, Warnock cheaply in a trade (i.e. take a pick or a player or you get nothing for loosing them) and then hopefully convince somebody else to nominate for the draft.

The ideal situation would be,
- Meesen for Meyer on the first day of the trade period.
-Convince DeLuca that he want's to return home and hold Port to a Kings Ransom. Port cave in late in the trade period and take a 2nd/3rd rounder or a player.
-Dal Santo's negotiations with StKilda break down and he nominates for the PSD and is taken by the tigers.
-Draft day and the Tigers select either Kruezer to secure there ruck department for years to come or Cotchin is added to the midfield rotation.
- Coughlan returns from his two reco's and proves to be the greatest recruit of the lot.

Well, it cant hurt to dream can it?

hulld
30 May 2007, 21:55
i guess you are hoping that carlton win at least 3 more games??????

Alberton_Magpie
31 May 2007, 20:33
The only way we will get travis boak is for joel selwood or tom hawkins

hulld
1 Jun 2007, 16:12
hawkins is a dud. he has already reached his peak. he was held to zero goals against box hill a couple of weeks. i was at the game and zac dawson towelled him up.

he is too slow, one dimensional and he doesn't work hard enough off the ball

DanA
1 Jun 2007, 16:23
hawkins is a dud. he has already reached his peak. he was held to zero goals against box hill a couple of weeks. i was at the game and zac dawson towelled him up.

Complete bullshit. That game was as windy as hell with Thorp the only guy who really handled the conditions well. Hawkins is not even close to full fitness. Pretty much missed the last 5 weeks of preseason and is struggling now because of it. Give the kid time.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
1 Jun 2007, 18:03

It's not too early at all to be making judgements like that is it! :rolleyes:
He's in his 1st year, he's done a few good things, so i don't think anyone should be using such a strong word such as "dud" when it comes to Hawkins.

davey_23
1 Jun 2007, 20:27
I'd like us to go for either Jaymie Graham or Matt Rosa.

TheGeneral
1 Jun 2007, 21:15

I guess that makes Scott Gumbleton the biggest waste of time since the Cats didn't take him with pick two. ;)

Gumbleton was towelled up by a VFL defender called Luke Livingston. :p :D

MmkMrMackie
2 Jun 2007, 00:51
I guess that makes Scott Gumbleton the biggest waste of time since the Cats didn't take him with pick two. ;)

Hawkins + Selwood + Djekurra = best return from the draft. Good times ahead for Geelong.

DanA
2 Jun 2007, 10:33
Hawkins + Selwood + Djekurra = best return from the draft. Good times ahead for Geelong.

Bedford will also be a good player. Hopefully Hogan as well

J.Hetfield
3 Jun 2007, 00:33

You have no idea about football mate..

Genesis67
3 Jun 2007, 01:53
What would u offer for Graham?

MmkMrMackie
3 Jun 2007, 02:00
----> West Coast
Trent West , Joel Corey and a late draft pick

----> Geelong
Cousins and Priddis.

Liam#9
3 Jun 2007, 02:14
Dreaming, I would rate Corey just a little bit above priddis, with priddis stil to improve, and cousins will be playing for us again next year, dont you worry

hulld
3 Jun 2007, 09:38
priddis won't be coming to victoria. a couple of clubs tried to get him last year, but he didn't want to leave perth

sydney eagle
5 Jun 2007, 16:10
----> West Coast

----> Geelong
Cousins and Priddis. Yet another joke trade. Corey and your first round pick MIGHT be an opening point in negotiating for Cousins. Yet you want us to give up two midfielders for one midfielder, a "project "ruckman who hasn't played an AFL game yet and a "late" draft pick ? A great trade from Geelong's point of view, but not from West Coasts !

Jeremias
5 Jun 2007, 17:26
----> West Coast

----> Geelong
Cousins and Priddis.

How about Simon Wiggins for Jimmy Bartel and a 2nd rounder?

:rolleyes:

MmkMrMackie
5 Jun 2007, 18:06
Yet another joke trade. Corey and your first round pick MIGHT be an opening point in negotiating for Cousins. Yet you want us to give up two midfielders for one midfielder, a "project "ruckman who hasn't played an AFL game yet and a "late" draft pick ? A great trade from Geelong's point of view, but not from West Coasts !

You say that, but it could be a case of take what you can or get nothing. By the way, Cousins is damaged goods and comes with baggage. You wont be getting anything brilliant for him.

Jeremias
5 Jun 2007, 18:40
You say that, but it could be a case of take what you can or get nothing. By the way, Cousins is damaged goods and comes with baggage. You wont be getting anything brilliant for him.

They won't get anything for him because they won't trade him.

HBF
5 Jun 2007, 23:33
I suspect there will be another record low in the amount of trades done during trade week this year.

Snoop Dog
6 Jun 2007, 09:43
Yeah I dont expect many but in the unlikely event Judd and Reiwoldt do come up then there will be a frenzy. Cannot imagine the blue going on at Moorabin is enhancing Reiwoldts want to stay....and its common knowledge that Judd is thinking about coming home at the end of this contract or the next. If Rebecca's going to be a model she needs to be east coast not in the backwaters of the country!! (only joking)

Bulldog Ben
6 Jun 2007, 09:48
What would your club offer for any of;

Giansiracusa, Ray, Power, Faulkner?

J.Gallagher #1
6 Jun 2007, 11:01
heres a trade i think may work for all 3 teams involved

To Bulldogs: John Meesen, Ken Mcgregor, 2nd Round Pick
To Fremantle: Farren Ray, WB 1st Rounder, Adelaide 1st Rounder
To Adelaide: Matthew Pavlich, Cameron Faulkner

sydney eagle
6 Jun 2007, 11:08
Who is "us" (Sorry, but your sig has no club listed. Is it Melbourne ?) Collingwood (supposedly) wanted Rosa last year in exchange for Tarrant and West Coast said "no". What would your club offer for either of these players do you think ?

sydney eagle
6 Jun 2007, 11:18
You say that, but it could be a case of take what you can or get nothing. By the way, Cousins is damaged goods and comes with baggage. You wont be getting anything brilliant for him. If Cousins is such "damaged goods" and "comes with baggage" why would any Melbourne club want him ?Pure altruism ? I think not ! It looks to me like a Geelong supporter indulging in wishfull thinking in the wild hope that West Coast are stupid with their trades. The only year that I can think of that happening is 2000 when the Eagles traded draft selections for Collica, Harding, Merenda, Prior, Sierakowski and Taylor, hardly any of whom produced much while at the Eagles . Why would the Eagles "get nothing" ? Cousins hasn't said that he wants to leave the club.

finn
6 Jun 2007, 12:15
heres a trade i think may work for all 3 teams involved

To Bulldogs: John Meesen, Ken Mcgregor, 2nd Round Pick
To Fremantle: Farren Ray, WB 1st Rounder, Adelaide 1st Rounder
To Adelaide: Matthew Pavlich, Cameron Faulkner

almost reasonable but i reckon freo would want somebody like griffen meaning that the bulldogs would want better quality meaning trade would fall over unless crows were willing to offload say somebody like reilly as well as meesen.

Bulldog Ben
6 Jun 2007, 12:28
almost reasonable but i reckon freo would want somebody like griffen meaning that the bulldogs would want better quality meaning trade would fall over unless crows were willing to offload say somebody like reilly as well as meesen.

If Griffen wanted out of our side, he'd ask to go to the crows! Farren is from WA and is #4 draft so Freo could possibly want him.