View Full Version : SANFL Round 7
Drummond
17 May 2007, 22:32
Round 7 Fixture:
Saturday 19th May
• Eagles v Sturt, Woodville Oval (ABC TV)
• West v Norwood, Broadspectrum Oval
• Central v Port, Hamra Homes Oval (n)
Sunday 20th May
• South v Glenelg, Hickinbotham Oval
North - bye
• Kurt Tippett is named on the interchange once again for West; Bryce Campbell is named in midfield for Norwood, and Kris Massie will make his first appearance of the season as he lines up on the wing. Darren Pfeiffer is named on the interchange; can’t work that one out. It could possibly indicate he’s a chance to drop out and play for the Crows, or he’s in the bad books of our rather intriguing coach.
• Rhys Archard should make his return from a hamstring injury against the Bays on Sunday. James Turner is also in line for a recall after solid form in the reserves.
RoosterLad
17 May 2007, 22:37
Boring weekend with North having the Bye ;)
Actually pretty big games this week, Sturt can show their early season form wasn't a fluke by taking it up to their nemesis the Eagles. At Elizabeth it's 1 vs 2 but no radio coverage which is gay and Norwood must win. South should beat struggling Glenelg I would think.
Good to see Rhys back from injury and surely Turner will play As this week?!
Drummond
17 May 2007, 22:43
Boring weekend with North having the Bye ;)
Actually pretty big games this week, Sturt can show their early season form wasn't a fluke by taking it up to their nemesis the Eagles. At Elizabeth it's 1 vs 2 but no radio coverage which is gay and Norwood must win. South should beat struggling Glenelg I would think.
Good to see Rhys back from injury and surely Turner will play As this week?!
No radio coverage? :eek: Think they’ve got any chance of reaching the target they’ve set down at Elizabeth? Tell ‘em they’re dreaming! ;)
Norwood really should thump the Bloods. We’ve been in with a shot at winning every game except the season opener, but we continue to have poor last quarters. I’m predicting a win, but nothing is certain with this club at the moment. It’s probably the strongest team we’ve had out there all season though.
RoosterLad
17 May 2007, 22:47
Yeah there was no radio coverage for the Centrals vs North blockbuster either! They won't get 10k but it would be good if they got close, a big crowd is good for the comp and this game deserves it, it could get ugly though.
Norwood looked much, much better than West when we played the two sides but the Bloods have improved a lot in recent weeks, I tip the Legs to get one over them in a close one. At least if Pfeiffer doesn't play for the Crows he will definitely line up for Norwood.
ICanDressMyself
17 May 2007, 22:48
**** me Sturt are getting a fair bit of TV coverage :eek: :thumbsu:
Sturt by 67.
RoosterLad
17 May 2007, 22:51
Yet at the same time I don't think Norwood have even been on the tele yet? They have had a few night games which haven't helped though.
ICanDressMyself
17 May 2007, 22:52
Yeah but who wants to watch Norwood? :confused:
Drummond
17 May 2007, 22:55
Correct, Norwood hasn’t been on ABC this year. However we’ve only had two day games and one was on a Sunday. And I guess given the performance of Norwood and West in recent years this game was never going to be a blockbuster. :o
But still, with 4 AFL players running around Broadspectrum Oval on Saturday, why not head down and check out a few future guns of the AFC. ;) And Austin Wonaemirri of course!
ICDM, who wants to watch the Blues! :thumbsd:
RoosterLad
17 May 2007, 22:58
I watched the Blues last week, nothin special ;)
Don't be at all surprised if DP lines up for the Crows tomorrow night :thumbsu:
ICanDressMyself
17 May 2007, 23:00
ICDM, who wants to watch the Blues! :thumbsd:
NO ONE :thumbsd: Wooden spooners for how many years in a row now? I agree, no one wants to watch Carlton.
Back on topic though, it's good to see the DOUBLE BLUES getting a lot of coverage because - if my memory serves me correctly - we got sweet fek all coverage last year :thumbsd:
Glenelg by plenty :thumbsu:
kimirocks
18 May 2007, 00:24
Glenelg by plenty :thumbsu:In our dreams...
crows4life
18 May 2007, 01:01
well come down to arctic park to support the boys, we havent been playing bad footy, just unlucky, last week the ups were shit and caused some 12 pt turn arounds about 3 times
Seanason
18 May 2007, 01:01
**** me Sturt are getting a fair bit of TV coverage :eek: :thumbsu:
Sturt by 67.
Sounds like a wager to me. If you are at the game tomorrow night, ill wager you 10c that The Eagles will win.
kimirocks
18 May 2007, 01:13
well come down to arctic park to support the boys, we havent been playing bad footy, just unlucky, last week the ups were shit and caused some 12 pt turn arounds about 3 timesI wish I could. I went to almost every game last season and really got behind the boys. Somewhat impossible now. I do hope they win though. Especially against South.
kimirocks
18 May 2007, 02:00
South by a million
South = http://www.brentwindsor.co.uk/sheep/sheep6.gif
Crow-mo
18 May 2007, 02:50
South by a million
at least :thumbsu:
Sounds like a wager to me. If you are at the game tomorrow night, ill wager you 10c that The Eagles will win.
I'll have a lazy 5 as well....c that is
MickyCrow
18 May 2007, 06:50
You dogsssss!
Should be a ripper game, by the sound of it it will be 1 security guard for every 1 patron......
How is it possible to have so many ********s sully the name of one great club.....
And Im not talking about Port :mad:
Go the bloods this weekend
:thumbsu: Norwood smorwood. The Bloods by plenty.
ams4crows
18 May 2007, 13:44
Norwood by 24 points Norwood reserves by 70 points!
Redline
18 May 2007, 13:48
Norwood by 24 points Norwood reserves by 70 points!
I thin kthe league will win, the reserves will struggle. Norwood have some good reserves players in recent weeks and have a number injured. I think tomorrow 1/2 the team have not played over 5 reserves games so the young team will be tested even if it is top v bottom.
RoosterLad
18 May 2007, 13:49
Norwood ressies suck.
Norwood to the NTFL is the rumour I heard.
RoosterLad
18 May 2007, 13:52
then they could call it the Norwood Territory Football League
silky-smooth
18 May 2007, 18:21
Yet at the same time I don't think Norwood have even been on the tele yet? They have had a few night games which haven't helped though.
I recall reading somewhere that round 10 (or thereabouts) is the earliest they'll have a televised game.
RoosterLad
18 May 2007, 18:23
I recall reading somewhere that round 10 (or thereabouts) is the earliest they'll have a televised game.
It could be. Pretty sure the ABC only finalise their schedule month by month so I guess we will wait and see as I haven't seen anything about that for a while.
In other news.....
High flying superstar Nick Gill was not named by West Adelaide's reserves. He was due to play for them as they are the bottom reserve team but he could end up playing in North Adelaide's internal trial this week. That would be his preferred choice, and who could blame him?
RoosterLad
19 May 2007, 16:05
Tippett has gone off the field with a serious shoulder injury.
macca23
19 May 2007, 16:10
Tippett has gone off the field with a serious shoulder injury.
FFS!! :mad:
RoosterLad
19 May 2007, 16:11
Ok I got a slight update and he didn't go down to the rooms, instead he was jogging around the boundary so he might be alright.
macca23
19 May 2007, 16:12
Ok I got a slight update and he didn't go down to the rooms, instead he was jogging around the boundary so he might be alright.
:)
That's better.
swanfan
19 May 2007, 16:14
I was about to call you the legion of doom...stop scaring us. :)
RoosterLad
19 May 2007, 16:15
Geez another player off with a shoulder injury, Borlace has already been stretchered off and it would only be early in the second.
swanfan
19 May 2007, 16:17
Geez another player off with a shoulder injury, Borlace has already been stretchered off and it would only be early in the second.
Yes, I am accustomed to my local club not having any luck.
Crowman32
19 May 2007, 19:11
I was at the West Adelaide vs Norwood game today and it was a great game of footy in which Norwood just got up. Kurt Tippett played reasonable well gaining about 13 possessions and 4 marks for the game. He injured his shoulder early in the second quarter and didnt play much in the second quarter but played the majority of the last half with no effect of any shoulder injury. His tapwork is excellent and he doesnt mind grabbing the ball out of the ruck like huddo does. He won the majority of taps against the Norwood ruckman. Unfortunately he dropped and absoulute sitter of a mark about 30metres out from goal in the last quarter but apart from that he had a good game.
As for the other crow players i thought Campbell was the best. He didnt star by any means but kicked a couple of goals and did some useful things around the ground. Massie and Pfieffer were okay but werent dominant.
Just a side note Jessie Aish played very well kicking 3 goals and moved extremely well. He had quite a few possesions and looked quite classy today.
raikkonen
19 May 2007, 19:14
Dogs are the team to beat :D . Already heading the pack by a healthy marhin, and fantastic percentage :thumbsu: . Wish I could go tonight, but have a 50th I will be attending, before kicking back for the FA Cup final.
Punchy Bassett
19 May 2007, 19:17
A nicer bloke you will not meet, doesn't deserve something like that happening to him :( :thumbsd: :(
Punchy Bassett
19 May 2007, 19:19
:thumbsu: Norwood smorwood. The Bloods by plenty.
Norwood to the NTFL is the rumour I heard.
then they could call it the Norwood Territory Football League
Trying very hard to bite on tounge........
NAH NAH NAH NAH NAH NAH!
RoosterLad
19 May 2007, 19:22
Yeah there was no radio coverage for the Centrals vs North blockbuster either! They won't get 10k but it would be good if they got close, a big crowd is good for the comp and this game deserves it, it could get ugly though.
Norwood looked much, much better than West when we played the two sides but the Bloods have improved a lot in recent weeks, I tip the Legs to get one over them in a close one. At least if Pfeiffer doesn't play for the Crows he will definitely line up for Norwood.
On the money again.:cool:
Drummond
19 May 2007, 19:32
FREAKING SENSATIONAL WIN!!! :D
Crowman32, I agree with most of your post but I thought Kris Massie was high amongst the best. His would’ve had half a dozen possessions in the first term, and a similar amount in the second term. He ran hard, tackled well and won quite a few clearances. He was probably slightly down on his production in the third quarter, but his performance in the last quarter was a huge reason why Norwood won ascendancy. He had close to 10 disposals, 2-3 marks, and his tackling was a highlight. In the last quarter he won a crucial holding the ball decision, and took a mark when Norwood were only up by 5 points and West were streaming forward. The mark lead to Aish’s sealing goal. All up his commitment and ball winning abilities were the reason Norwood got up IMO. Brilliant performance Mass. :thumbsu:
Pfeiffer played on the wing all day and started slowly in the first quarter but worked his way into the game well. He had 5 odd possessions in the first term and a similar amount in the second. However his third quarter was the most influential and he took a great contested mark in which he held his ground while an opponent came in strongly. His hands were good, his foot skills sharp, and he would’ve had 15+ possessions. He came off in the last quarter with a heavy knock to the face and he was off for about 10 minutes. He finished the game on the ground though which was pleasing.
Bryce Campbell was also a very solid contributor. He kicked 3 goals I believe and worked hard around the packs when playing in the midfield and he looked threatening when put up forward. It looked as though he was playing across the forward line a little today, perhaps a role the Crows wish him to adopt. This guy is all class folks. :cool:
And lastly, Kurt Tippett had a great second half for the Bloods. He started playing deep in the forward line but had no impact. He was then put into the ruck in the second half and he dominated. Whenever he was rucking West seemed to win the clearance, and he also chipped in around the ground. When he went off for a spell, Norwood got back on top in the midfield. Tippett will be a quality player, but do we need another ruckman because that’s where he appears more suited to.
Pfeiffer & Massie:
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c294/DJLangers/P1020132.jpg
Kurt Tippett:
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c294/DJLangers/P1020140.jpg
Bryce Campbell & Austin Wonaemirri:
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c294/DJLangers/P1020110.jpg
Dandy_GO
19 May 2007, 19:57
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c294/DJLangers/P1020132.jpg
WATCH THE BALL, DARREN!
RoosterLad
19 May 2007, 19:58
Haha I was thinking the same thing !!
I wish West and Norwood were on tv today, sounds like it was a cracking game. Instead I had to watch Eagles flog Sturt yet again.
Crowman32
19 May 2007, 19:59
Yeah i must admint Drummond i was mainly keeping an eye on Tippett today to see how he was going but you were most probably right in regards to Massie. For Massies first game back he certainly played a strong game. I also like the look of Campbell, very strong at the ball, hard tackler and skills look to be pretty good.
Drummond
19 May 2007, 20:06
Haha I was thinking the same thing !!
I wish West and Norwood were on tv today, sounds like it was a cracking game. Instead I had to watch Eagles flog Sturt yet again.
Mate, it was a top quality game. Westies were very good in the first half but Norwood made them look good. Our intensity wasn’t up to scratch and we weren’t playing as a team. Cupido kicked plenty up one end, and Vlatko booted 5 down the other.
The last quarter was nerve-wracking. We started down by 2 goals, kicked about 5 in a row and looked to have it won, but the Bloods kept coming and with about 3 minutes remaining Cupido mark about 35 metres out, and kicked a behind. He let us off the hook and 2 minutes later Aishy goaled to seal the game.
Yeah i must admint Drummond i was mainly keeping an eye on Tippett today to see how he was going but you were most probably right in regards to Massie. For Massies first game back he certainly played a strong game. I also like the look of Campbell, very strong at the ball, hard tackler and skills look to be pretty good.
Yep, I was very impressed with Massie's return. And Campbell is a terrific player; won't be long until people realise this. :thumbsu:
MickyCrow
19 May 2007, 20:21
You reckon we would go Aish father/son this year Drummond, since we can take him with our last pick?:thumbsu: ( or anyone else reckon its a possibility)
CrowHop
19 May 2007, 21:47
Campbell was pick 80 for us. If he plays some solid SANFL footy for Norwood and provides excellent depth for the AFC then we've got good value already. Anything more is a bonus.
CrowHop
19 May 2007, 21:48
You reckon we would go Aish father/son this year Drummond, since we can take him with our last pick?:thumbsu: ( or anyone else reckon its a possibility)
Ive heard reports he's pretty average. None that I can substantiate unfortunately. A third rounder is all we'd have to give up so it could be on the cards.
MickyCrow
19 May 2007, 21:52
Ive heard reports he's pretty average. None that I can substantiate unfortunately. A third rounder is all we'd have to give up so it could be on the cards.
If so not worth it, but if he is a big mover this year, and no one else is interested, we will get him with our last pick, which could be between 60-90.
Even if he looks a 30/70 chance of making it, for that price he would be worth a punt
Shit, collingwood gave up a 3rd rounder for Jason Cloke ;) :D
Sturt won again I presume?
Sturt won again I presume?Sturt lost
RoosterLad
20 May 2007, 00:12
They never beat the Eagles (except for a trial match this year).
From what I saw on TV Kenny McGregor looked pretty good playing in defence.
raboyle
20 May 2007, 01:58
Centrals by 10 points over Port... WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
*Ric Flair strut*:D
AndrewJo
20 May 2007, 14:14
Thanks for the pics Drummond. Great insight into SANFL footy. Keep them coming! Keep the lens ready for Luke Jericho in the Red and Blue if he ever comes to the Legs. Show some of his knockers here what he can do....
raikkonen
20 May 2007, 14:17
U DOOOOOOOGGGSSS :D
Sorry raboyle
But the Flair strut was in use at woodville oval saturday woooooooo or was it the jeff jarret strut wooooo:thumbsu:
Sturt new coach new players same old sturt kick to the eagles players in their fifty so they can kick a 9 goals to 3 third term.
Then the EAGLES do that Crow crap of kicking backwards forwards nearly let Sturt back in .
Batsanis could be the next burgoine for the power.:D
Blue Red and Gold
20 May 2007, 20:35
How did the bays go?
raboyle
20 May 2007, 20:43
Sorry raboyle
But the Flair strut was in use at woodville oval saturday woooooooo or was it the jeff jarret strut wooooo:thumbsu:
Sturt new coach new players same old sturt kick to the eagles players in their fifty so they can kick a 9 goals to 3 third term.
Then the EAGLES do that Crow crap of kicking backwards forwards nearly let Sturt back in .
Batsanis could be the next burgoine for the power.:D
Nah... people think Centrals are the dirtiest players in the game, so we're going to play on that!!!:p :D
SpringChoke
20 May 2007, 20:54
How did the bays go?
We didn't lose.:thumbsu:
Glenelg: Bye.
Blue Red and Gold
20 May 2007, 21:00
We didn't lose.:thumbsu:
Glenelg: Bye.
I thought they were playing South today?
Blue Red and Gold
20 May 2007, 21:02
Just saw that they went down by 2 goals.
Bugger it
RoosterLad
20 May 2007, 23:04
North had a bye for ****s sake.
Stupid SANFL draw this year. This was our 2nd bye in the first 7 weeks yet Port haven't had any. Next week we play Centrals for the 2nd time when we haven't even played Port, Eagles or Glenelg yet.
RoosterLad
20 May 2007, 23:28
Stupid SANFL draw this year. This was our 2nd bye in the first 7 weeks yet Port haven't had any. Next week we play Centrals for the 2nd time when we haven't even played Port, Eagles or Glenelg yet.
Yeah it is ridiculous isn't it. Port have played 2 more games than us!
WheresGroomgone
21 May 2007, 10:25
Go you Panthers reigning supreme over their southern neighbour!!!
South Adelaide!
Get on the train.
South Adelaide!
Get on the train.
The Nourlunga Express? Only problem is it has been stopping at all stations...;)
WheresGroomgone
21 May 2007, 11:24
Gets, have been reading about your stellar efforts getting friday night together and now I finally realise you also follow the mighty [but unpredictable] Panthers mate you have reached legend status!!love ya work.
Trying very hard to bite on tounge........
NAH NAH NAH NAH NAH NAH!
Winners are grinners. I guess I can just bugger off.
Drummond
21 May 2007, 16:40
Strong return for Massie
Kris Massie made a successful return with Norwood in the SANFL on Saturday.
In his first game since badly spraining a wrist during the pre-season, Massie had 25 possessions in a solid performance.
In the same game, midfielder Bryce Campbell was a bit up and down for Norwood but his last 15 minutes helped the Redlegs over the line. He kicked two goals. And Darren Pfeiffer also played a role for Norwood, switching to a run-with role against Ben Hollands.
Ruckman Kurt Tippett had a good game for West, collecting 15 possessions and 15 hit-outs. He had a scare with a shoulder injury but returned to the field.
Ken McGregor (18 possessions) had another good game for the Eagles and Ivan Maric (Port Magpies) continues to work his way back after hip surgery. He had ten hit-outs.
Rookie-listed midfielder Rhys Archard played a strong game for South in his first outing since straining a hamstring. He was busy, collecting 27 possessions.
Another rookie, James Turner, played off the bench for the Panthers and had about a half as a forward.
Forward Nick Gill kicked three goals in a scratch match with North Adelaide, which had the bye.
Round seven league statistics:
Ken McGregor (Eagles):
Kicks: 11
Handballs: 7
Marks: 5
Kurt Tippett ( West Adelaide):
K: 7
H: 6
M: 4
Hit-outs: 15
Darren Pfeiffer (Norwood):
K: 7
H: 12
M: 5
Bryce Campbell (Norwood):
K: 8
H: 4
M: 5
Score: 2.1
Kris Massie (Norwood):
K: 12
H: 12
M: 6
Ivan Maric (Port Adelaide):
K: 4
H: 0
M: 3
HO: 10
Rhys Archard (South Adelaide):
K: 10
H: 15
M: 6
James Turner (South Adelaide):
K: 3
H: 1
M: 2
Drummond
21 May 2007, 16:47
Well that’s a garbage report from the AFC. It would be nice if they actually put some time into writing decent recaps as well as getting accurate stats. :thumbsd:
Pfeiffer played on Hollands yes, but it wasn’t exactly a tagging role. They were matched up, mainly in the second half, but weren’t exactly playing too close attention to one another. But according to the recap he, “also played a role”. Wow, how exciting. He did some terrific things on the wing, took a few strong contested marks in what was a much better performance than against the Dogs.
Campbell was also “up and down” according to the report. Sure he didn’t have his best game but when he was in the midfield he was in and under as usual, and he chipped in with 2 goals up forward.
Awesome stuff from KT :)
Yeh he played very well, especially in the second half. West dominated the centre clearances when he was rucking, and he was also having an influence around the ground.
However I’m a bit worried that he might only be a ruckman. I would suspect we drafted him predominately so he could play up forward, but to be honest he looks lost up forward. We don’t need another ruckman IMO.
Wayne's-World
21 May 2007, 22:49
Yeh he played very well, especially in the second half. West dominated the centre clearances when he was rucking, and he was also having an influence around the ground.
However I’m a bit worried that he might only be a ruckman. I would suspect we drafted him predominately so he could play up forward, but to be honest he looks lost up forward. We don’t need another ruckman IMO.
Would you like to train as a forward with the Crows and then play with Westies who don't actually bring the ball into the forward line with any system or precision.
A 20 year old 200cm player is going to take a while to learn the forwards role ....particularly when he has played so little footy at all .......be a little patient
redandblack
21 May 2007, 23:29
Would you like to train as a forward with the Crows and then play with Westies who don't actually bring the ball into the forward line with any system or precision.
A 20 year old 200cm player is going to take a while to learn the forwards role ....particularly when he has played so little footy at all .......be a little patient
Presumably you haven't seen much of Westies this year. 18 goals the week before and 15 this week. Tippett has been very good in the ruck, but is still learning the game, as you say, and hasn't been an influence up forward. Then again, Cupido has been the main target and has kicked plenty.
The small forward starring is Robbie Gray, on Port's list. Absolute star.
raikkonen
22 May 2007, 00:41
The Nourlunga Express? Only problem is it has been stopping at all stations...;)
EVeryone should be on the Dogs' express, doesnt care what gets in the way, just bulldozes straight through it. Ala, last 7 years of as good as dominating the league, into an 8th consecutive year, for hopefully another GF and Premiership. :thumbsu: :D
Give up now the rest of ya, you dont stand a chance of stopping this steam train!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :p ;)
kimirocks
22 May 2007, 01:00
Give up now the rest of ya, you dont stand a chance of stopping this steam train!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :p ;)The only steam train more powerful is the line from Brighton Road to 9th, **** Glenelg and Richmond sure do love 9th town. :(