View Full Version : Grant Ford - Bendigo Pioneers

hulld
17 May 2007, 17:54
Just wondering if any of you fellows know much about Grant Ford. I was mates with him up at Swan Hill and I hear he has been playing pretty well for Bendigo in the TAC cup.

Is he a chance to be drafted? and is he a lock to make the final Vic Country squad?

Thanks in advance

jackdaniels
17 May 2007, 21:40
well you have heard right.. grant ford has been playing some very good football for the pioneers
i would say he is almost a certain starter in the vic country squad and has a great chance of getting drafted.

TacupWatcher
22 May 2007, 00:24
How did he go on the weekend?

Terrible. Was lucky enough to see the game and it just wasnt his day. major question marks over his ball usage and lack of skill in general. reminds me of a jason johnson although a prolific ball winner he doesnt have the ability to break a game open. In saying that i think hes a great player and im hoping he'll make vic country altho i think he may struggle.

Weaver
22 May 2007, 08:43
I'd agree that Ford lacks a lot of polish. He needs to get more value from his disposals. Can also be quite undisciplined in giving away free kicks and 50s. Seems to lose his cool quite easily.

Ggrubbers12
22 May 2007, 11:39
Terrible. Was lucky enough to see the game and it just wasnt his day. major question marks over his ball usage and lack of skill in general. reminds me of a jason johnson although a prolific ball winner he doesnt have the ability to break a game open. In saying that i think hes a great player and im hoping he'll make vic country altho i think he may struggle.

also agree with you on the lack of class. he may get the ball but you need to do something with it!

Snoop Dog
22 May 2007, 21:43
Interesting - I was thinking his skills were ok.

nesko_25
23 May 2007, 16:07
Interesting - I was thinking his skills were ok.

From the games I've seen him his skills have been ok, reasonable but must improve if he wants to play a higher level. I think he'll be fine there but he has very good attack on the ball and is an inside mid, he's also got a good set of hands. If a club could pick him up late they will have a bargin as he has heaps of raw talent and wont take much to refine him into a quality performer.

S Wrench
23 May 2007, 17:02
also agree with you on the lack of class. he may get the ball but you need to do something with it!

by lack of class do you mean... he wins his own footy at stoppages and gets a lot of 'under pressure' clearances. cos thats the only time he would lack class along with anyone else, even those playing at afl level.

icantgiveuwatihaventgot
23 May 2007, 17:16
From the games I've seen him his skills have been ok, reasonable but must improve if he wants to play a higher level. I think he'll be fine there but he has very good attack on the ball and is an inside mid, he's also got a good set of hands. If a club could pick him up late they will have a bargin as he has heaps of raw talent and wont take much to refine him into a quality performer.

if you look at his stats on the TAC website he has far to many ineffective disposals against his name for the amount of touches he gets. i would say good luck to the guy if he gets drafted but there have been better who haven't

Weaver
24 May 2007, 10:29

As much as that is true I'd say Holmes has him covered in the hardness / stoppages aspects. If I had to choose one or the other as a project grunt - I still think Ford misses out.

hulld
27 May 2007, 23:33
as captain of the pioneers grant kicked two goals and was best on ground.

VINCANITY
2 Jun 2007, 14:24
as captain of the pioneers grant kicked two goals and was best on ground.

yeah and he was crook as a dog aswell, he missed most of the the next week of school with a stomach bug.

hulld
3 Jun 2007, 00:47
another best on ground display today. he isn't doing his chances of getting drafted any harm

Mitcha
4 Jun 2007, 00:02
Doesn't kick it well enough. Thought Rex Taylor was much better but size will be against him. Lech Featherstone on the other hand is one big bas##rd who takes some stopping after building up a head of steam and could possibly eat little Rex if he had half a chance.

VINCANITY
4 Jun 2007, 19:08
i honestly didnt think his disposal was that bad he just gets the hard ball

Bulldogsnm1
4 Jun 2007, 19:46
I was also at the game and number 21 (Taylor) was easily best for Bendigo. Dominated his wing and created numerous opportunities, his disposal was good and capped it off with a really good goal in the last quarter.

Unfortunately, he iIs very light and small so unlikely to be looked at by the scouts, which is a shame

Gilly1972
4 Jun 2007, 20:13
I was also at the game and number 21 (Taylor) was easily best for Bendigo. Dominated his wing and created numerous opportunities, his disposal was good and capped it off with a really good goal in the last quarter.

Unfortunately, he iIs very light and small so unlikely to be looked at by the scouts, which is a shame

Yup, "sic em Rex" is one of my cult favourites, unfortunately as you point out, he is very short and light.

hulld
5 Jun 2007, 17:28
ford had 26 possessions, only 6 ineffective, 13 handball receives and 6 tackles

not too shabby

he would have to be a shoe in for starting 18 vic country

hulld
18 Jun 2007, 21:17
a good week for ford.

named in the final vic country squad

29 possessions, 6 marks, 5 tackles, 9 handball receives and a goal going up against the knights dominant midfield

hulld
24 Jul 2007, 17:09
i know some of you may be getting sick of hearing about him , but he keeps playing very well

29 possessions, 5 marks, 8 tackles and a goal

TacupWatcher
27 Jul 2007, 13:40
please can some one shed some light on Hulld's love affair with Grant Ford? what is the connection? brothers? best mates? grant ford himself? it makes me sick

kurt_11
27 Jul 2007, 14:03
please can some one shed some light on Hulld's love affair with Grant Ford? what is the connection? brothers? best mates? grant ford himself? it makes me sick

neck up flog bag

hulld
29 Jul 2007, 11:46
i went to school with him when i was younger,

i haven't seen him in about 8 years so it's not like i'm good mates with him or anything.

i saw him play earlier this year and it jogged my memory that we were good mates up at swan hill

the reason i talk him up is because he is a very good footballer who rarely plays a bad game

hulld
6 Aug 2007, 17:31
i know i'm sounding like a broken record, but ford was named in the best again with:

24 possessions, 21 of which were effective, 9 tackles, 7 marks & a goal

he's consistently putting his name in front of recruiters

Ants
6 Aug 2007, 21:52
But unless you watch the games, you don't really know that. And if you haven't seen him in 8 years, you presumably don't watch the games.

A little bit fishy.

hulld
7 Aug 2007, 17:05
i haven't spoken to him in 8 years, i have seen him play three games in melbourne this year

Talent Spotter
4 Sep 2007, 13:37
The Bendigo Advertiser, September 4.

Midfielder dominates Bendigo Pioneers award

INSPIRATIONAL captain Grant Ford was a runaway winner of the Neville Strauch Memorial trophy as the Bendigo Pioneers Football Club's best and fairest for the 2007 season.
A second-year Pioneer, Ford powered to an emphatic victory over the final rounds of AFL Victoria TAC Cup under-18s season.
After votes from 13 rounds had been called, Ford and Swan Hill clubmate and Pioneers ruckman-forward Toby Thoolen were on top of the leader board on 31 and 30.
Pioneers' team manager Peter Brown then called a hat-trick of three votes for Ford in the round 14 clash with Geelong Falcons.
Another five votes for the centreman or ruck-rover in round 15 put Ford well in front.
By the end of the count at The Bendigo Club in Strathdale, Ford was 24 votes clear of Thoolen, with key defender Jayden Donaldson in third place.
Ford said winning the club best and fairest meant a lot to him.
'‘The Central Murray league has never had a player win the Pioneers best and fairest.
‘‘So to be the first means a lot," said Swan Hill-based Ford.
Earlier in the season he achieved another honour by being appointed the Pioneers captain.
A tally of 57 votes showed how consistent the on-baller was in the Pioneers' run.
‘‘There were a few goals I set before the season and then as it went on," Ford said. '‘Being a more consistent player was on the list." Captaincy of the Pioneers, and selection for the Victoria Country under-18s team were also goals he pursued and achieved.
Ford said a key to his play this year was his mental approach to each match.
To that extent Bob Fletcher, player welfare officer at the Pioneers, and the Pioneers coaching staff, led by Mark Ellis, played a key role.
‘‘I was confident I could compete physically, but there were times when confidence was down," Ford said.
‘‘People like Mark (Ellis), Bob (Fletcher), and just the whole club are great to be around and have really helped improve my football in many ways." Ford said the support of parents, Jenny and Tony, and also his Bendigo-based girlfriend, Stacey, had helped a lot in his two years with the Pioneers.
Although he is not on the list for the AFL national draft camp or screening sessions, Ford has not given up hope on playing in the `big league'.
The Pioneers honour roll of club champions includes AFL stars Nathan Brown, 1995 and ‘96; Brent Guerra, ‘99; Colin Sylvia, 2003; and former Western Bulldogs and Essendon player Mark Alvey, who won the club title in 1997.
Other winners of the club best and fairest have been Damian Slater, Travis Ruyg, Luke Sims, Jim Cail, Daniel Elstone, Aaron Connaughton, Marcus Carroll, Josh Bowe, and now St Kilda rookie, Jarryn Geary.
Votes for the Neville Strauch Memorial trophy as the Bendigo Pioneers Football Club's best and fairest for the 2007 season: Grant Ford; 33 Toby Thoolen; 26 Jayden Donaldson; 25 Robert Tuohey; 21 Rhys Healey; 20 Scott Selwood. 18 Blair Holmes; 17 Robbie Tarrant; 17 Tim Martin; 16 Rex Taylor; 13 Lech Featherstone; 12 Marc Millard; 11 Travis Matheson; 10 Jake Hall. 9 Torin Petrie; 8 Steven Stroobants; 4 Josh Gaylor; 2 Matt Lehane; 2 Eljay Connors; 1 Lee Coghlan, Ryan Gillingham, Andrew Richardson.

bigcalls!!
4 Sep 2007, 15:38
[quote=Talent Spotter;8635125]The Bendigo Advertiser, September 4.

INSPIRATIONAL captain Grant Ford was a runaway winner of the Neville Strauch Memorial trophy as the Bendigo Pioneers Football Club's best and fairest for the 2007 season.

congratulations on winning the award hulld!! uv'e had a great season mate, and u have done a great job talking yourself up all year o this site!!! up yours!http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon8.gif

hulld
4 Sep 2007, 17:40
i'd like to take credit for grant's exceptional year but i have had no contact with him

buffalopride
5 Sep 2007, 08:38
[quote=Talent Spotter;8635125]The Bendigo Advertiser, September 4.

congratulations on winning the award hulld!! uv'e had a great season mate, and u have done a great job talking yourself up all year o this site!!! up yours!http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon8.gif

you clown hulld isn't ford hahaha he is just his love child madly in love....... peopl can talk and watch guys closly and not be the actual person you degenerate.

hulld
5 Sep 2007, 19:30
thanks.......i think

buffalopride
6 Sep 2007, 08:44
bigcalls you have held up your name well, with your indecisive and non factual accusations towards hulld being that of non other than Mr Ford himself your poor form on this call has lost my vote in what you say is true. Many people jump on a player and closly watch him through the year eg: my man is hugh sandilands for a late round pick, im guessing Hulld's is Grant Ford...... besides pumping him up and following his every game can you please help me to see how Hulld could possibly be Mr Ford himself???? you should be loving this, after all you make all the Bigcalls.........

bigcalls!!
6 Sep 2007, 12:26
bigcalls you have held up your name well, with your indecisive and non factual accusations towards hulld being that of non other than Mr Ford himself your poor form on this call has lost my vote in what you say is true. Many people jump on a player and closly watch him through the year eg: my man is hugh sandilands for a late round pick, im guessing Hulld's is Grant Ford...... besides pumping him up and following his every game can you please help me to see how Hulld could possibly be Mr Ford himself???? you should be loving this, after all you make all the Bigcalls.........

thats all the fun of these accusations. its a big call and it gets people like urself incredibly mad:D:p im not really jumping on players. its very funny how hulld writes a large amount on him and struggles to answer why he loves him so. 'i havent seen himfor 8 years'... 'i havent spoken to him' hes a mate from my old footy club'. heres another big call- you know hulld or ur the guy who hulld had a love child with- grant..:p:eek:

bigcalls!!
6 Sep 2007, 12:30
hey this bickering is a great bit of publicity for grant. his name is staying at the top of the posting board, keeping it fresh in everyones mind.:rolleyes:

hulld
6 Sep 2007, 17:50
[/B]

thats all the fun of these accusations. its a big call and it gets people like urself incredibly mad:D:p im not really jumping on players. its very funny how hulld writes a large amount on him and struggles to answer why he loves him so. 'i havent seen himfor 8 years'... 'i havent spoken to him' hes a mate from my old footy club'. heres another big call- you know hulld or ur the guy who hulld had a love child with- grant..:p:eek:

mate i only talk about him because i reckon he is a good footballer who deserves to get drafted. the fact that i use to know him is a seperate matter

buffalopride
6 Sep 2007, 21:55
[/b]

Mate what you just wrote further shoots what credibility you still have. If you read Hulld's posts he is only giving the facts about each game Grant plays..... the fact is Grant is a good prospect in the draft and im guessing Hulld is just pumping up a mate he used to be good mates with. I pump up hughey sandilands cause he is my mate. Your accusations are very poorly constructed and formed purely on the basis of confromtation, you are just the type of scum that goes to the footy in your best jacket nice jeans your teams scarf, with a mole of a girl wearing $2 make-up and leaves at half time when your sides down by 15 points saying we wont win.... you are what is wrong with bigfooty!

bigcalls!!
6 Sep 2007, 22:06
can u get over it mate, u treat this site like its life and death. somebody offends u and u write 20 posts about it. its all a bit of fun. if u want to write about ur friends go on msn or what ever you kids do these days. sane people are sick of reading about stupid arguments on hulld's effection for grant ford. he is a good player. we heard u last week.

hulld
6 Sep 2007, 22:25
perhaps you need a taste of your own medicine bigcalls

buffalopride
6 Sep 2007, 22:32
can u get over it mate, u treat this site like its life and death. somebody offends u and u write 20 posts about it. its all a bit of fun. if u want to write about ur friends go on msn or what ever you kids do these days. sane people are sick of reading about stupid arguments on hulld's effection for grant ford. he is a good player. we heard u last week.

i hit a nerve!! sorry champ but your un-intelligent non-factual verbal diarrhea is nothing short of embarrasing! the dribble you write is nonsense.

TacupWatcher
7 Sep 2007, 00:02
i hit a nerve!! sorry champ but your un-intelligent non-factual verbal diarrhea is nothing short of embarrasing! the dribble you write is nonsense.

considering not one club nominated him in there top 50 (to my knowledge correct me if im wrong) there isnt much point talking about him

TacupWatcher
7 Sep 2007, 00:16
ive been around football for a long time n taken keen intrest in drafting the last 4 years. and i dont know of many if any players who have not attended draft camp or vic screen and has been rookie listed that year. i think the best grant could hope for is a club says we'll keep an eye on you in the vfl so things arent looking good. isnt it always the case..players excell within the clubs but dont gain recognition from AFL clubs because potential issues not what they have produced at there level. its a shame.

buffalopride
7 Sep 2007, 10:21
ive been around football for a long time n taken keen intrest in drafting the last 4 years. and i dont know of many if any players who have not attended draft camp or vic screen and has been rookie listed that year. i think the best grant could hope for is a club says we'll keep an eye on you in the vfl so things arent looking good. isnt it always the case..players excell within the clubs but dont gain recognition from AFL clubs because potential issues not what they have produced at there level. its a shame.

mate you have got no clue, how do you know he hasn't been approached by clubs?? He has just as much chance as anyone and recent form has seen his chances inprove. To call youself a taccup watcher, you have to go to the games more than 4 times a year and not rely on stats from the website ---- i know for a fact that clubs have been looking at him and he is a shoe in to get drafted. how i got this fact was having a beer with brian Royal the other night and was talking draft prospects, they arn't looking past the late round picks, and im sure i heard a few names thrown around. come back to this post after the 2007 draft champ.

woodrow levi
7 Sep 2007, 10:55

Why is it so that whenever someone suggests that hulld is Grant Ford (this isn't the first time), you are always straight away backing up hulld in an attacking and personal way. Bigcalls was only stating what everyone else on this board was thinking. He is onto something and you and hulld are great friends, and know Grant Ford more than what you make out to.

Wayne "The King" Carey
7 Sep 2007, 10:56
you dont have to be in the best 50 players in the country to get drafted, there are ~100 picks in the national draft as well as another 40 or 50 or so rookies each year

buffalopride
7 Sep 2007, 10:59
Why is it so that whenever someone suggests that hulld is Grant Ford (this isn't the first time), you are always straight away backing up hulld in an attacking and personal way. Bigcalls was only stating what everyone else on this board was thinking. He is onto something and you and hulld are great friends, and know Grant Ford more than what you make out to.

no champ i agree with Hulld that Ford is a good player and i think everyone pumps up ' their player ' they have their eyes on in an attempt to raise awearness and publicity amongst scouts and clubs, and bigcalls cant get through his head. I have never met either blokes in my life i dont intend to but from hulld's posts in the past he seems to know a bit about football more so than the dribble many posters write about. please find other examples of me backing up hulld more than 2 times...... cheers big fella

buffalopride
7 Sep 2007, 11:00
you dont have to be in the best 50 players in the country to get drafted, there are ~100 picks in the national draft as well as another 40 or 50 or so rookies each year

bang!! dead right mate

bigcalls!!
7 Sep 2007, 13:11
:thumbsd:mate you have got no clue, how do you know he hasn't been approached by clubs?? He has just as much chance as anyone and recent form has seen his chances inprove. To call youself a taccup watcher, you have to go to the games more than 4 times a year and not rely on stats from the website ---- i know for a fact that clubs have been looking at him and he is a shoe in to get drafted. how i got this fact was having a beer with brian Royal the other night and was talking draft prospects, they arn't looking past the late round picks, and im sure i heard a few names thrown around. come back to this post after the 2007 draft champ.
:thumbsd::mad:

look buddy noone is saying hes not a good player. people believe he wont get drafted. this site is about differing opinions. so a little lesson has to be learnt. when someone's opion differs, u dont just get personal and make urself look ridicuous. im pretty sure TAc watcher has a fair bit of knowledge and others agree with everyone else except you. my old man is great mates with the o'sullivan brothers- both on afl boards at present. this still doesnt mean they go around telling anyone who wants to know, that they will draft this guy or that guy.

TacupWatcher
7 Sep 2007, 13:20
[quote=buffalopride;8670416]bang!! dead right mate[/quo

Every club nominates 50 players that they have tagged as draftable players that they would be interestd in picking up, now if someone can provide me more then 3 examples in recent years of players being drafted and not being invited to vic screen or draft camp that year..i will happlly say im wrong. what is this the grant ford cheer squad? i was sticking up for him saying its a shame he isnt going to get picked up. come draft day and he gets named ill never post on big footy ever again i give u my word..

TacupWatcher
7 Sep 2007, 13:26
mate you have got no clue, how do you know he hasn't been approached by clubs?? He has just as much chance as anyone and recent form has seen his chances inprove. To call youself a taccup watcher, you have to go to the games more than 4 times a year and not rely on stats from the website ---- i know for a fact that clubs have been looking at him and he is a shoe in to get drafted. how i got this fact was having a beer with brian Royal the other night and was talking draft prospects, they arn't looking past the late round picks, and im sure i heard a few names thrown around. come back to this post after the 2007 draft champ.

MATE, you just dont get it. i do have a clue. he isnt going to the 2007 and draft camp or 'champ' as u call it. no clubs nominated him. he is not as much chance as anyone. id think the likes of kruezer and cothin wuld have him not to mention every single person goin to draft camp. he is not a shoe in, you couldnt call him an outside chance. you are and idiot and wasting words on people who deserve better..

VINCANITY
7 Sep 2007, 18:41
im glad this thread keeps on track with what it started as. You know just regular posting to see how grant ford is playing

hulld
8 Sep 2007, 00:19
dont blame me

TacupWatcher
8 Sep 2007, 13:11
MATE, you just dont get it. i do have a clue. he isnt going to the 2007 and draft camp or 'champ' as u call it. no clubs nominated him. he is not as much chance as anyone. id think the likes of kruezer and cothin wuld have him not to mention every single person goin to draft camp. he is not a shoe in, you couldnt call him an outside chance. you are and idiot and wasting words on people who deserve better..

Every club nominates 50 players that they have tagged as draftable players that they would be interestd in picking up, now if someone can provide me more then 3 examples in recent years of players being drafted and not being invited to vic screen or draft camp that year..i will happlly say im wrong. what is this the grant ford cheer squad? i was sticking up for him saying its a shame he isnt going to get picked up. come draft day and he gets named ill never post on big footy ever again i give u my word..

cmon people i thought this forum was about attacking anyone who doesnt thin grant ford will get drafted..? it was two days ago why everyone gone so quiet all of a sudden? theres not the slim chance i might be right is there? where have u go buffolebob?

LukeHodge15
8 Sep 2007, 13:43
Not quick midgets with minimal hurt factor with their feet are simply not high on clubs list of prioritys. Its that simple really.

hulld
8 Sep 2007, 13:54
i wouldn't say that sam mithcell's foot skills are anything special

LukeHodge15
8 Sep 2007, 14:52
i wouldn't say that sam mithcell's foot skills are anything special

Exactly my point, what path did Sam take in getting drafted ;)

hulld
8 Sep 2007, 15:50
but perhaps recruiters have realized that sometimes it is best to draft footballers rather than athletes

Jase123
8 Sep 2007, 16:34
hulld = ford

VINCANITY
8 Sep 2007, 17:34
hulld = ford
hulld = not ford

LukeHodge15
9 Sep 2007, 08:11
but perhaps recruiters have realized that sometimes it is best to draft footballers rather than athletes

Yeah as our game goes more and more uncontested. U need to be very very special if u are a slowish midget. Something i dont think Ford is. Not saying he mightnt get a chance very very late or rookied. But Clubs wont be climbing over themselves to get hold of Ford.

hulld
9 Sep 2007, 11:59
hulld = ford
what would you know newb. for the last time i'm not grant ford. other people here have their guys they like to talk up and he is mine. go back to bay 13 you clown

hulld
9 Sep 2007, 12:00
Yeah as our game goes more and more uncontested. U need to be very very special if u are a slowish midget. Something i dont think Ford is. Not saying he mightnt get a chance very very late or rookied. But Clubs wont be climbing over themselves to get hold of Ford.

I do'nt disagree with you mate, I've never said that he will be a top 20 pick or anything like that. but i do believe he deserves to get a chance at the big time

VINCANITY
9 Sep 2007, 18:44
anyway how well do you think he will go in the league b&f

hulld
9 Sep 2007, 19:10
i would say that he would poll in probably a third of the games. although he will probably just get 1's and 2's rather than 3's.

i would expect him to be in the top 10 for sure

there aren't too many guys at bendigo who will take votes from him

bigcalls!!
9 Sep 2007, 19:23
cmon guys give hulld a break. if he gets drafted then he can say: ' u were right, im grant, but im a star now and u people are just typers who bagged me'. am i right? good luck to ya mate
;)

hulld
9 Sep 2007, 23:23
wrong again

hulld
10 Sep 2007, 20:59
as some of you would have by seen, grant made the TAC cup best 22. he also came equal third in the coaches award

perhaps some of you need to change your opinion of him

VINCANITY
10 Sep 2007, 21:01
he polled quite well in the morrish and the coaches award aswell

sinepari
10 Sep 2007, 21:02
many players have made the TAC Cup side and failed to be selected though..not saying that's my opinion on him. Just fact.

hulld
10 Sep 2007, 21:08
i'm aware of that mate, its just that some people don't rate him at all. caruso is a good example of your point

sinepari
10 Sep 2007, 21:09
Indeed. He was never going to be drafted though.

TacupWatcher
10 Sep 2007, 22:06
Originally Posted by TacupWatcher http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8672018#post8672018)

Every club nominates 50 players that they have tagged as draftable players that they would be interestd in picking up, now if someone can provide me more then 3 examples in recent years of players being drafted and not being invited to vic screen or draft camp that year..i will happlly say im wrong. what is this the grant ford cheer squad? i was sticking up for him saying its a shame he isnt going to get picked up. come draft day and he gets named ill never post on big footy ever again i give u my word......

im still waiting for buffalo pride to respond to the above he gave me a mouthfull. i take it that he has now answer. its a great achievement to make the tac cup team of the tear but in oversight it meens stuff all and hulld you shouldnt be saying people shuld change there minds about him because they wont because in my opinion they have more football knowledge then that; its a known fact that the coaches award and the tac cup team of the year is a contensious process in which they select and the recruiters wuldnt even blink an eye lid at it who got in..

hulld
11 Sep 2007, 13:01
i know its not the be all and end all but it wouldn't have hurt his chances

buffalopride
11 Sep 2007, 13:05
Originally Posted by TacupWatcher http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8672018#post8672018)

Every club nominates 50 players that they have tagged as draftable players that they would be interestd in picking up, now if someone can provide me more then 3 examples in recent years of players being drafted and not being invited to vic screen or draft camp that year..i will happlly say im wrong. what is this the grant ford cheer squad? i was sticking up for him saying its a shame he isnt going to get picked up. come draft day and he gets named ill never post on big footy ever again i give u my word......

im still waiting for buffalo pride to respond to the above he gave me a mouthfull. i take it that he has now answer. its a great achievement to make the tac cup team of the tear but in oversight it meens stuff all and hulld you shouldnt be saying people shuld change there minds about him because they wont because in my opinion they have more football knowledge then that; its a known fact that the coaches award and the tac cup team of the year is a contensious process in which they select and the recruiters wuldnt even blink an eye lid at it who got in..

And you know for a fact that clubs don't look at the 'team of the tear'
And you know no clubs have looked or shown interest in him?
Are you 100% sure he hasn't been invited to a state screening?
And did you know he can still be asked to go to to draft camp.

some examples of boys not invited to draft camp but rookie listed.
Mark Johnson - bombers
Sam mitchell - 21 came onto hawks list
Dean cox - coast
joseph Kreiguer - picked up by freo from school football

bigcalls!!
11 Sep 2007, 23:20

Mark Johnson - bombers
Dean cox - coast

everyone now knows that no clubs are interested in him as he put it himself on www.theoval.com.au (http://www.theoval.com.au).

he definitely hasnt been asked for draft camp and screening.

the TAC cup team of the year is usually represented with at least one player from each team. he was last named on the bench and the only player from bendigo to make it. so i think he made it after having a great year, but wouldve been pushed ahead of others due to no representation from bendigo.

obviously there can be late invites to draft camp and screenings, however these late invites usually go to players from teams in the finals-( craig flint, power, 2005) and im sorry but bendigo didnt make the finals so his chances dont look good.

p.s well done for making the team grant.

TacupWatcher
12 Sep 2007, 14:48

Mark Johnson - bombers
Dean cox - coast

yes im a 100% sure he hasnt been invited, unless it has been in the last 2 weeks. i'll give u the odds 100-1 he doesnt get invted to draft camp.

so your telling me that mark johnson, sam mithcell, dean cox and whoever the hell that last person u named all got rookie listed or drafted the very same year they came out of the u/18 system but didnt at least get invited to draft camp or vic screen? that was my question i think your wrong examples has answerd my question. it just doesnt happen. no1 gets drafted if they dont get invited to vic screen or draft camp. give up on ford (for 2007).

buffalopride
12 Sep 2007, 15:13
yes im a 100% sure he hasnt been invited, unless it has been in the last 2 weeks. i'll give u the odds 100-1 he doesnt get invted to draft camp.

so your telling me that mark johnson, sam mithcell, dean cox and whoever the hell that last person u named all got rookie listed or drafted the very same year they came out of the u/18 system but didnt at least get invited to draft camp or vic screen? that was my question i think your wrong examples has answerd my question. it just doesnt happen. no1 gets drafted if they dont get invited to vic screen or draft camp. give up on ford (for 2007).

coxie didnt get invited to draft camp....... he was picked up as a rookie. mitchell played in the ressies and was looked at when he was 21 but when he was 18 no invite to draft camp. jono was not invited either.... you will be eating ur own words soon enough mate.

VINCANITY
12 Sep 2007, 20:20
who knows if not this year if he had a year in the gym playing VFL or something similar mabey he can get a look in

buffalopride
13 Sep 2007, 08:23
who knows if not this year if he had a year in the gym playing VFL or something similar mabey he can get a look in

yeah very possible although he will get drafted or rookied if anything.

TacupWatcher
13 Sep 2007, 08:28
yeah very possible although he will get drafted or rookied if anything.

would you like to take a friendly wager? I'll say $50 he wont get picked up? $20? $100? could organise bank details privatly..?

buffalopride
13 Sep 2007, 11:09
would you like to take a friendly wager? I'll say $50 he wont get picked up? $20? $100? could organise bank details privatly..?

im good with $100 big ones, hope you have the moola chump. he wil be drafted or rookied.

Butane
13 Sep 2007, 14:04
How tall is Ford and how much does he weigh? Anyone got the figures?

rat1234
13 Sep 2007, 21:40

Mark Johnson - bombers
Dean cox - coast

you have to have 5 clubs intereasted in you to the national draft and either 2 or 3 for state, the draft camp nominees are out he aint one of them maybe or prob to small few better players than him also winning the b&f for one of the bottom teams means anything neither does the TAC team of the year well no to afl clubs anyways

rat1234
13 Sep 2007, 21:44
you have to have 5 clubs intereasted in you to the national draft and either 2 or 3 for state, the draft camp nominees are out he aint one of them maybe or prob to small few better players than him also winning the b&f for one of the bottom teams means anything neither does the TAC team of the year well no to afl clubs anyways

seen him play and he aint better than arron connaughton who won the B&F a few years ago and didnt get drafted, playing well in a low team isnt as good as playing for a half descent team and playing well
also he aint better then josh bowe who won the b&F in 05 he didnt even go to state screening sorry to say but B&F means nothing and he wont get drafted put him against some big bodies ie VFL and a bit more pressure i think he might get shown up, he is quick but u have to be super quick in VFL let alone afl bud his height doesnt help!!! i'd say leave him for a year see if he plays VFL and if he does well rookie him when he has proved himself

TacupWatcher
15 Sep 2007, 00:47
im good with $100 big ones, hope you have the moola chump. he wil be drafted or rookied.

it's a deal. i hope your bank account has more depth then your football knowledge thats all i can say..

and rat its State screening 1-3 clubs nominate u in a list of 50

draft camp is 4-16 clubs nominate u in a list of 50..

rat1234
16 Sep 2007, 16:53
it's a deal. i hope your bank account has more depth then your football knowledge thats all i can say..

and rat its State screening 1-3 clubs nominate u in a list of 50

draft camp is 4-16 clubs nominate u in a list of 50..

hmm its changed use to be 5 for national fair enough, i still dont think he will get picked up would like to see him play vfl for a year see how he goes against some men

TacupWatcher
10 Oct 2007, 17:12
I know he won the B&F but i didn't rate him that highly in the side. There were many better. Ive seen far better players not even make the VFL.

Besides the obvious. Selwood, Tarrant.

I thought Jadyn Donaldson was the stand out.

There the only players from bendigo pioneers in draft calculations, with thoolen a very very unlikely bottom age recruit n gaylor being to young.

Selwood 1st round, Tarrant after posting exellent draft camp results would now havto be a early 2nd round pick. And Donaldson should be a late draft pick but im guessing he might slip to a rookie after having a inconsistent injury prone year.

Myka
10 Oct 2007, 21:59
I know he won the B&F but i didn't rate him that highly in the side. There were many better. Ive seen far better players not even make the VFL.

Besides the obvious. Selwood, Tarrant.

I thought Jadyn Donaldson was the stand out.

thats why i rekcon he should play vfl or try he may not even play there might go home sorts players out tho

TacupWatcher
25 Nov 2007, 13:34

buffalopride u still good for that $100 mate? haha start saving cos he has NO chance..

VINCANITY
27 Nov 2007, 22:20
buffalopride u still good for that $100 mate? haha start saving cos he has NO chance..

thats what people like about you your always so posotive.
You never know mate he has a good chance unless if you know every clubs plans then you can not be sure