View Full Version : Mav...

Mr Ripper
14 Apr 2002, 13:54
Bubba...busted shoulder...8 weeks. :eek:

BrisGirl
14 Apr 2002, 14:19
Oh No!

Mav will be devistated, but let us think of Bubba. The poor thing, it is the same injury that caused his departure of the seniors last year.

The poor bugger.

keatings_gal
14 Apr 2002, 18:03
he went up in a ruck contest....(COZ HE HAD DONE JACK **** ALL DAY - so they moved him) & he come down on his right shoulder....

yeah we got told 4-8 weeks by one of his team mates.....

SpecialBruce
14 Apr 2002, 22:31
You have got to be kidding. This kid has so much bad luck. This could be his last season at the lions. I doubt they will want to keep hold of him.

CarterS
15 Apr 2002, 09:51
It ain't bad luck mate, he sucks!

Maverick
15 Apr 2002, 10:00
Shocking news.

Bad luck for Bubba after being in the best the last 2 weeks.

Hopefully he can come back from yet another setback.

keatings_gal
15 Apr 2002, 12:27
MY ASS he has been best player the mast two weeks... he is crap... I love your work CarterS... i think by far that they bestplayers so far this year have been Aaron Shattock & Richie Hadley...... but i am sure that all you guys who DONT EVEN SEE THE GAME know better..... KMCA

Stocka
15 Apr 2002, 12:37
Originally posted by keatings_gal
MY ASS he has been best player the mast two weeks... he is crap... I love your work CarterS...

It's one thing to criticise a player's performance on a given week, or over a period of time, but to flat out say a player is "crap" is not only insulting the player, but also the club.

Cupido is a great player, but for various reasons hasn't been able to put it together ever since injuring himself against Sydney, last year.

Stocka
15 Apr 2002, 12:39
Originally posted by Maverick
Shocking news.

Bad luck for Bubba after being in the best the last 2 weeks.

Hopefully he can come back from yet another setback.

I'm with you, Maverick.

Cupido will be an excellent addition to our side, when he's fit, and in the form that he showed glimpses of in his senior performances.

It might take a while longer for him to build up the sort of form required, however, it's certainly worth waiting for, as Cupido has definitely shown enough to suggest that he'll be a very, very good player.

CarterS
15 Apr 2002, 13:29
The guys gone so far down hill since the beginning of last year that it's a joke (from what I've seen. keatings_gal could probably make a better informed statement than me because she's obviously been watching them). I think he peaked in the game against Port at Footy Park in Rd1 last year when he kicked a handful.

We still have Luke Power to come back into the team and McRae is firing on all cylinders at the moment, so the only way he'd get into the team is through a massive improvement on his part and a number of injuries (quite a number of injuries) because there's allot of guys ahead of him in my opinion.

It isn't the clubs fault he went downhill, it's his fault.

He hasn't picked himself up from injury, obviously his confidence is pretty low, he's put on a few kilos and he has turned into a selfish player. The Cupido of early 2001 could be of some use to the Lions but not the Cupido of 2002, no way.

So at the moment in my eyes he still doesn't deserve a callup.

Personally I think he should be dropped from the Senior List and Darren Bradshaw should be promoted (he really needs a go but as with other players where does he fit?).

I hope he can pick himself up though.

Maverick
15 Apr 2002, 14:17
MY ASS he has been best player the mast two weeks... he is crap... I love your work CarterS... i think by far that they bestplayers so far this year have been Aaron Shattock & Richie Hadley...... but i am sure that all you guys who DONT EVEN SEE THE GAME know better..... KMCA

Bubba in the best the past 2 weeks....just how it was reported on the Lions website.....probably by the coaching staff. But if you say he was not in the best....then I will take your word for it.

SpecialBruce
15 Apr 2002, 16:19
Originally posted by Stocka

It's one thing to criticise a player's performance on a given week, or over a period of time, but to flat out say a player is "crap" is not only insulting the player, but also the club.

Cupido is a great player, but for various reasons hasn't been able to put it together ever since injuring himself against Sydney, last year.

I totally agree. Cupido is not crap and just needs to get into form.

Originally posted by CarterS

It ain't bad luck mate, he sucks!

Sucks? What are you on? Bagging out your own team. Strewth that is shocking. Why would you bag out your own team. He does not suck, overcoming injury and getting back into a side where you were going well in is hard to do.

MY ASS he has been best player the mast two weeks... he is crap... I love your work CarterS...

You and CarterS are as bad as each other. Players shouldn't be called crap because of what some people think. Proper footy terminology would be "out of form", but saying crap is totally immature and not called for. Its hard to call a player crap when you can't even spell properly.

Keating is your favourite player right? What if someone came up to you and said Keating is crap and should be taken off the list because hes injury prone? What would you do? Would you try and defend him and call the person an idiot for saying that, or would you agree with the person? I think we all know which one you would do.

Originally posted by Maverick

But if you say he was not in the best....then I will take your word for it.

Don't give in Maverick. Defend Bubba like I am doing now.

Bubba is quite a good player and I hope that the people that call him crap and not worth it eat their words. Bubba will play seniors before the end of the year and play well. Then what will everyone say. Its hard to believe people bagging out their own team.

Stocka
15 Apr 2002, 18:18
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Don't give in Maverick. Defend Bubba like I am doing now.

That's right, Maverick. Listen to SpecialBruce.

I think we should start a call for elevating Cupido to joint captain.

Stocka
15 Apr 2002, 18:20
SpecialBruce, that last post of yours, was one of your best ever.

CarterS
15 Apr 2002, 18:45
Originally posted by SpecialBruce

Sucks? What are you on? Bagging out your own team. Strewth that is shocking. Why would you bag out your own team. He does not suck, overcoming injury and getting back into a side where you were going well in is hard to do.

I'm not bagging the team, I'm bagging one of the players in the team. They are two different things. Can you show me the exact words I said where I was bagging the team?

If you read my second post in this thread then I justified why I said he sucks, it wasn't just a throwaway comment, I made an argument to back it up.

Mr Ripper
16 Apr 2002, 17:15
Update...straight from the horse's mouth :eek:...not as bad as first thought...3-4 weeks.

SpecialBruce
16 Apr 2002, 17:47
Thanks for the news Rip. By the time he resumes, it will be round 6 or 7 of the AFL season. Give him 5 weeks in the twos, and I predict that he will be in the seniors by round 14 and be our leading goal scorer. If we have injuries, I would prefer to see Cupido in the team than first gamers at that stage of the season.

keatings_gal
16 Apr 2002, 18:41
well......
the second that i see bubba...."GETTING BACK INTO FORM" as you would say........ i will be one of the first ones to praise him,,,, but as i said,,,,, he hasnt been that good,,,,,,, (MAYBE EVEN crap) that is why gonzo has been moving him around.... playing him around the ground seeing if he can pick up a possession.that is why he was in the ruck jumping around like a moron,......when he hurt himself...i am a fan of anyone who plays well....
especially in the reserves & gets back into the seniors... it is not an easy feat.... & it isnt that easy to make the transition from the reserves to the seniors ... morro is one of my faves...AFLQ fullback of the year last season... but..... he just can't seem to take the step......

just cant wait to have bubba back out there
so we can see how he goes........

Stocka
16 Apr 2002, 19:03
that is why he was in the ruck jumping around like a moron

What, you mean like that Clark Keating guy does? :confused:

Beausgirl43
18 Apr 2002, 12:24
CHILL KIDS ! :D

OI!

LEAVE THE RUCKMAN ALONE :mad: :D :p