View Full Version : how did you barrack for the cats
gocats88
16 May 2007, 16:47
I'm just wondering how all you guy started to go for the mighty cats. my one is a bit from left field, you see i've never grew up in geelong i've only been there three times actually. last week was my second ever time to go see geelong play at skilled, my first last year agaisnt port. My first ever team i went for was Kangas and then the dogs when I was about 4 or 5. the reason i go for the cats is because its my favorite animal and my favorite colour is blue i haven;t stopped going for them since i was 6 so i guess i can't change now can i, i still have a feeling sometimes why do i go for the cats in the first place. I know it's strange but does anyone else go for the cats which is also a bit from left field.
hotdog_hotdog
16 May 2007, 16:50
My dad made me! But i've loved every moment of it!
linelefty
16 May 2007, 16:52
I had an uncle move over from WA to play for the cats. Gary Sidebottom. Always been a fan since. And yes, he was the one who missed the bus.
my father has a wierd sense of humour!
gocats88
16 May 2007, 17:05
are you bakes and hotdog from melbourne?
year of the cat
16 May 2007, 17:06
I had an uncle move over from WA to play for the cats. Gary Sidebottom. Always been a fan since. And yes, he was the one who missed the bus.
Bloody remember that day at Waverley and watching Peter Johnston run out instead.
For what its worth Dad grew up in Geelong and the whole family have been subsequently indoctrinated.
hotdog_hotdog
16 May 2007, 17:20
are you bakes and hotdog from melbourne?
I certainly am. any reason why?
Why did you post this thread twice? Wasn't once enough for you..
Anyway, knew first of all I didn't want to follow Essendon (where I grew up), coz I thought they were the biggest pack of ****ers.. Needless to say they are yet to prove my theory wrong. Was influenced (but not forced, like some parents) by my mum to follow Geelong in the end. That and Gary Ablett kicking 14 goals..
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
16 May 2007, 17:25
Being taught my Micheal Turner in PE at Werribee Primary School and him getting us into the Little League back when it was fun and you played the WHOLE ground (not like the prrima donna's today). And getting us into the change rooms when Tommy Hafey was around.
Magic days.........Then GOD turned up to play and sealed the deal permanently.....
CatmanForever
16 May 2007, 17:34
I was brainwashed by a friend of the family. All my Family barracks for the Swans and I was literally the odd one out. I have a kindegarten picture of myself as a 4 year old wearing a Cats Supporter shirt. The first game I attended was South Melbourne V Geelong at the Old Albert Park Lakeside oval when I was 8. I loved it and the Cats won. That was 1975 and Sammy Newman was playing. Yes I am old I know.
Shmoses
16 May 2007, 17:35
I actually don't remember it's been that long, but I'd be pretty surprised if being four in 1989 didn't have something to do with it.
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
16 May 2007, 17:36
I was brainwashed by a friend of the family. All my Family barracks for the Swans and I was literally the odd one out. I have a kindegarten picture of myself as a 4 year old wearing a Cats Supporter shirt. The first game I attended was South Melbourne V Geelong at the Old Albert Park Lakeside oval when I was 8. I loved it and the Cats won. That was 1975. Yes I am old I know.
Thank god.
Someone older than me here.
Rustybugles
16 May 2007, 17:37
A lot of country people used to barrack for Geelong before zoning distorted that and I'm not from the Western District - many think that Geelong's hinterland is the only bit of country Victoria! Essendon was in its prime when I was a midget but my best mate was a good foot taller than others in our year level at state school and HE barracked for Geelong - so why not support your minder's team. Favourite cousin was a Cats fanatic too. I have never for one moment seriously considered supporting any other club - that always baffles me about those who do change allegiance.
Life-long - highs and lows, all the stick you get from others about "bridesmaids" and "handbaggers" - you take it all in your stride - it is a terrible admission in some ways but we are defined by the team we support. I have no regrets - it's all been worth it.
Shmoses
16 May 2007, 17:43
I have never for one moment seriously considered supporting any other club - that always baffles me about those who do change allegiance. Yeah, I hear this. My dad and younger brother are both Essendon fans, and my dad had assumed I was going to be too, to the point where I had essendon gear in young photos of me, while my mum and youngest brother are Richmond fans. From as long as I can remember though I've been a Cats fan and never gave any thought to not being so.
Hood007
16 May 2007, 17:45
Born and bred in Geelong.
All my friends and family support. them.
Bit boring.
Oh well, Go Cats!
deadfish
16 May 2007, 18:04
Born and bred in Geelong.
All my friends and family support. them.
Bit boring.
Oh well, Go Cats!
bout the same.
back in the early 60's my mother decided to go for the cats because
1. Polly Farmer
2. 63 flag
and
3. most importantly she liked the top and navy blue
she never has been a keen footy follower but being the mummy's i am decided to get brainwashed by her and not my brother and cousins(essendon).
from her 'i dont really care' sort of decision came me, a season ticket holder year in year out.
me and her are the only cats in a pretty big family
wasn't born in geelong, never lived in geelong or even live near it and never holidayed in geelong but love going down there every week for the footy.
TassieCat
16 May 2007, 18:16
I liked the blue and white hoops when I was little! Simple but true!
When my mum came over from England with my Grandparents back in the fifties, they bought a beanie for my uncle who was a baby at the time. And it just happened to be a Geelong Beanie.... So thats why my whole family supports them... My dad had no influence in the matter seeing as he was more interested in motor sports... But Mum always took us down to the games every weekend even if it was at Kardinia Park which is a fair trip from Noble Park :thumbsu: :)
Rosella
16 May 2007, 18:46
All my mum's family is from Geelong - no choice. no regrets. Dad's from os
Barabbas
16 May 2007, 18:59
Was born in Geelong. Baxter house pride. Never lived there, but have a bunch of family there. What other team could you go for and enjoy the same rollercoaster. ;)
Prismall
16 May 2007, 19:26
My grandfather and great-grand father took me to all Geelong home games in the late 70's when I was very small (Hickey Stand reserved seats) but for some reason I barracked for Richmond with 29 on my back (why?, to rebell against the Geelong supporters I was surrounded by, I guess).
I got to cheer for the tiges only once a year when they came down and spent most Geelong games waiting for the scoreboard staff to update the C v D, and G v H games so I could see how Richomond was going.
I think my grand father got sick of taking his Richmond supporting grandson to Geelong homes games and on the eve of the 1980 season sat me down over a couple of footy franks and basically blackmailed me into supporting for Geelong, he said "I will only take you to the footy if you support Geelong" so what was a footy obsessed 8yo supposed to do?
I switched to Geelong and chose the unlikely 29 to wear on my new Geelong duffelcoat (gold bike to anyone that can tell me who wore 29 for Geelong in 1980 or so)
I have barracked for them ever since and very happy with 29 nowadays.
Its sometimes painful barracking for Geelong but nothing like the pain I would have endured barracking for Richmond for the last 27 years!!! (apart from 1980 of course)
conanthelibrarian
16 May 2007, 19:29
Born and bred a Cats fan. First game I went to was also God's first game for the Cats. Became a member in 1993, and been a member since. :thumbsu:
Selwood07
16 May 2007, 19:36
I have ONE mate who could not stand the brown and yellow (not gold) and has beena keen Geelong supporter for years!
Sydney_Malakellis
16 May 2007, 19:42
We have a family legend that goes something like my great, great, great, great (not sure how many greats) uncle played in the back pocket for the first ever Geelong team. They say his name was Sharpe, and he had the strength of ten men. These ten men were unfortunately pygmies from PNG who had severe dental problems and social skills, so he didn't get too many games.
Ever since, all of my family have subsequently barracked for the Cats and as you can imagine are suitably deranged and malfunctioning souls alternating between euphoria and depression like so many Spike Milligans.
I lived in Geelong until I was 4, then moved up here in QLD in '88, my choice was either the Cats or the Brisbane Bears, yeah, tough choice back then eh?:p So I've followed Geelong since (save for a misguided period in my youth where I got caught up in the rugby league bullshit up here and concentrated on that), but I've since cleaned myself up and returned to a real sport. This is my first year as a GFC member.
crosby123
16 May 2007, 20:23
My entire extended family barracks for the Cats. In my blood. Also, born in Geelong, though I live in Melbourne.
eliiiiza
16 May 2007, 20:28
I moved to Geelong about 3 and a half years ago from overseas, so that and the fact that nearly everyone in my high school barracked for the Cats influenced me.
Tristagi
16 May 2007, 20:42
my great grandpa played for them in the 37 premiership team and coached for a year, so its a family thing..
Big_Tazz
16 May 2007, 21:16
2 simple reasons for me... my dad, and he started with them, because he has worked at ford for about 15 years, and geelong is all they talked about, and ford is their sponsor, or r they still? havnt been really concentrating on their shirts, but yeh, likeing ford, and my dad..
thejester
16 May 2007, 21:21
Born into it.
2 simple reasons for me... my dad, and he started with them, because he has worked at ford for about 15 years, and geelong is all they talked about, and ford is their sponsor, or r they still? havnt been really concentrating on their shirts, but yeh, likeing ford, and my dad..
I sure hope so! Geelong would die a slow and painful death without Ford. Yay go Ford.. i drive a Honda but I still luv yas!! :thumbsu:
My dad was born and grew up in Geelong, and his whole family were cats supporters, so I just followed the tradition. In fact, one of my 1st birthday presents was a pair of full-size Geelong footy socks, which I still have. Dad took me to a lot of Geelong games from the late 70s onwards. When we went to Kardinia Park we went to standing room, and I stood on a wooden apple box so I could see. My childhood heroes were Garry Malarkey, Terry Bright and Mick Turner. And then Gary Ablett came along in the mid 80s during my teenage years and I became a lifelong fan...
passthebottle
16 May 2007, 21:40
Being taught my Micheal Turner in PE at Werribee Primary School and him getting us into the Little League back when it was fun and you played the WHOLE ground (not like the prrima donna's today). And getting us into the change rooms when Tommy Hafey was around.
Magic days.........Then GOD turned up to play and sealed the deal permanently.....
Now that is creepy!! All my family were St Kilda supporters and then we moved to Werribee for about six months. And like Years of Pains story mine is exactly the same. 1980 was the year it all began for me.
Have been a sucker ever since.
Go Cats!!!
cozdawg#09
16 May 2007, 22:10
i was born in SA, and dad grew up in WA, so wen i sed i barracked for the crows dad cut sick and told me to pick any other team in the AFL, so i chose geelong because of the mighty gablett snr
catsrule
16 May 2007, 22:21
When I was 5 my older brother asked me who I was going to barrack for I chose North Melbourne because my favourite color was blue. My brother said no don't barrack for them they're hopeless go for Geelong (It was 1964). I have barracked for them ever since and I am still waiting to celebrate a premiership! I attend all games in Vic and managed to brainwash all 3 kids.
Geminicatz
16 May 2007, 23:56
My grandfather use to take my mother to the footy when she was young.
My mother virtually dragged my sisters & i to the footy when i was about 4 years old (kept it in the family..ha ha brain washed).
We are from Mellbourne so we use to get the train down which was great as you got to meet many members over the years & we still run into different ones to this day.
Now only it's my mother & I that go to the footy after all thoses years.
I still remember Sammy Newman wearing his white boots & playing his 300 game even though I was really young.
When I was about 7 mum joined us kids to the cheersquad lol those were the days.
We were members of the Melcats so we got to meet the players in the rooms after the geelong home games which was grouse until Malcolm Blight took over as coach & they put a stop to it all.:mad:
Deep North
16 May 2007, 23:57
Born in Geelong, grew up in Sth Fyans st (my Dad could put a barrel in to the park from behind our house). My favourite game as a kid was to collect all the bottles (you could buy in glass in those days) after the game, haul them to the top of the Hickey stand and throw them off. Tom Hafey came to my primary school and taught us all how to do push-ups and Darren Flanegan taught us how to take overhead marks. I used to watch Jacko practise his goal-kicking every day. Young recruits used to get pissed and lost in the alley behind our house. I got my first real Sherrin footy when a GFC official felt sorry for me after I waited for our newest recruit, Brian Peak (who'd landed in a helicopter-very glam) to sign my autograph book. He jogged down the race (last out) and I went forward and said "excuse me Peak", he kept running and said, "**** off kid".
But I got a Sherrin...... awesome..... hooked for life!!!!
Keithy George
17 May 2007, 00:19
Brian Peak (who'd landed in a helicopter-very glam) to sign my autograph book. He jogged down the race (last out) and I went forward and said "excuse me Peak", he kept running and said, "**** off kid".
Are you serious? If so thats a disgrace, we had a high profile player like that at our club, G.Lyon - egomanaic.
Copernicus
17 May 2007, 00:45
Are you serious? If so thats a disgrace, we had a high profile player like that at our club, G.Lyon - egomanaic.
Brian Peake was a bit of a renowned ******** ;)
well, my story is only interesting because of the reason my dad took up following the Cats. He came over from England in 1964 and started going for the Cats because they were premiers from the prior year. Well, poor old dad reckons he's jinxed the club now!
I'm merely his protege - mum goes for the Pies, as does almost all of her family, but there is no way I could bring myself to do it.
Born and bred geelong.
Carrying on from that peake story. As a youngster dad used to go to the footy and training all the time. Anyway he was walking on the ground and got awestruck by Polly Farmer. Polly didnt see him and kicked the ball to his partner (dad was in the way). As you could imagine he got iron out. Copped a few bruised ribs but scored the footy from polly haha
First game I remember seeing was the 1992 GF, and Dad going off his head. He used to be in the army, so we used to have to move around alot when he'd get posted elsewhere. Even though Dad had been going for Geelong all his life, I didn't get my first taste of it until we moved to Melbourne permanently when I was 7.
RoyalCatFan
17 May 2007, 02:27
Follow them because of my dad, dad follows them because He follows east perth and When polly came over so did he
Western Cat
17 May 2007, 04:49
Born and bred a Cats fan. First game I went to was also God's first game for the Cats. Became a member in 1993, and been a member since. :thumbsu:
That is one of the funniest names I've ever seen Conan, pure gold.
I was born in Melbourne but had the good fortune to move to Geelong when I was 5 in 1966, and before I was corrupted into barracking for Footscray or Carlton (Brother and Dad's teams). I ate and breathed football, went to Newtown State School. Played little league at Geelong West YMCA for the Terriffics and through that got selected to play for the Cats little league team a number of times at grounds like Waverly, MCG, Glenferrie, Lakeside and Princes Park. I loved Geelong. We used to go to Kardinia Park to watch training when Polly and Billy were ruck and rover, Marshall, Newlands, Scarlett, Woolnough, Rosenow, Closter, etc etc were all playing.
My first scar came in the 67 Grand Final and the loss to Richmond who my Mum barracked for. (She's since converted to West Coast!!!!)
We'd go to the footy with Dad and spend our time alternating between sitting on the cyclone fence in front of the scoreboard so we could see and sliding down the bank behind it on cardboard boxes. On wet days the hill became a quagmire!
I loved Doug Wade and had 23 on my jumper and will never forget winning a Cherry Ripe in a footy kicking contest at a fete that he presented to me.
My sister was best friends with Debbie White whose Dad Lindsay topped the VFL goal-kicking for the Cats and later the Swans (in the 30's I think).
There was never any question I'd be a Cats fan.
I live in WA now but get over to Melbourne most years for a footy weekend and a dose of the Cats (plus the games at Subi of course, often painful!)
Have tried hard to indoctrinate my kids but only the youngest really likes footy. He wavered a little, teasing me that he was going to be a Dockers fan but I think I've brought him round!
Having said all that, there are moments when the pain of being a Geelong fan is almost too much to bear! I hurt so bad sometimes it drives me mad. It's not real good for my home life either! Bear with a sore head syndrome!!
Trying to be more philosophical and stoic about it these days but it's awfully hard not to get caught up in the euphoria of a good win like the weekend and to let the hopes start rising again! Even though I know the danger of false hope, it's a seductive temptress that I have a lot of trouble resisting!
I confess too that there have been days when I've thought, "Why don't I just become an Eagles fan?" so I can know the joy of winning premierships!!
Heaven forbid that I should ever stoop that low, even in desperation.
I honestly hope I don't die before I see Geelong win a premiership, that would be really disappointing!!!!:(
patdman
17 May 2007, 05:30
My old man grew up in Bendigo as a St Kilda supporter, because that's who everyone in his family barracked for.
But when he was at Melbourne Uni in the late 70's he shared a house with another bloke from Bendigo that he met at Uni who was supposed to be a decent footballer and also happened to be a Geelong supporter.
With the draft zones setup as they were then, Bendigo was aligned with Carlton, (not sure how it worked in detail) but Carlton pretty much had first dibs on any decent players from Bendigo and wanted to draft this guy.
According to my old man, he only wanted to play for Geelong and also hated Carlton, so when Carlton drafted him, he told them to get stuffed and went and became some kind of tradesman instead.
My Dad had stayed friends with this guy for a few years and was was admittedly never much of a football fan, but was so impressed with this guys stance that he changed clubs and decided to support Geelong.
When I grew up, I never had a chance to follow anyone else, I was born a Geelong fan, and damned if I don't die a Geelong fan (Hopefully having seen a slew of premierships, but just one would be enough :))
I really need to ask Dad what that guys name was, it's been probably 15 years since he told me.
volcboy
17 May 2007, 07:21
I had no choice. My dad played in the Geelong reserves as a ruckman in 62-63, but couldn't get a game in the seniors (we had a pretty handy ruckman at that stage). My mum used to travel to games in the 50's from Melbourne with her family. I started going regularly in '79 when I was 6 years old. I am related to the VP of the club (my mum's cousin).
Wouldn't change a thing, though :)
hotdog_hotdog
17 May 2007, 09:05
I had no choice. My dad played in the Geelong reserves as a ruckman in 62-63, but couldn't get a game in the seniors (we had a pretty handy ruckman at that stage). My mum used to travel to games in the 50's from Melbourne with her family. I started going regularly in '79 when I was 6 years old. I am related to the VP of the club (my mum's cousin).
Wouldn't change a thing, though :)
Just out of curiousity.. what is your dad's name?
passthebottle
17 May 2007, 09:42
I confess too that there have been days when I've thought, "Why don't I just become an Eagles fan?" so I can know the joy of winning premierships!!
Heaven forbid that I should ever stoop that low, even in desperation.
Now thats going to take a long shower and some degreaser to get that filth off.:eek: :D
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
17 May 2007, 10:38
Now that is creepy!! All my family were St Kilda supporters and then we moved to Werribee for about six months. And like Years of Pains story mine is exactly the same. 1980 was the year it all began for me.
Have been a sucker ever since.
Go Cats!!!
Your jagging.
So was my whole family - I hated St Kilda........are you my misplaced twin brother/sister??? I was there in 1980, left in 1985 to go to Malaysia.
cat in sydney
17 May 2007, 11:03
I have only ever lived in Sydney, and as a youngster was a Rugby League fan. When I was about 9, new neighbours moved in from Melbourne, and the kid who was about my age introduced me to AFL. From the moment I started watching it, I found it so much better as a game than League.
Geelong was playing in that first ever match I watched. From memory, Ablett kicked about 2 or 3 goals in that game from the wing (it was in 84 - his first year).
Ever since then, I have been spreading the gospel of Aussie Rules in Sydney. The city is gradually being converted!:thumbsu:
sarah.13
17 May 2007, 11:37
My family and I arrived in Australia in Nov.62. We shared a house with another family whose son barracked for Geelong. He was my influence and gained even more credibility when we won 63 premiership.Since then I have seen 5 losing grand finals,but have also seen the greatest player to play the game,so it has been a topsy turvey 4 decades for me.
I love the cats but there have been times they have ripped my heart out. Having followed them for so long I see a window of opportunity in the next 5 years were they will be able to make it up to me.
My grandfather played for Geelong, then crossed to Fitzroy later in his career.
All my family is from Geelong, i was born in Geelong, and grew up in Newtown, about 10mins walk from Kardinia Park.
For me, there was no other team i could possibly follow.
Pity i had to marry a darn Collingwood supporter!
scooter75
17 May 2007, 11:50
The first thing I saw was KP out of the window of Geelong base in Nov 1975. (not true but hey). From then on living in western district heading to home games with Pop and having a mad one eyed cat for a grandma on the otherside of the family, I didn't have a choice. Curse it sometimes but really wouldn't have it any other way. BTW my Great Great grandpa also played for cats (or whatever they were, Pivotonians maybe?) in years leading up to start of VFL. He played for and captained Essendon in 1897 (when they won the premiership) but before that it was a few good years with the geelong side. My daughter now 12 months old and living here in Cairns doesn't have a choice either by the way................:D
Big Nasty
17 May 2007, 12:19
My grandpa was good friends with Abletts parents when he lived in Drouin and he used to kick the ball with Gary when he was a little kid. So one day He took me to an autograph signing with Gary about 12 years ago and they were talking for about 5 minutes about the good old days, I was hooked from that day onwards.
someday-somehow
17 May 2007, 13:10
My father used to sharefarm for Des Tuddenham, he used to bring all the essendon players down on some weekends for training. So we all barracked for Essendon, then when I was 9 I'd had a gutfull of Eseendon being so pathetic so my mother suggested barracking for the cats.
I switched, that was 31 years ago.
End result - I have seen Essendon win 3 flags and us lose 4 grand finals....yes I know the sting but I will never switch back to Essendon.
Mooney_d'King
17 May 2007, 13:16
Going to cold and windy VFL park with my mum and grandfather. He grew up in Ocean Grove, got mum into barracking for Geelong (naturally) and consequently me. Unusually, my Dad hates the footy so he was no influence at all. Lived in Melbourne all my life and my uncle was a dentist in Alan Aylett's practise, so we got some dressing room passes once when I was a kid...
BlueNWhite
17 May 2007, 14:00
Grew up from 0-5 in Singapore, with Dad (a Drysdale lad) telling me wonderful stories of the mythical beings in blue and white hoops i'd never seen...learnt to kick a footy on the lawn of our singapore apartment complex. Moved back to Aus at age 5, and was taken to my first game of footy, in the outer, city end of Kardinia Park (as it was known then). The cats were playing the tigers and all I can remember is an absolute rain of goals from Ablett Snr that buried the tigers...set me up for being a cats supporter for life.
And a life of extreme highs and disappointments to date...
passthebottle
17 May 2007, 15:22
Your jagging.
So was my whole family - I hated St Kilda........are you my misplaced twin brother/sister??? I was there in 1980, left in 1985 to go to Malaysia.
I am being serious!!! Was only there for 1 year and then moved to Melbourne.
I was born in 72.
Misplaced brother hahahahah.
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
17 May 2007, 15:51
I am being serious!!! Was only there for 1 year and then moved to Melbourne.
I was born in 72.
Misplaced brother hahahahah.
Haha.
Born in 73.
at least were not twins - but maybe mum and dad arent telling me something..........perhaps you were abandoned??? and adopted out?
Sammy D
17 May 2007, 16:52
Been a Geelong fan since as long as I can remember. Got all these pics of me as a kid fully decked out in the gear.
We love just a couple of blocks away from KP so on Saturday arvo as a kid I'd put the guernsey on, chuck on my footy boots and simulate the games in my backyard with the roars of the crowd going on in the background.
My Dad started taking me to games when I was about 6, used to stand on the wing on the ol' milk crate and watch the likes of Ablett, Stoneham, Bairstow, Hocking, Brownless, Hinkey & Couch carve most opposition teams up. Those were the days.
Been a Geelong fan since as long as I can remember. Got all these pics of me as a kid fully decked out in the gear.
We love just a couple of blocks away from KP so on Saturday arvo as a kid I'd put the guernsey on, chuck on my footy boots and simulate the games in my backyard with the roars of the crowd going on in the background.
My Dad started taking me to games when I was about 6, used to stand on the wing on the ol' milk crate and watch the likes of Ablett, Stoneham, Bairstow, Hocking, Brownless, Hinkey & Couch carve most opposition teams up. Those were the days.
Did anyone else climb in the tree in the outer behind the goals when they were little. I vaguely remember doing that.
Solstice Raver
17 May 2007, 17:41
It's in the blood which runs Navy and White. My brother decided to be defiant as a kid and go for Essendon. He was literally a family outcast, poor bugger.
Dad's family comes from Geelong although I've never lived there. Ballan was the closest I got so I got to go to a lot of games then. Living in Melbourne's SE now and I still get to about 6-11 games a year.
passthebottle
17 May 2007, 17:43
Haha.
Born in 73.
at least were not twins - but maybe mum and dad arent telling me something..........perhaps you were abandoned??? and adopted out?
Yeah they left me in a blue and white box at the front gates to Kardinia.
hahaha
Deep North
17 May 2007, 18:19
Did anyone else climb in the tree in the outer behind the goals when they were little. I vaguely remember doing that.[/QUOTE]
Yep, remember that tree well, though it was very competitive to get a decent spot up there i only managed it a couple of times.
Growing up next door meant I knew every hole in every part of the fence. My best effort was getting through the fence behind the goals at the River end with a mate and climbing into the scoreboard, just to see if i could. I sat there for a whole quarter before one of the scoreboard guys realised we weren't supposed to be there. He went absolutely beserk!!!
The last thing I remember was climbing back down the ladder, the bloke screaming his head off and my friend saying "sorry mate, we're only seven".
eliiiiza
17 May 2007, 21:35
Grew up from 0-5 in Singapore, with Dad (a Drysdale lad) telling me wonderful stories of the mythical beings in blue and white hoops i'd never seen...learnt to kick a footy on the lawn of our singapore apartment complex. Moved back to Aus at age 5, and was taken to my first game of footy, in the outer, city end of Kardinia Park (as it was known then). The cats were playing the tigers and all I can remember is an absolute rain of goals from Ablett Snr that buried the tigers...set me up for being a cats supporter for life.
And a life of extreme highs and disappointments to date...
Awesome, I was born there and moved over here when I was 15....
SpRiGgZy
17 May 2007, 21:57
my grandpa was a fan all of his life and when i was 3 or 4 aparently he converted me into the catters clan.
basically just followed them ever since, i know it would make my grandpa proud, carrying the family tradition. no one else in my family seemed to be as faithful!
Just do something
17 May 2007, 22:03
Great reading all cats fans ive just logged on.
I joined because my 2 older brothers barracked for them as well. I come from a family of 6 with my Dad and 1 other brother and sis going for the bombers and 1 for the pies.
My earliest memories were when we lost the 1980 prelim to the pies i was only 8 so i was shattered. I still also remeber going down to Geelong V Essendon games and staying at the travelodge were the the cats would have there team meetings before games. We would then go and watch them train the next day.
Once Gazza took off that was it for me but i did were the number 2 on my back early doors for The Pres Linder he was a beauty!!
BlueNWhite
17 May 2007, 22:31
Awesome, I was born there and moved over here when I was 15....
Awesome, it's a great place to grow up, very fond memories of the zoo, sentosa island, Swensens fish and chips....
SriLankanCat
17 May 2007, 22:49
in 1991 i first started watching footy, i saw all kinds of teams playing.
And i remember watching Geelong play St Kilda in the 1991 finals, and i rememebr liking them for some reason. At the start of 1992 i wanted to follow a team so i picked Geelong. They lost their first two games to ahwthron 141-121 and they lost to melbourne 113-106 but then they went well and i was a cat for life.
dharma bum
17 May 2007, 23:26
An unfortunate accident of geography.
volcboy
18 May 2007, 07:24
Just out of curiousity.. what is your dad's name?
David Watkins.
Prismall32
18 May 2007, 08:58
From the days when Geelong was the major force in VFL - early 50s - swap cards - Peter Pianto my favourite. Mum said that Geelong always looked better than any other team and that they were always well-behaved so I should be too (How's that for good parenting!) The old man had been asked to play for Melbourne but his father refused him permission - essential then. So every match he took me to, the Demons would beat Geelong! Married a Demon supporter so many arguments but blue and white blood in my veins
diablo14
18 May 2007, 09:15
My grandfather and great-grand father took me to all Geelong home games in the late 70's when I was very small (Hickey Stand reserved seats) but for some reason I barracked for Richmond with 29 on my back (why?, to rebell against the Geelong supporters I was surrounded by, I guess).
I got to cheer for the tiges only once a year when they came down and spent most Geelong games waiting for the scoreboard staff to update the C v D, and G v H games so I could see how Richomond was going.
I think my grand father got sick of taking his Richmond supporting grandson to Geelong homes games and on the eve of the 1980 season sat me down over a couple of footy franks and basically blackmailed me into supporting for Geelong, he said "I will only take you to the footy if you support Geelong" so what was a footy obsessed 8yo supposed to do?
I switched to Geelong and chose the unlikely 29 to wear on my new Geelong duffelcoat (gold bike to anyone that can tell me who wore 29 for Geelong in 1980 or so)
I have barracked for them ever since and very happy with 29 nowadays.
Its sometimes painful barracking for Geelong but nothing like the pain I would have endured barracking for Richmond for the last 27 years!!! (apart from 1980 of course)
in 1980 it was mario bortolotto. fortunately for us all, ol mario still manages to maintain the enviable record of having won more premierships (2) than he had kids with his number on their jumper/dufflecoat (1). it would have cost your dad a fair bit if youd dedcided you wanted a name to go with that number.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
18 May 2007, 12:44
Born in Sydney, moved to Geelong at aged 3 in 1989.
Dad's a Victorian but not into sports, Mum's from New South Wales, is into sports, but had never heard of footy.
Mum and I learned the game together as I grew up. We used to walk down to Kardinia Park to watch the last quarter.
First full match I remember was against Fitzroy at Kardinia Park, I think 1993, we were about 7 goals up at three-quarter time and just hungon. I was in the old Hickey Stand, it was a wet day.
Mum distanced herself somewhat from footy emotionally after 1995 though, it was too much.
I cried after the 1992 Grand Final as a six year old.
First time I went to the MCG Gary Ablett sat on Pert's head. Still the most amazing mark I have ever seen.
Whiskers
18 May 2007, 16:28
Coz i didnt wanna folloow Collingwood as i grew up around their fans.
Kittenish
18 May 2007, 20:22
My mother, my aunt (mother's sister) and uncle (mother's brother) all grew up in Geelong.
And as of my conversion to the best code of footy (NRL is for the young and retarded), i just went with the family team. Except I decided for the brief period I lived in Melbourne, that I didn't want to support Collingwood (my Dad's team), who I've found to be a big bunch of bogans.
That and I hate the Swans monoply over Sydney.
And who could resist G. Ablett Jnr's puppy dog blue eyes?
My dad and mum were supporters i had no choice and neither does my son. who is 3 and still has not seen them loose.
Dellvion
18 May 2007, 22:30
My Pa did cos my great grandma did, then so on down the line. I almost went for Adelaide, as I was born there and lived there till i was 4. Dad wouldn't have it, turned me to Geelong pretty easily, my brother is still on the fence tho.
iameviljez
19 May 2007, 19:43
I inherited misery under threat of death from my whole family.