View Full Version : OT: safooty
Does anyone know why www.safooty.net (http://www.safooty.net) isn't working?:confused:
And while we're at it why isn't asthecrowsfly working anymore?
Redline
17 May 2007, 20:48
Does anyone know why www.safooty.net (http://www.safooty.net) isn't working?:confused:
And while we're at it why isn't asthecrowsfly working anymore?
Who cares, it is a poor promotion for the SANFL.
I'd say due to legal reasons the way some people over there carry on.
Care to elaborate:confused:
Redline
17 May 2007, 20:55
Just rumours.
Macca19
17 May 2007, 21:18
try SA Footy Central (http://www.safootycentral.com)
Cheers mate:thumbsu:
RoosterLad
17 May 2007, 21:28
why is SA Footy a poor promotion for the SANFL? It's a brilliant site and it's safe to say there is more intelligence over there than there is here on Bigfooty and I don't mean this forum but there are some really idiotic trolls on here.
Macca19
17 May 2007, 21:40
I agree. Nothing wrong with safooty at all. It has a number of regular posters that work with clubs and have a fair bit to do with the SANFL.
Brad-clare
17 May 2007, 23:21
Yep an excellent site!
spell_check
17 May 2007, 23:58
Who cares, it is a poor promotion for the SANFL.
Yeah, you are thinking of FootySA.
Us mods do a great job in keeping SAFooty well above the crap that was posted on there (and miles ahead of what RoosterLad said)
RoosterLad
18 May 2007, 00:02
Talking yourself up spelly ;)
FootySA was a great site, the first SANFL forum (as far as I know anyway) but it was basically unmoderated. It was a different set-up to most forums which made it a bit more difficult I guess, there were some real idiots on that site which was unfortunate because it was great for a while.
spell_check
18 May 2007, 00:06
Talking yourself up spelly ;)
FootySA was a great site, the first SANFL forum (as far as I know anyway) but it was basically unmoderated. It was a different set-up to most forums which made it a bit more difficult I guess, there were some real idiots on that site which was unfortunate because it was great for a while.
It's a team effort, not me alone. :) ;) :thumbsu:
I was a very disappointed by some of the comments made on SA Footy last week by a particular poster who shall remain nameless (don't think they post here anyway).
RoosterLad
18 May 2007, 01:06
What were the comments about Rory?
Labelling a particular umpire a racist cheat when an honest mistake was made. It isn't acceptable that umpires make mistakes like that, but to label someone a racist cheat like this user did is an unacceptable thing to do, especially when the said person runs the site.
spell_check
18 May 2007, 01:46
Labelling a particular umpire a racist cheat when an honest mistake was made. It isn't acceptable that umpires make mistakes like that, but to label someone a racist cheat like this user did is an unacceptable thing to do, especially when the said person runs the site.
He did calm down and delete those bits though.
Unlike admin on here...
Dogwatcher
18 May 2007, 10:04
Which thread was that Rory....can you link it please?
Redline
18 May 2007, 10:43
He did calm down and delete those bits though.
Unlike admin on here...
They were still disgraceful to even post in the first place.
Which thread was that Rory....can you link it please?
http://safootycentral.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7682
Like Spelly said it's been edited now but some of the comments initially posted were nothing short of disgraceful.
Redline
18 May 2007, 14:49
http://safootycentral.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7682
Like Spelly said it's been edited now but some of the comments initially posted were nothing short of disgraceful.
A screen dump of his original post was sent to the SANFL for their reading.
Dogwatcher
18 May 2007, 15:10
I know the thread now.
Didn't see the original post, so can't comment.
Anyway, I still believe it's a decent site, and a good place for SA footy discussion at both league and regional levels.
RoosterLad
18 May 2007, 16:06
Yeah I know that thread but didn't see the original comment, or I don't remember it anyway. The guy who runs it is a top bloke anyway.
I'm sure the guy who runs it is a good guy and what he wrote might have been a heat of the moment thing, but still it wasn't good. As for the forum itself, well it's great, there's some really passionate supporters there and you can usually get any information regarding the SANFL, games, players, history or just about anything else you can think of :thumbsu:
RoosterLad
18 May 2007, 16:26
Yes it would have been heat of the moment, the decisions cost Motlop another 3 goals.. 2 marks not paid (they were given as frees) and one was like Griff's last week, a quick kick in the goal square which was deemed as 'touched'. I'm sure he regrets the outburst, we all say things we regret at times.
You are right about the passion and info, no other site comes close anymore as footysa isn't the site it used to be. There are some people on there who know a lot about the history of the SANFL, and quite a few are close to the club. If you want to hear information first, you will have to sort through bullshit rumours from time to time, then that is the place to visit.
Dogwatcher
23 May 2007, 11:36
Redline - would you care to reveal your reasons for the dislike of the site....maybe the reasons behind the reasons?
Dogwatcher
23 May 2007, 11:37
BTW - it would seem the site's down again today.
RoosterLad
23 May 2007, 12:44
Still down? I tried last night and it was down then too.
Redline
23 May 2007, 12:50
Redline - would you care to reveal your reasons for the dislike of the site....maybe the reasons behind the reasons?
I don't dislike the site, I just think there are some poor comments up there form time to time that shouldn't be, such as the thread discussed above.
Dogwatcher
23 May 2007, 13:07
But, you're not so scathing of this site, which has just as bad comments....
Just curious.
RoosterLad
23 May 2007, 13:25
I see far worse on Bigfooty.
brucetiki
23 May 2007, 18:36
Still down, got an e-mail confirming this this arvo.
It's not a bad site. Not perfect, but name a forum that is.
RoosterWedgie
23 May 2007, 19:26
Back up and running now! :)
RoosterLad
23 May 2007, 19:34
Good work Wedgie!
Footysa and safooty have both been on the nose at different times. The lack of moderation on both sites I think has been the problem.
We're having a crack at establishing a more "civilised" SANFL football forum. The aim is not to compete with or replace the existing sites. The aim is to offer an alternative that is currently not available.
That's not to say we're a bunch of prudes. I love a bit of banter as much as anyone. So we'll still have a separate section where the rules are "relaxed" a little. ;)
Quite a challenge (and full of contradictions) but we'll see how it goes:
www.SANFL.info (http://www.sanfl.info)
SANFL.info. Just pure SANFL...
Redline
28 May 2007, 19:51
Footysa and safooty have both been on the nose at different times. The lack of moderation on both sites I think has been the problem.
We're having a crack at establishing a more "civilised" SANFL football forum. The aim is not to compete with or replace the existing sites. The aim is to offer an alternative that is currently not available.
That's not to say we're a bunch of prudes. I love a bit of banter as much as anyone. So we'll still have a separate section where the rules are "relaxed" a little. ;)
Great news, all the best with the site. I will be joining.
Dissident
28 May 2007, 23:45
If I were you I'd get your credit card out again and register a new domain name. Just a hint.
Dissident
28 May 2007, 23:49
I don't dislike the site, I just think there are some poor comments up there form time to time that shouldn't be, such as the thread discussed above.
Get 2000+ members on a site and you're bound to get contraversy..
BigFooty has a plethora times more people and even worse problems with comments that shouldn't be posted.
Want a forum that will work and NOT have it?
Make one yourself, and let no one else in.... that would be the only way!
ThePeckers
28 May 2007, 23:50
SAfooty is in legal trouble iam pretty sure.
spell_check
29 May 2007, 21:02
SAfooty is in legal trouble iam pretty sure.
If this was the case, BigFooty would have been closed down a few years ago.