View Full Version : Round 9 - Geelong v Port Adelaide in Adelaide

SriLankanCat
19 May 2007, 19:51
Big game for us. I rekcon we will win by 40.

Id say Varcoe might make way for Chapman although Varcoes chasing was great today. Prismall must surely come in, maybe for Rooke who is injured.

Tenace was good today but if Rooke is ok then perhaps he will make way.

Josh Hunt was terrific today and i hope he keeps his place.

chapmanmagic35
19 May 2007, 19:54

Id say Varcoe might make way for Chapman although Varcoes chasing was great today. Prismall must surely come in, maybe for Rooke who is injured.

1) 40 points? Haha. I will be stoked if we win this, let alone win by close to seven goals.

2) Varcoe??????? You have got to be kidding me. What are you thinking?

3) Hunt was okay - why should he automatically keep his place? He was average in the VFL prior to this and was very lucky to get a chance.

finrod
19 May 2007, 20:04
As good Varcoe's tackling and pressure in the forward line was, he didn't get a lot of the ball so I think he should make way for Chappy. I would be very happy to win this game by even one point also. I think Selwood should be rested and replaced by Prismall even though he is doing ok. Gotta have some time off eventually. Hunt was pretty good today so I don't know how we're going to fit Mackie and Harley back into the side. Any news on how well Harley played in the 2s?

IN: Chappy, Prismall, Harley?, Mackie???
OUT: Varcoe, Selwood, Rooke?, ???

chapmanmagic35
19 May 2007, 20:05
I am not too sure of the whole issue of 'resting'. Selwood is going well, and Varcoe's pressure is second to none.

Would be very disappointed if Varcoe was omitted.

rizzo
19 May 2007, 20:08

Win by 40 interstate? Laughable.

Varcoe wont go out. Hes been to good.

Tenace was 28 touches good. How can you drop him after that?? LOL

He was, but youd rather drop tenace... going by the stats then Josh is out.

2 Changes for me:

OUT: Rooke (inj) & Hunt
IN: Chappy & Mackie

Dont no to hard.

Seb
19 May 2007, 20:13

2 Changes for me:

Dont no to hard.

Agree wholeheartedly.

Don't get me wrong, Josh Hunt was good today, but Chappy is a certainty to come into the team, and Varcoe and Selwood have been superb. Selwood adds plenty of pressure in close and wins the hard ball, Varcoe is a goal kicker and we saw glimpses of his ability to play as a forward out of the goal square today.

On top of that, Josh Hunt has a terrible record out of Victoria. He really struggles.

It's going to be a tough game, but it's the kind of game that can really make our season. If we win this, I'll be over the ****ing moon.

catempire
19 May 2007, 20:17
How many times does it have to be said, minimal changes when winning!

Chappy is the only player that should walk into this 22. The others should be judged on team balance, match ups and of course, form.

CatmanForever
19 May 2007, 20:17
I actually think this one will be our toughest test and I am not confident of winning it. Beating Adelaide at AAMI is achievable, but Port is going to be very very tough.

I thought Varcoe was patchy today and I can understand why some suggest droppng him. But if it aint broke don't fix it. Rooke should be omitted, chappy back in and I thought Bomber suggested Harley was chance too post match. Mackie should come back if he is fit but it his ankle and knee that is the problem so let's not rush him in for the sake of it. Let his injury recover, we have the depth to cover him.

chapmanmagic35
19 May 2007, 20:18

2 Changes for me:

Dont no to hard.

Bingo. I don't know where SrilankanCat gets his ideas from.

catempire
19 May 2007, 20:20
Varcoe's biggest contribution to the team is his pressure in the forward line. he creates several goals every week by pressuring defenders. If he kicks a couple and creates 2 or 3 then that's more than doing his job.

thegerman
19 May 2007, 20:54

2 Changes for me:

Dont no to hard.

Easy to drop Tenace, especially when 4 of his last quarter possessions went straight to the opposition.

Josh Hunt did something today and stood up for himself, he backed into an oncomming pack and thumped the ball away, and if you all remember the flinch from last year, that states something.

Rooke is definitely out, back/hamstring. Mackie isn't a straight inclusion, not too sure how his knee is fairing up. Chappy though is a bonus for us, with a week off he will do well.

You'd think that Prismall is unlucky, with Selwood continuing to show some form. Can't take out Varcoe from this team, his pressure on the forward line, along with Stokes is fantastic. Something we've needed for so long. He may have injured his ankle slightly at the end of the game, so that may force him out, but the way he is playing, you can't drop him at the moment.

Maybe Prismall for Rooke, Chappy for Tenace. No need to rush Mackie straight back in, if he isn't up to it.

catempire
19 May 2007, 20:56
Easy to drop Tenace, especially when 4 of his last quarter possessions went straight to the opposition.

Josh Hunt did something today and stood up for himself, he backed into an oncomming pack and thumped the ball away, and if you all remember the flinch from last year, that states something.

Rooke is definitely out, back/hamstring. Mackie isn't a straight inclusion, not too sure how his knee is fairing up. Chappy though is a bonus for us, with a week off he will do well.

You'd think that Prismall is unlucky, with Selwood continuing to show some form.

Maybe Prismall for Rooke, Chappy for Tenace. No need to rush Mackie straight back in, if he isn't up to it.

Please! Tenace had 20+ quality possessions today. When 4 out of 28 go to the opposition in a scrappy match, who cares? He won't be dropped.

Some people have an amazing ability to focus on the negative.

Metallica_Man
19 May 2007, 21:02
on the radio thompson said that rooke will be fine for next week, they just didnt want to risk him

WE Are Geelong
19 May 2007, 21:05
Please! Tenace had 20+ quality possessions today. When 4 out of 28 go to the opposition in a scrappy match, who cares? He won't be dropped.

Some people have an amazing ability to focus on the negative.

Interesting game by Tenace. I walked away from the ground thinking he was so so...but in hindsight he did fine. Sometimes at a match you dont always focus on every player and some get under the radar.

The match against Port as some have already rightly pointed out will be extremely tough. They are super fit and will run the four quarters right out. I wont start suggesting what we are going to do to combat this as its too early just mainly the fitness and discipline of their side is very impressive this season and we will really get a proper taste of football 2007 style over there next weekend. Hostile environment and a very hot footy all game long.

Hood007
19 May 2007, 21:05
You can't drop Tenace, regardless of how many touches (28) he had, we need to play him for at least a few more weeks to see what he can do. Besides, his form doesn't even warrant omission.

The only guys that you would consider for next week would be Chappy, Harley and Mackie if fit. It's gonna be hard fitting those 3 in let alone Prismall.

The million dollar question is, who do you drop?

fugsy
19 May 2007, 21:21
Interesting game by Tenace. I walked away from the ground thinking he was so so...but in hindsight he did fine. Sometimes at a match you dont always focus on every player and some get under the radar.

The match against Port as some have already rightly pointed out will be extremely tough. They are super fit and will run the four quarters right out. I wont start suggesting what we are going to do to combat this as its too early just mainly the fitness and discipline of their side is very impressive this season and we will really get a proper taste of football 2007 style over there next weekend. Hostile environment and a very hot footy all game long.

This is the key sentence. I haven't seen the Freo game yet, but from what I've read they kicked the first 3 goals to get within 20 points in the last quarter. Same happened last week against West Coast. Luckily we were able to play out the game, but we had a decent lead before that. The real test will be how our boys handle the pressure if this happens in a much closer game, which is what I think the Port game will be.

Mr.Chicken
19 May 2007, 21:57
I think Varcoe will be dropped. Why? He wasnt bad, he I think is the "general" of our foward pressure and the main reason we have all of a sudden become good at pressuring our opponenents inside 50. Unfortunately, he just doesnt get the ball enough. Have to bring in Chapman, he is just pure class. He is the right sort of direct positison swap for Chapman - I know Chappers plays more in the midfield now but he still ventures foward. However Harley and Mackie throw up problems. I think Hunt did enough to warrant a stay in the seniors at least for another game unfortunately for Mackie but if Harley comes in, I dont know who will make way for him. It is a very hard match to judge by as alot of our weaker players stood up and played well and it was true team effort.

Rockford
19 May 2007, 21:58
We're going to have to improve a hell of a lot to overcome Port in Adelaide. I'd be very happy if we could take the 4 points from either of the 2 games in Adelaide.

conanthelibrarian
19 May 2007, 22:16
All these people saying Varcoe should be dropped need to get off the grass. So what if he's not getting 20 plus possessions a game? He is effective in other ways, namely putting pressure on the opposition in our forward line. Cast your mind back to 2004, and one of the areas we excelled at was forwardline pressure, and Varcoe has that in spades. Up until today the guy was averaging only 7 possessions, but also 4.5 tackles and just on 2 goals a game.

I know that Chapman will be back this week, but I wouldn't drop Varcoe to make room for him. Maybe a Tenace or even Selwood, but not Varcoe. I'd rather have a guy chasing and harrassing opponents running out of our forwardline even though he's not getting much of the ball, like Varcoe, then a player getting cheap kicks that usually are wayward off the half back line, like Tenace.

Seb
19 May 2007, 22:48
All these people saying Varcoe should be dropped need to get off the grass. So what if he's not getting 20 plus possessions a game? He is effective in other ways, namely putting pressure on the opposition in our forward line. Cast your mind back to 2004, and one of the areas we excelled at was forwardline pressure, and Varcoe has that in spades. Up until today the guy was averaging only 7 possessions, but also 4.5 tackles and just on 2 goals a game.

I know that Chapman will be back this week, but I wouldn't drop Varcoe to make room for him. Maybe a Tenace or even Selwood, but not Varcoe. I'd rather have a guy chasing and harrassing opponents running out of our forwardline even though he's not getting much of the ball, like Varcoe, then a player getting cheap kicks that usually are wayward off the half back line, like Tenace.

Thus, Josh Hunt must make way for Chapman.

It's quite simple really.

Copernicus
19 May 2007, 23:00
Very big game, this one. If we take this one out then I think we will go on and beat the Saints and Adelaide (not sure who we have after this stretch). I am not very confident, though. From what I have heard, Port are just playing hard, tough footy, nothing flashy just getting the job done. We'll need to be at the top of our game.

Chappy will come in for sure - probably a straight swap with Hunt will work if he was playing a midfield role, not sure who else he might replace as everyone else seems to be doing their jobs.

foxdoog50
19 May 2007, 23:07
Its good, but bad to see the depth we do have when playing well, e.g If Varcoe, Sellwood, Hawkins, Prissmall get drop and the players who come up to take there place, u jusy wish they all could get a game at the same time..

foxdoog50
19 May 2007, 23:08
Harley will play next week...

Glassjaw
19 May 2007, 23:16
Harley will play next week...

True, unfortunately.

I'm making a 500km trip for the game though so I hope it's a cracker!

TGTOA
19 May 2007, 23:22
I think Stokes could be the unlucky one to make way for Chappy. He hasn't done anything wrong, but to keep the current team balance, it seems a natural swap, and we're not losing anything Chappy won't replace (such as if Varcoe was dropped). Other possibilities are Selwood (love his performances so far, but he can't match the output of more senior players atm) or Rooke (if not fit).

If Harley plays, he'd probably replace a small defender, since neither Egan nor Harley will get the chop. David Johnson would have to be on shaky ground, as would Hunt.

There just wouldn't seem to be room for Mackie to return. He'll have to earn his way back through the VFL. It's a damn good problem to have.

tin can sam
19 May 2007, 23:25
I think Stokes could be the unlucky one to make way for Chappy. He hasn't done anything wrong, but to keep the current team balance, it seems a natural swap, and we're not losing anything Chappy won't replace (such as if Varcoe was dropped). Other possibilities are Selwood (love his performances so far, but he can't match the output of more senior players atm) or Rooke (if not fit).

If Harley plays, he'd probably replace a small defender, since neither Egan nor Harley will get the chop. David Johnson would have to be on shaky ground, as would Hunt.

There just wouldn't seem to be room for Mackie to return. He'll have to earn his way back through the VFL. It's a damn good problem to have.

Both of those points in bold are bad bad bad ideas, and I hope the GFC dosn't even think about it.

Out: Hunt, Rooke (inj) D. Johnson
In: Mackie, Chapman, Harley

Johnson is a hard nut, but he just isn't an intelligent enough footballer.

Tonycam*
19 May 2007, 23:26

Couldnt take Stokey out of the side , he would be in our best 5 to 6 players today . I know you said he hasnt done anything wrong but I honestly thing there is others that could go before him.

TGTOA
19 May 2007, 23:33
Don't get me wrong, I don't want to see him dropped. But he's playing the small forward/midfielder role, and you'd have to say Chapman does that better. Dropping anyone else would change the balance of the team. Stokes has been playing well, but not well enough to make himself indespensible. IIRC, he came into the team when Chappy went out with injury, so now a straight swap back.

Purely on form, I'd rather see Hunt and Johnson make way for Harley and Chappy, but that probably leaves us a small defender short.

Bakes
19 May 2007, 23:38
. Unfortunately, he just doesnt get the ball enough. .

Firstly, I know what your saying. But pressuring at the front end is worth a kick. Every time you do it. Travis' pressure when the ballis comming out forces a turn over every now and then. That is why he is in the team. You need a mix of Couch's AND Bairstows.

finrod
19 May 2007, 23:50
That is why he is in the team. You need a mix of Couch's AND Bairstows.

... of which Varcoe is neither :p

Bakes
19 May 2007, 23:57
... of which Varcoe is neither :p

yes but he suits the analogy.

givers and receivers

sarah.13
20 May 2007, 11:54
IN- Chappy, Mackie.
OUT- Hunt, Selwood (If the young players are going to be rested as Bomber says,then a interstate game is the one to do it in.)
If Rooke doesn't come up then Harley in, otherwise another game in the Vfl.

BlueNWhite
20 May 2007, 12:21
Johnson is a hard nut, but he just isn't an intelligent enough footballer.

You want to drop D after the endeavour he showed yesterday? He threw himself into marking contests and took a MASSIVE hit from pavlich on the wing, was knocked on his ar*e then got up scrambled for the ball and turned what looked like the cats losing possession into a ballup - the cats fans on the wing gave him a standing ovation for it... and deservedly so... you can't reward his efforts from yesterday with omission, he has a crack, not the flashiest player going around but he gives his all and deserves his spot next week.

chapmanmagic35
20 May 2007, 12:24
You want to drop D after the endeavour he showed yesterday? He threw himself into marking contests and took a MASSIVE hit from pavlich on the wing, was knocked on his ar*e then got up scrambled for the ball and turned what looked like the cats losing possession into a ballup - the cats fans on the wing gave him a standing ovation for it... and deservedly so... you can't reward his efforts from yesterday with omission, he has a crack, not the flashiest player going around but he gives his all and deserves his spot next week.

Desperation and courage has never been his weakness, it is his accountability and football intelligence.

catempire
20 May 2007, 13:05
DJ's importance to the team is underrated.

Catters21
20 May 2007, 13:41

2 Changes for me:

Dont no to hard.

look at u trying to just cut down SLC's thoughts, well now its your turn....
tenace wasnt good, he just got the ball alot...pozzies dosent allways mean u played well, look at kelly he got the ball alot, but also turned it over alot. if chappy,mackie,harley,prismall are to come back in, the 4 outs would have to be Hunt, rooke (if he is inj) tenace, stokes.

that being said, Harley should come through the vfl, dunno if that would happen tho.

y is it "laughable" to win by 40 points? were playin good footy, and honestly port are playin above themselvs. catters to win by a big margin

foxdoog50
20 May 2007, 13:52
IN- Chappy, Mackie.
OUT- Hunt, Selwood (If the young players are going to be rested as Bomber says,then a interstate game is the one to do it in.)
If Rooke doesn't come up then Harley in, otherwise another game in the Vfl.

I cant see that they will leave our captain in vfl like that

sarah.13
20 May 2007, 13:57
I cant see that they will leave our captain in vfl like that

Agree, I just believe that he should be in form to get a game if they are going to drop some-one who is playing well.

foxdoog50
20 May 2007, 14:18
Agree, I just believe that he should be in form to get a game if they are going to drop some-one who is playing well.

I take in what u do say sarah

TassieCat
20 May 2007, 14:38
Agreed. . . . DJ shows guts and determination every week.

An interesting situation come selection time...better to be in this situation than the one St Kilda and Melbourne find themselves in though.

IMO

Out: Hunt, Rooke(if inj)
In: Chappy, Harley (if 110% ok)

If it ain't broke don't fix it!

catempire
20 May 2007, 14:40
Tenace was good regardless of the number of possessions he had.

He was good because he provided rebound off half back and started to do what we've all been wanting him to do for so many years - run!

sarah.13
20 May 2007, 14:54
Just been watching Pt.play, young Ebert looms as very dangerous player for us.
We have had problems with mid sized forwards in the past,big challenge for DJ or Hunt.Perhaps an opportunity for Callen?

rizzo
20 May 2007, 15:13
look at u trying to just cut down SLC's thoughts, well now its your turn....
tenace wasnt good, he just got the ball alot...pozzies dosent allways mean u played well, look at kelly he got the ball alot, but also turned it over alot. if chappy,mackie,harley,prismall are to come back in, the 4 outs would have to be Hunt, rooke (if he is inj) tenace, stokes.

that being said, Harley should come through the vfl, dunno if that would happen tho.

y is it "laughable" to win by 40 points? were playin good footy, and honestly port are playin above themselvs. catters to win by a big margin

You didnt really cut down my thoughts at all...

Really? He created so much run out of defence, did he not. He broke the lines and ran hard. His disposal does lack. However that will all come together as he gets games under his belt.

Agree about those changes, however we wont drop 4 players after the last few weeks. Tenace will be safe. Bomber is liking him on a HBF.

Well considering he played in the VFL yday. then i guess you could say he is ;)

It laughable because of our record interstate. We have won what 2 in the last few years? To think we will go over to SA play an in form port side at home at a ground we have had little success and flog them is laughable. If we are going to win it will NOT be a blowout.

Herbs
20 May 2007, 15:20
Port are a good side, cannot be underestimated, I hope Geelong wins, but I dunno.........

Jim Boy
20 May 2007, 17:47
with Port and the maggies losing today, the winner here will get second spot as its prize.

From50
20 May 2007, 18:19
Obviously Hunt worked his arse off early in his career to get into the team, far enough, but he had become to complasant in his thinking of automatic inclusion. Make him work his arse off again and earn his spot in the ones. His arrogance on the field is an example:thumbsd:

From50
20 May 2007, 18:21

DJ, Egan and Max (when fit) most underated trio in the comp!

lohnro
20 May 2007, 20:22
flood against port = win

Sean Sheep
20 May 2007, 23:24
I'll admit DJ has his flaws, but you simply cannot drop a player who shows that sort of endeavour... sets a great example for the rest of the team.. Just try and keep your feet a little more son!!!

Mr.Chicken
20 May 2007, 23:46
It laughable because of our record interstate. We have won what 2 in the last few years?

We did beat Port last time in Adelaide by 4 points in 2005. And I think we only lost to them by 4 points in 2004 at the same venue. Our interstate record of the last two years isnt too bad, particularly last year. We beat both Fremantle and Brisbane away last year and I think we ended up with a 2-2 interstate record which considering how poor we were last season, was pretty good.

And_ROOS
21 May 2007, 01:50
flood against port = win

Disagree, that may have worked for the Swans, but i think with our players we can run Port off their feet the way we have other teams the past few weeks off halfback, and let the Ottens/JimmyB combination in the middle do their job.

Its really just a matter of the forwards standing up and kicking a winning total, which of late they have been able to do.

CatmanForever
21 May 2007, 04:52
with Port and the maggies losing today, the winner here will get second spot as its prize.

oh brother I am not thinking of that......Port played like crap today but I think they had trouble translating their game on the smaller ground. Back at home they will be far more confident. This game is a tough one I just hope the Cats can keep up the physical pressure they have had over the last 2 weeks. Because that is what is winning us games IMO.

conanthelibrarian
21 May 2007, 09:27
Maybe if we win this one we might just get a little bit of respect from the rest of the football world.

Solstice Raver
21 May 2007, 12:35
Varco is essential to our success next week. That's how Sydney smashed Port this week. Forward defensive presure. This is Varco's gift to the side. Keep him in.

Port also have KKP galore. We will need Mackie back in and Harley if he is cherry ripe. Hunt travells appaulingly so he will have to be dropped.

We will need Selwoods legs in the middle agaist Port. He will be able to run with their on-ballers.

Out: Tennace, Hunt, Rooke (if not 100%).
In: Harley (if 100%), Mackie (if 100%), Chappman(if 100%).

gocats88
21 May 2007, 14:11
[quote=Solstice Raver;7592364]Varco is essential to our success next week. That's how Sydney smashed Port this week. Forward defensive presure. This is Varco's gift to the side. Keep him in.

Port also have KKP galore. We will need Mackie back in and Harley if he is cherry ripe. Hunt travells appaulingly so he will have to be dropped.

We will need Selwoods legs in the middle agaist Port. He will be able to run with their on-ballers.

In: Harley (if 100%), Mackie (if 100%), Chappman(if 100%).[

why would you take out tenace when he has actually shown something thats just stupid. and ling shouldn't tag any of the burgones he'll get carved up maybe a salopek or someelse with a little less speed.

djlowz
21 May 2007, 14:46
Chapman is definately to come in no doubt about that, but I don't think I would drop Rooke, I think that Rooke would be a terrific asset playing on Chad Cornes in the forward line and restricting his run. A good match up I think and he does that job so well.

DanA
21 May 2007, 15:15
We need Varcoe to keep pressure on Port Backline, Particularly cheep kicks Chad.

Rosso
21 May 2007, 15:43
Chapman is definately to come in no doubt about that, but I don't think I would drop Rooke, I think that Rooke would be a terrific asset playing on Chad Cornes in the forward line and restricting his run. A good match up I think and he does that job so well.

From memory Dash has lined up on Cornes as of late and has more than held his own. Kicked a couple early on him last year and forced him into playing accountable footy.

cat_fanatic_21
21 May 2007, 16:17

Yep, Chad is one of the best players in the league ATM. A playmaker and hard nut that inspires his team mates; nullify Chad and beating Port becomes a lot easier. Chad was restricted to 15 disposals and zero marks on the weekend which I think affected the team’s spirit and ability to stay in the game.

Ebert is a worry also as our back line struggles with the medium forward types (Johnson, Williams, etc). Not sure who takes him.

Ling should tag Kane Cornes IMO not one of the Burgoyne’s. They should be held accountable but not assigned taggers, firstly because we don’t have a player with the speed or the engine that can tag effectively and secondly because if Corey, Jimmy, Ablett, Chappy and Kelly keep winning the clearances, the Burgoyne’s contributions will be restricted anyway (eg: Corey on Judd).

Lade vs Ottens and Blake vs Brogan will be fantastic duels. Blake and Otto stood up well against two guys whose combined height advantage exceeds 15 cm, they should at least brake even with Lade and win most hitouts against Brogan.

Chappy and Harley will come into the side. Chapman has been gifted an extra week to recover from his hammy tweakage and Harley was named in the best for the VFL and marked the ball without any aggravation of the finger.

In: Chapman, Harley
Out: Two of Stokes, Hunt, Rooke, Selwood dependant on how they pull up

Bomber continues to play Selwood for just 50% of matches to not over do him. He’s playing well but deserves a rest. I think the outs will be Rooke (groin) and Selwood (ommited).

Should be an absolute ripper, close the whole game and will require a match winner; perhaps Mooney or SJ?

Go Cats:thumbsu:

DanA
21 May 2007, 16:57
Yep, Chad is one of the best players in the league ATM. A playmaker and hard nut that inspires his team mates; nullify Chad and beating Port becomes a lot easier. Chad was restricted to 15 disposals and zero marks on the weekend which I think affected the team’s spirit and ability to stay in the game.

Ebert is a worry also as our back line struggles with the medium forward types (Johnson, Williams, etc). Not sure who takes him.

Ling should tag Kane Cornes IMO not one of the Burgoyne’s. They should be held accountable but not assigned taggers, firstly because we don’t have a player with the speed or the engine that can tag effectively and secondly because if Corey, Jimmy, Ablett, Chappy and Kelly keep winning the clearances, the Burgoyne’s contributions will be restricted anyway (eg: Corey on Judd).

Lade vs Ottens and Blake vs Brogan will be fantastic duels. Blake and Otto stood up well against two guys whose combined height advantage exceeds 15 cm, they should at least brake even with Lade and win most hitouts against Brogan.

Chappy and Harley will come into the side. Chapman has been gifted an extra week to recover from his hammy tweakage and Harley was named in the best for the VFL and marked the ball without any aggravation of the finger.

In: Chapman, Harley
Out: Two of Stokes, Hunt, Rooke, Selwood dependant on how they pull up

Bomber continues to play Selwood for just 50% of matches to not over do him. He’s playing well but deserves a rest. I think the outs will be Rooke (groin) and Selwood (ommited).

Should be an absolute ripper, close the whole game and will require a match winner; perhaps Mooney or SJ?

Go Cats:thumbsu:

I agree with all you wrote except I would rest Selwood against St Kilda rather than Port. There midfeild is too strong for us not to have our best playing.

Absolutely agree regarding Kane Cornes. He wins so many clerances but he is a shit kick. I am happy for Ling to scrag him at stoppages and then go forward and kick a goal or two. Kane can get all the handball recieves he wants as long as he is not getting clearances.

I reckon Chad will ling up on Nathan Ablett (ala Gilbee) and there is not much we can do about it except play him out of the goal square and gets Stokes or Varcoe to yap at his heals every possesion.

a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
21 May 2007, 17:05
Bingo. I don't know where SrilankanCat gets his ideas from.
Sri Lanka where football is BIG..............
LOL......
Dont take that too seriously SLC - it will eat you up inside..........

Mooney_d'King
21 May 2007, 17:40
[quote=Solstice Raver;7592364]Varco is essential to our success next week. That's how Sydney smashed Port this week. Forward defensive presure. This is Varco's gift to the side. Keep him in.

In: Harley (if 100%), Mackie (if 100%), Chappman(if 100%).[

why would you take out tenace when he has actually shown something thats just stupid. and ling shouldn't tag any of the burgones he'll get carved up maybe a salopek or someelse with a little less speed.

Kerr's fast and Ling did a great job.

Selwood07
21 May 2007, 18:10
Certainly would not bet on Tom Harley being ready to return after VFL match on Saturday - he looked less than agile with one hand!
Why would you drop Tenace or Rooke (despite the "knock in the nuts")???

CatmanForever
21 May 2007, 18:45
Maybe if we win this one we might just get a little bit of respect from the rest of the football world.

nahhhhh never happen. They'll just make some excuse up like the umpies were against them, or someone was injured, or they were due for a loss, or they weren't as good as the ladder indicated.......either way Geelong will get no credit for it which suits me fine. Being under-rated helps our team perform better.

conanthelibrarian
24 May 2007, 10:51
nahhhhh never happen. They'll just make some excuse up like the umpies were against them, or someone was injured, or they were due for a loss, or they weren't as good as the ladder indicated.......either way Geelong will get no credit for it which suits me fine. Being under-rated helps our team perform better.

Tend to agree with you there. We play better as the hunters and not the hunted IMO. I'm actually quite confident we'll go over there and get the choccys, and the 4 points as well. :) We do match up well with them, beat them over there the last time we played them there, and have actually won the last 3. If we play them a bit like Sydney did last week, ie. one-on-one pressure footy, which is the way we've been playing lately anyway, we'll go a long way to winning.

Rik E Boy
24 May 2007, 11:17
flood against port = win

Play hard accountable and most importantly direct football against Port = win. If we flood, we lose if not on the day then in the long run! Flooding is bull5hit.

Port have turned over 24 players since their flag year. There are a lot of young bodies in this side. Their gun foward is out of form. The much heralded rucks are down on form (Couldn't believe the On the Couch boys were rating Lade's season..he had a good game against Pattison FFS). Shaun Burgoyne is down on form. Thurstans, Lonie, Thomas, Bentley and Motlop are girls. The defence is undersized. If we work hard and play attacking football we will win this game.

OUT: Hunt (horrible memories of Port at the Park), Selwood, Varcoe (rather than the harder Stokes)
IN: Harley, Chapman, Mackie (VERY impressed with him this year. I didn't think he had it in him. Go Mackie!)

Experienced inclusions with a couple of youngster rested for a big away match.

Geelong by 15 points.

regards,

REB

Rik E Boy
24 May 2007, 11:19
Sri Lanka where football is BIG..............
LOL......
Dont take that too seriously SLC - it will eat you up inside..........

Says a poster called Years of pain LMAO. :)

jess_555
24 May 2007, 18:14
Geelong’s squad

B: Corey Enright – Matthew Scarlett – Andrew Mackie
HB: Josh Hunt – Matthew Egan – Darren Milburn
C: David Wojcinski – Jimmy Bartel – James Kelly
HF: Joel Selwood – Nathan Ablett – Steve Johnson
F: Gary Ablett – Cameron Mooney – Travis Varcoe
Foll: Brad Ottens – Joel Corey – Cameron Ling
Int: Tom Harley, Tom Hawkins, Brent Prismall, Mark Blake, Mathew Stokes, Kane Tenace, Max Rooke

CatFan79
24 May 2007, 18:17
Geelong’s squad

B: Corey Enright – Matthew Scarlett – Andrew Mackie
HB: Josh Hunt – Matthew Egan – Darren Milburn
C: David Wojcinski – Jimmy Bartel – James Kelly
HF: Joel Selwood – Nathan Ablett – Steve Johnson
F: Gary Ablett – Cameron Mooney – Travis Varcoe
Foll: Brad Ottens – Joel Corey – Cameron Ling
Int: Tom Harley, Tom Hawkins, Brent Prismall, Mark Blake, Mathew Stokes, Kane Tenace, Max Rooke

Chappy to miss again??

JoeLCatS
24 May 2007, 18:22
Dave johnson hurt his calf at training so makes it little easier for selectors, should only miss 1-2. no chapman is a concern tho :(

CatmanForever
24 May 2007, 18:30
The Power’s 25, from which 22 will face the Cats on Sunday, is as follows...

B: Michael Pettigrew, Darryl Wakelin, Jacob Surjan
HB: Nathan Lonie, Toby Thurstans, Dom Cassisi
C: Steven Salopek, Shaun Burgoyne, Kane Cornes
HF: Daniel Motlop, Damon White, Peter Burgoyne
F: Brendon Lade, Warren Tredrea, Brett Ebert
Foll: Dean Brogan, Chad Cornes Danyle Pearce,
Interchange from: Greg Bentley, Travis Boak, Fabian Deluca, Nathan Krakouer, David Rodan, Brad Symes, Matthew Thomas

IN: Boak, Deluca, Krakouer, Surjan
OUT: Mahoney (omitted)

Aussie Assault
24 May 2007, 18:34
Still no Chapman? He's one of my favourite players to watch in the league. I thought he was almost certain to start this week from an interview last weekend. Hope he didnt do it again or anything..

chapmanmagic35
24 May 2007, 18:58
Still no Chapman? He's one of my favourite players to watch in the league. I thought he was almost certain to start this week from an interview last weekend. Hope he didnt do it again or anything..

Yep, surprised they didn't name him as well. I thought he was ready to go. But if he isn't, he isn't.

Will be sorely missed. His prolonged absence means Hunt unfortunately gets another week.

Aussie Assault
24 May 2007, 19:02
Yep, surprised they didn't name him as well. I thought he was ready to go. But if he isn't, he isn't.

Will be sorely missed. His prolonged absence means Hunt unfortunately gets another week.

Hunt was decent for you guys last week wasnt he? From what I saw he was. Is he the Kepler/Bolton guy of Geelong? The bloke we love to hate..

Hood007
24 May 2007, 19:13
That would be Kent Kingsley, now at Richmond.
Or David Clarke, probably on the Dole.

DanA
24 May 2007, 19:32
That would be Kent Kingsley, now at Richmond.
Or David Clarke, probably on the Dole.

Last I heard David Clarke is doing quite well in the SANFL.

Hunt is more talented than than Kepler/Bolton. He is just out of form and a little undiciplined so far this year (prior to last week).

Buckley is ripped
24 May 2007, 21:41
I find it interesting that Hawkins is named on an extended bench !!!! does'nt anybody think he'll play ???

Hood007
24 May 2007, 21:42
I find it interesting that Hawkins is named on an extended bench !!!! does'nt anybody think he'll play ???

Apart from the coach saying he'll play next week at the Dome, who would we take out for him?

Mooney_d'King
24 May 2007, 21:49

Sorry mate (if you've got him in Dreamteam etc), I really don't think he'll paly. Could well be wrong, but we need seasoned professionals against Port.

Copernicus
25 May 2007, 01:21

I doubt it. I am not sure if he is required - probably just gonna be named as an emergency. We don't want too many big lumbering types against Port.

Linx
25 May 2007, 02:28
Hunt was decent for you guys last week wasnt he? From what I saw he was. Is he the Kepler/Bolton guy of Geelong? The bloke we love to hate..

He could be. He's strengths and weakness's vary WAY too much that he is annoying for fans. For example, one minute he hits a leading forward on the chest with a 55 metre bullet pass and the next minute he shows that he has a IQ of a onion by making stupid decisions.

TheYid
25 May 2007, 05:08
I hope Hawkins doesn't play. He needs experience in the twos.

We were patient with N Ablett, and now it's paying off. He's becoming consistant and dangerous. We could learn from that in regards Hawkins.

Asgardian
25 May 2007, 05:15
If Hawkins plays I'll be interested to see how he goes away from Victoria

Anyway, good luck for the game guys, let's hope it's another great game, with no serious injuries, and naturally for my sake, a Port win.

re cat
25 May 2007, 09:08
I am packing my bags. Let's ccome back with the four points.:thumbsu:

a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
25 May 2007, 09:32
Says a poster called Years of pain LMAO. :)
Ironic isnt it?
I never claim to be consistent.
And I have 34 years of experience to tell me about it..........including going through 4 losing GF's........pain........

thejester
25 May 2007, 11:15
I thought Hawkins was supposed to be going home?

GeeCat
25 May 2007, 12:40
I doubt it's a Sheedy move by Bomber (if it is, it's ridiculously transparent).

I would assume that Nathan, or someone of that like, is struggling to come up, and Tomahawk is simply the precautionary emergency. If all goes to plan though, he won't be playing.

year of the cat
25 May 2007, 19:19
Final team:

Only one change - Mackie in ; DJ out

Harley, Hawkins, Prismall emergencies