View Full Version : Hawks Fans Watching DVD's Tonight
Realistic Tiger
19 May 2007, 21:08
I just don't get it 2 teams, 4-3 records, fighting for a top 8 spot, playing in Melbourne, no rain, full of good footballers,playing entertaining attacking footy and yet there is no one at the MCG. FFS Hawks fans keep supporting the side like this and you guys will be heading to Tassie on a permanent basis.
rumblah
19 May 2007, 21:15
Fact of the matter is, you are 16th :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Keep it up
Realistic Tiger
19 May 2007, 21:34
Fact of the matter is, you are 16th :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Keep it up
Fact of the matter is our fans still turn up to support us whether we are 1st-9th-16th. Your sitting in the 8 and your fans can't be stuffed. :o
The TACHawks
19 May 2007, 21:42
doesn't change the fact you're still 16th hahahahah
Realistic Tiger
19 May 2007, 21:48
doesn't change the fact you're still 16th hahahahah
Fact is interstate sides never really get big crowds to watch them in Victoria why should the Tassie Hawks be any different. :)
Oh and forget about the playing attacking footy part, I know it has rained in Mebourne the last few days but not enough to cause the MCG to be flooded like it is tonight.:thumbsd:
The TACHawks
19 May 2007, 21:53
Oh and forget about the playing attacking footy part, I know it has rained in Mebourne the last few days but not enough to cause the MCG to be flooded like it is tonight.:thumbsd:[/QUOTE]
well...you got me here...the game's as bad as yours lastnight!
the 2 Fishers have 27 marks between them half way into the 3rd qtr...we can't get the ball off em :mad:
Realistic Tiger
19 May 2007, 21:56
Oh and forget about the playing attacking footy part, I know it has rained in Mebourne the last few days but not enough to cause the MCG to be flooded like it is tonight.:thumbsd:
the 2 Fishers have 27 marks between them half way into the 3rd qtr...we can't get the ball off em :mad:[/quote]
Yeah it was poor wasn't it 28 goals in total as opposed to the 6 combined goals nearing 3/4 time. Reckon the FA Cup could be a higher scoring game tonight.
conanthelibrarian
19 May 2007, 21:57
the 2 Fishers have 27 marks between them half way into the 3rd qtr...we can't get the ball off em :mad:
Here's an idea, a radical idea, but an idea nevertheless. Maybe the Hawks should try to man them up!
The TACHawks
19 May 2007, 22:01
Here's an idea, a radical idea, but an idea nevertheless. Maybe the Hawks should try to man them up!
yeah...just like we did against your mob! :)
Bring on the FA cup...Rooney will kick more than gherig & Buddy tonight :eek:
What do you mean? We've increased our lead FIVEFOLD so far this quarter!
Well, from 2 points to 10:)
The TACHawks
19 May 2007, 22:32
Just finished watching the 3rd qtr...rubbish.
There's no winners from this game! Whichever team gets the points will run and hide!!
Coughlan
19 May 2007, 22:38
what a pathetic performance, if it was Richmond all the moronic hawks fans would be wetting themself with excitement calling for Wallace to be sacked.
H2F would have a 5000 word essay prepared as well
The TACHawks
19 May 2007, 23:15
what a pathetic performance, if it was Richmond all the moronic hawks fans would be wetting themself with excitement calling for Wallace to be sacked.
H2F would have a 5000 word essay prepared as well
get off the glue mate...we won! And Wallace witnesses it from the stands. Nice of him to go and watch the team he said 'was not as advanced as the Tigers'. What a tosser...that's why we love watchin you guys get destroyed...not because of the richmond FC or their fans but to see Wallace with his daks around his ankles :D
Realistic Tiger
19 May 2007, 23:19
Credit where it was due the Hawks won the game but why the hell not play like that from the start instead of this chip chip crap? If you had of played that way from the start you would have won by 8-10 goals.
The TACHawks
19 May 2007, 23:30
Credit where it was due the Hawks won the game but why the hell not play like that from the start instead of this chip chip crap? If you had of played that way from the start you would have won by 8-10 goals.
Thanks Realistic...Clarkson was just saying the Saints didn't allow us to play the way we wanted...we just had to be patient and wait to break the game open which we did in the last qtr. Let's not forget the saints had half their team out :eek:
Brown n Gold
20 May 2007, 01:08
Ugly game... but its just nice to head down the G watch the team beat a "Top 4/8" side and come away singing the song!!!
Chin up realistic tiger... you win one soon...
Dull game - but a win is a win. Something RT and Wallet would know nothing about.
fishbowl
20 May 2007, 01:48
I just don't get it 2 teams, 4-3 records, fighting for a top 8 spot, playing in Melbourne, no rain, full of good footballers,playing entertaining attacking footy and yet there is no one at the MCG. FFS Hawks fans keep supporting the side like this and you guys will be heading to Tassie on a permanent basis.
Hawthorn 5-3, Richmond 0-8.
get off the glue mate...we won! And Wallace witnesses it from the stands. Nice of him to go and watch the team he said 'was not as advanced as the Tigers'. What a tosser...that's why we love watchin you guys get destroyed...not because of the richmond FC or their fans but to see Wallace with his daks around his ankles :D
:thumbsu:
Jeffrey
20 May 2007, 02:19
Becasue they had just been to Fremantle and realised they didn have the legs to run for the full game. Very smart.
mulhollanddrive
20 May 2007, 02:34
I like all this 'you would have', or 'we would have' or 'they would have' type statements to paint us in a bad light.
I'll give you one statement:
We won by 28 points.
Not, you would have won by 60 points if you played properly, or we would have won by at least 10 goals tonight, or they would have won by at least 10 goals tonight.
How do you know this?
If you had watched the Kangeroos game this year, or Fremantle in round 1 last year, both teams had men behind the ball, only for us to overrun them in the 2nd half due to better fitness.
Congesting the play, and making the opp play a fatiguing game to capitalise in the difference in running ability in the 2nd half is a legitimate part of ACs plan.
36,000+ was disappointing but hardly thread worthy.
Apparently the poor crowd (I expected 42,000 btw) was more to do with the Saints fans and not the Hawk fans.
Interestingly the Storm only got 9,000 people tonight (down on their season average of 13-14,000) could their be a correlation.
Regardless the game was shit - baring the last quarter, and didn't deserve a 20,000 crowd...
Close but no cigar
Just on 'if Richmond were' situations. Is this the same Richmond that only drew 36,000 - on a perfect barmy night, to an early season FNF clash (which is known to draw several thousand more people) against a fellow contender?
How quickly we forget :rolleyes:
Its simple. Hawrks are now showing how they have been playing above them selves and now showing there true colors (like thedunny poo-wee jumper they wear) Second half of the year they will crash with such a thud. I wouldnt be surprised if they are the ones to get the number one draft pick
GOLD
With 5 wins on the board and games against Carlton, Richmond, Kangaroos (in Tassie) Brisbane (at the MCG) and Essendon to follow I think we are safely out of the wooden spoon betting.
On top of that, its hard to see Richmond winning a game for the year let alone a minimum of 5...
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 10:58
36,000+ was disappointing but hardly thread worthy.
Apparently the poor crowd (I expected 42,000 btw) was more to do with the Saints fans and not the Hawk fans.
Interestingly the Storm only got 9,000 people tonight (down on their season average of 13-14,000) could their be a correlation.
Regardless the game was shit - baring the last quarter, and didn't deserve a 20,000 crowd...
Close but no cigar
Just on 'if Richmond were' situations. Is this the same Richmond that only drew 36,000 - on a perfect barmy night, to an early season FNF clash (which is known to draw several thousand more people) against a fellow contender?
How quickly we forget :rolleyes:
The game where the 0-3 Tigers played the Dogs I assume you are talking about, yeah that was a disappointing crowd but then again would have been much different if we were 4-3 playing a fellow 4-3 side like the Saints, thats the point. Pushing for a top 8 spot against another VICTORIAN side pushing for the top 8 and under 37,000 despite being the only AFL game in Melbourne last night. It was one of the Hawks 7 home games in Melbourne you would think their fans would take every opportunity to attend these as there are only 7.
Oh and regarding the Storm they were playing the bottom side Roosters in a game missing 5 of their SOO players so would expect the crowd to be down a little also the game was live on Foxtel as well.
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 11:02
I like all this 'you would have', or 'we would have' or 'they would have' type statements to paint us in a bad light.
I'll give you one statement:
We won by 28 points.
Not, you would have won by 60 points if you played properly, or we would have won by at least 10 goals tonight, or they would have won by at least 10 goals tonight.
How do you know this?
If you had watched the Kangeroos game this year, or Fremantle in round 1 last year, both teams had men behind the ball, only for us to overrun them in the 2nd half due to better fitness.
Congesting the play, and making the opp play a fatiguing game to capitalise in the difference in running ability in the 2nd half is a legitimate part of ACs plan.
You won by 28 after being up by 10 at 3/4 time, perhaps if the Hawks had of tried to attack from the outset theycould have been 28 up at half time and again ran over the top of the Saints for the whole second half.
As for it being part of AC's plan to flood and then attack I gather you had no objections to the tactics Wallace used against the Crows last year nor would you have any objections if Wallace was to employ the same tactic again this year.
The game where the 0-3 Tigers played the Dogs I assume you are talking about, yeah that was a disappointing crowd but then again would have been much different if we were 4-3 playing a fellow 4-3 side like the Saints, thats the point. Pushing for a top 8 spot against another VICTORIAN side pushing for the top 8 and under 37,000 despite being the only AFL game in Melbourne last night. It was one of the Hawks 7 home games in Melbourne you would think their fans would take every opportunity to attend these as there are only 7.
So why is it soley our fault?
While under 37,000 against St.Kilda is poor, its hardly completely disasterious. From what I've seen St.Kilda - like the Bulldogs, are not strong drawers to away games...
Like I said, it was a poor crowd but hardly justification for a thread nor reason to suggest the Hawks should move state on the back of the crowd.
Oh and regarding the Storm they were playing the bottom side Roosters in a game missing 5 of their SOO players so would expect the crowd to be down a little also the game was live on Foxtel as well.
Regardless, for the crowd to be 40-50% down on the usual is strange. Likewise the Essendon-Brisbane game (35,000) was also well down on the usual 40,000+ and Geelong-Fremantle was also uncharacteristically low (20,000)
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 11:30
So why is it soley our fault?
While under 37,000 against St.Kilda is poor, its hardly completely disasterious. From what I've seen St.Kilda - like the Bulldogs, are not strong drawers to away games...
Like I said, it was a poor crowd but hardly justification for a thread nor reason to suggest the Hawks should move state on the back of the crowd.
Regardless, for the crowd to be 40-50% down on the usual is strange. Likewise the Essendon-Brisbane game (35,000) was also well down on the usual 40,000+ and Geelong-Fremantle was also uncharacteristically low (20,000)
Thanks for backing me up here, using your own words: like the Bulldogs are not strong drawers to away games. So the 36,000 we got when 0-3 against the Dogs (2-1) was in fact a reasonable crowd, I also remember there were Hawks people, might have even been yourself, complaining that we should have got more to that game.
The fact remains the Hawks are sitting in the 8 playing another top 8 contender and could not draw a crowd that you would expect them to draw for a game of such importance. The fact also remains there is no valid reason for them not drawing a crowd of at least 45,000 to last nights game. Everything was in their favour to do so, Saturday night in Melbourne, only AFL game on, 2 top 8 contenders, decent weather.
AS for the Bombers v Lions crowd 36,000 to a game featuring an interstate team compared to 36,000 to a game featuring 2 Vic sides puching for the 8 is not a comparison I would have used just further highlights the embarrassment, considering they got 32,700 last year when both were bottom 4. The 20,000 to the Cats and Freo is about average for them playing Freo at Geelong as well, add to that the wet weather down Geelong way all week and Freo sitting bottom 4 and well the embarrassment grows for the Hawks.
You won by 28 after being up by 10 at 3/4 time, perhaps if the Hawks had of tried to attack from the outset theycould have been 28 up at half time and again ran over the top of the Saints for the whole second half.
As for it being part of AC's plan to flood and then attack I gather you had no objections to the tactics Wallace used against the Crows last year nor would you have any objections if Wallace was to employ the same tactic again this year.
This is all so stupid.
The job of the coach is to win the game. It isn't to entertain supporters of teams not involved in the game.
It's pathetic bashing teams that at clearly superior to your own.
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 11:54
This is all so stupid.
The job of the coach is to win the game. It isn't to entertain supporters of teams not involved in the game.
It's pathetic bashing teams that at clearly superior to your own.
What I am bashing is the fact the Hawks have arguably the most talented kid playing up forward against the undermanned Saints backline and instead of just getting the ball in quickly they piss farted around playing chip chip. The Saints were looking at stopping the Hawks at all costs and to me it looks like AC did not have enough confidence in the kids to beat the Saints in an attacking game of footy. The Saints were missing most of their KP defenders and yet it took untilt the last quarter for the Hawks to step on the gas and attack them.
However this thread was not about the style of play it was about the fact they had less fans turn up to the game that they should have. That is the thing that worries me. Pushing for the top 8 playing another top 8 contender and yet they could not break 40,000.
So you have no problem with the tactics Wallace used last year against the Crows nor would you have problems with the Tigers or any other side using the same tactics in the rest of the season?
Blu-ray has taken off amongst Hawks supporters I guess.
Smash`N`Grab
20 May 2007, 12:05
Hawks fans endorse poo and wee
And now inbreeding :o
Coughlan
20 May 2007, 13:26
I would rather lose then win in the worst game of Footy in years
...because thats the Richmond culture.
Loss well or die tryin :)
Thanks for backing me up here, using your own words: like the Bulldogs are not strong drawers to away games. So the 36,000 we got when 0-3 against the Dogs (2-1) was in fact a reasonable crowd, I also remember there were Hawks people, might have even been yourself, complaining that we should have got more to that game.
Both were disappointing, but FNF games generally draw more people then SNF games.
For example, Richmond in 2003 drew 39,000 to a home game against Melbourne (despite sitting pretty at 6-2) on a SN at the MCG which was considered an okay crowd.
AS for the Bombers v Lions crowd 36,000 to a game featuring an interstate team compared to 36,000 to a game featuring 2 Vic sides puching for the 8 is not a comparison I would have used just further highlights the embarrassment, considering they got 32,700 last year when both were bottom 4.
Outside of last year, that game - despite being played in the more fan friendly Saturday afternoon slot, was probably the lowest Essendon-Lions crowd since the Brisbane Bears - Fitzroy merger. Crowds have been down across the board this weekend.
The 20,000 to the Cats and Freo is about average for them playing Freo at Geelong as well, add to that the wet weather down Geelong way all week and Freo sitting bottom 4 and well the embarrassment grows for the Hawks.
Geelong drew 22,000+ last week against West Coast, where were the extra 2,000 people yesterday? In a stadium with a capacity of 25,000 is 80% capacity disappointing?
In terms of the Hawthorn game, wet weather was expected;
http://www.mcg.org.au/default.asp?pg...articleid=2342
Due to inclement weather, the number of spaces available for car parking in Yarra Park will be restricted at Saturday night’s Hawthorn-St Kilda AFL match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
Here are some suggestions for a hassle-free visit to the MCG on Sunday:
Trains
There are two train stations close to the MCG. Jolimont (otherwise known as MCG Station) is north of the ground and offers a five-minute stroll through Yarra Park to the ground.
From any railway station in the central business district, take the Hurstbridge or Epping lines.
The other station is Richmond on the south eastern side of the MCG. It's a slightly longer walk to the ground but you can walk past the Punt Road Oval to the Great Southern Stand side.
To get to Richmond station from the city, take any train on the Lilydale, Belgrave, Alamein, Glen Waverley, Dandenong, Pakenham, Cranbourne, Frankston or Sandringham lines.
Trams
Two services connect Flinders Street with the eastern suburbs via Wellington Parade.
Both the No. 75 (City-Vermont South) and No. 48 (City-North Balwyn) stop just outside the MCG.
The No. 70 (City-Wattle Park) detours from Flinders Street along Swan Street, and it's a short walk across the footbridge to the ground.
Buses
The Bus route 246 is run by National Bus Company, which links La Trobe University with Elsternwick Station in a useful service for patrons from the northern and southern suburbs.
The 246 stops in Punt Road, just a punt kick from the ground.
Taxis
Taxis are available from the ground at the conclusion of each event. Otherwise the venue is a pleasant 15 minute walk from the city.
Close but no cigar :)
ARDENSTREETforever
20 May 2007, 16:48
Hawkk... Where do you get this crowd figure of 37,000 people for the Hawks/Saints game?
In the Herald Sun, OFFICIAL CROWD: 30,063.
The TACHawks
20 May 2007, 16:56
Adelaide v Richmond last year :rolleyes:
Anyway, you're 0-8 but as you said...you'd rather lose.
Can't wait to see all the Tiger fans here during trade & draft week.
Have any of you guys drawn up a phantom draft yet??? :p
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 17:23
Both were disappointing, but FNF games generally draw more people then SNF games.
For example, Richmond in 2003 drew 39,000 to a home game against Melbourne (despite sitting pretty at 6-2) on a SN at the MCG which was considered an okay crowd.
We drew 39,000 to a Saturday night game playing a side that was sitting 12th with a 3-5 record, you drew a weak 36,000 to a game between 2 teams sitting 4-3 battling for a top 8 spot. Try again Hawkk Boy.
Outside of last year, that game - despite being played in the more fan friendly Saturday afternoon slot, was probably the lowest Essendon-Lions crowd since the Brisbane Bears - Fitzroy merger. Crowds have been down across the board this weekend.
Last year 32,760 desite both teams being bottom 4, yet as I mentioned 2 VIC sides pushing for top 8 spots and only 36,000 turn up. Again further highlights the piss poor support the Hawks have.
Geelong drew 22,000+ last week against West Coast, where were the extra 2,000 people yesterday? In a stadium with a capacity of 25,000 is 80% capacity disappointing? 20,000 to a game in Geelong against an interstate side who are sitting bottom 4 and whose fans rarely travel in big numbers. Yet the ground was 80% full. Again Hawks v Saints 2 VIC sides playing Saturday night in Melbourne, winner gets a top 8 spot and they could not get the MCG to 40% capacity. Try again Hawkk Boy.
In terms of the Hawthorn game, wet weather was expected;
http://www.mcg.org.au/default.asp?pg...articleid=2342
Close but no cigar :)
Read the statement you put up again and see if you can follow it. It says 'Due to inclement weather' not "Due to Expected Inclement Weather".
I know it is rare but there was rain that fell in Melbourne from Tuesday night pretty much until Saturday morning and it might have had something to do with the Car Parks at the MCG being restricted.
Or does you using the wet weather point to the case that Hawks fans are in fact just fair weather supporters. Your side was playing a game that keeps them in the 8 but you would have us believe that Hawks fans stayed away because they might get a little wet supporting the team.:o
The more excuses you bring up the worse it looks, face it the Hawks struggle to get crowds to watch them perhaps it is because of the poor ressults over the last 2 years the bandwagoners are not yet convinced they are the real deal.
Mitchell Madness
20 May 2007, 17:27
Hawkk... Where do you get this crowd figure of 37,000 people for the Hawks/Saints game?
hun got it wrong. I was at the game, and they displayed the crowd at 3/4 time being 36,603.
We drew 39,000 to a Saturday night game playing a side that was sitting 12th with a 3-5 record, you drew a weak 36,000 to a game between 2 teams sitting 4-3 battling for a top 8 spot. Try again Hawkk Boy.
No you didn't.
In round 8 2003, Richmond vs. Melbourne drew 39,000 DESPITE Richmond sitting pretty at 5-2 inside the 8, and Melbourne sitting at 3-4 outside the 8. Like I said, given the circumstances it was disappointing but hardly disgraceful.
Last year 32,760 desite both teams being bottom 4, yet as I mentioned 2 VIC sides pushing for top 8 spots and only 36,000 turn up. Again further highlights the piss poor support the Hawks have.
What evidence, the breakdown of that crowd could have been 30,000 Hawks/6,000 Saints indicating big support for the Hawks. Of course we don't know that, all we can judge support on is through memberships and to a lesser extent home games against non Victorian clubs. Just to throw fuel on the fire, Hawthorn now have more members then Richmond for the 9th time over the last 10 years.
20,000 to a game in Geelong against an interstate side who are sitting bottom 4 and whose fans rarely travel in big numbers. Yet the ground was 80% full. Again Hawks v Saints 2 VIC sides playing Saturday night in Melbourne, winner gets a top 8 spot and they could not get the MCG to 40% capacity. Try again Hawkk Boy.
Okay for arguments sake, assume 19,500 of the 20,000 that went to Geelong were Cats fans. On the Hawks board, the number of Hawthorn fans estimated at the MCG varied from 21-30,000 - which I agree is poor given our 4-3 start, but hardly justification of a poor crowd.
The question it appears should be why ST Kilda's crowd was so low - of course given your insecurities over the stature over Richmond within the 'Big 4' turning it into a unnessarily Hawk bashing thread was easy.
Insecure much :)
Read the statement you put up again and see if you can follow it. It says 'Due to inclement weather' not "Due to Expected Inclement Weather".
Are you for real. For the majority of familes, they make the decision whether or not to go to the game during the Thursday/Friday before the game...not on match day. That's logical, obviously as a Richmond support you don't deal in logic.
You're shooting blanks my friend :)
Just for those interested, the game I'm refering to;
Round 8 2003
Richmond 7.3 10.4 14.5 17.10 112
Melbourne 7.0 9.3 14.7 16.7 103
Date: Sat 17-May-2003
Venue: M.C.G.
Att: 38,063
Where;
3. Richmond 5 wins 2 losses
10. Melbourne 3 wins 4 losses
Pot.Kettle.Black and all that :rolleyes:
Fancy that, the Tiger 'army' only drawing 38,000 vs. a fellow VICTORIAN finals contender despite sitting in 3rd position.
Really :confused:
WAS this the worst game ever? Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson won the match, but he shared honours with St Kilda's Ross Lyon in frustrating, boring and angering 36,069 fans at the MCG.
You're the 14,000 man.
+6-8,000 North Melbourne
-6-8,000 Hawthorn
You can fiddle with the figures all you like in a bid to balance the ledger, it doesn't change the FACTS
Heaven forbid, the Collingwood vs. Bulldogs game only drew 46,000 today - despite being the game of the round.
Were the Collingwood fans watching DVD's today :rolleyes:
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 19:50
Just for those interested, the game I'm refering to;
Round 8 2003
Richmond 7.3 10.4 14.5 17.10 112
Melbourne 7.0 9.3 14.7 16.7 103
Date: Sat 17-May-2003
Venue: M.C.G.
Att: 38,063
Where;
3. Richmond 5 wins 2 losses
10. Melbourne 3 wins 4 losses
Pot.Kettle.Black and all that :rolleyes:
Fancy that, the Tiger 'army' only drawing 38,000 vs. a fellow VICTORIAN finals contender despite sitting in 3rd position.
Interesting side note when the Dees are struggling they are notorious for drawing poor crowds in fact I could use your logic and say that 32,000 that night could have been Richmond supporters seen as though your claiming 21- 30,000 were Hawks fans last night.
But lets compare apple with apples. In 2003 the Tigers played the poor drawing Saints twice that year once in Round 4 when the Tigers sat 2-1 and the Saints 1-2 and the crowd 44,382 at Docklands, then in Round 19 played them again when the Tigers were 7-11 in 12th spot while the Saints were 8-10 sitting in 11th and the crowd 41,514. To use your own line:
You can fiddle with the figures all you like in a bid to balance the ledger, it doesn't change the FACTS
The Hawks and Saints are 2 sides pushing for the top 8 and could not even get the MCG half full.
Heaven forbid, the Collingwood vs. Bulldogs game only drew 46,000 today - despite being the game of the round.
Were the Collingwood fans watching DVD's today :rolleyes:
Yeah must be poor to draw 46,000 to a ground that has a capacity of about 52,000 as opposed to drawing a crowd of 36,000 to a ground that holds 100,000 when you are a top 8 side playing a fellow contender.
BudddddyLove
20 May 2007, 19:52
Realistic Tiger you need to quell your obession with hawthorn crowds. Take a look at your club which cannot win a game.
We are winning games, you are not, we dont care:rolleyes:
Interesting side note when the Dees are struggling they are notorious for drawing poor crowds in fact I could use your logic and say that 32,000 that night could have been Richmond supporters seen as though your claiming 21- 30,000 were Hawks fans last night.
I didn't even got to the game idiot, you completely missed the point of my post :rolleyes:
Speaking of those 'poor drawing Demons' didn't you start a similar thread when both sides 'only' drew 45,000 to the Easter Monday game earlier this season - despite both sides sitting 15th and 16th respectively :rolleyes:
But lets compare apple with apples. In 2003 the Tigers played the poor drawing Saints twice that year once in Round 4 when the Tigers sat 2-1 and the Saints 1-2 and the crowd 44,382 at Docklands, then in Round 19 played them again when the Tigers were 7-11 in 12th spot while the Saints were 8-10 sitting in 11th and the crowd 41,514.
Apples with apples, oranges with organes :rolleyes:
The Hawks and Saints are 2 sides pushing for the top 8 and could not even get the MCG half full.
You played Melbourne on a barmy Saturday Night (sitting in 3rd position) and couldn't even draw 38,100 people!
The Tiger 'army' is an urban myth - given your sad obsession with Hawthorn, I think you are coming to the sad relisation as well...
Yeah must be poor to draw 46,000 to a ground that has a capacity of about 52,000 as opposed to drawing a crowd of 36,000 to a ground that holds 100,000 when you are a top 8 side playing a fellow contender.
Um...the Telstra Dome holds 55,000. The game was a non ticketed affair so fans had every opportunity to attend the game via GA if they wished.
All of a sudden the 36,000+ that turned up last night to a cold (and wet) MCG wasn't to bad afterall :rolleyes:
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 20:01
Realistic Tiger you need to quell your obession with hawthorn crowds. Take a look at your club which cannot win a game.
We are winning games, you are not, we dont care:rolleyes:
Yet you took the time to comment as have a number of other Hawk fans.
My thread deals with the fact that despite the Hawks playing good footy and winning games they are not attracting crowds to watch them play. Surely that has to be of some concern or does the moeny coming in from Tassie off set the losses on poor crowds in Melbourne home games.
Finnally perhaps your fellow Hawks fans should quell their obsession with the Tiger full stop as you said we are not winning games yet every week there are at least a dozen threads started by Hawks fans about the Tigers and most of them are not called for.
Why did Richmond (despite sitting in 3rd position) playing the 10th placed 3-4Demons (who draw 46,000 against Hawthorn in round 1) only draw 38,063 in the round 8 Match of the Round?
BudddddyLove
20 May 2007, 20:04
Yet you took the time to comment as have a number of other Hawk fans.
My thread deals with the fact that despite the Hawks playing good footy and winning games they are not attracting crowds to watch them play. Surely that has to be of some concern or does the moeny coming in from Tassie off set the losses on poor crowds in Melbourne home games.
Finnally perhaps your fellow Hawks fans should quell their obsession with the Tiger full stop as you said we are not winning games yet every week there are at least a dozen threads started by Hawks fans about the Tigers and most of them are not called for.
They are not started by "us" just H2F :D
Wasn't our fault, definitely more hawthorn fans there last night + st kilda played 2 loose men in defence the whole game.
Essendon and Hawthorn got 52,000 at the G 2 rounds ago of which half were hawthorn fans.
We don't draw well against minors like Dogs, Saints and Roos.
Some more food for thought....
1999 ANSETT CUP FINAL
Hawthorn vs Port Adelaide
Hawthorn 12 11 83
Port Adelaide 5 6 36
Waverley
Attendance: 49,874
2002 Wizard Cup Final
Richmond vs Port Adelaide
Port Adelaide 10 11 71
Richmond 9 8 62
Telstra Dome
Attendance: 36,481
Same opposition, 13,000+ difference :confused:
Massive night for the Tiger 'army'?
What I am bashing is the fact the Hawks have arguably the most talented kid playing up forward against the undermanned Saints backline and instead of just getting the ball in quickly they piss farted around playing chip chip. The Saints were looking at stopping the Hawks at all costs and to me it looks like AC did not have enough confidence in the kids to beat the Saints in an attacking game of footy. The Saints were missing most of their KP defenders and yet it took untilt the last quarter for the Hawks to step on the gas and attack them.
However this thread was not about the style of play it was about the fact they had less fans turn up to the game that they should have. That is the thing that worries me. Pushing for the top 8 playing another top 8 contender and yet they could not break 40,000.
So you have no problem with the tactics Wallace used last year against the Crows nor would you have problems with the Tigers or any other side using the same tactics in the rest of the season?
If it happened every week it would be frustrating. If we won every week I would wear it. I've seen a lot of horrible messy/tight Swans games over a few years and the Swans fans don't seem to be complaining.
I'm positive that Clarkson isn't wanting to play like that anyway.
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 20:12
I didn't even got to the game idiot, you completely missed the point of my post :rolleyes:
Speaking of those 'poor drawing Demons' didn't you start a similar thread when both sides 'only' drew 45,000 to the Easter Monday game earlier this season - despite both sides sitting 15th and 16th respectively :rolleyes:
Yes I did because being a public holiday and the only game in Melbourne they should have drawn more especially considering the weather was not that bad.
You played Melbourne on a barmy Saturday Night (sitting in 3rd position) and couldn't even draw 38,100 people!So you're a nerd who knows the weather conditions from 4 years back. :p
The Tiger 'army' is an urban myth - given your sad obsession with Hawthorn, I think you are coming to the sad relisation as well...
Not at all in fact the Tiger Army legend lives on and will for a long time yet. Just don't want to make you feel too bad by bringing up figures to embarrass you.
Um...the Telstra Dome holds 55,000. The game was a non ticketed affair so fans had every opportunity to attend the game via GA if they wished.Try again Hawkk Boy: ·The fixed seating capacity of Telstra Dome for AFL is 53,359. Source: http://telstradome.com.au/page/default.asp?site=1&page=INFO_SchoolInformation
All of a sudden the 36,000+ that turned up last night to a cold (and wet) MCG wasn't to bad afterall :rolleyes:
Nope still looks bad unless your a Hawk fan and used to small crowds.
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 20:23
Some more food for thought....
1999 ANSETT CUP FINAL
Hawthorn vs Port Adelaide
Hawthorn 12 11 83
Port Adelaide 5 6 36
Waverley
Attendance: 49,874
2002 Wizard Cup Final
Richmond vs Port Adelaide
Port Adelaide 10 11 71
Richmond 9 8 62
Telstra Dome
Attendance: 36,481
Same opposition, 13,000+ difference :confused:
Massive night for the Tiger 'army'?
Maybe you might want to mull over the following while looking for some more points to argue:
Hawthorn since the 2001 PF against the Dons have had 3 crowds in excess of 50,000
Richmond have had 14 crowds in excess of 50,000 including 6 over 60,000 in the same period of time note: 2 of those games occured this year.
Tell me again how the Tiger army is a myth.
Maybe you might want to mull over the following while looking for some more points to argue:
Hawthorn since the 2001 PF against the Dons have had 3 crowds in excess of 50,000
Richmond have had 14 crowds in excess of 50,000 including 6 over 60,000 in the same period of time note: 2 of those games occured this year.
Tell me again how the Tiger army is a myth.
It is a myth.
We've played Carlton 3 times at the Dome - each drawing 45,000+ and Essendon (last year) at the Dome which were monty's to draw 50,000+
Once again, you can't read anything from total crowds.
I've completely pawned you in this thread.
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 20:32
To tell you guys the truth I am glad your side is doing well it just surprises me that despite the fact you are a top 8 side you're not drawing the crowds you should be drawing. So what if it was/might have rained last night I would have expected a much bigger crowd than what turned up considering the importance of the game and playing another contender. Just after answer as to why that seems to be the case with the Hawks.
The same reason why only 38,000 turned up to see the 3rd placed Tigers take on a fellow Victorian team...
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 20:45
It is a myth.
We've played Carlton 3 times at the Dome - each drawing 45,000+ and Essendon (last year) at the Dome which were monty's to draw 50,000+
Once again, you can't read anything from total crowds.
I've completely pawned you in this thread.
Carlton 3 times at the Dome in 5 years. Yet can't get more than 40,000 to the MCG in 4 attempts, maybe it was going to rain each time. Richmond last 3 games against the Blues at the MCG 50,000+ each time.
Against the Bombers last year 58,000+ the first game in Round 6 last year then 48,000 at the G in Round 21 despite both teams being out of finals contention. Each time it seems the Tigers are able to pull in the big crowds despite being just as bad as the Hawks.
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 20:47
The same reason why only 38,000 turned up to see the 3rd placed Tigers take on a fellow Victorian team...
Not obssessed much are you talking about a game from 4 years back.
No I'm not.
Its an almost identical example of last nights game.
Hypocrite
Realistic Tiger
20 May 2007, 21:04
No I'm not.
Its an almost identical example of last nights game.
Hypocrite
But it was 4 years ago try getting something a little more recent to compare perhaps we should wait and see the crowd for Saturday nights game between 0-8 Richmond and 4-4 Essendon if we beat the 52,000 the Hawks got against the Bombers earlier this year will you give it away.
No I won't because the 'Dreamtime at the G' theme is sure to add a few thousand people - even if they are freebie tickets given away to the pre match entertainment crew.
If the game draws fewer then 50,000 it doesn't deserve marquee status.