View Full Version : Sydney Swans Board POTY - Round 8 vs. Port Adelaide
SouthSwans
18 May 2007, 12:56
Round 8
http://sportal.com.au/photos/news/080380news.jpg http://www.sportal.com.au/photos/news/098041news.jpg
Sydney Swans vs. Port Adelaide
Corpuscles
18 May 2007, 19:38
SS ya gotta stop getting carded mate!
Don't let the b'tards get to ya!:)
Corpuscles
18 May 2007, 20:17
Anywho....
I confess I'm a little superstitous! Special red jocks and sports bag and special pre game meal when I played etc etc ... now have certain things I do as a FAN! sad isn't it!:o I noticed that in the games when I had a pre match rant Swans won when I got slack they lost... some of the earlier predictions were very close, so here goes... I hope this helps the Bloods "cosmicly" (Cptn Kirk would buy it!:D )... Posting early before I pike out!
The named match ups are a shambles both sides... wont start like that!
I expect Matthews to get Lonie rather than Rodan or Pearce.. I do not buy Dempster in FFP maybe tag C Cornes? Thanks to reliable Oldman- Pop mail:thumbsu: ... yes crouch is out so they might play Tadhg..
Swans must kick straight or out of bounds as anyone who has seen recent Port games they set up and well drilled from kickins round the flanks. They will want to get it to a penetrating kick (they have plenty eg Lonie Motlop) to get it quick deep to Tredrea or White or Brogan or Lade and despite what out Port visitor says Thurstons does go forward!.. they switch kick to fat side often to create quick forward line entry.
Mickey O on C Cornes has to be a printer errror? or a joke ... I really would not be surprised for Reg to mysteriously turn up in 22 ( but that would mean MCveigh out so a real rough punt & just a wild guess!) .... if not someone like Dempster to tag Chad Cornes!
Swans must take this game to Port and dictate and create scoreboard pressure early... they are getting better at doing that! Then super umber flood once lead has been established...and dictate pace! Reckon in a free flow shoot out Port prolly would win. Swans cannot expect to come from behind.... this one will be on for young & old from the get go!.... hang on to your beanny and beer!
This is the coaches chess game of the year!!!!! and Williams will throw all sorts of change ups like C Cornes to midfield (as he has done all year) to try and catch Roosey out.
IF Swans win this one ... it will be a sensational win and a season breaker against an in-form side who have many threatening players that must be shut down
GO Swannies!!!!!
PS superstitious rubbish :)
Anywho....
if not someone like Dempster to tag Chad Cornes!
I think they'll have Dempster earmarked for Burgoyne (S).
Would like to see Goodes put head to head against Cornes (C). I realise it is risky but we're not getting much out of Goodes right now and I can't see any other obvious options to contain Cornes if he gets into one of those moods. And maybe giving Goodes the challenge of beating a very good - and quite similar - player head to head (not tagging, just trying to beat him) might be what he needs and could free him from the heavy tag he's been getting recently.
Has the added advantage that it will probably mean Goodes plays a little closer to goal than he has been and he's more than capable of snagging a few goals. If Cornes has an opponent he knows can hurt him, it may put him in a more accountable frame of mind too.
Possibly a high risk tactic given Goodes almost certainly is a long way from fully fit, but not sure there is much to lose from it since Cornes could dominate anyway.
despite what out Port visitor says Thurstons does go forward!..
Sorry Corpuscles but you are wrong on this point. Thurstans has rarely ventured to the forward lines this year. He has had a pinch hitting role in the ruck (whilst Brogan was out, 2-3 games) and may have found himself on the half forward line when zoning for an oppositions kick in but otherwise he has been playing predominantly defence, last line more often than not.
Previous years he was used as a forward but not this year.
That's not to say that they dont do that this week against your swannies.
Should be a good game this week, good luck but not to much hey:p
SouthSwans
18 May 2007, 22:42
I'm red carded aren't I?... I dunno why I can still make posts :confused:
Corpuscles
18 May 2007, 23:17
I think they'll have Dempster earmarked for Burgoyne (S).
Would like to see Goodes put head to head against Cornes (C). I realise it is risky but we're not getting much out of Goodes right now and I can't see any other obvious options to contain Cornes if he gets into one of those moods. And maybe giving Goodes the challenge of beating a very good - and quite similar - player head to head (not tagging, just trying to beat him) might be what he needs and could free him from the heavy tag he's been getting recently.
Has the added advantage that it will probably mean Goodes plays a little closer to goal than he has been and he's more than capable of snagging a few goals. If Cornes has an opponent he knows can hurt him, it may put him in a more accountable frame of mind too.
Possibly a high risk tactic given Goodes almost certainly is a long way from fully fit, but not sure there is much to lose from it since Cornes could dominate anyway.
Wow I admire the imagination Lizzy!:thumbsu:
Have considerable respect for your footy nouse, but no way Goodesy could take on Chad unless he 'goes walkabout and insane' and take the game up to him (front foot pounding jabs) ... the real Gooodes does that! & would scare any player with any defensive responsibility.
But he has NOT shown that this year at all!.... for your plan (match up) to work he would (sorry pun) have to deliver tangible Goodes! .....But he is only about 2 votes of his chaz madal pace;)
GAME ON! and if Port win we should stand and applaud them , but IF close clap both.... Swans by 14 points!
.... Swans of late, toooooo NEGATIVE! Turn around game!
AlibiMonday
20 May 2007, 17:00
5 - Ablett
4 - Malceski
3 - Everitt
2 - O'Loughlin
1 - Leo Barry
SWANNIES RULE
20 May 2007, 18:35
I'm red carded aren't I?... I dunno why I can still make posts :confused:
I'm in the same boat :)
5. Ablett
4. Malceski
3. Micky O
2. Goodes
1. C Bolton
swantastic
20 May 2007, 20:55
5 - Melcho
4 - Noggy
3 - Tiger
2 - B2
1 - Goodes
With mentions too McVeigh,Benny and Bevan who were good today.
natlovestheswans
20 May 2007, 22:38
I should probably watch the replay first, but i'll just go with the first 5 that pop in my head. Quite a few deserved votes.
5. Ablett
4. Malceski
3. Kennelly
2. O'Loughlin
1. Everitt
Corpuscles
20 May 2007, 22:40
Yahoo! Bit controversial with my votes but forgot to tape the game.:o
5. L Ablett
4. L Barry
3. N Malceski
2. A Goodes ( for excellent job on C Cornes)
1. B Matthews ( for excellent job on K Cornes)
Hon Mentions: N Davis, Micky O, B1 & B2 and Captn Kirk
... Oh for any Port fans with a tape, 17 mins into 3rd qtr see Thurstons stood mark in Port forwardline (goal square) but didn't stay there in 4th and only about 5mins but sometimes he does!;)
Can I vote?
5 Bolton - wow, I was impressed with his game
4 Kennelly
3 OLoughlin
2 BBBBH
1 The old white haired dude behind the goals. No? Ok, Everitt.
Question without notice - what is it about Port that makes your guys come to play fully switched on every time? Whatever it is, it's damn annoying.
Anyway, congrats, nice gritty win.
DeadlyAkkuret
21 May 2007, 03:33
Can I vote?
5 Bolton - wow, I was impressed with his game
4 Kennelly
3 OLoughlin
2 BBBBH
1 The old white haired dude behind the goals. No? Ok, Everitt.
Question without notice - what is it about Port that makes your guys come to play fully switched on every time? Whatever it is, it's damn annoying.
Anyway, congrats, nice gritty win.
I think you left out a B.
Corpuscles
21 May 2007, 10:54
Wow I admire the imagination Lizzy!:thumbsu:
Have considerable respect for your footy nouse, but no way Goodesy could take on Chad unless he 'goes walkabout and insane' and take the game up to him (front foot pounding jabs) ... the real Gooodes does that! & would scare any player with any defensive responsibility.
EXCELLENT call Liz.... I doubted it, but you were SPOT ON!:thumbsu: :)
Goodes showed he is learning to be accountable and defensive which is good for any emergency defence stuff.
I admit I was several stubbies down the gullett when I made the original response and many of my matchups look silly now... I wouldn't have thought Benny could run with Cornes (K) either:o
I think you left out a B.
Big Bad Bustling Barry - I count 4.
grimlock
21 May 2007, 11:59
5 - MOL. Not just for his 4 goals, but his pressure in the forward line was superb.
4 - Kennelly. We missed him heaps and he showed us why he's so important to our side. Kenneski FTW!
3 - Ablett. Got some excellent taps from Everitt and used it well. Kicked 2 very good goals too.
2 - Everitt. Set the tone early in the first quarter with some great tapwork against AA ruckman Lade.
1 - Malceski. What can I say, I love this guy. Kenneski FTW!
Jeffers1984
21 May 2007, 12:34
5. Malceski
4. LABLETT!!
3. Kennelly
2. Mickey O Magic
1. Spida
Skystyler
21 May 2007, 14:11
what a great game! The port fans in Bay 4 were the most inbred bunch of whingers I've ever had the displeasure to share an otherwise great footy match.
5. Kenelly - to do that 2 weeks after a grade 2 tear of his MCL is amazing.
4. The eski - what a dasher. Made his opponents look old and slow.
3. Magic - reads the ball so early. His opponent looked spellbound
2. Bolton C. - missed his one shot on goal but was otherwise flawless.
1. Ablett L. - Kicked a couple of telling goals and is lightening quick when he wants to be.
Very hard to pick because no-one had a blinder but lots of players made good contributions.
5 Everitt
4 Ablett
3 Malceski
2 Kennelly
1 C Bolton
Big apologies to Hall (set the tone early and showed how the game was going to be played), Kirky (excellent job on the ultra dangerous S), Leapin' Leo and, of course MickyO.
[B]
I admit I was several stubbies down the gullett when I made the original response and many of my matchups look silly now... I wouldn't have thought Benny could run with Cornes (K) either:o
LOL. I might have picked Benny for Kane but no way would I have thought Kirk could keep up with Burgoyne or McVeigh with Pearce. And to be fair, on the few occasions it came down to a straight foot race, neither could. But both did good jobs nonetheless.
5. Everitt - considering the opposition, probably his best game for Sydney. He was invloved in all 10 goals we kicked in the first half!!! Really set us up.
4. Ablett - big special mention here. Negated well, got the pill and goaled!!!
3. Tiger
2. Malceski
1. Magic
apologies to Leo, Jude, Hall, Kirk and yes....Macca!! (:p )
5. Ablett
4. Malceski
3. Everitt
2. Kennelly
1. O'Loughlin
is2SWaNz
26 May 2007, 18:06
This game was 5 days ago, and I can't remember much. I've tried racking my brains, but this is what I thought.. (or remember)
5. Luke Ablett
4. Nick Malceski
3. Tadhg Kennelly
2. Michael O'Loughlin (he was tackling, handballing and goaling simultaneously!)
1. Peter Everitt (solid effort from him)
Hon Mentions: BBBH, Schneider, Kirk
SouthSwans
26 May 2007, 20:15
5 - N. Malceski
4 - B. Mathews
3 - P. Everitt
2 - L. Ablett
1 - T. Kennelly
SouthSwans
26 May 2007, 20:35
Round Eight Voting
52 - Ablett
48 - Malceski
29 - Kennelly
24 - Everitt
21 - O'Loughlin
6 - C Bolton
5 - Mathews
5 - Goodes
5 - Barry
Round Eight Voting
52 - Ablett
48 - Malceski
29 - Kennelly
24 - Everitt
21 - O'Loughlin
6 - C Bolton
5 - Mathews
5 - Goodes
5 - Barry
excellent work from Ablett. Well deserved!!