View Full Version : SFL Division 1 Only
Pages :
[
10]
correct weight
9 Jul 2008, 12:55
Exaggerate much?? There were no people hindering help to the injured guy, and there were initial insults until it was realised that the guy was actually injured pretty serious.
Big praise to the Springy supporter walking behind the goals who threatened a mordi player because we got a goal... i thought the crowd behaviour was pretty good overall, and very vocal which added to the game especially when Vassallo kicked an awesome goal at the club end.
You keep relishing those 3 wins that you have had so far this year :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Your club is obviously a pillar of society......
You are a TOOL
Get a life, Springy's 3 wins have been full of merit and I for one know there is a couple more to come BUT i cannot say that about the hapless Mordi side.
Mr Seaford
9 Jul 2008, 21:58
Stuff City their Coach thinks his cack don't stink and that his side is better than it is serve them right for cheating .Next time use the toilet.
stinky wingman
9 Jul 2008, 22:29
Stuff City their Coach thinks his cack don't stink and that his side is better than it is serve them right for cheating .Next time use the toilet.
spoken like a true mr seaford lol
chaddles
13 Jul 2008, 21:50
You are a TOOL
Get a life, Springy's 3 wins have been full of merit and I for one know there is a couple more to come BUT i cannot say that about the hapless Mordi side.
Cheers :thumbsu::thumbsu: rather be called a great band than be a squibby cat like yourself. Wow your 3 meritorious wins certainly are fantastic :rolleyes: I bet you flog yourself ever night over all 3, especially the vital Mordi one.. :o
I think you should just go watch the end of Big Brother and prepare yourself for a big week at Summer Bay
4QTRTIME
13 Jul 2008, 22:08
Cheers :thumbsu::thumbsu: rather be called a great band than be a squibby cat like yourself. Wow your 3 meritorious wins certainly are fantastic :rolleyes: I bet you flog yourself ever night over all 3, especially the vital Mordi one.. :o
I think you should just go watch the end of Big Brother and prepare yourself for a big week at Summer Bay
chaddles pull your head, we won't win the flag this year and neither will you. Your comments sh*t me, you are a true smart arse. I respect Mordi and what the guys their have achieved so far this year. I can't see why you get into us and our supporters because we fkd your season, injuries or not you had your chance and you lost f*#k head so write about something else. With all due respect to the Mordi players, it's blokes like you that embarrass the club.
THE BEACON
14 Jul 2008, 10:44
chaddles pull your head, we won't win the flag this year and neither will you. Your comments sh*t me, you are a true smart arse. I respect Mordi and what the guys their have achieved so far this year. I can't see why you get into us and our supporters because we fkd your season, injuries or not you had your chance and you lost f*#k head so write about something else. With all due respect to the Mordi players, it's blokes like you that embarrass the club.
The club has been an embarrassment to the suburb of Mordialloc for the last 30 years.
superfreak
14 Jul 2008, 11:06
Fantastic decision by the SFL to have this years Div 1 Finals at Mordialloc.
Springy has the best surface but from a spectator point of view its a shocker of a ground. Mordi should provide a great atmosphere this year.
benchman
14 Jul 2008, 13:20
Springy has the best surface but from a spectator point of view its a shocker of a ground. Mordi should provide a great atmosphere this year.
agree that mordi provides the best atmosphere, but it's playing surface is a gamble....sometimes great sometimes average
i guess they had to wait and see what was happening in div 1 before they chose if they could use a div 1 ground......
em eraps
14 Jul 2008, 14:03
Where are the finals venues listed?
Checked SFL site, couldn't find..
Cheers
PARK PLAYER
14 Jul 2008, 16:05
Where are the finals venues listed?
Checked SFL site, couldn't find..
Cheers
Newcomen rd will host first divvy finals unders at 9.30 2nds at 12.00pm 1sts at 2.30pm all on Sundays
superfreak
15 Jul 2008, 12:29
Newcomen rd will host first divvy finals unders at 9.30 2nds at 12.00pm 1sts at 2.30pm all on Sundays
Can guarantee you mate that Div 1 Finals are at Mordialloc.
benchman
15 Jul 2008, 13:26
Can guarantee you mate that Div 1 Finals are at Mordialloc.
that is an odd decision considering mathmaticaly modi seniors and rezzies can both still make finals
Yeh, i hear that divy 1 will be at Mordi also with the other grounds being used Springvale and Clayton
heildelberg hi-flyer
16 Jul 2008, 12:19
yeah good call moron, districts have a grand stand (300 people ) plus undercover shelter for atleast 400 people and has access for cars where as mordi has a pissy little concrete stand and no room for cars round the ground. plus the wind factor would ruin a grand final by giving an advantage to one side.
superfreak
16 Jul 2008, 12:34
yeah good call moron, districts have a grand stand (300 people ) plus undercover shelter for atleast 400 people and has access for cars where as mordi has a pissy little concrete stand and no room for cars round the ground. plus the wind factor would ruin a grand final by giving an advantage to one side.
Yep and not too may finals lately at Springy have been ruined by wind...:rolleyes: Every year its blowing a gale to the far end.
Springy is a very windy place also and there is no atmosphere. Grandstands and shelter aside, its a shit place to watch footy.
Mordi has the hill behind the goals, a grandstand (albeit smaller than SD), and the outer wing where people even stand on their cars over the fence. There atmosphere is 100 times better there.
Ask anyone who as played finals at both grounds (like i have) and they will tell you that Mordi is better, its got a real finals feel to it.
RedRoomMilkn
16 Jul 2008, 19:11
Yep and not too may finals lately at Springy have been ruined by wind...:rolleyes: Every year its blowing a gale to the far end.
Springy is a very windy place also and there is no atmosphere. Grandstands and shelter aside, its a shit place to watch footy.
Mordi has the hill behind the goals, a grandstand (albeit smaller than SD), and the outer wing where people even stand on their cars over the fence. There atmosphere is 100 times better there.
Ask anyone who as played finals at both grounds (like i have) and they will tell you that Mordi is better, its got a real finals feel to it.
mordi's away change rooms are very ordinary and so is the playing surface
birdy77
16 Jul 2008, 19:23
Springy is to big and dosnt have a good atmosphere. Divy 3 at clayton, divvy 2 at mordy and divvy 1 at springy, thats where they are being played, i called the SFL..
superfreak
16 Jul 2008, 19:43
Sorry mate but that is incorrect. I am currently looking at the letter from the SFL that states...
"The Southern Football League Board of Directors is pleased to announce that the 2008 Division One Finals Series will be held at the Mordialloc Football Ground."
Me thinks that its Div 2 at Springy and Div 3 at Clayton but neither are yet to be confirmed.
benchman
16 Jul 2008, 19:59
Sorry mate but that is incorrect. I am currently looking at the letter from the SFL that states...
"The Southern Football League Board of Directors is pleased to announce that the 2008 Division One Finals Series will be held at the Mordialloc Football Ground."
Me thinks that its Div 2 at Springy and Div 3 at Clayton but neither are yet to be confirmed.
i would have thhought to choose neutral ground 1st, player safety (safe surface) 2nd and crowd atmosphere 3rd.... but with all 3 ground in contention being div 1 grounds it only makes sense to play div1 at springy as they are the only team not in contention....you wouldnt want mordi to scrape in to 4th spot, home ground advantage in elimination final would stir a few thigns up !
the_fresh
16 Jul 2008, 20:11
i would have thhought to choose neutral ground 1st, player safety (safe surface) 2nd and crowd atmosphere 3rd.... but with all 3 ground in contention being div 1 grounds it only makes sense to play div1 at springy as they are the only team not in contention....you wouldnt want mordi to scrape in to 4th spot, home ground advantage in elimination final would stir a few thigns up !
If Mordi did sneak into 4th the 3rd side would still hold the key to the head games, Mordi white shorts and away rooms on their home ground.
played at clayton and mordi in finals, i reckon clayton was a better venue a smaller ground but because of that the atmosphere was better.
robinbanks
17 Jul 2008, 09:23
but with all 3 ground in contention being div 1 grounds it only makes sense to play div1 at springy as they are the only team not in contention
looks like the springy 2nds will play in finals..
benchman
17 Jul 2008, 12:35
If Mordi did sneak into 4th the 3rd side would still hold the key to the head games, Mordi white shorts and away rooms on their home ground.
i was refering to training on the ground 2 nights a week, playing on it every other week and generlaly knowing how to play teh ground and conditions better than any other team in the comp
robinbanks
17 Jul 2008, 13:19
yeah i know - and if they have div 1 finals at springy.. if the twos make it they will have a big advantage.. but i guess it will be how the cookie crumbles
satanic curses
18 Jul 2008, 21:04
What was that thread or website with those three old men in the bath tub;)
stinky wingman
19 Jul 2008, 19:03
saw a cracker of a game down at the penut farm today, st pauls came home with the breeze to notch up a 5 goal victory.
highlight of the day "rodgerson & macnamara headbutting each other to both come off with cuts". no backward steps
batfink
20 Jul 2008, 10:29
What was that thread or website with those three old men in the bath tub;)
Cassettes sugar daddies
Struggler
21 Jul 2008, 16:32
saw a cracker of a game down at the penut farm today, st pauls came home with the breeze to notch up a 5 goal victory.
highlight of the day "rodgerson & macnamara headbutting each other to both come off with cuts". no backward steps
Any reports to come out of that?
hbulldogs
21 Jul 2008, 19:40
Pretty sure that highett played chelsea heights on the weekend and that highett got thumped by Mordi.
stinky wingman
23 Jul 2008, 16:35
Any reports to come out of that?
no reports, although the umpire was standing right there......sfl umpires don't seem to lay many reports, even more so when they see it.
del_horno15
26 Jul 2008, 01:26
according to the website, it seems as if the IDC is getting involved. Im led to believe that a match incident report was submitted but not a player report, and the incident report was worded so that it seemed the umpire didnt see it, when he really did and failed to make an initial report. See what comes of that
Is there a bloke by the name of Brock Baker playing for Moordiallic this year? If so, how is he going?
in the back
1 Aug 2008, 13:49
Interesting effort by Chelt to comeback and only just go down to St Pauls. Did the doggies have a few out? Still think the Rosella's can't cut the mustard mentally against better sides.
superfreak
1 Aug 2008, 14:44
Barnes, Prew, Shaw, T.Dewar.
Don't think that Prew or Shaw would get a gig in their best 22 though.
The Rider
1 Aug 2008, 15:09
I hope you're kidding?
superfreak
1 Aug 2008, 15:33
Who do they replace Rider??
Heres their team from last week.
Matt Mackenzie
Mark Dessent
Nathan White
Richard Cooke
Chay Ryan
Daniel O'Reilly
Luke James
Peter Mercoulia
Trent McIntyre
Steven Sziller
Jarrod Rafferty
David Dewar
Joseph Krierger
Boeh Davies
Travis Ridgway
Andrew Shilton
Michael Rogerson
Nigel Daley
Mark Marasco
Timothy Blackwood
Adam McIntyre
Barnes replaces Mercoulia (due to VFL), Dewar replaces his brother or Daley. Either way they have a strong lineup.
The Rider
1 Aug 2008, 15:44
Matt Mackenzie
Mark Dessent
Nathan White
Richard Cooke
Chay Ryan
Daniel O'Reilly
Luke James
Peter Mercoulia
Trent McIntyre
Steven Sziller
Jarrod Rafferty
David Dewar
Joseph Krierger
Boeh Davies
Travis Ridgway
Andrew Shilton
Michael Rogerson
Nigel Daley
Mark Marasco
Timothy Blackwood
Adam McIntyre
Barnes replaces Mercoulia (due to VFL), Dewar replaces his brother or Daley. Either way they have a strong lineup.
Having a second thought Damen Shaw may struggle to get back in. However, I will be shocked if Prew doesn't get a game. In their best side easily
Jonah Lomu
1 Aug 2008, 16:26
Having a second thought Damen Shaw may struggle to get back in. However, I will be shocked if Prew doesn't get a game. In their best side easily
Mackensie would have to go wouldn't he?
Jonah Lomu
1 Aug 2008, 16:28
who di chelt have to come back in
superfreak
1 Aug 2008, 16:47
Mackensie would have to go wouldn't he?
Need two ruckmen, Dessent can't do it all by himself.
gardener
1 Aug 2008, 18:35
i see rohan 'trigger' best kicked 6 goals in the reserves on the weekend, would he be pushing the best 22 pretty handy full forward
DemonOfOld
2 Aug 2008, 18:13
trigger after kicking 20 this week in the ressies, although against east brighton, you'd think he'd come up...
stinky wingman
3 Aug 2008, 07:11
trigger after kicking 20 this week in the ressies, although against east brighton, you'd think he'd come up...
a lazy 20.5 from trigger, you would think they would work him into the seniors fairly soon, but at who's expense?
The Rider
5 Aug 2008, 10:31
On behalf of everyone at Big Footy I would just like to wish Superfreak a very happy birthday.
Jonah Lomu
5 Aug 2008, 14:01
On behalf of everyone at Big Footy I would just like to wish Superfreak a very happy birthday.
Dont forget Tom Hafey.
Looking at the SFL website the mail (on finals venues) from superfreak was correct.
can anyone explain why they play div 1 on sundays?
First division finals are obviously on a Sunday so as to draw a bigger crowd. Hopefully 2nd and 3rd div (who are playing Saturdays) supporters make it alone to see the elite of the league
Divvy 1 will get most of the die hard supporters watching on sunday, hopefully we (dingoes) will be sucking piss from the cup after winning both grand finals. Even after loosing both grannies last year we still managed to come along and watch at springy, dont remeber it, but we were there.
Surely rohan "trigger" best will get a recall this week.from limited training and no pre season to kick 20.5 in any comp in any grade is amazing...st apuls have gone from $2.50 to win the flag to $1.50 with the big fella in form..hows opposition going to stop luke james and trigger if they both get firing..also whos the tip for the medal is james a chance?
Return of the Pies
8 Aug 2008, 16:24
James would be a real chance in my opinion. Usually polls well and has had some standout games. McKenzie (Chelt) would be another as ruckmen traditionally come under notice too.
AS for Best, don't read too much into that in terms of the senior's flag prospects. There are a number of senior forwards who would kick 20 agains East Brighton 2s. It's a top effort though and he will certainly be an extra option, but I don't recall him doing much in last year's finals??
David Akermanis
9 Aug 2008, 22:38
Id like to applaud east brighton's efforts against Tooronga Malvarn today...vampires were up by 20 points with 8 minutes to go but did pull through in the end....
keep fighting hard lads!
Mr Akermanis
big.pete
12 Aug 2008, 12:03
why Do St.kila City Sing Their Song While Walking Off The Ground Every Time They Win.. I Havent Seen That Done Since I Played Under 9's Back In 85...?? How About Being Humble And Waiting Until You Get Into The Rooms....
heildelberg hi-flyer
12 Aug 2008, 12:09
rite on there big pete, i heard the boys in the 2nds at springy were gona do it back to them as pay back but thought better of it as they are actually just happy to win , no need to rub it in.
ps
we used to do that after the lightning premiership
big.pete
12 Aug 2008, 12:26
i suppose if there winning games they can do what ever they want but i dont think there is any need for it... ok yes if you win the premiership go for your life but a normal home & away game i think its very arrogant, but remember who we are talking about here.. Most blokes at Stkilda city wake up in the morning and piss arrogance...
heildelberg hi-flyer
12 Aug 2008, 12:42
great point that, they're a real classy bunch of players those boys, hate too have a winge at the umpires and are all piss and wind when it comes to threats.
Blues in 3 yrs.
12 Aug 2008, 13:58
singing the song while walking off is a tradition of the club that has been kept alive. how many traditions are stil alive at your clubs?
Return of the Pies
12 Aug 2008, 14:11
singing the song while walking off is a tradition of the club that has been kept alive. how many traditions are stil alive at your clubs?
Humility, Dignity and Respect for your Opposition just to name a few. ;)
superfreak
12 Aug 2008, 14:25
you forgot sportsmanship and loyalty :thumbsu:
big.pete
12 Aug 2008, 15:02
exactly, none of those the saints have.
They arent a club, just a bunch of good footballers come together for a bit of cash.
GO DOGGIES IN 08..!!
David Akermanis
12 Aug 2008, 16:39
our tradition is getting nude and streaking...its better than making a fool of your selves and walking off the ground singin a song
spiros156
12 Aug 2008, 16:44
great point that, they're a real classy bunch of players those boys, hate too have a winge at the umpires and are all piss and wind when it comes to threats.
you must be talking about springvale districts????:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
backtoback08
13 Aug 2008, 20:57
Matt Mackenzie
Mark Dessent
Nathan White
Richard Cooke
Chay Ryan
Daniel O'Reilly
Luke James
Peter Mercoulia
Trent McIntyre
Steven Sziller
Jarrod Rafferty
David Dewar
Joseph Krierger
Boeh Davies
Travis Ridgway
Andrew Shilton
Michael Rogerson
Nigel Daley
Mark Marasco
Timothy Blackwood
Adam McIntyre
add best and the flag is in the bag, the other sides might as well not show
imagine what they could put on the park if they paid a few blokes:)
spongey
14 Aug 2008, 13:08
St pauls have the talent, but its whether they go with blokes who have failed in the past under pressure or whether they go with youth and run the other sides off there legs, there probably 10 regulars at STPauls that have failed in 3 or 4 gf's,chelt has the same problem losing finals they should win, as for the other two City are going in undermanned but are dangerous because of great finals record & clayton not as talented as other 3 but won a n unwinnable final last year and have 2 flags in the last 8 years???
Jonah Lomu
14 Aug 2008, 14:20
St pauls have the talent, but its whether they go with blokes who have failed in the past under pressure or whether they go with youth and run the other sides off there legs, there probably 10 regulars at STPauls that have failed in 3 or 4 gf's,chelt has the same problem losing finals they should win, as for the other two City are going in undermanned but are dangerous because of great finals record & clayton not as talented as other 3 but won a n unwinnable final last year and have 2 flags in the last 8 years???
after playing all sides
Stpauls would have to start favourites after the year they've had.their probably not that far infront though due to previous performances.
Stkilda have past experience and that may be enough to win it. they might be undermanned but they still have a quality side. Is cassett coming back? rumours are that he will be back.
Chelt are a different side to the last few years when they have choked. They have got a bit more finals experience in their line up this year. Their onballers are their downfall.
Clayton are the best TEAM in the top four, but not the most talented. The loss of gallager will hurt when it counts but the still have some quality, which has won when it counts most.
I think it will be a great finals series with four closely won games.
superfreak
14 Aug 2008, 18:55
After reading STKC's Club Notes this week, you can rule those three out.....poor form.
backtoback08
15 Aug 2008, 08:42
After reading STKC's Club Notes this week, you can rule those three out.....poor form.
Funny you should say that I read the record last night and thought the same thing, so I gave the prez a ring and he said 2 interesting things
The mouths on the Springvale players was disgraceful and there tactics of having 10 -12 in the backline all day was frustrating, in saying that I dont believe you are the oracle on human behaviour. A couple of city blokes get on here and they love the crap they cop.
superfreak
15 Aug 2008, 09:39
Thats fair enough b2b. Just thought its not necessary to kick a club while their down adn stuff like that doesnt exactly help City with their public perception amongst SFL followers. Springy Districts have been slaughtered with injuries of late and have done fairly well in their first year up considering those injuries.
Jonah Lomu
15 Aug 2008, 10:20
Thats fair enough b2b. Just thought its not necessary to kick a club while their down adn stuff like that doesnt exactly help City with their public perception amongst SFL followers. Springy Districts have been slaughtered with injuries of late and have done fairly well in their first year up considering those injuries.
wont see a record this week. what was said?
backtoback08
15 Aug 2008, 10:38
Mate, Ive been in the sfl for 30 years and City is always hated, its the way it is, but in reality they are no where the bad club people think, sometime i think it spurs them on to be disliked and we cant underestimate there finals record it stacks up pretty well. there is 3 or 4 of the best blokes ive met in local footy down there and really the clubs built around a couple of families which have given heaps to it all clubs get it wrong occassionally
THE BEACON
15 Aug 2008, 10:41
Mate, Ive been in the sfl for 30 years and City is always hated, its the way it is, but in reality they are no where the bad club people think, sometime i think it spurs them on to be disliked and we cant underestimate there finals record it stacks up pretty well. there is 3 or 4 of the best blokes ive met in local footy down there and really the clubs built around a couple of families which have given heaps to it all clubs get it wrong occassionally
If so do you remember a guy who played for St Kilda City in the early eighties called Ron Mudge & his brother Terry and if so how did they go at playing the game?
Jonah Lomu
15 Aug 2008, 11:16
theres 3 or 4 of the best blokes at every club, stkilda included. it the other 40-50 that bring the club down
backtoback08
15 Aug 2008, 13:09
If so do you remember a guy who played for St Kilda City in the early eighties called Ron Mudge & his brother Terry and if so how did they go at playing the game?
went to the same school, played in an era when last man standing was
applicable, Ron was better than terry, both big strong blokes from memory
I think ron played in the city vs colts grand final
stinky wingman
15 Aug 2008, 13:10
all i care about is stkilda city NOT buyi....sorry winning another flag.
cuttingedge
15 Aug 2008, 15:01
Matt Mackenzie
Mark Dessent
Nathan White
Richard Cooke
Chay Ryan
Daniel O'Reilly
Luke James
Peter Mercoulia
Trent McIntyre
Steven Sziller
Jarrod Rafferty
David Dewar
Joseph Krierger
Boeh Davies
Travis Ridgway
Andrew Shilton
Michael Rogerson
Nigel Daley
Mark Marasco
Timothy Blackwood
Adam McIntyre
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=12056967) at least worth 100k this side
gardener
15 Aug 2008, 16:25
doubt very much if any of those names would pull anywhere near 100k.
im sure if they left the club and prosituted themselves they would get big coin.
14 of those names and a couple missing played junior or 18s footy at the club.
congratulations to the doggies to be able to keep them there, they must have something special at the club
Blues in 3 yrs.
15 Aug 2008, 16:42
doubt very much if any of those names would pull anywhere near 100k.
im sure if they left the club and prosituted themselves they would get big coin.
14 of those names and a couple missing played junior or 18s footy at the club.
congratulations to the doggies to be able to keep them there, they must have something special at the club
100k means collectively as a whole for the season, you tool. there is no way they have the team they have without any remuneration
gardener
15 Aug 2008, 18:30
mate if you think st pauls pays a 100k over a full season, you are one stupid ********.
dont just think a side who wins footall games automatically equals high priced players.
you obviously dont know the club and the quality of personal down there, so u tell yourself thats what they pay so people like u can justify what your club pays for a third of the return
Joker94
15 Aug 2008, 20:06
I think you are right Gardner.
Your 'mate' Bluesin3years should probably be looking at 'discounted' - heavily-rental accomadation of particular players down your way rather than any ridiculous $100k renumeration packages!!!!
Let's keep it real shall we??
north of the river
17 Aug 2008, 20:16
mate if you think st pauls pays a 100k over a full season, you are one stupid ********.
dont just think a side who wins footall games automatically equals high priced players.
you obviously dont know the club and the quality of personal down there, so u tell yourself thats what they pay so people like u can justify what your club pays for a third of the return
Gardener is a great name as you toss so much manure, wanker.
Tell us how much your star, stuck up Fremantle recruit cost you???.
Apart from ensuring the double doors are opened to get his big head through, I reckon his mummy would have wanted something special for the 'SUPERMODEL'....biggest soft d*ck going around that kid
stinky wingman
18 Aug 2008, 12:04
Matt Mackenzie - St Pauls veteran
Mark Dessent - St Pauls Veteran
Nathan White -
Richard Cooke - Unsure of junior club, been at St Pauls for a while
Chay Ryan - St Pauls Veteran
Daniel O'Reilly
Luke James - Played for St Pauls previously,
Peter Mercoulia - Junior player
Trent McIntyre - Junior player
Steven Sziller - winding down at a club local to him
Jarrod Rafferty - Junior Player
David Dewar - Junior Player
Joseph Krierger - Junior premiership player
Boeh Davies - Junior player
Travis Ridgway - Junior premiership player, captain & leading goalkicker
Andrew Shilton - chose to come to stpauls without financial incentive offered
Michael Rogerson - Been at st pauls for a while
Nigel Daley
Mark Marasco
Timothy Blackwood
Adam McIntyre - Junior premership player, b&f winner
David Wyld - Junior premiership player, b&f winner
Ryan Smith - Junior premiership player
Heath Barnes - Junior player, b&f winner
Tom Dewar - Junior premiership player
If you look at the above list, you will see that there is a large amount of players who have either played juniors at stpauls or have been with st pauls seniors for a long period of time.
People often think that St Pauls spend up to get such a quality side out on the park, but the fact is they have proven that money isn't the only thing that attracts people to the club.....its the people, the culture and the community that it provides that makes it such a great club to be at, hence not a large turnover of the playing list every year.
Yes you get your nomads, your Johnny Macs & Danny Cassetts that roam from club to club squeezing them dry of funds, but thats just the nature of the competition and only clubs that don't have a strong local culture like St Pauls, Cheltenham etc would go for them.
Anyways just worth noting that St Pauls have always pushed local talent whilst still giving some a small (compared to others) financial incentive, so to that tool that thinks St Pauls spend over 100k a year on players, you couldn't be more wrong.
backtoback08
18 Aug 2008, 12:19
Matt Mackenzie - St Pauls veteran
Nathan White -
Daniel O'Reilly
Nigel Daley
Mark Marasco
Timothy Blackwood
If you look at the above list, you will see that there is a large amount of players who have either played juniors at stpauls or have been with st pauls seniors for a long period of time.
People often think that St Pauls spend up to get such a quality side out on the park, but the fact is they have proven that money isn't the only thing that attracts people to the club.....its the people, the culture and the community that it provides that makes it such a great club to be at, hence not a large turnover of the playing list every year.
Yes you get your nomads, your Johnny Macs & Danny Cassetts that roam from club to club squeezing them dry of funds, but thats just the nature of the competition and only clubs that don't have a strong local culture like St Pauls, Cheltenham etc would go for them.
Anyways just worth noting that St Pauls have always pushed local talent whilst still giving some a small (compared to others) financial incentive, so to that tool that thinks St Pauls spend over 100k a year on players, you couldn't be more wrong.
Dont be naive mate,Rafferty,James,Krieger all minimum $500 dont be fooled by the juniors crap, then youve got Shaw,Sziller,McIntyre,Barnes,Dessent all $300 -400 work it out from there
throw in Marasco & prewys $200 drink card, the list goes on & on
Dont get defensive ,you need $ to get a good side
stinky wingman
18 Aug 2008, 16:30
Dont be naive mate,Rafferty,James,Krieger all minimum $500 dont be fooled by the juniors crap, then youve got Shaw,Sziller,McIntyre,Barnes,Dessent all $300 -400 work it out from there
throw in Marasco & prewys $200 drink card, the list goes on & on
Dont get defensive ,you need $ to get a good side
but thats the thing, St Pauls don't need money to get a good side because it has always been there stemming from juniors.
they would pay their better players thats not debatable, but im sure they wouldn't always get their market value.
E.g. Someone like mcintyre or dessent wouldn't even contemplate changing to another club if their pay was minimal because they want to play for the club, remuneration is simply an added bonus to playing alongside their mates at a great club.
gardener
18 Aug 2008, 21:53
[quote=stinky wingman;12108600]Matt Mackenzie - St Pauls veteran
Nathan White -
Richard Cooke - Unsure of junior club, been at St Pauls for a while st peters. president coached him
Chay Ryan - St Pauls Veteran junior
Daniel O'Reilly
Luke James - Played for St Pauls previously, uncles club legends still involved
Michael Rogerson - Been at st pauls for a while junior
Nigel Daley
Mark Marasco coached by president with richard cooke
Timothy Blackwood
Damien shaw - coached under 18;s, father has been president for 10 years
Robert Prew -junior
joe krieger is on no where near that money very doubtful on those other names as well, some of these guys do get paid but like said no where near the offers they could be receiving from a stronger finacial club.
the club has had luck in the fact they have and had a good development of guys for the past 5 years from junior rank.
im not involved with the club i know ppl down there and have watched them on and off for some years, i just commend them for being able to keep all their star juniors around. when most good kids get to senior level they usually leave for big coin..
Blues in 3 yrs.
18 Aug 2008, 22:38
doodle brain, i never said they pay that much. i was stating that not one player from that list would get 100k alone. there is no way they would have that team with the amount of cassh you claim they put out. they are pulling the wool and wat ever else they have over your eyes if they got you beliving that crap
north of the river
19 Aug 2008, 07:57
Gardener
joe krieger is on no where near that money very doubtful on those other names as well, some of these guys do get paid but like said no where near the offers they could be receiving from a stronger finacial club.
the club has had luck in the fact they have and had a good development of guys for the past 5 years from junior rank.
im not involved with the club i know ppl down there and have watched them on and off for some years, i just commend them for being able to keep all their star juniors around. when most good kids get to senior level they usually leave for big coin..[/quote]
BANG! there goes all your credibility All your comments are worthless as you have no idea. How can you comment or defend any players or amounts tabled here when your not involved - fairdinkum. Strange no one from the club is defending the comments, just a gardner that knows some people down there, I think that says alot
stinky wingman
19 Aug 2008, 10:07
Gardener
im not involved with the club i know ppl down there and have watched them on and off for some years, i just commend them for being able to keep all their star juniors around. when most good kids get to senior level they usually leave for big coin..
BANG! there goes all your credibility All your comments are worthless as you have no idea. How can you comment or defend any players or amounts tabled here when your not involved - fairdinkum. Strange no one from the club is defending the comments, just a gardner that knows some people down there, I think that says alot
[/quote]
i play for st pauls, and here i am defending these comments. Gardener is close to the mark in what he is saying with regards to how a lot of players are playing at the club for less than what they could get at say a cashed up St Kilda City.
therealthing88
19 Aug 2008, 12:51
Matty Harris For B&f
north of the river
19 Aug 2008, 13:06
i play for st pauls, and here i am defending these comments. Gardener is spot on in what he is saying.[/quote]
With all respect Stinky that is the biggest load of Sh*t I have read for a long time.
If you are stating that you, as a player at the club are happy that a bloke (Gardner) who has stated he is not involved in the club, is fully aware of the financial payments to players etc etc and you are also supportive of him coming onto a public blog and state them, then I think your club has some serious internal issues.
I doubt this is the case and you are damaging your club, if at all you are actually part of it.
stinky wingman
19 Aug 2008, 17:41
i play for st pauls, and here i am defending these comments. Gardener is spot on in what he is saying.
With all respect Stinky that is the biggest load of Sh*t I have read for a long time.
If you are stating that you, as a player at the club are happy that a bloke (Gardner) who has stated he is not involved in the club, is fully aware of the financial payments to players etc etc and you are also supportive of him coming onto a public blog and state them, then I think your club has some serious internal issues.
I doubt this is the case and you are damaging your club, if at all you are actually part of it.[/quote]
I'm not saying Gardner knows about our financial payments but he definately has an general idea as to compared to other clubs.
Im not arguing the exact dollar amounts, im arguing the fact that we don't need to offer large amounts of money to keep our playing list, as most of them want to play with us due to the culture/community.
I just get annoyed when people assume that because St Pauls is a decent team, we automatically have to be paying everyone ridiculous amounts of money because its not true.
And i never said i was happy that Gardner may or may not know about our financial situation. The only ones that truly know exactly how much each player is paid is the coaching staff and the committee, but those close to the club and involved can gain a fair idea for themselves.
Most people involved in the SFL would know what other clubs are approximately paying as a lot of the players/committee etc etc would talk to people, and you know how fast information travels around the football traps.
north of the river
19 Aug 2008, 18:29
I'm not saying Gardner knows about our financial payments but he definately has an general idea as to compared to other clubs.
And i never said i was happy that Gardner may or may not know about our financial situation. The only ones that truly know exactly how much each player is paid is the coaching staff and the committee, but those close to the club and involved can gain a fair idea for themselves.
Stinky. I'm not going to clog the system up, but your original post (before you went back and added crap about StK City) stated:
i play for st pauls, and here i am defending these comments. Gardener is spot on in what he is saying.[/quote]
How can you (1) defend what he is saying about your clubs player dealings when he is not part o it (2) agree that everything he has said about your player payments etc are SPOT ON.
You may not have said you were happy with his comments, but by crickey you didn't argue with them
I think you are just back peddling
gardener
19 Aug 2008, 18:48
you dumb shit, im not title involved as in not on the board.
i played there for ten years and know every single man that runs that club inside out, i get told every bit of activity and see for myself.
i helped get multiple players on that list down years ago.
dont question my credability u scum bag, this club will be around for many more years as well as its local players, more than we can say for your shit club..
by the way how is that reject artz fitting in down there, probaly working out well with all the rest of the egoistic waners there. the club did not even want hm but houston over ruled, what we do know is your club is spinless and does what its told by a man who interests suit himself not for the future of what was a good club....
superfreak
19 Aug 2008, 19:13
Pretty sure mate that north of the river isnt from city.
north of the river
19 Aug 2008, 19:30
you dumb shit, im not title involved as in not on the board.
i played there for ten years and know every single man that runs that club inside out, i get told every bit of activity and see for myself.
i helped get multiple players on that list down years ago.
dont question my credability u scum bag, this club will be around for many more years as well as its local players, more than we can say for your shit club..
by the way how is that reject artz fitting in down there, probaly working out well with all the rest of the egoistic waners there. the club did not even want hm but houston over ruled, what we do know is your club is spinless and does what its told by a man who interests suit himself not for the future of what was a good club....
ah, don't you just love it when a poster gets caught out trying to hide their identity to spin their crap..."I'M NOT INVOLVED AT THE CLUB"..then stuffs up and has to deliver the truth "i played there for ten years and know every single man that runs that club inside out, i get told every bit of activity and see for myself". wrapt in all the profantities this side of the yarra.
I hope the guys at St Pauls know who you are - I'm sure they also know that your a bullsh*tter and not trustworthy. But then they probably know this already
what a whacker!
north of the river
19 Aug 2008, 19:33
Pretty sure mate that north of the river isnt from city.
and I'm not from your dump of a ground either Super.
superfreak
19 Aug 2008, 19:52
Geez mate calm down. I know where your from, was just letting our learned friend know that your not from the Peanut Farm....
By the way its not a dump. :) Just very sandy at the moment!!
stinky wingman
19 Aug 2008, 20:18
see super you try and help a guy out and he turns on you ahha.
i have a fair idea of who would get what, and gardener was just stating that its less than some of you blokes think.
The main point i have been trying to get across to 'North of the river', but he somehow can't keep up with the sense I speak, is that most of the players WANT to play at the club, so their motivation isn't as financially driven like some......enough said.
spiros156
19 Aug 2008, 23:36
[quote=stinky wingman;12108600]Matt Mackenzie - St Pauls veteran
Nathan White -
Daniel O'Reilly
Nigel Daley
Mark Marasco
Timothy Blackwood
not too many senior premierships along side names there if such a so called quality side can't win it this year with citys injuries where to for the bulldogs?????surely they cant lose this year they would have to be certs after touching up city at the peanut farm???
gardener
20 Aug 2008, 07:30
dont think there is any certs when it comes to finals one slip up and its gone, think st pauls knows all to well about that..
who is injured at the farm i heard only casset, and j mac who has been de registed.
speaking to some guys sat night sounds like the do0gs have alot of injuries as well not a good time of year for that..
might open the door for an inform chelt.....
Jonah Lomu
21 Aug 2008, 10:03
dont think there is any certs when it comes to finals one slip up and its gone, think st pauls knows all to well about that..
who is injured at the farm i heard only casset, and j mac who has been de registed.
speaking to some guys sat night sounds like the do0gs have alot of injuries as well not a good time of year for that..
might open the door for an inform chelt.....
Noticed that barnes hasn't been in the best for a while? whats his injury and will he be back for finals
superfreak
21 Aug 2008, 10:32
John McNamara has been cleared to play by AFL Victoria.
gardener
21 Aug 2008, 12:25
wow that is a big decision.
dont the SFL look like they have been bent over and givin it sideways, so much for their rules of missing 16 games and not allowed to play in the SFL.
would this of happened to the average joe blow, or because this guy is in the paper and has friends in high places were the SFL were threatened by it, either way embarresing for the league to de register someone then let them play 3 weeks later
interesting to hear peoples thoughts on it