14 Apr 2002, 20:24
5: Jackovich
4: Wilson
3: Williams
2: Wirrapunda
1: Phil Matera
daddy_4_eyes
14 Apr 2002, 20:26
Jod, i'll get my votes in tomorrow night. I got to buy the newspaper and have a read of it before i can decide. (no TV or radio coverage in victoria, and the AFL website reckons its the 9th minute of the 1st quarter still :rolleyes: )
mentalgrind
14 Apr 2002, 20:37
This was a hard round to vote, after Jacko and Gaspar the rest were all line ball.
5) Jackovich
4) Gaspar
3) Williams
2) Chambers
1) Cousins
Blokes that were unlucky to miss out-
Hunter, Wilson, Kerr, Braun and there were others but all in all a fantastic team win by the boys.
Voice of Reason
14 Apr 2002, 21:29
5 and a half) Jakovich - that was absolutely outstanding. BOG, a rock in defence, huge mark, he swats opponents like flies
4) Williams - very dangerous on the HFF and is an important player to our team balance
3) Wilson - if we'd kicked to him properly in the middle 2 quarters instead of mucking abot with it, he'd have kicked more - the Dog defenders were scared of him
2) Braun - did well whenever he was on the ground
1) Gaspar - he's in my top 18 for the next few years and did well today
Very close for the minor placings. Both Materas, Glass kept Grant pretty quiet, Judd is class, Gardiner competed well all day and Cousins lifted when it mattered.
That's my thoughts anyway without the benefit of a TV replay.
Mr Eagle
14 Apr 2002, 22:33
5) Jakovich. Not highly original, I know, but thoroughly deserved.
4) Williams
3) Chambers
2) Gaspar
1) Braun
carneagles
14 Apr 2002, 22:36
5: Jakovich (wow, what a game! And that shltmixer - awesome)
4: Wilson
3: Williams
2: Braun
1: Gairdner
Mentioned in dispatches: Wirrapunda, Gaspar, Judd (except for that handpass!), Phil Matera
My votes:
5 - Jakovich (only one word describes his game today : superb)
4 - Williams (kicked a couple and set up a few as well)
3 - Wirrapunda
2 - Wilson
1 - Braun
My votes:
5) Jako - he wasn't quite good as some of you are suggesting, but lmao, he had a good game.
4) Gaspar - hey I'm biased, I reckon the guy's going to be a superstar.
3) Gardiner - rucked for practically all day and performed well.
2) Williams - another good game following last week.
1) Glass - thought he battled hard all day.
pauljam
14 Apr 2002, 23:23
Great game by the boys today!
We fought it all the way but the 3rd quarter where we kicked 7 pts in a row would have been very costly if the bullies hadnt missed a few earlier. Last quarter was great effort - with some excellent team goals. My Votes;
5 - Jako - fantastic - saved us countless times, broke through packs and was by far and away the best.
4 - Williams - some valuable goals and is getting more consistent
3 - Willo - desrved his 4 goals - gives us so much more on the ground than cummo did.
2 - Gardiner - Rucked almost all day on a warm day.
1 - Braun - run himself hard all day and is getting into some form after a couple of bad injuries.
GO EAGLES!!!!!!!!!!!
:D :D
TheRealBuzz
14 Apr 2002, 23:28
5) Jakovich:
Champion.
4) Gardiner:
Rucked all day, and convincingly beat a quality ruckman in Darcy.
3) Daniel Kerr:
I thought he had a real impact when he came off the bench in the second quarter. Always at the bottom of packs doing the hard stuff.
2) Travis Gaspar:
We all knew he could play, but this year the entire AFL will know. Could he be the third rising star from WA in as many weeks?
1) Darren Glass:
Stuck to his task all day, and did well opposed to a champion in Grant.
pauljam
14 Apr 2002, 23:35
WHHHHHHHHHHOAAAAAAAA!!!
I stuffed up my own voting - I cant believe I left Gaspar out!!! DOH!
5 - Jako
4- Williams
3- GASPAR
2- Willo
1- Gardy
(sorry Brauny and a few others)
Phew................
Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
2) Travis Gaspar:
We all knew he could play, but this year the entire AFL will know. Could he be the third rising star from WA in as many weeks?
I was wondering about that. I know he's only played 6 AFL games (now 7) so he alright in the games department, but do you have to be 21 or under or under 21 as he is now 21 years old. If it is 21 or under, he would come close:
10 kicks
6 handballs
5 marks
3 hitouts
1 tackle
2 goals (including a ripper from the boundary), 1 behind.
+ something that doesn't go in the stats, his hardness at the ball.
hey pauljam, you can edit your original post, just look in the bottom right of your post and there should be a button that says edit/delete, next to the quote button.
daddy_4_eyes
14 Apr 2002, 23:54
Originally posted by Visro
I was wondering about that. I know he's only played 6 AFL games (now 7) so he alright in the games department, but do you have to be 21 or under or under 21 as he is now 21 years old. If it is 21 or under, he would come close:
10 kicks
6 handballs
5 marks
3 hitouts
1 tackle
2 goals (including a ripper from the boundary), 1 behind.
+ something that doesn't go in the stats, his hardness at the ball.
I think you have to be under 21 as of January 1st. Dunno if it qualifies him, can't be bothered checking his DOB (new WCE website is bloody slow).
Voice of Reason
14 Apr 2002, 23:55
On reflection, I'd also like to praise Taylor, Collica and Kerr for solid games, though I don't think enough so to change my votes.
An even team performance, which is a very good thing.
TheRealBuzz
15 Apr 2002, 00:11
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
I think you have to be under 21 as of January 1st. Dunno if it qualifies him, can't be bothered checking his DOB (new WCE website is bloody slow). His turned 21 in March of this year. So he should be right.
bunsen burner
15 Apr 2002, 00:25
5 - Jakovich
4- Williams
3- Braun
2- Gaspar
1- Gardiner
5- Jako (what a legend, bet nobody thinks he's past it now!)
4- Pornstar Wilson ( sorry Scotty, i do still love you)
3- Gaspar ( i was impressed)
2- Gardy (played very well despite the heat)
1- Wirra ( pure class, he's a joy to watch)
sorry to Braun, Williams and Cuz who didn't quite make the grade
Thrawn666
15 Apr 2002, 01:56
5 - Jakovich
4 - Cousins
3 - Gardiner
2 - Gaspar
1 - Chambers
5 - Glen Jakovich - easily BOG....22 posessions & 8 marks in a masterful performance at CHB. Whooped 3 opponents.
4 - Ben Cousins - surprised nobody else voted for him. Stood up when he needed to, kicked a goal and led the Eagles with 23 possesions?? I think only 2 others voted for him?
3 - Micheal Gardiner - Rucked all day and easily beat Darcy. 19 possies, 7 marks and 22 hitouts. Pretty good performance all round.
2 - Travis Gaspar - Pretty impressive with 16 disposals, 5 marks and kicked 2 goals. Was a constant target up forward and also rucked at times. Very encouraging performance from the youngster.
1 - Daniel Kerr - certainly made an impact once he got on the ground. Had 14 disposals, 2 marks and 4 tackles. Had he played the full game could have ended the game with 20+ possies.
Still awaiting votes from the following before the 3rd round leaderboard is posted.
D4E's
GoEagles
Belgarion
EF
Macca
WA
EKA
MDB
Deepthroat
Originally posted by jod23
4 - Ben Cousins - surprised nobody else voted for him. Stood up when he needed to, kicked a goal and led the Eagles with 23 possesions?? I think only 2 others voted for him?
i would have but i just thought the others were better, maybe next year we could have top 10 BOG?
Deepthroat
15 Apr 2002, 09:17
5 - Jackovich
4 - Gaspar
3 - Wilson
2 - Gardiner
1 - Braun
Great to see Jackovich is ready to claim All-Australian CHB honors again.
carneagles
15 Apr 2002, 11:28
4 - Ben Cousins - surprised nobody else voted for him. Stood up when he needed to, kicked a goal and led the Eagles with 23 possesions?? I think only 2 others voted for him?That's interesting, I didn't think he'd had that much impact. Probably the fact that he's not on his own these days.
I could have given eight votes. Gaspar was in my original five at 4-5 as I composed the list leaving the ground, but I felt Gairdner (pantsed Darcy, who spent all day trying to spoil) and Braun (bounced back after last week) were more deserving.
What a tough game in the heat - it was physically uncomfortable just watching from the stand.
5 - Jako
4 - Gaspar
3 - Braun
2 - Gardiner
1 - Taylor
Cousins was very well tagged today - I would say Garlic (his direct opponent) would have been the bulldogs best.
daddy_4_eyes
15 Apr 2002, 14:39
5)Jakovich (even though i didn't see the match, i can't go against traffic)
4)Gardiner (according to the Hun, he was outstanding)
3)Gaspar (Seemed to play fantastic, his stats sure as hell show it)
2)Cousins
1)Chambers
Unfortunately, i didn't get to see the game. All my votes are according to the Herald Sun's stats, and my top 5 are the same as theirs(in terms of pts scored) except that Jakovich and Gardiner are swapped.
I might be going to the footy again on Saturday, so hopefully my votes will mean a bit more.
Macca19
15 Apr 2002, 14:51
my votes will be in to you by tomorrow night Jod. I think my tape only taped the first half or so of the match...and the replay is on fox tomorrow arvo, so i should get the votes into you by tomorrow
cheers!
GoEagles
15 Apr 2002, 14:56
5. Jakovich
4. Gardiner
3. Williams
2. Gaspar
1. Phil Matera
Belgarion
15 Apr 2002, 20:17
5. Jacko
4. Gardiner
3. Gaspar
2. Andrew Williams
1. Wilson
Belgarion
1. Jakovich
2. Gardiner
3. Wilson
4. Gaspar
5. Braun
(Williams, Kerr, Wirra & Cousins were hard to leave out).
Ok now im just waiting on Macca, EF and EKA's votes and the leaderboard will be up...in fact i might put it up tonight and then just edit it as i get the remaining 3 peoples votes.
Macca19
17 Apr 2002, 01:04
Here you go Jodster here are my votes (sorry for them being late):
I wrote down 10 players names during the game who played well....the 5 that got votes were:
5) Glass: a bit against the Norm from other voters but i thought he was fantastic. He destroyed Chris Grant. He killed him that much...6 or 7 of Grants 9 possesions came when he was moved into the backline. Grant simply had no impact on the game...even tho he kicked 2 goals (one was from a handball over the top as he was alone in the goalsquare). I thought he was BOG because of that.
4) Jackovich: It was touch and go between him and Glass. Jackovich was supurb in defence...he had a lot of possesions and used them very well. His evasive work was great as well and he went on a run a few times.
3) Gardiner: He won the ruck all day and his work around the ground i thought was supurb. He was almost rover like with his work ethic in making space around the ground.
2) Hunter: Might seem a wierd choice but he gave a lot of run and rebound out of defence. He got a lot of the ball and set up a lot of the Eagles forays forward with his rebound.
1) Gaspar: have to admit i havent seen this guy much before but he certainly impressed. He attacked the ball well, he kicked a ripper goal and gave a contest...this guy will be a key for the Eagles future.
There are my 5 votes.
The other guys that i wrote down were:
Fletcher: i wrote him down early as he had a fair impact in the first quarter and a half but fell out of the game again.
Judd: yet again he didnt have a lot of possesions but every possesion but 1 was effective. If he had of kicked that goal instead of caught holding the ball in the last quarter he might of snuck in for a vote
Wirrpunda: like Hunter he gave a lot of run out of defence and could of got votes, but his disposal was quite bluntly....*****house.
Peter Matera: Had a big influence in the first half with his run from defence, but fell out of the game later on
Kerr: Had a strong 2nd and 3rd quarters and used the ball well!
Macca19
17 Apr 2002, 01:08
To be honest i thought he played crappy. Of his 23 possesions, about 16 or 17 were either rushed kicks/handballs out of a pack or scrubby kicks straight to the opposition. he certainly didnt use the ball well and Garlick beat him in my opinion.
Eagle_Fan
17 Apr 2002, 01:43
5. Jako
4. Gardie
3. Gaspar
2. Braun
1. Jones
(I'll be on time next week Jod.... promise ;))
Originally posted by Macca19
To be honest i thought he played crappy. Of his 23 possesions, about 16 or 17 were either rushed kicks/handballs out of a pack or scrubby kicks straight to the opposition. he certainly didnt use the ball well and Garlick beat him in my opinion.
But there important possesions in my opinion. Yeah there not the glamourous receive handball out of a pack and running to 50 and putting it on the chest of a forward. There the tough in and under possesions, just trying to work the ball forward sort of possesions. It is a testament to Garlick that Cousins had to change his game to find the ball but he still found the ball, as the good players do. I thought he was worth votes. Plus he stood up in the third and had 6 or 8 disposals in that quarter. The Bulldogs challenged in that quarter and i thought Cousins stood up when he needed to.
Thanks EF and Macca...now just awaiting EKA's votes and the leaderboard will be complete for round 3? Might PM him to see whats going on.
Macca, are you doing this sort of thing on the Port board aswell?
Macca19
17 Apr 2002, 13:17
Thanks EF and Macca...now just awaiting EKA's votes and the leaderboard will be complete for round 3? Might PM him to see whats going on.
Macca, are you doing this sort of thing on the Port board aswell?
yeah im doin a port player of the year thing, and an afl player of the year thing too. Its quite fun!!!