View Full Version : If Bradshaw was fit would Browny be dropped this week?

Pages : [1] 2

loyallion
19 May 2007, 17:36
Now dont get me wrong Browny is my Favorite Lions player BUT with his current form over this month (his Goal kicking in particular) would he have been dropped by now if Bradshaw was in the side or somebody else that could easily fill his shoes?

He has had a shocking month in regards to Goal kicking he really needs something right now would a stint in the 2nds give him that chance to find himself again?

He really needs to start kicking more goals and get over his form slump I believe he is partly the reason why we have lost today and last week

Thoughts?

jackess
19 May 2007, 17:38
Browny would never be dropped. Even if he hasn't got the stats he takes at least one quality defender. But he doesn't make much of an impact if he kicks 1.3

Vipertooth
19 May 2007, 17:38
Now dont get me wrong Browny is my Favorite Lions player BUT with his current form over this month (his Goal kicking in particular) would he have been dropped by now if Bradshaw was in the side or somebody else that could easily fill his shoes?

He has had a shocking month in regards to Goal kicking he really needs something right now would a stint in the 2nds give him that chance to find himself again?

He really needs to start kicking more goals and get over his form slump I believe he is partly the reason why we have lost today and last week

Thoughts?

No because he provides a target and would take players away from bradshaw. But when ever Brown gets the ball i pencil in a point now, makes me feel horrible.

campbell
19 May 2007, 17:39
No.

he needs help in the forward line.Another tall option up forward boys.

Can't do well when you are being triple or double teamed.

Snuka
19 May 2007, 17:43
Geez loyallion...even I could tell listening on radio that our forward setup was shocking, entry in 50 was terrible and he was double & triple teamed throughout just about the whole game.

Grimreepah
19 May 2007, 17:50
Ridiculous thread. Browny was the one guy showing some heart today. Have a look at how many opponents are going to him.

loyallion
19 May 2007, 17:50
Well its obvious that the current Lions plan is not working where are the rest of the forwards? I personally think part of Brownys problem is that he has so much bloody pressure on him You can garantee that if the ball goes into the forward line it going in Brownys direction. I do relise that is the FF job but it wouldnt hurt Brisbane if the players would stop relying on him to kick goals and occasionally kicked it to someone else But seriously Brisbane need to do something about this problem and fast.

I will admit though today I wasnt fully paying attention to the game I was too busy moving.

Snuka
19 May 2007, 17:53
Well its obvious that the current Lions plan is not working where are the rest of the forwards? I personally think part of Brownys problem is that he has so much bloody pressure on him You can garantee that if the ball goes into the forward line it going in Brownys direction. I do relise that is the FF job but it wouldnt hurt Brisbane if the players would stop relying on him to kick goals and occasionally kicked it to someone else But seriously Brisbane need to do something about this problem and fast.

I will admit though today I wasnt fully paying attention to the game I was too busy moving.

More a problem for the coaching staff and the players kicking into 50 rather than Browny. He WILL take marks & get the ball if he's given a chance. But the amount of times today that the commentators told us that he had 2, 3 or 4 opponents in a marking contest were too numerous to mention.

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 17:58
More a problem for the coaching staff and the players kicking into 50 rather than Browny. He WILL take marks & get the ball if he's given a chance. But the amount of times today that the commentators told us that he had 2, 3 or 4 opponents in a marking contest were too numerous to mention.

If Browny has two or three opponents on him then what the hell are the other forwards doing? Are they just thinking Bronwy will sort this one out? The loss of Bradshaw is starting to hurt us.

jo_lions
19 May 2007, 17:59
Our forward line problems go a long way beyond Jonathan Brown and his inability to kick for goal. As much as I'd love Bradshaw back right now, there would be 21 other Lions players to be dropped before Browny.

Yep, JB's goalkicking has been shocking over the past month and we all expect better from someone of his calibre. But it is costing us far more dearly than it should because we currently have a one man forward line, and THAT is not Browny's fault.

Will be disappointed if Mitch Clark isn't back in the team next week. If Patfull is retained, would also like to see him play exclusively as a forward. None of this Brennan up forward business :eek:

campbell
19 May 2007, 18:00
If Browny has two or three opponents on him then what the hell are the other forwards doing? Are they just thinking Bronwy will sort this one out? The loss of Bradshaw is starting to hurt us.

Agreed.

We have 2 loose forwards, doing squat.

We need a plan B. Anyone?

blackclaw
19 May 2007, 18:12
no, he would not be dropped. Brown is still having an enormous impact on our games, even if his goal kicking is poor.

besides, if Bradshaw was fit, and Brown was dropped, we would still be experiencing the same problem - our key forward goal kicker being double - triple teamed throughout the game. However, Brown is more important to us around the ground, so you could say this would be a worse situation.

We need another target down forward as well as Brown - that is what it comes down too. Johnno has been filling that role and we really missed him today.

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 18:15
Agreed.

We have 2 loose forwards, doing squat.

We need a plan B. Anyone?

Find a couple quick crumbling forwards. Browny will be double teamed up on. He will try to makr and he misses, then one forward swoops in and handballs it to the other and hopefully kicks a goal. Using Browny as a defender magnet could work for us if we have the right forwards to support him.

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 18:17
no, he would not be dropped. Brown is still having an enormous impact on our games, even if his goal kicking is poor.

besides, if Bradshaw was fit, and Brown was dropped, we would still be experiencing the same problem - our key forward goal kicker being double - triple teamed throughout the game. However, Brown is more important to us around the ground, so you could say this would be a worse situation.

We need another target down forward as well as Brown - that is what it comes down too. Johnno has been filling that role and we really missed him today.

Bradshaw wouldn't be double teamed up on. He isn't seen as much as a threat as Brown.

Ceebee
19 May 2007, 18:18
Always tries his guts out against a couple of players every week ,must get so disheartened.
Our disposal today was dreadful, we gifted Bombers goals today by our poor kicking.Will be a lot of soul searching today. Lets hope we improve next week, confidence must be shot at the moment. Take nothing away from the Bombers, they were very good today.

Snuka
19 May 2007, 18:20
Bradshaw wouldn't be double teamed up on. He isn't seen as much as a threat as Brown.

Not true mate...was doubled teamed all last year after browny was injured. Fact is if you've got only one quality tall key forward and the team looks for him at every opportunity then the opposition will always try to get numbers back on him. Brisbane haven't been able to adapt to it.

Snuka
19 May 2007, 18:23

I'd love to know that and all I said is that is wasn't browny who had to work harder. Your right it is our other forwards and those kicking inside 50 that need to take advantage of the opponents constantly running towards Browny. We played into the Bomber's hands today.

I agree, he is under immense pressure.

Got to disagree there campbell, Browny is under no pressure at all to keep his spot. He will not be dropped.

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 18:24
Not true mate...was doubled teamed all last year after browny was injured. Fact is if you've got only one quality tall key forward and the team looks for him at every opportunity then the opposition will always try to get numbers back on him. Brisbane haven't been able to adapt to it.

We've stuffed are we? If we keep on playing like this like we have for the past three seasons. Until we find another key forward, this is likely the style of play we will be seeing.

campbell
19 May 2007, 18:26
I'd love to know that and all I said is that is wasn't browny who had to work harder. Your right it is our other forwards and those kicking inside 50 that need to take advantage of the opponents constantly running towards Browny. We played into the Bomber's hands today.

Got to disagree there campbell, Browny is under no pressure at all to keep his spot. He will not be dropped.

Sorry snuka. I meant he is under pressure on the field.3 on1 pressure, no team mates to help him out.That sort of pressure.

Snuka
19 May 2007, 18:32
We've stuffed are we? If we keep on playing like this like we have for the past three seasons. Until we find another key forward, this is likely the style of play we will be seeing.

Not at all mate. What I mean is that when we've got a double or tripled teamed player in our forward line and we need to have forwards be dangerous enough that their opponent will stay on them rather than just go to Brown as soon as there looks like being an inside 50. Despite Leigh not having the answers in the last two weeks, i've got faith in him to make the changes or change the structure to do it.

The Flying Belgian
19 May 2007, 18:34

No, because Brdashaw or whoever replaced him would be double-teamed straight away, or if not would soon find themselves with an extra opponent if they looked like cutting loose.

Snuka
19 May 2007, 18:35
Sorry snuka. I meant he is under pressure on the field.3 on1 pressure, no team mates to help him out.That sort of pressure.

Apologies campbell, my mistake. And your spot on, he needs help.

campbell
19 May 2007, 18:37
Apologies campbell, my mistake. And your spot on, he needs help.
No worries.
Can't understand why 2 weeks in a row, we did nothing to help him out.Thats disapointing.

Any thoughts snuka? next week is so damned important.

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 18:39
Not at all mate. What I mean is that when we've got a double or tripled teamed player in our forward line and we need to have forwards be dangerous enough that their opponent will stay on them rather than just go to Brown as soon as there looks like being an inside 50. Despite Leigh not having the answers in the last two weeks, i've got faith in him to make the changes or change the structure to do it.

I can't see a quick fix for now Our forwards are not very dangerous compared to Brown.

Snuka
19 May 2007, 18:46
No worries.
Can't understand why 2 weeks in a row, we did nothing to help him out.Thats disapointing.

Any thoughts snuka? next week is so damned important.

Not sure, probably want to actually watch the game(if I have the guts:o) before I comment too much and I look forward to see what the rest of the guys made of it.

Perhaps the much anticipated 3 ruckman scenario should come into affect, with Charman given a permanent role there. I think if Brennan miraculousy keeps his spot, he should NOT be moved around in the course of the game ,he should play the whole game either at CHB or in the forward line and not swapped between. IMO, one of the talls really needs to be given a very clear role in the forward line and stuck there for the whole game against C'wood. Either run around CHB or stay in the square, whatever it is, just stay there and provide a target. Whether that's Patful, Charman, Clark or even Notting or Hadley, I just think it needs to happen.

blackclaw
19 May 2007, 18:54
i think there are a couple of ways of thinking about this.

we have been without Bradshaw the whole of this season so far but we have still managed to put together some wins, some which were very convincing. Brown has been double / triple / quadruple etc teamed all year. the last two matches perhaps when our midfield has not dominated and got on top we have noticed this problem with Brown moreso than when our midfield was on top. when the midfield is getting the ball into the forward 50 and those players are getting to support Brown, and kicking goals themselves, the double teaming issue is perhaps not as bad as todays game.

another point is that the Brown double-teaming thing isn't really going to be solved in the near future, unless we either A: have a significant other/s in the forward line along side him (Johnno? Clark?) or B: move him out of the position altogether. option B is completely out there and more tongue and cheek than serious, however if you think about it, put him down at CHB and the opposition wouldn't know what the **** was going on! dont worry, not a serious suggestion, but after todays performance, may as well throw anything out there!

campbell
19 May 2007, 18:55
Not sure, probably want to actually watch the game(if I have the guts:o). before I comment too much and I look forward to see what the rest of the guys made of it.

Perhaps the much anticipated 3 ruckman scenario should come into affect, with Charman given a permanent role there. I think if Brennan miraculousy keeps his spot, he should NOT be moved around in the course of the game ,he should play the whole game either at CHB or in the forward line and not swapped between. IMO, one of the talls really needs to be given a very clear role in the forward line and stuck there for the whole game against C'wood. Either run around CHB or stay in the square, whatever it is, just stay there and provide a target. Whether that's Patful, Charman, Clark or even Notting or Hadley, I just think it needs to happen.

It is not pretty to watch. Compounded more by the fact that on Fox atm is the 2002 GF, and u can see how far we are from where we were.

I don't know what the answer is. Clark is only week 2 back I think in ressies, I may be wrong though.

merrit maybe.No idea.

Kochie 16
19 May 2007, 19:15

Thoughts?
He has been crumbling under the pressure of being the main forward option. McGrath has been alright but not consitant enough. Charman has had a shocking start to the season and must improve for us to win games. With Braddles in the forward line we might have won today. A crap effort from the team today and some players need to lift imediatly if we are to make the top 8.

Homer Jnr
19 May 2007, 19:43
To answer the question... No.

If you are going to blame his goalkicking, then Patfull wouldn't have played today and what not.

Getting 4-5 shots on goal for Browny means he is taking 4-5 marks inside 50, and for us thats sizeable. If another tall option can 2-3 and a small forward and/or midfielder can take another couple, we are going to have enough set shots to put a decent score on the board.

Having played a few weeks back in a Div 1 ressies game as 'the' tall forward with only 16 players on our team, I can tell you for fact that beating 2 or sometimes 3 opponents is close to impossible and you get worked over physically and mentally. Browny has big shoulders, but we have to be careful not to throw too much onto them.

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 20:01
He has been crumbling under the pressure of being the main forward option. McGrath has been alright but not consitant enough. Charman has had a shocking start to the season and must improve for us to win games. With Braddles in the forward line we might have won today. A crap effort from the team today and some players need to lift imediatly if we are to make the top 8.

I thin we can still crawl into the top 8 but things need to improve from next week.

Kochie 16
19 May 2007, 20:17
I thin we can still crawl into the top 8 but things need to improve from next week.
That we do. FIrst department of improvement: THE RUCK.
Charman has failed so far to find his form that he was carrying last year and mcdonald can't be relied upon to do the main ruck duties all the time, Wood should come back in the next few weeks.

Second department: THE FORWARD LINE.
Inaccurate kicking has cost us a few games already this season and the way things are heading I'm gonna have to predict more 'doom & gloom'. No matter how good JB is, We can't rely on him to boot all our goals. Charman has had very little effect up there and McGrath needs to kick a few more each week. Patful is still young and when is Clark gonna come into the side? I have heard from a little bird (opps, I mean a Brown Dog) that this Fellow has stacks of potential, i would love to see this guy in action to see if he all that he's hyped up to be and to give Browny aa bit of relief.

Our backline is doing Okay considering that our boys haven't had their opponents kicking big bags agianst them........yet.

The bottom line is How badly do we want to play finals footy this year? If we want to serously get into the top 8 this year then EVERYONE must lift their game up a few notches. And with another injurry to stiller one of our best youngsters week in and week out, there will be a bit of a gap to fill and hopefully sherman will find his form and prove why he is one of the best youngster we have. Sorry to say this but the way we have been playing this year, it looks like another spetemberless year (although i have been wrong once or twice before).

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 20:35
That we do. FIrst department of improvement: THE RUCK.
Charman has failed so far to find his form that he was carrying last year and mcdonald can't be relied upon to do the main ruck duties all the time, Wood should come back in the next few weeks.

Second department: THE FORWARD LINE.
Inaccurate kicking has cost us a few games already this season and the way things are heading I'm gonna have to predict more 'doom & gloom'. No matter how good JB is, We can't rely on him to boot all our goals. Charman has had very little effect up there and McGrath needs to kick a few more each week. Patful is still young and when is Clark gonna come into the side? I have heard from a little bird (opps, I mean a Brown Dog) that this Fellow has stacks of potential, i would love to see this guy in action to see if he all that he's hyped up to be and to give Browny aa bit of relief.

Our backline is doing Okay considering that our boys haven't had their opponents kicking big bags agianst them........yet.

The bottom line is How badly do we want to play finals footy this year? If we want tot serously get nito the top 8 this year then EVERYONE must lift their game up a few notches. And with another injurry to stiller one of our best youngsters week in and week out, there will be a bit of a gap to fill and hopefully sherman will find his form nad prove why he is one of the best youngster we have. Sorry to say this but the way we have been playing this year, it looks like another spetemberless year (although i have been wrong once or twice before).

I think Wood would do well. But the way we fade out at the end of the season, we must win matches now.

Bobby Beecroft
19 May 2007, 20:37
This is the other reason why I have dropped my post rate (some here know what I mean). Everyone is entitled to there opinion.............................
But this is a Ridiculous thread.

All I will say is the sooner Mitch Clarke can be back the better. JP is a 3rd string forward option who often lacks a presence. I suggested during the week he will be lucky to hold his spot & see no reason to alter this stance.

PS. Given the youth of our squad games like this will occur. Not fun but they will happen.

Threads created like this I find embarrasing & hope opposition supporters don't waste there time to read.:rolleyes:

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 21:01
Thoughts?

I think that the notion of Brown getting dropped is laughable.

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 21:05

It's like dropping Power or Black.

loyallion
19 May 2007, 21:10

I would hate to ever see Browny get dropped infact I would be very pissed off if he did I would just love to know why he is struggling so badly Is he injured? is thier something off field that is bothering him?I mean sure its normal for a FF to have a bad game or two but he has been struggling for most of the season Something is up with him (in regards to goals) I am aware he is being tagged by anything up to 3 men at a time but that doesnt explain why he is missing gettible shots its just not a typical "Browny" thing.:confused:

campbell
19 May 2007, 21:11
Like we never thought Sherman would ever get dropped/

Never ever will the above 3 get dropped.it would not be pretty if they were.

loyallion
19 May 2007, 21:15
It was a hyperthetical question.... I do not want this to happen I was just hoping to discuss this with other Lion supporters.

Grimreepah
19 May 2007, 21:15
I am aware he is being tagged by anything up to 3 men at a time but that doesnt explain why he is missing gettible shots its just not a typical "Browny" thing.:confused:

I think it does. It's a battle for him to get into the game and that makes it hard to find rhythm.

beatnik
19 May 2007, 21:28
loyallion, if yours was a genuine question then here is my genuine answer: no, brown would not be dropped - there is not a single player in the game who could do more under the same pressure he faces every time he attacks the ball

brown's inability to kick bags of goals is a symptom of our problems, not the cause...we were thumped in the middle and across halfback so our forward entry was terrible :o

loyallion
19 May 2007, 21:31
loyallion, if yours was a genuine question then here is my genuine answer: no, brown would not be dropped - there is not a single player in the game who could do more under the same pressure he faces every time he attacks the ball

brown's inability to kick bags of goals is a symptom of our problems, not the cause...we were thumped in the middle and across halfback so our forward entry was terrible :o

Yes it was a genuine question I should have had that in at the beginning I am actually worried that he will get dropped I dont want him to!

Grimreepah
19 May 2007, 21:34
Yes it was a genuine question I should have had that in at the beginning I am actually worried that he will get dropped I dont want him to!

There is more chance of Marcus Allan playing in the ruck than Browny being dropped.

Bobby Beecroft
19 May 2007, 21:35

Thoughts?

Read this again to yourself.
This is not the way anyone would write a hyperthetical question.
You put it up so don't start Back Pedalling.
Be accountable for what you are presenting.

Yes this is embarrassing............. & this type of Cr@p like it or not gives us ALL a bad name by association, based on the fact that we all follow the one club.
A point that seems to be missed too often here at times.

The Flying Belgian
19 May 2007, 21:37

Please don't take this the wrong way, but I'm really struggling to believe you'd actually consider that a possibility... :eek:

d-mac3276
19 May 2007, 21:43
The dumbest thread ever. How can the guy play any good when the midfield can't deliver the ball to the bloke properly.
Can't believe i'm actually reading let alone replying to it.

loyallion
19 May 2007, 21:44
Read this again to yourself.
This is not the way anyone would write a hyperthetical question.
You put it up so don't start Back Pedalling.
Be accountable for what you are presenting.

Yes this is embarrassing............. & this type of Cr@p like it or not gives us ALL a bad name by association, based on the fact that we all follow the one club.
A point that seems to be missed too often here at times.

Ok for one I am NOT back Pedalling I know what I meant when I wrote it
and two I am not going to bother even getting into an argument over it.

It was a question thats it.

Dont make a mountain out of a mole hill and get over it.

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 21:53
I don't see how it can be a hypothetical question when you are putting it in the context of Brown's recent performances.

MacMum
19 May 2007, 21:54
I would like to see Tim Notting closer to goal, he is a proven goal kicker, but they must do something to give Browny some help..every time the ball goes near him, the opposition surround him, usually no other Lions crumming nearby ... perhaps use JB as a decoy for a while, but they must leave a couple of other players inside 50m at all times...so often ball gets up there..no-one home..its a worry:eek: ............and NO....JB getting dropped? unthinkable!!

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 22:00
I know I am pushing the Mitch Clark bandwagon hard, but I really think he'd add great dimension to our forward line.

Would free up Patfull as the third tall instead of the second and would limit the ability of the opposition to double/triple team the Brown Dog.

Assuming he comes through tomorrow unscathed, I think we'll see Mitchy boy line up against the Pies next week.

Bobby Beecroft
19 May 2007, 22:05
I know I am pushing the Mitch Clark bandwagon hard, but I really think he'd add great dimension to our forward line.

Would free up Patfull as the third tall instead of the second and would limit the ability of the opposition to double/triple team the Brown Dog.

Assuming he comes through tomorrow unscathed, I think we'll see Mitchy boy line up against the Pies next week.

Ohhh FFS!!!
How dare you come here & show the slighest piece of football knowledge.
Now run along & create a slanderous thread about our club or one of our players on the main board............ hypothetically speaking anyway.;)

Be careful with this insight you may end up writing for a glossy AFL magazine one day. :D

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 22:05

Do you really think Clark is going to change the team that much.

Ceebee
19 May 2007, 22:11

I think we just have to throw him in the deep end and see what happens.
Just hope he gets through tomorrow unscathed A fit and hungry Hooper could be handy too.

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 22:12

Let me dream. :o

konstas_87

Thoughts?

you dipstick... didnt u watch any of last season? bradshaw had the same problem, only difference is he kicked straighter.
if bradshaw was back browny wouldnt have the problem!
we have all gotten used to browny beating 3 opponents, but facts are if u arent in sublime form you can only beat one opponent, not 2-3 week-in week-out. watch the replays of the month of footy bradshaw and brown played together last year.
there is your emphatic answer.

Grimreepah

I'm with you BrownDog:thumbsu: He sounds like he is still a bit rusty, but boy do we need another presence in the forward line. If he has a decent game tomorrow I'd be willing to rush him back.

Bobby Beecroft
19 May 2007, 22:13

He will help straighten us up, & provide a secondary option.
Clark will create a presence much like Jamie but he is a more natural forward than Jamie. The opposition will have to worry about him & Brown, & not zone off their opponents to help quell JB as easily as they have done recently.

Given that he is still only in his infancy.
The expectations should not be that he will not come in & slot 5 goals every week.

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 22:13
Ohhh FFS!!!
How dare you come here & show the slighest piece of football knowledge.
Now run along & create a slanderous thread about our club or one of our players on the main board............ hypothetically speaking anyway.;)

Be careful with this insight you may end up writing for a glossy AFL magazine one day. :D

Sorry :(

Drop Black, Brown, Power, Matthews and Bowers immediately!

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 22:30
For the record, why would we rush a 2nd year player into the team, who has had major stress injuries for nearly a year?Give him time in the 2nds to get some match fitness, we don't want to flog a young forward. We want him long term, not thrown in at the deep end.

If a player has a serious stress injury concern, he wouldn't be playing in the ressies Campbell.

And anyway, his OP was deemed to be no longer a problem 2 months ago, the only reason he has missed the start of the season was due to a bruised knee joint which arose out of an awkward fall.

Lets treat everything with the utmost caution, lets give Brown another year off for his stress fractures while we are at it.

Charmo should have taken a year to get over his achilles, I can't believe we've risked Drummo... that left buttock is a bomb waiting to go off!

campbell
19 May 2007, 22:32
If a player has a stress injury concern, he wouldn't be playing in the ressies Campbell.

And anyway, his OP was deemed to be no longer a problem 2 months ago, the only reason he has missed the start of the season was due to a bruised knee joint which arose out of an awkward fall.

Lets treat everything with the utmost caution, lets give Brown another year off for his stress fractures while we are at it.

Charmo should have taken a year to get over his achilles, I can't believe we've risked Drummo... that left buttock is a bomb waiting to go off!

So is he match fit?

Lions_Master
19 May 2007, 22:36
Sorry :(

Drop Black, Brown, Power, Matthews and Bowers immediately!

I can see it now! Top four for us or is that the bottom four :confused:

POBT
19 May 2007, 22:38
So is he match fit?

Going on Selwood's inclusion in the senior team after two games in the reserves, you would have to think that Clark is a legitimate option for promotion.

My opinion has always been that 2 tall marking options plus a roving medium/tall forward is the best mix. Brown is a given. I would like to see Clark return as the 2nd tall with Johnno or Patfull as the roving player.

BTW, I only saw the first half of footy today but it seems to me that too much criticism is laid at other forwards and not enough at the midfield for continuing to kick to a 2 or 3 on 1.

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 22:39
So is he match fit?

Would be close to it I imagine.

Close enough to make a valuable contribution to the side.

Looked reluctant to come off for Leuenberger last weekend, will be even better for the run tomorrow.

He's very much a natural athlete.

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 22:40
BTW, I only saw the first half of footy today but it seems to me that too much criticism is laid at other forwards and not enough at the midfield for continuing to kick to a 2 or 3 on 1.

Felt like there was 30 Essendon players on the field at some stages.

campbell
19 May 2007, 22:41
Going on Selwood's inclusion in the senior team after two games in the reserves, you would have to think that Clark is a legitimate option for promotion.

My opinion has always been that 2 tall marking options plus a roving medium/tall forward is the best mix. Brown is a given. I would like to see Clark return as the 2nd tall with Johnno or Patfull as the roving player.

The thing with Clark. Having had a stress related injury last season, and then a knee this season. He is not match fit. He is young, has had 2 major injuries in 1 and a bit years. I just think some more time to get match fit and ready in the ressies is a better option than rushing him in.

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 22:46
The thing with Clark. Having had a stress related injury last season, and then a knee this season. He is not match fit. He is young, has had 2 major injuries in 1 and a bit years. I just think some more time to get match fit and ready in the ressies is a better option than rushing him in.

As long as he contributes his share, what is wrong with him getting match fit in the seniors?

And that comment is based on assumption that I agree with your analysis of Clark not being 'match fit', which I don't.

POBT
Selwood had a back injury that was career threatening. At the beginning of this season, the talk still was that he may have to retire. I don't think his injury situation was any less dire than Mitch's. I would prefer not to second guess the club's fitness and injury rehabilitation staff. We learnt that lesson when some people were ruling Adock out for weeks during the pre-season.

TheBrownDog
Selwood had a back injury that was career threatening. At the beginning of this season, the talk still was that he may have to retire. I would prefer not to second guess the club's fitness and injury rehabilitation staff. We learnt that lesson when some people were ruling Adock out for weeks during the pre-season.

And Possum.

Bobby Beecroft
19 May 2007, 22:48

But if he plays deep in the forward line how match fit does he need to be?
As someone stated a couple of games & Troy Selwood seems to have been OK.
I had thought from reports that Mitch was in fact alternating with Leuey on the ball last week. If he is able to do so tommorrow then you would think he could survive a game playing solely up forward.

campbell
19 May 2007, 22:50
As long as he contributes his share, what is wrong with him getting match fit in the seniors?

And that comment is based on assumption that I agree with your analysis of Clark not being 'match fit', which I don't.

A big man is different in match fitness than a midfielder, like Selwood.

How can he be match fit after the lower level of game in the ressies and only a few games?

Whats wrong with erring on the side of caution and give him a few more weeks.

POBT
19 May 2007, 22:52

How can he be match fit after the lower level of game in the ressies and only a few games?

I'm sorry but I don't understand that. Generally it is considered that midfielders require a higher level of "match" fitness than forwards. :confused:

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 22:53

Then why not a few more weeks, and a few more, and a few more?

If our qualified people (i.e. not you, not me) like our medical and training stuff give him the all-clear, I'd like to see him in ASAP.

campbell
19 May 2007, 23:05
I'm sorry but I don't understand that. Generally it is considered that midfielders require a higher level of "match" fitness than forwards. :confused:

Bigmen develop and gain fitness at a slower rate than midfielders.

Like Charmo is not flash at the moment, do we need another bigman who we need to fill a hole to come up short for us.

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 23:08
Bigmen develop and gain fitness at a slower rate than midfielders.

Like Charmo is not flash at the moment, do we need another bigman who we need to fill a hole to come up short for us.

Mitch is more of a lean forward, he's not top heavy like Brown and Charmo.

Definitely fit enough to provide leads up forward for the majority of a match.

roostersgal4eva
19 May 2007, 23:14
surely we must bring Wood back in so that Jamie can be that second option

campbell
19 May 2007, 23:21
surely we must bring Wood back in so that Jamie can be that second option

I put that forward earlier, I think it sounds like a good option to me.Wood is fully fit,and by the reports on the Lions website has been okay in the ruck in the ressies.So he and Beau would be okay with the ruck and Charmo in the forward line.

TheBrownDog
19 May 2007, 23:24
I put that forward earlier, I think it sounds like a good option to me.Wood is fully fit,and by the reports on the Lions website has been okay in the ruck in the ressies.So he and Beau would be okay with the ruck and Charmo in the forward line.

I've noticed Jamie running under the ball alot lately. I can't seem to put my finger on why, whether its problems judging the flight of the ball, or if he's getting a gentle shove in the back....

I'm finding it quite frustrating.

POBT
19 May 2007, 23:44
I have no problem in someone suggesting that our co-captain and best player might be best served by being dropped. I do have a problem with it after today's game because Browny was not the cause of our loss.

A question: is there anyone who genuinely believes that Browny should be dropped?

maroon and blue
19 May 2007, 23:54
Unless JB gets some help up forward his being asked to go against 2/3players each week increases his risk of injury.

loyallion
20 May 2007, 00:00
I have no problem in someone suggesting that our co-captain and best player might be best served by being dropped. I do have a problem with it after today's game because Browny was not the cause of our loss.

A question: is there anyone who genuinely believes that Browny should be dropped?

Ok I'm going to try and write this simple as possible to aviod further conflict.

My friend and I were talking about superstar players that have been in poor form and have been dropped to the 2nds that have came back and found thier form and have a great year afterwards.

This is how Browny's name got mentioned, my mate then asked me the question what if Browny had somebody that could be having a blinder in the 2nds that could possibly be threatening for a place in the senior side, would browny be dropped by now if this was the an option.

I personally wouldnt ever want Browny to ever be dropped I do however want him to be kicking more goals and get back to his old superstar self.

TheBrownDog
20 May 2007, 00:01
Ok I'm going to try and write this simple as possible to aviod further conflict.

My friend and I were talking about superstar players that have been in poor form and have been dropped to the 2nds that have came back and found thier form and have a great year afterwards.

This is how Browny's name got mentioned, my mate then asked me the question what if Browny had somebody that could be having a blinder in the 2nds that could possibly be threatening for a place in the senior side, would browny be dropped by now if this was the an option.

I personally wouldnt ever want Browny to ever be dropped I do however want him to be kicking more goals and get back to his old superstar self.

I'll take a one-dimensional forward line over a zero-dimensional one any day. :p

Ceebee
20 May 2007, 00:06
Unless JB gets some help up forward his being asked to go against 2/3players each week increases his risk of injury.
Yes it is a major worry isn't it , he needs help and very soon. If he breaks down. it will be bye bye season.He can't keep going the way he is , a whole new game plan needs to happen,now.!!!

TheBrownDog
20 May 2007, 00:11
Yes it is a major worry isn't it , he needs help and very soon. If he breaks down. it will be bye bye season.He can't keep going the way he is , a whole new game plan needs to happen,now.!!!

Bring in Clark and Leuenberger as tall forwards :D

I call it the "Shock and Awe" forward line strategy.

Hell, even have Bradshaw roaming the goal square with crutches...

And what's Lynchy up to these days, looks pretty fit on TV... could give him a run. :D

BigCat2
20 May 2007, 00:13
Aye, it must be really tough on the fella. To carry the weight of most of the team on his shoulders, battling both physically and mentally and getting little reward for it. Add the frustration of poor forward entry and guys mucking up further afield. Must be sapping his energy level. Even heart alone sometimes isn't enough.

BigCat2
20 May 2007, 00:14

And what's Lynchy up to these days, looks pretty fit on TV... could give him a run. :D

There is already patent on the "All Talls, No Smalls" strategy. ;)

TheBrownDog
20 May 2007, 00:17
There is already patent on the "All Talls, No Smalls" strategy. ;)

Oh :(

maroon and blue
20 May 2007, 00:18
I can't remember a player getting monstered as much as Browny and not getting support. And I have been following football a long time. Got me absolutely perplexed why Leigh doesn't put a big body in there to give him some respite.

Ceebee
20 May 2007, 00:20

And how many reds have you had tonight young Andrew:confused:

BigCat2
20 May 2007, 00:26
Oh :(

That's ok, there's still merit (not Merrett - haha) in it.

Why not play Brown and Charman as dual Full Forwards. Sure Jamie isn't a natural forward, but his presence will certainly be felt, and he will be able to keep at least 1 of Browny's 4627 opponents honest. We saw how Lynch and Brown helped out each other, and similarly last year when the 2 Bs kicked a million between them.

At the moment Charmo's forward ventures are not very effective. Why not use his strength in physical strength and have him crash packs near the goalsquare. Besides having a buddy to help you out, it must be much better for confidence to have a mate there, rather than just a sea of opposition every time you look up.

maroon and blue
20 May 2007, 00:35
Forgive me as I do not want to be drawn into the above issue. It has been a very stressful day, my team got thrashed and on the way home my old mobile phone went mad vibrating and making a high pitch sound. Everyone on the train looked at me as if i was a terrorist. I even tried to sit on it to muffle the noise but I think that made people even more suspicious.

Monster
20 May 2007, 00:56
Back on topic - Not much Brown could do double teamed by Michael and Fletcher, two of the best FB's in the last decade.

What I saw of him when he went into the midfield though was promising, he seemed to be running faster and moving better than I have seen this year. So lets hope we can find a few new targets in the next few weeks so he doesnt get too much attention :)

Snuka
20 May 2007, 02:17
I can't remember a player getting monstered as much as Browny and not getting support. And I have been following football a long time. Got me absolutely perplexed why Leigh doesn't put a big body in there to give him some respite.

And I think you have it M&B...there are guys that should be taking advantage by leading away from JB or hanging around his feet, but it just doesnt seem to be happening.

konstas_87
20 May 2007, 02:54
So is he match fit?

no1 is AFL match fit until they have played at least 2-3 matches (i.e. drummond right now). thats why its called "match-fit".

konstas_87
20 May 2007, 02:55
re: mitch clark
im not sure he will help much, but what choice do we have, the charmo move is good as a surprise tactic, ruckman pushing forward, but its not a long term option.
i dont like drummond forward, he has a great long left foot but him and adcock in defence makes for good kick-ins :p.

p.s. missed johnno tonight something shocking.

notting18
20 May 2007, 11:57
Browny did all he could yesterday. I watched the game at the dome and for most of the game Fletcher and Mal were double-teaming brown (two of the best full backs of the last 10 years playing on you is not easy) and others would fly everytime he went near the ball.

If Bradshaw was playing Brown would've had one of those players not on him as well or if they did bradshaw would've killed them by not being manned up properly.

The main issue i see with our forward line is that Brown was the ONLY player who would be moving around making opportunities when the ball was coming in to the forward line. McGrath and Patfull were the worst offenders.

maroon and blue
20 May 2007, 12:37
So true, forward structure was non existent from early in the first quarter. But the coaching staff should have rectified it immediately. In Leigh's after match talk he highlited the Michael/Fletcher double teaming(sometimes triple teaming) of Browny as if it was a suprise. Well hello, Browny has been set upon all year and there has not been a plan to rectify the situation. Probably the worst bit of forward play I have seen. Even in the days of old Fitzroy at least there was a forward line to start with though it would fall apart after a time.

Tim the Toolman
21 May 2007, 08:15
Whoever's job it was to be front and centre for Browny will be the one dropped this week, regardless of who is fit.

konstas_87
21 May 2007, 11:23
Maccas obviously. he did it for a far part, just didnt kick straight this week.

i agree though, if our spare man (cough brennan) doesnt take advantage of browny being double teamed we will get beaten every week .

maroon and blue
21 May 2007, 12:04
Don't know if Jared is the right man to help out Browny. We need someone who is willing to put there body in and he doesn't appear to be a physical player.

Lady Lawrence
21 May 2007, 14:03
what if we played Charman as the other leading forward and then had Beau and Cam as the rucks?

maroon and blue
21 May 2007, 14:06
My thoughts too LL. Leigh and the staff seem unwilling to go for 3 ruck types, must think the team will be top heavy. But after sat night anything is worth a try.