View Full Version : Thoughts On The Richmond Game

Pages : [1] 2

Wayne's-World
18 May 2007, 23:04
Well Half time .......can feel my blood starting to boil .....:mad:

These games are always dangerous as complacency and lethargy from certain players can be cancerous .....

Started well ....team leaders, Knights and Griffin superb .....but after getting to a 30 point lead ......well just some lazy efforts by some players let Richmond back in and any team from there can build confidence, erun and self belief.

Welsh ....lazy! ........Doughty.....Lazy! ..........Bock ...Urgh!

Richmond are a free running team that needs space .....take the space away, apply pressure and they fold likea pack of cards.

The last few minutes shows how easy Richmond are capable of missing targets under pressure.

Griffin ....he's simply a beauty ....not a backup anymore and bock be careful cause at this rate you could lose your spot to young Johnathon

showdownhero
18 May 2007, 23:14
Well Half time .......can feel my blood starting to boil .....:mad:

These games are always dangerous as complacency and lethargy from certain players can be cancerous .....

Started well ....team leaders, Knights and Griffin superb .....but after getting to a 30 point lead ......well just some lazy efforts by some players let Richmond back in and any team from there can build confidence, erun and self belief.

Richmond are a free running team that needs space .....take the space away, apply pressure and they fold likea pack of cards.

The last few minutes shows how easy Richmond are capable of missing targets under pressure.

Griffin ....he's simply a beauty ....not a backup anymore and bock be careful cause at this rate you could lose your spot to young Johnathon
Yeah Welsh a lazy 5 goals and a sensation tackle for his last!!!

NSWCROW
18 May 2007, 23:17
Was a hard match to watch BUT.....4 points is 4 points :thumbsu:

*PAF
18 May 2007, 23:19
The non stop, constant, incessant, never ending etc etc "boo first and then look at the big screen to see if anything happened" mentality at every Crows home game is really, really, really annoying. :eek: :thumbsd:

Surely it must annoy a number of you lot on here as well.

showdownhero
18 May 2007, 23:22
The non stop, constant, incessant, never ending etc etc "boo first and then look at the big screen to see if anything happened" mentality at every Crows home game is really, really, really annoying. :eek: :thumbsd:

I'm pretty sure that happens at every game in the AFL (including port's) sorry mate ...

lionbear
18 May 2007, 23:22
Big confidence builder for the Tigers to get within 9 points of the crows. What they need to do now is turn this positive into a win.

Super Goalie
18 May 2007, 23:23

Yeah, shits me to tears every week. One thing I hate about going to the Crows games

*PAF
18 May 2007, 23:24
I'm pretty sure that happens at every game in the AFL (including port's) sorry mate ...
Nah.
I try and watch a minimum of a couple of games per week and can safely say the Crows have had a trademark on it for a few years.

Pride of SA
18 May 2007, 23:24
it sounds ridiculous but Richmond are a far better side than 0-8 suggests.

They have now run all four top4 sides to within a few minutes of winning.

Everyone focuses on Geelongs game against them, but forget Geelong were under enormous pressure too at that stage and just had one of those night where everything clicks (like us against Essendon last year).

Given we are running on empty player wise, and some of these players arent right, I`ll be happy as long as for the next few weeks we win more than we lose and keep in touch with top 4. remember we were flaying teams this time last year and it meant nothing in the end. bring back the run of Reilly and Johncock, a target up front in Roo and I think the srping will return

I`d be looking at giving Douglas and Burton a rest though. Douglas is going to be a star, but looks like he could do with a break, which is no disgrace for a sub 10 game player ( look at Hawkins going back to VFL) and swap Bock for McGregor just to let Bock find some ball in the SANFL.

Jericho is doing enough to justify playing him, which is all you can ask of his 2nd game in 2 years.

Griffin looks like he is going to be a gun. He might even be able to hold down a forward spot once he gets some more meat on him, and Knights continues to accelerate up the rankings of importance to the team. a few clangers tonight, but its easier to teach someone to increase efficiency than it is to go find the ball like he does.

well done Welsh too, might be an extra few sheckels in your performance pay tonight.

a wins a win, close as it was. stay in touch with the top4 by the split round, then make the run for the finals with the return of some much needed players.

NSWCROW
18 May 2007, 23:25

Laughable statement seeing PORT fans boo ANY decision against them.......and have done for 100 plus years. ( Shakes head )

wishiwas
18 May 2007, 23:25
Thought the Crows had a few spectators tonight. And not just in the stands!
Very frustrating to watch.

Crow-mo
18 May 2007, 23:26
Yeah Welsh a lazy 5 goals and a sensation tackle for his last!!!

true, but as soon as we get the superior Nick Gill in for him the better :D

pjcrows
18 May 2007, 23:38
Didn't see a second of the match (was working), listened to the last quarter on 5AA, so can't comment on much until I watch the tape tonight. But we're playing inconsistent football with injuries - and we've stumbled to 5W 3L. Really not too concerned at all. A win on a cold, slippery night at AAMI is earned. We have 7 days now to freshen up for Carlton next week.

Jarmayhem
18 May 2007, 23:42
Man that was close... Too close. I hate listening to games so close on the radio

Go Crows.

How was Jericho's game for those watching?

*PAF
18 May 2007, 23:48
I actually thought you lot played pretty good under the circumstances. Even when Richmond levelled not once did it feel as you would end up losing the game.

The Richmond youngsters played a very unpredictable brand of footy and at times it paid off.
All credit to them for making it an entertaining game and also it was great to see them play like that before they get it beaten out of their system by their coaches over the next few years.

The Crows Truth
18 May 2007, 23:53

Care to retract the comment on these 3 lazy boys above old son - from the sounds of it some of our best players

Griffin will be as good as we have had since Renhny

Asgardian
18 May 2007, 23:58

Say what?????????

Port beat them by 40 points!

Pride of SA
19 May 2007, 00:03
Say what?????????

Port beat them by 40 points!

yeah okay. but APART from Port, Geelong... what have the Romans ever done for us? :)

Bifrost
19 May 2007, 00:03
For a loss, I was pretty pleased. Had a lot of young players show themselves well and a few things stared to fall into place in terms of our game plan.

Good stuff from the young guys.

Watched every minute at work (after staying back), then had a few beers during and now I'm in trouble with the lovely lady of my house. Alas.

maccas_no1
19 May 2007, 00:06
Full credit to Richmond...................alot of work ahead for the AFC:mad:

*PAF
19 May 2007, 00:06
yeah okay. but APART from Port, Geelong... what have the Romans ever done for us? :)
:thumbsu: :D

pjcrows
19 May 2007, 00:10
Full credit to Richmond...................alot of work ahead for the AFC:mad:

Why is that a bad thing? I'd rather slowly build towards September, rather than cruise through May and June like we have in the last few years.

Drummond
19 May 2007, 00:12
Absolutely pathetic, lazy display, make no mistake. :thumbsd: We were shown up by a young Richmond side that is winless and sits on the bottom of the ladder. We had a good first quarter, and yet let them hang around due to our poor work in defence. The second quarter was nothing short of disgraceful, and then we saw about 5-10 minutes of the rubbish that is “tempo football”. :rolleyes:

We won sure, we got the 4 points, but I’m taking zilch away from this game. Our defence was atrocious, Rutten got comfortably beaten for the first time of the year, and Mattner had at least 5 clangers and needs to be dropped IMO.

We saw the good, the bad and the ugly from Chris Knights tonight. Had some great clearances and did some hard running, but his disposal was iffy tonight. At least half of his handballs led to turnovers; why does he go for these 2 metre handballs that put teammates under pressure?

I thought van Berlo was great, and he was so calm and collected out there. He didn’t rush his disposal like most of the team, and almost all of his 20 disposals were effective. Good game from VB.

Brett Burton, well, a new thread might need to be made about why he’s actually in the team.

Super Goalie
19 May 2007, 00:12
Why is that a bad thing? I'd rather slowly build towards September, rather than cruise through May and June like we have in the last few years.

So you'd prefer us 5-3 than 8-0?

Dogs_r_barking
19 May 2007, 00:15
Welcome to our (2006) world Adelaide. If a team can still win games carrying a high injury list they are a good team:thumbsu: Close tonight, against Richmond and like Melbourne last week the 0-7 tag is deceptive.

pjcrows
19 May 2007, 00:17
Absolutely pathetic, lazy display, make no mistake. :thumbsd: We were shown up by a young Richmond side that is winless and sits on the bottom of the ladder. We had a good first quarter, and yet let them hang around due to our poor work in defence. The second quarter was nothing short of disgraceful, and then we saw about 5-10 minutes of the rubbish that is “tempo football”. :rolleyes:

We won sure, we got the 4 points, but I’m taking zilch away from this game. Our defence was atrocious, Rutten got comfortably beaten for the first time of the year, and Mattner had at least 5 clangers and needs to be dropped IMO.

We saw the good, the bad and the ugly from Chris Knights tonight. Had some great clearances and did some hard running, but his disposal was iffy tonight. At least half of his handballs led to turnovers; why does he go for these 2 metre handballs that put teammates under pressure?

I thought van Berlo was great, and he was so calm and collected out there. He didn’t rush his disposal like most of the team, and almost all of his 20 disposals were effective. Good game from VB.

Brett Burton, well, a new thread might need to be made about why he’s actually in the team.

You certainly know when Drummond arrives :p

Four points, mate. We're in second, maybe third gear. Just relax.

pjcrows
19 May 2007, 00:19
So you'd prefer us 5-3 than 8-0?

I'd prefer us to be not playing our best footy in May. Two years in a row we have cruised through the first part of the year and then fallen over. I'd much rather build towards the finals, win enough games to get us into the Top 4 with our best team on the park, ready for an assualt on the finals. Look at Sydney over the last few years.

Crow Envy
19 May 2007, 00:21
Very frustrating game. We seem to battle in the games we are expected to win and then pull out good away performances such as WB and Brisbane. Im off to the Carlton and Melbourne games so hope the trend continues.

Stevens has had some major clangers in the last 3 games, twice tonight his kicks went to the opposition, which is suprising because last year his disposal was good.

We have to give Burton a rest. What is the point of playing him? Craigy said there were a few due back so lets start with next week.

camsmith
19 May 2007, 00:23

Everyone focuses on Geelongs game against them, but forget Geelong were under enormous pressure too at that stage and just had one of those night where everything clicks (like us against Essendon last year).

Good to hear someone with sense talking about us. If you take the Geelong game out of it we've pretty much been in every game.

Well done Crows.. im really pissed off about losing but im happy both teams had a crack at it and the tackling was great to watch. Good luck in the finals.

CrowHop
19 May 2007, 00:27

Agree with this. A few points :

1) Knights. Some good work, just needs to work on his disposal. So frustrating because he is such a ball magnet.

2) Burton. Not sure why he was out there, didnt look fit and could probably have done with the rest after having gastro during the week.

3) Van Berlo. Agree completely, the value of a player goes up ten fold when they ahev exquisite foot skills. Hit targets regularly tonight.

4) Rutten. Beaten tonight, but wasnt terrible. Richmond midfield actually hit Richo with good passes tonight.

5) Mattner. So frustrating. Needs to learn to play a bit more conservatively. Run 10 metres, break the lines and kick long = high percentage play.

6) Tempo football. Bowden and at times Tivendale had a field day picking up cheap possies tonight across half back. Possibly the softest players in teh AFL, hence we tried to hold the ball up more often. I think the solution is to run, carry the ball and hit targets. Keepings off is ok, but you need to work the ball forward aswell.

7) Vince and Douglas. Players with potential but out of form. Will be the first ones dropped when the likes of Porplyzia, Bode, Reilly, Johncock et al come back in the team.

8) Sarge. Good game tonight, sloppy at times, but 10 marks as a lead up forward, I thought was ok.

9) Ladder position. We're 5-3 and fielding a B grade side. A lot more positives to come.

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 00:36
Care to retract the comment on these 3 lazy boys above old son - from the sounds of it some of our best players

Griffin will be as good as we have had since Renhny

Why????......Welsh WAS lazy in the first half ....didn't chase and Richmond were able to take the ball out of our forward line way too easy.

Because he plays better in the second half after I'd suggest the team got a fair roasting doesn't then re-write history ....old son

crow87
19 May 2007, 00:39
I would have thought Welsh was anything but lazy tonight! His tackles, his marks under pressure and 5 goals. By the time he kicked that last goal it was clear he was well & truly stuffed! Some people aren't easily pleased.
Yes, his efforts regarding 1 percenters have improved this year and tonight they were good-mostly 2nd half, but (as I said in another thread) thats gotta be the minimum not a standout performance then back to the same old.

Drummond
19 May 2007, 00:58
Face up to the fact that Richmond played with a lot of spirit and intensity. As for Knights he made a few errors, but I dunno why you think his handballing is poor, consider the position he's in when he makes those handballs.

As for VB, I thought he was just okay. Made some errors, looked lost at times. A solid enough game but not his best. Can't question his commitment but I question whether he is on the sort of rise that you blokes reckon he is.
I think I understand your motive here. You pump up every other young bloke on our list, and you tend to cop a bagging for it, so you have to look slightly objective by questioning the youngster who everyone at this club rates so highly. That’s it isn’t it?

VB was great tonight and I suggest you watch the game again. His hands were sharp in close, he got boot to ball often while under intense pressure, and he ran extremely hard tonight and as a result of this he took 7 marks.

So for you to say he looked “lost at times” is quite bewildering.

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 01:01
Gotta agree with Drummond ....nothing but 4 points gained from tonights game

There is a reason why those teams who play experienced players outplay teams who "supposedly" are in the youth rebuilding phase :rolleyes: .......young players are up and down and in pressure games they can let you down.

Our young players with the exception of Griffin in the first half had a forgettable night .......Knights was superb in the first half when he had run in his legs ....but as he became tired and the pressure lifted he went back into panic mode ......2 direct gaosl for Richmond and nearly a third which could have cost us the game.

Douglas just has to be dropped .....good player in the making but AP he's getting "gift" games due to player unavailability.

Vince and van Berlo also were fairly ineffectual although Van berlo was probably the pick just becuase of his composure.

We simply gave Richmond too much time and space around the centre corridor and Richmond CAN play well in those circumstances .......
We took them too easy and very nearly paid the price and lost a great opportunity to improve our percentage and most importantly continue to build fear about the Crows side of 07.

Griffin: Iam convinced ....a star in the making ......he seemed to run out of steam in the second half and those who were at the game maybe they can tell us whether he was changing off the bench with Hudson in the second half.

For 202cm he's a very good one grab mark, has a great leap, and is quick and well balanced .....for a thin cat he doesn;t get knocked off balance.

He taps the ball beautifully and can change as a forward ......

Jericho: :mad: as a person who thought last year could have been a wakeup call ....I'll have to completely support Macca23 ....the guy is a D.U.D!!

Has NO strength in his body .... cannot break tackles, still goes one handed for balls in the air and on the ground .....and under pressure has no composure or awareness around him ....picks poor options.

get him out on his own and he looks a million dollars ......in a good side he'll look good ....but in a struggling side he would really struggle to get his own ball ....in other words he's a passenger

Perrie: for all those back biters ......again he was the rock in our attack ....didn't kick the goals but he was a safe passage to goal and very servicable game as we can normally expect from pez.

Shirley: two weeks in a row ....two plaudits .....a very good game and AP he's a very important cog in our midfield andIam happy to acknowledge his great efforts

Burton: What Is The Use ........he must be rested because he's not giving any output other than taking up a good opposition defender ......but IMO the words out with other clubs and that ploy will not succeed going forward.....in fact teams will actually use his opponent knowing Burtons limitations.

Welsh: great second half full of effort .....S..t first half ....pure laziness.

Doughty: also much better second half after drinking from the same well as Welsh

Mattner: haven't had much of an opinion on him playing so deep but tonight we needed him running thru the centre and breaking Richmond up ...much the same as Edwards was doing for Richmond (I can see why the Crows were so keen on him).

Macleod: excellent first qtr......servicable second half but you can say that about most of the team.

In fact I always believe you can tell a lot about how a team runs on to the park and warms up ....look at the replay and just see how lucklustre the team looked running onto the ground and during warm up .....simply thought they had to turn up.

jenny61_99
19 May 2007, 01:02
I didn't think VB's game was great - in fact very disappointed to half time. Douglas did a couple of good things and had a couple of clangers. Mattner was shocking. Stevens was shocking. Rutten was shocking. Burton was shocking. Bock was ordinary for half the game.

On the upside, Jericho and Griffen both put in great games!

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 01:03
Face up to the fact that Richmond played with a lot of spirit and intensity. As for Knights he made a few errors, but I dunno why you think his handballing is poor, consider the position he's in when he makes those handballs.

No, no, no ....I have seen Richmond too many times and seen them play NICE footy when the pressure's off ........apply the pressure and the passes miss targets and players like Tivindale and Bowden drop in a heap.

No tonights effort was purely due to our lack of attack on the ball.

Blue Red and Gold
19 May 2007, 01:03
I keep hearing about how Jericho has plenty of pace but I have failed to see it. Ever.

Is it a myth? I didnt think he was too bad tonight. (did anyone else hear on 5aa a caller say he is possible captain material? WTF?) However there were a few occasions when it was a free ball on the wing or something, it was a foot race and he lost every time.

Stiffy_18
19 May 2007, 01:05
How was Jericho's game for those watching?

He was solid. First half he played on the wing and across HBF mainly coming on to give others a breather.

I thought he really gave us a bit of spark in the forward line in that 3rd quarter. Missed a shot on goal but set up another couple.

Overall a solid showing by Jericho.

As for the game, if there is such a thing as a disappointing win, then this was it. It was all in the mind and the work rate. We went into it cocky as some of the supporters on this board and nearly went home empty handed.

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 01:06
I didn't think VB's game was great - in fact very disappointed to half time. Douglas did a couple of good things and had a couple of clangers. Mattner was shocking. Stevens was shocking. Rutten was shocking. Burton was shocking. Bock was ordinary for half the game.

On the upside, Jericho and Griffen both put in great games!

Jenny really don't think you can bracket Jerichos game and Griffins ........ALL jerichos disposals were uncontested .....how many tackles did he lay? ....how many balls did he win in tight???......

No ......he's just a pretty boy footballer who likes to run with the ball in one hand and pose .....he'll let us down everytime the pressure is on

macca23
19 May 2007, 01:08
Nah.
I try and watch a minimum of a couple of games per week and can safely say the Crows have had a trademark on it for a few years.

Crap!!

I go to a lot of Port games and believe me, they invented the boo!! :p

Hoot and holler like stuck pigs for no reason!! :D

Stiffy_18
19 May 2007, 01:11
Why????......Welsh WAS lazy in the first half ....didn't chase and Richmond were able to take the ball out of our forward line way too easy.

Because he plays better in the second half after I'd suggest the team got a fair roasting doesn't then re-write history ....old son
VERY harsh on Welsh! His workrate was definetly up for the whole game. He did chase and put the defensive pressure on their defenders. He also marked well and kicked 5 goal.

He was one of our best tonight.

Drummond
19 May 2007, 01:13
Jericho was pretty pathetic; anyone who praises his game has no clue. A few thoughts on his game:

• No awareness, as I mentioned last week. He will not get anywhere and this is a major reason why.
• Soft attack on the ball. At least 3 occasions he went into contests half heartedly and his opponent came away with the ball. He doesn’t like taking any hits, he doesn’t like being tackled, and he refuses to get in and under.
• One handed attempts at marking. Seriously, it might not have cost him tonight but it will, you can be sure of that.

He needs to be dropped, and then delisted.

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 01:14
VERY harsh on Welsh! His workrate was definetly up for the whole game. He did chase and put the defensive pressure on their defenders. He also marked well and kicked 5 goal.

He was one of our best tonight.

Just thought Stiffy early in the game there were a few half hearted chases ....certainly winning the game and him kicking 5 goals covers a lot of sins .....but those half hearted efforts can start a malaise that infects the team

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 01:16
Jericho was pretty pathetic; anyone who praises his game has no clue. A few thoughts on his game:

• No awareness, as I mentioned last week. He will not get anywhere and this is a major reason why.
• Soft attack on the ball. At least 3 occasions he went into contests half heartedly and his opponent came away with the ball. He doesn’t like taking any hits, he doesn’t like being tackled, and he refuses to get in and under.
• One handed attempts at marking. Seriously, it might not have cost him tonight but it will, you can be sure of that.

He needs to be dropped, and then delisted.
As a previous strong supporter for his retention on the list for this season ....I now officially am withdrawing from the "vote for Jericho" campaign and now support Drummonds views 100%

macca23
19 May 2007, 01:17
He was solid. First half he played on the wing and across HBF mainly coming on to give others a breather.

I thought he really gave us a bit of spark in the forward line in that 3rd quarter. Missed a shot on goal but set up another couple.

A reasonable game Stiffy, but nothing that says he's safe from the chop at the year end.

I agree with WW - he's never going to win you the hard ball and they're the ones that win matches.

Nothing special about him at all - just a vanilla player on the list.

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 01:19
A reasonable game Stiffy, but nothing that says he's safe from the chop at the year end.

I agree with WW - he's never going to win you the hard ball and they're the ones that win matches.

All glory ...no guts ;)

Stiffy_18
19 May 2007, 01:20

Look I never said he was safe. In fact he needs to do a lot more if he is to keep his spot on the list at the end of the year.

All, I am saying is that he was solid tonight and I thought he gave us something in the forward line in that 3rd quarter. He had a great lead and a mark but missed the goal. He also set up a couple of goals with his passes but there are also things in his game that have not improved and they need to improve if he is to stay on the list.

If Craig decides to bring in Reilly, Johncock and Porplyzia next week, then Douglas, Vince and Jericho will get the tap on the shoulder.

Jericho wasn't great tonight but he was as pathetic as some like to make him out.

bigman
19 May 2007, 01:25
We need to make a few changes this week.

The side needs to be freshened up in mind and body for next week.

We could look at Reilly for Vince.

Kenny could come in for the Birdman, or we could go for one of the younger players (Pfeiffer or Campbell) depending on form.

The jury is out on the walls. He is such an outside player.... and he is a selfish player..... I am sure if he cannot be more team orientated his time in the team will not be long. I am sure he will get some wraps for his ability to carry the ball but some criticism for his unwillingness to pass off the ball in the last quarter to a player in a much better position and to go one handed at a critical time. He will not be dropped on this performance however.

Griffen and Huddo were the highights of the night for me and particularly Griff. He really looks like he can become a dominant player at this level.

Good to see Thommo get back into the game after half time after a very quiet first half. Shirley very good again. Welsh presented well all night but must improve his defensive game - it was down in the first half.

Bock may need to start on the pine for a while next week at the start of the game. We need him to get back into form asap.

Drummond
19 May 2007, 01:26
Dude, look around you. I'm not the only one saying VB wasn't especially impressive tonight. Wasn't poor but definitely not "great".

I have no motive; I'm not screaming for VB's head. Truth is he's still only a youngster like a lot of others in our side; I don't expect him to be putting in match winning performances every week, and I'm also not going to outright lie about what I thought of his game just because he is the BigFooty Adelaide Board's favourite son. For what it's worth, Knights' played a better game than VB I thought. Douglas and Vince, well...Dougie is making errors and still hasn't found his comfort zone, and Vince, while doing some good things when in possession, needs to find more of the footy. VB was far from our worst btw, but his game wasn't outstanding (better than Dougie or BV though).
I really, really struggle to see what position Vince is going to make his own at AFL level. He’s not good enough to be a goal sneak because he loses his footing too often, he doesn’t read the play well enough and his reaction time is also far too slow.

Now I believe he is more suited to the midfield as he has excellent hands in traffic but he is just too slow I’m afraid. Even when he’s running flat out he goes nowhere so this is going to hold him back.

It’s going to be a huge struggle for Bernie as far as I’m concerned.

Douglas doesn’t look much better but he’s only 20, however he must be sent back to the SANFL to find some form.

- PC -
19 May 2007, 01:27
In fact I always believe you can tell a lot about how a team runs on to the park and warms up ....look at the replay and just see how lucklustre the team looked running onto the ground and during warm up .....simply thought they had to turn up.

I listened to the game at work on the radio and like most was fuming. I actually think the great 1st quarter was the reason we relaxed... a lot would have been saying at 1/4 time '' how far'' and then relaxed

Mad Dog
19 May 2007, 01:27
In reality - he has only got an opportunity because there's no-one else.

There have been some better and worse players over the years who have been delisted.

My maiin concern is that nver at any stage has he dominated consistently at SANFL level.

I reckon Craigy & Co. will be keeping a close eye on his progress at Norwood....but if nothing changes - he'll be gone.

rfctigerarmy
19 May 2007, 01:29
Well done tonight guys.

A good game of footy. ;)

MaccasNeighbour
19 May 2007, 01:33
Was impressed the way Stevens kept hitting blokes on the chest, shame it was usually a Richmond player.

Seriously though, overall it was an ok but not great performance from us. ONe of those when I'm just happy to get the points.

Mad Dog
19 May 2007, 01:39
Was impressed the way Stevens kept hitting blokes on the chest, shame it was usually a Richmond player.

Seriously though, overall it was an ok but not great performance from us. ONe of those when I'm just happy to get the points.

I reckon Stevo had a shocker tonight......

missed marks, missed targets, lost his player in traffic.....etc..etc.

- PC -
19 May 2007, 01:45
I reckon Stevo had a shocker tonight......

missed marks, missed targets, lost his player in traffic.....etc..etc.

Rex and crew ( what knobs :rolleyes: ) said on radio his and Adelaides night was highlighted by an early grab kick and lope by Stevo...as if he figured he only needed to be at 3/4 pace

Drummond
19 May 2007, 01:52
I'm sure the club has a good idea of what it wants to do with these kids. I must ask you though, if say, Pfeiffer came into the side and struggled to get his hands on the footy and so on, would you be skeptical of him too? Or would you continue to back him, having seen his talent in the SANFL and knowing there is at least something there? He only grabbed a handful of possessions in the SANFL last week though, etc etc...I guess what I'm saying is all the club can do is persist with these guys long enough for us to know whether they're keepers or not. We aren't at the point where we know with either Douglas or Vince (or Porplyzia even).
I wouldn’t be overly skeptical, but what you’re asking isn’t really fair. The same doubts that I have over Vince continue to be raised seemingly every week. He isn’t winning a lot of the ball, in fact in his 10 AFL games his career high is 14 and he’s averaging a mere 8.7 possessions per game. So not only is he struggling to have an impact, but there are many question marks surrounding his game. He doesn’t have much pace, which position is he suited to; can he handle the pace of AFL football? All are major concerns.

He’s played 6 games this year and has given away 11 free kicks; this is a major worry to me, mainly because the majority have been holding the ball. He’s a slow decision maker and he reacts too slowly.

He’s kicked 2 goals in 10 AFL games, and most of these games he’s been playing as a small forward. He’s not delivering.

Asgardian
19 May 2007, 01:54
Jericho really polarizes opinion here on the Crow Board

Seanason
19 May 2007, 02:19
They should change Richmond to Richardson.

being manned by Truck and still put in an excellent game. Looked dangerous just about everytime they had the ball.

rayven
19 May 2007, 02:32
Firstly can a Norwood supporter fill us in on the weekend how Jerihco went for Norwood????

As much as he's the biggest liabilty we've had since Goldspink any more injuries and we are gonna really need him.

And who got took off tonight on the blood rule and had to change there jumper because of blood stains to number 30?

Commontators missed it.

:rolleyes:

AdelUniCrowFan
19 May 2007, 02:42
Whilst I need to watch the game on video and analyse it more closely, viewing it at the game.

POSITIVES
Bassett's defensive work was outstanding for most of the game

Knights at times can be brilliant, his ability to find the footy is exceptional though he could certainly be under negatives for a couple of errors he made.

Griffin in the forward line. Absolutely outstanding, I'd love to see him as a permanent fixture down there. His pace off the mark is exceptional, and with his height makes him a great target. The first person in the #6 since Modra that we can really get excited about.

NEGATIVES
Whilst not a big one, Richardson lowered Rutten's colours for the first time this year. No big surprise as this has happened previously.

Our lack of a crumber in the forward line was frustrating at times. So many times the ball went to ground and Richmond mopped up. The times that there was someone on the ground at least provided some competitiveness.

The Crows are still giving away too many soft and stupid free kicks (Richmond were just as bad as us tonight). The umpires were fine tonight apart from the centre bouncing.

I'm not sure what Jericho ended up with, but his disposal was frustrating. His decision making is very slow and at least 2 of the times I saw him he chose the player under far more pressure than he was.

rayven
19 May 2007, 02:44
Thought the umpires made a statement tonight from the first bounce and the next one.

same interpretations for both teams.

Highly content with tonight.

We played a team desperate and they had a sniff big time.

We lost all momentum in the second quarter but we limited the damage when required.

In the last quarter with a starving Richmond smelling pizza hut we made a stand collectivly.

Composure got us three goals up late.

We stubbonly stood up to Richmond .

Some players had shockers. few break into the 90 point mark against us.

Our disposal out of defence at times was shocking, Burton a complete passenger.

We got murdered of our half forward line.

Rutten conceed about 33% of all goals he's conceeded this year.

As said Richmond tasting blood, they levelled late.

Composure won tonight.

All good teams rely on that at some point in games like this.

Bazzar
19 May 2007, 02:45
The Crows 7 goals to Tiges 3 Craig plays tempo fotty in the back half....lol Craig is NOT a coach

Blue Red and Gold
19 May 2007, 02:47
The Crows 7 goals to Tiges 3 Craig plays tempo fotty in the back half....lol Craig is NOT a coach
you do realise your "coach" is Terry Wallace dont you?

Crow-mo
19 May 2007, 02:49

English lessons are your friend.

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 08:35
I listened to the game at work on the radio and like most was fuming. I actually think the great 1st quarter was the reason we relaxed... a lot would have been saying at 1/4 time '' how far'' and then relaxed
That's exactly how I saw it .....we came out and played great footy ...got 18 points up and then it seemed all the intensity left the Crows game ........and it was the non chasing of Welsh and Doughty and co that started it all IMO

Wayne's-World
19 May 2007, 08:57
Crows avoid upset

Ashley Porter, Adelaide | May 19, 2007

RICHMOND'S woes deepened after it lost to Adelaide by nine points at AAMI Stadium last night, with news that Matthew Richardson is expected to miss at least six games with a serious eye injury.

Richardson was taken to hospital with a suspected left-eye-socket fracture, after being accidentally kicked by teammate Andrew Krakouer. The Tigers are also concerned with Dean Polo, who dislocated his right shoulder but went back on to the field.

Both injuries happened during a tense last quarter, shortly before Richmond levelled the scores at the 13-minute mark, only for Adelaide to recover.

It had been expected to be a walk in the Football Park. Adelaide was at the prohibitive odds of 200-1-on, paying $1.05, but it was given the scare of its life.

The Tigers have won four of their past six quarters at AAMI Stadium after producing a solid second half against Port Adelaide six days earlier — but no wins have resulted.

Normally, this statistic is nothing to rave about, but for a side that had not won a game in seven rounds, and had been beaten by 157 points only 17 days earlier, this was a fine effort. There were only 15 players in this side from the team humiliated by Geelong, and the mix was better, with some fresh kids not worrying about anything else but having a go.

Adelaide was forced to work hard, and after a brilliant start, was made to treat its opponent with greater respect. Adding gloss to Richmond's second-term effort, and Adelaide's win, was the fact that, generally, it was quality football.

There was a lot of rebound. For the most part, Adelaide couldn't take a contested mark in its 50-metre zone to save itself, and when its early centre-square dominance evaporated, the situation heightened.

At times, the Tigers' intensity came unstuck. They did try to swerve around one too many opponents, and the skills may not have been quite there, but this young side had a real go. It took the contest up to the Crows, who generally responded well.

Given the Crows' aggressive mood, it was no surprise they led at quarter-time, 7.1 to 3.3. In their infamously dull contest last year, Adelaide had kicked 4.8 to three-quarter-time.

The third quarter possibly presented the biggest challenge for both sides this season. For Adelaide, it became a matter of whether it could respond, and there seemed doubts with key players down, including Brett Burton, with one kick and a handball, seemingly troubled by knee soreness and perhaps the gastro that flattened him on Thursday. For Richmond, it was a case of maintaining the belief that impossible matches can be won, no matter the odds.

Surely with Griffin showing heaps as a forward it would be better to bring Pfieffer in ......Iam confident he'd get more disposals tha Burton did last night.

Sadly though with Maric coming back soon .... Ia cannot see McGregor getting back in ....particularly on the back of his SANFL form currently

maccas_no1
19 May 2007, 09:05

Read Drummonds post and that sums it up very nicely.

*PAF
19 May 2007, 09:34
Crap!!

I go to a lot of Port games and believe me, they invented the boo!! :p

Hoot and holler like stuck pigs for no reason!! :D

Nah.
There would be only one way to solve this.
Tape all games in a season (not replays as they are condensed versions) and then let someone that doesn't follow any teams decide.
I'd easily wager a carton or three on it.

All teams boo and occasionally get into booing frenzies for a period of time during games etc but at Crows home games that is the only form of "cheering" one gets to hear on TV from start to finish.

Markthirtytwo
19 May 2007, 10:18

As for the game, if there is such a thing as a disappointing win, then this was it. It was all in the mind and the work rate. We went into it cocky as some of the supporters on this board and nearly went home empty handed.

He lost me forever with that one. Could have passed it off to two others in a better position but decided to try and be the hero and went for one over his shoulder. What you saw must have been on the members side because he did nothing over on the east. I have never been one to bag him before but I thought last night he was soft. Sure got a lot of uncontested free balls but tried to be too pretty and waited for the second option when the first available turned out to be the only one.

He's gone.

Markthirtytwo
19 May 2007, 10:19
Nah.
Tape all games in a season (not replays as they are condensed versions) and then let someone that doesn't follow any teams decide.

All teams boo and occasionally get into booing frenzies for a period of time during games etc but at Crows home games that is the only form of "cheering" one gets to hear on TV from start to finish.

Your confusing the boo to the Roooo because they constantly showed the great man on the big screen. ;)

Markthirtytwo
19 May 2007, 10:22
Surely with Griffin showing heaps as a forward it would be better to bring Pfieffer in ......Iam confident he'd get more disposals tha Burton did last night.

Sadly though with Maric coming back soon .... Ia cannot see McGregor getting back in ....particularly on the back of his SANFL form currently

Couln't agree more WW. He wouldn't have racked up double figure statistics in the last three games he's played. It's time to give him a rest and bring in someone who can compete, is fit and surely would be biting at the bit to get a gig.

We are not getting it with the Birdy at the minute.

topjars
19 May 2007, 10:47
I thought the umpiring was better.
I was impressed with Doggas game - thats 3 in a row
Hudson showed tap work Ive never seen b4!
Welsh is not injured and looked real dangerous.
Douglas will be stiff if he gets dropped - ever.
We lairised a bit midway through the first quarter.

WheresGroomgone
19 May 2007, 11:06
I thought Doughty was quite good last night he seemed to be more confident, that and the fact that Dennis Cometti loves him and when he calls the game he always talks him up. Griffin was excellent and showed some very encouraging signs. I thought Van Berlo was down on his usual standard I don't think he was as damaging as he can be. Burton had the worst game of his AFL career, he can't jump or run at any pace at the moment, give him a rest and bring in Kenny Rogers or one of Drummond's boys. I disagree about Vince [he is my love child!] I think he will make a position his own he has that freakish ability to make things happen and when he is 100% fit and finally realises he belongs out there I think he will become a very welcome member of the Adelaide Crows side. I don't think he is slow but is in that group of players that appear to take their time, think Paul Bagshaw, James Hird. Perhaps he could benefit with a few games back in the Eagles line up but that is always a hard call as to which is more beneficial.
Overall I am very pleased as to where we are sitting at the moment considering the number of quality players we have to return and the experience the young guys are getting and the quiet way in which we are clawing away at the points board. Get on them for September currently on offer at $7.00 for the big one, someone tell Goody.

SA_Stazza
19 May 2007, 11:06
Nah.

LOL jeez mate how many port games have you been to?? ever??

Their supporters just about call for blood everytime a bloke is pinged, holding it or not! And when it goes against them... let's just say the hole in the ozone layer is stretched a little further from a simultaneous release of 25,000 different toxic fumes :eek:

Almost everytime there is an opportunity for a free kick, whether it be theirs or the opposition's, a majority of the crowd are EXPECTING it to be theirs.. then BOO when it's not and LOOK DIRECTLY AT THE SCOREBOARD.

I'm not saying it doesn't happen at Crows games, but I can guarantee you having been to MANY Port games that this is a regular occurrence.

SA_Stazza
19 May 2007, 11:16
I keep hearing about how Jericho has plenty of pace but I have failed to see it. Ever.

Is it a myth? I didnt think he was too bad tonight. (did anyone else hear on 5aa a caller say he is possible captain material? WTF?) However there were a few occasions when it was a free ball on the wing or something, it was a foot race and he lost every time.

And what you didn't see on TV was Jericho wandering aimlessly in the middle of the park while the rest of his teammates were zoning off, reading the play and getting into a position where the ball was going to come to, I watched him walking around like a chook with his head cut off at one point and started screaming out for him to move to the members wing - sure enough richmond brought the ball down and went through a man that should have been closed down by Jericho in the zone before the ball even got there.

I thought some of his work was okay but I just think he has alot to learn. He is not quite up to AFL standard yet in terms of smarts, decisions and body strength. The problem is he has been around far too long for us to continue to persevere. :thumbsd:

Jarmayhem
19 May 2007, 11:21
Interesting to hear about Jericho.

I'm indifferent about him at the moment as an AFC player... my interest and reason for asking about how he went, comes from his 'last chance' discussions this week in the media.

It's interesting to see the actions vs words in these circumstances and it's hard to 'see' that on the radio (especially with 3AW commentary).

Sound like Griffen went ape every now and then which is a great sign though.

blaisee
19 May 2007, 11:21
Can I just say well done on the win tonight.

And on another note, thankyou very much for taking Sellar so we could take Edwards

Showed some very impressive signs:thumbsu:

Markthirtytwo
19 May 2007, 11:48

And on another note, thankyou very much for taking Sellar so we could take Edwards

I think your blokes took it up to us last night. Whether we took the foot off the pedal or a mental block or your intensity stepped up a notch after quarter time, you can be proud of their imput.

Many here think that Sellar could have been #1 if it wasn't for injuries, however we are happy with him. ;)

samdaman_2
19 May 2007, 12:07
it was really good to get a win and very important to keep winning while our chips are down and we have a lot of injuries.... having said that tho it was still not a satisfying win for me!!!! we were playing the bottom side hu have been smashed every week, so while yes we would have expected a very hard determinded richmond, i would have loved to of seen adelaide run all over them and dominate, like they did in te first quarter.

having said all that great to get the win, see some goals out of welshy, some promising signs with some of the other players.... still dont think jericho is up to afl standard, vince still looks a little slow, which is a shame cos i like him a lot but some time in the sanfl wont hurt him!!! burton still looks like a rest would do him some good and if thats what it takes to have him at his best thats what should be done!!!! looking forward to the return of matty bode, would still like to see ken mcgregor in the side, roo obviously, brent reilly will be very handy!!!!!

all in all a wins a win, and if we can consolidate with wins against carlton and melbourne in the next two weeks we should be in a great position to have another crack at playin extended finals in 07!!! go you crows!!!!

samdaman_2
19 May 2007, 12:11

mate i agree that edwards looked good but lets get serious here, ofcoure we were gonna take sellar!!!! he's an sa boy hu was tipped to go top 5 all yr n cos of some injuries went down the order a bit!!!! we were over the moon to get him and to snag a good tall for us was vital and thats exactly what we got!!!! how bout we discuss this back in 5 yers time and we'll see what each of us thnk then!!!!

Crowman32
19 May 2007, 12:30
Im a bit surprised how many people thought Nathan Bock was ordinary, i thought he actually played fairly well. He took 10 marks, kicked 2 goals and was always a target up forward. Perrie was good as well although his disposal at time wasnt the best.

Stiffy_18
19 May 2007, 12:40

Mate, even if we didn't take Sellar and he was available with your pick, you still would have gone for a small. Its known as the Terry Wallace Syndrome.

SpringChoke
19 May 2007, 14:04
THE GOOD:

Welsh: Is he lazy or does his injury riddled body prevent him from playing consistency good footy? Great game.

Griff/Huddo - Given the minimal opposition you would expect them to play well and they didn't disappoint. Griff has something special about him. Will be a player. Love their aggression.

Knights - A few clangers but a great game from someone so inexperienced.

4 Points - terrible game to watch but considering our injury count, an ugly win is a good win. If we can go into the break in the black at least 6-5 we will have done really well.

Shirls - Great game from the little fella. Tough and at the bottom of the pack as per usual.

VB: Thought he was good in the packs last night.

THE BAD/THE UGLY:

S Stevens - Did his clanger change the momentum of the game. Love the way he has improved but had a shocker last night. needs to be told never to kick across goals.

Rutts: Was beaten by Richo last night IMO. Having a great year though.

Vince: Not up to this standard. Too slow.

Jericho: I thought he didn't play to badly but still lacks toughness. Still hessitates and waits for the opposition to make the play before applying a tackle.

Bock: I actually thought he played a bad game but he was in our bests with a ton of posession according to The Advertiser. Can't wait until we can afford the luxury of returning him to his best position at CHB. Really struggling as a forward.

Burton: FFS why are we playing him injured. He is a match winner. Give him a couple of games rest so he can fire up for the run home. His input is minimal at the moment.

SpringChoke
19 May 2007, 14:11

Yeah good call. We all know Terry doesn't like talls and prefers his smallish types - heard of Buddy Franklin. But in Terry's defense, it seems to be a great strategy becuase you guys have gone from strength to strength during his 3 year tenure.:thumbsu:

RoosterLad
19 May 2007, 14:12
Edwards is a gun.

SpringChoke
19 May 2007, 14:13

How suprising. Your posts have really reached the heights of absolute dribble
so far this year. Why do you bother. Get a life.

macca23
19 May 2007, 14:24
THE BAD/THE UGLY:

S Stevens - Did his clanger change the momentum of the game. Love the way he has improved but had a shocker last night. needs to be told never to kick across goals.

Vince: Not up to this standard. Too slow.

Agree on both these points Springy.
Firstly on Stevens. This is the 3rd match in a row that he has conceded a goal with a ludicrous kick across the face of goal to a contest that has resulted in goals.

In two of those games they have been momentum swingers.

Against Collingwood it kicked off a 4 goal run, while last night it was at least a 3 goal run.

Stupid, stupid, stupid.!! :thumbsd:

Vince's problems seem to to me to be more with the speed of his thinking at this level and decision making, which is why he is struggling.

Reilly should be back to take his place this week.

macca23
19 May 2007, 14:32
He lost me forever with that one. Could have passed it off to two others in a better position but decided to try and be the hero and went for one over his shoulder. What you saw must have been on the members side because he did nothing over on the east. I have never been one to bag him before but I thought last night he was soft. Sure got a lot of uncontested free balls but tried to be too pretty and waited for the second option when the first available turned out to be the only one.

He's gone.

And what you didn't see on TV was Jericho wandering aimlessly in the middle of the park while the rest of his teammates were zoning off, reading the play and getting into a position where the ball was going to come to, I watched him walking around like a chook with his head cut off at one point and started screaming out for him to move to the members wing - sure enough richmond brought the ball down and went through a man that should have been closed down by Jericho in the zone before the ball even got there.

I thought some of his work was okay but I just think he has alot to learn. He is not quite up to AFL standard yet in terms of smarts, decisions and body strength. The problem is he has been around far too long for us to continue to persevere. :thumbsd:

Two very realistic summaries of Jericho's game IMO, which showed up if you were at the game.

Watching the replay of the telecast when I got home, his laziness to work hard when he didn't have the ball didn't show up as much as it did at the game as it was often off camera.

Vanilla fill-in at this stage..

SpringChoke
19 May 2007, 14:40
Two very realistic summaries of Jericho's game IMO, which showed up if you were at the game.

Watching the replay of the telecast when I got home, his laziness to work hard when he didn't have the ball didn't show up as much as it did at the game as it was often off camera.

Vanilla fill-in at this stage..

In another side Jericho may have a future but not for Adelaide. In a game plan based on pressure and hardness at the ball and the ball carrier, Jerichos lack of intesnity stand out like you know what. I don't see anything in his game that shows he could even be just an average player at this level. His intnesity at the contest is below par, his skills are nothing special and his supposed pace is a myth. He is a Lonie/Fiora type but without the natural football ability.

SpringChoke
19 May 2007, 14:47
Like someone else said, I thought Doughty was good last night.

SpringChoke
19 May 2007, 15:43
Jericho in there; he doesn't have the extra time to develop and prove himself like the others do.

I think we've already seen enough haven't we? Nothings changed.

RoosterLad
19 May 2007, 15:50
I think we've already seen enough haven't we? Nothings changed.

Yeah it's not like he's a first year player or anything.

*PAF
19 May 2007, 19:17
How suprising. Your posts have really reached the heights of absolute dribble
so far this year. Why do you bother. Get a life.
How surprising your reply is. :)
Every time I praise anything to do with the Crows you then reply that it is a good post.
Anytime I post something even remotely critical you accuse me of Port bias.
It is getting quite predictable SC.

If I feel like praising any team including Port or the Crows, I will. If I feel like criticising either of them or their supporters, I will.
One thing is for sure though and that is it is my opinion and not one based on other people's posts, news-paper articles or team bias.
If anyone else feels like doing either of those things I certainly will listen to the criticism whether I agree with it or not.
This is an area where you and I are very different. ;)

jo172
19 May 2007, 19:21
Every time I praise anything to do with the Crows you then reply that it is a good post.

If I feel like praising any team including Port or the Crows, I will. If I feel like criticising either of them or their supporters, I will.
One thing is for sure though and that is it is my opinion and not one based on other people's posts, news-paper articles or team bias.
If anyone else feels like doing either of those things I certainly will listen to the criticism whether I agree with it or not.

Except for the fact you posted you're stupid booing theory on several threads without a retraction. Also, you seem to believe you know a fair bit about football, but you don't realize that Crows fans have a penchant to scream out ROooo every time the great man does something? Is that you Michaelangerlo?

SpringChoke
19 May 2007, 19:37

First it was our game plan, then it was something else and now it's the booing from Crows supporters. I hear the sausage rolls were abit on the coldish side last night. Maybe you could complain about the heat of the pastries at Crows games.

As for your ridiculous stupid comment, anyone that knows even a little about the game of Aussie rules, knows that ALL clubs supporters boo umpires even when the decision is correct. Guess what, i've been to a few Port games and your supporters are one of the worst. The only difference is you don't notice it as much becuase there's **** all of you bother to turn up, especially when things aren't going well.:rolleyes:

I would be surprised if your tainted/biased opinions on this board hold any true weight.

Dandy_GO
19 May 2007, 19:49
It was a lucky victory to be honest. Had Richo not gone off, I'm pretty sure we would have lost it.
Happy enough with the 4 points though.

*PAF
First it was our game plan, then it was something else and now it's the booing from Crows supporters. I hear the sausage rolls were abit on the coldish side last night. Maybe you could complain about the heat of the pastries at Crows games.
a) I thought I was the one on this board that defended Craig for keeping things as are and going for the premiership, not yourself and many others on here that fluctuate week to week.
b) Food at AAMI is not the best going on my one and only experience. If the Crows are the caterers then yes, they could lift their game. ;)

As for your ridiculous stupid comment, anyone that knows even a little about the game of Aussie rules, knows that ALL clubs supporters boo umpires even when the decision is correct. Guess what, i've been to a few Port games and your supporters are one of the worst. The only difference is you don't notice it as much becuase there's **ck all of you bother to turn up, especially when things aren't going well.:rolleyes:
As I said, the only way to settle this would be to get a neutral supporter to be the judge. Not only did I say worse than Port but worse than all other teams. Big call, but my opinion it is.

... The only difference is you don't notice it as much becuase there's **ck all of you bother to turn up, especially when things aren't going well.:rolleyes:
Since when do I only turn up only when you lose or when we win? :rolleyes:

...I would be surprised if your tainted/biased opinions on this board hold any true weight.
Not something that worries me.
Never claimed to be an eggspurt on anything. Opinionated like most perhaps, eggspurt never.

Overly biased? I like to think not too much. :)

- PC -
I would be surprised if your tainted/biased opinions on this board hold any true weight.

I enjoy an opposing view

SpringChoke
19 May 2007, 19:51
I enjoy an opposing view

Yeah appologies PAF I did go abit over the top with that last line.

*PAF
19 May 2007, 19:54
I enjoy an opposing view
I do too, but some people (on all sides) would prefer not. Luckily (IMO) it is only some.