View Full Version : Steven King as trade bait.

MmkMrMackie
15 May 2007, 19:35
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7531290#post7531290

It seems that a few clubs are interested in snaring the services of our ex captain and once premier dual all Australian ruckman, Steven King. What do you guys reckon we would want for him? What do you think we would get for him if we decided to trade him? Ruckmen are in short supply, and I think we could quite possibly get a late first round draft pick for Kingy, which we could then trade off in order to get a clearance specialist into the midfield.

JUBJUB
15 May 2007, 19:44
I can't see anyone taking him.I wouldn't be suprised if he retired at the end of the year.

Tonycam*
15 May 2007, 19:50
I can't see anyone taking him.I wouldn't be suprised if he retired at the end of the year.
There are some desperate clubs out there who are in need of a good ruckman , someone may pick him up. Wish him well , just somewhere else

GeeCat
15 May 2007, 20:37
More chance of him retiring than being traded.

In any case, his medical report will pretty much shun any of these interested clubs. They won't touch him.

The Coon Dog
15 May 2007, 20:37
There are some desperate clubs out there who are in need of a good ruckman , someone may pick him up. Wish him well , just somewhere else

I think the key word there is good. All clubs would just about fit into this category, tho I imagine very few would be willing to trade for King, given his history with injuries. It's just not worth the punt in my view.

Cats!!
15 May 2007, 20:40
Yeah, highly doubt we would trade our ex-captain.
Anyone think we will try and grab Meesen at the end of the year?

Hood007
15 May 2007, 20:40
I think the key word there is good. All clubs would just about fit into this category, tho I imagine very few would be willing to trade for King, given his history with injuries. It's just not worth the punt in my view.

Agree with you there.
I personally don't think he'll go. He'll be back in the side soon enough...

TheTimberMerchant#14
15 May 2007, 20:52

i really thought that we should've had a look at him last year as i didn't think blake would come on (keep proving me wrong mate), and kingy hardly ever fit. seems crows still have three ruckmen in front of him even after they got rid of m.clarke (biglands, hudson, griffin).
seems a good fit-- young talented ruckman, former pick #8, local product coming home; definately worth a look.
however concerns me that he can't get a look in even with biglands out- is he injured, or just travelling bad?
anyway, what would the crows want? fringe player (around 24,25 pecking order) and a 3rd round choice??

The Coon Dog
15 May 2007, 20:53

From what I have read on these boards, it seems like a few clubs might be climbing over themselves to entice Meeson back to Victoria, tho I suspect they may need to pay 'overs'.

thejester
15 May 2007, 21:31
The guy who wrote that OP is as out of touch with reality as David Irving. King is old, injury riddled, and out of form. I can see absolutely no reason why a club would want to gamble on him.

Brasil2007
15 May 2007, 21:54
The guy who wrote that OP is as out of touch with reality as David Irving. King is old, injury riddled, and out of form. I can see absolutely no reason why a club would want to gamble on him.

Hard to see anyone picking up King unless his form drastically improves and he strings a dozen or more good games together. And if his form improves we won't want to release him. Having said from that we've played him so many times when he should have been rested his form has been understandable.

YOTC
15 May 2007, 21:55
We should just give him to Richmond.

TheTimberMerchant#14
15 May 2007, 22:28
just found this about meesen on the adelaide board.
is currently also behind ivan maric, making that 4 ruckmen in front of him.

"9. John Meesen: Grade 7

Height: 200cm
Weight: 97kg

Drafted with the 8th pick in the 2004 draft, Meesen is an extremely promising developing ruckman. During his first year in the SANFL Meesen spent the majority of his time up forward with mixed success. Failed to have much of an impact however he did have 8 shots at goal during a game highlighting his potential. He also struggled in the ruck and was often beaten in ruck contests. A knee injury kept him out for the second half of the year.

2006 was a completely different story for Meesen. He had a very consistent season for Norwood and was named as an emergency for the Crows on one occasion. He averaged 13 hitouts and more than 10 possessions per game and he was one of a few players to play every game of the season. Meesen has tremendous agility for someone so tall and has a terrific work ethic. He can take a contested mark and was improving in this area as the season wore on. His ruckwork also developed quite considerably and he was Norwood’s lead ruckman for the entire season. Meesen may be forced to play up forward for the Crows in the immediate future, and while it’s not his preferred position he can adapt to the role. In the SANFL Reserves finals Meesen kicked 7 goals in 2 games whilst playing at FF. He is in a duel with Maric for the role of back-up ruckman and I believe he will take that position.

In a huge blow to his season, Meesen will miss the first 10 weeks of the season with a knee injury. During the Crows preseason cup loss to Port Adelaide, Meesen slipped at a ruck contest and his knee required surgery. Prior to the injury, his performances were underwhelming and it appears as though he is at least another 12 months away before having an impact at AFL level."

tin can sam
15 May 2007, 23:20
I miss Steven King, if we had him version 2002, We'd win the flag IMO, he was just that good.

Furious_G
16 May 2007, 00:00
King is the sort of player Sheedy would go after, so I wouldn't discount it 100%... But more likely we'd offer him an extremely reduced contract.

JUBJUB
16 May 2007, 00:02

Isn't giving them KK for free enough punishment ?

Brasil2007
16 May 2007, 00:03
I miss Steven King, if we had him version 2002, We'd win the flag IMO, he was just that good.

Right on. Watched the Cats Carlton game at the dome from round 12 2002 the other day on Foxtel. I'd forgotten how quick King was and how good his skills were. He was at least as good then as Lade is now.

Who knows? Maybe if they treat him with kid gloves he can come back. He basically was a lone hand ruckman until this year so they always rushed him back.

Brasil2007
16 May 2007, 00:04
Isn't giving them KK for free enough punishment ?

The Tigers train so much harder than us! Unfortunately that's about the only time KK will get to mingle with the senior players...

thejester
16 May 2007, 00:50
Totally. Which is kind of why I don't want to see him traded, even if he had the ability to be - in the dark days of the club, he was our one shining light. He deserves to go out with some dignity, not as tradebait to some pretenders with delusions of grandeur.

MmkMrMackie
16 May 2007, 00:55
The Tigers train so much harder than us! Unfortunately that's about the only time KK will get to mingle with the senior players...

Lol. In hindsight, that statement of Kingsley's seems pretty funny....:D

rocker_oz33
16 May 2007, 22:34
why wood any other club want king, when was the last time he play a full season? riddle me that batman. i dont know why geelong wood play 3 ruck men theres only room for 2 in the team,and at this point in time king is third in line for ruck duties,good to see m blake doing well

MmkMrMackie
16 May 2007, 22:46
why wood any other club want king, when was the last time he play a full season? riddle me that batman. i dont know why geelong wood play 3 ruck men theres only room for 2 in the team,and at this point in time king is third in line for ruck duties,good to see m blake doing well

Thompson is talking about playing all 3 in the same side. I reckon Ottens would play forward most of the time adn Blake and Kingy would take the ruck duties.

Brasil2007
17 May 2007, 00:04
Thompson is talking about playing all 3 in the same side. I reckon Ottens would play forward most of the time adn Blake and Kingy would take the ruck duties.

You might do that against a team like Sydney, where you know you're going to have a bunch of stoppages. Kingy's breakdown in the final against Sydney was without doubt the reason we lost it. Personally though I generally think we're better off with another speedy player in the side than a third ruckman.

Thinking about it if you were going to drop Hawkins you could do it.

Mooney_d'King
17 May 2007, 18:11
I think that would be quite an affront and offence to Steven King. Sure, he's been suffering from injury and the consequent psychological barriers, but you wouldn't shaft him like that.

JoeLCatS
17 May 2007, 19:18
i would be shattered to see kingy go. although his form isnt great and his career has be riddled with injury he has been a great part of the geelong footy club and i would be disappointed if he were to be traded ( tho i agree i dont think another club would take a risk on him)

Ants
17 May 2007, 20:20
Ignoring the whole loyalty side of it, if you did trade him I'd expect a value not too dissimiliar to Gardiner last year.

Obviously King's attitude is signficantly different from Gardiners. However, other than that, there are a lot of similarities:

- Both injury struck
- Both former AA ruckmen
- Both from teams with two other preferred rucks
- Both (hopefully) with top VFL/WAFL form leading up to the trade period.

The whole off field issues that Gardiner had are the biggest problem with deciding exactly what the difference in price would be. But I think Gardiner got a 3rd or 4th round pick?

For a 3rd round pick, I'd want Essendon to think about it, but probably turn it down. Don't really need more oldish players in our group at this time.

bombersmad75
17 May 2007, 21:36
King is the sort of player Sheedy would go after, so I wouldn't discount it 100%... But more likely we'd offer him an extremely reduced contract.
even sheedy wouldnt be that silly.:)

MmkMrMackie
17 May 2007, 22:01
even sheedy wouldnt be that silly.:)

Sheeds won't be at Essendon next year anyway.

Asty
18 May 2007, 12:53
Not sure I would want to trade kingy away as he is a very handy 2nd / 3rd ruck option and it only takes and injury or two and we would all want him back.

And on the topic of clubs not wanting him .... If no talent Ackland can get another club to pick him up after he sucked at PA and STK then any 1/2 decent ruckman will not struggle for a job.

DanA
18 May 2007, 14:07
Not sure I would want to trade kingy away as he is a very handy 2nd / 3rd ruck option and it only takes and injury or two and we would all want him back.

And on the topic of clubs not wanting him .... If no talent Ackland can get another club to pick him up after he sucked at PA and STK then any 1/2 decent ruckman will not struggle for a job.

Essendon probably don't need him but Collingwood, Richmond or Carlton I think would jump at the chance. Personally I would hate to see him go.

A former AA ruckmen would be handy in developing young talent. He know what to do it is more an issue of his body no longer being as capable. Plus there is no doubt one of our ruckmen will get injured or lose form at some stage this year or next year. He will prove more than handy when that time comes.

Magic17
18 May 2007, 19:05
Does his contract expire at the end of this year?
How about a direct swap for Andrew Krakouer?

DanA
18 May 2007, 19:11

Yeah he is out of contract at the end of the year. I can't see us wanting Andrew Krakouer.

Magic17
18 May 2007, 19:15
Yeah he is out of contract at the end of the year. I can't see us wanting Andrew Krakouer.

Yeah well beggars can't be choosers.
Can't see clubs offering much for an injury prone ruckman, well past his best either.

DanA
18 May 2007, 19:23
Yeah well beggars can't be choosers.
Can't see clubs offering much for an injury prone ruckman, well past his best either.

Whose begging? King offers some value to our list even if its as a backup ruckmen. WTF does Krakeour offer. He is not good enough to even be on the Geelong list.

JUBJUB
18 May 2007, 19:36

Byrnes >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Krakouer

No thanks,you can have him.In fact you can have both if you want.

Magic17
18 May 2007, 19:37
WTF does Krakeour offer. .

Krakouer offers hope, skill, brilliance, consistency.
You should really consider it.;)

Kittenish
18 May 2007, 21:34
:D Ya.
I wish we could trade him for Traitor Ablett. That'd be alright. And then we'd have a complete Ablett Generation set.

Hood007
18 May 2007, 21:47
:D Ya.
I wish we could trade him for Traitor Ablett. That'd be alright. And then we'd have a complete Ablett Generation set.

Traitor Ablett?

Kittenish
18 May 2007, 21:56
Traitor Ablett?
Aka. Luke Ablett, the traitor Ablett who plays for the Swanettes.:rolleyes:

cat in sydney
19 May 2007, 12:38
Kingys trade value (for anyone who was interested in trading him) would have just plummeted again after this weeks injury.
I'd say we'll need to keep him now until he retires, which is looking more and more likely to be the end of this year. :(

Kittenish
19 May 2007, 18:27
Kingys trade value (for anyone who was interested in trading him) would have just plummeted again after this weeks injury.
I'd say we'll need to keep him now until he retires, which is looking more and more likely to be the end of this year. :(
Maybe we could trade him for Barry Hall then :D.
Even Lance Whitnall would be okay. Just please remove King from my sight! And from my club!

fugsy
19 May 2007, 21:32

He's a traitor because we couldn't get him on Father/Son and Sydney got to him first in the draft?

Hood007
19 May 2007, 21:34

You know he's not Gary's 3rd son don't you?
I don't know how you'd call him a traitor otherwise...

Catters21
20 May 2007, 13:48
straight swap....judd for king! ill even sweeten the deal.....they can have hunt aswell!