View Full Version : Selection Quandary
kriso182
16 May 2007, 11:26
Tom Harley, Steven King, Chapman and Rooke all putting there hand up to play.
Who do you drop? Great problem to have, VFL team could take on a few AFL teams I reckon.
Personally, I would play King and Harley in the VFL. If Mackie doesnt come up Harley can come in. Chapman and Rooke should play. Tenace and Hawkins should be dropped.
(http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21739113%255E19742,00.html)
sarah.13
16 May 2007, 11:29
IN : Chapman and Rooke.
OUT: Mackie inj. Selwood rest.
Chappy for Tenace
Rooke for Hawkins.It's likely to be a bit wet,so we don't need the extra tall up forward
Harley for Mackie if Mackie is out injured,otherwise he comes back via the magoos
No King.Don't need him.
Selwood doesn't need a rest.He had a week off about 3 weeks ago.
chapmanmagic35
16 May 2007, 11:34
No point resting youngsters if they are playing alright. Maybe drop Hawkins if it is wet. Don't rest him for the sake of resting him.
I don't think Chapman is right. I haven't read anywhere that says he is ready.
Check todays papers
CatmanForever
16 May 2007, 11:50
No point resting youngsters if they are playing alright. Maybe drop Hawkins if it is wet. Don't rest him for the sake of resting him.
Read this article: http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21739113%255E19742,00.html
Hawkins may be heading for a rest after the coach saw some telling signs during Sunday's win against West Coast.
"He's not far off having a spell," Thompson said.
He is desperately trying to keep getting his hands on the ball, but the harder he tries, the worse it is getting. He may have to go back to the reserves and just have a free run at playing footy again."
Chapman, who missed against the Eagles because of a hamstring strain, was expected to miss another week until he impressed during a running drill yesterday.
Mackie suffered a bruised knee on Sunday and will need to improve to be right to play, while Rooke (hamstring), who has not played all season, has strung several VFL games together and is likely to force his way into the seniors this week.
:)
chapmanmagic35
16 May 2007, 11:51
Ripper. Cheers JUBJUB and CatmanForever! :thumbsu:
sarah.13
16 May 2007, 11:56
Selwood doesn't need a rest.He had a week off about 3 weeks ago.
He came off with concussion last week,won't hurt him to have another week off now.
Copernicus
16 May 2007, 12:38
Thanks for the link. Makes for some satisfying dilemmas for the selectors!
For mine,
In: Chapman
Out: Hawkins
Not sure about Rooke, is he 100% yet?
Big Nasty
16 May 2007, 12:42
Thanks for the link. Makes for some satisfying dilemmas for the selectors!
For mine,
In: Chapman
Out: Hawkins
Rookes a definite this week.
In: Chapman, Rooke.
Out: Hawkins, Tenace.
He's played the last 2 weeks in the VFL
Hood007
16 May 2007, 14:14
Rookes a definite this week.
In: Chapman, Rooke.
Out: Hawkins, Tenace.
Tenace would be pretty stiff to get dropped this week...
Rosella
16 May 2007, 14:48
Tenace would be pretty stiff to get dropped this week...
Yeah, agree.
I think Chappy should have another week off, don't like the idea of missing only week from a hamstring
conanthelibrarian
16 May 2007, 14:48
In: Chapman Rooke
Out: Hawkins Mackie
Let Mackie rest his knee, and give Hawkins a run in the VFL to get some form back. Bring in two hard nuts in Chappy and Max to thrash Freo at the in and under stuff, especially as it's meant to be wet.
sarah.13
16 May 2007, 15:49
Revised my thoughts. IN-Chapman,Rooke.
Out-Hawkins,Mackie inj.
Metallica_Man
16 May 2007, 16:06
would hawkins be resting in the vfl or alltogether?
year of the cat
16 May 2007, 16:34
In: Chapman Rooke
Out: Hawkins Mackie
Let Mackie rest his knee, and give Hawkins a run in the VFL to get some form back. Bring in two hard nuts in Chappy and Max to thrash Freo at the in and under stuff, especially as it's meant to be wet.
Looks good to me.
would hawkins be resting in the vfl or alltogether?
I'm guessing if he doesn't play seniors he will line up in the VFL as the following week there are no VFL games [state game Vic v WA] so he'd have a rest then.
Ricketts
16 May 2007, 19:18
In - Rooke, Chapman.
Out - Hawkins, and Mackie if he is a bit injured, but Selwood if Mackie is right to go.
-Junior-
16 May 2007, 20:14
just a thought..im really thinking that we would be much better off resting chappy another week. i understand we would love to have the guy in the side but i think it would be better to be safe then sorry..we would seriously be regretting playing him if he tears his hammy on satday and misses 3-4..does anyone think it may be worth resting him?
-Junior-
16 May 2007, 20:23
just a thought..im really thinking that we would be much better off resting chappy another week. i understand we would love to have the guy in the side but i think it would be better to be safe then sorry..we would seriously be regretting playing him if he tears his hammy on satday and misses 3-4..does anyone think it may be worth resting him?
just realised theres a whole thread on this sorry!! but feel free to still agree with me to make me look good :thumbsu: ...if u disagree dw about it lol!
grantyc77
17 May 2007, 09:57
I think Chappy should have another week off, don't like the idea of missing only week from a hamstring[/quote]
Spot on mate, no use risking anyone at this time of yr, If its wet, Rooke to come in for Tomahawk, thats the only change i would make.
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
17 May 2007, 10:32
Can't drop Selwood with the weather forecast - hes a country boy and used to the crap days, so his skills should still be exceptional when others may drop off a bit.
Chapman and Rooke for sure. Balls going to spend more time on the ground than at the Dome.....
Mooney_d'King
17 May 2007, 14:06
Can't drop Selwood with the weather forecast - hes a country boy and used to the crap days, so his skills should still be exceptional when others may drop off a bit.
Chapman and Rooke for sure. Balls going to spend more time on the ground than at the Dome.....
Yep, Chappy and Rooke for mine too. Hawkins could benefit from VFL experience and come back a bit later in the year.
Alchera
17 May 2007, 14:17
Leave Chappie out for another - would prefer they err on the side of caution than it end up being a repeat offender hamstring (been there before - sucks) and he misses more weeks.
Rooke for Hawkins
Harley for Mackie if injured.
cat in sydney
17 May 2007, 14:39
Rooke for Hawkins
Harley for Mackie if injured.
Agree. Only two changes necessary.
If he's ok, Mackie should keep his spot because Harley needs a week or two in the seconds to get the feeling of a footy match again.
If it is wet as suggested I would look at dropping; Hawkins, Mackie & Varcoe.
- Hawkins leaves our forwarline to tall for the conditions
- Love Varcoe's work so far but he is too slight a build for wet weather footy.
- Mackie injured plus slightly built
Add some grunt with Chappy, Rooke, Djerkurra. Plus all three seem to play well in the wet.
Obviously we should not take any risks with Chappy but if he is right to play then we should play him, he is a match winner.
sarah.13
17 May 2007, 15:01
If it is wet as suggested I would look at dropping; Hawkins, Mackie & Varcoe.
- Hawkins leaves our forwarline to tall for the conditions
- Love Varcoe's work so far but he is too slight a build for wet weather footy.
- Mackie injured plus slightly built
Add some grunt with Chappy, Rooke, Djerkurra. Plus all three seem to play well in the wet.
Obviously we should not take any risks with Chappy but if he is right to play then we should play him, he is a match winner.
Dj.injured looks like missing a couple otherwise agree.
Cheers missed that. Not often you see a quad strain.
I guess keep Varcoe in. He did play well in slippery conditions against North.